Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Swift Fox Vulpes velox in Canada – 2009


Population Sizes and Trends

Search Effort

Population censuses using live–trapping and sign surveys have been conducted every five years between 1996 and 2006 during winter months (November–February). The area surveyed was determined by the Canadian Swift Fox Recovery Team based on habitat criteria (Cotterill 1997a). The survey area was expanded in subsequent surveys to track range expansion. Surveys enabled population estimates for 1996–1997, 2000–2001, and 2005–2006, although confidence limits around these estimates are not yet available.

The study area for the 2005–2006 census extended roughly from Manyberries, AB, east to Glentworth, SK (106° 33’ W − 110° 50’ W), and from Eastend, SK, south to Dodson, MT (48° 24’ N − 49° 31’ N). In total, 191 townships, covering 12 717 km² were surveyed (Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2006). This included 4061 km² in 62 townships for the Border population, 2550 km² in 38 townships in the GNP population, and 6106 km² in 91 townships in Montana. The area surveyed was 26% larger than in 2000–2001.

Due to logistical constraints associated with winter trapping, traditional population estimation methods are not possible from census data, thus catch–and–release live–trapping was employed, based on a calibration–based census design (see Cotterill 1997a). In each township, one 5 km transect along a continuous trail was laid out near the township centre. Traps were placed along fences or on hilltops at approximately 1 km intervals on the transect (Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2006). Home range data were used to estimate the area sampled per trap, as well as trappability, data necessary for estimating abundance. A correction factor was used to account for trapping success and trappability of animals for which a home range estimate was available (correction factor = [foxes available for capture] / [captured foxes from known home ranges = 3.5]. A fox was considered available for capture when more than 50% of its home range fell within one home range radius of a trap). The correction factor was applied to all population calculations (Cotterill 1997a).

Each transect received 18 trap nights (i.e., six traps on three nights), amounting to a total effort of 3438 trap nights (Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2006). This was a 28% increase over the 2000–2001 census and a tripling of effort from 1996–1997. Incidental sightings of Swift Foxes were also recorded; however, unlike in the previous census, spotlighting and snow–tracking were not used.

Top of Page

Abundance

Based on live–trapping data from 2005–2006, there are an estimated 513 Swift Foxes in the Border population and 134 in GNP (Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2006). The neighbouring northern Montana population had an estimated 515 foxes. The census data have not yet undergone bootstrap analyses, and thus, confidence intervals are not available. Thus population estimates from 2000–2001 and 2005–2006 are overly precise and can only be considered as the best fit to the available data. In total, the Canadian population is estimated to be 647. Because surveys were conducted just before the onset of the breeding season and both males and females reach sexual maturity in one year, this count refers to number of mature individuals.

Top of Page

Fluctuations and Trends

Based on the 1991–1992 survey, the Canadian population was estimated to be 225 individuals (range: 150–300; Brechtel et al. 1993). This increased to 289 in 1996–1997 (95% confidence interval: 179–412; Cotterill 1997b). By 2000–2001 the population had more than doubled to 656 (Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2001) and the Border and GNP populations had become contiguous through northern Montana. With an estimated 221 Swift Foxes in the Montana border population, the overall Alberta–Saskatchewan–Montana population was approximately 887. The 2005–2006 census suggests the Canadian population has remained stable while the Montana population increased to 515 foxes, for a combined 2006 population estimate of 1162 Swift Foxes (Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2006).

Since 2001, the Border population has expanded from 18 to 32 townships, a 78% increase (Figure 7), although the distribution has declined in the past five years (from 38 to 32 townships). However, when the data from the 48 townships included in both surveys are used, there has been a slight increase in the proportion of townships where Swift Foxes were detected, from 58 to 60% (Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2006).

The distribution of the GNP population increased to 43% (13 of 30) of townships surveyed in 2000–2001. The 2005–2006 census showed a 43% contraction in the GNP distribution, with foxes detected in only 21% (8 of 38) of townships (Figure 7). Although the distribution in GNP in 2005–2006 was less than half from five years before, for the 30 townships included in both surveys, the decrease was only 10% (Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2006).

Although the census estimates indicate increasing populations, they are confounded by the survey design, due to the inclusion of previously unsurveyed areas. Thus, the apparent increases are likely in part due to greater trapping effort.

