Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Wavyrayed Lampmussel

Habitat Description

The Wavyrayed Lampmussel is typically found in clear, hydrologically stable rivers and streams. Clarke (1981) and Cummings and Mayer (1992) reported the species from gravel or sandy bottoms of riffle-areas in medium sized streams. Strayer (1983) reported the Wavyrayed Lampmussel in Michigan from medium-sized and large streams characterized by low gradients, clear waters, steady flows and substrates of sand and gravel.  Dennis (1984) examined the habitat preferences of 72 species in the Tennessee River basin and reported L. fasciola from small (2nd to 4th order creeks) and medium (5th to 7th order) sized streams. Dennis (1984) reported that the most productive habitat consisted of stable substrates with a mixture of fine particles, gravel and rocks. Within Ontario waters it is usually found in clean sand or gravel substrates in shallow (< 1m) riffle areas. In the Great Lakes it has been found along shallow wave-washed shoals (Metcalfe-Smith and McGoldrick 2003).

Currently Occupied Habitat:

Geospatial Description:

Habitat in need of conservation for the Wavyrayed Lampmussel has been geospatially located using the methods developed by McGoldrick et al. (in press) (Figure 5 - 8) who recommend using the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resource’s Aquatic Landscape Inventory Software (ALIS version 1) (Stanfield and Kuyvenhoven 2005) as the base unit for definition of important habitat within riverine systems.  The ALIS system employs a valley classification approach to define river segments with similar habitat and continuity on the basis of hydrography, surficial geology, slope, position, upstream drainage area, climate, landcover and the presence of instream barriers. For Great Lakes populations where ALIS segments can not be employed, McGoldrick et al. (in press) recommend using a 5km buffer around known species occurrences. The 5km buffer was selected in light of the spatial extent of historic sampling within Lake St. Clair.  Within all identified river segments the width of the habitat zone in need of protection is defined as the area from the mid-channel point to bankfull width on both the left and right banks.

Currently occupied habitat for the Wavyrayed Lampmussel can be summarized as:

  • A 60 km stretch of the Grand River between Inverhaugh and Cambridge (Metcalfe-Smith and McGoldrick 2003).
  • A 30 km section of the North Thames River above London including Medway and Fish creeks. A 25 km section of the Middle Thames River from London to Dorchester as well as the lower reaches of the Middle Thames from Thamesford to its confluence with the Middle Thames (T. Morris, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Burlington, unpublished data).
  • The lower reaches of the Middle, Little and South Maitland Rivers and the 45 km section of the main branch of the Maitland River from Wingham to the confluence with the South Maitland.
  • The lower section of the Little Ausable River and a 12 km stretch of the main channel of the Ausable River upstream of Nairn (Metcalfe-Smith et al. 1999).
  • A 12km2 region of the St Clair delta (Zanatta et al. 2002).

Functional Description:

Within the area defined under Geospatial Description only areas meeting the characteristics described below are deemed to represent habitat in need of conservation:

  • permanently wetted and
  • of a stream order greater than 2 (riverine populations only) and
  • having clean sand/gravel substrates sometimes stabilized by larger material (rubble, boulder or bedrock) and
  • riffle/run habitat (riverine populations only) or
  • shallow sand flats (Great Lakes populations) and
  • providing access to suitable host specimens during the period of female gravidity (June 1 – October 15).

Activities Likely to Impact Currently Occupied Habitat

            The currently occupied habitat of the Wavyrayed Lampmussel could be negatively affected by a variety of activities.  Direct destruction of habitat could result from in-stream activities such as dredging, road crossings and pipeline crossings or the construction of dams.  Currently occupied habitat could also be negatively affected by any land-based activities that affect water quality or quantity.  Such activities would include (but are not limited to) the input of nutrients, sediment and toxic substances through improperly treated storm water, cultivation of riparian lands, unfettered access of livestock to the river, channelization and drainage works, water taking, aggregate extraction, and the release of improperly treated sewage. 

            McGoldrick et al. (in press) have earlier identified a number of threshold values which can be used to gage the likelihood that an activity will negatively impact or destroy currently occupied habitat. Any activity that results in an exceedance of the threshold values in Table 4 should be considered likely to destroy currently occupied habitat.

