Skip booklet index and go to page content

Red-shouldered Hawk (Buteo Lineatus)

Distribution

Global Range

The eastern and central North American breeding population ranges west through southern Canada from southern New Brunswick, southern Quebec and southern Ontario to the eastern edge of the United States Great Plains, south to Florida, the Gulf states and eastern Mexico (Crocoll 1994; Figure 1). In western North America, a disjunct population breeds west of the Sierra Nevada from northern California to northern Baja, California. Breeding records are known from suitable habitat throughout this range. The wintering range of the Red-shouldered Hawk includes southern Wisconsin, Oklahoma, southern Ohio and southern New England south to the Gulf Coast (Figure 1). In winter, Red-shouldered Hawks are most common in southern Texas, Florida and the Mississippi Valley (National Audubon Society 2002). The lineatus subspecies breeds from eastern Oklahoma, central Arkansas, Tennessee and northern South Carolina, north to New Brunswick, southern Quebec, south-central Ontario, northern Michigan, northern Wisconsin and central Minnesota. This subspecies is typically a short-distance migrant and is occasionally found wintering within its Canadian breeding range.

The present distribution of the Red-shouldered Hawk is similar to its historic distribution in North America. In some northern regions, however, it has become locally extirpated, or has extended its range northward. In the last few decades, it has declined in southern Michigan, but extended its range to the northern part of the state (Michigan Department of Natural Resources 1980; Postupalsky 1980). A similar range expansion has occurred in Minnesota (Minnesota Department of Natural Resources 1975), and in Ontario (Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas, Red-shouldered Hawk and Spring Woodpecker Survey unpublished data).

 

Canadian Range

In Canada, the Red-shouldered Hawk occurs in Ontario, Quebec and New Brunswick, with the majority of the population in Ontario (Figure 1). In Ontario, most breeding records for Red-shouldered Hawks are from the Great Lakes Forest Region, and a few additional breeding sites have been identified in the Carolinian and Southern Boreal forests (2nd Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas unpublished data; Figure 2). Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas data show that the distribution of the Red-shouldered Hawk in Ontario has changed very little over the past 20 years (Figure 2). However, there appears to be a small increase in the number of locations in the northern extent of the species’ range.

In Quebec, the species’ breeding range is restricted to maple grove forests. It is sparsely distributed within appropriate habitat in the following regions: Montérégie, Montréal, south of the Laurentians in the Outaouais region, Bois-Francs and in the western part of the Eastern Townships (Morneau and Dionne 1997; Figure 3). The Red-shouldered Hawk is uncommon in New Brunswick, and found in scattered locations throughout the western and southern parts of the province. The Red-shouldered Hawk is reported from British Columbia, but records have not been verified (Campbell et al. 1990).


Figure 1: Distribution of the Red-shouldered Hawk, lineatus Subspecies, in North America

Figure 1. Distribution of the Red-shouldered Hawk, lineatus subspecies, in North America.

Breeding range, wintering range and year-round range are shown. Data provided by NatureServe in collaboration with Robert Ridgely, James Zook, The Nature Conservancy - Migratory Bird Program, Conservation International - CABS, World Wildlife Fund - US and Environment Canada – WILDSPACE.

One percent of the Red-Shouldered Hawk’s breeding population is in Canada based on BBS data from 1984–2003 (P. Blancher pers. comm.). Based on the range map (Figure 1), the extent of occurrence (EO) for the Red-shouldered Hawk in Canada is 200 000 km2. Within this range, approximately 40% of the area is forested, which suggests that the maximum area of occupancy (AO) is 80 000 km2. This estimate of AO should be considered a maximum because not all forested area provides suitable breeding habitat (see Habitat requirements).


Figure 2: Distribution of the Red-shouldered Hawk in Ontario According to the First (1981-1985) Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas and the First Four Years of the Second (2001-2004) Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas

Figure 2. Distribution of the Red-shouldered Hawk in Ontario according to the first (1981-1985) Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas and the first four years of the second (2001-2004) Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas.

Data from the second atlas should be considered preliminary.


Figure 3: Distribution of the Red-shouldered Hawk in Quebec, Based on Data from the Quebec Breeding Bird Atlas (1984-1989)


Figure 3.  Distribution of the Red-shouldered Hawk in Quebec, based on data from the Quebec Breeding Bird Atlas (1984-1989).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Buse à épaulettes (Buteo lineatus)

