Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Species at Risk Act - Legal Listing Consultation Workbook, Striped bass, St-Lawrence Estuary Population

Background information on striped bass: St. Lawrence Estuary population.

Status : extirpated

Last COSEWIC assessment :   November 2004

2.1. Description of the species

Part of the Moronidae family, the striped bass, Morone saxatilis, is a species typical of eastern North American estuaries and coastal waters. It has an elongated body, a triangular head and a mouth with a protruding lower jaw. It has two separated dorsal fins, the first of which is spiny. It has a dark olive-green to black back, paling on the sides to silvery, and a white belly. It has seven or eight easily distinguishable contrasting horizontal stripes.

2.2. Species distribution

The natural range of the striped bass extends along the Atlantic coast of North America, from the St. Lawrence River to the St. Johns River in northeast Florida. The striped bass populations that are recognized in Canada are found in the northern portion of this species distribution range. Historical data confirms that striped bass used to spawn in five eastern Canadian rivers: the St. Lawrence River (Quebec), the Miramichi River (New Brunswick), and in the St. John, Annapolis and Shubenacadie rivers (Nova Scotia). The only two rivers where they still spawn are the Miramichi and Shubenacadie rivers, and their respective populations seem to be isolated and distinct from one another. All available data (from sport and commercial fishery studies between 1944 and 1965) appear to indicate that the St. Lawrence Estuary population, which is addressed in this document, was isolated from other Atlantic groups. The Estuary’s striped bass population extended along a 300 km stretch of the River, from Lake Saint-Pierre (Sorel) to Kamouraska. There have been no reports of recaptures downstream from Kamouraska of bass tagged in the St. Lawrence. This does not rule out the possibility of contacts, but they appear to be the exception.

2.3. Biology of the striped bass

2.3.1. Spawning

Like salmon, the striped bass is an anadromous species that moves between freshwater or slightly brackish spawning habitats (spawning, incubation, initial rearing) and brackish or salt water feeding sites to complete its life cycle, and sexual maturity is reached after a few years. Females reach sexual maturity at about 5 years of age and 40 cm in length. Males on the other hand reach maturity at about 3 years and 30 cm. Adult bass usually spawn towards the end of May or beginning of June. Males reach the spawning areas first, followed by the females who are usually fewer in numbers. Spawning can last 3 to 4 weeks when the number of spawners is high and begins when water temperatures rise above 10 °C. The fecundity of females between the ages of 4 and 11 ranges from 53,000 to 1,464,000 eggs, making it a prolific fish species. Spawning occurs near the surface, at twilight. Striped bass can spawn several times during their lives, with sometimes a year of rest between successive contributions. In some rivers, active spawners of 14 years of age have been observed. The striped bass spawning ground in the St. Lawrence Estuary has never been located, but various sources suggest that it is in Lake Saint-Pierre or downstream from it, in the adjacent section of the upper estuary.

2.3.2. Incubation and rearing

The fertilized eggs remain suspended in water during the entire incubation period (2-3 days). A week after hatching, and after exhausting their own reserves (egg yolk), larvae move up the water column to find their food. After 35 to 50 days, young-of-the-year (of around 20 mm) take their typical bass adult form. The growth of one-year-olds depends on the quantity of food ingested (invertebrates first then fish gradually). Contrary to the rather static larvae, juveniles can travel several tens of kilometres to satisfy their feeding needs. Younger bass then move towards brackish and saltwater to feed and grow.

2.3.3. Movements and migration

The migration of striped bass is related to their development, feeding, spawning and overwintering. Spawning of St. Lawrence striped bass occur in or around LakeSaint-Pierrefrom mid-May to mid-June. Afterwards, downstream migration of young-of-the-year occur over several weeks, from mid-July (near Neuville, around the Orléans Island and in the Montmagny archipelago) to early September (Rivière-Ouelle and Saint-Jean-Port-Joli). They are found along the banks of the St. Lawrence River and around several estuarine islands between the Madame and Aux Oies islands.

