Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Atlantic Walrus

Recovery Feasibility

A self-sustaining population of Atlantic walrus exists in the eastern Arctic, adjacent to the historic range of the extirpated Northwest Atlantic population.  Occasionally individuals, probably strays from the north, are observed in the historic range of the Northwest Atlantic population, but there has been no natural recovery of the southern population to date despite the cessation of the key threat (hunting) for over 200 years (COSEWIC 2006).

Accordingly, any attempts at recovery in the shorter term of this extirpated population would require the re-introduction of individuals from another area to establish a viable population.  

The recovery of the extirpated Northwest Atlantic population ofAtlantic walrus is not considered feasible at this time. Based on definition of the ‘extirpated’ designation of COSEWIC, this population is no longer found in the wild in Canada and consequently, any recovery would require the introduction of non-native individuals and an examination of the assessment criteria for considering these introduced individuals. Notwithstanding this administrative issue, an fulsome examination of feasibility consideration are presented in the following sections.

2.1 Availability of Individuals for Re-establishment

Recovery would require that individuals be available to support re-establishment of a viable population.  Atlantic walrus populations in Canada were recently assessed in a single designable unit as “Special Concern” by the Committee on Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC 2006).  Estimates of current abundance are imprecise, but available information suggests a total walrus population in northern Canada of the order of 10,000 individuals (COSEWIC 2006).  Its ability to sustain current removals is questionable however and current harvest levels are poorly known.  Recent average harvests may have been of the order of 560 individuals per year, levels which may not be sustainable in some areas or throughout the range (COSEWIC 2006). 

If the criteria for subsequent assessment are considered, populations of less than 250 mature individuals are considered “endangered” under the risk assessment criteria used by COSEWIC (COSEWIC 2004).  Therefore, hypothetically, an introduction of well over 100 mature individuals, perhaps a minimum of 250, would be necessary to lay the basis for re-establishment of a population of Atlantic walrus in the Northwest Atlantic below the endangered risk threshold. Re-establishment over a period of time of the order of 5 years would allow individuals to build social interactions and perhaps establish a viable population.  Under these assumptions, 20-50 individuals per year would have to be captured and transported to support a reintroduced population.  While this level of removal in itself would not likely pose a conservation concern, addition of these removals to existing harvests would increase risk to the existing northern populations.  Therefore it is uncertain that removals of individuals from the extant population for a re-introduction program would not jeopardize its status even if well managed.  Furthermore, captures for re-establishment of a Northwest Atlantic population would have to be managed in concert with Aboriginal subsistence harvest.  The species is important for Aboriginal subsistence and there are significant removals for that purpose.  Aboriginal harvesting rights are assured by Canada’s Constitution and by the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement, but conservation requirements take priority over Aboriginal harvesting rights. 

Atlantic walrus is also found in west and east Greenland and western Russia, but conservation status of these populations is such as to make removals for re-introduction in southern Canada unlikely.  The west Greenland population is considered depleted and declining and is subject to subsistence harvesting, the east Greenland population may be subject to unsustainable levels of subsistence harvesting, and information on the western Russian population is very uncertain (NAMMCO 2005).

 2.2 Habitat Availability

Sufficient habitat would have to be available to support re-establishment of the Northwest Atlantic walrus population, or would have to be made available through habitat management or restoration.  Suitable habitats, combining relatively shallow water with productive bottom invertebrate communities, probably exist in the Northwest Atlantic area historically inhabited by Atlantic walrus, given that there are relatively large areas of relatively undisturbed habitat in this region.  However, human settlements and human activities are widely distributed in these historically inhabited areas, and disturbance from these would be an important potential habitat limiting factor.

Selection of sites for re-establishment would have to be done with considerable care.  Areas with minimal human settlements (to minimize disturbance), minimal human activities (fishing, shipping, recreational activities in coastal areas), minimal fisheries for bottom invertebrates, and relatively unpolluted water (to minimize contamination from and mortality in bottom invertebrates) would be required for reintroduction of this species.  Consideration might be given to sites within coastal protected areas, and measures to restrict interactions between humans and walruses would have to be included in any re-introduction initiative. 

