Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Wavyrayed Lampmussel

Appendix A:Record of Cooperation and Consultation

Fisheries and Oceans Canada has attempted to engage all potentially affected aboriginal communities in Southern Ontario during the development of the proposed recovery strategy for the Wavyrayed Lampmussel. An information package, which includes a copy of the Wavyrayed Lampmussel Recovery Strategy and a summary description of the strategy, was prepared to solicit comments from potentially affected aboriginal groups prior to the finalization of the proposed recovery strategy.  This package was sent to the Chief and Council of the Chippewas of Kettle and Stoney Point, Aamjiwnaang First Nation, Caldwell First Nation, Delaware Nation Council (Moravian of the Thames First Nation), Chippewas of the Thames, Oneida Nation of the Thames, Munsee-Delaware First Nation, Mississaugas of New Credit First Nation, Six Nations of the Grand, Walpole Island First Nation and the Southern First Nations Secretariat . Information packages were also sent to Metis Nation of Ontario (MNO) Captains of the Hunt for Region 7, 8, and 9 and the MNO senior policy advisor.  Members of these communities may have traveled or harvested fish or freshwater mussels from the waters of the Sydenham River, Thames River, Grand River, Lake St. Clair or Lake Erie where this mussel species was historically found.  Follow-up telephone calls were made to each community office to ensure that packages were received and to ask if they would like to schedule a meeting to learn more about the proposed recovery strategy.

As a result of these calls, meetings were held with Oneida Nation of the Thames Councillor for environmental issues, Chief and council of Kettle and Stoney Point First Nation, the environment committee from Aamjiwnaang First Nation, Wapole Island First Nation – Heritage Centre Staff, and a Council meeting of the Metis of Nation of Ontario. To date no comments have been received.

In addition to the above activities, DFO has established an ongoing dialogue with the policy advisor to the Southern First Nations Secretariat and has engaged the London Chiefs Council (an association of the 8 area First Nation governments in Southwestern Ontario) on several occasions. Meetings have been held with the director of the Walpole Island Natural Heritage Centre and the Fish and Game Enforcement Officer from Walpole Island First Nation.  During these meetings, general information on the Species at Risk Act and proposed recovery strategy development was presented and the Walpole Island Recovery Strategy, which includes the Wavyrayed Lampmussel, was discussed.  Walpole Island First Nation has been represented in the membership of the Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team since the formation of the recovery team in 2003. DFO also discussed SARA issues with a representative of the Six Nations of the Grand who works for the Six Nations EcoCentre and who also represents First Nation interests on the Grand River Fishes at Risk Management Plan, the Thames River Fish Management Plan and the St. Clair River Management Strategy.

The Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team has representatives from all of the Conservation Authorities responsible for managing the rivers where Wavyrayed Lampmussels are presently or were historically found. In addition to this, DFO has prepared a list of non governmental organizations and municipalities which may be impacted by the proposed recovery strategy. Information packages have been prepared to inform these groups that proposed the recovery strategy is about to be approved and inviting each group to comment on the strategy.  As well an announcement has been prepared and will be placed in newspapers with circulation in the area where these mussels are found to inform landowners and the general public about the strategy and to request their comments.  These packages will be sent and the announcements published at the time the proposed recovery strategy is posted on the SARA registry.

The province of Ontario is represented on the Recovery Team by the Ministry of Natural Resources (OMNR) and has actively participated in the development of this proposed recovery strategy. Further to their participation in the development of the recovery strategy, the OMNR has conducted a thorough review of the penultimate draft (December 2004) providing valuable additional insight. A letter has been drafted to request further Provincial comment on the proposed Recovery Strategy. This will be sent to the OMNR when the proposed Recovery Strategy is posted on the SARA Registry.

The National Water Research Institute of Environment Canada has been actively engaged in the development of this recovery strategy providing two members to the Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team. Environment Canada was invited to review and provide comment on the December 2004 draft of the Wavyrayed Lampmussel Recovery Strategy.

The Recovery Team has contacted representatives from Resource Management agencies at the state and federal levels in the USA where Wavyrayed Lampmussel occur. This mussel is only found in Canada and the United States of America.  Information packages will be sent to each U.S. agency when the strategy is posted on the Sara Registry.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Lampsile fasciolé