In the fall, spawners that lived in saltwater return to the river to winter, as far as Lake Saint-Pierre. The young (3 years and younger) winter in the estuary, downstream from Quebec City, in the river’s freshwater plumes. After the spring spawning period, spawners travel to the estuary where they feed and gather strength throughout the summer. Striped bass travel in schools made up of individuals from the same age class (cohort).

2.3.4. Diet

The larvae diet changes as it grows: beginning with the yolk, they then feed on immature micro-crustaceans, followed gradually by adult micro-crustaceans. Young-of-the-year feed mostly on small invertebrates. When they reach two years of age, young bass begin eating fish. St. Lawrence bass of two years and older appear to feed on Atlantic tomcod, rainbow smelt, American shad, alewife, herring and flounder.

2.3.5. Population size

Population distribution and seasonal movements in the St. Lawrence Estuary was described in detail towards the end of the 19th century. However, biological data on this species was systematically collected by scientists between 1944 and 1962 only.

The St. Lawrence bass population appears to have declined significantly since the mid-1950s. Even though the St. Lawrence striped bass were being heavily exploited, there was no population size assessment. Only indirect abundance indices exist, such as recording the number of commercial and sport fishery catches. Beginning in 1957, landings, which had always fluctuated between 5 and 50 tons annually since 1920, dropped under 3 tons and remained there until 1965, the last year commercial catches were recorded for this species. Similarly, the sport fishery, heavy around the Orléans Island and in the Montmagny archipelago, particularly in July and August, appears to have followed the same trend: a few occasional catches were made between 1963 and 1968, but no other evidence of spawning has been observed since then.

It was briefly believed that the local population had recovered around the early 1980s, when some 100 bass were caught around the Gaspé Peninsula and in the lower estuary. However, it appears they were actually bass from the Miramichi River.

2.3.6. Habitat

Of the various habitatsused by striped bass, the most important to the maintenance of a population seems to be its spawning, incubation and rearing habitat. The incubation period depends on water temperature as eggs only survive well between 17 and 23 °C. A sufficient level of oxygen and a moderate current creating light turbulence help with survival. If the current stops, eggs drop to the bottom under their own weight, into an inhospitable environment in which they could die due to the lack of oxygen. Larvae are also dependent on water temperature and dissolved oxygen, but they also require a steady micro-crustacean supply. Immature and adult striped bass frequent sheltered bays, estuaries and coastal habitats where they feed during summer, and their movements are primarily associated withthose of their preferred prey.

Because the species requires high quality spawning and rearing habitats and abundant aquatic fauna for food, maintaining an abundance of bass indicates to a certain extent the good quality of a river and its estuary. The striped bass represents a significant component of the biodiversity of aquatic ecosystems.

2.4. Why has COSEWIC given the striped bass an extirpated species status?

Here is the reason for the striped bass status designation by COSEWIC:

COSEWIC revealed that the St. Lawrence Estuary population disappeared because of illegal fishing; the last observation took place in 1968. The report also mentioned that the alteration of spawning and rearing habitats  also contributed towards this situation.

2.5. What are the threats to the species?

Canadian studies on striped bass have shown that overfishing by commercial and recreational fishermen may have decimated some populations such as the one in the St. Lawrence River. The alteration of spawning, incubation or rearing habitats may have also compromised reproduction of the Laurentian striped bass. The fact that the Estuary population was located at the northern edge of the American distribution range may have exposed it to additional limiting factors. The concentration of fish in small areas in rivers during wintering could for example make them vulnerable to poaching and various other mortality factors. Changes in flow conditions and pollution are contributing factors in the decline of abundance.

2.5.1. Geographic and biological characteristics

Susceptibility of age groups

An abundant production of new individuals, for a given number of spawners, depends closely on favourable weather and environmental conditions that do not occur every year. However, high fecundity of bass along with their capacity to reproduce several times during their lives diminishes the effects of variable recruitment.