2.3 Potential to Mitigate Threats to Individuals and Habitat

The potential for significant threats to the species or its habitat to be mitigated or avoided must also be considered in assessing recovery feasibility.  The existing legal provisions prohibiting the harming of a listed extirpated species under the Species at Risk Act might provide a good basis for reducing threats to a re-introduced population to a minimum.

Harvesting is unlikely to be a serious threat in southern Canada, since the only harvests permitted on the extant eastern Arctic population are for Aboriginal subsistence; although it is not certain that Aboriginal rights to harvest would not be asserted, there appears to be no documented evidence of Aboriginal harvesting in the south.  Cree in eastern James and Hudson Bay occasionally harvest walrus for dog meat (COSEWIC 2006), and it is possible that such use was historically made in southern Canada where walrus were found.  Entanglement in fishing gear, as with whales and seals, is a potential threat which would have to be managed within any area of reintroduction of this species.  Human disturbance could probably be minimized by selecting areas far from human settlements, or within established protected areas, for re-establishment.

Interactions with other species might potentially affect recovery, but the impact is impossible to assess.  Predation would probably not be an issue, since even in the north predation is apparently rare and impact is reduced by herd behavior.  Adequate abundance and productivity of prey species would be a critical factor to choosing a site for re-introduction.

2.4 Existence of Effective Recovery Techniques

Recovery techniques which have been proven effective would be required if this population were to be re-established.  Transport of walrus by air is feasible, as has been shown by shipments of individual walrus between zoos and aquariums (Brookfield Zoo, n.d.).  However, it seems unlikely that humane transport of the large numbers of walrus needed to re-establish a viable population would be feasible in the near-term, in light of the remoteness of the source areas, the size of mature animals, the numbers required, the large distances to be covered, as well as the uncertainties with survival through any potential relocation.  Walrus are only found in remote areas of the north, far from normal air transport facilities, and the logistics of transporting live animals from these areas would be very difficult.  In recent years walrus have become less abundant near population centers and are mainly found at some distance from settlements (COSEWIC 2006), further increasing the difficulties of humane live transport.  Given the need to resettle walrus in areas of minimal human disturbance, it would be necessary to move walrus to remote areas in the historical range, further increasing complexity and distance of transport. 

As indicated above, transport of 20-50 individuals per year would be required over 5 years or more to lay the basis for a re-established population.  Each individual trip would require (a) live capture of a mature adult walrus in a remote Arctic area (b) holding in captivity pending transport (c) transport, probably by boat, to a local airport (d) transport by small aircraft (Twin Otter) from a local airport to Iqaluit or another airport capable of taking large aircraft (e) transport south by jet (f) transport to a large airport in the area of release (g) transport by small aircraft, vehicle or boat to the site of release.  Efficiency might be increased by capturing and transporting several animals per trip.  However, the logistics of such operations would be such as to make feasibility of large-scale reintroduction highly questionable.

Captive breeding is unlikely to be a viable option to support re-establishment.  Although walrus can be kept in captivity; at present there are 25 individuals in 9 zoos in North America, births in captivity are very rare (Indianapolis Zoo n.d.).  Few young have been raised by their mothers in captivity, but hand-rearing by humans is possible using formulated feeds (COSEWIC 2006).  Intrinsic rate of population increase for walrus in the wild would be around 5% per year based on estimates of sustainable harvesting rates and on information from species with similar reproductive characteristics (large whales).  A rate of increase of 5% per year translates into a population doubling time of 14.4 years.  Even beginning with a captive population of 10 individuals, 4 doublings (56 years) would be required to achieve numbers of the order needed to establish a viable population (160 individuals).  Risks and uncertainties for this strategy would include questionable adaptability of captive bred individuals to wild conditions, the need for extensive facilities and personnel over a very long time period for keeping and rearing large numbers of captive individuals, and uncertainties about breeding success in captivity.  The need to hand-rear young and to remove tusks in captivity would reduce adaptability to conditions in the wild, and rate of increase in captivity would probably be lower than that expected in the wild, increasing the time to produce the required numbers.  