In 2000–2001 the density of Swift Foxes in the Border and GNP populations was 6.7 per 100 km². Including the northern Montana population, the density was estimated at 5.1 per 100 km² (Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2001). Population densities were similar in 2005–2006, with the Canadian population at 5.5 per 100 km² and with Montana included 5.4 per 100 km² (Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2006).

In the latest census it was clear that improvements to the status of Swift Fox population at large were mostly attributable to the Montana portion. Specifically, over half of Montana townships that had not had captures in 2001/2 did have captures in 2005/2006, whereas this was the case for only 19.5% of Canadian townships. Similarly, while the population estimate for Canadian animals more than doubled between the first two survey periods, they did not change thereafter. By contrast, population estimates on the Montana side of the border have steadily increased in each census (Cotterill 1997a; Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2001; 2006).

Age structure and sex ratios provide insight into survival and productivity and are indicators of reintroduction success. In Canada, the proportion of adults captured increased from 50% in 1996–1997 (n=32; Cotterill 1997b), to 60% in 2000–2001 (n=107; Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2001). Age structure based on 2005–2006 census data have not been analyzed. Sex ratios shifted from 63% males in 1996–1997 (n=32; Cotterill 1997b), to 43% in 2000–2001 (n=108; Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2001), and was close to parity in 2005–2006 (52% males; n=195; Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2006). Sex ratios were not significantly different in the Border, GNP, and northern Montana populations (Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2006).

Border Population

The Border population was established by reintroductions into the Lost River Ranch area on the Alberta–Saskatchewan border between 1983 and 1997. A 1989–1991 survey yielded a population estimate of 150–250 foxes (Brechtel et al. 1993). The population decreased to 100–135 by 1994 (Mamo 1994), but increased to 192 (95% CI: 93–346) by 1996–1997 (Cotterill 1997a). The 1999 survey showed the population had increased by 38% since 1997 (Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 1999). By 2000–2001, the population was 560 (Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2001).

In 2000–2001, Swift Fox density in the Border population was relatively high at 9.3 foxes/100 km² (Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2001). It decreased to 7.2 in 2005–2006. The most plausible explanation for the decline is dispersal by foxes into Montana, as this population increased by 77% during the period (Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2001, 2006).

The Border population had similar proportions of adults in 1996–1997 (54%; n=24; Cotterill 1997a) and 2000–2001 (59%; n=94; Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2001). The proportion of males decreased from 54% in 1996–1997 (n=24; Cotterill 1997a) to 41% in 2000–2001 (n=95; Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2001), a change that is likely due to demographic stochasticity.

GNP Population

The GNP population was established by reintroductions into the East and West Blocks of the park and the Wood Mountain area between 1990 and 1997. In 1991, the GNP population had less than 50 individuals (Brechtel et al. 1993). Two years later, the population was estimated to be 25 (range: 15–50; Hjertaas 1994). The 1996–1997 census indicated a population of 87 (Cotterill 1997a). The population increased to 96 by 2000–2001 (Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2001) and then to 134 by 2005–2006 (Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2006), an increase of 54% over 10 years.

Swift Fox densities in the GNP population were similar between 2000–2001 and 2005–2006 (2.4 and 2.7 per 100 km²; respectively; Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2001, 2006).

The ratio of adults to juveniles in GNP increased from 1996–1997 (38%; n=8; Cotterill 1997a) to 2000–2001 (69%; n=13; Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2001). The percentage of males declined from 88% in 1996–1997 (n=8; Cotterill 1997a) to near parity in 2000–2001 (54%; n=13; Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2001). Age structure and sex ratios for the 2005–2006 data have not been analysed.

Top of Page

Rescue Effect

With 100% of trapped individuals wild–born in the 2005–6 survey, it is clear that reintroduction programs in Alberta and Saskatchewan have produced self–sustaining populations. Moreover, this effort has resulted in the establishment of Swift Foxes in northern Montana, which appear to be increasing in numbers and dispersing back into Canada. Due to the connection between the Border and the GNP population through north–central Montana, the potential for a limited rescue effect therefore exists. Continued improvements in the status of Montana Swift Fox may already be contributing to the stable status of this species in Canada, where habitat degradation through energy development and associated roads is ongoing. There is little or no potential for rescue beyond the reintroduced populations directly across the US border, because the contiguous Alberta–Saskatchewan–Montana populations are disjunct from core Swift Fox range in the US.