Because eggs and larvae have specific needs, their survival varies according to the annual conditions in their immediate environment. Once their yolk reserves are exhausted (about the eighth day) larvae begin a critical period: their survival during this stage is a guarantee of adult abundance a few years later. Juvenile and adult bass are more tolerant and handle changes better (salinity, temperature, pH, turbidity); they have the capacity to move to coastal or estuarine habitats to meet their needs.

Canadian populations migrate in fresh or brackish water, avoiding lower sea temperatures during winter. However, for young-of-the-year, fish of less than 10 cm are less likely to survive their first winter of prolonged fasting than larger fish. Their growth over the first summer is therefore another significant condition.

2.5.2. Traditional, commercial and sport fishing

Subsistence fishery

The striped bass was fished by First Nations, and later by the first European settlers. Archaeological digs on First Nations sites and colonial settlements uncovered striped bass bones near Lanoraie (Quebec) (14th century) and colonial sites in Quebec City (17th century, French regime). Until 2000, in the southern Gulf of St. Lawrence, some catches were allowed to First Nations for ceremonial and social purposes. These allocations were then suspended.

Striped bass was sought out by commercial and sport fishermen because of its delicate white flesh and its combatitiveness.

Commercial fishery, accidental catches and poaching

Some biologists believe that heavy fishing can either cause or amplify variations in the abundance of bass populations. Fisheries, according to their intensity, can limit the number of individuals that reach maturity, or for those that do, reduce the probabilities of reproducing several times. The impact the fisheries have on bass populations has long been underestimated.

In the St. Lawrence Estuary, commercial striped bass catches mostly occurred in fall. Bass catches were lucrative enough so that fishermen from certain areas invested particular time and effort on this species. Bass commercial catches in the Estuary reached a high of 53 tons in 1943. Lake Saint-Pierre appears to have long been a winter bass fishing area. When the ice melted, an increase in fishing for this species could be observed in the Lake. Landings reached a high at the end of April and in early May. Bass that were displaced by dredged material dumping activities (see section 2.5.3) became an easy catch for fishermen.

Mortality due to accidental catches was observed on the St. Lawrence, particularly around the Orléans Island: large numbers of bass fry died in fixed gear.

Finally, illegal catches could also be a significant cause of mortality that is impossible to measure. Bass confinement in wintering areas would have increased the risks of mortality due to environmental accidents or poaching. When a significant drop in abundance occurred in the mid-1950s, regulations were strengthened (1951) in order to limit the number of bass caught during summer (protection just before spawning and minimum size allowed (30 cm) increased to 40 cm in 1960) and winter (ice fishing prohibited between December 31st and May 1st). Many were those who openly defied the regulations by continuing their activities. At the Quebec City market, bass of sizes smaller than the legal limit could regularly be found on the stands. In Quebec, between 1975 and 1984, there were no regulations prohibiting striped bass commercial fishery. It was only banned in 1984.

Sport fishery

Striped bass is a highly prized species by sport fishermen. In the St. Lawrence Estuary, the best angling sites are between the Batture au Loup-Marin, in front  of L’Islet, and the Cap Tourmente. In the 1940s, 1950s and 1960s, the striped bass was subject to an intense seasonal sport fishery in several communities along the estuary (Montmagny, Rivière-Ouelle, Château-Richer, Orléans Island). This fishery was only banned starting in 1993.

2.5.3. Habitat changes and alterations

Certain characteristics help increase the number of fish in favourable areas: the tolerance of adults to variations in salinity, temperature, pH, or turbidity; species prolificacy (number of eggs per laying); feeding opportunism; and rapid growth. However, several human-induced modifications in the aquatic environment could cause an increase in mortality, particularly during the first life stages (eggs, fry). But the study of scientific data indicates that the eradication of the St. Lawrence River population is the consequence of the reduction of its distribution range, because of habitat encroachment. The areas where bass have converged rapidly became areas of heavy fishing. For twelve years, the population has remained in low abundance, until all catches were stopped in 1968.

