Skip booklet index and go to page content

Red-shouldered Hawk (Buteo Lineatus)

Limiting Factors and Threats

Habitat Loss and Alteration

The most serious threats facing Red-shouldered Hawks in the southern portion of their Canadian range (i.e. south of the Canadian Shield) include habitat loss, and fragmentation or degradation of favoured deciduous forest breeding areas and wetland feeding areas (Helferty et al. 2002). Loss of wetland habitats also negatively affects this species through the disappearance of preferred prey (i.e. amphibians, snakes). Campbell (1975) suggested that Red-shouldered Hawk pairs with lower access to reptile or amphibians might have lower reproductive success.

Because Red-shouldered Hawks use extensive, contiguous mature forests, logging practices have the potential to negatively impact this species. Nesting areas that have undergone heavy partial harvests have lower rates of activity than those without harvesting or light selection cuts (Bryant 1986; Naylor et al. 2004). Selective thinning of forests in Wisconsin has resulted in an increase in Great Horned Owls and a reduction in Red-shouldered Hawks (J. Jacobs in Crocoll 1994). However, potential negative effects can be mitigated through the application of guidelines (which are applied in central Ontario) that prohibit heavy cuts within 300 m of nests and retain more than 20 ha of appropriate habitat (Naylor et al. 2004).

Loss and degradation of habitat also has indirect effects on this species. For example, incursions and replacements by Red-tailed Hawks have been strongly associated with reductions in mean tree density and tree-crown diameter from selective cutting of woodlots (Bryant 1986), and other changes in woodlot size and structure (Craighead and Craighead 1956; Postupalsky 1989).  Habitat loss and fragmentation have been and will likely continue to be most severe in the most southern portions of its Canadian range.

 

Competitive Interactions

Red-shouldered Hawks may be displaced from their nesting locations by Red-tailed Hawks and Great Horned Owls (Bent 1937; Hanna 1973; Campbell 1975).

 

Disturbance

Many Red-shouldered Hawks will avoid areas of human use (Helferty et al. 2002). For example, human disturbance (from ATVs, horseback riders, joggers, turkey hunters, campers, etc.) has pushed this species into the more remote wilderness areas remaining in the Pequannock watershed of northern New Jersey (Bosakowski and Smith 1989). In some areas, however, they are considered a suburban bird (Dykstra et al. 2001).

 

Contaminants

In the past, several toxic chemicals and insecticides have been found in Red-shouldered Hawk tissues and eggs (e.g. DDE, DDT, mercury, PCBs, dieldrin, heptachlor epoxide; Hanna 1973) and have been implicated in egg shell thinning (Campbell 1975). Because of the reduction of these compounds in aquatic ecosystems, it is likely that contaminants are not a major threat to this species. There is no available information, however, to support or refute this hypothesis.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Buse à épaulettes (Buteo lineatus)

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Destruction et dégradation de l’habitat

Les menaces les plus graves auxquelles la Buse à épaulettes fait face dans le sud de son aire de répartition canadienne (c’est-à-dire au sud du Bouclier canadien) comprennent la destruction, la fragmentation et la dégradation des forêts de feuillus privilégiées pour la nidification ainsi que des milieux humides d’alimentation (Helferty et al. , 2002). En outre, la perte de milieux humides affecte négativement l’espèce par la disparition des proies de prédilection de l’espèce (amphibiens, couleuvres). Campbell (1975) a avancé que les couples de Buses à épaulettes ayant un accès limité à ces proies risquent de connaître un plus faible taux de reproduction.

Comme la Buse à épaulettes occupe de vastes étendues de forêts matures, l’exploitation forestière peut l’affecter. Les lieux de nidification ayant subi de fortes récoltes partielles connaissent des taux plus faibles d’occupation que ceux n’ayant subi aucune récolte ou seulement une légère coupe sélective (Bryant, 1986; Naylor et al. , 2004). L’éclaircie des forêts par le bas pratiquée au Wisconsin a entraîné un accroissement de la population de Grand-duc d’Amérique et une diminution du nombre de Buses à épaulettes (J. Jacobs, dans Crocoll, 1994). Cependant, les effets négatifs potentiels peuvent être atténués par l’application de lignes directrices (comme dans le centre de l’Ontario) interdisant les coupes importantes dans un rayon de 300 m des nids et imposant le maintien d’un habitat propice d’au moins 20 ha (Naylor et al. , 2004).

La destruction et la dégradation de l’habitat ont également des effets indirects sur la Buse à épaulettes. Par exemple, les incursions des Buses à queue rousse et le remplacement de la Buse à épaulettes par celles-ci ont été fortement associés à des réductions de la densité moyenne d’arbres et du diamètre moyen de la couronne des arbres attribuables à la coupe sélective (Bryant, 1986), ainsi qu’à d’autres modifications de la taille et de la structure des boisés (Craighead et Craighead, 1956; Postupalsky, 1989). La destruction et la fragmentation de l’habitat sont très marquées dans les parties les plus méridionales de l’aire de répartition canadienne de l’espèce, et il est probable qu’elles continuent de l’être.

 

Compétition

La Buse à queue rousse et le Grand-duc d’Amérique peuvent déloger la Buse à épaulettes de ses lieux de nidification (Bent, 1937; Hanna, 1973; Campbell, 1975).

 

Perturbations

De nombreuses Buses à épaulettes évitent les secteurs fréquentés par les humains (Helferty et al. , 2002). Par exemple, les perturbations humaines (VTT, équitation, jogging, chasse au dindon, camping, etc.) ont repoussé l’espèce vers les aires de nature sauvage restantes les plus éloignées dans le bassin de la Pequannock, dans le nord du New Jersey (Bosakowski et Smith, 1989). Dans certaines régions, toutefois, l’espèce est considérée comme un oiseau suburbain (Dykstra et al. , 2001).

 

Contaminants

Dans le passé, plusieurs toxiques et insecticides toxiques ont été trouvés dans les tissus et les œufs de Buses à épaulettes (p. ex. DDE, DDT, mercure, BPC, dieldrine, époxyde d’heptachlore; Hanna, 1973) et auraient entraîné l’amincissement de la coquille des œufs (Campbell, 1975). En raison de la réduction de ces composés dans les écosystèmes aquatiques, il est probable que les contaminants ne constituent pas une grave menace pour l’espèce. Il n’existe cependant aucune donnée permettant d’appuyer ou de réfuter cette hypothèse.