Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Atlantic Salmon (Inner Bay of Fundy populations) in Canada

Habitat

Freshwater Requirements and Trends

Atlantic salmon rivers are generally clear, cool and well-oxygenated, with low to moderate gradient, and possessing bottom substrates of gravel, cobble and boulder (National Recovery Team 2002).  Riffles, rapids, pools and flats are utilized at different life stages.  Juveniles grow on invertebrate drift.  During summer, water temperatures typically range between 15 and 25°C.  Specific freshwater habitat requirements for iBoF salmon are known, and suitability indices exist for both summer and winter.  These indices, such as stream gradient, have been used to estimate the productive area and capacities for 22 iBoF rivers (Figure 7).  Productive capacity for juveniles varies greatly on a river-by-river basis, but iBoF rivers currently have a variety of habitats and are believed to be well-suited to the production of salmon (Gibson et al. 2004). 

There is no evidence of an incremental loss in freshwater habitat that would explain the declines in iBoF Atlantic salmon populations since the late 1980s (National Recovery Team 2002).  Beginning in the mid- to late-19th century, freshwater habitat has been impacted by forestry, agriculture and road development.  Barriers to salmon migration, such as dams, dykes and causeways, have also impacted many iBoF rivers.  For example, the Petitcodiac River once produced an estimated 20% of the iBoF’s salmon (National Recovery Team 2002), but a causeway built in 1968 largely blocked the migration of adults and smolts (Locke et al. 2003).  The pH of iBoF rivers is typically above 6.0, and thus acidity levels, a problem for salmon elsewhere (e.g., Lacroix and Knox 2005), are not a factor in continued decline.  While there can be little doubt that the removal of access to spawning and rearing habitat has decreased the salmon production capacity of the iBoF region over the course of the past two centuries, the timing of these events does not correspond with the recent demographic collapse (see POPULATION SIZES AND TRENDS).  In a recent critical habitat assessment, Trzcinski et al. (2004) concluded that population viability (and recovery to conservation limits) could not be achieved by increasing the quantity or quality of freshwater habitat.  They further noted that releases of Live Gene Bank progeny (see EXISTING PROTECTION) appear to survive well in fresh water (i.e., to smolt), but experience heavy marine mortality.  This is

Figure 7.  Area, productive capacity of age-1 and older parr, and production per unit area for 22 inner Bay of Fundysalmon rivers. 


Figure 7.  Area, productive capacity of age-1 and older parr, and production per unit area for 22 inner Bay of Fundysalmon rivers.  Area was estimated from aerial photographs and ortho-photo maps.  Productive capacity was estimated using stream gradient (from ortho-photo maps) as a proxy for habitat quality.  Col is an abbreviation for Colchester Co., NS.  From Amiro et al. (2003).

not to say that there are no freshwater habitat concerns within the iBoF: barriers to passage, water quality issues, and habitat loss due to a variety of factors are present in some rivers.  Currently, however, there appears to be an abundance of quality freshwater habitat for salmon within the iBoF region (Amiro et al. 2003; Gibson et al. 2004; Trzcinski et al. 2004), yet salmon numbers continue to decline.

 

Marine Requirements and Trends 

Ocean habitat requirements for iBoF Atlantic salmon are less well known than those for fresh water.  One of the only current indicators of marine habitat quality for Atlantic salmon in general is temperature: Atlantic salmon are thought to occupy a marine temperature envelope from 1-13°C, with preference around 8°C (Reddin and Friedland 1993).  Due to the infusion of oceanic water, the Bay of Fundy and Gulf of Maine provide this temperature range, and the presence of two important prey species (sand lance and euphausids; National Recovery Team 2002) make occupation possible.  However, a recent assessment of habitat based on sea surface temperature shows how seasonally dynamic and potentially limiting the marine environment could become for iBoF salmon (Amiro et al. 2003).  A relatively minor change in the marine environment, a restriction in the use of the environment, or the introduction of new stressors (e.g., diseases) in late summer could be particularly detrimental to salmon survival.

A decline in marine survival through the smolt to adult life stage appears to underlie the collapse in iBoF populations. Significant decline in marine habitat quality and abundance may be occurring by at least three mechanisms.  First, over 400 tidal barriers have been constructed in the Bay of Fundy, and while their placement pre-dates 1970 (Wells 1999), it is possible that cumulative effects through time have negatively altered the iBoF ecosystem for salmon.  Second, a large aquaculture industry has grown in the western Bay of Fundy, northern Gulf of Maine, and southwest region of the Scotian Coast in the past 20 years (Figure 8).  Third, primary production is apparently declining in parts of the western North Atlantic (Gregg et al. 2003).  This decline might cause dramatic changes in energy flow, fish physiological condition and fish community structure, as recently indicated for the eastern Scotian Shelf (Choi et al. 2004).  Potential causes of the decline in primary production include climate change and cooler local temperatures (Drinkwater et al. 2003), and enormous removals of fish biomass by marine fisheries that cannot be matched by net primary production (Choi et al. 2004).  Smolt and post-smolt iBoF Atlantic salmon may also be subjected to predation by marine mammals in the Bay of Fundy, such as harbour seals (Phoca vitulina) and grey seals (Halichoerus grypus), although the level of this predation mortality has not been estimated.  These trends as they relate to iBoF Atlantic salmon are discussed further under Limiting Factors and Threats.

