Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Nooksack dace in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

Nooksack dace are restricted to western Washington State and southwestern British Columbia (Figure 2) where they inhabit the drainages of the east shore of Puget Sound, the western side of the Olympic Peninsula and the Fraser River Valley. The historical range is unknown, but unlikely to have been much more extensive as the Columbia-Fraser form of R. cataractae occupy drainages to the west and north with a zone of past or present overlap (see Genetic Description) and other members of the same clade occupy drainages south of the Columbia River (McPhail, pers. comm. 2006).


Figure 2: The Global Range of the Nooksack Dace is Restricted to Northwestern Washington State and the Fraser River Valley in Southwestern British Columbia

Figure 2: The global range of the Nooksack dace is restricted to northwestern WashingtonState and the Fraser River Valley in southwestern British Columbia.

Adapted from McPhail (1997) and Mongillo and Hallock (1997).


Canadian Range

Within Canada Nooksack dace occupy a restricted range consisting of four creeks in two major watersheds of the Fraser Valley (Fig. 3). Three of the creeks flow south into Washington State’s Nooksack River (Bertrand Creek, Pepin Creek and Fishtrap Creek). The fourth population, discovered in 2004, occupies the Brunette River, a tributary of the lower Fraser River. The nearby Coquitlam and Alouette Rivers, also tributary to the Fraser River, contain either sympatric populations or introgressed hybrids of Nooksack dace and Columbia-Fraser R. cataractae (see Genetic Description).

The extent of occurrence in Canada comprises 630 km2, or 4.3 percent of the global extent.  Potential habitat, defined as the total riffle area in reaches containing more than 10 percent riffle by length, totals 7 328 m2 in three of the four Canadian populations (Table 1). Much of this habitat is currently unoccupied due to seasonal drying, compaction with silt or beaver impoundment. Habitat in the fourth occupied watershed, the Brunette River, has yet to be surveyed, but the total riffle area available is 20 155 m2.  This gives a total riffle area (area of occupancy) of 0.03 km2. The area of occupation in Washington State is unknown. Area of occupancy estimated from an overlaid grid of cell size one km2 is in the order of 14 km2.

Table 1: Potential Habitat and Population Sizes for Confirmed Nooksack Dace Populations in Canada
DrainageLength of Riffle (m)Area of Riffle (m2)Maximum PopulationCPUE RatioAdjusted Estimate
Bertrand Creek1 1992 9965 70018.95 700
Pepin Creek1 0502 3004 4002.7800
Fishtrap Creek1 0162 0323 9001300
Brunette River*10 47320 15538 300NANA
Total13 73827 48352 300NANA

*Pearson, Unpublished data
Potential habitat consists of riffle areas in reaches containing more than 10% riffle by length. Maximum population estimates are products of density in high quality habitat (1.9 per m2, Inglis et al., 1994) and available riffle area. A CPUE-based estimate of relative abundance among watersheds (Pearson, 2004) is used to calculate the adjusted estimate. See Population Sizes and Trends for discussion.

The existence of unknown populations in other Fraser River tributaries seems plausible in light of the recent confirmation of the Brunette River population. Searches of occurrence records for R. cataractae in the Fraser Valley using the UBC Fish Museum database and the British Columbia Fisheries Inventory Summary System and the Royal British Columbia Museum records yielded putative records from 36 sites in the Fraser Valley (Table 2). Those from areas not yet genetically characterized are shown in Figure 3.

Within watersheds Nooksack dace distribution is extremely clumped. Pearson (2004) compared catch per unit effort (CPUE; mean number of fish per trap; 24 h sets) in 72 reaches of the Nooksack River tributaries. CPUE was zero in most (41) reaches and high densities (CPUE>0.25 fish per trap) were found in only 8 reaches, 6 of which are contiguous in lower Bertrand Creek. He estimated that this 5 km stretch of channel constituting just 12.5% of mainstem length in the Nooksack River tributaries contained more than 70% of their Nooksack dace.

Historical changes in the Canadian distribution are poorly documented, but a general decline over at least the past half-century seems likely. McPhail (1997) reports that Nooksack dace were extirpated from some headwater tributaries of Bertrand and Fishtrap creeks between the late 1960s and the mid-1990s. Pearson (2004) found them only in the main stems of these creeks, and observed that most of the tributaries run dry in late summer.

