Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Species information

2. Basic Information on the Beluga Whale

2.1 Population

2.1.1 Significance of the population

Belugas living in the St.Lawrence estuary are considered a relict population distinct from other populations of the Arctic.  Recognition of the discreteness of this small population of belugas, mainly centred near the mouth of the Saguenay River, relied on the absence of any significant numbers of belugas in the areas contiguous to their location. Few belugas are found along the North Shore of the Gulf of St.Lawrence or the south Labrador coast confirming the lack of an extant connection between the belugas of the St.Lawrence and those populations occupying the sub-Arctic coastline of Quebec and Nunavut.

The St.Lawrence belugas are more genetically distinct than all other Canadian beluga populations. This population has one haplotype which has not yet been found anywhere else and another haplotype which is common only in belugas of eastern Hudson Bay, particularly those sampled in the Nastapoka River Estuary.  It has been postulated that both the St.Lawrence and Eastern Hudson Bay beluga might have originated from the inland sea of

the Lakes Agassiz and Ojibway, a refugium extant during the Wisconsin period of glaciation.

2.1.2 Distribution

This population is centred on the region influenced by the outflow of the Saguenay River. The summer distribution is well known and has changed little in the last twenty years. Recent aerial surveys have enumerated belugas in the whole of their summer range. No significant numbers are reported downstream past Ile du Bic or upstream past Ile aux Coudes.

Little is known of the winter distribution of St Lawrence belugas. There appears to be a slight increase in the use of the areas a little further downstream during the winter months

St Lawrence Riverbelugas now occupy only a small part of their former range, which extended further downstream to Pointe-des-Monts and Cap-Chat and upstream well past Ile aux Coudes. The belugas living near the Manicouagan River have been heavily exploited and the hydro-electric damming of the river might have resulted in their disappearance.

2.1.3 Population size and trend

Surveys of this population have been conducted since 1973. The analysis of the most recent photographic aerial survey made in 2000 has indicated no significant increase in numbers of belugas since 1988 when survey methodology was standardized.  Although the series of surveys made since 1973 suggest from the resulting abundance indices an apparent increase in population size, that conclusion is debated by scientists.  A precautionary conclusion is to consider the population stable until demonstrated otherwise.

Scientists measured experimentally a correction factor for submerged belugas invisible to aerial photography in the St.Lawrence.  Such a correction factor provides a mean to transform a survey index into an objective value of total population size.  The factor measured experimentally in the St.Lawrence was +109% which is comparable to factors developed for surveys made on belugas in the Arctic. Recent estimates of total numbers of belugas in the St.Lawrence population, corrected for submerged animals, are 1 209 individuals for the 1997 survey and 952 animals in 2000.  Part of the difference between these estimates can be attributed to the intrinsic error due to the photographic sampling methodology.

Standardization of survey methods since 1988 and periodic monitoring of this population in the future will probably result in deriving good estimates of the population trends.

2.2 Biology

2.2.1 Morphology

Beluga, Delphinapterus leucas, is a marine mammal.  This small toothed whale is characterized by a lack of dorsal fin, a melon-like structure on its head above the beak and its completely white color at maturity.  Males reach a total length of 2.6 m to 4.5 m and females a smaller size at approximately 80 % of that of the male, for a maximum of 3.5 m.  Animals of both sexes are similar in appearance. Newborn calves are pale grey at birth, sometimes with a darker mottled coloration, and 150 cm in length, which is half the length of their mothers.  Yearling calves are darker grey and 60-65% of their mothers’ length, at approximately 2 m.  Older juveniles gradually become paler in colour until they turn pure white at, or shortly after, the age of sexual maturity.

2.2.2 Reproduction

Beluga females mature sexually between 4 and 7 years old, males somewhat older, at 6 or 7 years.  Mating probably occurs at the end of winter or in the spring, in the wintering areas.  Gestation is estimated to be in the order 12.8 to approximately 14.5 months. The peak calving time appears to occur during the late spring migration or early summer but is not easily observed.  Lactation is estimated to last from 20 to 32 months.  It is estimated that a complete cycle between successive pregnancies is approximately 3 years.

2.2.3 Demography

Belugas are long-lived mammals with life spans in the range of 15-30 years.  Most population parameters available for belugas have been derived from samples of dead animals. The age specific frequencies obtained from collected belugas are subject to various sampling biases that make the accurate calculation of the survivorship of the age classes virtually impossible. An estimate of the instantaneous rate of increase of the population is consequently difficult to obtain from these demographic data. Nevertheless, it is felt that unexploited beluga populations, which are below carrying capacity, could increase at a rate in the range of 2.5 to 3.5 percent per annum.

