Skip booklet index and go to page content

Red-shouldered Hawk (Buteo Lineatus)

Population Sizes and Trends

Search Effort

Data on Red-shouldered Hawk abundance and population trends are collected through several different programs in Canada. A brief description of methodology, potential biases and utility of the program in monitoring changes in Red-shouldered Hawk populations are discussed below.  

Breeding Bird Survey

The Breeding Bird Survey is a roadside survey, conducted annually in mid-June in road-accessible locations throughout North America. Although the BBS takes place throughout the Red-shouldered Hawk’s range, it has limited value for monitoring Red-shouldered Hawks because it takes place well after the main period for this species’ conspicuous calling and display flights. For this reason, the species is generally reported in low numbers. The relative abundance of Red-shouldered Hawks on Canadian routes from 1966–2003 was only 0.03 birds/route. Trends for Red-shouldered Hawks in both Canada and for all of North America calculated from BBS data should be viewed with some caution because they have a credibility measure category that reflects data with a deficiency (Sauer et al. 2004). 

Ontario Red-shouldered Hawk and Spring Woodpecker Survey

In Ontario, Red-shouldered Hawks are surveyed through this specialized survey that uses tape playback to elicit vocal responses from Red-shouldered Hawks during the period when they are most vocal (17 April–7 May; Badzinski 2004). Mean detection rates for this survey are typically around 3.0 birds/route (Badzinski 2004). Power analyses conducted using the Red-shouldered Hawk survey data show that 31 routes need to be surveyed annually in order to detect a 20% change over 10 years (Francis 1999). From 2000–2004, the number of routes completed varied from a low of 52 routes in 2004 to a high of 64 routes in 2001, which is more than adequate to detect a 20% change over 10 years. Like all roadside surveys, this survey has some biases. Detection rate likely varies among observers, differences in the quality of the stereo used for playback may affect response rate, and forest interior habitats may be underrepresented. Despite these limitations, the use of taped calls and the earlier timing of this survey result in a higher proportion of birds being counted at each survey station. This method is, therefore, more appropriate for monitoring population trends and forms the basis for an Ontario population estimate.

Breeding Bird Atlases

Breeding bird atlases collect data on the distribution and abundance of Red-shouldered Hawks, but are only done once every 20 years. The first breeding bird atlas in Quebec ran from 1984-1989, the Maritime Atlas from 1986–1990 and the Ontario Atlas from 1981–1985. The second Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas began in 2001 and will be completed in 2005. Data from breeding bird atlases are useful in tracking changes in distribution of species over time. If point counts are included as part of atlas methodology, data can also be used to examine relative abundance and population size. It is important, however, that changes in observer effort across atlas periods be considered. 

Hawk Migration Monitoring

There are several hawk watch stations in Ontario, Quebec and the neighbouring states that monitor trends in numbers of migrant Red-shouldered Hawks in spring and fall. Observers at the stations count migrating raptors using a standardized protocol that includes a record of the number of observer hours. Appropriately analyzed, these data can be used to determine trends in numbers of birds of a given species over time (Hussell and Brown 1992). Migration data can be used to estimate minimum population size; however, without knowing the percentage of the population that is being counted, and the ultimate destination of the birds, accurate population estimates are not possible.

Bird Checklist Program

The Association Québécoise des Groupes d'Ornithologues (AQGO) operates a checklist program in Quebec - Étude des Populations d’Oiseaux du Québec (ÉPOQ), which is North America’s longest-running and largest checklist program. The Quebec checklist program is a compilation of birders’ observations from birding trips at any time of year and at any location. Checklist data can be used to investigate bird population trends (Cyr and Larivée 1995); however, trends generated from the checklist data tend to be positively biased (Dunn et al. 1996). This positive bias occurs because of improving birding skills over time or shifts by birders to more productive areas as species decline in previously-favoured spots (Dunn et al. 1996). Despite these potential biases, negative trends are considered reliable indicators of true declines. From 1969-2003, 118 484 checklists with 4 053 Red-shouldered Hawk observations were submitted for southern Quebec, and 196 516 checklists with 3 259 observations for central Quebec (F. Shaffer pers. comm.). 

