Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Pink Sand-verbena (Abronia umbellata) in Canada (Proposed)


2 Recovery

2.1 Recovery Feasibility

There are significant knowledge gaps pertaining to this species. However, recovery decisions should consider the conservation of biodiversity and the principle that a lack of full scientific certainty is not reason to postpone cost-effective measures to prevent the reduction or loss of a species that faces threats of serious or irreversible damage (as per SARA S. 38). To act in accord with the assumption that this species has been negatively impacted by human activities and that mitigation is now necessary for its continued presence in Canada may save the species. To assume and act otherwise risks the potentially preventable loss of a component of Canadian biodiversity.

In determining feasibility the following four criteria have been considered:

  • Are individuals capable of reproduction currently available to improve the population growth rate or population abundance? The population at Clo-oose Bay may still be extant as banked seeds. Even if this is not the case, seeds collected at the site in 2001 are available. As a last resort, there are healthy populations in the United States and seeds from those populations are likely viable in Canada. Once suitable seed is obtained, the plants can be raised in a controlled environment and successfully transplanted into the wild where they can reproduce and establish a population (Kaye 2003b).
  • Is sufficient suitable habitat available to support the species or could it be made available through habitat management or restoration? Habitats at the Clo-oose Bay and Pachena Bay sites are relatively intact and there are a number of other beaches between Port Renfrew and Estevan Point which appear to possess suitable habitat. The habitat at some other beaches, where invasive grasses have become established, may still be restored through recovery actions (Pickart 1997).
  • Can significant threats to the species or its habitat be avoided or mitigated through recovery actions?  There are no unavoidable threats to the species or its habitat that preclude recovery.
  • Do the necessary recovery techniques exist and are they demonstrated to be effective?  Recovery techniques have been tested in Oregon (Kaye 2003a,b) and can probably be successfully adapted to sites in Canada.

Based on the above as per the criteria from the Policy on the Feasibility of Recovery (Environment Canada et al. 2005), recovery is considered feasible.

2.2 Recovery goals, objectives and corresponding approaches

2.2.1 Recovery goals

The long-term recovery goal over the next twenty years is presented as component goals in Table 3. These goals will reduce the likelihood that this taxon will become extirpated in Canada by securing yearly seed input to multiple seedbanks where individuals may survive between periodic germination events. These goals are unlikely to lead to downlisting because there is no historical evidence that the Canadian population has ever exceeded the lower COSEWIC assessment threshold for population size (250 mature individuals). However, the recovery goal will ensure the long-term stability of this population at presumed historic low numbers.

Table 3. Recovery goals for Pink Sand-verbena over the next 20 years (2006–2025 inclusive)
COSEWIC CriteriaTermGoal NumberRecovery Goals
B1, B1aLong-term
(Twenty years)
1Conserve Pink Sand-verbena throughout its historical range of occurrence in Canada: an extant Clo-ose Bay population and at least two more populations (re)introduced by 2015 near/within the historic range.
B1aShort-term
(five years)
2Extant population at Clo-oose Bay.
D1Long-term
(Twenty years)
3Protect all existing populations and manage each to ensure it doesn't fall below a minimum viable population size.
D1Short-term (five years)4The Clo-oose Bay population is at least a minimum viable population size.

2.2.2 Recovery objectives (including population and distribution objectives)

Recovery objectives for Pink Sand-verbena over the next five years are presented in Table 4.