Figure 7: Comparison of Townships with Swift Fox Captures Between 2000–2001 and 2005–2006

Map indicating locations of townships with Swift Fox captures, lack of captures, and/or sightings during the 2000–01 and 2005–06 censuses in Alberta, Saskatchewan and Montana.

From Moehrenschlager and Moehrenschlager 2006.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Renard véloce Vulpes velox au Canada – 2009


Taille et tendances des populations

Activités de recherche

Des recensements des populations au moyen du piégeage d’animaux vivants et de relevés visuels ont été réalisés tous les cinq ans, entre 1996 et 2006, au cours de l’hiver (entre novembre et février). La zone étudiée a été déterminée par l’Équipe canadienne de rétablissement du renard véloce d’après les caractéristiques de l’habitat de l’espèce (Cotterill, 1997a). La zone à l’étude a été agrandie au cours de relevés ultérieurs afin de suivre l’expansion de l’aire de répartition. Les relevés ont permis d’estimer les populations pour les années 1996–1997, 2000–2001 et 2005–2006, même si les intervalles de confiance de ces estimations ne sont pas encore disponibles.

Pour le recensement de 2005–2006, la zone à l’étude s’étendait approximativement de Manyberries (Alberta) à l’est de Glentworth (Saskatchewan) (106° 33´ O -- 110° 50´ O), et d’Eastend (Saskatchewan) à Dodson (Montana) (48° 24´ N – 49° 31´ N). Au total, 191 cantons couvrant une superficie de 12 717 km² ont été étudiés (Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2006), ce qui comprend donc 4 061 km² dans 62 cantons pour la population frontalière, 2 550 km² dans 38 cantons pour la population du PNCP et 6 106 km² dans 91 cantons pour la population du Montana. La zone à l’étude était 26 % plus grande qu’en 2000–2001.

À cause des contraintes logistiques liées au piégeage hivernal, les méthodes traditionnelles d’estimation des populations ne peuvent servir à l’analyse des données de recensement. On a donc utilisé la méthode de capture et de relâche ainsi que le piégeage d’animaux vivants pour réaliser un recensement étalonné (Cotterill, 1997a). Pour ce faire, un transect de 5 km le long d’une piste continue a été installé près du centre de chaque canton. Sur le transect, des pièges ont été placés le long de clôtures ou au sommet de collines à des intervalles d’environ 1 km (Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2006). Des données sur le domaine vital ont servi à estimer la zone échantillonnée par piège, ainsi que la probabilité de capture par piège, informations nécessaires pour estimer l’abondance des renards véloces. À l’aide d’un facteur de correction, on a tenu compte de la réussite du piégeage et de la probabilité de capture par piège des animaux pour lesquels une estimation du domaine vital était disponible (facteur de correction = [renards disponibles à la capture] / [renards capturés dont le domaine vital est connu = 3,5]. Un renard était considéré disponible à la capture lorsque plus de 50 % de son domaine vital se trouvait dans le rayon de portée d’un piège). Le facteur de correction a été appliqué à tous les calculs de population (Cotterill, 1997a).

On a appliqué 18 nuits-pièges (soit six pièges durant trois nuits) à chaque transect, ce qui totalise 3 438 nuits-pièges (Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2006). Il s’agit d’une augmentation de 28 % par rapport au recensement de 2000–2001 et du triple par rapport à 1996–1997. On a également enregistré des observations fortuites de renards véloces. Cependant, contrairement aux recensements précédents, les relevés avec éclairage artificiel et le repérage dans la neige n’ont pas été utilisés.

Haut de la page

Abondance

D’après les données sur le piégeage d’animaux vivants en 2005–2006, il y a environ 513 renards véloces dans la population frontalière et 134 dans la population du PNCP (Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2006). Il a été estimé que la population contiguë du nord du Montana totalise 515 renards. On n’a pas encore effectué les analyses « bootstrap » sur les données du recensement et, donc, les intervalles de confiance ne sont pas disponibles. Les estimations des populations pour les années 2000–2001 et 2005–2006 sont trop précises, mais sont considérées comme la meilleure correspondance aux données disponibles. Au total, on estime que la population canadienne compte 647 individus. Puisque les relevés ont été réalisés juste avant le début de la saison de reproduction et que les mâles et les femelles atteignent la maturité sexuelle durant leur première année, cette estimation correspond au nombre d’individus matures.