Christmas Bird Count

Most Red-shouldered Hawks winter in the United States, so appropriately analyzed Christmas Bird Count data from the United States are useful in examining overall continent-wide trends and winter distribution. The Christmas Bird Count is conducted in more than 1800 locations across Canada, the United States and Latin America. Here, observers attempt to count all birds within a 24-km diameter circle on a selected day between 14 December and 5 January.

 

Abundance

Over the last 20 years, there have been a variety of population estimates for Red-shouldered Hawks in Canada. Risley (1982) originally estimated a total Canadian population of Red-shouldered Hawks at 468 pairs. Austen et al. (1994), using data from the first Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas, then estimated the Ontario population of Red-shouldered Hawks at 824 – 2372 breeding pairs. Kirk et al. (1995), using data from a variety of sources, estimated the Red-shouldered Hawk population in Canada at 2000 – 5000 pairs, which was considerably higher than previous estimates.

The most current population estimate (2004) for Red-shouldered Hawks in Ontario, derived from Red-shouldered Hawk and Spring Woodpecker Survey data (1991–2004) is 5850 breeding pairs (P. Blancher pers. comm.). Data were screened to exclude routes of questionable observer ability, and the few data from routes north of 47 or south of 43 degrees latitude were also excluded. Counts of Red-shouldered Hawks were determined for each survey station across all years surveyed, and then averaged across stations within routes, across routes within 10 x 10 km breeding bird atlas squares, and then across atlas squares within each atlas block (up to 100 km on a side) in order to avoid overweighting any part of the breeding range. Counts at stations were assumed to include all hawks within 500 m of the observer. Average counts per block were then extrapolated to the forested parts of each survey block to obtain a population estimate. The estimate is based on several assumptions: it assumes that all habitat at each survey station is suitable habitat for hawks, and not of lower quality than off-road forest habitat, it assumes that all birds within a 1 km diameter circle are detected, whether male or female (or missed birds are offset by birds drawn in from farther away), and it assumes that the number of hawks south of 43 and north of 47 degrees latitude is negligible.

There are no recent population estimates for the species in Quebec, but, data from the Breeding Bird Atlas (1984–1989) suggested a minimum of 400 pairs, and a maximum of 1000 pairs (F. Shaffer pers. comm.). Similarly, the Maritime Breeding Bird Atlas (1986–1990) suggested the New Brunswick Red-shouldered Hawk population was less than 20 pairs (Erskine 1992). However, observations of Red-shouldered Hawks over the past 15 years and results of recent surveys suggest that this underestimates the breeding population in New Brunswick (D. Sabine pers. comm.). Based on these provincial estimates, a conservative population estimate for Canada would be 6270 pairs (5850+400+20).

 

Fluctuations and Trends

BBS data show no significant changes in Red-shouldered Hawk populations in Canada from 1980–2003 or from 1994–2003 (0.65%/year, N=19, P=0.85; -2.8%/year, N=11, P=0.61, respectively) and a significant increase in the United States from 1994–2003 (2.7%/year, N=631, P<0.005; Sauer et al. 2004). In Ontario, the Red-shouldered Hawk and Spring Woodpecker Survey results suggest that the population has not changed significantly from 1991–2004 (-0.3%/year, 95% confidence interval: -1.5 to 0.9%, P=0.60; Figure 4; Badzinski 2004).


Figure 4: Estimated Annual Indices for Red-shouldered Hawks Using Data from the Ontario Red-shouldered Hawk and Spring Woodpecker Survey (1991–2004)

Figure 4. Estimated annual indices for Red-shouldered Hawks using data from the Ontario Red-shouldered Hawk and Spring Woodpecker Survey (1991-2004). 

Indices were derived from a generalized linear model assuming Poisson residuals and a log-link function. 95% confidence limits refer to differences from 2004, which was chosen as the baseline year. Year-to-year comparisons based on post hoc contrasts were significantly different as marked: + P<0.10, * P<0.05, ** P<0.01.

Data from the second Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas suggest a stable distribution in Ontario, although there have been some local changes (Figure 2). During the first Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas (1981–1985), Red-shouldered Hawks were found in 384 squares (10 km x 10 km) throughout Ontario. In the first four years of the second Breeding Bird Atlas (2001–2004), Red-shouldered Hawks have been found in 427 squares (2nd Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas unpublished data; Table 1). This apparent increase should be viewed with some caution, however, because of differences in search effort between the two atlases. The Quebec and Maritime Breeding Bird Atlases were completed in 1989 and 1990 respectively, so there are no data available on recent population changes from these sources. 