Dredged material dumping activities

The disappearance of the St. Lawrence bass population appears to be associated to a change in habitat; the immature bass summer rearing areas, located around several islands in the St. Lawrence, would have been modified by the dumping of dredged material. As a result of these habitat changes, striped bass became concentrated at several locations along the south shore that quickly became exploited and then exhausted (see section “T raditional, commercial and sport fishing”).

Flow conditions and pollution

The effects of flow condition changes in reproductive areas can lead to a displacement of eggs from a site that is favourable to their development to another place where conditions could be fatal. However, a collection of specimens gathered by biologists until 1962 shows that young-of-the-year were produced in the St. Lawrence as long as there were spawners. This leads to consider that flow conditions may have not caused bass reproduction to cease in the St. Lawrence River.

Based on laboratory studies, contaminants such as polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs), aromatic hydrocarbons (PAH), pesticides, heavy metals and several other chemicals would reduce egg and larval survival. However, their effect on recruitment has not been clearly demonstrated in the field.

Other factors such as changes in the quality of water, dumping of waste from pulp and paper mills, from communities (wastewater), pesticides from agricultural activities, as well as changes to spawning grounds brought on by the construction of dams are all potential disruptive factors.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Loi sur les espèces en péril - Cahier de consultation au sujet de l'inscription sur la liste officielle du bar rayé, population de l'estuaire du St-Laurent

Informations de base sur le bar rayé : population de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent.

Statut : disparue du pays

Dernière évaluation du COSEPAC :novembre 2004

2.1. Description de l’espèce

De la famille des Moronidae, le bar rayé, Morone saxatilis, est un poisson typique des estuaires et des milieux côtiers de l’est de l’Amérique du Nord. Il se caractérise par un corps allongé, une tête triangulaire et une bouche à la mâchoire inférieure saillante. La première de ses deux nageoires dorsales est épineuse. Son dos est d’un vert olive foncé presque noir, son ventre est blanc, ses flancs prennent une teinte intermédiaire parfois argentée. Sur chaque côtés se distinguent aisément 7 ou 8 rayures horizontales contrastantes.

2.2. Distribution de l’espèce

L'aire de distribution naturelle du bar rayé couvre la côte est de l'Amérique du Nord, du fleuve Saint-Laurent à la rivière St. Johns, dans le nord est de la Floride. Les populations de bar rayé reconnues au Canada se trouvent à l'extrémité nord de l'aire de distribution de l'espèce. On possède des preuves historiques de la reproduction du bar rayé dans cinq rivières de l'est du Canada : le fleuve Saint-Laurent (Québec), la rivière Miramichi (Nouveau-Brunswick), et dans les rivières Saint-Jean, Annapolis et Shubénacadie (Nouvelle-Écosse). Les deux seules rivières où la reproduction a encore lieu sont la Miramichi et la Shubénacadie et leurs populations respectives semblent isolées et génétiquement distinctes l’une de l’autre. Toutes les données disponibles (de résultats d’études et des pêches sportives et commerciales de 1944 à 1965) semblent indiquer que la population de l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent, dont il sera question maintenant, était isolée des autres groupements atlantiques. Le bar rayé de l’estuaire occupait un tronçon fluvial qui s’étendait sur environ 300 km, du lac Saint-Pierre (Sorel) à Kamouraska. On n’a jamais rapporté de recapture en aval de Kamouraska de bars qui avaient été étiquetés dans le Saint-Laurent. Cela n’exclut pas toute possibilité de contacts, mais ceux-ci semblent exceptionnels.

