Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Nooksack dace in Canada

Biology

Life Cycle and Reproduction

Nooksack dace spawn nocturnally over coarse substrate in riffles (McPhail, 1997) between April and early July (Pearson, 2004). Both male and female Alouette River R. cataractae establish and defend small breeding territories (approx. 10 cm in diameter), which are clustered at the upstream end of riffles. Females leave their territories at night to court and spawn with territorial males, which rarely leave, even to feed until at least 24 h after spawning (Bartnik, 1972; 1973). Fecundity ranges from about 200 to over 2000 eggs depending upon body size and adults are believed to spawn annually (McPhail, 1997); however, given the long spawning period, females may spawn multiple clutches (Roberts and Grossman, 2001).

R. cataractae eggs hatch in 7-10 days at 15.6º C in Manitoba, but remain in the gravel for an additional week until the yolk sac is absorbed (Scott and Crossman, 1973). Young-of-the-year Nooksack dace emerge from substrate in mid-summer feeding on zooplankton and chironomid larvae in shallow, marginal pools with sand or mud substrates. After approximately 4 months (at about 45 mm body length) they become negatively buoyant and move into riffle habitat. Lifespan is four to six years and sexual maturity is attained at the end of the second summer of life, suggesting that generation time is three years (McPhail, 1997).

Hybridization of R. cataractae with several co-occurring cyprinids, including the redside shiner, Richardonius balteatus, a species that occurs with Nooksack dace in the Brunette River, are documented (Scott and Crossman, 1973).


Predation

Adults are likely taken occasionally by coastal cutthroat trout (Oncorhynchus clarkii clarkii), rainbow trout (O. mykiss), and prickly sculpin (Cottus asper), which co-occur with all known Nooksack dace populations (Pearson, 2000). Juveniles are likely taken by these species in addition to juvenile coho salmon (O. kisutch). All of the Canadian watersheds occupied by Nooksack dace are also colonized by one or more introduced predators, including bullfrog (Rana catesbeiana), brown bullhead (Ameiurus nebulosus), pumpkinseed (Lepomis gibbosus), and largemouth bass (Micropterus salmoides). Population level impacts of these predators are unknown. None of them are commonly found in the riffle-rich reaches preferred by Nooksack dace.  The nocturnal foraging habit of Nooksack dace (McPhail, 1997) may reduce their susceptibility to diurnal predators (Culp, 1989).


Physiology

Little information exists on tolerances or preferences of Nooksack dace for water quality parameters such as dissolved oxygen, pH, and temperature. Activity appears minimal at temperatures below 11o C, and fish forage normally at temperatures in excess of 20o C (Pearson, 2004). Nooksack dace were found in streams with temperatures significantly above the average during an Olympic Peninsula survey (17.6o C, range 14.0 – 22.0; Mongillo and Hallock 1997). Nooksack dace are likely poorly adapted to hypoxia, as riffle habitats are typically well oxygenated.


Dispersal/Migration

Nooksack dace typically have small home range sizes and show no evidence of long-range dispersal as adults. Pearson (2004) showed that the distribution of Nooksack dace movements within two 200 m long study areas was extremely leptokurtotic (biased towards short distances) relative to the distribution of detectable movements.  Over 50% of recaptured, marked adult dace were caught within 5 m and 92% were found within 50 m of their initial capture positions in the 14-month study. Fully 30% were recaptured in exactly the same location, some after more than a year had lapsed since the previous capture. Fish were as likely to move upstream as downstream, and maximum displacement was 205 m.  None of the recaptured fish moved the 2.2 km between study reaches. Nooksack dace colonists (n=9) did not penetrate more than 560 m into a newly constructed 960 m tributary diversion within 15 months (Pearson, unpub. data), suggesting that maximum annual range is less than 1 km. The data suggest that a large fraction of the population is sedentary. Hill and Grossman (1987) also report small home range size for R. cataractae (mean 13.7 m). The relatively long movements (hundreds of metres) of a few individuals, however, suggests that a fraction of the population may travel considerable distances from the home patch, a pattern demonstrated in a number of other stream fishes (Nakamura et al. 2002; Gowan et al. 1994; Smithson and Johnston 1999). Juveniles may passively disperse downstream, but this has not been studied.

The clumped distribution within watersheds combined with limited adult dispersal raises the possibility that Nooksack dace exist as metapopulations within watersheds. Insufficient data, particularly on juvenile dispersal rates, exists for assessment, however.