 

Table 1: Red-shouldered Hawk Breeding Evidence Collected During the First Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas (1980-1984) and the First Four Years of the Second Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas (2001–2004)
Atlas Squares (10 km x 10 km)
reporting Red-shouldered Hawks
1st Atlas2nd Atlas
Squares with confirmed breeding 6687
Squares with probable or possible breeding318340
Total squares384427

Data from hawk watch stations in Ontario suggest stable or increasing numbers of birds in both spring and fall migration counts. Although these data have been corrected for variation in observer effort, they have not been log transformed and so should be interpreted with caution. Spring migration data from the Niagara Peninsula Hawkwatch in Beamer, Ontario show an apparent increase from 1980–1990, followed by an apparent decline from 1990–2004 (Figure 5). Fall migration data from Holiday Beach Migration Observatory in southwestern Ontario (1980–2004; Chartier and Stimac 2002) and Cranberry Marsh Raptor Watch in Grimsby, Ontario (1990–2003) show no change in numbers of migrating Red-shouldered Hawks. Data from hawk migration stations in Quebec (which were appropriately analyzed), however, show a significant linear increase in both spring and fall from 1980–2004 (P<0.001; Shaffer and Dionne 2004; Figure 6). Data from these numerous hawk watch stations suggest that the population of Red-shouldered Hawks has been stable over the last 10 and 20 years with an apparent local increase in Quebec.


Figure 5: Numbers of Migrating Red-shouldered Hawks/Hour Observed at the Niagara Peninsula Hawkwatch During Spring 1980–2003

Figure 5.  Numbers of migrating Red-shouldered Hawks/hour observed at the Niagara Peninsula Hawkwatch during spring 1980-2003.


Figure 6: Numbers of Migrating Red-shouldered Hawks/Hour Observed at Ste. Anne-de-Bellevue (spring) and St. Stanislas-de-Kostka (fall) 1980–2004

Figure 6. Numbers of migrating Red-shouldered Hawks/hour observed at Ste. Anne-de-Bellevue (spring) and St. Stanislas-de-Kostka (fall) 1980-2004.

The dotted and full lines represent the trend calculated for the spring and fall season, respectively.

The ÉPOQ Checklist Program suggests that the numbers of Red-shouldered Hawks in Quebec have increased significantly from 1990–2003 (Figure 7). Although ÉPOQ trends are positively biased (Dunn et al. 1996), it is highly unlikely that there has been any important decline in Quebec.

Summary of Fluctuations and Trends

Data from a variety of sources suggest that the Red-shouldered Hawk population in Canada has been stable over the past 10 and 20 years, with some local increases. There is no evidence of population declines. Data from Ontario show a stable population over these time periods whereas data from Quebec suggest that the Red-shouldered Hawk population may have increased.


Figure 7: Trends in Numbers of Red-Shouldered Hawks Reported to the Étude des Populations d’Oiseaux du Québec (ÉPOQ) Checklist Program

Figure 7. Trends in numbers of Red-shouldered Hawks reported to the Étude des Populations d’Oiseaux du Québec (ÉPOQ) Checklist Program.

Data show a significant increase in Red-shouldered Hawks in both the northern and southern regions of the species’ range in Quebec.

 

Rescue Effect

Over the last 20 years, both BBS data (Sauer et al. 2004) and Christmas Bird Count data (National Audubon Society 2002) suggest that the Red-shouldered Hawk population in the United States is stable or increasing throughout much of its range (Sauer et al. 2004). Thus, the U.S. population of Red-shouldered Hawks appears healthy and capable of providing immigrants to Canada. Because this species is migratory, it is physiologically capable of dispersing to new areas, but there is little information available on dispersal distances and rates of natal philopatry. There is no information on whether birds hatched in the United States will emigrate to Canada.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Buse à épaulettes (Buteo lineatus)

Taille et tendances des populations

Activités de recherches

Plusieurs programmes canadiens visent à recueillir des données sur l’abondance et les tendances des populations de la Buse à épaulettes. Voici une brève description de la méthodologie, des biais potentiels et de l’utilité des programmes dans la surveillance des changements démographiques chez la Buse à épaulettes.

Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs

Le Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs (Breeding Bird Survey [BBS]) est un relevé mené annuellement à la mi-juin dans des endroits accessibles par route partout en Amérique du Nord. Bien que le BBS ait lieu dans toute l’aire de répartition de la Buse à épaulettes, sa valeur pour la surveillance de l’espèce est limitée, car il est mené bien après la principale période de vocalisation et de vols de parade; le nombre consigné d’individus y est donc généralement faible. De 1966 à 2003, l’abondance relative de la Buse à épaulettes le long des itinéraires canadiens ne s’établissait qu’à 0,03 oiseau/itinéraire. Les tendances démographiques de la Buse à épaulettes au Canada et dans toute l’Amérique du Nord calculées à partir des données du BBS doivent être interprétées avec réserve, parce qu’elles sont fondées sur des données comportant des lacunes (Sauer et al. , 2004).

Red-shouldered Hawk and Spring Woodpecker Survey de l’Ontario

En Ontario, les Buses à épaulettes sont répertoriées à l’aide de ce relevé spécialisé qui utilise des enregistrements de cris auxquels les Buses à épaulettes répondent; cet inventaire est mené au moment où l’espèce produit le plus de vocalisations (entre le 17 avril et le 7 mai; Badzinski, 2004). Les taux de détection moyens de ce relevé s’établissent habituellement à environ 3,0 oiseaux/itinéraire (Badzinski, 2004). Les analyses statistiques menées à l’aide des données du relevé de la Buse à épaulettes montrent qu’il est nécessaire d’inventorier annuellement 31 itinéraires pour détecter un changement de 20 p. 100 sur 10 ans (Francis, 1999). De 2000 à 2004, le nombre d’itinéraires ayant fait l’objet de relevés a varié d’un minimum de 52, en 2004, à un maximum de 64, en 2001, ce qui est plus que suffisant pour déceler un tel changement. À l’instar de tous les relevés menés le long de routes, le Red-shouldered Hawk and Spring Woodpecker Survey comporte certains biais : les taux de détection peuvent varier selon les observateurs; la qualité variable des lecteurs des bandes sonores risque d’affecter le taux de réponse; et il est possible que les milieux intérieurs des forêts soient sous-représentés. Malgré ces limites, l’utilisation d’enregistrements de cris et le moment de la tenue de ce relevé permettent de dénombrer une proportion plus importante d’individus à chaque site. Cette méthode est donc plus appropriée pour la surveillance des tendances démographiques et constitue le fondement des estimations démographiques en Ontario.

Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs

Dans le cadre de la préparation des atlas des oiseaux nicheurs, des données sur la répartition et l’abondance de la Buse à épaulettes sont recueillies, mais les relevés ne sont menés que tous les 20 ans. Le premier atlas du Québec a été élaboré de 1984 à 1989, celui des Maritimes de 1986 à 1990 et celui de l’Ontario de 1981 à 1985. Le deuxième atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario a été entrepris en 2001 et sera achevé en 2005. Les données de ces atlas sont utiles pour suivre l’évolution temporelle de la répartition des espèces. Si la méthodologie de l’atlas comprend des dénombrements ponctuels, il est également possible de se servir des données pour examiner l’abondance relative et la taille des populations. Il est toutefois important de tenir compte des variations de l’effort d’observation au cours des périodes que couvre l’atlas.

Surveillance de la migration des oiseaux de proie

Il existe plusieurs postes de surveillance des oiseaux de proie en Ontario, au Québec et dans les États américains voisins qui suivent les tendances dans l’abondance des Buses à épaulettes en migration au printemps et à l’automne. Les observateurs y dénombrent les rapaces à l’aide d’un protocole normalisé qui comprend un registre du nombre d’heures d’observation. Lorsqu’elles sont analysées de façon appropriée, ces données peuvent être utilisées pour établir les tendances de l’abondance d’oiseaux d’une espèce précise au fil du temps (Hussell et Brown, 1992). Les données de migration peuvent servir à estimer seulement la taille minimum des populations : comme on ignore le pourcentage de la population qui est dénombré et la destination finale des oiseaux, il est impossible d’obtenir des estimations précises des populations.

