Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Morrison Creek Lamprey

Species information

Common Name: Morrison Creek lamprey

Scientific Name: Lampetra richardsonivar. marifuga

COSEWIC Assessment Summary: May 2000

COSEWIC Status: Endangered

SARA Status:Endangered, August 2003

COSEWIC Reason for Designation: Endemic to British Columbia, this single, small population is susceptible to habitat loss from urban development and highway construction.

Canadian Occurrence: British Columbia

COSEWIC Status History: Designated Threatened in April 1999. Status re-examined and changed to Endangered in May 2000. May 2000 assessment was based on new quantitative criteria applied to information from the existing 1999 status report (Beamish et al. 1999).

Background

1. Description of the Species

1.1 General Biology

Lampreys are members of the Superclass Agnatha, jawless fishes.  Lampreys are distinguished by a cylindrical, eel-like, scale-less body and a round suctorial mouth armed with a series of sharp, horny teeth.  They have a small caudal fin, and long dorsal fin, often with two distinct parts; they have no paired fins (Figure 1).  The skeleton is cartilaginous, a trait that has contributed to a poor fossil record.  Lampreys have seven pairs of gills in the form of gill pouches, each with an individual opening to the outside (Scott and Crossman 1973).  There are about 40-45 species of lamprey within 9 genera, depending on the current interpretations of experts (ITIS 2005). 

Lampreys are generally distributed in temperate marine and freshwaters; the worldwide distribution is predominantly in the Northern Hemisphere (Scott and Crossman 1973).  About 1/3 of lamprey species are anadromous. As adults, lamprey species are either externally parasitic of other fish species, or do not feed at all.  All lamprey are semelparous and die soon after spawning (Larson 1980).

Lampreys are difficult to age reliably (Beamish and Medland 1988; Kostow 2002). They have a distinct larval phase followed by metamorphosis (Scott and Crossman 1971), but time to metamorphosis (sometimes called transformation) varies among species.  Larvae, called ammocoetes (Figure 2), live in burrows in stream and lake sediments (Scott and Crossman 1971).  Ammocoetes have sightless eyes; teeth and oral disk are absent, and the mouth is covered with an oral hood.  Ammocoetes feed by filtering microscopic plant and animal material and organic detritus through the oral hood (e.g., Manion 1967; Moore1973, 1980; Sutton et al. 1994; Mundahl et al. 2005).

poisson

Figure 1.  Photograph of Morrison Creek lamprey, taken in spring 2005.  This specimen is ~ 12 cm total length, and is thought to be 3 to 4 months post metamorphosis.  Photo by Jim Palmer.

In British Columbia there are 4 described species of lamprey (Beamish 1985).  Lampetra richardsoni is a non-anadromous, non-parasitic, freshwater-resident species commonly found in streams.  The Pacific Lamprey, L. tridentata, is anadromous and parasitic; it is commonly found in coastal streams and marine coastal areas.  L. ayresi is anadromous and parasitic.  It can be very abundant in the Fraser River, and is common in the Strait of Georgia during its parasitic phase.  Little research has been done on this species outside the Georgia Basin.  L. macrostoma, originally described by Beamish (1982), is parasitic and assumed to be derived from L. tridentata.  It has been reported only in Cowichan and Mesachie lakes (Beamish 1998).

Figure 2.  External features of lamprey ammocoete (from McDermott 2003).

Figure 2.  External features of lamprey ammocoete (from McDermott 2003).

A fifth taxon has been identified, and is believed to occur only in Morrison Creek, Vancouver Island (Beamish 1985).  It was discovered in 1977 (Beamish 1985), and is believed to be a derivative of L. richardsoni and has been labelled L. richardsoni var. marifuga (Beamish 1987).  It is an important example of a parasitic form derived from a non-parasitic form.  Although described in some detail, the Morrison Creek lamprey has not been given formal taxonomic status.  The taxonomy of these forms remains somewhat uncertain and detailed genetic analysis is recommended to help resolve this issue.  In this recovery strategy, the common name Morrison Creek lamprey is used to refer only to L. richardsoni var. marifuga.

