Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Atlantic Salmon (Inner Bay of Fundy populations) in Canada

Population Sizes and Trends

Search Effort and Data Quality

A great deal of effort has been applied to obtaining reliable measures of population size and trends by DFO, especially by the iBoF Working Group at the Bedford Institute of Oceanography. In addition to analyses of commercial fisheries catches of iBoF Atlantic salmon spanning more than a century, extensive data have been compiled on adult and juvenile abundances for the two iBoF index rivers, the Big Salmon (Gibson et al. 2003c) and the Stewiacke (Gibson and Amiro 2003).  Surveys for juvenile densities have recently been conducted in 43 iBoF rivers (Gibsonet al. 2003a, Gibson et al. 2004) and allow the evaluation of population status relative to a “normal index of abundance” of 2.4 eggs/m2 (DFO 2003). 

Commercial Fisheries Data: Records of commercial landings provide the longest historic indicator of population trends, but are subject to numerous uncertainties, including unknown or unreported effort, inaccurate origin assignment, and vagaries of human events such as wars.  Nevertheless, Dunfield (1985, 1986) provides an exhaustive summary and adjusts for apparent inaccuracies; these data have been provided by personal communication and appear in Amiro (2003). 

Big Salmon and Stewiacke rivers:  For both rivers, maximum likelihood models were used to integrate multiple sources of data, including: recreational fishing catch and effort data; fishway and fence counts; shoreline observation and dive counts; redd counts; electrofishing; and mark-recapture experiments.  Although these data have some incompleteness and uncertainty, sophisticated Bayesian analyses provide heuristic abundance and trend calculations with confidence intervals. 

Juvenile Surveys:  The intensive electrofishing surveys of 117 sites in 36 iBoF rivers in 2000 and 246 sites in 43 rivers in 2002 allow an assessment of population decline throughout the iBoF.  A total effort of approximately 244,000 seconds of shocking time was applied over 215,000 m2 of habitat and resulted in the capture of 2,513 Atlantic salmon (Gibson et al. 2003a).  Fry were not found in 30 rivers, and parr were absent in 22.  A more limited survey was conducted for 16 rivers in 2003 with similar results (parr were absent from 5 of the 16 rivers, and age-0 parr were absent from 9) (Gibson et al. 2004).  While such surveys have limitations when fish are rare (i.e., limits to mark-recapture and depletion methods), these limitations have largely been corrected through statistical techniques, such as Bayesian methods to provide probability densities for catchability (Gibson et al. 2003).

 

Current Abundance

Fisheries: the commercial and recreational fisheries are closed and therefore provide no current abundance estimates.

Big Salmon River:  Gibson et al. (2003c) provide a maximum likelihood estimate for the year 2002 of 55 anadromous adults with an 80% Bayesian Credible Interval (BCI) of 18-133.  Hutchings (2003) suggests an effective population size (N­­­e) to census size ratio of 0.21 to 0.64 for Atlantic salmon.  A rough Ne estimate for Big Salmon River anadromous adults in 2002 is therefore 12 to 35 (3.8 to 85.2 across the 80% BCI).

StewiackeRiver: Gibson and Amiro (2003) provide a maximum likelihood estimate for the year 2001 of 2 anadromous adults with an 80% BCI of 2-4. 

Juvenile Surveys: The juvenile survey data are densities in selected areas and are not extrapolated to the entire habitat.  Thus, they do not provide abundance data.

The opinion of the iBoF Working Group is that in 2003 there were less than 100 wild anadromous adult breeders spread across all the rivers, with 50-75 being the most likely and 200 being an upper estimate (18 May 2004, J. Gibson and P. Amiro, personal communication).  Although an additional number of males breed as mature male parr, these individuals have not been included in the current calculations.

 

Fluctuations and Trends

Commercial Fisheries: the annual quantity of iBoF salmon harvested, in kilograms, from 1875 through 1984, is shown in Figure 9.  Though highly variable, landings are highest from 1875 through 1924, smaller from 1925 through 1973, and least from 1974 through 1984 (after which the fishery was closed).  An overall trend of decline is apparent.  Using an average weight of 3.1 kg per fish, Amiro (2003) calculates an overall average of 4,032 salmon captured per year, ranging from 6 to 9,611, across the 109-year history of the commercial fishery.

