Skip booklet index and go to page content

Southern Flying Squirrel (Glaucomys Volans)

Biology

Life Cycle and Reproduction

G. volans may reach sexual maturity after six months (Wells-Gosling 1985), although females producing a litter in their first year is unusual (Giacalone-Madden 1976). G. volans are polyestrous (Banfield 1974) and may produce two litters in a season (Dolan and Carter 1977). Although this is more likely to occur in the southern parts of the species’ range, females have been observed to rear two litters at Point Pelee National Park (Adams 1995). Mean litter size from American studies is 2.75 (sd= 0.59, n=11 studies, range= 1-6; source: Stabb 1988). Canadian litter size data are limited to Point Pelee (3.45 ± 0.66 SD, n = 11; Adams 1995) and Norfolk County (3.66, n = 3; Stabb 1988).

Survival data for G. volans are scarce. Giacalone-Madden (1976) reported a mean “annual disappearance rate” of ~50% with wide variance for southern flying squirrels on Long Island, NY. Doby (1984) found a substantial drop in nest box recaptures after three years of age in North Carolina. At Point Pelee National Park, the oldest captured squirrel was four years, representing <1% of the population (Bednarczuk 2003). Two of 42 (4.8%) squirrels captured there in 1997 were ≥3 years old (Adams 1997) and 10 of 58 (17.2%) squirrels captured in 2003 were originally tagged in 2001 (Bednarczuk and Stephens 2004).

Generation time is estimated to be 1.5 years: most females rear their first litter at age one and few survive to three years of age.

Parturition starts as early as late April and as late as August. Parturition dates appear linked to food availability and weather conditions. For example, unusually cold winter temperatures and a potential lack of mast crop food resources due to a drought the preceding year likely resulted in a delayed onset of reproduction and an omission of the second litter at PPNP in 2003 compared to 2001 (Bednarczuk and Stephens, 2004).


Interspecific Interactions

G. volans aggressively outcompetes the larger G. sabrinus for nesting sites (Weigl 1978; Muul 1968). G. volans also carries a strongilid nematode that is lethal to G. sabrinus. Competitive exclusion of G. sabrinus has been suggested to be at least partially mediated by this parasite (Wetzel and Weigl 1994; Weigl et al. 1999 in Lavers 2004). Previously thought to be only marginally sympatric because of behaviour, parasites and habitat selection differences (Weigl 1978), the two species are now known to have substantial range overlap throughout much of G. volans’ Canadian distribution, with the exception of southwestern Ontario (J. Bowman unpubl. data; Lavers 2004). The two species have also been found to occur in the same winter aggregations (Lavers 2004).


Diet

The diet of southern flying squirrels is varied. The main food is hardwood tree mast, particularly hickory (Carya spp.), oak (Quercus spp.) and American beech (Harlow and Doyle 1990; Sawyer and Rose 1985) although they also readily consume insects, eggs, nestlings and other foods when available (Dolan and Carter 1977; Wells-Gosling 1985; Stabb et al. 1989). Southern flying squirrels rely on stored mast crop for over winter food. Lavers (pers. comm. 2004) reports that in sympatric populations of G. volans and G. sabrinus in Nova Scotia, both species consume fungi year round. Mycophagy is well-known for northern flying squirrels (Maser et al. 1985; Maser et al. 1986) but is otherwise unknown for southern flying squirrels.


Predation

Predators of G. volans include owls, elaphid snakes, raccoon (Procyon lotor), opossum (Didelphus virginianus), weasels (Mustela spp.), mink (Mustela vison), marten (Martes americana), as well as red fox (Vulpes vulpes), domestic cat (Felis domesticus) and bobcat (Lynx rufus; see Stabb 1988). Flying squirrels may avoid predators such as owls which may watch them as they glide, by immediately running around to the back of the tree trunk following landing (Adams and Bednarczuk pers. obs.). Domestic and feral cats are common predators and may present a serious conservation challenge for southern flying squirrel. Cats likely contributed to the extirpation of G. volans from Point Pelee National Park (and other habitat fragments) in the early 1900s (Adams and Nudds 1992) and probably continue to limit isolated populations in forest fragments in rural southwestern Ontario and elsewhere. In Nova Scotia, 42% of 129 collected southern flying squirrel specimens were killed by domestic cats (Lavers 2004).