There are three distinct lamprey types residing in Morrison Creek.  One type is L. tridentata, which can be readily distinguished both as an ammocoete and post-metamorphosis (Beamish 1985).  The other two are forms of L. richardsoni that can be distinguished from each other only at certain stages of development (Beamish 1985).  It remains unclear whether the two forms are different life history phenotypes of the same species or separate lineages (Beamish 1985; Beamish et al. 1999).  Evidence seems to favour the idea that they are distinct life history forms within a single lineage (i.e., a polymorphism).  Multiple life history forms are common within other fish species, but this is the world’s only known population of lamprey with more than one life history phenotype (Beamish 1987).

One of the life history forms is the “normal” L. richardsoni.  This type lives entirely in freshwater, is non-parasitic and does not feed as an adult.  It undergoes metamorphosis in September, overwinters in the gravel, and spawns and dies the following May to July (R. Beamish, pers. comm.).  Ammocoetes live in burrows in fine stream sediments for an estimated 3 to 7 years, and grow to about 13 cm in length.  Reproductive adults are slightly smaller, usually 8 to 12 cm in length, and dark brown or black in colour (McDermott 2003).  Teeth are present on the oral disk, but quickly wear and become blunt (Beamish 1985).

The second form is referred to as L. richardsoni var. marifuga.  Most of what we know about the life history of this form has come from lab-based studies (Beamish 1987).  Distinguishing between ammocoetes of L. richardsoni and L. richardsoni var. marifuga is not yet possible as ammocoetes have not been unequivocally matched to each form.  Individuals become distinguishable shortly after metamorphosis. The marifuga form is notable because its teeth remain sharp, it apparently feeds by parasitizing a variety of fish, lives for up to one year longer, and retains a silver colouration until the end of September prior to spawning.  It is commonly, though not always, larger (i.e., 15 to 18 cm) at spawning than the normal variety (Beamish 1985, 1987; McDermott 2003), indicating that individuals feed after metamorphosis. Mating or feeding behaviour have not been observed in the wild, though adults of L. richardsonivar. marifuga readily attacked a variety of live and dead fish in the lab (Beamish 1985).  The timing of spawning and ammocoete rearing is apparently similar to that of L. richardsoni.

Size differences are thought to prevent cross-breeding between L. richardsoni andL. richardsonivar. marifuga (R. Beamish, pers. comm.); however, based on morphological characteristics, it is possible that L. richardsoni var. marifuga is a hybrid between L. richardsoni and L. ayresi.  This hypothesis is deemed unlikely (R. Beamish, pers. comm.): L. ayresi has not been observed in Morrison Creek, and L. richardsoni var. marifuga shows no physiological tolerance to sea water (Beamish 1985), providing some evidence against the hypothesis.

1.2 Distribution

The Morrison Creek lamprey is an extreme endemic.  It is found only in the Morrison Creek watershed, a tributary to the Puntledge River on Vancouver Island, British Columbia (Figure 3).  Morrison Creek is somewhat unusual for this area because its headwaters are dominated by wetlands, but the reasons for this life history form evolving only here are not understood.  It is possible that the unique features of the watershed (extensive headwater wetland habitat, large groundwater inflows and stable temperatures and flow) were instrumental in the evolution of this variety.  Distribution of lamprey within Morrison Creek is not known, particularly in the headwater wetlands that are difficult to sample.  However, salmonids have been observed in the upper watershed almost to its upper limits, and lamprey have been observed in areas inaccessible to coho (J. Palmer, pers. comm.).  Lamprey are good swimmers, commonly migrating to the headwaters of streams (Scott and Crossman 1971), so there is no a priori reason to expect lamprey to be restricted in their distribution within Morrison Creek.  Ammocoetes may be more plentiful in the wetland habitats (R. Beamish, pers. comm.).  Attempts to find Morrison Creek lamprey within the Puntledge River and other rivers in the area have not been successful (R. Beamish, pers. comm.).