2.3. Biologie du barrayé

2.3.1. Reproduction et fraye

Poisson anadrome comme le saumon, le bar rayé doit se déplacer entre un habitat de reproduction en eau douce ou légèrement saumâtre (fraye, incubation et développement initial) et des aires d’alimentation et de croissance en eau saumâtre ou salée afin de compléter son cycle vital. Celui-ci est échelonné sur quelques années avant l’atteinte de la maturité. Les femelles sont aptes à se reproduire vers l’âge de cinq ans, à une longueur totale de 40cm. Pour les mâles cette maturité sexuelle est atteinte vers 3 ans (30cm). Les bars matures se reproduisent généralement vers la fin de mai ou le début de juin. Les mâles atteignent les premiers les aires de fraie, en rivière suivis des femelles, généralement moins nombreuses. La fraye peut durer de trois à quatre semaines quand le nombre de géniteurs est élevé et débute lorsque la température de l’eau s’élève au-dessus de 10 °C. La fécondité des femelles de 4 à 11 ans varie de 53 000 à 1 464 000 ovules ce qui en fait un poisson prolifique. Le comportement reproducteur se déroule près de la surface, à la tombée du jour. Les géniteurs survivent à la fraie et peuvent se reproduire de nouveau, leurs contributions successives étant parfois intercalées d'une année de repos. Dans certaines rivières, on a observé des géniteurs actifs âgés de 14 ans. La frayère du bar rayé dans l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent n’a jamais été localisée, mais diverses informations laissent croire qu’elle se trouvait dans le lac Saint-Pierre ou en aval de celui-ci, dans la section adjacente de l’estuaire fluvial.

2.3.2. Développement et maturation

Les œufs fécondés sont maintenus en suspension dans l’eau pendant toute la durée de l’incubation (2-3 jours). Une semaine après l’éclosion, après avoir épuisées leurs propres réserves (vitellus), les larves se déplacent verticalement dans la colonne d'eau où elles trouvent leur nourriture. Au bout de 35 à 50 jours, les jeunes (d’environ 20mm) acquièrent la physionomie typique du bar. La croissance des jeunes de plus d’un an est tributaire de la quantité nourriture ingérée, d’abord des invertébrés puis graduellement des poissons. Contrairement aux larves plutôt statiques, les poissons juvéniles peuvent se déplacer de plusieurs dizaines de kilomètres pour satisfaire leurs besoins alimentaires. Les jeunes bars dévalent ensuite vers les eaux saumâtres puis salées, pour s’y alimenter et croître.

2.3.3. Déplacements et migration

Les migrations du bar rayé sont associées au développement, à l’alimentation, à la reproduction et à l’hivernage du poisson. La fraye des bars rayés du Saint-Laurent devait avoir lieu au lac Saint-Pierre ou à proximité, entre la mi-mai et la mi-juin. Par la suite, la dévalaison des jeunes de l'année s'étalait sur plusieurs semaines, du début de juillet (à la hauteur de Neuville, en périphérie de l’île d’Orléans et dans l’archipel de Montmagny) au début de septembre (Rivière-Ouelle et Saint-Jean-Port-Joli). Ils se retrouvaient le long des rives du Saint-Laurent et aux abords de plusieurs îles estuariennes, entre l’île Madame et l’île aux Oies.

L’automne venu, les géniteurs, résidant jusque-là en eau salée, montaient hiverner dans le fleuve se rendant jusqu’au lac Saint-Pierre. Pour leur part, les jeunes immatures (3 ans et moins) hivernaient plutôt dans l’estuaire, en aval de Québec, dans le panache des eaux douces du fleuve. Après la fraye printanière, les géniteurs dévalaient jusqu'à l'estuaire, où ils s'alimentaient et se remettaient en condition pendant tout l'été. Les bars rayés se déplacent par bancs constitués d’individus de la même classe d’âge (cohorte).

2.3.4. Régime alimentaire

L'alimentation de la larve change à mesure qu'elle croît : d’abord la réserve vitelline, ensuite les micro crustacés immatures puis, graduellement, les micro crustacés adultes. Les jeunes de l'année se nourrissent surtout de petits invertébrés. Lorsqu’ils atteignent l’âge de deux ans, les jeunes bars s’alimentent de poissons. Les bars du Saint-Laurent ayant plus de deux ans semblaient se nourrir particulièrement de poulamon atlantique, d'éperlan arc-en-ciel, d’alose savoureuse, de gaspareau de hareng atlantique et de plies.

