Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Nooksack dace in Canada

Update
COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Nooksack dace
Rhinichthys cataractae ssp.
in Canada
2007

Species Information

Name and Classification

Class:
Actinopterygii
Order:
Cypriniformes
Family:
Cyprinidae
Genus:
Rhinichthys
Species:
Rhinichthys cataractae
Subspecies:
Rhinichthys cataractae ssp.
Common names:
   English
Nooksack dace
   French
Naseux de la Nooksack


The Nooksack dace (Figure 1) is believed to be a subspecies of the longnose dace (Rhinichthys cataractae), although it may constitute a separate species (J.D. McPhail, pers. comm., 2006). It is a member of the ‘Chehalis fauna’, a group of fishes that diverged from the Columbia fauna during the Pleistocene Epoch through geographic isolation in a glacial refuge in present-day Washington State (McPhail, 1967; McPhail, 1997). It is one of several closely related daces of uncertain taxonomic relationship found in the Pacific Northwest. The most widespread form is found in the Columbia and Fraser River systems. Divergent forms include the Umpqua dace (R. evermanni Snyder) of the Umpqua drainage and the undescribed Millicoma dace of the Coos drainage, both in Oregon, in addition to the Nooksack dace (Bisson and Reimers 1977, McPhail, 1967).  None of the forms are known to occur in sympatry.


Figure 1:  A Male Nooksack Dace (May 20, 1999, Pepin Brook, UTM 10U 539071 5428930)

Figure 1.  A male Nooksack dace (May 20, 1999, Pepin Brook, UTM 10U 539071 5428930).


Morphological Description

R. cataractae morphology reflects a preference for fast flowing riverine habitats. The body is streamlined and nearly round in cross-section. The head is triangular with a bulbous snout overhanging the mouth and a slight hump at the nape. The eyes are small relative to head length. Pectoral fins are large, paddle-shaped, and used as hydrofoils in swift currents, pelvic fins are small and the caudal fin is shallowly forked with rounded lobes. Body colouration is grey-green above a dull, brassy lateral stripe and dirty white below it. The swim bladder is small and poorly developed (Scott and Crossman, 1973). There are distinct pale marks on the back at the anterior and posterior base of the dorsal fin and a distinct black stripe on the head in front of the eyes, which in juveniles continues down the flanks to the tail. Males have slightly longer pectoral fins but the sexes are not otherwise distinguishable (McPhail, 1997). Relative to other R. cataractae populations in the Fraser and Columbia river basins, the Nooksack dace has a more slender caudal peduncle and larger scales that are fewer in number (50-59 vs 60-73 on the lateral line; McPhail,1967; Bisson and Reimers, 1977). The largest recorded Canadian specimen measured 114 mm (snout to tail fork) and weighed 16.1 g (Pearson, 2004). Mean values for key morphological features (lateral line scale and dorsal fin ray counts) in the recently identified Coquitlam River and Alouette River populations are intermediate between the two forms and show higher variation.  At present, however, sample size is insufficient to determine if distributions are unimodal or bimodal (J.D. McPhail, pers. comm. 2006).


Genetic Description

Nooksack dace from the Nooksack drainage are distinguishable from the Columbia-Fraser R. cataractae by allelic frequency for one allozyme (Pgi-1 slow allele; McPhail and Lindsey, 1986) and genetic distance calculated from mtDNA variation. A detailed mtDNA sequencing study of the R. cataractae species group is in progress (J.D. McPhail pers. comm., 2006). The group includes the Umpqua dace, R. evermanni, (n=15; endemic to Oregon’s Umpqua River) and several distinct forms of putative R cataractae, including the Nooksack dace (n=20), the Millicoma dace, (n=5; endemic to Oregon’s Coos River; Bisson and Reimers, 1977), and the more widespread Columbia-Fraser form (n=5 x 6 sites in BC and WA). Early results show that the cytochrome b gene (1141 bp) and control region (892 bp) in Nooksack dace mtDNA differ from Columbia-Fraser R. cataractae at approximately 2% of sites, suggesting that divergence between Nooksack and Columbia River-Fraser River longnose dace occurred about 2 million years ago, prior to the Pleistocene Epoch. This exceeds the level of divergence between the longnose sucker, Catostomus catostomus and the Salish sucker, Catostomus sp. (1.15%; McPhail and Taylor, 1999, 2000) and is similar to that between speckled dace, R. osculus, the leopard dace, R. falcatus, and the Umatilla dace R. Umatilla (1.3-2.8%; McPhail and Taylor, unpub. data).  There are small (0.3-0.4%) differences between populations of Nooksack dace from river systems on the Olympic Peninsula, the Puget Sound lowlands, and the Fraser Valley. The Willipa River, the only occupied drainage to the south of the Chehalis River, contains a population slightly more divergent from other Nooksack dace populations, differing at approximately 1% of sites (McPhail and Taylor, unpub. data.).