Table 4. Recovery objectives: 2006–2010, inclusive
ObjectiveGoal AddressedThreatsCOSEWIC Assessment Criteria
1. Grow plants from a genetically appropriate seed source and introduce to the wild at Clo-oose Bay.2, 4Demographic collapseB1a
D1
2. Mitigate threats to habitat and survival at Clo-oose Bay by removing beach logs derived from harvesting operations on the west coast.2, 4Increased log debrisB1a
D1
3. Increase public awareness of the existence and conservation value of Pink Sand-verbena, associated species at risk, and sand dune habitats.1, 2, 3, 4RecreationB1
B1a
D1
4. Secure permanent protection (legal or through stewardship) for sites of historic occurrences.1, 3Demographic collapseB1
B1a
D1
5. Engage the cooperation of all implicated landholders in habitat protection.1, 2, 3, 4Demographic collapseB1
B1a
D1
6. Identify and rank 5–10 potential recovery (translocation) sites.1, 3Demographic collapseB1
B1a
D1
7. Restore habitat to functioning condition at or near proposed sites for restored/new populations1, 3Increased log debris
Demographic collapse
Invasive species
B1
B1a
D1

2.2.3 Rationale for Goals and Objectives

There are large knowledge gaps pertaining to this species and there is not enough information to accurately characterize its population dynamics; specifically, it is not known what it takes to make a population viable over the long term (Matt Fairbarns pers. comm. 2005). As such the safest assumption is that the population was stable prior to human interference and that humans have reduced seed input (local production and/or long distance transport) into the seedbank--it appears less likely that humans would have significantly affected seed output (viability decrease and transport off site). If this assumption is correct, then immediate action may save the species in Canada. If incorrect, the environmental costs of increasing seed input to a locally unsuitable environment appears negligible. The alternative assumption is that the population was declining naturally (for reasons other than human interference) and that nothing should be done to help the species; to act in accord with this assumption risks allowing human actions to cause the potentially preventable loss of a component of Canada's biodiversity. The former assumption appears to carry less associated risk.

Following the safest assumption outlined above, Pink Sand-verbena should be the target of recovery actions to increase seed input. A further assumption that a seedbank exists is another least risky assumption to avoid the possibility of introducing foreign genetics into a locally adapted population. In accord with this assumption, only the most genetically appropriate seed source should be used for restoration--use local seeds first and if local seeds are insufficient use the next most genetically similar seed source.

Individuals in the seed bank must be considered when estimating population numbers for viability. It is possible that this species forms viable populations with most individuals in a seedbank that is replenished through periodic reproduction (Matt Fairbarns pers. comm. 2005). In this case (depending on the values of variables relating to seed input and output from the seedbank), a relatively small number of mature plants may represent a viable population when the seedbank is considered.

This recovery strategy proposes immediate action along with demographic studies to identify factors influencing the rate of recruitment, survivorship of plants and plant modules (e.g., flowers/flowering shoots/fruits), and seedbank inputs and outputs (by long-term sequestration, germination or mortality). This information should enable the development of more precise recovery goals in later stages of recovery.

2.2.4 Broad strategy to be taken to address threats

Broad strategies for the recovery of Pink Sand-verbena are presented in Table 5.

Table 5. Broad approaches to effect recovery
PriorityObj. no.Broad approachThreat addressedSpecific stepsOutcomes or deliverables
Urgent1Gene conservationDemographic collapse

Improve storage conditions for seed collected from Clo-oose Bay.

Establish an increase program to build up supplies of stored seed.

Formalize issues around the legal collection and storage of seed.

A source of locally adapted seed.
Urgent1Population augmentationDemographic collapse

Within an experimental framework, test techniques for augmentation of the Clo-oose Bay population using transplants derived from locally adapted seed.

Establish a regular transplant program at Clo-oose Bay.

Establish demographic studies at Clo-oose Bay.

Restoration of population at Clo-oose Bay.

Identification of population constraints.

Urgent3Public extension and educationRecreation

Establish an on-site interpretation program at Clo-oose Bay to deter unintentional impacts by hikers.

Temporary fencing during the hiking season should be considered in areas subject to recreation.

Improved conditions for survivorship.
Site securementDevelop outreach programs for landowner contact at potential translocation sites.An outreach package for landowners.
High1,8MonitoringAll

Monitor the Clo-oose Bay population and critical habitat annually.

Encourage public to report sightings (done through interpretation programs).

Identification of threats and determination of population trends.
High6, 8SurveyDemographic collapse

Assess suitability of beach habitats between Estevan Point and Port Renfrew (including historic locations).

