Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Wavyrayed Lampmussel

Ecological Role

Freshwater mussels play an integral role in the functioning of aquatic ecosystems. Vaughn and Hakenkamp (2001) have summarized much of the literature relating to the role of unionids and identified numerous water column (size-selective filter-feeding; species-specific phytoplankton selection; nutrient cycling; control of phospohorus abundance) and sediment processes (deposit feeding decreasing sediment organic matter;  biodeposition of feces and pseudofeces; epizoic invertebrates and epiphytic algae colonize shells; benthic invertebrate densities positively correlated with mussel density) mediated by the presence of mussel beds. Welker and Walz (1998) have demonstrated that freshwater mussels are capable of limiting plankton in European rivers while Neves and Odom (1989) reported that mussels also play a role in the transfer of energy to the terrestrial environment through predation by muskrats and raccoons. 

Importance to People

Although this species has no immediate economic significance, freshwater mussels are sensitive to environmental pollution and a diverse mussel community indicates a healthy aquatic ecosystem. Besides decreased biodiversity in Canada, the decline of the Wavyrayed Lampmussel may indicate further environmental degradation of southern Ontario watercourses which would adversely affect those people who use surface water for drinking, recreation or watering livestock. Recovery of the species may require the participation of recreational anglers as the likely host species, smallmouth bass, are popular sportfish.

Anticipated Conflicts or Challenges

A general shortage of malacological experts in southern Ontario and the specific retirements of two prominent experts are going to pose a problem of continuity over the 5 year implementation period of this recovery strategy.  There will be a need to fill the voids created by these retirements and to train new experts to carry on the research programs of these scientists to ensure that the approaches outlined in this strategy are effectively addressed.

The re-establishment of viable populations in the Ausable and Sydenham Rivers will require watershed scale recovery prior to any re-introduction of the Wavyrayed Lampmussel. Critical improvements to riparian zones can be accomplished over the short term however these can be ephemeral solutions as they are subject to reversal with changes in land ownership.

Knowledge Gaps

Survey Needs:
WatershedLocationReason
AusableHay Swamp, Little Ausable, main channel downstream of NairnTo determine the extent, abundance, and population demographics of the Wavyrayed Lampmussel.
GrandTributaries including Conestogo R.
Maitland RiverUpper reaches of all 4 branches.
ThamesLower reaches and tributaries
Lake St. Clair Delta

These locations represent areas identified by the Recovery Team as ones for which data are currently insufficient. Further areas in need of survey may be identified in the future as needs arise. No additional surveys are foreseen for the Sydenham River as the OFMRT feels that the river has been adequately surveyed.

Biological/Ecological Research requirements:
Research RequirementDetails
Host fish identificationInvestigate other potential hosts.
Juvenile propagationDevelop a protocol for rearing juvenile mussels under laboratory conditions.
Genetics – variabilityExamine degree of variation across Canadian range and compare with variability across global distribution to assist in determining appropriateness of augmentation efforts and selecting source populations if action is warranted.
Genetics – propagation guidelinesDevelop genetically sound propagation guidelines for freshwater mussels estimating the number of individuals needed to maintain or reintroduce 95% of the known genetic variation in propagated populations.
Genetics - molecular phylogenetics Determine if the three lure morphologies found in Canadian populations are actually monophyletic or are sister taxa.

 

Threat Clarification Requirements:
ThreatDetails
Exotics

Examine the zebra mussel threat to Wavyrayed Lampmussels within the St. Clair delta refuge site.

Examine host fish dynamics in relation to exotic species (e.g., mottled sculpins and gobies)

Recreational ActivityDetermine if recreational activity poses a serious threat to the Wavyrayed Lampmussel.
PredationQuantify predation levels. Track changes in predator abundance in response to human-induced changes in the environment (e.g., urbanization, agricultural practices).
ToxicityDetermine the vulnerability of all life stages to known and suspected pollutants. Initial focus on glochidial and juvenile stages which are known to be most sensitive.
Water clarityTest hypothesis that water clarity limits the reproductive success of the Wavyrayed Lampmussel.  