2.2.4 Behavior

Belugas tend to form groups that can be discriminated by their sex composition or by the presence of juveniles. Distribution patterns within the territory occupied by the population likely reflect the ecological and behavioural needs of the different social groups. In fact, belugas exhibit a strong tenacity to specific sites.  Appproximately 20 such sites have been identified in the St.Lawrence estuary and in the Saguenay. Attachment to specific sites seems to be related to matrilinearity (social structure centered on a mother) and protection of those sites is thus crucial.  Two of the best known such sites are the passage of Ile-aux-Lièvres and Bay Sainte-Marguerite in the Saguenay.

2.2.5 Feeding and Diet

Feeding ecology of the St.Lawrence Beluga is not sufficiently known to determine whether its needs are faced with any problem.  Its diet is diversified and includes several species of fish and invertebrates.  Herring, capelin, tomcod, squid and polychete worms are among the species identified.  During the long winter season, its feeding strategies and availability of preys are unknown.  The trophic level occupied by belugas in the St.Lawrence is close but not identical to that of local species of seals.   Question is open about the possibility that other marine mammals could be competing with belugas for some food resources.

2.3 Why has COSEWIC given the Beluga Whale a threatened species status?

 

COSEWIC Assessment summary for the Beluga Whale (St.Lawrence population) - May 2004

  Common name

Beluga Whale (St.Lawrence population)

Scientific name

Delphinapterus leucas

Status

Threatened

Reason for designation

  That population was greatly reduced by hunting, which lasted until 1979. Heavy contamination may have also contributed to the decline of the population.  Aerial surveys since 1973 suggest that the decline in the population size has stopped, but do not provide clear evidence of an important increase in numbers.  Levels of many toxics are still high in the tissues of belugas.  The whales and their habitat are threatened by contaminants, maritime traffic and industrialization of the St.Lawrence River watershed.

Occurrence

  Quebec ; Atlantic Ocean

Status history

  Was designated “endangered” in April 1983 and April 1997.   Review of the status: the species was designated”threatened” in May 2004.  The last assessment was based on an updated report on the situation.

According to recent aerial surveys, the beluga population in the St.Lawrence estuary is considered stable or at least, is not dropping nor increasing at a measurable rate. Its size is approximately a thousand animals, of which 600 would be mature and able to contribute to reproduction. This is clearly higher than the numbers used when COSEWIC initiallly classified that population as endangered.  It was presumed then to include 350 individuals and be declining. When its situation was reviewed in 2004, the total number of individuals capable of contributing to reproduction was estimated at less than 1000, which prompted COSEWIC to recommend that it be considered threatened. The complete assessment report used for the revision of the status is available on the internet site of the SARA public registry.

2.4 What are the threats to the St.Lawrence Beluga Whale?

While belugas are subjected to various causes of natural mortality, such as predation and infectious disease, it is essentially human factors that should be identified and properly managed in order to promote the recovery of the St.Lawrence population of Beluga Whale.

The loss and perturbation of habitat is a continuing threat for St Lawrence belugas which live in a relatively restricted zone of a heavily traveled and populated area.  Both commercial shipping and whale watching activities have increased significantly in the area over the last 40 years. It has been demonstrated that boat traffic had a significant effect on the vocal behaviour of belugas.  Little is known of the immediate or chronic stress responses, which belugas might have to these various disturbances factors, and how it might affect their feeding, mating and nurturing behaviour.

Large numbers of beluga carcasses have been recovered along the inhabited shorelines of the St Lawrence River and have allowed considerable research into the causes of mortality. Links have been postulated between the prevalence of cancerous tumors and the exposure of St Lawrence belugas to industrial pollutants. Various contaminants known for their toxic and carcinogenous properties have been detected and often measured in high levels. But debates continue on whether correlations between pollutants and pathologies are truly indicative of a direct cause and effect relationship, and whether the sample of recovered carcasses is representative of measured cancer rates within the live population.  Because little information exists from other Arctic beluga populations on cancer rates and since the St Lawrence beluga cancer samples come mainly from old animals, it is difficult to evaluate this question.  There is nevertheless no doubt that belugas of the St.Lawrence are more exposed to pollutants than any other beluga population in Canada.