Survey suitable beaches on an annual basis for five years (2006–2011).

Encourage public to report sightings (done through interpretation programs).

Identification of sites for (re)establishing populations and documentation of limitations at each.

Location of overlooked populations.

High2, 7Habitat stewardshipIncreased log debrisRemove anthropogenic logs (i.e., logging debris) from the Clo-oose Bay site.Improved habitat conditions at Clo-oose Bay.
High2, 7Habitat stewardship

Increased log debris

Recreation 

Invasive Species

Remove anthropogenic logs (i.e., logging debris) as appropriate at potential translocation sites.

When translocation is undertaken, establish an on-site interpretation program at translocation sites to deter unintentional impacts by recreational users.

Control invasive grasses as appropriate at potential translocation sites.

Monitoring to enable adaptive management should be included in the monitoring approach

Improved habitat conditions and reduced trampling impacts at potential translocation sites.
High4, 5Habitat securementDemographic collapse

Identify probable locations of extirpated populations at Pachena Bay and Ahousat and assess suitability for restoration.

If habitat appears suitable, contact landowners and discuss issues related to restoration of extirpated populations.

If appropriate, secure historic locations with protection tools.

If historic locations are unsuitable, secure alternative sites for establishing populations.

Secure sites for translocation programs.

2.2.5 Effects on other species

There are no other native plants within the foreshore environment occupied by the Clo-oose Bay population and this small area does not appear to play an important role for any vertebrate species, so the approaches proposed in Table 5 will have no significant direct impacts on existing populations of native plants or vertebrates.

Removal of anthropogenic logs will likely restore natural processes of beach geomorphology and shoreline succession. Specifically, removal of anthropogenic logs may impede or reverse the unnatural stabilization of shoreline systems. A number of species of open sandy areas which are on the BC Conservation Data Centre's blue-list occur near populations of Pink Sand-verbena. At Clo-oose Bay, populations of American Glehnia (Glehnia littoralis ssp. leiocarpa), Black knotweed (Polygonum paronychia), and Beach Morning-glory (Convolvulus soldanella) occur on backshore ridges and dunes. Yellow Sand-verbena (Abronia latifolia) is another blue-listed plant which was once abundant in the backshore at Clo-oose Bay, it has not been seen since about 1995 (Jim Hamilton pers. comm. 2005). The backshore sand dune where American Glehnia, Black knotweed, and Beach Morning-glory are most abundant (and where Yellow Sand-verbena was last observed) has become stabilized due to the development of a forest strand on logging debris along the lower backshore, which now shields the dune from ocean winds. Further dune stabilization could be stopped or reversed by removal of logging debris and the forest strand. This would benefit the blue-listed species noted above and may even lead to the recovery of Yellow Sand-verbena if it is still present in the soil seedbank.

Yellow Sand-verbena also occurs at Pachena Bay, although the population is quite small and may have declined as a result of recreational activities. Recovery actions aimed at restoring the extirpated population of Pink Sand-verbena at Pachena Bay may benefit the dwindling population of Yellow Sand-verbena.

The public extension and education approach may increase public appreciation of sand dune ecosystems along the west coast of Vancouver Island as well as of some of the rare species that occur there.

2.2.6 Evaluation

The overall approaches to recovery set out in this strategy will be evaluated through routine monitoring of the status of Pink Sand-verbena and its habitat. Target levels have been established for plants in terms of occupied range and persistence (Table 3). These targets will be used to assess progress. The Recovery Strategy will be reviewed in five years to evaluate the progress on stated objectives and to identify additional approaches and changes that may be required. The following are additional performance measures that can be used to evaluate the progress of recovery:

  • Formalization of critical habitat designations through a Recovery Action Plan,
  • Number of protective measures established for critical habitat,
  • Number of knowledge gaps successfully addressed,
  • Successful prioritization of sites for securement,
  • Number of high priority sites protected by acquisition or conservation covenants,
  • Designation of the species under the provincial Wildlife Amendment Act as a Species at Risk,
  • Number of Pink Sand-verbena education and outreach materials developed and distributed,
  • Number of sites with appropriate management plans implemented,
  • Creation of an ex situ seed storage programme,
  • Creation of a guide for re-introductions and translocations of Pink Sand-verbena,
  • Number of protocols and Best Management Practices developed and distributed,
  • Number of secured sites improved through invasive species control and other restoration activities.
  • Establishment of a seed increase programme.