Biological and Technical Feasibility of Recovery

Recovery of the Wavyrayed Lampmussel is believed to be both biologically and technically feasible as reproducing populations still exist as potential sources to support recovery, suitable habitat can be made available through recovery actions, threats can be mitigated and proposed recovery techniques are anticipated to be effective.

  1. Mussels are slow growing and sedentary animals dependant on their host fishes for the survival and dispersal of their young. The slow rate of population growth makes the natural recovery of decimated populations a lengthy process.
  2. The habitat that supports this species in the Upper Grand River and Thames rivers appears to be of high quality due to high water clarity and ample evidence of successful reproduction. Current habitat in the Ausable River is of low quality because of high turbidity or poor water quality. The habitat formerly occupied in the Sydenham River is also of low quality due to poor water clarity and the absence of its host fish. The waters of Lake St. Clair delta are clear and clean but the habitat is of marginal quality due to the presence of dreissenid mussels. Habitat in the Maitland River appears to be of high quality but there is still a need for further assessment.
  3. The habitat in the Sydenham and Ausable Rivers could be improved significantly with proper stewardship of both agricultural and urban lands in each watershed.
  4. Reductions in soil erosion and turbidity in all the watersheds are achievable goals but would be challenging due to the number and intensity of the impacts.
  5. Eliminating the impacts of dreissenid mussels on the Great Lakes populations is not possible although the establishment of managed refuge sites in the Lake St. Clair delta may be possible.
  6. Artificial propagation of the Wavyrayed Lampmussel has been successful in the U.S. (Hanlon and Neves 2000).

The Wavyrayed Lampmussel is naturally a rare component of the mussel community where it is found. The level of effort required for recovery of this species would be low (e.g. habitat preservation) for the Grand, Thames and Maitland Rivers, moderate for the St. Clair delta (managed refuge sites, zebra mussel cleaning), high for the Ausable (e.g. translocation, long-term population augmentation), and high for the Sydenham River which likely requires the re-introduction of both the mussel and smallmouth bass.

Recommended Scale of Recovery

Although the Wavyrayed Lampmussel has a geographically restricted range at a national scale it is relatively broadly distributed across southern Ontario where it is still found alive in 4 major rivers (Ausable, Grand, Maitland, Thames) and in Lake St. Clair. Aquatic Ecosystem Recovery Strategies are in development for the Ausable and Thames Rivers. Although these ecosystem strategies give consideration to the Wavyrayed Lampmussel they can not be relied upon to provide the sole means of protecting this species as each focuses on only a small portion of the total range. Boersma et al. (2001) reported that species covered by ecosystem plans are 4 times less likely to show improvement relative to species covered by single species plans in part because less time and money are typically spent per species in ecosystem plans. A single species approach is necessary to ensure that no critical elements are omitted from the ecosystem plans and to represent the only means of protection in watersheds where ecosystem strategies are lacking (Grand R., Maitland R., Lake St. Clair). If ecosystem plans are developed in the future for these watersheds the single species strategy will provide a strong foundation to build upon.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Lampsile fasciolé

Rôle écologique

Les moules d’eau douce jouent un rôle intégral dans le fonctionnement des écosystèmes aquatiques. Vaughn et Hakenkamp (2001) ont résumé une grande partie de la documentation relative au rôle des unionidés et ont détecté de nombreuses fonctions de filtrage dans la colonne d’eau (alimentation sélective à la taille, sélection du phytoplancton spécifique à l’espèce, cycle nutritif, contrôle de l’abondance du phosphore) et des processus de sédimentation (dépositivores diminuant la matière organique des sédiments, biodépôt des fèces et pseudofèces, invertébrés épizoïques et algues épiphytiques colonisant les coquillages, densités des invertébrés benthiques en corrélation positive avec la densité des moules) assurés par la présence de moulières. Welker et Walz (1998) ont démontré que les moules d’eau douce peuvent limiter le plancton dans les rivières européennes alors que Neves et Odom (1989) signalent que les moules jouent également un rôle dans le transfert de l’énergie à l’environnement terrestre par la prédation par les rats musqués et les ratons laveurs.