The Canadian population structure has yet to be fully clarified. Until 2004 Nooksack dace were believed restricted to tributaries of the Nooksack River, with northwestern longnose dace occupying all Fraser River tributaries. Recent genetic and morphometric work has revealed, however, that all R. cataractae of the Brunette River (a Fraser River tributary) are Nooksack dace (McPhail and Taylor, unpubl. data). Preliminary sampling also indicates that the Nooksack dace mitochondrial genome is found in a high frequency of individuals from two neighbouring watersheds, the Coquitlam River (47%, n=30) and the Alouette River (28%, n = 32) but is absent in the Norrish Creek population (n=30), which is somewhat further east (Fig. 3). It is not clear if this is evidence of historical hybridization or of sympatry with occasional hybridization. Clarifying the situation is the critical step in determining the taxonomic status of Nooksack dace. If populations of northwestern longnose and Nooksack dace maintain themselves as separate, sympatric entities in the Coquitlam and Alouette Rivers, full species status is probably warranted. Conversely, if these populations consist of introgressed hybrids a subspecies designation would be appropriate (McPhail pers. comm., 2006). A conservative nuclear marker for Nooksack dace has yet to be developed, but is needed.


Designatable Units

Nooksack dace populations occupy two independent drainages within British Columbia, the lower Fraser River and the Nooksack River system, which enters the Strait of Georgia from Washington State. Dispersal between the drainages is extremely unlikely, although brief connections between tributary headwaters do occur during flood events in some years. However, there is no data to support distinguishing the populations as separate designatable units in accordance with the COSEWIC guidelines for recognizing designatable units below the species level (COSEWIC 2006).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le naseux de la Nooksack au Canada – Mise à jour

Mise à jour
Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
naseux de la Nooksack
Rhinichthys cataractae ssp.
au Canada
2007

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Classe :
Actinoptérigiens
Ordre :
Cypriniformes
Famille :
Cyprinidés
Genre :
Rhinichthys
Espèce :
Rhinichthys cataractae
Sous-espèce :
Rhinichthys cataractae ssp.
Noms communs :
   Français
Naseux de la Nooksack
   Anglais
Nooksack dace


On croit que le naseux de la Nooksack (figure 1) est une sous-espèce du naseux de rapides (Rhinichthys cataractae), mais il pourrait aussi être une espèce distincte (J. D. McPhail, comm. pers., 2006). Le naseux de la Nooksack appartient à la faune de la Chehalis, un groupe de poissons qui aurait divergé de la faune du fleuve Columbia pendant le Pléistocène par isolement géographique dans un refuge glaciaire qui se trouverait aujourd’hui dans l’État de Washington (McPhail, 1967; McPhail, 1997). Il compte parmi plusieurs naseux étroitement apparentés du Pacifique Nord-Ouest dont la relation taxinomique est incertaine. La forme la plus répandue occupe les bassins hydrographiques des fleuves Columbia et Fraser. Au nombre des formes divergentes, il y a notamment le naseux Umpqua (R. evermanni Snyder), du bassin hydrographique du fleuve Umpqua, et le naseux Millicoma, un naseux non décrit, du bassin hydrographique du fleuve Coos, les deux se trouvant en Oregon, ainsi que le naseux de la Nooksack (Bisson et Reimers, 1977; McPhail, 1967). Aucune de ces formes ne semble sympatrique.


Figure 1 : Naseux de la Nooksack mâle (20 mai 1999, ruisseau Pepin, UTM 10U 539071 5428930)

Figure 1. Naseux de la Nooksack mâle (20 mai 1999, ruisseau Pepin, UTM 10U 539071 5428930).


Description morphologique

La morphologie du R. cataractaetémoigne d’une préférence pour les habitats fluviaux d’eau vive. Le corps du poisson est fuselé et presque rond en coupe transversale. La tête triangulaire présente un museau bulbeux qui surplombe la bouche et une légère bosse au niveau de la nuque. Les yeux sont petits par rapport à la longueur de la tête. Les nageoires pectorales sont larges, en forme de pagaies et servent d’hydrofoils dans les courants rapides. Les nageoires pelviennes sont petites, et la nageoire caudale est peu entaillée et présente des lobes arrondis. Le corps est vert gris au-dessus de la ligne latérale, d’un jaune terne, et blanc gris en dessous. La vessie natatoire est petite et peu développée (Scott et Crossman, 1973). Le poisson porte des marques pâles distinctes sur le dos à la base antérieure et postérieure de la nageoire dorsale et une bande noire distincte sur la tête, devant les yeux. Chez les juvéniles, cette bande se prolonge sur les flancs jusqu’à la queue. Les mâles ont des nageoires pectorales légèrement plus longues, mais autrement, les deux sexes sont difficiles à distinguer (McPhail, 1997). Comparativement aux autres populations de R. cataractae des bassins hydrographiques des fleuves Fraser et Columbia, le naseux de la Nooksack a un pédoncule caudal plus effilé et des écailles plus grosses et moins nombreuses (de 50 à 59 contre 60 à 73 sur la ligne latérale; McPhail, 1967; Bisson et Reimers, 1977).Le plus gros spécimen jamais enregistré au Canada mesurait 114 mm (du bout du museau à la fourche de la queue) et pesait 16,1 g (Pearson, 2004). Les valeurs moyennes des principales caractéristiques morphologiques (nombre d’écailles sur la ligne latérale et de rayons sur la nageoire dorsale) pour les populations récemment identifiées des rivières Coquitlam et Alouette sont intermédiaires entre les deux formes et montrent des variations plus importantes. La taille de l’échantillon ne suffit pas actuellement à déterminer si les distributions sont unimodales ou bimodales (J. D. McPhail, comm. pers., 2006).