1.3 Abundance

There has been little research done on Morrison Creek lamprey, and at no time has a population estimate been made of this variety.  It was regularly captured during early work (Beamish 1985), and adults continue to be captured and enumerated at a smolt counting fence operated by volunteers (J. Palmer, personal communication).  At no time have the counts been high (usually < 100 individuals), but there has no been no indication of large population fluctuations or declines (Beamish 1985).  Catch per unit effort has not been used to assess trends because sampling was not conducted uniformly across years.  Based on personal experience with sampling lamprey in BC, R. Beamish indicates that the variety is rare within the Morrison system.  There is no evidence that the variety is in decline, however, no firm conclusions can be drawn with the current data.

1.4 Importance to People

The special significance of the Morrison Creek lamprey is primarily its scientific value (e.g., see Section 16 for a partial list of scientific literature).  There is no commercial value to the variety.  As a group, lamprey are not generally well-regarded because some species are parasitic on salmonids or other highly-valued species.  The fact that introduced lamprey have caused considerable harm in other systems (Fuller et al. 1999) likely adds to lamprey’s poor reputation.  Conversely, others view Morrison Creek lamprey as a member of the native fauna, with its own intrinsic values including its contribution to biodiversity, education, ecological role and science.  As a scientific subject, the Morrison Creek lamprey is of considerable interest for its extreme endemism and unique presence of more than one life history form.  It has been suggested that Morrison Creek lamprey may represent a transition between parasitic and non-parasitic forms (Beamish 1985).  The cultural value of Morrison Creek lamprey to First Nations has not been investigated for this report, though it should be noted that the larger Pacific Lamprey has significant cultural value for First Nations people in some regions (Close et al. 2002).  Presence of lamprey is generally a good indicator of habitat quality and suitability for Pacific salmon (R. Beamish, pers. comm.).

Figure 3.  Distribution of Morrison Creek lamprey.  (Map base obtained from Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources, http://www.em.gov.bc.ca/mining/Geolsurv/MapPlace/themeMaps.htm).

Figure 3.  Distribution of Morrison Creek lamprey.  (Map base obtained from Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources, http://www.em.gov.bc.ca/mining/Geolsurv/MapPlace/themeMaps.htm).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la lamproie du ruisseau Morrison

Information sur l'espèce

Nom latin : Lampetra richardsoni var. marifuga

Dernière désignation du COSEPAC :Mai 2000

Statut selon le COSEPAC : En voie de disparition

Statut selon la LEP :En voie de disparition, août 2003

Raison du statut du COSEPAC : Endémique à la Colombie-Britannique, cette petite population unique est susceptible de perdre son habitat en raison de l’expansion urbaine et de la construction d’autoroutes.

Présence au Canada :Colombie-Britannique

Historique des statuts du COSEPAC : Désignée en avril 1999 comme espèce menacée. Le statut a été réévalué et modifié pour le porter à « en voie de disparition » en mai 2000. L’évaluation de mai 2000 était basée sur de nouveaux critères quantitatifs appliqués à l’information du rapport du statut de 1999 (Beamish et al. 1999).

Nom commun :Lamproie du ruisseau de Morrison

Historique

1. Description de l’espèce

1.1 Biologie

Les lamproies font partie de la superclasse des invertébrés Agnathe, des poissons caractérisés par l’absence de mâchoires chez ses individus. Les lamproies se distinguent par un corps cylindrique, anguilliforme et dépourvu d’écailles, avec une bouche ronde en forme de suçoir d’où surgissent une série de dents coupantes et cornues. Elles possèdent une nageoire caudale, souvent composée de deux sections; elles n’ont pas de nageoires paires (Figure 1).  Le squelette est cartilagineux, une caractéristique qui fait que peu de fossiles de l’espèce existe. Les lamproies possèdent sept paires de branchies prenant la forme de sacs branchiaux, chacun assorti d’une ouverture vers l’extérieur (Scott and Crossman 1973).  Il existe de 40 à 45 espèces de lamproies à l’intérieur de 9 genres, selon les interprétations actuelles des experts (ITIS 2005). 

On retrouve les lamproies habituellement dans les eaux de mer et les eaux douces tempérées; la répartition de l’espèce à travers le monde est principalement concentrée dans l’hémisphère nordique (Scott and Crossman 1973).  Environ le tiers des espèces de lamproies sont anadromes. Arrivées à l’âge adulte, les espèces de lamproies sont soit des parasites externes d’autres espèces de poisson soit non-parasitaires. Toutes les lamproies sont sémalpares et meurent après le frai. (Larson 1980).