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

La population nicheuse de l’est et du centre de l’Amérique du Nord s’étend vers l’ouest par le sud du Canada depuis le sud du Nouveau-Brunswick, le sud du Québec et le sud de l’Ontario jusqu’à la bordure est des Grandes Plaines américaines, et vers le sud jusqu’en Floride, dans les États américains du golfe du Mexique et dans l’est du Mexique (Crocoll, 1994; figure 1). Dans l’ouest de l’Amérique du Nord, une population disjointe niche à l’ouest de la Sierra Nevada, du nord de la Californie au nord de la Basse-Californie. La reproduction a été signalée dans des habitats propices dans toute cette aire de répartition. L’aire d’hivernage de la Buse à épaulettes s’étend depuis le sud du Wisconsin, l’Oklahoma, le sud de l’Ohio et le sud de la Nouvelle-Angleterre jusqu’à la côte du golfe du Mexique (figure 1). En hiver, la Buse à épaulettes est très commune dans le sud du Texas, en Floride et dans la vallée du Mississippi (National Audubon Society, 2002). La sous-espèce lineatus niche depuis l’est de l’Oklahoma, le centre de l’Arkansas, le Tennessee et le nord de la Caroline du Sud jusque, vers le nord, dans le Nouveau-Brunswick, le sud du Québec, le centre-sud de l’Ontario, le nord du Michigan, le nord du Wisconsin et le centre du Minnesota. Cette sous-espèce migre généralement sur de courtes distances, et elle est parfois observée hivernant dans son aire de reproduction canadienne.

La répartition actuelle de la Buse à épaulettes ressemble à sa répartition historique en Amérique du Nord. Cependant, dans certaines régions septentrionales, elle est disparue de certains secteurs, ou a étendu son aire de répartition vers le nord. Au cours des dernières décennies, le nombre d’individus a diminué dans le sud du Michigan, mais l’espèce a élargi son aire de répartition vers le nord de l’État (Michigan Department of Natural Resources, 1980; Postupalsky, 1980). Une expansion semblable a eu lieu au Minnesota (Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, 1975) et en Ontario (atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario; données inédites du Red-shouldered Hawk and Spring Woodpecker Survey).

 

Aire de répartition canadienne

Au Canada, la Buse à épaulettes est présente dans le sud de l’Ontario, province où se trouve la majeure partie de la population du pays, au Québec et au Nouveau-Brunswick (figure 1). En Ontario, la plupart des mentions de nidification concernant la Buse à épaulettes proviennent de la région forestière des Grands Lacs, et quelques autres lieux de reproduction ont été relevés dans la forêt carolinienne et la forêt boréale méridionale (deuxième atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario, données inédites; figure 2). Selon les données de l’atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario, la répartition de la Buse à épaulettes dans cette province a très peu changé depuis les 20 dernières années (figure 2). Toutefois, il semble que le nombre de localités ait légèrement augmenté dans la partie nord de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce.

Au Québec, l’aire de reproduction de l’espèce se limite aux érablières. L’espèce est répartie de façon éparse dans les habitats propices en Montérégie, dans la région de Montréal, au sud des Laurentides en Outaouais, dans les Bois-Francs et dans l’ouest de l’Estrie (Morneau et Dionne, 1997; figure 3). La Buse à épaulettes n’est pas fréquente au Nouveau-Brunswick, et elle est répartie de façon éparse dans l’ouest et le sud de la province. La Buse à épaulettes a été signalée en Colombie-Britannique, mais ces données n’ont pas été vérifiées (Campbell et al. , 1990).

Selon les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs (Breeding Bird Survey – BBS) pour la période de 1984 à 2003, 1 p. 100 de la population nicheuse de Buses à épaulettes nidifie au Canada (P. Blancher, comm. pers.). La carte de répartition (figure 1) montre que la zone d’occurrence de la Buse à épaulettes au Canada est de 200 000 km2. Environ 40 p. 100 de cette zone est boisée, ce qui donne à penser que la zone d’occupation maximale s’établit à 80 000 km2; il s’agit bien d’un maximum, car toute la zone boisée ne fournit pas nécessairement un habitat de reproduction propice (voir sous Habitat la sous-section Besoins en matière d’habitat).


Figure 1 : Aire de répartition nord-américaine de la Buse à épaulettes de la sous-espèce lineatus

Figure 1. Aire de répartition nord-américaine de la Buse à épaulettes de la sous‑espèce lineatus.

L’aire de nidification, l’aire d’hivernage et l’aire où la sous-espèce est présente toute l’année sont représentées. Données fournies par NatureServe en collaboration avec Robert Ridgely, James Zook, The Nature Conservancy – Migratory Bird Program, Conservation International – CABS, Fonds mondial pour la nature – États-Unis et Environnement Canada – Projet WILDSPACE.


Figure 2 : Aire de répartition ontarienne de la Buse à épaulettes selon le premier atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario (de 1981 à 1985) et les quatre premières années (de 2001 à 2004) du deuxième atlas

Figure 2. Aire de répartition ontarienne de la Buse à épaulettes selon le premier atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario (de 1981 à 1985) et les quatre premières années (de 2001 à 2004) du deuxième atlas.

Les données du deuxième atlas doivent être considérées comme préliminaires.


Figure 3 : Aire de répartition de la Buse à épaulettes au Québec, d’après les données de l’Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs du Québec méridional (de 1984 à 1989)

Figure 3. Aire de répartition de la Buse à épaulettes au Québec, d’après les données de l’Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs du Québec méridional (de 1984 à 1989).