Table 2: Records of Rhinichthys cataractae in the Fraser Valley on the UBC Fish Museum Database,1 the British Columbia Fisheries Inventory Summary System (FISS)2 and the Royal British Columbia Museum (RBCM)
SiteDrainageLocationYearEastingNorthingReferenceHaplotypes Present3
1Norrish Creek2.6 km upstream1959  UBC 59-0602CF
2Norrish Creek8 km upstream1959  UBC 59-0600CF
3Alouette River224 ST19985291105453616FISS HQ2030N/CF
4Alouette River232 St1980  UBC 82-0012N/CF
5Alouette RiverAlouette Lake outlet19965371705459510FISS HQ0717N/CF
6Bertrand CreekOtter Road1963  UBC 76-0027N
7Bertrand Creek 19935373715434835FISS HQ0517N
8Brunette RiverStill Creek at Hwy 71956  UBC 56-0122N
9Brunette RiverUnknown1953  UBC55-0009N
10Coquitlam RiverHwy 7 bridge1956  UBC 56-0412N /CF
11Coquitlam RiverUnknown1951  UBC 55-0008N/CF
12Coquitlam River 19965172555465878FISS HQ0498N/CF
13Coquihalla RiverNear mouth1956  UBC 59-0446?
14Fraser RiverDewdney (Nicomen Slough?)1959  UBC 59-0601?
15Fraser RiverKirkland Island19784912155439571FISS HQ0444?
16Fraser RiverMouth of Vedder1959  UBC 59-0608?
17Fraser RiverN of Chilliwack20005727835448220FISS HQ1489?
18Fraser RiverN of Chilliwack20005749385451237FISS HQ1489?
19Fraser RiverN of Chilliwack20005767655450636FISS HQ1489?
20Fraser RiverN of Chilliwack20005765335452159FISS HQ1489?
21Fraser RiverN of Chilliwack20005777675451240FISS HQ1489?
22Fraser RiverN of Chilliwack20005783635453036FISS HQ1489?
23Fraser RiverN of Chilliwack20005804035452854FISS HQ1489?
24Fraser RiverCoquihalla Mouth1956  UBC 59-0002?
25Fraser RiverS of Agassiz20005866175452439FISS HQ1489?
26Fraser RiverS of Agassiz20005905445451894FISS HQ1489?
27Fraser RiverS of Agassiz20005936785453684FISS HQ1489?
28Kanaka CreekLower reaches?  McPhail pers. comm.?
29Pitt RiverMainstem19915280685466523FISS HQ0435?
30Silverdale Creek4 19545471005443000UBC 58-0552?
31Vedder RiverCultus Lake outlet19955743545436388FISS 2FBSRY?
32Fraser RiverAgassiz1987  RBCM 987-00234-003?
33Fraser RiverAgassiz1987  RBCM 987-00235-004?
34Fraser RiverAgassiz1987  RBVM 987-00236-001?
35Fraser RiverHerling Island1992  RBCM 992-00227-002?
36Fraser RiverChilliwack1987  RBCM 987-00233-001?

1 http://www.zoology.ubc.ca/~etaylor/nfrg/fishmuseum.html
2 http://www.env.gov.bc.ca/fish/fiss/
3 As identified by McPhail:     CF = Columbia-Fraser   N = Nooksack    ?= not tested
4 Mission


Figure 3: In Canada, Nooksack Dace Populations are Confirmed in the Brunette River (A, 2004), Bertrand Creek (B, 2005), Pepin Creek (C, 2004), and Fishtrap Creek (D, 2004)

Figure 3: In Canada, Nooksack dace populations are confirmed in the Brunette River (A, 2004), Bertrand Creek (B, 2005), Pepin Creek (C, 2004), and Fishtrap Creek (D, 2004).

Norrish Creek (G) contains the Columbia-Fraser form of R. cataractae, while the Coquitlam River (E. 2004) and Alouette River (F, 2005) contain either sympatric populations or introgressed hybrids of the two types (J.D. McPhail unpubl. data). Years refer to date of most recent captures (Pearson, unpubl. data). Numbers refer to putative R. cataractae records from other watersheds as detailed in Table 2.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le naseux de la Nooksack au Canada – Mise à jour

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

Le naseux de la Nooksack est confiné à l’ouest de l’État de Washington et au sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique (figure 2), où il occupe les bassins hydrographiques à l’est de la baie Puget, le côté ouest de la péninsule Olympic et la vallée du fleuve Fraser. L’aire de répartition historique du poisson est inconnue, mais n’a sans doute jamais été beaucoup plus étendue, la forme de R. cataractae des fleuves Columbia et Fraser occupant des bassins hydrographiques à l’ouest et au nord avec une zone de chevauchement passée ou présente (voir la section Description génétique), et les autres membres du même clade occupant les bassins hydrographiques au sud du fleuve Columbia (McPhail, comm. pers., 2006).


Figure 2 : L’aire de répartition mondiale du naseux de la Nooksack est confinée au nord-ouest de l’État de Washington et à la vallée du fleuve Fraser, dans le sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique

Figure 2 : L’aire de répartition mondiale du naseux de la Nooksack est confinée au nord-ouest de l’État de Washington et à la vallée du fleuve Fraser, dans le sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique.

