Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Nooksack dace in Canada

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

R. cataractae are widely known as stream riffle specialists (Facey and Grossman, 1992; Gibbons and Gee, 1972; Thompson et al., 2001; McPhail, 1997). Adult densities are highest in depths of 10 to 20 cm, at water velocities greater between 20 and 35 cm/s, over loose gravel, cobble or boulder substrates (Inglis et al., 1994; McPhail, 1997). Overwintering Nooksack adults have been found beneath cobble substrate in fast flowing riffles (Pearson, unpubl. data). Nooksack dace typically spawn at the upstream end of riffles and young-of-the-year occupy shallow (10-20 cm), calm, pools over fine substrates at the downstream end of riffles (McPhail, 1997).

The proportion of riffle habitat in a stream reach is the strongest predictor of Nooksack dace presence. They are rarely found in reaches with less than 10 percent riffle by length, or in reaches where long stretches of deep pool habitat separate riffles (Pearson, 2004). Natural habitat fragmentation occurs where low stream gradient precludes riffle formation and where beaver ponding converts riffles to pools. Anthropogenic fragmentation, caused by channel dredging and seasonal lack of flow due to ground and surface water extraction, is also common in the Canadian range.

In Canada Nooksack dace are associated with small to moderate-sized channels (1-10 m in width), but this probably reflects available habitat in occupied watersheds rather than a preference (McPhail, 1997). On the Olympic Peninsula mean channel width at occupied sites was 45.2 m (range 14.9-76 m, n=12, Mongillo and Hallock 1997).


Habitat Trends

Streams in the Fraser Delta area typically have small watersheds, minimal low flows in July and August, and limited natural or artificial storage; some have significant water demands. Storage development, riparian zone management, and erosion control are all important issues (Rood and Hamilton 1994). 

The Brunette River is considered to have undergone significant alteration to its hydrological regime due to urbanization. In particular, the lower portion of the Brunette River is characterized by channelization and dyking, with no instream cover, high water temperatures and low dissolved oxygen (Rood and Hamiltion 1994).

The current extent of riffle habitats and occupancy in the Nooksack tributaries is well documented (Fig. 4; Pearson 1998a,b; Pearson 2004). The trend in its quantity and quality is clearly one of decline. At least some riffles in all three creeks are compacted by sediment from bank erosion and/or urban storm sewer effluent (Pearson, 2004). The mainstem of Fishtrap Creek was dredged for flood control by the City of Abbotsford in 1990-1991, eliminating most of its previously abundant riffle habitat (J.D. McPhail, pers. comm. 2006). In particularly dry years (e.g. 2002) flow ceases completely in some occupied reaches of Bertrand Creek, eliminating riffle habitat. Reaches with strongest baseflows still lose over 80% of riffle area relative to winter levels (Pearson, unpubl.). Aquifer draw-down by local wells is estimated to have reduced the creek’s baseflow by 24% since 1960 (Golder and Associates, 2004). Surface withdrawals for irrigation are also of water licences held in the Nooksack drainage is significant. These large-scale abstractions or diversions undoubtedly limit availability of nooksack dace habitat (riffles) in the low-flow summer months in some locations as all of these licences are run significant, but have not been quantified.

A number of river withdrawals occur during the dry periods for irrigation purposes. Bertrand, Fishtrap and Pepin creeks are all relatively small streams that begin to lose riffle habitat (width) when flows drop below 10% mean annual discharge (mad) and riffle quality (depth and velocity) when flows drop below 20% mad (mad; Ptolemy and Lewis 2003). In recent years (1984-2005), Betrand Creek in particular has seen 30-day summer flows as low as 1% mad (Ron Ptolemy, Standards and Guidelines Specialist, Ecosystems Branch, BC Ministry of Environment, Victoria, BC; personal communication 2007) Fishtrap Creek baseflows are also a concern with monitored flows averaging 10% mad and dropping to <1% mad in the 2003 drought. Pepin Creek flows in contrast are relatively healthy with baseflows averaging 24% mad and lows as >10% during drought periods (R. Ptolemy, pers. comm.).