2.3.5. Taille de la population

La distribution de la population de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent et ses déplacements saisonniers ont été méticuleusement décrits vers la fin des années 1800 mais les scientifiques n’ont recueilli des données biologiques, de façon systématique, qu’entre 1944 et 1962.

La population de bar du Saint-Laurent semble avoir décliné de façon marquée à partir du milieu des années 1950. Malgré le fait que le bar rayé du Saint-Laurent était soumis à une exploitation très forte, sa population mais n’a pas fait l’objet d’une évaluation d’effectifs Seuls des indices d’abondance indirects existent, par exemple, l’enregistrement des captures commerciales et sportives. À partir de 1957, les débarquements, qui avaient toujours fluctué entre 5 et 50 tonnes annuellement depuis 1920  sont tombés sous les 3 tonnes et y sont demeurés jusqu’en 1965, dernière année où des prises commerciales de bar rayé ont été déclarées. De son côté, la pêche sportive, intense autour de l’île d’Orléans et dans l’archipel de Montmagny, particulièrement en juillet et en août, semble avoir suivi la même tendance : quelques captures occasionnelles ont été faites entre 1963 et 1968 puis, aucun signe de reproduction n’a plus été observé.

Au début des années 1980, la capture d’une centaine de bar, autour de la péninsule gaspésienne et jusque dans l’estuaire maritime du Saint-Laurent, a laissé croire au rétablissement de la population locale. Mais il semble qu’il s’agissait plutôt d’incursions de bars originaires de la rivière Miramichi.

2.3.6. Habitat

De tous les habitats fréquentés par le bar rayé le plus important pour le maintien d’une population semble être celui dans lequel ont lieu la fraie, l'incubation et l’alevinage. La durée de l'incubation dépend de la température  et les œufs ne survivent bien qu’entre 17 et 23 °C. Un niveau suffisant d’oxygène dans l’eau et la présence d’un courant occasionnant un peu de turbulences favorisent la survie. Si le courant cesse, l’œuf est entraîné au fond par son propre poids et échoue dans un environnement qui risque de lui être inhospitalier même mortel à cause du manque d’oxygène. Les larves sont aussi dépendantes de la température et l'oxygène dissous mais il leur faut en plus un apport suffisant et essentiel de micro-crustacés. Immatures et adultes privilégient les baies abritées, les estuaires et les habitats côtiers où ils s’alimentent pendant l’été et leurs déplacements du bar semblent surtout associés à ceux de leurs proies de prédilection.

Puisque l'espèce requiert des habitats de reproduction et d'alevinage en bonne condition et demande aussi une faune aquatique abondante pour son alimentation, le maintien d'une population abondante de bar constitue jusqu'à un certain point un indicateur du bon état d'une rivière et de son estuaire. Le bar rayé constitue un élément important de la biodiversité des milieux aquatiques.

2.4. Pourquoi le COSEPAC a-t-il désigné le bar rayé comme une espèce disparue du Canada?

Voici la raison de la désignation du bar rayé par le COSEPAC :

Le rapport COSEPAC mentionne que la population de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent est disparue à cause de la pêche illégale; la dernière observation date de 1968. Ce rapport précise également que cette population peut avoir été affectée par la modification ou l’altération d’habitats de reproduction et d’alevinage notamment.

2.5. Quelles sont les menaces qui pèsent sur l’espèce?

Des études canadiennes sur le bar rayé ont permis de constater que la pêche commerciale et sportive excessives (une surpêche) pouvaient avoir décimé certaines populations dont celle du fleuve Saint-Laurent et que la reproduction du bar rayé laurentien pouvait aussi avoir été compromise par la modification ou l’altération d’habitats de fraie, d’incubation ou d’alevinage. Le fait que la population de l’estuaire ait été localisée à la limite nord de l’aire de distribution américaine pourrait avoir exposé cette population à des facteurs limitatifs supplémentaires. La concentration des poissons lors de l’hivernage en rivière dans des refuges de petite dimension, par exemple, peut rendre ces groupements vulnérables au braconnage et à diverses autres causes de mortalité. Des changements dans les conditions d’écoulement et l’infiltration de polluants dans les cours d’eau sont des facteurs qui peuvent contribuer à des baisses d’abondance.