Importance pour les gens

Bien que ces espèces soient sans importance économique apparente, les moules d’eau douce sont sensibles à la pollution de l’environnement et une communauté de moules diverse indique un écosystème sain. En plus de la biodiversité qui diminue au Canada, le déclin de la lampsile fasciolée peut indiquer une détérioration accrue de l’environnement des cours d’eau du sud-ouest de l’Ontario qui nuirait aux gens qui utilisent l’eau de surface pour boire, pour les activités récréatives ou pour abreuver le bétail. Le rétablissement de l’espèce peut nécessiter la participation des pêcheurs à la ligne, car l’espèce hôte probable, l’achigan à petite bouche, est un poisson de sport très prisé.

Conflits ou difficultés prévus

La pénurie générale de spécialistes malacologiques dans le sud de l’Ontario et le départ à la retraite de deux importants experts en la matière vont poser un problème de continuité au cours de la période quinquennale de mise en œuvre de cette stratégie de rétablissement. Il faudra combler les vides créés par ces départs à la retraite et former de nouveaux spécialistes afin de poursuivre les programmes de recherche de ces scientifiques et de veiller à ce que les approches décrites dans cette stratégie soient abordées efficacement.

Le rétablissement de populations viables dans les rivières Ausable et Sydenham nécessitera un rétablissement à l’échelle des bassins versants avant toute réintroduction de la lampsile fasciolée. Des améliorations cruciales des zones riveraines peuvent être accomplies à court terme; il peut toutefois s’agir de solutions éphémères car elles sont susceptibles de renversement en cas de changement de propriétaire foncier.

Lacunes des connaissances

Besoins en matière de relevés :
Bassin versant EmplacementRaison
AusableMarais Hay, Little Ausable, chenal principal en aval de NairnDéterminer l’étendue, l’abondance et les données démographiques de la lampsile fasciolée.
GrandAffluents, y compris la rivière Conestogo 
Rivière Maitland Tronçons supérieurs des 4 embranchements.
ThamesTronçons inférieurs et affluents
Lac St. Clair Delta

Ces emplacements représentent les zones pour lesquelles l’équipe de rétablissement a déterminé que les données à leur sujet sont présentement insuffisantes. Suivant les besoins, d’autres zones peuvent faire l’objet de relevés dans l’avenir. Aucun relevé supplémentaire n’est prévu pour la rivière Sydenham, l’OFMRT étant satisfaite des relevés effectués à cet endroit.

Exigences en matière de recherche biologique/écologique :
Exigences en matière de rechercheDétails
Détermination du poisson hôte Étudier d’autres hôtes potentiels.
Multiplication des juvénilesÉlaborer un protocole pour l’élevage de moules juvéniles dans des conditions de laboratoire.
Génétique – variabilitéExaminer le degré de variation dans l’aire canadienne de répartition et comparer à la variabilité dans l’aire globale afin d’aider à déterminer la pertinence des efforts d’augmentation et à sélectionner les populations de départ si cette mesure est justifiée.
Génétique – directives de multiplicationÉlaborer des directives de multiplication saines du point de vue génétique pour les moules d’eau douce en estimant le nombre d’individus requis pour maintenir ou réintroduire 95 % de la variation génétique connue dans les populations multipliées.
Génétique – phylogénétique moléculaire Déterminer si les trois morphologies de leurre constatées dans les populations canadiennes sont en fait monophylétiques ou sont des taxons-soeurs.

 

Exigences en matière de clarification des menaces :
MenaceDétails
Espèces exotiques

Examiner la menace que pose la moule zébrée à la lampsile fasciolée au sein du site de refuge du delta St. Clair.

Examiner la dynamique du poisson hôte en rapport avec l’espèce exotique (p. ex. chabot tacheté et gobie).

Activité récréative Déterminer si l’activité récréative pose une menace sérieuse à la lampsile fasciolée.
PrédationQuantifier les niveaux de prédation. Suivre les changements dans l’abondance des prédateurs en réponse aux changements causés par l’homme dans l’environnement (p. ex. urbanisation, pratiques agricoles).
ToxicitéDéterminer la vulnérabilité de tous les stades aux polluants connus ou dont la présence est soupçonnée. Mettre l’accent initial sur les glochidies et le stade juvénile, lesquels sont connus pour être les plus sensibles.
Clarté de l’eau Vérifier l’hypothèse selon laquelle la clarté de l’eau limite le succès reproducteur de la lampsile fasciolée.  