Only crude estimates of habitat loss are possible, due to lack of baseline data (Table 3). They suggest that approximately half of the original riffle habitat from the Nooksack tributaries has been lost, most of it prior to 1996. Losses in the past 10 years appear to have been minimal, mostly due to beaver pond inundation of riffles in Pepin Creek (Pearson, 2004).

Table 3: Estimated Losses of Nooksack dace Habitat in Canada
 UnitsPepin CreekFishtrap CreekBertrand CreekBrunette River
Existing Area (from Table 1)(m2)2 0002 3003 00020 155
Losses to 1996(m2)
(m)
2 500
2 780
2 530
2 300
2 500
5 000
?
?
Losses since 1996(m2)*235000
Total Loss%575246?

Habitat was assumed to have comprised 20% of channel length in reaches known or believed to have lost substantial riffle area prior to 1996.

* measured by Pearson (2004)
** Areas calculated as product of mean wetted widths (from Pearson, 1998a) and 20% of reach length rounded to nearest 100 m2


Habitat Protection/Ownership

There is no known Nooksack dace habitat on federal or provincial lands, but approximately 2 km of occupied habitat in the Nooksack River tributaries (Table 4) and at least 5.2 km of suitable or occupied habitat in the Brunette River (Pearson unpubl. data) occur on regional or municipal parkland. This amounts to somewhat more than 10% of suitable habitat.

Virtually all of the remaining habitat is on private, urban or agricultural lands. There is limited legislative protection at present. The ‘harmful alteration, disruption or destruction’ of fish habitat, including that of Nooksack dace, is partially prohibited by the federal Fisheries Act (R.S.C. 1985, c. F-14, s. 35-36). The Species at Risk Act prohibits the destruction of habitat identified as critical in an approved recovery strategy or action plan (SARA, S.C.2002, c.29, s. 57-58), but the competent minister must make an order before the prohibitions apply.

All occupied or potential habitats in the Nooksack River tributaries (Fig. 4) are proposed by the Recovery Team for designation as critical habitat under SARA.

Table 4: Public Lands Bordering or Upstream of Occupied or Suitable Nooksack Dace Habitat in Canada
WatershedOwnershipDescriptionChannel Length Present/ Suitable/ OccupiedStatus/Comments
Pepin CreekGreater Vancouver Regional DistrictAldergrove Lake Regional Park4825 m Pepin Brook and tributaries; 1660 m occupiedRegional parkland
Bertrand CreekTownship of LangleyOtter Park225 m Bertrand Creek; 225 m occupiedMunicipal parkland; Extremely vulnerable to drying
Federal Government Dept. Nat. DefenceNaval Station Aldergrove2850 m Bertrand Creek; 0 suitableMilitary lands; Extreme headwaters
Township of LangleyVanetti Park175 m Bertrand Creek; 0 suitableMunicipal parkland; Upstream of suitable habitat
Township of LangleyCreekside Park185 m Bertrand Creek; 0 suitableMunicipal parkland
Fishtrap CreekCity of AbbotsfordGardner Park, City of Abbotsford260 m Enn’s Brook; 120 m suitableMunicipal parkland
City of AbbotsfordEast Fishtrap Creek Park1500 m East Fishtrap Creek; 0 suitableMunicipal parkland; Upstream of suitable habitat
Brunette RiverGreater Vancouver Regional DistrictBurnaby Lake Regional Park9000 m of mainstem and tributaries; 2450 msuitableRegional parkland
City of BurnabyDeer Lake Park2400 m of Deer Lake and Creek; 515 m suitableMunicipal parkland
City of BurnabyHume Park415 m Brunette River; 415 m occupiedMunicipal parkland
City of BurnabyEast Lake Park500 m Stoney Creek; 500 m suitableProtected as municipal parkland
City of BurnabyStoney Creek Park, City of Burnaby825 m Stoney Creek; 825 m suitableMunicipal parkland
Greater Vancouver Regional DistrictBurnaby Mountain Conservation Area1565 m Stoney Creek; 500 m suitableRegional park; Extreme headwaters


Figure 4: Occupied Habitat in the Nooksack Tributaries Includes all Reaches in Occupied Watersheds Containing a Minimum of 10 Percent Riffle by Length at Low Flow

Figure 4: Occupied habitat in the Nooksack tributaries includes all reaches in occupied watersheds containing a minimum of 10 percent riffle by length at low flow.

