Skip booklet index and go to page content

Southern Flying Squirrel (Glaucomys Volans)

Population Sizes and Trends: Great Lakes Population

Search Effort

Very little systematic trapping for southern flying squirrels has occurred in the Great Lakes Plains Population. Population data are available for Point Pelee National Park (Bednarczuk and Stephens 2004; Bednarczuk 2003; Adams 1997) and Algonquin Provincial Park (G. Holloway unpubl. data). From 2002 through 2004, J. Bowman, P.J. Wilson, G.L. Holloway and J.R. Malcolm (unpubl. data.) completed 42 971 trap nights at 26 different sites throughout south and central Ontario (see Table 5) capturing 500 southern flying squirrel individuals 748 times. Their annual catch per unit effort was 1.36 captures per 100 trap nights in 2002 (8 542 trap nights), 3.57 captures per 100 trap nights in 2003 (16 597 trap nights), and 0.22 captures per 100 trap nights in 2004 (17 832 trap nights). Catch per unit effort data derived from other locations in Ontario are reported in Table 6.

Table 5: Site Locations of Southern Flying Squirrel Trapping Effort in Ontario, 2002–2004
Site200220032004New
Record
G. volans
detected
Trap NightsG. volans
detected
Trap NightsG. volans
detected
Trap Nights
Clear Creek Forest  yes1 500yes120 
Krug Forest (FON Tract)  no128  No
Sites in Grey County  no<50   
Sites in Bruce County  no130   
Ganaraska Forest  no266yes400Yes
Henderson Line Woodlot (Peterborough)    yes75Yes
Keene Road Woodlot (Peterborough)    no75No
Mark S. Burnham Provincial Park    no75No
Oliver Property (Trent Research Station, Pigeon Lake)yes68yes87yes84 
Kawartha Highlands Signature Siteyes183yes120yes60Yes
Leslie M. Frost Centreyes154yes440yes400Yes
Crown land adjacent to Killbear Provincial Park  yes30  Yes
Haliburton Forest & Wildlife Reserve    yes2 685yes
Crown land adjacent to Killbear Provincial Park  yes30  yes
Algonquin Provincial Park - Hwy 60yes5 043yes9 499no11 295yes
Algonquin Provincial Park - Achrayyes3 094yes2 286no900yes
Algonquin Provincial Park - Kiosk  yes930no128yes
Killarney Provincial Park  yes367no180yes
Nipissing Crown Game Preserve  no140   
North of Mattawa (Olrig and Antoine Townships)  yes315no400yes
Emerald Lake (Afton Township)  yes345  yes
Highway 11 corridor between Temagami North and Latchford    no420 

Source for all data: J. Bowman, P.J. Wilson, G.L. Holloway and J.R. Malcolm (unpubl. data.), except Clear Creek Forest: Pasma and Dobbyn (2003).

 

Table 6: Live-trapping Data from Various Southern Flying Squirrel Field Projects in Ontario, 1993 to 2003 (* denotes catch per unit effort corrected for closed but empty traps or non-target species)
LocationYearn
(indiv)
Catch per
Unit Effort
Source
Point Pelee National Park200115544%*Bednarczuk 2003
20036822%*Bednarzcuk and Stephens 2004
Clear Creek Forest2003386.0%*Pasma and Dobbyn 2003
Norfolk Township1993/941140.84%Adams 1995
200039645.8%Bednarczuk 2003
Hamilton1999 – 2001200+20-50%Bednarczuk and Judge 2002
Minden20012121.6%Bednarczuk 2003
Trent University Research Station2001255%L. Bridges pers. comm. 2004
200246%P. Wilson pers. comm. 2004
OMNR provincial study (Table 5)20028 542 TN*1.36%Bowman et al. unpubl. data
200316 597 TN*3.57%
200417 832 TN*0.22%

* denotes number of Trap Nights


Abundance

There is no abundance estimate for the Great Lakes Plains Population. Multiplying even a conservative density estimate by the area of Extent of Occurrence would provide a vast over-estimate of population size because the Area of Occupancy (unknown) is a small fraction of the Extent of Occurrence.