Table 4: Threshold values for determining the likelihood that an activity will negatively impact currently occupied habitat.
VariableThreshold
unionized ammonia0.21 mg/L
total ammonia1.7 mg/L
copper4.7 µg/L
total phosphorus0.05 mg/L
nitrate-nitrite ratio2.0 mg/L
turbidity8 JTU
potassium6 mg/L

When dealing with freshwater mussels it is necessary to consider not only the physical and chemical components of habitat but also the biological. Any activity which disrupts the connectivity between Wavyrayed Lampmussel populations and their host species (see section on Life Cycle and Reproduction) may result in the destruction of currently occupied habitat. Activities which may disrupt the mussel-host relationship include, but are not limited to, damming, dewatering and sport or commercial harvest.  Note that activities occurring outside the currently occupied habitat zone may affect the host population within the zone (e.g., downstream damming activites may prevent the movement of fish into the currently occupied habitat zone during the period of mussel reproduction (June 1 – October 15)). Any activity that impacts a host population within an area of currently occupied habitat should be evaluated to ensure that the reproductive cycle is not disrupted.

Current habitat in the Great Lakes

Figure 5: Currently occupied habitat for the Wavyrayed Lampmussel (Lampsilis fasciola) in the Great Lakes and connecting channels.

Current Habitat ine the Upper Thames and Ausable rivers

Figure 6: Currently occupied habitat for the Wavyrayed Lampmussel (Lampsilis fasciola) in the Upper Thames and Ausable rivers.

Current habitat in the Maitland River

Figure 7: Currently occupied habitat for the Wavyrayed Lampmussel (Lampsilis fasciola) in the Maitland River.

Current habitat in the Upper grand River

Figure 8: Currently occupied habitat for the Wavyrayed Lampmussel (Lampsilis fasciola) in the Upper Grand River.

Historically Occupied Habitat: Historically occupied habitat includes a 40km stretch of the East Sydenham River and a small stretch of the lower Grand River near York. Although the St Clair and Detroit rivers, Lake St Clair (excluding the delta) and the western basin of Lake Erie represent historically occupied habitat they are low priority sites for recovery/re-establishment due to the presence of high abundances of dreissenid mussels.

Critical Habitat: The identification of Critical Habitat requires a thorough knowledge of the species needs during all life stages as well as an understanding of the distribution, quantity, and quality of habitat across the range of the species. At present, this information is not available for the Wavyrayed Lampmussel although Table 5 outlines activities that would assist with obtaining the required information. The activities listed in Table 5 are not exhaustive but outline the range and scope of actions identified by the OFMRT as necessary to identify Critical Habitat for the Wavyrayed Lampmussel. It is likely that the process of investigating the actions in Table 5 will lead to the discovery of further knowledge gaps that will have to be addressed. Until Critical Habitat can be defined the recovery team has identified the areas listed in the Currently Occupied Habitat section as areas in need of conservation.

Table 5: Schedule of activities to identify Critical Habitat
ActivityApproximate Time Frame1
Conduct mussel population surveys2006-2008
Assess habitat conditions in occupied areas (e.g., flow, substrate, water clarity and quality)2006-2008
Determine any life stage differences in habitat use2007-2009
Survey and map areas of suitable but unused habitat within historical range2008-2010
Assess genetic structure of populations2006-2008
Determine host fish species2006
Conduct host fish population surveys2006-2008
Assess habitat use by host species2006-2008
Determine areas of overlap between mussel and host habitat2009-2010

Habitat Trends: The majority of Lake St. Clair (excluding the delta) the Detroit River and the western basin of Lake Erie are no longer suitable habitat for the Wavyrayed Lampmussel because of the infestation of dreissenid mussels. There is strong evidence that poor water clarity limits the distribution of the Wavyrayed Lampmussel (Metcalfe-Smith & McGoldrick, 2003). High turbidity and suspended solids in the Sydenham and Ausable rivers have rendered large portions of habitat unsuitable. Water clarity in the occupied reaches of the Grand and Maitland Rivers does not seem to be a problem.