Il est difficile de donner un âge précis à une lamproie (Beamish and Medland 1988; Kostow 2002). Leur phase larvaire est distincte et suivie par une métamorphose (parfois appelée transformation (Scott and Crossman 1971), dont la durée varie selon l’espèce. Les larves, appelées ammocètes (Figure 2), vivent dans le lit des ruisseaux et les sédiments des lacs (Scott and Crossman 1971).  Les ammocètes sont munis d’yeux qui ne voient pas et sont dépourvus de dents et de disque oral, leur bouche est recouverte d’une sorte de capuchon oral. Les ammocètes se nourrissent en filtrant les plantes microscopiques, les matières animales et les détritus organiques qui passent à travers ce capuchon oral (p. ex. Manion 1967; Moore1973, 1980; Sutton et al. 1994; Mundahl et al. 2005).

Figure 1.  Photo d’une lamproie du ruisseau Morrison prise au printemps 2005. Le spécimen, d’environ 12 cm de longueur, est à trois ou quatre mois après la métamorphose. Photo de Jim Palmer.

Figure 1.  Photo d’une lamproie du ruisseau Morrison prise au printemps 2005. Le spécimen, d’environ 12 cm de longueur, est à trois ou quatre mois après la métamorphose. Photo de Jim Palmer.

En Colombie-Britannique, on dénombre quatre espèces connues de lamproies (Beamish 1985).  Non anadrome et non parasitaire, Lampetra richardsoni habite l’eau douce et se retrouve la plupart du temps dans les ruisseaux. La lamproie du Pacifique, L. tridentata, est anadrome et parasitaire; elle hante surtout les ruisseaux côtiers et les zones côtières maritimes. L. ayresi est anadrome et parasitaire. Elle peut être très abondante dans le fleuve Fraser et se retrouve fréquemment dans le détroit de Georgie, au cours de son étape parasitaire. Très peu de recherches ont été effectuées sur les espèces à l’extérieur du bassin de Georgie. L. macrostoma, décrit à l’origine par Beamish (1982), est parasitaire et on suppose qu’elle est une descendante de L. tridentata.  On l’a recensée seulement dans les lacs Cowichan et Mesachie (Beamish 1998).

Figure2.  Caractéristiques externes de l’ammocète (tiré de McDermott 2003).

Figure2.  Caractéristiques externes de l’ammocète (tiré de McDermott 2003).

Traduction de la figure

Branchial (gill) pore : foramens branchiaux (branchies)

Branchial region : région branchiale

Eye spot : Ocelle

Oral Hood : capuchon oral

Second Dorsal Fin : Deuxième nageoire dorsale

Caudal Ridge : arête caudale

Cloaca : cloaque

Caudal Fin : nageoire caudale

Un cinquième taxon a été repéré et on croit qu’il ne se retrouve que dans le ruisseau Morrison, sur l’île de Vancouver (Beamish 1985).  Il a été découvert en 1977 (Beamish 1985) et on pense qu’il est un descendant de L. richardsoni, qu’on a baptisé L. richardsoni var. marifuga (Beamish 1987).  C’est un bel exemple d’une forme parasitaire donnant naissance à une forme non-parasitaire. Bien que décrit en détails, la lamproie du ruisseau Morrison n’a pas été classée dans aucun groupe taxinomique. Le groupe taxinomique de ces formes demeure quelque peu incertain et des recherches additionnelles sont nécessaires pour clarifier leur  groupe d’appartenance. Dans le présent programme de rétablissement, le nom commun de lamproie du ruisseau de Morrison est utilisé pour parler de la seule variété L. richardsoni var. marifuga.