Physiology

G. volans do not hibernate during winter but become much less active, and may form aggregations to reduce the costs of thermoregulation. Most aggregations are <10 individuals and consist of primarily family units, but as many as 50 individuals have been observed in one tree cavity (see Stabb 1988). The optimal group size for southern flying squirrels may be six individuals at which point energy expenditures are reduced by 50% at 0-9°C (Stapp et al. 1991).


Dispersal/Migration

Relatively little is known about the dispersal habits of southern flying squirrels. Juveniles appear to remain together throughout the winter with their mother and other conspecifics (Lavers 2004; Giacalone-Madden 1976; Muul 1968). Prior to winter, movements are limited compared to the breeding season.

Adults are capable of covering large distances in short periods of time. Mean male and female home ranges for Arkansas G. volans were 9.0 ± 2.5 ha (n = 7) and 3.9 ± 0.6 ha (n = 7) respectively (Stone et al. 1996). Adams (unpubl. data) observed radio-collared males moving >2 km in a single night following translocation to Point Pelee National Park. In similar linear forest habitat near Hamilton, ON, an adult male moved of 2.4 km in a single night (mean movement estimates not available) (Bednarczuk and Judge 2002).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Petit polatouche (Glaucomys volans)

Biologie

Cycle vital et reproduction

Le G. volans peut atteindre la maturité sexuelle dès l’âge de six mois (Wells-Gosling, 1985), quoiqu’il soit inhabituel que des femelles produisent une portée avant l’âge de 1 an (Giacalone-Madden, 1976). Les G. volans sont polyœstriens (Banfield, 1974) et peuvent produire 2 portées en une saison (Dolan et Carter, 1977). Bien que ce phénomène soit plus fréquent dans la partie sud de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce, on a observé des femelles ayant élevé 2 portées au parc national de la Pointe-Pelée (Adams, 1995). Des études menées aux États-Unis indiquent une taille moyenne des portées de 2,75 (é.-t. = 0,59, n = 11 études, plage : 1-6; source : Stabb, 1988). Les données sur la taille des portées au Canada se limitent à la Pointe-Pelée (3,45 ± 0,66 é.-t., n = 11; Adams, 1995) et au comté de Norfolk (3,66, n = 3; Stabb, 1988).

Les données de taux de survie concernant le G. volans sont rares. Giacalone-Madden (1976) rapporte un taux annuel moyen de disparition d’environ 50 p. 100 accompagné d’une grande variance chez le petit polatouche à Long Island (État de New York). Doby (1984) a relevé une baisse considérable des recaptures d’individus âgés de plus de 3 ans dans des nids artificiels en Caroline du Nord. Au parc national de la Pointe-Pelée, l’individu capturé le plus vieux était âgé de 4 ans, et représentait moins de 1 p. 100 de la population (Bednarczuk, 2003). Deux des 42 (4,8 p. 100) polatouches capturés à cet endroit en 1997 étaient âgés de 3 ans ou plus (Adams, 1997) et 10 des 58 (17,2 p. 100) individus capturés en 2003 avaient été marqués en 2001 (Bednarczuk et Stephens, 2004).

La durée estimée d’une génération est de 1,5 an : la plupart des femelles élèvent leur première portée à l’âge de 1 an et peu d’entre elles survivent passé l’âge de 3 ans.

La parturition peut avoir lieu dès la fin du mois d’avril ou seulement au mois d’août. Les dates de parturition semblent associées à la disponibilité de nourriture et aux conditions climatiques. Par exemple, un hiver anormalement froid et une pénurie possible de graines due à une sécheresse l’année précédente se sont probablement soldés Parc national de la Pointe-Pelée (PNPP) par un retard du début de la reproduction et par l’absence d’une seconde portée dans le PNPP en 2003 par comparaison à 2001 (Bednarczuk et Stephens, 2004).


Relations interspécifiques

De par son agressivité, le G. volans surclasse le G. sabrinus, de plus grande taille, pour l’occupation des sites de nidification (Weigl, 1978; Muul, 1968). Le G. volans est également porteur d’un strongyle (nématode parasite) qui est mortel pour le G. sabrinus. On a avancé que l’exclusion du G. sabrinus par compétition serait au moins en partie due à ce parasite (Wetzel et Weigl, 1994; Weigl et al., 1999 dans Lavers, 2004). On croyait auparavant que ces deux espèces n’étaient que marginalement sympatriques en raison de leur comportement, des parasites et de différences dans le choix de l’habitat (Weigl, 1978), mais on sait aujourd’hui que les aires de répartition de ces deux espèces se chevauchent considérablement dans la plus grande partie de l’aire de répartition canadienne du G. volans, à l’exception du sud-ouest de l’Ontario (J. Bowman, données inédites; Lavers, 2004). Les deux espèces ont également été observées dans les mêmes lieux de regroupement hivernal (Lavers, 2004).