Haut de la page

Fluctuations et tendances

D’après le recensement de 1991–1992, la population canadienne était d’environ 225 individus (intervalle : 150–300; Brechtel et al., 1993). Ce nombre a augmenté à 289 en 1996–1997 (IC de 95 % : 179–412; Cotterill, 1997b). En 2000–2001, la population avait plus que doublé, avec 656 individus (Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2001), et la population frontalière et celle du PNCP étaient maintenant contiguës dans le nord du Montana. Avec environ 221 renards véloces dans la population frontalière du Montana, la population de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et du Montana totalisait environ 887 individus. Le recensement de 2005–2006 indique que la population canadienne est restée stable, alors que celle du Montana a atteint 515 individus, pour un total combiné d’environ 1 162 renards véloces en 2006 (Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlagerm, 2006).

Depuis 2001, la population frontalière s’est étendue, passant de 18 à 32 cantons, soit une augmentation de 78 % (voir la figure 7). Cependant, l’aire de répartition a diminué au cours des cinq dernières années (de 38 à 32 cantons). Il est à noter que, lorsque les données sur les 48 cantons compris dans les deux relevés sont utilisées, il y a une légère hausse de la proportion des cantons où les renards véloces ont été observés, soit de 58 à 60 % (Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2006).

La répartition de la population du PNCP a augmenté à 43 % des cantons (13 sur 30) inventoriés en 2000–2001. Le recensement de 2005–2006 a cependant indiqué une contraction de l’aire de répartition de 43 %; en effet, on a observé des renards dans seulement 21 % des cantons (8 sur 38; voir la figure 7). En 2005–2006, l’aire de répartition de la population du PNCP équivalait à moins de la moitié de celle mesurée cinq ans auparavant, mais, dans le cas des 30 cantons pris en compte dans les deux relevés, la diminution totalisait seulement 10 % (Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2006).

Les estimations du recensement indiquent une augmentation des populations, mais elles sont invalidées par la conception du relevé, puisque des zones n’ayant pas été visées auparavant ont été prises en compte. Ainsi, l’apparente croissance des populations serait en partie attribuable au piégeage plus important.

En 2000–2001, la densité des renards véloces de la population frontalière et de celle du PNCP était de 6,7 individus par 100 km². En tenant compte de la population du nord du Montana, la densité était estimée à 5,1 individus par 100 km² (Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2001). Les densités des populations étaient similaires en 2005–2006, c’est-à-dire 5,5 individus par 100 km² pour la population canadienne et 5,4 individus par 100 km² en ajoutant la population du Montana (Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2006).

Lors du dernier recensement, il était clair que l’amélioration de l’état des populations de renards véloces était principalement attribuable à la population du Montana. Précisément, plus de la moitié des cantons du Montana où on n’avait pas capturé de renards en 2001–2002 en avait en 2005–2006, alors que cela n’a été le cas que pour 19,5 % des cantons canadiens. De plus, les estimations des populations canadiennes ont plus que doublé entre les deux premières périodes de relevé, mais n’ont pas changé par la suite. Au contraire, les estimations de la population du Montana ont augmenté de façon régulière à chaque recensement (Cotterill, 1997a; Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2001; 2006).

L’examen de la structure par âge et des rapports entre les sexes a fourni des renseignements utiles à propos du taux de survie et du potentiel reproducteur, deux indicateurs de réussite de la réintroduction. Au Canada, la proportion d’adultes capturés a passé de 50 % en 1996–1997 (n = 32; Cotterill, 1997b) à 60 % en 2000–2001 (n = 107; Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2001). La structure par âge d’après les données du recensement de 2005–2006 n’a cependant pas été analysée. Le rapport des sexes a quant à lui passé de 63 % de mâles en 1996–1997 (n = 32; Cotterill, 1997b) à 43 % en 2000–2001 (n = 108; Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2001), et il était près de la parité en 2005–2006 (52 % de mâles; n = 195; Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2006). Ce rapport n’était pas très différent au sein de la population frontalière et des populations du PNCP et du Montana (Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2006).