Only 3.27 km of the 21.4 km marked consists of riffle and could actually be occupied (adapted from National Recovery Team for Salish Sucker and Nooksack Dace, 2005). Pepin Brook = Pepin Creek.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le naseux de la Nooksack au Canada – Mise à jour

Habitat


Besoins en matière d’habitat

Il est largement reconnu que le R. cataractae est un spécialiste des rapides (Facey et Grossman, 1992; Gibbons et Gee, 1972; Thompson et al., 2001; McPhail, 1997). Les densités des adultes sont à leur niveau le plus élevé à des profondeurs de 10 à 20 cm, à des vélocités de l’eau de 20 à 35 cm/s et au-dessus de substrats de gravier meuble, de pierres ou de rochers (Inglis et al., 1994; McPhail, 1997). Des naseux de la Nooksack hivernants ont été observés sous des substrats de pierres dans des rapides de grande vélocité (Pearson, données inédites). Le naseux de la Nooksack fraie en amont des rapides, et les jeunes de l’année occupent les bassins calmes aux substrats fins en aval de ceux-ci (McPhail, 1997).

La proportion d’habitat de rapides dans un segment de cours d’eau est le meilleur paramètre de prévision de la présence du naseux de la Nooksack. Le poisson est rarement présent dans les cours d’eau qui ont des rapides sur moins de 10 p. 100 de leur longueur ou dans les segments où de longs bassins profonds séparent les rapides (Pearson, 2004). L’habitat se fragmente naturellement aux endroits où les faibles dénivellations empêchent la formation de rapides et où les barrages construits par les castors transforment les rapides en bassins. La fragmentation d’origine humaine, causée par le dragage et par la réduction du débit d’eau par des ponctions souterraines et de surface, est également courante dans l’aire de répartition canadienne.

Au Canada, le naseux de la Nooksack est associé aux petits et aux moyens cours d’eau (de 1 à 10 m de largeur), mais cette association témoigne sans doute davantage de la disponibilité de l’habitat dans les bassins hydrographiques qu’il occupe que d’une réelle préférence (McPhail, 1997). Dans la péninsule Olympic, la largeur moyenne des cours d’eau aux endroits occupés était de 45,2 m (étendue de 14,9 à 76 m, n=12, Mongillo et Hallock, 1997).


Tendances en matière d’habitat

Les cours d’eau du delta du Fraser appartiennent généralement à de petits bassins hydrographiques, ont un faible débit en juillet et en août et ont des réserves naturelles et artificielles limitées, l’eau de certains d’entre eux étant très en demande. La constitution de réserves, la gestion des zones riveraines et la lutte contre l’érosion sont autant de questions importantes (Rood et Hamilton, 1994).

On estime que l’urbanisation a considérablement modifié le régime hydrographique de la rivière Brunette. Plus précisément, la portion la plus en aval de la rivière Brunette se caractérise par la présence de canalisations et de digues non couvertes, par des températures élevées de l’eau et par de faibles niveaux d’oxygène dissous (Rood et Hamilton, 1994).