2.2.7 Recommended approach for recovery

The recovery team should strive for cross-membership with the team managing recovery of this taxon in the United States and with team(s) that will be set up to manage the recovery of other rare species of sandy coastlines on Vancouver Island (e.g., the Sand-verbena Moth Copablepharon fuscum and Contorted-pod Evening-primrose Camissonia contorta). Despite the obvious benefits of cross-membership with recovery team(s) for other rare species of sandy coastlines, a single species approach is best suited to the recovery of Pink Sand-verbena. This will simplify development and implementation of recovery plans but will not cause conflicts between recovery actions because Pink Sand-verbena does not co-occur with the other two species named above.

A proposed Recovery Action Plan for Pink Sand-verbena will be posted on the Public Registry by July 2008.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'abronie rose (Abronia umbellata) au Canada (Proposition)


2 Rétablissement

2.1 Faisabilité du rétablissement

Il existe des lacunes considérables dans les connaissances sur cette espèce. Cependant, les décisions prises dans le cadre du rétablissement doivent tenir compte de la conservation de la biodiversité et du principe selon lequel le manque de certitude scientifique ne doit pas être prétexte à retarder la prise de mesures efficientes pour prévenir la disparition ou la décroissance de l'espèce, si elle est menacée d'atteinte grave ou irréversible (selon l'article 38 de la LEP). La survie de l'espèce peut exiger qu'on intervienne en tenant pour acquis que l'activité humaine a eu sur elle des effets négatifs qu'il faut maintenant atténuer pour perpétuer sa présence au Canada. En agissant autrement, on risque la perte évitable d'une composante de la biodiversité canadienne.

Pour déterminer la faisabilité du rétablissement, nous avons tenu compte des quatre critères suivants :

  • Y a-t-il actuellement des individus reproducteurs permettant d'augmenter le taux de croissance de la population ou son effectif? Il est possible que la population de la baie Clo-oose existe à l'état de réservoir de semences. Si ce n'est pas le cas, nous avons des graines qui ont été récoltées sur le site en 2001. En dernier recours, il existe des populations en santé aux États-Unis, dont les graines seraient probablement viables au Canada. Après avoir obtenu des semences qui conviennent, on pourrait faire pousser les plantes en milieu contrôlé et réussir à les transplanter dans la nature lorsqu'elles seront en mesure de se reproduire et d'établir une population (Kaye, 2003b).
  • Existe-t-il suffisamment d'habitat pouvant abriter l'espèce, ou peut-on en créer par des mesures d'aménagement ou de restauration? À la baie Clo-oose et à la baie Pachena, l'habitat est relativement intact, et il y a plusieurs autres plages entre Port Renfrew et Estevan Point qui semblent offrir un milieu propice. Les plages où se sont installées des graminés envahissantes peuvent être restaurées grâce à des mesures de rétablissement (Pickart, 1997).
  • Les menaces appréciables pesant sur l'espèce ou son habitat peuvent-elles être évitées ou atténuées grâce à des mesures de rétablissement? Aucune menace pesant sur l'espèce et son habitat n'est inévitable ou empêche le rétablissement.
  • Les techniques de rétablissement nécessaires existent-elles, et leur efficacité a-t-elle été démontrée? On a mis à l'essai des techniques de rétablissement en Oregon (Kaye, 2003a,b), et on pourrait réussir à les adapter aux stations canadiennes.