Population frontalière

La population frontalière a été établie par le biais de réintroductions dans la région de Lost River Ranch, à la frontière entre l’Alberta et la Saskatchewan entre 1983 et 1997. De 1989 à 1991, un relevé a permis d’estimer la population à 150–250 renards (Brechtel et al., 1993). La population avait diminué à 100–135 individus en 1994 (Mamo, 1994), mais a augmenté à 192 individus (IC de 95 % : 93–346) en 1996–1997 (Cotterill, 1997a). Selon le recensement de 1999, la population avait augmenté de 38 % depuis 1997 (Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 1999). En 2000–2001, elle atteignait 560 individus (Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2001).

En 2000–2001, la densité des renards véloces de la population frontalière était relativement élevée, avec 9,3 individus par 100 km² (Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2001). Elle a ensuite diminué à 7,2 individus en 2005–2006. L’explication la plus plausible de ce déclin est la dispersion des renards dans le Montana, puisque cette population a augmenté de 77 % durant la même période (Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2001; 2006).

La population frontalière avait des proportions semblables d’adultes en 1996–1997 (54 %; n = 24; Cotterill, 1997a) et en 2000–2001 (59 %; n = 94; Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2001). La proportion de mâles est passée de 54 % en 1996–1997 (n = 24; Cotterill, 1997a) à 41 % en 2000–2001 (n = 95; Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2001), un changement qui est probablement attribuable à la stochasticité démographique.

Population du PNCP

La population du PNCP a été établie par le biais de réintroductions dans les parties est et ouest du parc et dans la région de Wood Mountain, entre 1990 et 1997. En 1991, la population comptait moins de 50 individus (Brechtel et al., 1993). Deux ans plus tard, elle était estimée à 25 individus (intervalle : 15–50; Hjertaas, 1994). Selon le recensement de 1996–1997, la population totalisait alors 87 renards (Cotterill, 1997a). Elle a passé de 96 individus en 2000–2001 (Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2001) à 134 en 2005–2006 (Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2006), soit une augmentation de 54 % en 10 ans.

La densité de l’espèce au sein de la population du PNCP était semblable en 2000–2001 et en 2005–2006 (2,4 et 2,7 individus par 100 km², respectivement; Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2001; 2006).

Le rapport entre les adultes et les jeunes de la population du PNCP a augmenté de 1996–1997 (38 %; n = 8; Cotterill, 1997a) à 2000–2001 (69 %; n = 13; Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2001). Le pourcentage de mâles a diminué, passant de 88 % en 1996–1997 (n = 8; Cotterill, 1997a) à la presque parité en 2000–2001 (54 %; n=13; Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2001). La structure de l’âge et le rapport entre les sexes n’ont pas été analysés pour ce qui est des données de 2005–2006.

Haut de la page

Immigration de source externe

Tous les individus capturés dans le cadre du recensement de 2005–2006 étaient nés dans la nature, ce qui montre clairement que les programmes de réintroduction en Alberta et en Saskatchewan ont permis de produire des populations autosuffisantes. De plus, ces initiatives ont favorisé l’établissement de renards véloces dans le nord du Montana, où la population semble s’accroître et se disperser pour revenir au Canada. Il y a un certain potentiel d’une immigration de source externe puisque la population frontalière et la population du PNCP se rejoignent dans le nord et le centre du Montana. Des améliorations continues du statut du renard véloce du Montana contribuent peut-être déjà à la stabilité du statut de cette espèce au Canada, où la dégradation de l’habitat est causée par le développement énergétique et la construction de routes connexes. En dehors des populations réintroduites près de la frontière des États-Unis, la possibilité d’une autre immigration de source externe est faible ou inexistante, puisque les populations contiguës de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et du Montana sont isolées de l’aire de répartition principale des renards véloces des États-Unis.


Figure 7 : Comparaison des cantons où des renards véloces ont été capturés en 2000–2001 et en 2005–2006

Carte indiquant les cantons où des renards véloces ont été capturés, ceux où aucun individu n’a été capturé et ceux où des renards véloces ont été observés au cours du recensement de 2000-2001 et de 2005-2006 en Alberta, en Saskatchewan et au Montana.

Moehrenschlager et Moehrenschlager, 2006.