Adaptation de McPhail (1997) et de Mongillo et Hallock (1997).


Aire de répartition canadienne

Au Canada, le naseux de la Nooksack occupe une aire de répartition restreinte qui consiste en quatre ruisseaux situés dans deux importants bassins hydrographiques de la vallée du Fraser (figure 3). Trois de ces ruisseaux coulent vers le sud et se déversent dans la rivière Nooksack, dans l’État de Washington (ruisseaux Bertrand, Pepin et Fishtrap). La quatrième population, découverte en 2003, occupe la rivière Brunette, un affluent du bas Fraser. Les rivières Coquitlam et Alouette, également des affluents du Fraser situés à proximité, accueillent soit des populations sympatriques, soit des hybrides introgressés de R. cataractae de la Nooksack et des bassins hydrographiques des fleuves Columbia et Fraser (voir la section Description génétique ci-dessus).

La zone d’occurrence au Canada est de 630 km2, ce qui représente 4,3 p. 100 de l’aire de répartition mondiale. L’habitat potentiel, soit les secteurs où les rapides représentent au moins 10 p. 100 de la longueur du cours d’eau, est évalué à 7 328 m2 pour trois des quatre populations canadiennes (tableau 1).La majeure partie de cet habitat est présentement inoccupée en raison des sécheresses saisonnières, du compactage par le limon ou des barrages de castors. L’habitat du quatrième bassin hydrographique, celui de la rivière Brunette, n’a pas encore été étudié, mais contient au total 20 155 m2 de secteurs de rapides, ce qui représente une zone de rapides (zone d’occupation) de 0,03 km2. La zone d’occupation dans l’État de Washington est inconnue. La zone d’occupation estimée à partir d’une grille dont la taille des carrés est de 1 km2 est de l’ordre de 14 km2.

Tableau 1 : Habitat potentiel et taille des populations confirmées de naseux de la Nooksack au Canada
Bassin hydrographiqueLongueur des rapides (m)Superficie des rapides (m2)Population maximaleRatio des CPUEEstimation ajustée
Ruisseau Bertrand1 1992 9965 70018,95 700
Ruisseau Pepin1 0502 3004 4002,7800
Ruisseau Fishtrap1 0162 0323 9001300
Rivière Brunette*10 47320 15538 300s. o.s. o.
Total13 73827 48352 300s. o.s. o.

*Pearson, données inédites

L’habitat potentiel correspond aux secteurs où les rapides représentent au moins 10 p. 100 de la longueur du cours d’eau. Les estimations des populations maximales sont le produit de la densité observée dans des habitats de grande qualité (1,9 par m2, Inglis et al., 1994) par la superficie des rapides disponibles. Une estimation de l’abondance relative fondée sur la CPUE dans les bassins hydrographiques (Pearson, 2004) a été utilisée pouruler les estimations ajustées. Voir la section Taille et tendances des populations.

La confirmation récente de la population de la rivière Brunette rend plausible la présence de populations encore inconnues dans d’autres affluents du fleuve Fraser. Les recherches d’occurrences de R. cataractae dans les bases de données du UBC Fish Museum, du British Columbia Fisheries Inventory Summary System et du Royal British Columbia Museum ont permis de retracer des enregistrements potentiels dans 36 sites de la vallée du Fraser (tableau 2). Ceux de secteurs qui n’ont pas encore été génétiquement caractérisés apparaissent dans la figure 3.

À l’intérieur des bassins hydrographiques, la répartition du naseux de la Nooksack est extrêmement fragmentée. Pearson (2004) a comparé les captures par unité d’effort (CPUE; nombre moyen de poissons par piège; périodes de 24 h) dans 72 segments des affluents de la rivière Nooksack. Les CPUE étaient de zéro dans la majorité (41) des segments et de fortes densités (CPUE supérieure à 0,25 poisson par piège) ont été enregistrées dans seulement huit segments, dont six sont contigus au ruisseau Bertrand. Pearson a estimé que ces 5 km de cours d’eau, ne représentant que 12,5 p. 100 de la longueur des principaux affluents de la Nooksack, contenaient plus de 70 p. 100 des naseux de la Nooksack.

Les changements historiques dans la répartition canadienne sont mal documentés, mais il est probable qu’il y ait eu un déclin général au cours des cinquante dernières années au moins. McPhail (1997) affirme que le naseux de la Nooksack a disparu de certains affluents d’amont des ruisseaux Bertrand et Fishtrap entre la fin des années 1960 et le milieu des années 1990. Pearson (2004) n’en a trouvé que dans les cours principaux de ces ruisseaux et a observé que la majorité des affluents étaient secs à la fin de l’été.