Habitat Protection: The federal Species at Risk Act (SARA) was proclaimed in June of 2003. Under SARA there are general prohibitions against killing, harming, taking, possessing, capturing, and collecting the Wavyrayed Lampmussel and against damaging or destroying its residences, as well as prohibitions on the destruction of Critical Habitat. The Fisheries Act represents an important tool for habitat protection and along with other federal environmental legislation is complimentary to the Species at Risk Act. Under the federal Fisheries Act mussels are considered shellfish, falling under the definition of ‘fish’, and their habitat is therefore protected from harmful alteration, disruption or destruction unless authorized by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, or his/her delegate. Planning authorities must be consistent with the provincial Policy Statement under Section 3 of Ontario’s Planning Act, which prohibits development and site alteration in the significant habitat of endangered species. The Ontario Lakes and Rivers Improvement Act prohibits the impoundment or diversion of a watercourse if siltation will result while the voluntary Land Stewardship II program of the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs is designed to reduce erosion on agricultural lands. Stream-side development in Ontario is managed through floodplain regulations enforced by local conservation authorities. 

A majority of the land adjacent to the rivers where Wavyrayed Lampmussels are found is privately owned, however, the river bottom is generally owned by the Crown. The Municipality of Southwestern Middlesex (formerly Mosa Township) owns a 20 ha section of forest along the reach of the Sydenham River where Wavyrayed Lampmussel shells were found in 1997 (Muriel Andreae, St. Clair Region Conservation Authority, cited in Metcalfe-Smith et al. 2000) and the SCRCA owns approximately 1816 ha of property in the watershed.  The Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority (ABCA) owns approximately 1830 ha of property split between a number of locations in the Ausable River basin (K. Vader, ABCA, cited in Metcalfe-Smith et al. 2000) and the Maitland Valley Conservation Authority owns 28 properties covering 1800 ha within the Maitland River watershed including one site where the Wavyrayed Lampmussel was found (Wawanosh Conservation Area). Much of the land adjacent to the refuge site identified in the Lake St. Clair delta falls under the jurisdiction of the Walpole Island First Nation (Zanatta et al. 2002).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Lampsile fasciolé

Description de l’habitat

On retrouve généralement la lampsile fasciolée dans les rivières et cours d’eau à forte stabilité hydrologique, où l’eau est claire. Clarke (1981) et Cummings et Mayer (1992) ont signalé la présence de l’espèce sur les fonds de gravier ou sablonneux des radiers dans les cours d’eau de taille moyenne. Strayer (1983) a signalé la présence de la lampsile fasciolée au Michigan dans les cours d’eau de taille moyenne et de grande taille se caractérisant par de faibles pentes, des eaux claires, des écoulements constants et des substrats de sable et de gravier. Dennis (1984) a examiné les préférences d’habitat de 72 espèces dans le bassin de la rivière Tennessee et a signalé la présence de la L. fasciola dans les cours d’eau de petite taille (ruisseaux des ordres 2 à 4) et de taille moyenne (ordres 5 à 7). Dennis (1984) a déclaré que l’habitat le plus productif consistait en des substrats stables composés d’un mélange de particules fines, de gravier et de roches. Dans les eaux ontariennes, on retrouve habituellement l’espèce dans les substrats de sable ou de gravier des radiers peu profonds (< 1 m). Dans les Grands Lacs, on l’a retrouvée sur les hauts-fonds peu profonds lavés par les vagues (Metcalfe-Smith et McGoldrick 2003).