Migration links between Canadian populations are highly unlikely as migrants would need to either traverse a minimum of 10 kilometres of largely unsuitable habitat in Washington State or, in the case of the Brunette River, cross the divide between the Fraser and Nooksack watersheds.


Interspecific Interactions

Adult Nooksack dace feed primarily on riffle dwelling insects, while young-of-the-year dace subsist primarily on ostcracods and chironomid pupae (McPhail, 1997). Competitors are probably limited to juvenile coastal cutthroat trout and rainbow trout, the only other fishes that commonly forage in riffles inhabited by Nooksack dace (Pearson, 2004). Little data exist regarding parasitism, but most individuals have light infestations of blackspot (Neascus sp.), a subcutaneous trematode cyst, which appears to have little effect at low infestation rates (Vinikour, 1977).


Adaptability

In aggregate, Nooksack dace life history characteristics (small body size, short generation time, potential for multiple clutches annually) should permit rapid population growth, promoting early recovery from small-scale disturbances, rapid colonization of restored or created habitats within a few hundred metres of existing populations and successful (re)introductions into suitable habitat. Their life history strategy, however, will provide little resilience in the face of large scale or chronic disturbances (Winemiller and Rose, 1992; Detenbeck et al., 1992).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le naseux de la Nooksack au Canada – Mise à jour

Biologie

Cycle vital et reproduction

Le naseux de la Nooksack fraie la nuit sur des substrats grossiers de rapides (McPhail, 1997) entre avril et le début de juillet (Pearson, 2004). Les R. cataractae mâles et femelles de la rivière Alouette établissent et défendent de petits territoires de reproduction (d’environ 10 cm de diamètre) qui se concentrent dans les secteurs en amont des rapides. Les femelles quittent leur territoire la nuit pour courtiser les mâles territoriaux qui, eux, quittent rarement leur territoire, même pour s’alimenter, jusqu’à 24 h après le frai au moins (Bartnik, 1972; 1973). Les femelles pondent, selon leur taille, entre 200 et 2 000 œufs, et on pense que les adultes fraient chaque année (McPhail, 1997), mais, compte tenu de la longue durée de la période de frai, il est possible que les femelles pondent plusieurs fois (Roberts et Grossman, 2001).

Au Manitoba, les œufs du R. cataractae éclosent au bout de 7 à 10 jours à une température de 15,6 ºC, mais demeurent dans le gravier pendant une autre semaine, jusqu’à ce que le sac vitellin ait été absorbé (Scott et Crossman, 1973).Les jeunes de l’année émergent du substrat au milieu de l’été et se nourrissent de zooplancton et de larves de chironomidés dans les bassins peu profonds et marginaux aux substrats de sable et de boue.Au bout de quatre mois environ (longueur du corps d’à peu près 45 mm), les poissons acquièrent une flottabilité négative et gagnent l’habitat de rapides. Les poissons ont une durée de vie de quatre à six ans et atteignent la maturité sexuelle à la fin de leur deuxième été, ce qui indique que la durée de génération serait de trois ans (McPhail, 1997).

L’hybridation du R. cataractae avec plusieurs autres cyprinidés sympatriques, notamment avec le méné rose (Richardsonius balteatus), une espèce qui, comme le naseux de la Nooksack, occupe la rivière Brunette, a été documentée (Scott et Crossman, 1973).


Prédateurs

Les adultes sont probablement, à l’occasion, la proie de la truite fardée côtière (Oncorhynchus clarki clarki), de la truite arc-en-ciel (O. mykiss) et du chabot piquant (Cottus asper), lesquels cohabitent avec les populations connues de naseux de la Nooksack (Pearson, 2000).Les juvéniles sont probablement eux aussi capturés par ces poissons de même que par le saumon coho juvénile (O. kisutch). Tous les bassins hydrographiques canadiens occupés par le naseux de la Nooksack sont également colonisés par un ou plusieurs prédateurs introduits, notamment le ouaouaron (Rana catesbeiana), la barbotte (Ameiurus nebulosus), le crapet-soleil (Lepomis gibbosus) et l’achigan à grande bouche (Micropterus salmoides). L’incidence de ces prédateurs sur la population de naseux de la Nooksack est inconnue. Aucune de ces espèces n’occupe couramment les segments de rapides privilégiés par le naseux de la Nooksack. Parce qu’il s’alimente la nuit (McPhail, 1997), le naseux de la Nooksack est peut-être moins vulnérable aux prédateurs diurnes (Culp, 1989).