Estimates of population size for southern flying squirrels are constrained by low capture rates and unequal capture of individuals. G. volans also exhibits wide annual variation, rendering any point-in-time estimate unreliable. Published densities vary widely (Table 7). Raised trap height can increase trapping success (Risch and Brady 1996), but catch per unit effort is usually quite low (Table 6).

The total number of individuals of all ages in the Great Lakes Plains population may number in the several thousands to tens of thousands, the majority of which are mature individuals capable of reproducing. Roughly half of the marked population at Point Pelee National Park was composed of mature individuals in 2001, and 75% of captured individuals in 2003 were mature (Bednarczuk and Stephens, 2004). During trapping in Hamilton in 2001, 2.5 times more adults than juveniles were captured (Bednarczuk and Judge 2002).

 

Table 7: Southern Flying Squirrel Density Estimates
LocationDensity (per ha)Forest typeSource
Point Pelee National Park, Ontario1.7 – 2.3 (2001)
hackberry, maple, oakBednarczuk and Stephens, 2004
0.3 – 0.4 (2003)
Algonquin Prov. Park, Ontario2.9 (2003)beech – mapleG. Holloway unpubl. data
2.6 (2003)sugar maple
0.6 (2003)mixed maple - conifer
no captures in 2004 
Nova Scotia0.9 – 8.4*mixedwoodLavers 2004
Michigan2.82oak – hickoryJordan 1948
5 Baker 1983 (in Stabb 1988)
Maryland6.2hardwood - coniferGilmore and Gates 1985
Virginia34.0 – 38.0hardwood – pineSawyer and Rose 1985
3.7 – 13.8oak – hickory - beechSonenshine et al. 1979
Arkansas0.2 – 0.9pine – hardwoodTaulman 1999
Alabama1.8 – 3.5pine – oakHatten 1992

* Lavers (pers comm 2004) advised caution when using these population data as they are based on few captures.


Fluctuations and Trends

There are few data on population fluctuations for the Great Lakes Plains population, due to a lack of long-term monitoring studies and no historical data. However, results from northern and central Ontario and Point Pelee National Park suggest that southern flying squirrels undergo wide population fluctuations throughout the Great Lakes range.

Given widespread habitat loss throughout southern Ontario (see Habitat Trends: Great Lakes), a decline from historical levels has probably occurred. Observed range extensions in central Ontario appear subject to fluctuation and may not offset declines in the southern part of G. volans’ Great Lakes Plains population range.


Rescue Effect

There is limited possible rescue effect for the Great Lakes Plains population. Immigration to Ontario is restricted by the Great Lakes and their associated rivers. Flying squirrels are poor swimmers because the patagium restricts leg movement. They therefore can cross water bodies no wider than “one glide”; maximum 50 m.

The only land border between the United States and Canada is in southwestern Québec. There is little known about southern flying squirrel distribution in this area of Québec or adjacent states New York, Vermont and New Hampshire.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Petit polatouche (Glaucomys volans)

Taille et tendances des populations : plaines des grands lacs

Relevés

La population des plaines des Grands Lacs a fait l’objet de très peu d’activités de piégeage systématiques. On dispose de données démographiques pour le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée (Bednarczuk et Stephens, 2004; Bednarczuk, 2003; Adams, 1997) et le parc provincial Algonquin (G. Holloway, données inédites). Entre 2002 et 2004, J. Bowman, P.J. Wilson, G.L. Holloway et J.R. Malcolm (données inédites) ont réalisé 42 971 nuits-pièges en 26 endroits dispersés dans le sud et le centre de l’Ontario (voir tableau 5), qui ont permis de capturer 500 petits polatouches distincts en 748 captures. Leur taux annuel de prise a été de 1,36 capture par 100 nuits-pièges en 2002 (8 542 nuits-pièges), 3,57 captures par 100 nuits-pièges en 2003 (16 597 nuits-pièges) et 0,22 capture par 100 nuits-pièges en 2004 (17 832 nuits-pièges). Les données sur les taux de capture dans d’autres endroits en Ontario figurent au tableau 6.