Habitat occupé actuellement

Description géospatiale :

L’habitat ayant besoin de conservation pour la lampsile fasciolée a été situé au plan géospatial à l’aide des méthodes élaborées par McGoldrick et coll. (sous presse) (figures 5 à 8), qui recommandent d’utiliser le logiciel d’inventaire des paysages aquatiques du ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario (ALIS version 1) (Stanfield et Kuyvenhoven 2005) comme unité de base pour la définition de l’habitat important dans les systèmes fluviaux. Le système ALIS emploie une approche de classification des vallées pour définir les segments de rivière ayant un habitat semblable et une continuité en fonction de l’hydrographie, de la géologie des dépôts meubles, de la pente, de la position, de la zone de drainage en amont, du climat, du couvert paysager et de la présence d’obstacles dans les cours d’eau. Pour les populations des Grands Lacs, lorsque les segments du système ALIS ne peuvent être employés, McGoldrick et coll. (sous presse) recommandent de déterminer l’habitat essentiel à l’aide d’un tampon de 5 km autour de la présence d’espèces connues. Le tampon de 5 km a été choisi à la lumière de l’étendue spatiale de l’échantillonnage historique dans le lac St. Clair. Dans tous les segments fluviaux identifiés, la largeur de la zone d’habitat essentiel qui a besoin d’une protection est définie comme la zone allant du milieu du chenal à la largeur de toute la rive pour les rives de droite et de gauche.

On peut ainsi résumer l’habitat occupé actuellement par la lampsile fasciolée:

  • Une section de 60 km du cours supérieur de la rivière Grand entre Inverhaugh et Cambridge (Metcalfe-Smith et McGoldrick 2003).
  • Une section de 30 km de la rivière North Thames au-dessus de London, y compris les ruisseaux Medway et Fish. Une section de 25 km de la rivière Middle Thames de London à Dorchester, ainsi que les tronçons inférieurs de la rivière Middle Thames depuis Thamesford jusqu’à son confluent avec la rivière Middle Thames; (T. Morris, Pêches et Océans Canada, Burlington, données non publiées).
  • Les tronçons inférieurs des rivières Middle, Little et South Maitland et la section de 45 km de l’embranchement principal de la rivière Maitland depuis Wingham jusqu’au confluent avec la rivière South Maitland.
  • La section inférieure de la rivière Little Ausable et un segment de 12 km du chenal principal de la rivière Ausable en amont de Nairn (Metcalfe-Smith et coll. 1999).
  • Une région de 12 km2 du delta St. Clair. (Zanatta et coll. 2002).

Description fonctionnelle:

Dans l’aire définie sous Description géospatiale, seules les zones satisfaisant aux caractéristiques décrites ci-après sont considérées comme représentant l’habitat nécessitant des mesures de conservation :

  • Zone inondée en permanence et
  • d’un ordre de courant supérieur à 2 (populations fluviales seulement) et
  • ayant des substrats de sable/gravier propres, parfois stabilisés par de plus grosses matières (pierres, rochers ou fond rocheux) et
  • habitat dans les radiers/rapides (populations fluviales seulement) ou
  • platins de sable peu profonds (populations des Grands Lacs) et
  • offrant l’accès à des exemplaires hôtes convenables durant la période de gravidité (du 1er juin au 15 octobre).

Activités susceptibles de perturber l’habitat occupé actuellement

Diverses activités pourraient avoir un effet négatif sur l’habitat occupé actuellement. La destruction directe de l’habitat pourrait découler d’activités dans l’eau comme le dragage, les traversées routières, la construction de pipelines ou de barrages. Les activités terrestres qui nuisent à la qualité de l’eau ou à la quantité d’eau pourraient également avoir une incidence négative sur l’habitat occupé actuellement. Ces activités pourraient comprendre, entre autres, l’apport de nutriments, de sédiments et de substances toxiques transportés par des eaux pluviales non traitées, la culture des terres riveraines, l’accès libre du bétail à la rivière, les ouvrages de canalisation et de dragage, les prises d’eau, l’extraction des agrégats et le rejet des eaux usées traitées incorrectement.

McGoldrick et coll. (sous presse) ont déterminé plus tôt un certain nombre de valeurs-seuils que l’on peut utiliser pour évaluer la probabilité qu’une activité exerce une influence négative sur l’habitat occupé actuellement ou le détruise. Toute activité qui dépasse les valeurs-seuils précisées au tableau 4 doit être considérée comme étant susceptible de détruire l’habitat occupé actuellement.

