Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Atlantic Salmon (Inner Bay of Fundy populations) in Canada

Appendix 1. General biology of Atlantic salmon

Life Cycle

Atlantic salmon life Cycle

The life cycle of the Atlantic salmon contains many stages.  Canadian Atlantic salmon typically spawn in October and November, usually earlier in the north and later in the south.  The timing of river entry varies among populations as an adaptation to local conditions and a response to water levels.  In general, adults move into estuaries and then into freshwater rivers in the summer.  During the physiological transformation for spawning, colours develop and the male grows a kype that is used in male-male fighting.  The nest site is chosen by the female, typically in a gravel-bottom riffle above or below a pool, where she digs a nest pit.  Males compete with each other for proximity to the female, and the dominant male and perhaps others release milt as she releases a portion of her eggs.  Small, precociously mature parr may sneak into the nest and also release milt (Fleming and Reynolds 2004). The female covers the embryos with gravel and then digs another nest, repeating this process until 5-10 nests are made in an area termed a ‘redd’.  The eggs, numbering from 3,000 to 4,000 per smaller female and increasing with body size, are large (5-7 mm) and contain a considerable quantity of yolk.  At the end of the spawning season, surviving adults are termed ‘kelts’ and re-enter the ocean where they continue to grow until the next spawning season.  Female kelting rates are usually higher than those for males.  The eggs develop in the nest during the winter and, depending upon temperature, usually hatch in April.  The young remain buried in the gravel as ‘alevins’, absorbing the yolk sac until May or June.  The juveniles, termed ‘parr’, occupy rifles where they feed on invertebrate drift.  After several years of freshwater growth, perhaps at 127-152 mm in length, the parr change physiologically into ‘smolt’ and migrate to the ocean.  Growth in the ocean is rapid, and individuals may mature after one sea-winter as ‘grilse’ or after two or more sea-winters as ‘salmon’.  Salmon feed on a variety of prey including crustaceans and small fish.  Studies of adult sex ratio suggest that it varies around 1:1.

Migration and Dispersal

Atlantic salmon from eastern Canada typically migrate to feeding grounds near western Greenland.  At maturity, they home to their river of origin.  Straying rates are low, and typically less than 5% of the adult population will enter non-natal rivers.  This extreme homing greatly reduces but does not prevent the potential for recolonization.  Local adaptation in both adult breeders and their offspring can, however, greatly decrease the relative fitness of strays.

Adaptation and Adaptability

Atlantic salmon are locally adapted to almost all aspects of their life, including: adult body shape (depending on migration distance), run timing (depending on stream size and temperature), adult breeding phenotype (depending on density), adult age/size at maturity, egg size (depending on gravel size and juvenile competition), parr colouration (depending on background and crypticity), migration orientation, and so forth (e.g., Hendry and Stearns 2004).  Nevertheless, the Atlantic salmon should not be thought to be a highly ‘adaptable’ species.  The introduction of salmon across geographic ranges shows that introduced individuals have very low success, possibly because of the high degree of adaptation to their prior local conditions.  Atlantic salmon have become domesticated within a few decades in aquaculture, but only through intensive selection in a few regions of the world (e.g., Norway, Scotland, Canada).  There has been a long history of interest in stocking wild Atlantic salmon, and populations are now found in 20-30 regions outside their native distribution (MacCrimmon and Gots 1979).  Conversely, there has been relatively little success in establishing or maintaining populations through hatchery supplementation within their native range (National Research Council 2004).  Thus, the local adaptations of salmon should be considered difficult to replace once lost.

Page 15

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le saumon atlantique (populations de l’intérieur de la baie de Fundy) au Canada