 

Faisabilité biologique et technique du rétablissement

On croit que le rétablissement de la lampsile fasciolée est possible biologiquement et techniquement car il existe encore des populations reproductrices comme sources éventuelles pour soutenir le rétablissement, l’habitat approprié peut être rendu disponible par des mesures de rétablissement, les menaces peuvent être atténuées et des techniques de rétablissement proposées seraient efficaces.

  1.  Les moules croissent lentement et les individus sédentaires dépendent de leur poisson hôte pour la survie et la dispersion des jeunes. Le rythme lent de la croissance des populations prolonge le processus de rétablissement des populations décimées.
  2. L’habitat qui soutient cette espèce dans la rivière Grand supérieure et la rivière Thames semble être de qualité supérieure en raison de la grande clarté de l’eau et des preuves solides du succès de la reproduction. L’habitat actuel de la rivière Ausable est de piètre qualité à cause de la turbidité élevée ou de la mauvaise qualité de l’eau. L’habitat anciennement occupé dans la rivière Sydenham est aussi de piètre qualité à cause du manque de clarté de l’eau et de l’absence du poisson hôte. Les eaux du delta du lac St. Clair sont claires et propres, mais l’habitat est de qualité médiocre à cause de la présence de la moule dreissena. L’habitat dans la rivière Maitland semble être de qualité supérieure, mais il est encore nécessaire de procéder à une autre évaluation.
  3. L’habitat des rivières Sydenham, Thames et Ausable pourrait être amélioré considérablement avec une intendance appropriée des terres agricoles et urbaines dans chaque bassin versant.
  4. Les réductions de l’érosion du sol et de la turbidité dans tous bassins versants sont possibles mais seraient difficiles en raison du nombre et de l’intensité des impacts.
  5. L’élimination complète des impacts de la moule dreissena sur les populations des Grands Lacs est impossible, mais il serait possible d’établir des sites de refuge gérés dans le delta du lac St. Clair.
  6. La multiplication artificielle de la lampsile fasciolée a été réussie aux États-Unis (Hanlon et Neves 2000).

La lampsile fasciolée est naturellement un élément rare de la communauté de moules où on la trouve. Le niveau d’effort requis pour rétablir l’espèce serait faible (p. ex. préservation de l’habitat) pour les rivières Grand, Thames et Maitland Rivers, modéré pour le delta St. Clair (sites de refuge gérés, élimination de la moule zébrée), élevé pour la rivière Ausable (p. ex. translocation, augmentation des populations à long terme) et élevé pour la rivière Sydenham qui nécessite probablement la réintroduction de la moule et de l’achigan à petite bouche.

Échelle de rétablissement recommandée

Bien que l’aire de répartition de la lampsile fasciolée soit géographiquement restreinte à l’échelle nationale, elle est relativement répartie d’une manière générale dans le sud de l’Ontario où on la trouve encore vivante dans 4 rivières principales (Ausable, Grand, Maitland, Thames) et dans le lac St. Clair. Des stratégies de rétablissement des écosystèmes aquatiques sont en voie d’élaboration pour les rivières Ausable et Thames. Bien que ces stratégies tiennent compte de la lampsile fasciolée, on ne peut pas uniquement compter sur elles pour protéger cette espèce car chacune se concentre sur une petite partie seulement de l’aire totale de répartition. Boersma et coll. (2001) ont signalé que les espèces visées par les plans pour des écosystèmes sont quatre fois moins susceptibles de montrer une amélioration par rapport aux espèces visées par les plans pour une seule espèce en partie parce que l’on consacre généralement moins de temps et d’argent à chaque espèce dans les plans pour des écosystèmes. Une approche se penchant sur une seule espèce est nécessaire pour s’assurer qu’aucun élément crucial n’est omis des plans pour des écosystèmes et pour représenter le seul moyen de protection dans les bassins versants où il n’existe pas de stratégies écosystémiques (rivière Grand, rivière Maitland, lac St. Clair). Si des plans pour des écosystèmes sont élaborés dans l’avenir pour ces bassins versants, la stratégie pour une seule espèce fournira une solide assise sur laquelle les fonder.