2.5 Recovery Feasibility Conclusion

Recovery of the extirpated Northwest Atlantic population of Atlantic walrus is considered neither biologically nor technically feasible at the present time.  There are many uncertainties about whether a viable population would establish, even if (i) adequate numbers of individuals were available for re-introduction and (ii) interactions between walruses and humans could be managed in such a way as to ensure good habitat conditions for re-introduction.  It is further uncertain as to how well individual walrus would adapt from northern conditions, where ice is available for much of the year, to an area where ice is only present in winter and only in part of the historical range.  Choice of site(s) for re-establishment would be critical; although some characteristics of an ideal site can be identified (minimal human disturbance, abundant benthic mollusc populations at shallow depths, good coastal habitat for haul out), it would be impossible to guarantee success at any given site.  Sea otters have been successfully re-introduced to areas from which they have been extirpated, but this is a species with a high intrinsic rate of increase, in contrast to walrus.  Because of the low rate of increase of walrus, efforts to re-establish a Northwestern Atlantic population of Atlantic walrus would have to be continued over at least a decade, and determining whether re-establishment was successful might well require several decades.

The biological feasibility of recovery associated with the availability of the numbers of individuals needed to re-establish a population is not certain: extant populations are at low levels, and Aboriginal subsistence harvest is a high priority in managing these populations.  Although re-introduction might be considered a conservation issue, the risks and uncertainties surrounding the potential success of re-introduction in the south might make it difficult to argue that capture for re-introduction was a higher priority than harvest for Aboriginal subsistence.  Technical feasibility of transporting the large numbers of walruses needed to support re-establishment of a viable population is doubtful, given the many transport steps required between the remote northern areas from which mature live animals could be obtained and of the remote southern resettlement site.  The potential cost and logistics associated with a large recovery effort combined with uncertainties regarding survival through any relocation as well as the success of any re-establishment support the conclusion that recovery is not feasible at this time.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du morse de l'Atlantique

Faisabilité du rétablissement

Il y a une population autonome de morses de l’Atlantique dans l’est de l’Arctique, qui jouxte l’aire de répartition historique de la population de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest maintenant disparue du pays. On observe épisodiquement des individus, probablement des égarés des eaux nordiques, dans l’aire de répartition historique de la population de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest, mais il n’y a pas eu de rétablissement naturel de la population au sud, malgré la cessation de la principale menace (la chasse) depuis plus de 200 ans (COSEPAC 2006).

Par conséquent, toute tentative de rétablissement à court terme de cette population disparue du pays nécessiterait la réintroduction d’individus provenant d’une autre région en vue d’établir une population viable.   

Le rétablissement de la population de morses de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest n’est pas jugé possible pour le moment. Conformément à la définition d’une espèce « disparue du pays » donnée par le COSEPAC, cette population n’est plus présente à l’état sauvage au Canada et par conséquent son rétablissement à quelque niveau que ce soit nécessiterait l’introduction d’individus non indigènes et un examen des critères d’évaluation à appliquer à ces individus. Abstraction faite de cet aspect administratif de la question, un examen exhaustif des considérations liées à la faisabilité d’un rétablissement est présenté dans les pages qui suivent. 

2.1 Disponibilité d’individus aux fins de reconstitution de la population

Pour parvenir à un rétablissement, il faudrait disposer d’individus permettant de reconstituer une population viable. Les populations de morses de l’Atlantique au Canada ont été évaluées comme « préoccupantes » dans le cadre d’une seule unité désignable par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC 2006). Les estimations de leur abondance actuelle sont imprécises, mais il ressort de l’information disponible que l’effectif total des morses dans le nord du Canada serait de l’ordre de 10 000 individus (COSEPAC 2006). Toutefois, on n’est pas certain que ces populations soient capables de soutenir les prélèvements actuels et on connaît mal les quantités capturées présentement. Les captures moyennes récentes ont pu être de l’ordre de 560 individus par an, ce qui n’est peut‑être pas viable dans certaines régions, voire dans l’ensemble de l’aire de répartition (COSEPAC 2006).