Tableau 4 : Valeurs-seuils pour déterminer la probabilité qu’une activité exerce une influence négative sur l’habitat occupé actuellement.
VariableSeuil
Ammoniaque (en NH3)0,21 mg/L
Ammoniaque total1,7 mg/L
Cuivre4,7 µg/L
Phosphore total0,05 mg/L
Rapport nitrate-nitrite2,0 mg/L
Turbidité8 u.T.J.
Potassium6 mg/L

            Dans le cas des moules d’eau douce, il est nécessaire de considérer non seulement les composantes physiques et chimiques de l’habitat mais également les éléments biologiques. Toute activité qui perturbe la connectivité entre les populations de lampsiles fasciolées et leurs espèces hôtes (voir la section sur le cycle biologique et la reproduction) peut entraîner la destruction de l’habitat occupé actuellement. Les activités qui peuvent perturber la relation moule-hôte comprennent, entre autres, les barrages, l’assèchement et la pêche sportive ou commerciale. Il est à noter que les activités se déroulant à l’extérieur de la zone d’habitat occupé actuellement peuvent avoir une incidence sur la population hôte dans la zone (p. ex. les activités de construction de barrage en aval peuvent empêcher le mouvement du poisson dans la zone durant la période de reproduction des moules (du 1er juin au 15 octobre). Toute activité qui a une incidence sur une population hôte dans une aire d’habitat occupé actuellement devrait être évaluée pour s’assurer que le cycle de reproduction n’est pas perturbé.

Habitat actuelle dans les Grands Lacs

Figure 5 : Habitat occupé actuellement par la lampsile fasciolée (Lampsilis fasciola) dans les Grands Lacs et les voies interlacustres.

Habitat actuel dans la rivière Thames supérieur et la rivière Ausable

Figure 6 : Habitat occupé actuellement par la lampsile fasciolée (Lampsilis fasciola) dans la rivière Thames supérieure et la rivière Ausable.

Habitat actuel dans la rivière Maitland

Figure 7 : Habitat occupé actuellement par la lampsile fasciolée (Lampsilis fasciola) dans la rivière Maitland.

Habitat actuel dans la rivière Grande supérieur

Figure 8 : Habitat occupé actuellement par la lampsile fasciolée (Lampsilis fasciola) dans la rivière Grand supérieure.

Habitat occupé historiquement :L’habitat occupé historiquement comprend un segment de 40 km de la rivière Sydenham est et un petit segment de la rivière Grand inférieure près de York. Bien que les rivières St. Clair et Detroit, le lac St. Clair (sauf le delta) et le bassin ouest du lac Érié représentent l’habitat occupé historiquement, ce sont des sites de faible priorité pour le rétablissement en raison de la forte abondance de moules dreissenas en ces endroits.

 Habitat essentiel :La détermination de l’habitat essentiel nécessite une connaissance approfondie des besoins des espèces durant tous les stades de la vie ainsi qu’une compréhension de la répartition, de la quantité et de la qualité de l’habitat dans toute l’aire de l’espèce. À l’heure actuelle, cette information n’est pas disponible pour la lampsile fasciolée, bien que le tableau 5 présente des activités qui pourraient aider à obtenir l’information requise. Les activités figurant dans le tableau 5 ne sont pas exhaustives mais soulignent la portée des mesures déterminées par l’OFMRT comme étant nécessaires pour déterminer l’habitat essentiel de la lampsile fasciolée. Il est probable que le processus d’étude des mesures du tableau 5 conduira à la découverte d’autres lacunes des connaissances qui devront être comblées. Jusqu’à ce que l’habitat essentiel puisse être défini, l’équipe de rétablissement a désigné les zones figurant dans la section sur l’habitat occupé actuellement comme des zones nécessitant des mesures de conservation.