Annexe A: Dossier de coopération et de consultation

Pêches et Océans Canada a tenté d’engager la participation de toutes les collectivités autochtones éventuellement touchés du sud de l’Ontario à l’élaboration de la stratégie de rétablissement de la lampsile fasciolée. Une trousse d’information comprenant la stratégie de rétablissement de la lampsile fasciolée et une description sommaire de la stratégie a été préparée pour solliciter les commentaires des groupes autochtones éventuellement touchés avant la mise au point définitive de la stratégie de rétablissement. Cette trousse a été transmise au chef et au conseil de Chippewa of Stoney and Kettle Point, à la Aamjiwnaang First Nation, à la Caldwell First Nation, au Delaware Nation Council (Morave de la Thames First Nation), à la Chippewa of the Thames, à la Oneida Nation of the Thames, Munsey-Deleware First Nation, à la Mississauga of New Credit First Nation, à Six Nations of the Grand, à la Walpole Island First Nation et au Southern First Nation Secretariat.Des trousses d’information ont également été envoyées à la Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO), aux capitaines de chasse des régions 7, 8 et 9 et au conseiller principal en politiques de MNO. Les membres de ces communautés peuvent avoir voyagé ou pêché du poisson ou des moules d’eau douce dans les eaux des rivières Sydenham, Thames et Grand ainsi que des lacs St. Clair ou Érié où cette moule se trouvait historiquement. Des appels téléphoniques de suivi ont été faits au bureau de chaque communauté pour s’assurer que les trousses avaient été reçues et demander s’ils aimeraient organiser une réunion pour en savoir davantage sur la stratégie de rétablissement.

Par suite de ces appels, des réunions ont été tenues avec le conseiller de la Oneida First Nation of the Thames pour les questions environnementales, le chef et le conseil de la Kettle and Stoney Point First Nation, le comité de l’environnement de la Aamjiwnaang First Nation, le personnel de la Wapole Island First Nation – Heritage Centreet une réunion du conseil de Métis Nation of Ontario. Aucun commentaire n’a été reçu jusqu’à présent.

En plus des activités mentionnées ci-dessus, le MPO a établi un dialogue permanent avec le conseiller en politiques du Southern First Nations Secretariat et a engagé la participation du London Chiefs Council (une association des 8 gouvernements des Premières nations dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario) à plusieurs occasions. Des réunions ont eu lieu avec le directeur du Walpole Island Natural Heritage Centre et l’agent de surveillance de la chasse et de la pêche de la Walpole Island First Nation.  Au cours de ces réunions, on a présenté des renseignements généraux au sujet de la Loi sur les espèces en péril et de l’élaboration de la stratégie de rétablissement et on a discuté de la stratégie de rétablissement de Walpole Island, qui comprend la lampsile fasciolée.  La Walpole Island First Nation est représentée parmi les membres de l’équipe de rétablissement des moules d’eau douce de l’Ontario depuis la création de l’équipe en 2003. Le MPO a par ailleurs discuté des questions de la LEP avec un représentant de Six Nations of the Grand qui travaille pour le Six Nations EcoCentre et qui représente également les intérêts des Premières nations dans le plan de gestion des poissons en péril de la rivière Grand, le plan de gestion des poissons de la rivière Thames et la stratégie de gestion de la rivière St. Clair.

L’Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team (équipe de rétablissement des moules d’eau douce de l’Ontario) comptait des représentants de tous les Offices de protection de la nature responsables de la gestion des rivières où la lampsile fasciolée est présente ou était présente historiquement. De plus, le MPO a préparé une liste d’organisations non gouvernementales et de municipalités qui peuvent être touchées par la stratégie de rétablissement. Des trousses d’information ont été préparées pour informer ces groupes que la stratégie de rétablissement est sur le point d’être approuvée et pour inviter chaque groupe à formuler des commentaires sur la stratégie. En outre, une annonce a été préparée et sera placée dans les journaux distribués dans le secteur où ces moules se trouvent pour informer les propriétaires fonciers et le grand public au sujet de la stratégie et demander leurs commentaires. Ces trousses ont été transmises et les annonces ont été publiées pour coïncider avec l’affichage de la stratégie de rétablissement sur le site du Registre de la LEP.

La province de l’Ontario est représentée au sein de l’équipe de rétablissement par le ministère des Richesses naturelles (MRNO) et a participé activement à l’élaboration de cette stratégie de rétablissement proposée. Outre sa participation à l’élaboration de la stratégie de rétablissement, le MRNO a entrepris un examen approfondi de l’avant dernière version (décembre 2004), offrant de précieuses idées supplémentaires. Une lettre pour demander d’autres commentaires provinciaux sur la stratégie de rétablissement a été ébauchée. Elle sera transmise au MRNO lorsque la stratégie de rétablissement sera affichée sur le site Web du Registre de la LEP.

L’institut national de recherche sur les eaux d’Environnement Canada a participé activement à l’élaboration de cette stratégie de rétablissement grâce à ses deux membres au sein de l’Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team (équipe de rétablissement des moules d’eau double de l’Ontario). Environnement Canada a été invité à examiner la version de décembre 2004 de la stratégie de rétablissement de la lampsile fasciolée et à formuler des commentaires.

L’équipe de rétablissement a communiqué avec des représentants des agences de gestion des ressources au niveau des États et au niveau fédéral aux États-Unis où la lampsile fasciolée est présente. Cette moule n’est présente qu’au Canada et aux États-Unis d’Amérique. Des trousses d’information seront envoyées à chaque agence lorsque la stratégie sera affichée sur le site du Registre de la LEP.