Régime alimentaire

Le petit polatouche a un régime alimentaire varié. Sa principale source d’alimentation est les noix des feuillus, en particulier le caryer (Carya spp.), le chêne (Quercus spp.) et le hêtre à grandes feuilles (Harlow et Doyle, 1990; Sawyer et Rose, 1985), bien qu’il consomme aussi régulièrement des insectes, des œufs, des oisillons et d’autres aliments, lorsque ceux-ci sont disponibles (Dolan et Carter, 1977; Wells-Gosling, 1985; Stabb et al., 1989). Le petit polatouche compte sur ses réserves de graines pour se nourrir durant l’hivernage. Lavers (comm. pers., 2004) signale que, chez les populations sympatriques de G. volans et de G. sabrinus en Nouvelle-Écosse, les deux espèces consomment des champignons toute l’année. La mycophagie est bien connue chez le grand polatouche (Maser et al., 1985; Maser et al., 1986), mais est autrement inconnue chez le petit polatouche.


Prédateurs

Les prédateurs du G. volans sont des hiboux, des couleuvres du genre Elaphe, le raton laveur (Procyon lotor), l’opossum de Virginie (Didelphus virginianus), des belettes (Mustela spp.), le vison d’Amérique (Mustela vison), la martre d’Amérique (Martes americana), le renard roux (Vulpes vulpes), le chat domestique (Felis domesticus) et le lynx (Lynx rufus; voir Stabb, 1988). Les polatouches peuvent éviter les prédateurs, comme les hiboux qui pourraient les apercevoir au moment où ils planent, en courant de l’autre côté du tronc d’arbre immédiatement après s’être posés dessus (Adams et Bednarczuk, obs. pers.). Les chats domestiques et féraux sont des prédateurs communs et pourraient représenter un obstacle de taille à la conservation du petit polatouche. Les chats ont probablement contribué à la disparition du G. volans dans le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée (et d’autres fragments d’habitat) au début du XXsiècle (Adams et Nudds, 1992) et continuent probablement de confiner certaines populations isolées dans des fragments forestiers du sud-ouest rural de l’Ontario et ailleurs. En Nouvelle-Écosse, 42 p. 100 des 129 spécimens de petits polatouches recueillis avaient été tués par des chats domestiques (Lavers, 2004).


Physiologie

Le G. volans n’hiberne pas, mais il devient beaucoup moins actif en hiver et peut former des regroupements pour réduire le coût de la thermorégulation. La plupart des regroupements comptent moins de 10 individus et il s’agit principalement de cellules familiales, mais on a observé jusqu’à 50 individus dans une cavité d’arbre (voir Stabb, 1988). La taille optimale d’un groupe de petits polatouches pourrait être de 6 individus; les dépenses énergétiques dans un tel groupe sont réduites de 50 p. 100 entre 0 et 9 °C (Stapp et al., 1991).


Déplacements et dispersion

Les habitudes de dispersion du petit polatouche sont relativement méconnues. Les juvéniles semblent demeurer en groupe durant tout l’hiver avec leur mère et d’autres congénères (Lavers, 2004; Giacalone-Madden, 1976; Muul, 1968). Avant l’hiver, les déplacements sont limités par comparaison à la saison de reproduction.

Les adultes sont capables de couvrir de grandes distances en peu de temps. Le domaine vital moyen des mâles et des femelles en Arkansas a été estimé à 9,0 ± 2,5 ha (n = 7) et 3,9 ± 0,6 ha (n = 7), respectivement (Stone et al., 1996). Adams (données inédites) a observé des mâles munis d’un collier radioémetteur se déplaçant de plus de 2 km en une seule nuit à la suite de la translocation dans le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée. Dans un habitat forestier linéaire analogue près de Hamilton (Ontario), un mâle adulte s’est déplacé de 2,4 km en une seule nuit (absence d’estimations moyennes des déplacements) (Bednarczuk et Judge, 2002).