Annexe 1. Biologie générale du saumon atlantique

Cycle vital

Cycle vital du Biologie générale du saumon atlantique

Le cycle vital du saumon atlantique comprend de nombreux stades. Le saumon atlantique canadien fraye normalement en octobre et en novembre; la fraye survient habituellement plus tôt au nord et plus tard au sud. Le moment de l’entrée dans la rivière varie selon les populations et dépend des conditions locales et du niveau d’eau. En règle générale, les adultes entrent dans l’estuaire, puis en eau douce, au cours de l’été. Pendant la période de transformation physiologique en prévision de la fraye, les couleurs se développent, et les mâles acquièrent un crochet dont ils se serviront pour combattre les autres mâles. Les femelles choisissent l’emplacement du nid, généralement dans un radier de gravier situé en amont ou en aval d’une fosse, et y creusent une dépression. Les mâles se battent entre eux pour s’approcher des femelles, et le mâle dominant, et peut-être d’autres, expulse la laitance au moment où la femelle pond une partie des œufs. Il arrive que de petits tacons précoces se faufilent vers le nid et y libèrent aussi leur laitance (Fleming et Reynolds, 2004). La femelle recouvre les œufs de gravier et creuse un nouveau nid. Le processus se répète jusqu’à qu’à la fin de la fraye (5 et 10 nids). Les œufs, au nombre de 3 000 à 4 000 par petite femelle (le nombre croît avec la taille), sont gros (de 5 à 7 mm) et contiennent une grande quantité de vitellus. À la fin de la saison de fraye, les adultes encore vivants, les « charognards », retournent dans l’océan où ils continuent leur croissance jusqu’à la prochaine fraye. Les charognards comptent plus de femelles que de mâles. Les œufs se développent dans le nid pendant l’hiver et, selon la température, éclosent normalement en avril. Les jeunes alevins restent enfouis dans le gravier et absorbent le vitellus jusqu’en mai ou en juin. Les juvéniles, appelés « tacons », occupent les radiers, où ils se nourrissent d’invertébrés à la dérive. Après plusieurs années de croissance en eau douce, lorsqu’ils mesurent peut-être entre 127 mm et 152 mm, les tacons deviennent des smolts et migrent vers la mer. Leur croissance en mer est rapide, et les individus atteignent leur maturité après 1 hiver en mer (on les appelle alors « madeleineaux ») ou 2 hivers en mer (ils sont alors des « saumons »). Les saumons se nourrissent de crustacés et de petits poissons. Les études sur le rapport des sexes chez les adultes indiquent que celui-ci tourne autour de 1:1.

Migration et dispersion

Les saumons atlantiques de l’Est canadien migrent normalement vers des aires d’alimentation situées près de l’ouest du Groenland. Après avoir atteint leur maturité, les individus adultes retournent à leur rivière d’origine. Peu de saumons s’égarent, et moins de 5 p. 100 des adultes se trompent de rivière. Cette précision du retour réduit considérablement, mais n’élimine pas, les possibilités de reconstitution. L’adaptation locale des reproducteurs et de leur progéniture peut, toutefois, réduire grandement la santé relative des individus égarés.

Adaptation et adaptabilité

Les saumons atlantiques sont adaptés localement à presque tous les aspects de leur vie : la forme du corps des adultes (qui dépend de la distance de migration), le moment de la montaison (qui dépend de la taille et de la température du cours d’eau), le phénotype des adultes reproducteurs (qui dépend de la densité), l’âge et la taille des adultes matures, la taille des œufs (qui dépend de la granulométrie du gravier et de la compétition entre les juvéniles), la couleur des tacons (fonction de l’arrière-plan et de la crypticité), l’orientation de la migration, etc. (voir, p. ex., Hendry et Stearns, 2004). Le saumon atlantique ne doit toutefois pas être considéré comme une espèce à forte capacité d’adaptation. Les expériences d’introduction de saumons entre zones géographiques montrent que les individus introduits ont très peu de succès, peut-être parce qu’ils sont fortement adaptés aux conditions de leurs rivières d’origine. Le saumon atlantique s’est domestiqué en quelques décennies d’aquaculture, mais seulement grâce à une sélection intensive dans quelques régions du monde (p. ex. en Norvège, en Écosse et au Canada). On désire depuis longtemps ensemencer les rivières avec des saumons atlantiques sauvages, et il existe aujourd’hui, dans 20 à 30 régions, des populations vivant en dehors de leur aire de répartition naturelle (MacCrimmon et Gots, 1979). Par contre, la mise en place ou le maintien de populations dans leur aire de répartition naturelle à l’aide de l’alevinage a eu un succès relativement limité (National Research Council, 2004). On doit donc considérer qu’une fois perdues, les adaptations locales du saumon sont difficiles à remplacer.