Aux termes de la Politique sur le caractère réalisable du rétablissement (Environnement Canada et al., 2005), le rétablissement peut donc être considéré comme réalisable.

2.2 But, objectifs et approches correspondantes du rétablissement

2.2.1 But du rétablissement

Le but du rétablissement à long terme (pour les vingt prochaines années) est réparti en plusieurs volets dans le tableau 3. Ce but vise à réduire la probabilité de voir le taxon disparaître du pays, en assurant un approvisionnement annuel du réservoir de semences permettant aux individus de survivre entre les épisodes de germination. Il est peu probable que l'atteinte de ce but aboutisse à l'inscription de l'espèce dans une catégorie de moindre risque, parce qu'il n'existe aucune preuve historique que la population canadienne ait jamais dépassé le seuil d'effectif le plus bas utilisé par le COSEPAC pour la détermination du statut (250 individus matures). Cependant, l'atteinte du but du rétablissement assurera la stabilité à long terme de l'effectif à son niveau historique, dont on peut présumer qu'il a toujours été faible.

Tableau 3. But du rétablissement de l'abronie rose pour les 20 prochaines années (2006 à 2025)
Critères du COSEPACTermeVoletBut du rétablissement
B1, B1aLong terme
(vingt ans)
1Conserver l'abronie rose dans toute son aire de répartition historique canadienne : une population existante à la baie Clo-oose et au moins deux autres populations, à introduire ou réintroduire d'ici 2015 dans l'aire de répartition historique ou à proximité.
B1aCourt terme
(cinq ans)
2Protéger la population existante à la baie Clo-oose.
D1Long terme
(vingt ans)
3Protéger toutes les populations existantes et les gérer de façon que leur effectif ne tombe pas à un niveau inférieur à celui d'une population viable.
D1Court terme
(cinq ans)
4S'assurer que la population de la baie Clo-oose ait au moins l'effectif d'une population minimale viable.

2.2.2 Objectifs de rétablissement (effectif et répartition)

Le tableau 4 présente les objectifs de rétablissement de l'abronie rose pour les cinq prochaines années.

Tableau 4. Objectifs de rétablissement pour 2006 à 2010
ObjectifBut (volets visés)MenacesCritères d'évaluation du COSEPAC
1. Faire pousser des plantes à partir d'une source de semences génétiquement appropriée et les introduire dans la nature à la baie Clo-oose.2, 4Effondrement démographiqueB1a
D1
2. Atténuer les menaces pesant sur l'habitat et la survie à la baie Clo-oose en enlevant les billes qui se sont échouées sur les plages en provenance des exploitations forestières de la côte ouest.2, 4Augmentation de l'accumulation de billesB1a
D1
3. Sensibiliser le public à l'existence et à la valeur de conservation de l'abronie rose, des espèces en péril associées et des dunes constituant leur habitat.1, 2, 3, 4Activités récréativesB1
B1a
D1
4. Assurer la protection permanente (juridique ou par intendance) de l'habitat des populations historiques.1, 3Effondrement démographiqueB1
B1a
D1
5. Faire participer à la protection de l'habitat tous les propriétaires fonciers concernés.1, 2, 3, 4Effondrement démographiqueB1
B1a
D1
6. Repérer et classer 5 à 10 milieux de rétablissement potentiels (translocation).1, 3Effondrement démographiqueB1
B1a
D1
7. Restaurer les conditions de fonctionnement de l'habitat à l'intérieur ou à proximité des milieux proposés pour des populations restaurées ou nouvelles.1, 3Augmentation de l'accumulation de billes
Effondrement démographique Espèces envahissantes
B1
B1a
D1