Figure 9.  Commercial Atlantic salmon catches (kg) in the Inner Bay of Fundy, for the years 1875-1984 from fishery districts in Albert and Westmorland Counties, New Brunswick.  From R.W. Dunfield (pers. comm. to P. Amiro, DFO, Bedford Institute of Oceanography).

Figure 9.  Commercial Atlantic salmon catches (kg) in the Inner Bay of Fundy, for the years 1875-1984 from fishery districts in Albert and Westmorland Counties, New Brunswick.  From R.W. Dunfield (pers. comm. to P. Amiro, DFO, Bedford Institute of Oceanography).

Big Salmon River: The number of anadromous adults returning to spawn from 1964 through 2002 is shown in Figure 10a.  The number of returning adults peaked in 1966 at 5,043 (80% BCI = 3,996 to 6,686).  This is in marked contrast to the 2002 estimate of 55 (18-133). The overall trend has been extremely negative.  Table 2 summarizes the rate of decline over 11 years (three generations based on 3.7 years per generation) as well as over 5-year, 10-year, 20-year, and 30-year periods.  There is a 90% probability that the mean population size declined by more than 94.1% over 11 years, and by more than 96.7% over the last 30 years.  In the past five years alone, rates of decline have exceeded 76%.

StewiackeRiver: The number of anadromous adults returning to spawn from 1965 through 2001 is shown in Fig. 10b.  The number of returning adults peaked in 1967 at 6,693 (80% BCI = 4,698 to 10,998).  This is in marked contrast to the 2001 estimate of 2 adults (2-4).  The overall trend has been extremely negative.  Table 2 summarizes the rates of decline.  There is a 90% probability that the mean population size declined by more than 99% over 11 years (three generations), and by more than 99.6% over 30 years.  In the last five years of the study alone, rates of decline have exceeded 92.4%.

Table 2.  Estimates of rates of decline for Atlantic salmon populations in the two iBoF index rivers. Minimum rates of decline at 90% confidence were measured over 11 years (3 generations), as well as over time periods of 5, 10, 20, and 30 years.  The 3-generation estimate (italicized) averages abundances across a generation length 4 years (3.7 rounded), while other estimates use a 5-year moving average.  Estimates for the Big Salmon Riverare calculated from Gibson et al. (2003c) and are based on the preferred model (Model #4).  Estimates for the Stewiacke River are provided by or calculated in Gibson and Amiro (2003).
RiverTime
Period
(Years)
Moving
Average
(Years)
StartEndMinimum Rate of
Decline
(90% Confidence)
Big Salmon1141988-19911999-200294.1%
 551992-19961997-200176.0%
 1051987-19911997-200194.7%
 2051977-19811997-200196.0%
 3051967-19711997-200196.7%
Stewiacke1141987-19901998-200199.0%
 551992-19961997-200192.4%
 1051987-19911997-200198.8%
 2051977-19811997-200199.0%
 3051967-19711997-200199.6%

Juvenile Surveys: The juvenile surveys in 43 iBoF rivers in 2002 demonstrate that the collapse of iBoF salmon populations is not limited to the Big Salmon and Stewiacke rivers (Figure 11).  Live Gene Bank stocking is supporting nine of the rivers.  Of the remaining 34 rivers that are dependent on natural wild production, fry were found in only 4 (3.4%), suggesting little or no adult reproduction in 2001, and parr were found in only 12 (35.3%).  Mean densities of fry and parr in the New Brunswick rivers were below 5.2 and 3.8 per 100 m2, while the conservation requirement for these stages is 29 fry and 38 parr per 100 m2.  Thus, fry were at 18% and parr were at 10% conservation levels.  In the Nova Scotia rivers, fry were totally absent and parr were below 7.1 per 100 m2, or 19% of conservation needs.  In the smaller 2003 survey, only three age-0 parr were found in ten rivers without LGB support, all of which came from the Point Wolfe River, suggesting that very few salmon spawned in these rivers in 2002 (Gibson et al. 2004).