2.5.1. Particularités biologiques et géographiques

Susceptibilité des classes d’âge

Une abondante production de nouveaux individus, pour un nombre donné de géniteurs, dépend étroitement de l’occurrence de conditions climatiques et environnementales favorables qui ne surviennent pas à chaque année. Cependant, la grande fécondité des bars et leur capacité de se reproduire à plusieurs reprises durant leur vie permettent d’atténuer l’effet d’un recrutement variable.

Comme les œufs et les larves ont des besoins spécifiques, leur survie varie en fonction des conditions annuelles rencontrées dans leur environnement ambiant. Une fois leur réserve de vitellus épuisée (vers le huitième jour de vie) les larves amorcent une période critique : leur survie à ce stade est une garantie de l’abondance d’adultes quelques années plus tard. Les bars juvéniles et les adultes sont plus tolérants et survivent mieux aux changements (salinité, température, pH, turbidité); ils ont la capacité de se déplacer dans les habitats estuariens ou côtiers pour combler leurs besoins.

Les populations canadiennes ont la particularité d'hiverner en eau douce ou saumâtre, ce comportement aurait pour fonction d’éviter les basses températures de la mer pendant l’hiver. Cependant, chez les juvéniles nés la même année, les poissons de moins de 10 cm auraient moins la capacité de survivre à leur premier jeûne hivernal que ceux de taille supérieure. La croissance réalisée au cours du premier été constitue donc une autre condition importante.

2.5.2. Attrait traditionnel, commercial et sportif

Pêche de subsistance

Le bar rayé a été pêché par les amérindiens, puis par les premiers européens à coloniser la Nouvelle-France. Des fouilles archéologiques ont mis à jour des vestiges de bars rayés dans des sites amérindiens près de Lanoraie (Québec) (14e siècle) et coloniaux de Québec (17e siècle, régime français). Jusqu’en 2000, dans le sud du golfe Saint-Laurent, certaines prises étaient attribuées aux Premières Nations à des fins sociales et cérémonielles. Par la suite, ces allocations ont été suspendues.

Apprécié pour sa chair blanche et délicate et pour sa combativité, le bar rayé présentait un attrait indéniable pour la pêche commerciale et sportive.

Pêche commerciale, prises accidentelles et braconnage

Certains biologistes sont d’avis qu’une forte exploitation peut contribuer aux variations d’abondance des populations de bars, soit en les suscitant, soit en les amplifiant. La pêche, selon son intensité, peut limiter le nombre d’individus qui parviennent à maturité ou encore, pour ceux qui l’atteignent, réduire les probabilités de participer plusieurs fois à la reproduction. L’effet de la pêche sur l’abondance du bar a longtemps été sous-estimé.

Dans l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent, les captures commerciales de bar rayé avaient lieu surtout à l'automne. Les captures de bar étaient assez rentables pour que les pêcheurs de certaines localités de la rive sud consacrent à l'espèce un effort particulier. Les prises commerciales de bar dans l'estuaire ont atteint un maximum de 53 tonnes en 1943. Le lac Saint-Pierre, semble avoir été pendant longtemps une zone de pêche hivernale au bar. Après le départ des glaces, on assistait à une recrudescence de la pêche de cette espèce dans le lac. Les prises culminaient de la fin d'avril au début de mai. Les bars rabattus lors d’activités de délestage (voir point 2.5.3.) devenaient une prise facile pour les pêcheurs.

La mortalité due aux captures accidentelles a été observée dans le Saint-Laurent, en particulier en périphérie de l’île d’Orléans: des fretins de bars périssaient en grand nombre dans des engins fixes.