2.2.3 Justification du but et des objectifs

Il existe des lacunes considérables dans les connaissances sur cette espèce, et il n'y a pas suffisamment de renseignements pour établir les caractéristiques précises de la dynamique de sa population. En particulier, on ne sait pas ce dont la population a besoin pour être viable à long terme (Matt Fairbarns, comm. pers., 2005). L'hypothèse la plus sûre est celle selon laquelle la population était stable avant l'activité humaine, qui a réduit l'approvisionnement du réservoir de semences (production locale ou transport à longue distance). Il semble peu probable que l'activité humaine ait pu affecter considérablement la sortie de semences (diminution de la viabilité et transport à l'extérieur de la station). Si cette hypothèse est juste, une intervention immédiate pourrait sauver l'espèce au Canada. Si elle ne l'est pas, les coûts environnementaux de l'augmentation de la quantité de semences dans un environnement qui n'est pas propice localement semblent négligeables. L'autre hypothèse est celle selon laquelle le déclin de la population s'est fait naturellement (pour des raisons autres que l'intervention humaine) et qu'on ne devrait rien faire pour venir en aide à l'espèce. En agissant selon cette hypothèse, on risque de laisser les activités humaines causer la perte d'une composante de la biodiversité canadienne, laquelle perte aurait pu être évitée. La première hypothèse semble donc comporter le moins de risques.

Selon l'hypothèse la plus sûre mentionnée ci-dessus, l'abronie rose devrait être la cible d'interventions de rétablissement visant à augmenter l'approvisionnement en semences. Une hypothèse supplémentaire, selon laquelle il existe un réservoir de semences, permet quant à elle de réduire au minimum le risque d'introduire des gènes étrangers dans une population adaptée localement. Selon cette hypothèse, on ne devrait utiliser pour la restauration que la source de semences qui convient le mieux du point de vue génétique -- c'est-à-dire utiliser d'abord les semences locales, puis, s'il n'y en a pas assez, les semences dont les gènes sont les plus semblables.

Au moment de l'estimation des effectifs dans le contexte de la viabilité, il faut tenir compte des individus qui se trouvent dans le réservoir de semences. Il se peut que l'espèce forme des populations viables dont la plupart des individus se trouvent dans un tel réservoir, réapprovisionné par reproduction périodique (Matt Fairbarns, comm. pers., 2005). Dans ce cas (selon les taux d'approvisionnement et de sortie du réservoir de semences), un nombre relativement petit de plantes matures peut constituer une population viable.

Le présent programme de rétablissement propose une intervention immédiate accompagnée d'études démographiques visant à déterminer les facteurs influant sur les taux de recrutement, les taux de survie des plantes et des éléments de plantes (fleurs, tiges florifères, fruits, etc.) ainsi que les taux d'approvisionnement et de sortie (par séquestration à long terme, germination ou mortalité) du réservoir de semences. Ces renseignements devraient permettre de préciser le but du rétablissement au cours des dernières étapes du processus.

2.2.4 Approches générales contre les menaces

Le tableau 5 présente les approches générales pour le rétablissement de l'abronie rose.