Il existe trois types différents de lamproies dans le ruisseau Morrison. D’abord, le type L. tridentata, qu’on peut distinguer facilement tant sous forme d’ammocète qu’après la métamorphose (Beamish 1985).  On ne peut distinguer les deux autres formes de L. richardsoni qu’à certaines étapes de leur développement (Beamish 1985).  Il n’est pas certain que ces deux formes sont des phénotypes de cycle de vie différents d’une même espèce ou des lignées séparées (Beamish 1985; Beamish et al. 1999).  La preuve semble pencher en faveur de deux formes distinctes de cycle biologique à l’intérieur d’une seule lignée (c.-à-d. un polymorphisme).  De multiples formes de cycles biologiques sont fréquentes à l’intérieur d’autres espèces de poissons mais il s’agit de la seule population connue au monde de lamproies ayant plus d’un phénotype de cycle biologique (Beamish 1987).

Une des formes de cycle biologique est le « normal », L. richardsoni. Ce type vit entièrement en eau douce, est non-parasitaire et ne se nourrit pas à l’âge adulte. Il se métamorphose en septembre, passe l’hiver dans le gravier du lit des rivières et, après le frai en mai ou juin, meurt. (R. Beamish, pers. comm.). Les ammocètes vivent dans le lit des sédiments de ruisseau pendant une période variant de trois à sept ans et atteignent environ 13 cm de longueur. Les adultes reproducteurs sont légèrement plus petits, habituellement de huit à 12 cm de longueur; ils sont de couleur brun foncé ou noir (McDermott 2003).  Les dents sont présentes dans le disque oral, mais s’usent rapidement et deviennent émoussées (Beamish 1985).

La deuxième forme se nomme L. richardsoni var. marifuga. La majeure partie des connaissances acquises sur le cycle de vie de cette espèce provient des observations faites en laboratoire (Beamish 1987).  Il n’est pas encore possible de faire la différence entre les ammocètes de L. richardsoni et de L. richardsoni var. marifuga car les ammocètes n’ont pas encore été identifiés hors de tout doute pour chacune des formes. On parvient à faire la différence entre les individus peu après leur métamorphose. La forme marifuga se distingue par sa dentition puisque ses dents, contrairement aux autres lamproies, demeurent tranchantes, ce qui lui permet de se nourrir en devenant le parasite d’une variété de poissons; elle vit jusqu’à un an de plus que ses congénères et conserve une coloration argentée jusqu’à la fin de septembre, avant le frai. Elle est fréquemment, mais pas toujours, plus imposante (c.-à-d. 15 à 18 cm) au moment du frai que la variété plus commune (Beamish 1985, 1987; McDermott 2003), ce qui laisse croire que les individus se nourrissent après leur métamorphose. Le comportement d’accouplement ou de nutrition n’a pas été observé en pleine nature bien qu’en laboratoire, les adultes L. richardsoni var. marifuga aient attaqué sans se faire prier une variété de poissons morts et vivants (Beamish 1985). Le moment du frai et de l’alevinage des ammocètes est apparemment semblable à celui du L. richardsoni.

On croit que les différences de taille visent à empêcher le croisement entre L. richardsoni et L. richardsoni var. marifuga (R. Beamish, pers. comm.); cependant, en se fondant sur des caractéristiques morphologiques, il est possible que les lamproies L. richardsoni var. marifuga soient une version hybride du croisement entre L. richardsoni et L. ayresi.  Cette hypothèse est cependant jugée peu vraisemblable (R. Beamish, pers. comm.): L. ayresi n’a pas été observée dans le ruisseau Morrison Creek et L. richardsoni var. marifuga n’affiche aucune tolérance physique à l’eau de mer (Beamish 1985), sapant davantage cette hypothèse.

