Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Redbreast Sunfish (Lepomis Auritus) in Canada

Population Sizes and Trends

Search effort 

The species has apparently been known in New Brunswick since at least 1896 (Cox 1896; Scott and Crossman 1998), with the first bona fide record in 1948 (Scott and Crossman 1998). Houston (1989) speculated that the scarcity of records (Table 1) might have been due to natural rarity, confusion with the pumpkinseed, lack of interest in the species, or a combination of these factors. Recent collection efforts suggest the latter.

There are approximately 796 lakes or ponds > 1 ha in area within the range of the redbreast sunfish in southwestern New Brunswick (total area = 24,742 km²). Data records at the New Brunswick Department of Natural Resources (NBDNR) and New Brunswick Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit (NBFWRU) show fish population information on 227 of these water-bodies, and redbreast sunfish are known from only eight of these lakes (Table 1 and Figure 3). It should be noted that the lack of recorded occurrences does not guarantee absence of the species from all of these waters. NBDNR biologists suggest that gear types used during sampling (e.g., variable mesh experimental gill nets, fyke nets), would be effective in capturing redbreast sunfish if they were in the area sampled. However, it is also important to note that, at Oromocto Lake, sampling locations in close proximity (i.e. within 1 km), with similar habitat types, may or may not have redbreast sunfish, indicating localization of populations.

The Saint John River has been extensively sampled for fish species of recreational interest. However, the only records of redbreast sunfish from the main stem of the river resulted from recent sampling that targeted this species. Given what is believed to be the localized nature of sunfish populations, it is possible that additional populations on the river have escaped detection. These collections have yielded redbreast sunfish at two sites in the main river downstream of Fredericton, and in the Oromocto River system (Table 1 and Figure 3). Records for four other lower Saint John River tributaries (Table 1), Modsley Lake (St. Croix River), Knockdrin and Shadow lakes (East Musquash River) have not been recently re-confirmed.

Abundance

Yoho Lake is the only New Brunswick population of redbreast sunfish for which population estimates are available. A mark-recapture study conducted in September 2005 yielded a population estimate, based on the Schnabel Method, of 325 (C.I. 186-630) [Gautreau and Curry 2006], and 447 (C.I. 235-1006) in 2006 (Gautreau and Curry unpubl. data). In 2007, an estimate of 743 (C.I. 253-1233) was derived using 2006 marks and the Peterson Method (Gautreau and Curry unpubl. data). The area targeted for the estimates was approximately 8.9 ha. While it is not possible to determine if there have been declines in the redbreast sunfish population over this period, the abundance estimates from Gautreau and Curry (2006; unpubl. data) indicate a sizable population of the species within the lake.

Additional observations suggest that the redbreast sunfish is abundant in Oram Lake (NBDNR unpubl. data) and common in Anne Lake (NBFWRU unpubl. data). Further, redbreast sunfish has been detected in Oromocto Lake over multiple survey years, suggesting the presence of a robust population.

In the Saint John River downstream of Gagetown, five redbreast sunfish were captured over a two-day sampling, which targeted all species, using gear types that would likely catch redbreast sunfish.

Fluctuations and trends

Data on the long-term trends in population sizes is not available. Sampling in 2005 represents the first focused research for the redbreast sunfish in Canada. In Oromocto and Yoho lakes, the species is readily captured over suitable habitats when using appropriate gear types. Its continuing presence in the Canaan and Kennebecasis rivers, Modsley, Knockdrin and Shadow lakes is yet to be confirmed.

Rescue effect

Given the successful establishment of the species outside its native range, the potential for reintroduction or enhancement from other populations is possible as long as suitable habitat is available. It is unlikely that natural immigration from outside Canada would occur for this non-migratory species.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le crapet rouge (Lepomis auritus) au Canada – Mise à jour

Taille et tendances des populations

Activités de recherche

On connaît l’existence de cette espèce au Nouveau-Brunswick depuis au moins 1896 (Cox, 1896; Scott et Crossman, 1998), mais le premier enregistrement fiable remonte à 1948 (Scott et Crossman, 1998). Houston (1989) estime que la rareté des enregistrements de l’espèce (tableau 1) serait attribuable à sa rareté naturelle, à la difficulté de la distinguer du crapet-soleil, au peu d’intérêt qu’elle suscite ou à la combinaison de ces facteurs, ce que les récents travaux d’échantillonnage semblent d’ailleurs indiquer.