L’étendue actuelle de l’habitat de rapides et l’occupation dans les affluents de la Nooksack sont deux questions bien documentées (figure 4; Pearson, 1998a, b; Pearson, 2004). La tendance en termes de quantité et de qualité est clairement à la baisse. Il y a compactage dans au moins trois ruisseaux en raison des sédiments provenant de l’érosion des rives et des effluents des égouts pluviaux des villes (Pearson, 2004). La ville d’Abbotsford a dragué le segment principal du ruisseau Fishtrap en 1990 et 1991 afin de lutter contre les inondations, ce qui a eu pour conséquence d’éliminer la majorité des habitats de rapides, autrefois nombreux (J. D. McPhail, comm. pers., 2006). Lors des années particulièrement sèches (p. ex. 2002), l’écoulement de l’eau cesse complètement dans certains segments occupés du ruisseau Bertrand, éliminant ainsi les habitats de rapides. Les segments de fort débit perdent 80 p. 100 de leurs secteurs de rapides par rapport à l’hiver (Pearson, données inédites). On estime que les ponctions d’eau dans les puits locaux auraient réduit le débit de base du ruisseau de 24 p. 100 depuis 1960 (Golder and Associates, 2004). Les ponctions d’eau de surface pour l’irrigation faites dans le cadre de concessions d’eau sont également importantes dans le bassin hydrographique de la Nooksack. Ces ponctions ou ces diversions de grande échelle limitent certainement par endroits la disponibilité de l’habitat (rapides) pendant les faibles débits de l’été, toutes les concessions d’eau étant considérablement exploitées, mais l’eau extraite n’est pas quantifiée.

Certaines ponctions d’eau se font pendant les périodes sèches à des fins d’irrigation. Les ruisseaux Bertrand, Fishtrap et Pepin sont des cours d’eau relativement petits qui commencent à perdre des habitats de rapides (largeur) lorsque leur débit chute en deçà de 10 p. 100 du débit moyen annuel (DMA) et dont les rapides commencent à perdre en qualité (profondeur et vélocité) lorsque leur débit chute en deçà de 20 p. 100 du DMA (Ptolemy et Lewis, 2003). Au cours des dernières années (de 1984 à 2005), le ruisseau Bertrand a connu en été 30 jours de débits représentant aussi peu que 1 p. 100 du DMA (Ron Ptolemy, Standards and Guidelines Specialist, Ecosystems Branch, BC Ministry of Environment, Victoria, C.-B.; comm. pers., 2007). Les débits de base du ruisseau Fishtrap sont également préoccupants, les débits enregistrés représentant en moyenne 10 p. 100 du DMA et ayant chuté en deçà de 1 p. 100 du DMA lors de la sécheresse de 2003. Les débits du ruisseau Pepin sont en revanche relativement sains, les débits de base représentant en moyenne 24 p. 100 du DMA et se maintenant à plus de 10 p. 100 du DMA pendant les périodes de sécheresse (R. Ptolemy, comm. pers.).

En raison de l’absence de données de référence, seules des estimations brutes de l’abondance peuvent être faites (tableau 3). Ces estimations indiquent qu’environ la moitié des habitats de rapides originaux des affluents de la Nooksack auraient disparu, la plupart avant 1996. Les pertes subies au cours des dix dernières années semblent minimales, principalement grâce à l’inondation des rapides du ruisseau Pepin par les castors (Pearson, 2004).

Tableau 3 : Pertes estimées d’habitat du naseux de la Nooksack au Canada
 UnitésRuisseau PepinRuisseau FishtrapRuisseau BertrandRivière Brunette
Superficie existante (selon le tableau 1)(m2)2 0002 3003 00020 155
Pertes avant 1996(m2)
(m)
2 500
2 780
2 530
2 300
2 500
5 000
?
?
Pertes depuis 1996(m2)*235000
Perte totale%575246?

On a présumé que l’habitat convenable représentait 20 p. 100 de la longueur des cours d’eau qui ont, avec certitude ou vraisemblablement, perdu d’importants secteurs de rapides avant 1996.

* Mesuré par Pearson (2004)
** Superficies calculées en multipliant la largeur mouillée moyenne (de Pearson, 1998a) par 20 % de la longueur des segments de cours d’eau ; arrondi à 100 m2 près.