The small size and lower genetic diversity of this population has lead to the speculation that inbreeding might be suppressing the reproductive rates.  While the genetic diversity of this population is the lowest in all Canadian populations, the degree to which inbreeding suppression is a limiting factor is hard to evaluate. It should be noted that marine mammals, particularly seal populations of many species, have experienced severe reduction to very low numbers where a genetic bottleneck could have occurred and yet have rebounded to very high densities. Other genetic factors, such as changes at particular loci, might be implicated in a reduced capacity of the St Lawrence Population to respond to certain pathogens.

Other possible limiting factors include competition for resources with commercial fisheries and other increasing populations of marine mammals such as harp seals and grey seals. More detailed research must be conducted before the effect of competition can be critically evaluated, particularly since belugas eat a variety of food species, and are capable of deep foraging dives.  It should be noted however, that even with the high carcass recovery rate, no cases of starvation have been documented.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Information sur l'espèces

2. Information de base sur le Béluga du Saint-Laurent

2.1 Population

2.1.1 Signification de la population

Les bélugas de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent sont considérés comme une population relique et marginale de l’Arctique.  Le caractère distinct de cette petite population de bélugas, concentrée principalement aux environs de l’embouchure du Saguenay, tient à l’éloignement géographique des autres populations de béluga.  Seuls quelques individus fréquentent occasionnellement la côte nord du Golfe Saint-Laurent ou la région sud du Labrador, ce qui semble exclure tout lien contemporain entre les bélugas du Saint-Laurent et les populations sub-arctiques du Québec et du Nunavut.

Les bélugas du Saint-Laurent sont plus distincts sur le plan génétique que toutes les autres populations canadiennes de bélugas.  Ils possèdent un haplotype qui ne se retrouve nulle part ailleurs et un autre qu’ils partagent uniquement avec les bélugas de l’est de la Baie d’Hudson, en particulier ceux de l’estuaire de la Nastapoka.  Il se peut donc que les bélugas du Saint-Laurent et ceux de l’est de la Baie d’Hudson soient issus de la mer intérieure qui servit de refuge pendant la dernière période de glaciation.

2.1.2 Répartition

Cette population est concentrée dans la partie du Saint-Laurent qui subit l’influence des eaux du Saguenay.  L’aire d’estivage est bien délimitée et a peu changé au cours des 20 dernières années.  Les bélugas, essentiellement distribués entre l’île du Bic en aval et l’Île-aux-Coudres en amont, ont été observés dans tout ce territoire estival au cours des récents recensements aériens.

On sait peu de choses par contre sur l’aire d’hivernage des bélugas du Saint-Laurent.  Il semble toutefois y avoir une légère augmentation du nombre de bêtes qui fréquentent les secteurs situés un peu plus loin en aval pendant les mois d’hiver.

Les bélugas du Saint-Laurent n’occupent plus qu’une petite partie de leur ancien territoire estival, qui s’étendait en aval jusqu’à Pointe-des-Monts et Cap-Chat et au-delà de l’Île-aux-Coudres en amont.  Les bélugas qui fréquentaient l’embouchure de la Manicouagan ont fait l’objet d’une chasse intensive et il se peut finalement que le harnachement hydro-électrique de la rivière ait entraîné leur disparition.

2.1.3 Taille et tendance

Cette population fait l’objet de recensements depuis 1973.  L’analyse des données du recensement aérien photographique de 2000 n’indique aucun accroissement significatif du nombre de bélugas depuis 1988, date à partir de laquelle la méthodologie d’inventaire a été standardisée.  Bien que la série complète des données de ces recensements, qui sont en fait des indices d’abondance, semble suggérer une hausse de la population, cette interprétation est contestée.  La conclusion la plus prudente est donc de considérer que la population est stable, jusqu’à confirmation du contraire.

Dans le Saint-Laurent, les scientifiques ont mesuré expérimentalement un facteur de correction des données pour tenir compte des animaux qui sont submergés et donc invisibles lors de la photographie aérienne.  L’utilisation de ce facteur vise à transformer l’indice d’abondance pour en tirer une estimation de la taille réelle de la population recensée. Les résultats ont donné un facteur de correction de +109%, ce qui est comparable aux facteurs développés pour les inventaires de bélugas effectués dans l’arctique.  Les récentes estimations du nombre total de bélugas dans la population du Saint-Laurent, ainsi corrigées pour tenir compte des animaux submergés, sont de 1 209 individus pour le recensement de 1997 et de 952 animaux pour 2000.  La différence s’explique en bonne partie par l’erreur intrinsèque due à la méthodologie d’échantillonnage photographique.