Tableau 5 : Calendriers des activités de détermination de l’habitat essentiel
ActivitéDélai approximatif1
Entreprendre des relevés des populations de moules 2006-2008
Évaluer les conditions de l’habitat dans les zones occupées (p. ex. débit, substrat, clarté et qualité de l’eau)2006-2008
Déterminer les différences d’utilisation de l’habitat selon les stades de vie  2007-2009
Arpenter et cartographier les zones d’habitat approprié mais inutilisé dans l’aire historique 2008-2010
Évaluer la structure génétique des populations 2006-2008
Déterminer les espèces de poissons hôtes 2006
Entreprendre des relevés des populations de poissons hôtes 2006-2008
Évaluer l’utilisation de l’habitat par les espèces hôtes 2006-2008
Déterminer les zones de chevauchement entre l’habitat des moules et celui des hôtes 2009-2010

Tendances des habitats :La plus grande partie du lac St. Clair (sauf le delta), la rivière Detroit et le bassin ouest du lac Érié ne constituent plus un habitat convenable pour la lampsile fasciolée à cause de l’infestation par les moules dreissenas. Il existe de fortes indications montrant que le manque de clarté de l’eau limite la répartition de la lampsile fasciolée (Metcalfe-Smith et McGoldrick, 2003). Les niveaux élevés de turbidité et de solides en suspension dans les rivières Sydenham et Ausable ont rendu impropres de grandes parties de l’habitat. La clarté de l’eau dans les tronçons occupés des rivières Grand et Maitland ne semblent pas poser de problème.

Protection de l’habitat : La Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) fédérale a été proclamée en juin 2003. En vertu de la LEP, il y a des interdictions générales de tuer, blesser, prendre, posséder, capturer et collectionner la lampsile fasciolée, et d’endommager ou de détruire les résidences des individus de ces espèces, ainsi que des interdictions relatives à la destruction de l’habitat essentiel. La Loi sur les pêches représente un outil important pour la protection de l’habitat et, de concert avec d’autres lois fédérales sur l’environnement, elle est complémentaire à Loi sur les espèces en péril. En vertu de la Loi sur les pêches fédérale, les moules sont considérées comme des mollusques et crustacés, entrant dans la définition de « poisson », et leur habitat est donc protégé contre la détérioration, la destruction ou la perturbation à moins d’y être autorisé par le ministre des Pêches et des Océans ou son fondé de pouvoir. Les autorités chargées de la planification urbaine doivent être d’accord avec l’énoncé de principe provincial en vertu de l’article 3 de la Loi sur l’aménagement du territoire de l’Ontario’s, qui interdit l’aménagement et la modification des sites dans les habitats importants des espèces en péril. La Loi sur l’aménagement des lacs et des rivières de l’Ontario interdit la retenue ou la dérivation d’un cours d’eau si elle conduit à l’envasement, tandis que le programme d’aménagement des terres II volontaire du ministère de l’Agriculture, de l’Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l’Ontario vise à réduire l’érosion sur les terres agricoles. L’aménagement des dérivations en Ontario est géré par la réglementation sur la plaine inondable appliquée par les offices de protection de la nature locaux.

La plupart des terres adjacentes aux rivières où la lampsile fasciolée est présente sont de propriété privée; cependant, le fond de la rivière appartient généralement à la Couronne. La municipalité de Southwestern Middlesex (anciennement canton de Mosa) possède une section de forêt de 20 ha le long du tronçon de la rivière Sydenham où l’on a trouvé des coquilles de lampsile fasciolée en 1997 (Muriel Andreae, Office de protection de la nature de la région St. Clair (SCRCA), cité dans Metcalfe-Smith et coll. 2000) et le SCRCA possède environ 1 816 ha de propriété dans le bassin versant. L’Office de protection de la nature d’Ausable Bayfield (ABCA) possède environ 1 830 ha de propriété partagés entre un certain nombre d’emplacements dans le bassin de la rivière Ausable (K. Vader, ABCA, cité dans Metcalfe-Smith et coll. 2000) et l’Office de protection de la nature de la vallée Maitland possède 28 propriétés couvrant 1 800 ha au sein du bassin versant de la rivière Maitland, y compris un site où l’on a trouvé la lampsiole fasciolée (Office de protection de la nature de Wawanosh). Une grande partie des terres adjacentes au site de refuge identifié dans le delta du lac St. Clair relèvent de la juridiction de la Première Nation de Walpole Island (Zanatta et coll. 2002).