D’après les critères d’évaluation du risque utilisés par le COSEPAC (COSEPAC 2004) qui s’appliqueraient à une évaluation subséquente, les populations de moins de 250 individus adultes sont considérées comme étant « en voie de disparition ». Par conséquent, d’un point de vue hypothétique, ilserait nécessaire d’introduire dans la région bien plus d’une centaine d’individus adultes, voire au moins 250, pour former la base de la reconstitution d’une population de morses de l’Atlantique qui se situerait au-delà du seuil d’une population en voie de disparition. La reconstitution de la population sur une période de 5 ans permettrait aux individus de forger des liens sociaux et de former une population viable. Selon ces hypothèses, il faudrait capturer de 20 à 50 individus par an et les transporter au lieu de réintroduction. Quoique cette quantité de prélèvements ne représenterait pas, à elle seule, une menace pour la conservation, l’ajout de ces prélèvements aux captures existantes accroîtrait les risques qui pèsent sur les populations nordiques existantes. Par conséquent, il n’est pas certain que le prélèvement, parmi la population qui existe encore, d’individus destinés à la réintroduction ne serait pas préjudiciable à la situation de cette population, même s’il était bien géré. De plus, les captures en vue de la reconstitution d’une population de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest devraient être gérées de concert avec les captures de subsistance des Autochtones. L’espèce est importante pour la subsistance des Autochtones et les prélèvements effectués à cette fin sont conséquents. Les droits de capture des Autochtones sont garantis par la Constitution du Canada et par l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut, mais les besoins de la conservation ont toutefois priorité sur ces droits.

Le morse de l’Atlantique est présent également à l’ouest et à l’est du Groenland ainsi qu’à l’ouest de la Russie, mais en raison de la situation de ces populations sur le plan de la conservation, des prélèvements parmi elles aux fins de réintroduction dans le sud du Canada sont peu plausibles. La population de l’ouest du Groenland est jugée appauvrie et en baisse, et elle fait l’objet de captures de subsistance. La population de l’est du Groenland fait, elle aussi, l’objet de captures de subsistance, dont la quantité pourrait fort bien ne pas être soutenable. Quant à la population de l’ouest de la Russie, l’information à son sujet est très incertaine (NAMMCO 2005).

 2.2 Disponibilité de l’habitat

Pour soutenir la reconstitution de la population de morses de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest, il faudrait qu’un habitat suffisant soit disponible ou soit rendu disponible par des mesures de gestion ou de restauration. Il existe probablement des habitats convenables, combinant des eaux relativement peu profondes et des communautés productives d’invertébrés benthiques, dans la région de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest autrefois habitée par le morse de l’Atlantique, puisqu’on y trouve des étendues relativement vastes d’habitats relativement intacts. Toutefois, les établissements humains et les activités humaines sont maintenant largement répandus dans cette région, autrefois inhabitée, et les perturbations en découlant représenteraient un important facteur limitatif de l’habitat possible.

Il faudrait choisir très soigneusement les endroits où réintroduire la population. Il devrait s’agir d’endroits comptant le moins possible d’établissements humains (pour réduire les perturbations), d’activités humaines (comme la pêche, la navigation maritime et les activités récréatives dans les zones côtières) ainsi que de pêches des invertébrés benthiques, et offrant des eaux relativement exemptes de pollution (pour réduire la contamination et la mortalité connexes chez les invertébrés benthiques). On pourrait envisager de choisir des endroits situés dans des zones côtières protégées et il conviendrait d’intégrer à toute initiative de réintroduction des mesures pour restreindre les interactions entre les humains et les morses.  

2.3 Potentiel d’atténuation des menaces pour les individus et l’habitat

L’évaluation de la faisabilité du rétablissement doit également tenir compte du potentiel d’atténuation ou d’élimination des menaces importantes pesant sur l’espèce ou sur son habitat. Les dispositions interdisant de nuire à une espèce disparue du pays inscrite sur la Liste établie en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril peuvent représenter de bons moyens de réduire au minimum les menaces pouvant peser sur une population réintroduite.