Programme de feuillets d’observation d’oiseaux

L’Association québécoise des groupes d’ornithologues (AQGO) gère un programme de feuillets d’observation d’oiseaux au Québec, l’Étude des populations d’oiseaux du Québec (ÉPOQ). Il s’agit du programme de feuillets d’observation le plus important et le plus ancien en Amérique du Nord. Le programme des feuillets d’observation du Québec est une compilation d’observations d’ornithologues amateurs effectuées au cours d’excursions menées à différents endroits et moments de l’année. Les données peuvent servir à étudier les tendances des populations (Cyr et Larivée, 1995); cependant, les tendances dégagées à partir de celles-ci tendent à être biaisées positivement (Dunn et al. , 1996) en raison de l’amélioration des compétences en observation d’oiseaux au fil du temps et des déplacements des ornithologues vers des lieux plus productifs au fur et à mesure que les espèces quittent des endroits qu’elles privilégiaient antérieurement (Dunn et al. , 1996). Toutefois, les tendances à la baisse sont considérées comme des indicateurs fiables des déclins réels. Entre 1969 et 2003, 118 484 feuillets contenant 4 053 observations de Buses à épaulettes ont été remis pour le sud du Québec, et 196 516 feuillets comprenant 3 259 observations pour le centre du Québec (F. Shaffer, comm. pers.).

Recensement des oiseaux de Noël

La plupart des Buses à épaulettes hivernent aux États-Unis; si elles sont analysées de façon appropriée, les données américaines du Recensement des oiseaux de Noël sont utiles dans l’examen des tendances continentales globales et l’étude de la répartition hivernale. Le Recensement des oiseaux de Noël est mené dans plus de 1 800 endroits au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Amérique latine. Dans le cadre de ce relevé, les observateurs tentent de dénombrer tous les oiseaux à l’intérieur d’un cercle de 24 km de diamètre au cours d’une journée choisie entre le 14 décembre et le 5 janvier.

 

Abondance

Au cours des 20 dernières années, diverses estimations des populations de Buses à épaulettes ont été menées au Canada. Risley (1982) a estimé la population canadienne totale de Buses à épaulettes à 468 couples. Austen et al. (1994), à l’aide des données du premier atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario, a par la suite estimé la population ontarienne à entre 824 et 2 372 couples nicheurs. Kirk et al. (1995), au moyen de données de sources variées, ont évalué la population canadienne de Buses à épaulettes à entre 2 000 et 5 000 couples, estimation beaucoup plus élevée que les précédentes.

L’estimation de la population de Buse à épaulettes la plus récente (2004) en Ontario, fondée sur les données du Red-shouldered and Spring Woodpecker Survey (de 1991 à 2004) s’établit à 5 850 couples nicheurs (P. Blancher, comm. pers.). Les données ont été triées, les itinéraires recensés par des observateurs aux compétences douteuses ayant été exclus, tout comme les quelques données recueillies au nord du 47parallèle et au sud du 43parallèle. Les comptes de Buses à épaulettes ont été établis pour chaque site de relevé et pour toutes les années de relevé, et on a calculé les moyennes pour les sites par itinéraire, pour les itinéraires par carré d’atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de 10 x 10 km et enfin pour les carrés d’atlas par bloc d’atlas (jusqu’à 100 km de côté) afin d’éviter que l’une ou l’autre des zones de l’aire de nidification ne se trouvent à avoir un poids trop important. Il a été présumé que les dénombrements effectués aux sites incluaient toutes les buses à l’intérieur d’un rayon de 500 m de l’observateur. Les comptes moyens par bloc ont ensuite été extrapolés aux secteurs boisés pour chaque bloc afin d’obtenir une estimation de la population. L’estimation se fonde sur plusieurs hypothèses : tous les habitats à chaque site sont propices aux buses, et leur qualité n’est pas inférieure à celle des habitats forestiers non couverts; tous les oiseaux, mâles ou femelles, se trouvant à l’intérieur d’un cercle de 1 km de diamètre sont détectés (ou les oiseaux manqués se trouvent compensés par des oiseaux observés ailleurs); et le nombre de buses présentes au nord du 47parallèle et au sud du 43parallèle est négligeable.