Physiologie

Il n’y a que peu d’information sur les tolérances ou les préférences du naseux de la Nooksack pour des paramètres de la qualité de l’eau comme l’oxygène dissous, le pH et la température. Les activités semblent minimales à des températures inférieures à 11 oC, et le poisson s’alimente normalement à des températures supérieures à 20 oC (Pearson, 2004). Lors d’un relevé réalisé dans la péninsule Olympic, le naseux de la Nooksack a été observé dans des cours d’eau dont la température était bien au-delà de la moyenne (17,6 oC, étendue de 14,0 à 22,0; Mongillo et Hallock, 1997). Le naseux de la Nooksack est probablement très mal adapté à l’hypoxie, les habitats de rapides étant généralement bien oxygénés.


Déplacements et dispersion

Le naseux de la Nooksack occupe généralement un petit domaine vital et ne semble pas se déplacer sur de longues distances une fois parvenu à l’âge adulte. Après avoir étudié deux segments de 200 m, Pearson (2004) a démontré que la distribution des mouvements des naseux de la Nooksack était extrêmement leptocurtique (avec biais vers de courtes distances) relativement à la distribution des mouvements détectables. Au cours de l’étude sur 14 mois, plus de 50 p. 100 des naseux adultes marqués ont été recapturés à moins de 5 m de leur lieu de capture initial et 92 p. 100 à moins de 50 m. Trente pour cent des individus ont été recapturés exactement au même endroit, certains plus d’une année après leur capture initiale. Les poissons se déplaçaient autant en amont qu’en aval, et le déplacement le plus long enregistré était de 205 m. Aucun des individus recapturés n’a franchi les 2,2 km séparant les deux secteurs étudiés. En 15 mois, les naseux de la Nooksack colonisateurs (n=9) n’ont pas pénétré plus profondément que 560 m dans une déviation nouvellement construite de 960 m (Pearson, données inédites), ce qui indique que l’aire de répartition annuelle maximale serait inférieure à 1 km. Les données donnent à penser qu’une importante portion de la population est sédentaire. Hill et Grossman (1987) ont également observé que le R. cataractae occupait de petits domaines vitaux (moyenne de 13,7 m). Les déplacements relativement longs (centaines de mètres) de certains individus portent cependant à croire qu’une partie de la population franchit peut-être de longues distances, une habitude documentée chez un certain nombre de poissons de rapides (Nakamura et al., 2002; Gowan et al., 1994; Smithson et Johnston, 1999). Les juvéniles se dispersent peut-être passivement en aval, mais cette hypothèse n’a pas été étudiée.

La distribution regroupée dans les bassins hydrographiques et la dispersion limitée des adultes indiquent l’existence de métapopulations. Les données actuelles, particulièrement sur la dispersion des juvéniles, ne sont cependant pas suffisantes pour permettre une estimation.

La présence de liens de migration entre les populations canadiennes est fort peu probable puisque les migrants auraient à parcourir au moins 10 kilomètres d’habitat largement impropre à l’espèce dans l’État de Washington ou, comme dans le cas de la rivière Brunette, à franchir la ligne de partage des eaux entre les bassins hydrographiques du Fraser et de la Nooksack.


Relations interspécifiques

Les naseux de la Nooksack adultes se nourrissent principalement d’insectes vivant dans les rapides, alors que les jeunes de l’année s’alimentent surtout d’ostracodes et de pupes de chironomidés (McPhail, 1997). Les concurrents se limitent probablement aux truites fardées côtières et aux truites arc-en-ciel juvéniles, les seuls autres poissons qui se nourrissent couramment dans les rapides occupés par le naseux de la Nooksack (Pearson, 2004). Il existe peu de données sur le parasitisme, mais la majorité des individus souffrent de légères infestations de la maladie des points noirs (Neascus sp.), des kystes sous-cutanés de trématodes qui semblent n’avoir qu’une incidence mineure lorsque l’infestation est faible (Vinikour, 1977).


Adaptabilité

Dans l’ensemble, les caractéristiques du cycle vital du naseux de la Nooksack (petite taille, courte durée de génération, pontes potentiellement multiples chaque année) devraient permettre une croissance rapide de la population, un prompt rétablissement à la suite de perturbations de petite échelle, la colonisation rapide des habitats restaurés ou créés à quelques centaines de mètres de populations existantes et l’introduction ou la réintroduction de l’espèce dans les habitats convenables. Sa stratégie de cycle vital la rend toutefois vulnérable aux perturbations chroniques ou de grande échelle (Winemiller et Rose, 1992; Detenbeck et al., 1992).