Tableau 5. Approches générales visant le rétablissement
PrioritéObj.Approche généraleMenace viséeMesures proposéesRésultats attendus ou cibles
Urgent1Conservation des gènesEffondrement démographiqueAméliorer les conditions d'entreposage des semences récoltées à la baie Clo-oose.
Établir un programme de multiplication des semences entreposées.
Régulariser les questions entourant la récolte et l'entreposage légal des semences.
Source de semences adaptées localement.
Urgent1Augmentation de la populationEffondrement démographiqueDans un cadre expérimental, mettre à l'essai des techniques visant à augmenter la population de la baie Clo-oose en repiquant des plantes dérivées de semences adaptées localement.
Établir un programme de repiquage régulier à la baie Clo-oose.
Faire des études démographiques à la baie Clo-oose.
Restauration de la population de la baie Clo-oose.
Identification des facteurs limitatifs de la population.
Urgent3Vulgarisation et sensibilisation du publicActivités récréativesÉtablir un programme d'interprétation à la station de la baie Clo-oose, afin d'éviter les effets négatifs causés involontairement par les randonneurs.
Envisager de clôturer temporairement, pendant la saison de randonnée, les aires exposées aux activités récréatives.
Meilleures conditions de survie.
Sécurisation de la stationMettre sur pied des programmes de sensibilisation pour contacter les propriétaires fonciers au sujet de sites de translocation potentiels.Trousse de sensibilisation destinée aux propriétaires fonciers.
Priorité élevée1,8SuiviToutesFaire un suivi annuel de la population et de l'habitat essentiel de la baie Clo-oose.
Inviter le public à signaler les plantes observées (grâce aux programmes d'interprétation).
Identification des menaces et détermination des tendances de la population.
Priorité élevée6, 8RelevésEffondrement démographiqueÉvaluer si les plages situées entre Estevan Point et Port Renfrew (y compris les stations historiques) conviennent comme habitat.
Faire un relevé annuel des plages qui conviennent, pendant cinq ans (de 2006 à 2011).
Inviter le public à signaler les plantes observées (grâce aux programmes d'interprétation).
Identification et délimitation de sites en vue d'établir ou de rétablir des populations.
Découverte de populations passées inaperçues.
Priorité élevée2, 7Intendance de l'habitatAugmentation de l'accumulation de billes de boisEnlever de la station de la baie Clo-oose les billes laissées par l'exploitation forestière.Meilleures conditions d'habitat à la baie Clo-oose.
Priorité élevée2, 7Intendance de l'habitat

Augmentation de l'accumulation de billes

Activités récréatives

Espèces envahissantes

Enlever les billes (laissées par l'exploitation forestière) des sites de translocation potentiels, s'il y a lieu.
Lors de la translocation, mettre en place un programme d'interprétation dans les sites afin d'éviter les effets négatifs causés involontairement par les amateurs d'activités récréatives.
Détruire les graminées envahissantes dans les sites de translocation potentiels, s'il y a lieu.
Assurer un suivi en vue d'une gestion adaptive.
Meilleures conditions d'habitat et réduction du piétinement dans les sites de translocation potentiels.
Priorité élevée4, 5Sécurisation de l'habitatEffondrement démographiqueDéterminer la position probable des populations disparues de la baie Pachena et d'Ahousat et évaluer la pertinence d'une restauration.
Si le milieu semble propice, communiquer avec les propriétaires fonciers et discuter des questions concernant la restauration des populations disparues.
S'il y a lieu, sécuriser les stations historiques à l'aide de mécanismes de protection.
Si l'habitat des stations historiques ne convient plus, sécuriser d'autres sites en vue d'y implanter des populations.
Sécuriser des sites pour les programmes de translocation.

2.2.5 Répercussions pour les espèces non visées

On ne rencontre aucune autre plante indigène dans le milieu littoral occupé par la population de la baie Clo-oose, et ce petit secteur ne semble pas jouer un rôle important pour des espèces vertébrées. Par conséquent, les approches proposées dans le tableau 5 n'affecteront pas de façon considérable ni directe les populations actuelles de plantes indigènes ou de vertébrés.

Le retrait des billes résultant des activités humaines restaurera vraisemblablement les processus naturels de la géomorphologie des plages et de la succession littorale. En particulier, le retrait de ces billes pourrait entraver ou inverser la stabilisation non naturelle des systèmes littoraux. Or, un certain nombre d'espèces des milieux sableux ouverts inscrites sur la liste bleue du Centre de données sur la conservation de la Colombie-Britannique poussent à proximité des populations d'abronie rose. À la baie Clo-oose, on rencontre des populations de gléhnie à fruits lisses (Glehnia littoralis ssp. leiocarpa), de renouée paronyque (Polygonum paronychia)et de liseron des dunes (Convolvulus soldanella), sur les dunes et les crêtes des arrière-plages. L'abronie à feuilles larges (Abronia latifolia) est une autre plante inscrite sur la liste bleue qu'on trouvait en abondance sur les arrière-plages de la baie Clo-oose, mais qu'on n'a pas vue depuis environ 1995 (Jim Hamilton, comm. pers., 2005). La dune d'arrière-plage où on trouvait le plus en abondance la gléhnie à fruits lisses, le liseron des dunes et la renouée paronyque (et où on a vu l'abronie à feuilles larges pour la dernière fois) a été stabilisée par une bande de forêt qui a poussé sur les débris d'exploitation forestière de la partie basse de l'arrière-plage et qui protège aujourd'hui la dune des vents de l'océan. On pourrait arrêter ou inverser la stabilisation des dunes en enlevant ces débris et la bande de forêt. Les espèces inscrites sur la liste bleue mentionnées ci-dessus en profiteraient, et cela pourrait mener au rétablissement de l'abronie à feuilles larges, si elle possède encore un réservoir de semences enfoui dans le sol.