Tableau 5 : Lieux des activités de piégeage du petit polatouche en Ontario, de 2002 à 2004
Lieux200220032004Nouvelle
mention
G. volans
détectés
Nuits-
pièges
G. volans
détectés
Nuits-
pièges
G. volans
détectés
Nuits-
pièges
Forêt Clear Creek  oui1 500oui120 
Forêt Krug (section FON)  non128  non
Endroits du comté de Grey  non< 50   
Endroits du comté de Bruce  non130   
Forêt Ganaraska  non266oui400oui
Boisé Henderson Line (Peterborough)    oui75oui
Boisé Keene Road (Peterborough)    non75non
Parc provincial Mark S. Burnham    non75non
Propriété d’Oliver (station de recherche de Trent, lac Pigeon)oui68oui87oui84 
Région caractéristique des Hautes-Terres de Kawarthaoui183oui120oui60oui
Centre Leslie M. Frostoui154oui440oui400oui
Terres de la Couronne adjacentes au parc provincial Killbear  oui30  oui
Réserve forestière et faunique Haliburton    oui2 685oui
Terre de la Couronne adjacente au parc provincial Killbear  oui30  oui
Parc provincial Algonquin – route 60oui5 043oui9 499non11 295oui
Parc provincial Algonquin – Achrayoui3 094oui2 286non900oui
Parc provincial Algonquin – kiosque  oui930non128oui
Parc provincial Killarney  oui367non180oui
Réserve de gibier de la Couronne Nipissing  non140   
Nord de Mattawa (cantons d’Olrig et d’Antoine)  oui315non400oui
Lac Emerald (canton d’Afton)  oui345  oui
Corridor de la route 11 entre Temagami North et Latchford    non420 

Source des données : J. Bowman, P.J. Wilson, G.L. Holloway et J.R. Malcolm (données inédites), sauf pour la forêt Clear Creek : Pasma et Dobbyn (2003).

 

Tableau 6 : Données de piégeage d’animaux vivants tirées de divers projets de terrain sur le petit polatouche en Ontario, entre 1993 et 2003
(L’astérisque indique que le taux de piégeage a été corrigé pour tenir compte des pièges fermés, mais vides, ou du piégeage d’espèces non ciblées)
LieuxAnnéen
(indiv.)
Taux de
piégeage
Source
Parc national de la Pointe-Pelée200115544 %*Bednarczuk, 2003
20036822 %*Bednarczuk et Stephens, 2004
Forêt Clear Creek2003386,0 %*Pasma et Dobbyn, 2003
Canton de Norfolk1993-19941140,84 %Adams, 1995
200039645,8 %Bednarczuk, 2003
Hamilton1999-2001200+20-50 %Bednarczuk et Judge, 2002
Minden20012121,6 %Bednarczuk, 2003
Station de recherche de la Trent University2001255 %L. Bridges, comm. pers., 2004
200246 %P. Wilson, comm. pers., 2004
Étude provinciale du MRNO (tableau 5)20028 542 NP*1,36 %Bowman et al., données inédites
200316 597 NP*3,57 %
200417 832 NP*0,22 %

* Indique le nombre de nuits-pièges.


Abondance

Il n’existe aucune estimation de l’abondance de la population des plaines des Grands Lacs. La taille de la population serait largement surestimée si l’on multipliait une estimation même prudente de la densité par la superficie de la zone d’occurrence, car la zone d’occupation (inconnue) constitue une petite fraction de la zone d’occurrence.