L’aire générale de répartition du crapet rouge au Nouveau-Brunswick (superficie totale de 24 742 km²) compte environ 796 lacs ou étangs d’une superficie de plus de 1 ha. Le ministère des Ressources naturelles du Nouveau-Brunswick (MRNNB) et la New Brunswick Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit (NBFWRU) ont des données sur les populations de poissons dans 227 de ces plans d’eau; le crapet rouge n’a été observé que dans 8 de ces lacs (tableau 1 et figure 3). Il faut remarquer que l’absence d’enregistrement documenté ne signifie pas nécessairement l’absence de l’espèce dans ces 227 plans d’eau. Les biologistes du MRNNB estiment que les engins de pêche utilisés pour l’échantillonnage (p. ex. les filets maillants à maillage varié et les verveux) devraient capturer le crapet rouge s’il est présent dans la zone échantillonnée. Il est toutefois également important de souligner qu’au lac Oromocto, le crapet rouge peut être présent ou absent à divers sites d’échantillonnage qui sont rapprochés les uns des autres (à moins de 1 km) et qui présentent des habitats semblables, ce qui indique que les populations peuvent être très localisées.

On a beaucoup échantillonné les espèces visées par la pêche récréative dans la rivière Saint-Jean, mais le crapet rouge n’a été observé dans le cours principal de la rivière qu’au cours d’une récente compagne d’échantillonnage visant cette espèce. Étant donné le caractère localisé présumé des populations de crapets, il est possible que d’autres populations présentes dans la rivière n’aient pas été détectées. Les campagnes d’échantillonnage ont permis de capturer des crapets rouges à deux sites du cours principal de la rivière Saint-Jean, en aval de Fredericton, et dans le réseau hydrographique de la rivière Oromocto (tableau 1 et figure 3). Les enregistrements de l’espèce dans quatre autres affluents de la basse Saint-Jean (tableau 1), le lac Modsley (rivière Sainte-Croix) ainsi que les lacs Knockdrin et Shadow (rivière Musquash Est) n’ont pas été confirmés récemment.

Abondance

La population de crapets rouges du lac Yoho est la seule au Nouveau-Brunswick dont on a estimé l’abondance. En effet, une étude de marquage-recapture réalisée en septembre 2005 a donné, selon la méthode Schnabel, une estimation de la population de 325 individus (intervalles de confiance [I.C.] : 186-630) en 2005 (Gautreau et Curry, 2006) et de 447 (I.C. : 235-1 006) en 2006 (Gautreau et Curry, données inédites). En 2007, Gautreau et Curry (données inédites) ont appliqué la méthode Peterson aux poissons marqués en 2006 pour estimer la population à 743 (I.C. 253-1 233). La superficie visée par les estimations couvre environ 8,9 ha. Bien qu’il ne soit pas possible de déterminer si la population a diminué durant cette période, les estimations de l’abondance faites par Gautreau et Curry (2006, donnéesinédites) indiquent que le lac abrite une population assez importante de crapets rouges.

D’autres observations portent à croire que le crapet rouge est abondant dans le lac Oram (MRNNB, données inédites) et commun dans le lac Anne (NBFWRU, données inédites). De plus, on a observé des crapets rouges dans le lac Oromocto sur plusieurs années de relevé, ce qui indiquerait la présence d’une bonne population.

Dans la rivière Saint-Jean, en aval de Gagetown, on a capturé cinq crapets rouges dans le cadre d’un échantillonnage de deux jours visant toutes les espèces au moyen d’engins susceptibles de capturer du crapet rouge.

Fluctuations et tendances

Il n’existe pas de données sur les tendances à long terme des effectifs des populations. L’échantillonnage de 2005 a constitué la première étude visant expressément le crapet rouge au Canada. Dans les lacs Oromocto et Yoho, l’espèce est facilement capturée dans les habitats favorables lorsqu’on se sert d’engins de pêche convenables. La persistance de l’espèce dans les rivières Canaan et Kennebecasis et dans les lacs Modsley, Knockdrin et Shadow reste à confirmer.

Immigration de source externe

Comme l’espèce a réussi à s’établir hors de son aire de répartition indigène, il serait possible de la réintroduire ou d’augmenter une population en transplantant des individus provenant d’une autre population, pourvu que le milieu récepteur contienne de l’habitat convenable. L’immigration naturelle provenant de l’extérieur du Canada est peu probable pour cette espèce non migratrice.