Enfin, les prélèvements illégaux pourraient être aussi une cause de mortalité importante qu’il n’est toutefois pas possible d’évaluer. Le confinement des bars dans des sites d’hivernage aurait accru les risques de mortalité due à des accidents environnementaux ou à une pêche illégale. Lorsqu’une baisse marquée d’abondance est survenue, au milieu des années 1950, la réglementation a été resserrée (1951) afin de limiter les prises de bar estivales (protection à l’approche de la fraye et taille minimale autorisée (30cm) ramenée à 40cm en 1960) et hivernales (pêche blanche interdite entre le 31 décembre et le 1er mai). Mais nombreux sont les pêcheurs qui ont défié ouvertement le règlement en poursuivant leurs activités. Au marché de Québec, des bars de taille inférieure à la limite légale se retrouvaient fréquemment sur les étals. Au Québec, de 1975 à 1984, aucun règlement n’interdisait la pêche commerciale du bar rayé. Elle n’a été interdite qu’en 1984.

Pêche sportive

Le bar rayé est une espèce prisée des pêcheurs sportifs. Dans l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent, les meilleurs sites de pêche à la ligne se situaient entre la Batture au Loup-Marin, en face de L’Islet, et le Cap Tourmente. Dans les décennies de 1940, 1950 et 1960, la pêche sportive a constitué une activité saisonnière intense dans plusieurs localités riveraines de l’estuaire (Montmagny, Rivière-Ouelle, Château-Richer, l’île d’Orléans). Cette pêche n’a été interdite qu’à partir de 1993.

2.5.3. Modification et altération de l’habitat

Certaines caractéristiques facilitent l'augmentation rapide du nombre de poissons dans les milieux favorables : tolérance de l’adulte aux variations de salinité, de température, de pH ou de turbidité; prolificité de l’espèce (nombre d’œufs par ponte); opportunisme alimentaire ; et croissance rapide. Cependant, plusieurs modifications du milieu aquatique par les activités humaines peuvent faire augmenter la mortalité, particulièrement aux premiers stades (œuf, alevin). Cependant, l'analyse de données scientifiques indique que l'éradication de la population du fleuve Saint-Laurent résulterait de la réduction de son aire de distribution, en raison d'un empiétement d'habitat. Les endroits où les bars se sont concentrés sont vite devenus des lieux de pêche très fréquentés. La population est demeurée en faible abondance pendant douze années, jusqu'à ce que les captures cessent complètement en 1968.

Activités de délestage

La disparition de la population de bar du fleuve Saint-Laurent semble associée à une modification d’habitat; les aires de croissance estivale des bars immatures, situées en périphérie des plusieurs îles du Saint-Laurent, qui auraient été modifiées par le délestage de matériaux dragués. Ce changement a eu pour effet de concentrer les bars le long de la rive sud à quelques endroits qui ont rapidement été puisés et  épuisés (voir section « Attrait traditionnel, commercial et sportif »).

Écoulement et pollution

Les effets des modifications d’écoulement dans les aires de reproduction peuvent se traduire par un déplacement des œufs d’un site favorable à leur développement à un autre où les conditions pourraient leur être fatales. Cependant, une collection de spécimens recueillis par les biologistes jusqu'en 1962 montre que des juvéniles de l'année ont été produits dans le Saint-Laurent tant que des bars reproducteurs y ont été présents. Ceci porterait à croire que des questions d’écoulement ne semblent pas avoir causé l’arrêt de la reproduction du bar dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent.

Selon des études en laboratoire, les contaminants, tels que les biphényles polychlorés (BPC), les hydrocarbures aromatiques (HAPs), les pesticides, les métaux lourds et plusieurs autres produits chimiques réduiraient la survie des œufs et des larves. Mais leur effet sur le recrutement n’a pas été démontré de façon claire sur le terrain.

D’autres facteurs, tels que l’altération de la qualité de l’eau, les apports de rejets des usines de pâtes et papiers, des activités agricoles (pesticides) et des municipalités (eaux usées) ainsi qu’une modification des habitats de fraye par la construction de barrage, sont des éléments perturbateurs potentiels.