Skip booklet index and go to page content

Red-shouldered Hawk (Buteo Lineatus)

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

The Red-shouldered Hawk breeds in a variety of forest types, including bottomland hardwood, riparian areas, flooded deciduous swamps and upland mixed deciduous-coniferous forest. Nearby wetlands or other aquatic areas are essential. Red-shouldered Hawks do not readily use upland forests except in areas immediately adjacent to bottomland or riparian habitat (Bednarz and Dinsmore 1981; Howell and Chapman 1997) or ponds and wetlands (Szuba and Norman 1989). This species is area sensitive, and prefers extensive forest stands consisting of mature to old-growth canopy trees with variable amounts of understory (Crocoll 1994). Canopy closure appears to be a critical nest site characteristic (Jacobs and Jacobs 2002). Forest stands with the appropriate species composition, age and density are typically at least 10 ha within a mature forest that is at least 100 ha (Naylor and Szuba 1992). Although this species has been found in woodlots as small as four ha in Ontario (Campbell 1975), it is typically found in forests that are considerably larger (Bryant 1986; Naylor and Szuba 1992). Some pairs may persist at sites that have become unsuitable for a number of years because of high levels of mate and site fidelity (Bryant 1986). 

Red-shouldered Hawk nests in Ontario are typically found in stands with a high percentage of sugar maple (Acer saccharum), yellow birch (Betula lutea), or other hardwoods such as American beech (Fagus grandifolia), red maple (A. rubrum), and red oak (Quercus rubra). Older (at least 60 years old) stands are preferred and canopy closure must be greater than 70%. Optimal nesting habitat also has a total basal area of at least 20 m2/ha and at least 5 m2 of this contains trees greater than 40 cm dbh (Naylor and Szuba 1992). Because of the dependence of Red-shouldered Hawks on wetlands for foraging, most nests are located within 250 m of a water body. 

Large, contiguous forest tracts are necessary to sustain breeding populations of Red-shouldered Hawks. A study in Quebec found that the average home range size was 91.2 ha according to the harmonic mean and 122.9 according to the convex polygon mean (Nature-Action Quebec 1999).

 

Habitat Trends

The total amount and distribution of preferred habitat of the Red-shouldered Hawk in North America has declined drastically in the last 200 years. Originally, the hardwood forests that covered most of eastern North America, including southern Ontario, were composed of the wet beech-oak-hemlock and maple floodplain forest favoured by the Red-shouldered Hawk. As a result of the colonization of North America, the forests were gradually cut or cleared, and the quantity of forested habitat decreased. The overall quality of habitat also deteriorated as areas were drained or selectively logged. On average, townships in southern Ontario (south of the Canadian Shield) contained only 24% forest cover by the 1950s, and many townships in southwestern Ontario contained only 8% cover (Ontario Department of Lands and Forests 1957). Despite this extensive change, the Red-shouldered Hawk was still found nesting, even in areas with only 11% and 16% cover (Ontario Department of Lands and Forests 1957; Caster and Perks 1961). It is not known, however, whether these breeding attempts were successful.

During the 1950s, the loss of forest habitat began to slow because of forest regeneration on abandoned farmland. Presently, there seems to be sufficient habitat available in eastern and central Ontario to maintain the species. However, many of the counties south of the Canadian Shield have less than 25% forest cover, and most have far less than that. Historically, loss of forest to farmland in southwestern Ontario has had a large negative impact on the Red-shouldered Hawk and loss and fragmentation of habitat in this region are ongoing concerns. Open canopy and fragmentation of contiguous forest has created habitat that is more suitable to the larger and more aggressive Great Horned Owl (Bubo virginianus) and Red-tailed Hawk (the Red-shouldered Hawk’s closest competitor; Bednarz and Dinsmore 1981).

In other regions, cottage development may reduce breeding habitat for Red- shouldered Hawks (Armstrong and Euler 1983), although there have been observations of birds nesting within sight of cottages in some areas (Brian Naylor pers. comm.). Few Red-shouldered Hawks now breed southwest of Toronto (2nd Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas unpublished data). In Quebec, there appears to be sufficient habitat available; however, forest fragmentation is a concern throughout the Quebec range as forests continue to be lost to logging, conversion for agriculture and urban sprawl. There is insufficient quantitative information on the impacts of habitat loss on populations (Crocoll 1994).