Dans les années à venir, la normalisation des méthodes de recensement introduite en 1988 et la surveillance périodique de cette population permettront probablement aux chercheurs d’estimer avec justesse les tendances démographiques.

2.2 Biologie

2.2.1 Morphologie

Le béluga, Delphinapterus leucas, est un mammifère marin.  Il s’agit d’une petite baleine à dents qui se caractérise par l’absence de nageoire dorsale, la présence d’une structure en forme de melon au dessus du bec et par sa couleur complètement blanche à l’age adulte.   Les males atteignent une longueur de 2.6 m à 4.5 m et les femelles une taille inférieure à environ 80 % de celle des males, pour un maximum de 3.5 m.  Les animaux des deux sexes ont la même apparence.  A la naissance, les petits sont de couleur grise, parfois avec des taches plus foncées.  Ils font alors 150 cm de longueur.  A l’age d’un an, ils atteignent déjà 60 à 65 % de la taille de leur mère, soit environ 2 m. Les juvéniles plus âgés pâlissent graduellement jusqu’à l’atteinte de la maturité. 

2.2.2 Reproduction

La femelle du béluga atteint la maturité sexuelle vers l’age de 4 à 7 ans, et le mâle un peu plus tard, vers l’age de 6 ou 7 ans.  L’accouplement a probablement lieu à la fin de l’hiver ou au printemps, dans les aires d’hivernage.  Il est estimé que la gestation dure de 12.8 mois à environ 14.5 mois, selon les études.  La mise-bas semble se produire au début de l’été bien qu’on l’ait rarement observée.  La lactation dure vraisemblablement de 20 mois à 32 mois, toujours selon les études.  On estime qu’il y aurait une période d’environ 3 ans entre deux gestations successives.

2.2.3 Démographie

Le béluga a une durée de vie variant entre 15 et 30 ans, approximativement.  La plupart des paramètres démographiques obtenus pour le béluga ont été tirés des carcasses d’animaux morts.  La fréquence des ages chez les bélugas récoltés est sujette à divers biais d’échantillonnage qui rendent presque impossible le calcul exact du taux de survie des individus dans la population.  Il est donc également difficile d’établir une estimation du taux d’accroissement de la population à l’aide des données démographiques.  Théoriquement toutefois, il est possible qu’une population de bélugas non chassés puisse croître à un rythme de 2.5 % à 3.5 % par année, en absence de frein environnemental.

2.2.4 Comportement

Les bélugas ont tendance à se regrouper en troupeaux qui se distinguent souvent en fonction du sexe et de la présence de juvéniles.  Le patron de distribution à l’intérieur du territoire occupé reflète probablement les besoins écologiques et comportementaux des différents groupes sociaux. En effet, les bélugas démontrent une grande fidélité aux sites spécifiques qu’ils fréquentent et près d’une vingtaine de ces sites ont été identifiés dans l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent et dans le Saguenay.  L’attachement à des sites spécifiques semble être fonction de la matrilinéarité (groupe social centré sur une mère) et la protection de ces sites revêt une importance cruciale.  Deux des sites qui sont davantage connus sont la passe de l’Île-aux-Lièvres et la baie Sainte-Marguerite dans le Saguenay.

2.2.5 Régime alimentaire

On ne connaît pas suffisamment bien l’écologie alimentaire du béluga du Saint-Laurent pour déterminer si leurs besoins alimentaires ne rencontrent aucun problème.  La diète du béluga est variée et se compose de plusieurs espèces de poisson et d’invertébrés.  Le hareng, le capelan, le poulamon, les calmars et les vers polychètes sont parmi les espèces identifiées.  Cependant, ses stratégies d’alimentation ou les proies disponibles dans l’habitat qu’il fréquente pendant la longue saison hivernale demeurent inconnues.  Le niveau trophique occupé par le béluga dans le Saint-Laurent est semblable mais quand même différent de ceux des espèces de phoques.  On se questionne d’ailleurs sur la possibilité que ces autres mammifères marins soient en compétition avec le béluga pour certaines ressources alimentaires.

