Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Chiselmouth in Canada

Update
COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Chiselmouth
Acrocheilus alutaceus
in Canada
2003

Species Information

Name and Classification

Acrocheilus alutaceus (Agassiz and Pickering) is the only living member of it’s genus. The cyprinid fauna west of the Rockies is relatively depauperate in Canada, and chiselmouth is a member of a small group of closely related four minnow species that are widespread throughout the Fraser and Columbia River basins, the other three species being northern pikeminnow (Ptychocheilus oregonensis), peamouth chub (Mylocheilus caurinus), and redside shiner (Richardsonius balteatus). Although these species are ecologically well differentiated – chiselmouth is an algivore, pikeminnow is a piscivore, and peamouth and redside shiners are planktivores – chiselmouth is known to hybridize with northern pikeminnow and peamouth chub (Patten 1960, Stewart 1966).


Description

Chiselmouth (Fig. 1) are a relatively large cyprinid, reaching maximum sizes of up to 30 cm and a maximum recorded age of 6 years in Canada (Moodie 1966) and up to 22 years in Oregon (Lassuy 1990). Chiselmouth are uniquely adapted to herbivory, and have a chisel-like lower jaw that they use to scrape algae off of hard substrata (boulders, cobble, submerged wood). In addition to their distinctive lower jaw, chiselmouth have an unusually narrow caudal peduncle and large deeply forked caudal fin, suggesting adaptation to higher water velocities which is consistent with the habitat use observed for adult riverine fishes.

Although chiselmouth are readily distinguished from adults of other cyprinids, juveniles are difficult to distinguish from young redside shiners, peamouth, and pikeminnow with which they typically school. Scott and Crossman (1973) provides a more detailed description of chiselmouth morphology and a key for identifying adults; McPhail and Carveth (1993) and Rosenfeld et al. (2001) provide a key for separating juvenile chiselmouth, redside shiners, peamouth, and northern pikeminnow.


Figure 1: Chiselmouth Acrocheilus alutaceus

Figure 1: Chiselmouth, Acrocheilus alutaceus.

Male, 663 mm, British Columbia, Missizoula Lake, July 24-25, 1959; B.C. 60-221. [Drawing by Anker Odum, from Scott and Crossman (1973) by permission of the authors.]

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le bouche coupante au Canada – Mise à jour

Mise à jour
Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
Bouche coupante
Acrocheilus alutaceus
au Canada
2003

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

L’Acrocheilus alutaceus (Agassiz et Pickering) est le seul membre actuel du genre. La faune des Cyprinidés de l’ouest des Rocheuses est relativement appauvrie au Canada, et le bouche coupante fait partie d’un petit groupe de quatre espèces étroitement apparentées et répandues à la grandeur des bassins hydrographiques des fleuves Fraser et Columbia, les trois autres espèces étant la sauvagesse du nord (Ptychocheilus oregonensis), le méné deux-barres (Mylocheilus caurinus) et le méné rose (Richardsonius balteatus). Bien que ces espèces soient bien différenciées sur le plan écologique -- le bouche coupante est un algivore, la sauvagesse du nord est un piscivore tandis que le méné deux-barres et le méné rose sont planctonivores -- on a observé que le bouche coupante peut s’hydrider avec la sauvagesse du nord et avec le méné deux‑barres (Patten, 1960; Stewart, 1966).


Description

Le bouche coupante (figure 1) est un Cyprinidé relativement grand, qui atteint une taille maximale de 30 cm et dont le record de longévité est de 6 ans au Canada (Moodie, 1966) et de 22 ans en Oregon (Lassuy, 1990). Le bouche coupante possède une adaptation unique à un régime herbivore grâce à sa mâchoire inférieure ressemblant à un ciseau qu’il utilise pour racler les algues croissant sur des substrats durs (rochers, cailloux, bois submergé). En plus de sa mâchoire inférieure caractéristique, le bouche coupante possède un pédoncule caudal particulièrement mince et une nageoire caudale large et profondément fourchue, ce qui correspond à une adaptation à des vitesses de courant élevées, compatible avec l’utilisation de l’habitat observée chez les adultes en milieu fluvial.

Le bouche coupante adulte est facile à distinguer des autres Cyprinidés adultes, mais les jeunes sont difficiles à distinguer des jeunes ménés roses, ménés deux-barres et sauvagesses du nord avec lesquels ils se rassemblent en bancs. Scott et Crossman (1974) fournissent une description plus détaillée de la morphologie du bouche coupante ainsi qu’une clé d’identification des adultes; McPhail et Carveth (1993) ainsi que Rosenfeld et al. (2001) fournissent une clé permettant de distinguer les jeunes bouches coupantes de ceux des autres espèces, le méné rose, le méné deux-barres et la sauvagesse du nord.


Figure 1 : Bouche coupante (Acrocheilus alutaceus)

Figure 1. Bouche coupante (Acrocheilus alutaceus).

Mâle, 663 mm, Colombie-Britannique, lac Missizoula, 24-25 juillet 1959; B.C. 60-221.  [Dessin d’Anker Odum, tiré de Scott et Crossman (1974) avec l’autorisation des auteurs.]