 

Habitat Protection/Ownership

The Red-shouldered Hawk occurs on both private and public land; however, there is little available information on the distribution of the species according to ownership. In New Brunswick, it appears that the Red-shouldered Hawk is found on private land more often than on public land (Hart 2004), and the same appears to be true for Quebec (F. Shaffer pers. comm.). There are 29 Aboriginal Lands in Ontario and Quebec within the Red-shouldered Hawk’s breeding range, but it is not known which are occupied by the species. The Red-shouldered Hawk is known to occur in several National Parks or National Historic Sites throughout its range, including: Bruce Peninsula National Park (ON), Cap Tourmente National Wildlife Area, Gatineau Park (QC), Georgian Bay Islands National Park (ON), La Mauricie National Park (QC), Lac Saint-François National Wildlife Area (QC), National Defence shooting range in Saint-Bruno (QC), Rideau Canal (ON), St. Lawrence Islands National Park (ON), Trent Severn Waterway (ON). In Ontario, breeding has been confirmed in the following provincial parks: Algonquin, Bon Echo, Charleston Lake, Inverhuron, Peter’s Woods, Frontenac, Kawartha Highlands Signature Site, Murphy's Point, MacGregor Point, Silent Lake, Fitzroy, Smokey Head-White Bluff and Killbear. Also in Ontario, nests on Crown land receive protection during the Forest Management Planning Process using spatial and temporal buffers.  In Quebec, Red-shouldered Hawks occur in the following provincial parks: les parcs de Frontenac, duMont-Orford, du Mont Saint-Bruno, d'Oka, de Yamaska, de Mont-Tremblant.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Buse à épaulettes (Buteo lineatus)

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

La Buse à épaulettes se reproduit dans divers types de forêt, y compris les forêts de feuillus sises en terrain bas, les zones riveraines, les marécages à feuillus inondés et les forêts mixtes de conifères et de feuillus sises en terrain élevé. Il est essentiel que des milieux humides ou d’autres zones aquatiques soient situés à proximité. La Buse à épaulettes n’utilise pas d’emblée les forêts sises en terrain élevé, sauf dans les zones adjacentes à des basses terres ou à des milieux riverains (Bednarz et Dinsmore, 1981; Howell et Chapman, 1997) ou encore à des étangs ou à des milieux humides (Szuba et Norman, 1989). Cette espèce est vulnérable à la superficie d’habitat, préférant les vastes peuplements forestiers de grands arbres, matures à vieux, formant un couvert, avec un sous-étage de densité variable (Crocoll, 1994). Un couvert forestier fermé semble constituer une caractéristique essentielle des lieux de nidification (Jacobs et Jacobs, 2002). Les peuplements forestiers présentant une composition en espèces, un âge et une densité appropriés occupent habituellement au moins 10 ha au sein d’une forêt mature d’au moins 100 ha (Naylor et Szuba, 1992). Bien que l’espèce ait été observée en Ontario dans des terrains boisés d’une superficie de seulement 4 ha (Campbell, 1975), elle occupe habituellement des forêts beaucoup plus vastes (Bryant, 1986; Naylor et Szuba, 1992). Il est possible que certains couples demeurent pendant quelques années dans des lieux qui ne sont plus convenables en raison de leur degré élevé de fidélité au partenaire et au site (Bryant, 1986).

En Ontario, les nids de Buse à épaulettes sont généralement observés dans des peuplements comptant un fort pourcentage d’érables à sucre (Acer saccharum), de bouleau jaune (Betula lutea) ou d’autres feuillus tels que le hêtre à grandes feuilles (Fagus grandifolia), l’érable rouge (A. rubrum) et le chêne rouge (Quercus rubra). L’espèce préfère les vieux peuplements (d’au moins 60 ans), et la fermeture du couvert forestier doit être de plus de 70 p. 100. L’habitat de nidification optimal a aussi pour caractéristique une surface terrière totale d’au moins 20 m2/ha, dont au moins 5 m2 constitués d’arbres de plus de 40 cm dhp (Naylor et Szuba, 1992). Puisque la Buse à épaulettes a besoin de milieux humides pour s’alimenter, la plupart des nids sont situés à moins de 250 m d’un plan d’eau.

Les vastes forêts continues sont essentielles au maintien de populations nicheuses de cette espèce. Une étude menée au Québec a établi que la taille moyenne du domaine vital s’établit à 91,2 ha selon la moyenne harmonique et à 122,9 ha selon la moyenne des polygones convexes (Nature-Action Québec, 1999).