2.3 Pourquoi le COSEPAC a-t-il désigné le Béluga du Saint-Laurent comme une espèce menacée ?

tableautableau

D’après les récents recensements aériens, la population de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent est considérée comme stable ou, à tout le moins, ne semble pas régresser ni progresser de façon mesurable.  Elle compterait un millier d’animaux, dont environ 600 seraient matures et capables de contribuer à la reproduction.  C’est nettement supérieur au chiffre qui avait été établi à l’époque où le COSEPAC lui avait conféré le statut de population en voie de disparition.  On présumait alors que la population comptait 350 individus et qu’elle était en déclin.  Lors de la révision de la situation en 2004, notant que le nombre total d’individus en état de participer à la reproduction était inférieur à 1000, le COSEPAC a conclu que cette population devait être considérée comme menacée.  Le rapport détaillé ayant servi à l’évaluation du statut est disponible sur le site internet du registre public.

2,4 Quelles menaces pèsent sur cette espèce ?

Bien que les bélugas soient exposés à divers facteurs de mortalité naturelle, comme la prédation et les maladies infectieuses, ce sont essentiellement les menaces anthropiques qu’il convient de cerner et de gérer en vue de favoriser le rétablissement de la population du Saint-Laurent.

La perte et la perturbation d’habitats représentent une menace permanente pour les bélugas du Saint-Laurent, qui vivent dans une zone relativement restreinte, très peuplée et très fréquentée par les humains.  La navigation commerciale et les activités d’observation des baleines se sont considérablement intensifiées dans la région au cours des 40 dernières années.  On a également montré que les bateaux avaient un effet marqué sur le comportement vocal des bélugas.  On sait peu de choses sur les réactions de stress immédiates ou chroniques que pourraient avoir les bélugas face à ces divers facteurs de perturbation, et on ignore également quels en sont les effets sur leur comportement, que ce soit pour l’alimentation, l’accouplement ou les soins donnés à la progéniture.

De nombreuses carcasses de bélugas ont été récupérées le long des côtes habitées de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent.  Les chercheurs ont ainsi pu recueillir un volume considérable de données sur les causes de la mortalité.  Ces données suggèrent par exemple, qu’il pourrait exister un lien entre la prévalence élevée des tumeurs cancéreuses et l’exposition des bélugas du Saint-Laurent aux polluants industriels. En effet, on mesure la présence et des taux souvent élevés de divers contaminants connus pour leurs propriétés toxiques et cancérigènes. Cependant, l’existence d’une relation de cause à effet directe entre les polluants et les pathologies observées, et la représentativité des carcasses récupérées pour la mesure du taux de cancer chez les bélugas vivants, font l’objet de débats scientifiques.  Comme il existe peu d’information sur les taux de cancer chez d’autres populations de bélugas et comme les carcasses du Saint-Laurent avec des tumeurs cancéreuses appartenaient principalement à de vieux animaux, il est difficile de résoudre cette question.  Par ailleurs, il ne fait aucun doute que les bélugas du Saint-Laurent sont davantage exposés que les autres populations de bélugas du pays aux risques posés par les polluants.

Le petit effectif et la faible diversité génétique de cette population ont amené des chercheurs à émettre l’hypothèse voulant que la consanguinité réduise peut-être le taux de reproduction.  La diversité génétique de cette population est plus faible que celle des autres populations canadiennes, mais il est difficile d’évaluer dans quelle mesure la consanguinité est un facteur limitatif.  Il convient de noter que dans des conditions de goulot d’étranglement génétique possible, certains mammifères marins, en particulier des populations de phoques de diverses espèces, sont déjà parvenus à recouvrer de fortes densités après avoir été réduits à de très faibles nombres.  On craint également que d’autres phénomènes génétiques, tels des mutations par exemple, pourraient réduire la capacité de résistance à certains agents pathogènes dans la population de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent.

Parmi les autres facteurs limitatifs possibles, il faut mentionner la concurrence pour les ressources que livrent aux bélugas les pêcheurs commerciaux et d’autres populations croissantes de mammifères marins tels que le phoque du Groenland et le phoque gris.  Il faudrait mener des recherches plus détaillées avant de pouvoir évaluer de façon critique l’effet de cette concurrence, surtout parce que les bélugas se nourrissent d’une gamme variée de proies et qu’ils sont capables de plonger en eau profonde pour obtenir leur nourriture.  Cependant, il convient de noter que, malgré un taux élevé de récupération des carcasses, aucun cas d’inanition n’a été détecté.