Il est peu probable que la capture du morse représente une menace grave dans le sud du Canada, puisque seule la capture que pratiquent les Autochtones à des fins de subsistance est autorisée dans la population de morses encore existante dans l’Arctique. Bien qu’on ne puisse affirmer que les Autochtones n’y exerceraient pas leurs droits de capture à des fins de subsistance, rien ne semble dénoter l’existence d’une capture du morse par les Autochtones dans le sud. Les Cris de l’est de la baie James et de la baie d’Hudson capturent occasionnellement des morses pour nourrir leurs chiens (COSEPAC 2006) et il est possible que cette pratique ait eu cours également dans le sud du Canada à l’époque où on y trouvait des morses. Comme c’est le cas pour les phoques et les baleines, l’empêtrement dans les engins de pêche est une menace possible qu’il faudrait gérer dans toute zone où l’espèce serait réintroduite. On pourrait vraisemblablement réduire les perturbations humaines en choisissant pour la reconstitution de la population des endroits éloignés des établissements humains ou situés dans une zone protégée existante.

Les interactions avec d’autres espèces pourraient influer sur le rétablissement, mais il est impossible d’en évaluer les effets. La prédation ne poserait sans doute pas de problème, étant donné qu’elle est apparemment rare même dans le nord et que son incidence est réduite par le comportement des troupeaux. Une abondance et une productivité suffisantes des espèces-proies seraient des facteurs déterminants dans le choix d’un endroit pour la réintroduction.

2.4 Existence de techniques de rétablissement efficaces

Il faudrait disposer de techniques de rétablissement éprouvées pour réussir à reconstituer la population considérée. Le transport aérien de morses est faisable, comme on l’a vu lors d’expéditions individuelles de morses entre des zoos et des aquariums (Brookfield Zoo n.d.). Toutefois, il semble peu probable que le transport du grand nombre de morses qui serait nécessaire pour reconstituer une population viable soit possible à court terme, compte tenu de l’éloignement des régions sources, de la taille des animaux adultes, du nombre d’individus requis, des grandes distances à parcourir et de l’incertitude au sujet de la survie des animaux déplacés. Comme les morses ne sont présents que dans les régions nordiques éloignées des services de transport aérien normaux, le transport d’animaux vivants depuis ces régions poserait de très grands problèmes de logistique. Ces dernières années, les morses sont devenus moins abondants près des agglomérations et on les trouve surtout maintenant à une certaine distance des établissements humains (COSEPAC 2006), ce qui ajoute aux difficultés de transport à l’état vivant. De plus, puisqu’il faut que la réimplantation se fasse dans des endroits où il y a le moins possible de perturbations humaines, il serait nécessaire d’amener les morses vers les parties de leur aire de répartition qui sont les plus lointaines, ce qui accroîtrait encore la distance de transport et la complexité de celui-ci.

Tel qu’indiqué plus haut, il faudrait transporter chaque année, sur 5 ans ou plus, de 20 à 50 individus pour former la base d’une reconstitution de la population. Chaque opération de transport d’un individu nécessiterait : a) la capture d’un morse adulte vivant dans une région éloignée de l’Arctique; b) le maintien de cet individu en captivité en attendant son transport; c) le transport, probablement par la voie maritime, jusqu’à un aéroport local; d) le transport par un petit aéronef (Twin Otter) depuis l’aéroport local jusqu’à celui d’Iqaluit ou à un autre aéroport capable d’accueillir de grands aéronefs; e) le transport vers le sud par jet; f) le transport jusqu’à un grand aéroport situé dans la zone où l’animal serait lâché et g) le transport par petit aéronef, véhicule routier ou bateau jusqu’au lieu du lâcher. On pourrait réaliser un gain d’efficacité en capturant et transportant plusieurs animaux à la fois. Toutefois, compte tenu de la logistique complexe de ces opérations, on peut largement douter de la faisabilité d’une réintroduction à grande échelle.