Protection et propriété

On ne connaît aucun habitat du naseux de la Nooksack sur des terres fédérales ou provinciales, mais environ 2 km d’habitat occupé dans les affluents de la rivière Nooksack (tableau 4) et au moins 5,2 km d’habitat convenable ou occupé dans la rivière Brunette (Pearson, données inédites) se trouvent dans des parcs régionaux ou municipaux. Ces habitats représentent un peu plus de 10 p. 100 de la totalité de l’habitat convenable.

Presque tous les habitats restants se trouvent sur des terrains privés, urbains ou agricoles. Il existe actuellement peu de dispositions législatives de protection. L’habitat du poisson est protégé contre toute détérioration, perturbation ou destruction en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches (L.R.C. 1985, ch. F-14, art. 35 et 36). La Loi sur les espèces en péril interdit la destruction de l’habitat désigné comme essentiel dans un programme de rétablissement ou dans un plan d’action approuvé (LEP,L.C. 2002, ch. 29, art. 57 et 58), mais le ministre compétent doit prononcer un décret avant que l’interdiction ne puisse s’appliquer.

L’équipe de rétablissement propose de désigner comme habitat essentiel en vertu de la LEP tous les habitats occupés ou potentiels dans les affluents de la rivière Nooksack (fig. 4).

Tableau 4 : Terres domaniales en bordure ou en amont de l’habitat occupé ou potentiel du naseux de la Nooksack au Canada
Bassin hydrographiquePropriétéDescriptionLongueur du cours d’eau/ Convenable/OccupéStatut/ Commentaires
Ruisseau PepinDistrict régional de VancouverParc régional Aldergrove Lake4 825 m ruisseau Pepin et affluents; 1 660 m occupésParc régional
Ruisseau BertrandCanton de LangleyParc Otter225 m ruisseau Bertrand; 225 m occupésParc municipal; Extrêmement vulnérable à l’assèchement.
Ministère de la Défense nationale du gouvernement fédéral
Canton de Langley
Station navale Aldergrove2 850 m ruisseau Bertrand; 0 convenableTerres militaires; Cours supérieurs extrêmes
Canton de LangleyParc Vanetti175 m ruisseau Bertrand; 0 convenableParc municipal; En amont d’habitat convenable
Canton de LangleyParc Creekside185 m ruisseau Bertrand; 0 convenableParc municipal
Ruisseau FishtrapMunicipalité d’AbbotsfordParc Gardner, Municipalité d’Abbotsford260 m ruisseau Enn; 120 m convenablesParc municipal
Municipalité d’AbbotsfordParc East Fishtrap Creek1 500 m ruisseau Fishtrap-Est; 0 convenableParc municipal; En amont d’habitat convenable
Rivière BrunetteDistrict régional de VancouverParc régional Burnaby Lake9 000 m de cours principaux et d’affluents; 2 450 convenablesParc régional
Municipalité de BurnabyParc Deer Lake2 400 m lac et ruisseau Deer; 515 m convenablesParc municipal
Municipalité de BurnabyParc Hume415 m rivière Brunette; 415 m occupésParc municipal
Municipalité de BurnabyParc East Lake500 m ruisseau Stoney; 500 m convenablesProtection de parc municipal
Municipalité de BurnabyParc Stoney Creek, Municipalité de Burnaby825 m ruisseau Stoney; 825 convenablesParc municipal
District régional de VancouverBurnaby Mountain Conservation Area1 565 m ruisseau Stoney; 500 m convenablesParc régional; Extrême amont


Figure 4 : L’habitat occupé dans les affluents de la rivière Nooksack comprend tous les segments des bassins versants occupés où les rapides de faible débit représentent au moins 10 p. 100 de la longueur du cours d’eau

Figure 4 : L’habitat occupé dans les affluents de la rivière Nooksack comprend tous les segments des bassins versants occupés où les rapides de faible débit représentent au moins 10 p. 100 de la longueur du cours d’eau.

Seulement 3,27 km des 21,4 km marqués sont des rapides et pourraient être occupés (adaptation, équipe nationale de rétablissement pour le meunier de Salish et le naseux de la Nooksack, 2005.