Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Atlantic Salmon (Inner Bay of Fundy populations) in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

The freshwater breeding range of wild Atlantic salmon is shown in Figure 6a.  WWF (2001) has suggested salmon occupy 2,615 rivers worldwide. The current range has contracted northward on both sides of the Atlantic Ocean; in North America, the species has been eradicated from two-thirds of its US distribution (e.g., wild populations no longer exist in Connecticut), and is endangered in Maine (National Research Council 2004).  Today, most Atlantic salmon exist within aquaculture fish farms distributed throughout the world, but in a diverged form that has been termed Salmo domesticus (Gross 1998).


Figure 6.  Native freshwater range of Atlantic salmon and the iBoF DU

Figure 6.  Native freshwater range of Atlantic salmon and the iBoF DU.

 

(a) Map showing approximate freshwater breeding range of anadromous Atlantic salmon.  From Baum (1997).  (b) Map showing approximate freshwater boundaries of three genetically differentiated Atlantic salmon regions in Canada.  Redrawn from figure provided by Larry Marshall (DFO, Bedford Institute of Oceanography).

CanadianRange

The Canadian range is roughly one-third the area of the total global range, and extends northward from the St. Croix River (at the border with Maine) to the outer Ungava Bay of Quebec, plus one population in Eastern Hudson Bay (MacCrimmon and Gots 1979, Scott and Crossman 1998).  WWF (2001) has suggested that Atlantic salmon occupy about 550 Canadian rivers, which would be 21% of the global river number.

 

iBoF DU Range 

The entire iBoF DU exists within Eastern Canada.  It includes all rivers draining into the Bay of Fundy, starting with the Mispec River (the first river northeast of the Saint John River in New Brunswick) and extending around the bay to the Pereaux River (the first river northeast of the Annapolis River in Nova Scotia) (Figures 3 and 6b).  Records of recreational catch indicate that 32 rivers within this region contained Atlantic salmon adults (Amiro 2003), but over 40 rivers are suspected to have contained salmon (National Recovery Team 2002).

The extent of freshwater occurrence is roughly 40,000 km2 based on estimation of total watershed area (area calculated from map in Gibson et al. 2003a).  The potential area of freshwater occupancy will exceed 9 km2, which is the calculated area across the 22 rivers for which habitat areas are estimated (Amiro 2003).  The extent of marine occurrence and marine occupancy cannot be realistically calculated, given the considerable uncertainty regarding marine migration of iBoF salmon, but includes at least the Bay of Fundy and outlying oceanic waters.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le saumon atlantique (populations de l’intérieur de la baie de Fundy) au Canada

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

La figure 6a montre l’aire de reproduction en eau douce du saumon atlantique sauvage. Selon le Fonds mondial pour la nature (WWF, 2001), les saumons occupent, dans le monde, 2 615 rivières. L’aire de répartition s’est contractée vers le nord des 2 côtés de l’Atlantique; en Amérique du Nord, l’espèce a disparu des deux tiers de son aire de répartition aux États-Unis (p. ex. il n’y a plus de saumons sauvages dans le Connecticut) et est en voie de disparition dans le Maine (National Research Council, 2004). Aujourd’hui, la plupart des saumons atlantiques se trouvent dans des élevages un peu partout dans le monde, mais sous une forme divergente, appelée Salmo domesticus (Gross, 1998).

 

 

1(a)

 

Figure 6.Aire de répartitiondu saumon atlantique et UD de l’IBF


(b)

Figure 6. Aire de répartitiondu saumon atlantique et UD de l’IBF.

(a) Carte de l’aire de reproduction en eau douce du saumon atlantique anadrome. Tirée de Baum (1997). (b) Carte des frontières approximatives de trois régions d’eau douce canadiennes habitées par le saumon atlantique. À partir d’une figure fournie par Larry Marshall (MPO, Institut océanographique de Bedford).


Aire de répartition canadienne

L’aire de répartition canadienne correspond en gros à un tiers de l’aire de répartition mondiale et elle s’étend de la rivière Sainte‑Croix (à la frontière avec le Maine) aux approches de la baie d’Ungava, au Québec, avec une population supplémentaire dans l’est de la baie d’Hudson (MacCrimmon et Gots, 1979; Scott et Crossman, 1998). Selon le WWF (2001), les saumons atlantiques occupent environ 550 rivières canadiennes, soit 21 p. 100 du nombre de rivières occupées par l’espèce dans le monde.

 

Aire de répartition de l’UD de l’IBF 

Toute l’UD de l’IBF se trouve dans l’Est canadien. Elle comprend toutes les rivières se déversant dans la baie de Fundy, situées entre la rivière Mispec (la première au nord‑est de la rivière Saint‑Jean, au Nouveau-Brunswick) et la rivière Pereaux (la première rivière au nord-est de la rivière Annapolis, en Nouvelle-Écosse) (figures 3 et 6b). Les données sur les prises des pêcheurs sportifs indiquent que 32 rivières de la région contenaient des saumons atlantiques adultes (Amiro, 2003), mais que l’espèce aurait déjà habité plus de 40 rivières (National Recovery Team, 2002).

En se basant sur une estimation de la superficie totale des bassins hydrologiques (à partir de la carte de Gibson et al., 2003a), on évalue l’aire de présence en eau douce à environ 40 000 km2. L’aire potentielle d’occupation en eau douce est supérieure à 9 km2, soit la superficie des 22 rivières pour lesquelles on a estimé les zones d’habitat (Amiro, 2003). On peut difficilement calculer la superficie des aires de présence et d’occupation en mer, étant donné l’incertitude importante quant à la migration des saumons de l’IBF vers la mer; on sait toutefois que cette superficie comprend au moins la baie de Fundy et les eaux océaniques limitrophes.