On rencontre aussi l'abronie à feuilles larges à la baie Pachena, mais cette population est très petite, et son effectif a diminué par suite des activités récréatives. À la baie Pachena, les mesures de rétablissement visant la restauration de la population d'abronie rose disparue pourraient aussi profiter à la population en déclin d'abronie à feuilles larges.

Les activités de vulgarisation et de sensibilisation feront davantage apprécier du public les écosystèmes dunaires de la côte ouest de l'île de Vancouver et certaines des espèces rares qui s'y trouvent.

2.2.6 Évaluation

L'ensemble des approches de rétablissement décrites dans le présent programme seront évaluées à l'aide d'un suivi régulier de l'abronie rose et de son habitat. On a établi des niveaux cibles pour l'espèce en termes de zone d'occupation et de persistance (tableau 3). Ces cibles serviront à mesurer les progrès réalisés. On examinera le programme de rétablissement dans cinq ans afin de comparer les progrès réalisés aux objectifs fixés et de déterminer si d'autres approches et des changements sont nécessaires. Les mesures de rendement suivantes pourront aussi servir à évaluer les progrès du rétablissement :

  • Régularisation des désignations d'habitat essentiel dans le cadre d'un plan d'action de rétablissement;
  • Nombre de mesures de protection établies pour l'habitat essentiel;
  • Nombre de lacunes dans les connaissances comblées;
  • Priorisation adéquate des sites à sécuriser;
  • Nombre de sites à priorité élevée protégés par des conventions d'acquisition ou de conservation;
  • Désignation de l'espèce comme espèce en péril en vertu de la loi provinciale Wildlife Amendment Act;
  • Production et diffusion d'une certaine quantité de matériel de vulgarisation et de sensibilisation sur l'abronie rose;
  • Nombre de sites ayant des plans de gestion appropriés mis en place;
  • Création d'un programme d'entreposage de semences ex situ;
  • Création d'un guide sur la réintroduction et la translocation de l'abronie rose;
  • Nombre de protocoles et de meilleures pratiques de gestion élaborés et diffusés;
  • Nombre de sites sécurisés et améliorés grâce à une lutte contre les espèces envahissantes et à d'autres activités de restauration;
  • Établissement d'un programme de multiplication des semences.

2.2.7 Approche recommandée pour le rétablissement

L'Équipe de rétablissement doit favoriser la participation de ses membres à l'équipe qui gère le rétablissement de ce taxon aux États-Unis ainsi qu'à la ou les équipes qui seront mises en place pour le rétablissement d'autres espèces rares du littoral sablonneux de l'île de Vancouver, notamment la noctuelle de l'abronie (Copablepharon fuscum) et l'onagre à fruits tordus (Camissonia contorta). Malgré les avantages évidents d'une telle participation croisée à ces équipes, c'est une approche fondée sur une seule espèce qui convient le mieux au rétablissement de l'abronie rose, car elle facilite l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre de plans de rétablissement sans pour autant causer des conflits avec les activités de rétablissement visant les deux espèces susmentionnées, puisque l'abronie rose ne pousse pas en compagnie de celles-ci.

Le Plan d'action de rétablissement proposé de l'abronie rose sera posté sur le Registre Public par juillet 2008.