Figure 8.  Map showing the locations of aquaculture facilities in the outer Bay of Fundy and Gulfof Maineas of 2003


Figure 8.  Map showing the locations of aquaculture facilities in the outer Bay of Fundy and Gulfof Maineas of 2003. All licensed Canadian (closed circles) and U.S. (open circles) farms are shown, but not all facilities are in operation.  No salmon farms occur within the inner Bay of Fundy.  Map provided by Blythe Chang (DFO, St. Andrews).

 

Habitat Protection/Ownership

Only portions of two iBoF rivers, 77% of the Upper Salmon River and 58% of Point Wolfe River, are within federally protected land (Fundy National Park).  These two rivers contain a very small proportion of iBoF individuals, and thus would not represent adequate freshwater habitat protection.  All remaining rivers flow through lands that are privately or provincially owned (National Recovery Team 2002).  The Fisheries Act, administered by Fisheries and Oceans Canada, provides some responsibilities for the protection of all freshwater and marine fish habitat including alteration, destruction, accessibility, and introduction of deleterious substances into the water.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le saumon atlantique (populations de l’intérieur de la baie de Fundy) au Canada

Habitat

Exigences et tendances en matière d’habitat d’eau douce

 

Les rivières habitées par les saumons atlantiques sont, en règle générale, claires, froides et bien oxygénées, avec des pentes faibles à modérées et des fonds de gravier, de galets et de roches (National Recovery Team, 2002). À différents stades de leur vie, les saumons utilisent les radiers, les rapides, les fosses et les platins. Les juvéniles se nourrissent d’invertébrés à la dérive. En été, la température de l’eau varie habituellement entre 15 et 25 °C. On connaît les besoins précis en habitat d’eau douce des saumons de l’IBF, et il existe des indices de qualité associés à l’été et à l’hiver. Ces indices, comme le gradient, ont été utilisés afin d’estimer l’aire et la capacité de production de 22 rivières de l’IBF (figure 7). La capacité de production des juvéniles varie fortement d’une rivière à l’autre, mais les rivières de l’IBF possèdent à l’heure actuelle toute une gamme d’habitats, et l’on croit qu’elles conviennent bien à la production de saumons (Gibson et al., 2004).

Figure 7. Superficie, capacité de production de tacons d’âge 1 et plus et production par unité de surface pour 22 rivières à saumons de l’IBF.

Figure 7. Superficie, capacité de production de tacons d’âge 1 et plus et production par unité de surface pour 22 rivières à saumons de l’IBF. La superficie a été estimée à partir de photographies aériennes etd’orthophotocartes. La capacité de production a été estimée en considérant la pente du cours d’eau (obtenue à partir des orthophotocartes) comme un déterminant de la qualité de l’habitat. L’abréviation « Col » signifie « Colchester Co. » (Nouvelle-Écosse). Tiré d’Amiro et al. (2003).

Aucune perte d’habitats d’eau douce ne permet d’expliquer le déclin des populations de saumons atlantiques de l’IBF depuis la fin des années 1980 (National Recovery Team, 2002). À partir de la deuxième moitié du XIXe siècle, l’habitat d’eau douce a été affecté par l’exploitation forestière, l’agriculture et l’aménagement de ponts-jetées. Des barrières à la migration des saumons, comme les barrages, les digues et les ponts-jetées, ont aussi affecté de nombreuses rivières de l’IBF. Par exemple, on estime que la rivière Petitcodiac produisait autrefois 20 p. 100 des saumons de l’IBF (National Recovery Team, 2002), mais l’aménagement d’un pont-jetée, en 1968, a en grande partie empêché la migration des adultes et des smolts (Locke et al., 2003). Le pH des rivières de l’IBF est normalement au-dessus de 6,0, et l’acidité, qui est un problème ailleurs (voir, p. ex., Lacroix et Knox, 2005), n’est pas un facteur du déclin continu des populations. Bien qu’il fasse peu de doutes que la construction d’ouvrages qui bloquent l’accès aux habitats de fraye et de croissance a contribué à la diminution de la capacité de production des saumons de l’IBF aux cours des deux derniers siècles, ces événements ne coïncident pas avec l’effondrement démographique récent (voir « Taille et tendances des populations »). Dans leur récente évaluation de l’habitat essentiel, Trzcinski et al. (2004) ont conclu que la viabilité des populations (et le rétablissement jusqu’à des limites qui assurent la conservation des stocks) ne peut être atteinte en augmentant la quantité ou la qualité des habitats d’eau douce. Ils ont également noté que les poissons provenant de la banque de gènes vivants (voir « Protection actuelle ou autres désignations de statut ») qui sont lâchés en eau douce semblent bien survivre (c’est-à-dire jusqu’à ce qu’ils deviennent des smolts), mais que leur taux de mortalité en mer est élevé. Cela ne veut pas dire qu’il n’existe pas de problèmes liés à l’habitat d’eau douce dans l’IBF : quelques rivières sont touchées par des obstacles au passage, des problèmes de qualité de l’eau et une perte d’habitats liée à plusieurs facteurs. Actuellement, toutefois, les saumons de l’IBF semblent disposer d’une abondance d’habitats d’eau douce de qualité (Amiro et al., 2003; Gibson et al., 2004; Trzcinski et al., 2004). Et pourtant, le nombre de saumons continue à diminuer.