Description génétique

Le naseux de la Nooksack du bassin de la rivière Nooksack se distingue du R. cataractae des bassins des fleuves Columbia et Fraser par la fréquence allélique d’un allozyme (Pgi-1 allèle lent; McPhail et Lindsey, 1986) et par la distance génétique calculée à partir de la variation de l’ADNmt. Une étude détaillée de séquençage de l’ADNmt pour le groupe d’espèces dont fait partie le R. cataractae est présentement en cours (J. D. McPhail, comm. pers., 2006). Ce groupe comprend le naseux Umpqua, R. evermanni (n=15; endémique au fleuve Umpqua, Oregon), et plusieurs autres formes possibles du R. cataractae, dont le naseux de la Nooksack (n=20) et le naseux Millicoma (n=5; endémique à la rivière Coos, Oregon; Bisson et Reimers, 1977), et la forme plus répandue des bassins hydrographiques des fleuves Columbia et Fraser (n=5 dans 6 sites en Colombie-Britannique et dans l’État de Washington). Les premiers résultats ont montré une différence dans environ 2 p. 100 des sites du gène du cytochrome b (1 141 pb) et de la région témoin (892 pb) de l’ADNmt entre le naseux de la Nooksack et le R. cataractae des fleuves Columbia et Fraser, ce qui donne à penser que la divergence entre ces deux groupes s’est produite il y a environ 2 millions d’années, soit avant le Pléistocène.Ce niveau de divergence dépasse celui observé entre le meunier rouge, Catostomus catostomus, et le meunier de Salish, Catostomus sp. (1,15 p. 100; McPhail et Taylor, 1999, 2000), et est similaire à celui observé entre le naseux moucheté, R. osculus, le naseux léopard, R. falcatus et le naseux d’Umatilla, R. Umatilla (1,3-2,8 p. 100; McPhail et Taylor, données inédites). Il y a de petites différences (0,3-0,4 p. 100) entre les populations de naseux de la Nooksack des bassins hydrographiques de la péninsule Olympic, des basses terres de la baie Puget et de la vallée du Fraser. La rivière Willipa, la seule occupée au sud de la rivière Chehalis, accueille une population qui présente une divergence un peu plus importante par rapport aux autres populations de naseux de la Nooksack, soit environ 1 p. 100 des sites (McPhail et Taylor, données inédites).

La structure de la population canadienne est encore incertaine. Jusqu’en 2004, on croyait que le naseux de la Nooksack était limité aux affluents de la rivière du même nom et que le naseux de rapides du nord-ouest occupait tous les affluents du fleuve Fraser. De récents travaux de génétique et de morphométrie ont cependant révélé que tous les R. cataractae de la rivière Brunette (un affluent du fleuve Fraser) étaient des naseux de la Nooksack (McPhail et Taylor, données inédites). Les échantillonnages préliminaires permettent également de croire que le génome mitochondrial du naseux de la Nooksack est observé chez de nombreux individus des bassins hydrographiques voisins, c’est-à-dire ceux des rivières Coquitlam (47 p. 100, n=30) et Alouette (28 p. 100, n=32), mais est absent chez la population du ruisseau Norrish (n=30), lequel se trouve un peu plus loin à l’est (figure 3). On ne sait pas exactement s’il s’agit-là d’une preuve d’hybridation passée ou d’une sympatrie avec hybridation occasionnelle. Il est essentiel de clarifier cette situation pour pouvoir déterminer le statut taxinomique du naseux de la Nooksack. Si les populations de naseux de rapides du nord-ouest et de naseux de la Nooksack constituent des entités sympatriques distinctes dans les rivières Coquitlam et Alouette, le statut d’espèce à part entière serait alors probablement justifié. En revanche, si ces populations consistent en des hybrides introgressés, la désignation de sous-espèce serait plus appropriée (McPhail, comm. pers., 2006). Un marqueur nucléaire pour le naseux de la Nooksack est requis, mais n’a pas encore été développé.


Unités désignables

Les populations de naseux de la Nooksack occupent deux bassins hydrographiques indépendants en Colombie-Britannique, ceux du bas Fraser et de la rivière Nooksack; ce dernier se déverse dans le détroit de Georgie dans l’État de Washington. La dispersion d’un bassin à l’autre est fort peu probable, bien qu’il se forme de brèves connexions certaines années entre des affluents en amont lors d’inondations. Aucune donnée ne permet toutefois de considérer ces populations comme deux unités désignables séparées conformément aux lignes directrices du COSEPAC pour reconnaître les unités désignables inférieures à l’espèce (COSEPAC, 2006).