L’estimation de la taille des populations de petits polatouches est limitée par de faibles taux de capture et par une capture non uniforme des individus. En outre, les populations de G. volans varient beaucoup d’une année à l’autre; toute estimation ponctuelle doit donc être interprétée avec prudence. Les densités publiées varient grandement (tableau 7). Le succès du piégeage peut être amélioré en augmentant la hauteur des pièges (Risch et Brady, 1996), mais le taux de capture est généralement assez faible (tableau 6).

Le nombre total d’individus, tous âges confondus, de la population des plaines des Grands Lacs pourrait se chiffrer entre plusieurs milliers et des dizaines de milliers, avec une majorité constituée d’individus capables de se reproduire. Environ la moitié de la population marquée au parc national de la Pointe-Pelée était composée d’individus matures en 2001, et 75 p. 100 des individus capturés en 2003 étaient matures (Bednarczuk et Stephens, 2004). Lors d’un piégeage effectué à Hamilton en 2001, on a capturé 2,5 fois plus d’adultes que de juvéniles (Bednarczuk et Judge, 2002).

 

Tableau 7 : Estimations des densités de petits polatouches
LieuxDensité (par ha)Type de forêtSource
Parc provincial de la Pointe-Pelée, Ontario1,7 – 2,3 (2001)
Micocoulier, érable, chêneBednarczuk et Stephens, 2004
0,3 – 0,4 (2003)
Parc provincial Algonquin, Ontario2,9 (2003)Hêtre – érableG. Holloway, données inédites
2,6 (2003)Érable à sucre
0,6 (2003)Mixte : érable – conifères
aucune capture en 2004 
Nouvelle-Écosse0,9 – 8,4*Forêt mixteLavers, 2004
Michigan2,82Chêne – caryerJordan, 1948
5 Baker, 1983 (dans Stabb, 1988)
Maryland6,2Feuillus – conifèresGilmore et Gates, 1985
Virginie34,0 – 38,0Feuillus – pinSawyer et Rose, 1985
3,7 – 13,8Chêne – caryer – hêtreSonenshine et al., 1979
Arkansas0,2 – 0,9Pin – feuillusTaulman, 1999
Alabama1,8 – 3,5Pin – chêneHatten, 1992

* Lavers (comm. pers., 2004) avertit que ces données démographiques ne sont fondées que sur un petit nombre de captures.


Fluctuations et tendances

Il existe peu de données sur les fluctuations de la population des plaines des Grands Lacs en raison du manque d’études de surveillance à long terme et de l’absence de données historiques. Cependant, les données pour le nord et le centre de l’Ontario et pour le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée laissent croire que les petits polatouches connaissent de grandes fluctuations démographiques dans l’ensemble de leur aire de répartition dans les Grands Lacs.

Compte tenu de la perte généralisée d’habitat dans le sud de l’Ontario (voir Tendances en matière d’habitat : plaines des Grands Lacs), un déclin par rapport à l’abondance historique a probablement eu lieu. Les expansions de l’aire de répartition observées dans le centre de l’Ontario semblent sujettes à des fluctuations et pourraient être insuffisantes pour compenser les déclins dans la partie sud de l’aire de répartition de la population des plaines des Grands Lacs.


Effet d’une immigration de source externe

Les possibilités d’une immigration de source externe pour la population des plaines des Grands Lacs sont limitées. Les Grands Lacs et les cours d’eau qui y sont associés font obstacle à l’immigration vers l’Ontario. Les polatouches sont de mauvais nageurs car leur patagium limite les mouvements des pattes. Ils ne peuvent donc traverser de plans d’eau dont la largeur excède la distance qu’ils sont capables de parcourir en une envolée, soit 50 m.

La seule frontière terrestre entre les États-Unis et le Canada pour cette population se trouve dans le sud-ouest du Québec. La répartition du petit polatouche dans cette région du Québec, de même que dans les États adjacents (New York, Vermont et New Hampshire), est fort méconnue.