Les estimations des populations de Buses à épaulettes au Québec ne sont pas récentes, mais selon les données de l’atlas des oiseaux nicheurs (de 1984 à 1989), il y aurait dans la province entre 400 et 1 000 couples (F. Shaffer, comm. pers). Par ailleurs, l’atlas des oiseaux nicheurs des Maritimes (de 1986 à 1990) donnait à penser que la population néo-brunswickoise de Buses à épaulettes était inférieure à 20 couples (Erskine, 1992). Cependant, les observations de Buses à épaulettes signalées au cours des 15 dernières années et les résultats de relevés récents laissent penser que la population nicheuse du Nouveau-Brunswick serait plus élevée (D. Sabine, comm. pers.). En se fondant sur ces estimations provinciales, on peut établir une estimation réaliste de la population canadienne à 6 270 couples (5 850 + 400 + 20).

 

Fluctuations et tendances

Les données du BBS ne montrent aucun changement important chez les populations canadiennes de Buses à épaulettes de 1980 à 2003, ni de 1994 à 2003 (respectivement 0,65 p. 100/année [N = 19, P = 0,85], et - 2,8 p. 100/année [N = 11, P = 0,61]) et indiquent une hausse importante aux États-Unis de 1994 à 2003 (2,7 p. 100/année [N = 631, P < 0,005]; Sauer et al. , 2004). En Ontario, les résultats du Red-shouldered and Spring Woodpecker Survey donnent à penser que la population n’a pas changé de façon importante entre 1991 et 2004 (- 0,3 p. 100/année [intervalle de confiance à 95 p. 100 : - 1,5 à 0,9 p. 100, P = 0,60]; figure 4; Badzinski, 2004).


Figure 4 : Indices annuels de la population de Buse à épaulettes estimés à l’aide des données du Red-shouldered Hawk and Spring Woodpecker Survey de l’Ontario (de 1991 à 2004)

Figure 4. Indices annuels de la population de Buse à épaulettes estimés à l’aide des données du Red-shouldered Hawk and Spring Woodpecker Survey de l’Ontario (de 1991 à 2004).

Les indices sont tirés d’un modèle linéaire généralisé avec résidus de Poisson et une fonction de liaison logarithmique. Les intervalles de confiance à 95 p. 100 sont fondés sur les différences par rapport à 2004, choisie comme année de référence. Les comparaisons interannuelles fondées sur les contrastes a posteriori présentent des différences importantes aux niveaux de probabilité indiqués comme suit : + P < 0,10, * P < 0,05, ** P < 0,01.

Les données du deuxième atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario donnent à penser que la répartition dans cette province est stable, malgré certains changements à l’échelle locale (figure 2). Au cours de la préparation du premier atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario (de 1981 à 1985), des Buses à épaulettes ont été trouvées dans 384 carrés (10 km x 10 km) en Ontario. Pendant les 4 premières années du deuxième atlas des oiseaux nicheurs (de 2001 à 2004), des Buses à épaulettes étaient présentes dans 427 carrés (deuxième atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario, données inédites; tableau 1). Cette apparente augmentation doit toutefois être interprétée avec prudence en raison des différences dans les efforts de recherche entre les 2 atlas. Les atlas des oiseaux nicheurs du Québec et des Maritimes ont été achevés en 1989 et en 1990, respectivement; ces sources ne contiennent donc aucune donnée sur des changements démographiques récents chez ces populations.

Tableau 1 : Indices de nidification de la Buse à épaulettes recueillis au cours de la préparation du premier atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario (de 1980 à 1984) et des 4 premières années de préparation du deuxième atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario (de 2001 à 2004)
Carrés de l’atlas (10 km x 10 km) où
des Buses à épaulettes ont été signalées
1er atlas2e atlas
Carrés avec nidification confirmée6687
Carrés avec nidification probable ou possible318340
Nombre total de carrés384427