Il est peu probable que la reproduction en captivité soit un moyen viable de contribuer à la reconstitution de la population. S’il est possible de garder des morses en captivité – on dénombre actuellement 25 individus dans 9 zoos d’Amérique du Nord – les naissances en captivité sont très rares (Indianapolis Zoo n.d.). Peu de jeunes ont été élevés par leur mère en captivité; en revanche, il est possible que des jeunes soient élevés par des humains, avec l’apport d’une alimentation composée (COSEPAC 2006). Le taux intrinsèque annuel d’accroissement des morses dans la nature serait d’environ 5 %, d’après des estimations du niveau soutenable de capture et des renseignements sur des espèces qui présentent des caractéristiques de reproduction similaires (grandes baleines). Un taux d’accroissement annuel de 5 % se traduit par un doublement de la population tous les 14,4 ans. Même en partant d’une population captive de 10 individus, il faudrait que cette population double 4 fois (ce qui prendrait 56 ans) pour produire un effectif de l’importance nécessaire à l’établissement d’une population viable (160 individus). Cette stratégie comporterait divers risques et incertitudes, par exemple en ce qui a trait à la capacité d’adaptation d’individus élevés en captivité aux conditions naturelles, à la nécessité de disposer d’installations vastes et d’un personnel nombreux pendant une longue période pour élever de grands nombres d’individus en captivité et en prendre soin, et aux chances de succès de la reproduction en captivité. Comme il est nécessaire de nourrir à la main les jeunes et de supprimer les défenses des animaux en captivité, la capacité d’adaptation au milieu naturel s’en trouverait réduite et le taux de croissance de la population en captivité serait probablement inférieur à celui sur lequel on peut tabler dans la nature, ce qui accroîtrait le temps nécessaire pour obtenir l’effectif requis.

2.5 Conclusion sur la faisabilité du rétablissement

Le rétablissement de la population de morses de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest n’est pas jugé réalisable actuellement, que ce soit d’un point de vue biologique ou d’un point de vue technique. Il y a beaucoup d’incertitude quant à la probabilité qu’une population viable puisse être reconstituée même si i) on disposait d’un nombre suffisant d’individus aux fins de réintroduction et ii) on pouvait gérer les interactions entre les morses et les humains de manière à assurer un habitat propice à la réintroduction. En outre, on ne sait pas au juste dans quelle mesure les morses, habitués au milieu nordique où la glace est présente une bonne partie de l’année, seraient capables de bien s’adapter à une région où la glace n’est présente qu’en hiver, et cela, uniquement dans une partie de l’aire de répartition historique. Le choix des endroits où reconstituer la population serait crucial; bien qu’on connaisse certaines des caractéristiques de l’endroit idéal (endroit présentant le moins possible de perturbations humaines, une abondance de mollusques benthiques à de faibles profondeurs et un bon habitat côtier pouvant servir d’échoueries), on ne saurait garantir le succès de la réintroduction à quelque endroit que ce soit. On est parvenu à réintroduire des loutres de mer dans des régions d’où elles avaient disparu, mais, contrairement au morse, la loutre est une espèce qui a un fort taux d’accroissement intrinsèque. Compte tenu du faible taux d’accroissement des morses, il faudrait probablement poursuivre sur au moins dix ans les opérations de reconstitution d’une population de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest et il pourrait falloir plusieurs décennies pour déterminer si elles ont réussi. 

La faisabilité biologique du rétablissement, lorsqu’on l’envisage sous l’angle de la disponibilité du nombre d’individus nécessaire pour reconstituer une population, est incertaine. L’effectif des populations qui existent encore est bas et les captures des Autochtones à des fins de subsistance sont un facteur hautement prioritaire dans la gestion de ces populations. Bien que la réintroduction puisse être considérée comme une mesure de conservation, il pourrait être difficile, en raison des risques et des incertitudes associés à la réussite possible d’une telle réintroduction dans le sud, de faire valoir que la capture aux fins de réintroduction a priorité sur la capture pratiquée par les Autochtones aux fins de subsistance. Sur le plan technique, on peut douter aussi de la faisabilité du transport du grand nombre de morses qui serait nécessaire pour reconstituer une population viable, compte tenu des nombreuses opérations que nécessiterait le transport entre les régions nordiques lointaines d’où proviendraient les animaux adultes vivants et les régions du sud éloignées où ils seraient réimplantés. Les coûts et la logistique associés à une vaste entreprise de rétablissement, combinés aux incertitudes au sujet de la survie des individus déplacés et de la réussite de la reconstitution, portent à conclure que le rétablissement est impossible pour le moment.