 

Exigences et tendances en matière d’habitat marin

Les besoins en habitat marin des saumons atlantiques de l’IBF sont moins connus que ceux en habitat d’eau douce. La température de l’eau est un des seuls indicateurs de qualité actuellement disponibles : on croit que les saumons atlantiques fréquentent des eaux variant entre 1 et 13 °C et qu’ils préfèrent une eau autour de 8 °C (Reddin et Friedland, 1993). Parce qu’ils reçoivent de l’eau de mer, la baie de Fundy et le golfe du Maine ont des eaux qui sont dans cette gamme de températures, et la présence de 2 proies importantes (le lançon et le krill; National Recovery Team, 2002) rend possible l’occupation. Toutefois, une évaluation récente de l’habitat fondée sur la température à la surface de la mer montre comment le milieu marin pourrait devenir contraignant pour les saumons de l’IBF (Amiro et al., 2003). Un changement relativement minime dans le milieu marin, une restriction dans son utilisation ou l’introduction de nouveaux stresseurs (p. ex. des maladies) à la fin de l’été pourrait nuire à la survie du saumon.

 

L’effondrement des populations de l’IBF semble dû à une diminution du taux de survie en mer du smolt à l’adulte. Il se peut qu’au moins 3 mécanismes soient à l’origine de la détérioration prononcée de la qualité des habitats marins et de l’abondance des saumons. D’abord, on a construit, dans la baie de Fundy, plus de 400 obstacles aux marées et, même si leur construction date d’avant 1970 (Wells, 1999), il est possible qu’avec le temps les effets cumulatifs aient altéré négativement l’écosystème de l’IBF pour les saumons. Ensuite, au cours des 20 dernières années, une importante industrie aquacole s’est installée dans l’ouest de la baie de Fundy, le nord du golfe du Maine et le sud-ouest de la côte néo-écossaise (figure 8). Enfin, il semble qu’il y ait une diminution de la production primaire dans des parties de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest (Gregg et al., 2003). Comme on l’a récemment montré pour l’est du plateau néo-écossais (Choi et al., 2004), il se peut que cette diminution soit la source de changements dramatiques dans le flux énergétique, l’état physiologique des poissons et de structure des communautés. La chute de la production primaire est peut-être causée par les changements climatiques, la baisse des températures locales (Drinkwater et al., 2003) et le fait que la production primaire nette ne peut compenser l’énorme retrait de biomasse causé par les pêches marines (Choi et al., 2004). Il se peut aussi que les saumons atlantiques de l’IBF aux stades de smolt et de post-smolt soient la proie de mammifères marins dans la baie de Fundy, notamment le phoque commun (Phoca vitulina) et le phoque gris (Halichoerus grypus), mais la mortalité due à ce type de prédation n’a pas été estimée. Ces tendances seront abordées de façon plus détaillée dans la section « Facteurs limitatifs et menaces ».

Figure 8.   Carte des installations aquacoles à l’EBF et le golfe du Maine en 2003

Figure 8.   Carte des installations aquacoles à l’EBF et le golfe du Maine en 2003. Toutes les piscicultures canadiennes (points noirs) et américaines (points blancs) agréées sont montrées. Toutefois, ce ne sont pas toutes les piscicultures qui sont en activité. Il n’y a aucun élevage de saumons dans l’IBF. Carte fournie par Blythe Chang (MPO, St. Andrews).

 

Protection et propriété

Seules des portions de 2 rivières de l’IBF, soit 77 p. 100 de la rivière Upper Salmon et 58 p. 100 de la rivière Point Wolfe, font partie de terres protégées par le gouvernement fédéral (parc national Fundy). Ces 2 rivières contiennent une toute petite proportion des saumons de l’IBF et ne peuvent représenter une protection adéquate des habitats d’eau douce. Toutes les autres rivières passent par des terrains privés ou appartenant à une province (National Recovery Team, 2002). La Loisur les pêches, mise en œuvre par le Ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO), prévoit quelques responsabilités pour la protection de tous les habitats dulcicoles et marins, y compris des mesures pour limiter la détérioration et la destruction de l’habitat ainsi que l’accessibilité et l’introduction dans l’eau de substances nocives.