 

Tendances en matière d'habitat

La quantité totale et l’aire de répartition de l’habitat propice à la Buse à épaulettes ont fortement diminué en Amérique du Nord au cours des 200 dernières années. Les forêts de feuillus qui couvraient la majeure partie de l’est de l’Amérique du Nord, y compris le sud de l’Ontario, étaient originellement des forêts humides de plaines inondables et composées de peuplements de hêtres, chênes et pruches ainsi que d’érables, soit un habitat idéal pour la Buse à épaulettes. Avec la colonisation du continent, les forêts ont été graduellement rasées ou rendues plus clairsemées, d’où une diminution de la quantité d’habitats forestiers. La qualité globale de l’habitat s’est également détériorée au fur et à mesure que les terrains ont été drainés ou ont fait l’objet de coupe sélective. En moyenne, les cantons du sud de l’Ontario (au sud du Bouclier canadien) ne comptaient que 24 p. 100 de couvert forestier dans les années 1950, et de nombreux n’en comptaient que 8 p. 100 (Ontario Department of Lands and Forests, 1957). Malgré ce vaste changement, la Buse à épaulettes continuait de nicher dans cette région, même dans des secteurs ne comptant que 11 p. 100 et 16 p. 100 de couvert forestier (Ontario Department of Lands and Forests, 1957; Caster et Perks, 1961). On ignore cependant si ces tentatives de nidification ont été fructueuses.

Au cours des années 1950, la perte d’habitat a commencé à diminuer en raison de la régénération forestière dans les terres agricoles abandonnées. Actuellement, il semble que l’habitat convenable dans l’est et le centre de l’Ontario soit suffisant pour maintenir l’espèce. Cependant, de nombreux comtés au sud du Bouclier canadien comptent moins de 25 p. 100 de couvert forestier, et la plupart beaucoup moins. Dans le passé, la déforestation pour l’aménagement de terres agricoles dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario a eu une importante incidence négative sur la Buse à épaulettes, et la destruction et la fragmentation de l’habitat y sont encore préoccupantes. L’ouverture du couvert forestier et la fragmentation de la forêt continue ont créé un habitat mieux propice aux espèces plus grosses et plus agressives que sont le Grand-duc d’Amérique (Bubo virginianus) et la Buse à queue rousse (l’espèce compétitrice la plus importante pour la Buse à épaulettes; Bednarz et Dinsmore, 1981).

Dans d’autres régions, il est possible que l’établissement de chalets réduise l’habitat de reproduction de la Buse à épaulettes (Armstrong et Euler, 1983), bien que, dans certains secteurs, on ait observé des individus nicheurs depuis des chalets (Brian Naylor, comm. pers.). Quelques Buses à épaulettes se reproduisent actuellement au sud-ouest de Toronto (deuxième atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario, données inédites). Au Québec, il semble que l’habitat convenable soit suffisant, mais la fragmentation forestière constitue une préoccupation dans toute l’aire de répartition de l’espèce, car la forêt continue d’être exploitée et transformée pour l’agriculture et l’expansion urbaine. Les données quantitatives concernant les répercussions de la perte d’habitat sur les populations sont insuffisantes (Crocoll, 1994).

 

Protection et propriété

La Buse à épaulettes est présente sur des terres publiques et privées; cependant, il existe peu de données sur la répartition de l’espèce en rapport avec le type de propriété. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, il semble que la Buse à épaulettes occupe davantage des terres privées (Hart, 2004), et qu’il en est de même au Québec (F. Shaffer, comm. pers.). Il existe 29 terres autochtones en Ontario et au Québec dans l’aire de reproduction de la Buse à épaulettes, mais on ignore lesquelles sont occupées par l’espèce. La Buse à épaulettes est présente dans plusieurs parcs nationaux et lieux historiques nationaux dans toute son aire de répartition, dont les suivants : en Ontario, le parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce, le parc national des Îles-de-la-Baie-Georgienne, le canal Rideau, le parc national des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent et la Voie navigable Trent Severn; au Québec, la Réserve nationale de faune de Cap-Tourmente, le parc de la Gatineau, le parc national de la Mauricie, la Réserve nationale de faune du lac Saint-François et le champ de tir de la Défense nationale à Saint-Bruno, au Québec. En Ontario, la reproduction a été confirmée dans les parcs provinciaux suivants : Algonquin, Bon Echo, lac Charleston, Inverhuron, Peter’s Woods, Frontenac, région caractéristique des Hautes-Terres de Kawartha, Murphy’s Point, MacGregor Point, lac Silent, Fitzroy, Smokey Head-White Bluff et Killbear. Toujours en Ontario, les nids se trouvant dans les terres de la Couronne se trouvent protégés grâce au processus de planification de l’aménagement forestier (Forest Management Planning Process), lequel prévoit des zones tampons spatiales et temporelles. Au Québec, la Buse à épaulettes est présente dans les parcs provinciaux suivants : Frontenac, Mont-Orford, Mont-Saint-Bruno, Oka, Yamaska et Mont-Tremblant.