1.2 Répartition

La lamproie du ruisseau Morrison est extrêmement endémique. On la retrouve seulement dans le bassin hydrologique du ruisseau de Morrison, un affluent de la rivière Puntledge sur l’île de Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique (Figure 3).  Le ruisseau Morrison est un cours d’eau quelque peu inhabituel pour ce secteur parce que son cours supérieur est dominé par des marécages, mais on ne comprend pas les raisons qui expliquent que cette forme de vie se soit développée seulement à cet endroit. Il est possible que les caractéristiques uniques du bassin hydrologique (cours supérieur étendu formé d’un habitat marécageux, important débit entrant et températures et débits stables) aient compté pour beaucoup dans l’évolution de cette variété.  La répartition de la lamproie à l’intérieur du ruisseau Morrison n’est pas connue, en particulier dans les marécages du cours supérieur, où il est difficile de prélever des échantillons. Cependant, des salmonidés ont été observés dans la partie supérieure du cours supérieur presque à la limite et les lamproies ont été observées dans des zones inaccessibles aux cohos. (J. Palmer, pers. comm.).  Les lamproies sont de bons nageurs, effectuant habituellement une migration vers les cours d’eau supérieur des ruisseaux (Scott and Crossman 1971), donc il n’y a pas de raison a priori de s’attendre à ce que la lamproie limite sa répartition à l’intérieur du ruisseau Morrison.  Les ammocètes sont peut-être plus nombreuses dans les habitats marécageux (R. Beamish, pers. comm.).  Les tentatives pour trouver des lamproies du ruisseau de Morrison à l’intérieur de la rivière Puntledge et dans d’autres rivières de ce secteur se sont avérées vaines (R. Beamish, pers. comm.).

1.3 Abondance

On a effectué peu de recherches sur la lamproie du ruisseau Morrison et on n’a jamais estimé  la population de cette variété. Au début des travaux, elle était régulièrement capturée (Beamish 1985) et les adultes continuent d’être capturés et dénombrés à une barrière de dénombrement des saumoneaux, exploitée par des bénévoles (J. Palmer, communication personnelle).  En aucun temps, le décompte n’a été élevé (normalement < 100 individus), mais il n’existe aucune indication de grandes fluctuations de populations ou de déclins (Beamish 1985).  Les prises par unité d’effort n’ont pas été utilisées pour évaluer les tendances parce que l’échantillonnage n’a pas été mené de manière uniforme au cours des années. À partir de son expérience personnelle dans l’échantillonnage des lamproies en Colombie-Britannique, R. Beamish en conclut que la variété est rare dans le système Morrison. Cependant, il n’existe aucune preuve que la variété soit en déclin et on ne peut tirer de conclusion certaine à partir des données existantes.

1.4 Importance pour les citoyens

L’importance spéciale de la lamproie du ruisseau Morrison est avant tout de nature scientifique (p. ex. se référer à la partie 16 pour une liste partielle de la documentation scientifique). Il n’existe aucune valeur commerciale à cette variété. En tant que groupe, la lamproie n’est en général pas tenue en haute estime en raison de la nature parasitaire pour certaines espèces de salmonidés ou d’autres espèces hautement valorisées.  L’introduction de lamproies dans d’autres systèmes s’étant soldée par de considérables dégâts (Fuller et al. 1999) n’ajoute rien de bon à la mauvaise réputation de l’espèce. D’un autre côté, d’autres considèrent la lamproie du ruisseau de Morrison comme un membre de la faune indigène, avec ses propres valeurs intrinsèques, incluant sa contribution à la biodiversité, l’éducation, son rôle écologique et son apport à la science. En tant qu’objet de recherche scientifique, la lamproie du ruisseau Morrison représente un intérêt considérable de par sa nature extrêmement endémique et sa présence unique sous plus d’une forme de cycle biologique. On a suggéré que la lamproie du lac Morrison pouvait être une sorte de chaînon manquant entre les formes parasitaires et non-parasitaires (Beamish 1985).  La valeur culturelle de la lamproie du ruisseau Morrison pour les Premières nations n’a pas été étudiée dans le présent rapport, bien qu’il soit nécessaire de souligner que la lamproie du Pacifique, plus grosse, comporte une signification culturelle importante pour les peuples des Premières nations dans certaines régions (Close et al. 2002).  La présence de lamproies représente en général un bon indicateur de la qualité et de l’à-propos d’un habitat pour le saumon du Pacifique. (R. Beamish, pers. comm.).

Figure 3.  Répartition de la lamproie du ruisseau Morrison. (Carte fournie par le ministère de l’énergie, des mines et des ressources pétrolières, http://www.em.gov.bc.ca/mining/Geolsurv/MapPlace/themeMaps.htm).

Figure 3.  Répartition de la lamproie du ruisseau Morrison. (Carte fournie par le ministère de l’énergie, des mines et des ressources pétrolières, http://www.em.gov.bc.ca/mining/Geolsurv/MapPlace/themeMaps.htm).