Les données des dénombrements printaniers et automnaux à partir des postes de surveillance des oiseaux de proie en Ontario donnent à penser que l’abondance des oiseaux en migration est stable ou en hausse. Ces données ont été corrigées pour tenir compte des variations dans l’effort d’observation, mais elles n’ont pas subi de transformation logarithmique; elles doivent donc être interprétées avec circonspection. Les données pour les migrations printanières du site Niagara Peninsula Hawkwatch de Beamer, en Ontario, indiquent une apparente augmentation de 1980 à 1990, suivie d’un apparent déclin de 1990 à 2004 (figure 5). Les données pour les migrations automnales de l’observatoire des migrations de Holiday Beach (Holiday Beach Migration Observatory), dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario (de 1980 à 2004; Chartier et Stimac, 2002) et celles du site de surveillance des rapaces du marais Cranberry (Cranberry Marsh Raptor Watch) à Grimsby, en Ontario, (de 1990 à 2003) ne montrent aucun changement dans le nombre de Buses à épaulettes en migration. Par contre, des données provenant de sites d’observation des oiseaux de proie en migration au Québec (qui ont été analysées de façon appropriée) indiquent une augmentation linéaire importante tant au printemps qu’à l’automne pour la période de 1980 à 2004 (P < 0,001; Shaffer et Dionne, 2004; figure 6). Les données de ces nombreux postes de surveillance donnent à penser que la population de Buse à épaulettes est stable depuis les 10 à 20 dernières années, avec un apparent accroissement local au Québec.


Figure 5 : Nombre de Buses à épaulettes en migration par heure d’observation au site Niagara Peninsula Hawkwatch au printemps, de 1980 à 2003

Figure 5. Nombre de Buses à épaulettes en migration par heure d’observation au site Niagara Peninsula Hawkwatch au printemps, de 1980 à 2003.


Figure 6 : Nombre de Buses à épaulettes en migration par heure d’observation à Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue (printemps) et à Saint-Stanislas-de-Kostka (automne), de 1980 à 2004

Figure 6. Nombre de Buses à épaulettes en migration par heure d’observation à Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue (printemps) et à Saint-Stanislas-de-Kostka (automne), de 1980 à 2004.

La ligne pointillée représente la tendance calculée pour le printemps et la ligne pleine, cellecalculée pour l’automne.

Selon le programme de feuillets d’observation d’oiseaux de l’ÉPOQ, le nombre de Buses à épaulettes aurait augmenté de façon importante au Québec entre 1990 et 2003 (figure 7). Bien que les tendances de l’ÉPOQ soient biaisées positivement (Dunn et al. , 1996), il est fortement improbable qu’il y ait eu un déclin important dans cette province.


Figure 7 : Tendances des effectifs de Buse à épaulettes signalés dans le cadre du programme de feuillets d’observation d’oiseaux de l’Étude des populations d’oiseaux du Québec (ÉPOQ)

Figure 7. Tendances des effectifs de Buse à épaulettes signalés dans le cadre du programme de feuillets d’observation d’oiseaux de l’Étude des populations d’oiseaux du Québec (ÉPOQ).

Les données indiquent une hausse importante tant dans le nord que dans le sud de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce au Québec.

Sommaire des fluctuations et des tendances

Selon les données de diverses sources, la population canadienne de Buses à épaulettes est stable depuis les 10 et les 20 dernières années, avec certaines hausses à l’échelle locale. Aucune donnée n’indique l’existence de déclins de populations. Les données recueillies en Ontario montrent que la population de cette province est demeurée stable pendant ces périodes, alors que celles recueillies au Québec donnent à penser que la population de Buse à épaulettes de la province a peut-être augmenté.

 

Effet d’une immigration de source externe

Depuis les 20 dernières années, les données du BBS (Sauer et al. , 2004) et du Recensement des oiseaux de Noël (National Audubon Society, 2002) laissent penser que la population américaine de Buses à épaulettes est stable ou en croissance dans une grande partie de son aire de répartition (Sauer et al. , 2004). Cette population semble donc saine et en mesure de constituer une source d’immigration pour le Canada. Puisqu’il s’agit d’une espèce migratrice, elle est capable sur le plan physiologique de se disperser vers de nouvelles zones, mais il existe peu de données sur les distances de dispersion et les taux de philopatrie natale. On ignore si les oiseaux nés aux États-Unis peuvent émigrer au Canada.