Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Leatherback Turtles

Appendix A: Schedule Of Studies

SARA allows for a schedule of studies to be developed to identify critical habitat where available information is inadequate [s.41 (1) (c.1)].  In order to identify critical habitat and habitat that is important to the recovery of leatherback turtles in Pacific waters, research is needed both in Canadian waters and in other parts of the species’ range.  The following outlines the activities required for habitat identification and estimated timing.  The purpose of undertaking these activities is to help yield information that will allow for critical habitat for the species to be identified.  It is important to note that activities outlined in this schedule are recommendations that are subject to priorities and budgetary constraints of the participating jurisdictions and organizations. 

StudyTimeframe (5 years)
Evaluate seasonality of occurrences in BC and assess distribution2003 -2006
Collaborate in international research programs to identify migratory routes2003-2009
Identify and investigate distribution of prey/food sources2004 –2006
Model biotic and abiotic factors that influence the distribution of leatherbacks in Pacific Canadian waters in order to identify and track foraging areas and predict locations and times where leatherback turtles may be found2004 –2006

The above activities are underwayand/or recommended and should continue for the duration of this recovery strategy.



[1]SARArequires that the recovery strategy identify “a schedule of studies to identify critical habitat, where available information is inadequate” [SARA s.41(1)(c.1)].

Page 10

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la tortue luth

Annexe A: Échéancier des études

La LEP autorise l'élaboration d'un échéancier d'études pour identifier l'habitat essentiel quand l'information disponible demeure inadéquate [s.41 (1) (c.1)]. Pour repérer l'habitat essentiel et l'habitat qui est important au rétablissement des tortues luths dans les eaux du Pacifique, la recherche doit être effectuée tant dans les eaux canadiennes que dans les autres parties de la zone de répartition de l'espèce.  Voici les grandes lignes des activités requises pour l'identification de l'habitat et l'évaluation du temps qu'il faudra pour y parvenir. L'objectif d'entreprendre ces activités est d'aider à produire de l'information qui permettra l'identification de l'habitat essentiel. Il est important de retenir que les activités décrites au présent échéancier constituent des recommandations qui forment des priorités tout en étant soumises aux restrictions budgétaires des juridictions et des organismes qui y participeront.

ÉtudeÉchéancier (5 ans)
Évaluer la saison des observations en C.-B. et évaluer la répartition2000 à 2006
Collaborer aux programmes de recherche internationaux visant à repérer les voies migratoires2003 à 2009
Identifier et enquêter sur la distribution des proies et des sources de nourriture2004 à 2006
Modéliser les facteurs biotiques et abiotiques qui influencent la répartition de tortues luths dans les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique dans le but d'identifier et de retracer les secteurs d'alimentation et prévoir les endroits et les périodes et les heures où les tortues luths peuvent être trouvées. 2004 à 2006

Les activités précitées sont en cours  ou recommandées et devraient se poursuivre pour la durée du Programme de rétablissement.



[1]La LEP exige que le Programme de rétablissement établisse « un calendrier des études visant à désigner l'habitat essentiel lorsque l'information accessible est insuffisante » [LEP p.41(1) (c.1)].