Tableau 2 : Enregistrements de Rhinichthys cataractae dans la vallée du Fraser contenus dans la base de données du UBC Fish Museum1, le British Columbia Fisheries Inventory Summary System (FISS)2 et le Royal British Columbia Museum (RBCM)
SiteBassin hydrographiqueEmplacementAnnéeVers l’estVers le nordRéférenceHaplotypes présents3
1Ruisseau Norrish2,6 km en amont1959  UBC 59-0602CF
2Ruisseau Norrish8 km en amont1959  UBC 59-0600CF
3Rivière Alouette224 ST19985291105453616FISS HQ2030N/CF
4Rivière Alouette232 St1980  UBC 82-0012N/CF
5Rivière AlouetteDécharge du lac Alouette19965371705459510FISS HQ0717N/CF
6Ruisseau BertrandRoute Otter1963  UBC 76-0027N
7Ruisseau Bertrand 19935373715434835FISS HQ0517N
8Rivière BrunetteRuisseau Still à la route 71956  UBC 56-0122N
9Rivière BrunetteInconnu1953  UBC55-0009N
10Rivière CoquitlamPont de la route 71956  UBC 56-0412N/CF
11Rivière CoquitlamInconnu1951  UBC 55-0008N/CF
12Rivière Coquitlam 19965172555465878FISS HQ0498N/CF
13Rivière CoquihallaPrès de l’embouchure1956  UBC 59-0446?
14Fleuve FraserDewdney (faux chenal Nicomen?)1959  UBC 59-0601?
15Fleuve FraserÎle Kirkland19784912155439571FISS HQ0444?
16Fleuve FraserEmbouchure de la Vedder1959  UBC 59-0608?
17Fleuve FraserN de Chilliwack20005727835448220FISS HQ1489?
18Fleuve FraserN de Chilliwack20005749385451237FISS HQ1489?
19Fleuve FraserN de Chilliwack20005767655450636FISS HQ1489?
20Fleuve FraserN de Chilliwack20005765335452159FISS HQ1489?
21Fleuve FraserN de Chilliwack20005777675451240FISS HQ1489?
22Fleuve FraserN de Chilliwack20005783635453036FISS HQ1489?
23Fleuve FraserN de Chilliwack20005804035452854FISS HQ1489?
24Fleuve FraserEmbouchure de la Coquihalla1956  UBC 59-0002?
25Fleuve FraserS de Agassiz20005866175452439FISS HQ1489?
26Fleuve FraserS de Agassiz20005905445451894FISS HQ1489?
27Fleuve FraserS de Agassiz20005936785453684FISS HQ1489?
28Ruisseau KanakaTronçons en aval?  McPhail, comm. pers.?
29Rivière PittAxe principal19915280685466523FISS HQ0435?
30Ruisseau Silverdale4 19545471005443000UBC 58-0552?
31Rivière VedderDécharge du lac Cultus19955743545436388FISS 2FBSRY?
32Fleuve FraserAgassiz1987  RBCM 987-00234-003?
33Fleuve FraserAgassiz1987  RBCM 987-00235-004?
34Fleuve FraserAgassiz1987  RBVM 987-00236-001?
35Fleuve FraserÎle Herling1992  RBCM 992-00227-002?
36Fleuve FraserChilliwack1987  RBCM 987-00233-001?

1 http://www.zoology.ubc.ca/~etaylor/nfrg/fishmuseum.html (en anglais seulement)
2 http://www.env.gov.bc.ca/fish/fiss/ (en anglais seulement)
3 Tel qu’identifié par McPhail : CF = Columbia-Fraser  N = Nooksack   ?= non testé.
4 Ruisseau Mission dans la base de donnée


Figure 3 : Au Canada, la présence de populations de naseux de la Nooksack a été confirmée dans la rivière Brunette (A, 2004), dans le ruisseau Bertrand (B, 2005), dans le ruisseau Pepin (C, 2004) et dans le ruisseau Fishtrap (D, 2004)

Figure 3 : Au Canada, la présence de populations de naseux de la Nooksack a été confirmée dans la rivière Brunette (A, 2004), dans le ruisseau Bertrand (B, 2005), dans le ruisseau Pepin (C, 2004) et dans le ruisseau Fishtrap (D, 2004).

Le ruisseau Norrish (G) accueille la forme de R. cataractae des fleuves Columbia et Fraser, alors que les rivières Coquitlam (E. 2004) et Alouette (F. 2005) accueillent soit des populations sympatriques, soit des hybrides introgressés des deux types (J. D. McPhail, données inédites). Les années indiquées sont celles des plus récentes captures (Pearson, données inédites). Les chiffres font référence aux enregistrements possibles de R. cataractae d’autres bassins hydrographiques, tels qu’ils apparaissent dans le tableau 2.