Figure 10.  Estimated adult returns to two iBoF index rivers (logarithmic scale)


Figure 10.  Estimated adult returns to two iBoF index rivers (logarithmic scale).Solid lines are estimated returns; dashed lines are the 10% and 90% posteriors defining the 80% Bayesian Credible Interval (BCI) measure of confidence.

(a)  Estimated returns to the Big Salmon River, 1964-2002, from Gibson et al. (2003c). (b) Estimated returns to the Stewiacke River, 1965-2001, modified from Gibson and Amiro (2003) to combine large and small returning salmon.


Figure 11.  Box plots showing the density of juvenile Atlantic salmon (fry and parr) in 41 inner Bay of Fundyrivers from a 2002 electrofishing survey at 233 sites.


Figure 11.  Box plots showing the density of juvenile Atlantic salmon (fry and parr) in 41 inner Bay of Fundyrivers from a 2002 electrofishing survey at 233 sites.

Points are median densities.  Boxes show inter-quartile spread.  Whiskers are drawn to the minimum and maximum densities.  Live Gene Bank (LGB) supported (light grey) are rivers into which juvenile Atlantic salmon have been released since 1996.  N is the number of sites electrofished in each river.  For comparison, the dashed lines show the DFO ‘conservation requirements’ for either fry (29 /100 m2) or parr (38 /100 m2) densities, but note that the plots combine these stages.  These reference points can therefore only indicate failure of a river to meet conservation densities (i.e., when the sum of fry and parr densities fail to meet either conservation requirement). The conservation requirements are based on ‘Elson norms’ developed by DFO for use in evaluating stock status.  From Gibson et al. (2003a) (conservation requirements added).


Figure 12.  Comparison of densities of Atlantic salmon and other species in iBoF rivers supported and unsupported by the Live Gene Bank.

Figure 12.  Comparison of densities of Atlantic salmon and other species in iBoF rivers supported and unsupported by the Live Gene Bank. The mean number of fish captured during the first pass while electrofishing at 172 sites on iBoF rivers during 2002 is shown.  LGB supported rivers are those into which juvenile Atlantic salmon have been released since 1996.  Sites where non-salmonid species were not recorded are not included.  From Gibson et al. (2003a).

Amiro (2003) estimates from recreational catch data that the iBoF populations at maximum numbers may have reached 46,614 adults (see also National Recovery Team 2002, DFO 2003).  He estimates an abundance of less than 500 in 1998, and less than 250 in 1999.  There were probably fewer than 100 adults in 2003.  Based on current rates of decline and the estimate of only 100 adults in the most recent year for which spawning data are available, even the most conservative approximations of risk would suggest extinction in the wild in the very near future.  For example, under the assumption that the iBoF is a single breeding population comprised of 100 individuals and that it declines at the minimal 90% confidence rate of the healthiest index river (94.1% per 3-generations), there will be fewer than 2 individuals within 15 years.

Various studies suggest a quasi-extinction threshold for salmon at roughly 100 females (N = 200) (Myers et al. 1995, Botsford and Brittnacher 1996, see also McElhany et al. 2000).  Below this number, for salmon, there is an extremely high risk of complete extinction through demographic stochasticity, inbreeding and other small-population factors.

 

Rescue Effect

As a unique DU, there is no likelihood of rescue, since neighbouring regions harbour genetically dissimilar Atlantic salmon. Even if neighbouring populations of salmon were sufficiently adapted to breed and spawn surviving progeny within the iBoF, the fact remains that the three neighbouring regions – the oBoF, the Scotian Coast, and Maine – have extremely depressed populations (DFO 2003, National Research Council 2004).  The US NMFS listed a Maine DPS as Endangered under theEndangered Species Act in 2001, and it remains supported by its own Live Gene Bank program and is unlikely to recover in the foreseeable future (National Research Council 2004).  Similarly, the oBoF and Scotian Coast regions would likely meet COSEWIC criteria for Endangered status, given their demographic trends.  For instance, preliminary analysis of decline rates for the best two index populations, the Saint John (oBoF) and the LaHave (Scotian Coast) rivers, show three-generation (11 years, 1993-2003) decline rates of 88.5% and 73.0% respectively (data from R. Jones, DFO; calculations by P. Amiro, DFO; 20 May 2004).  These decline rates, while not as severe as those of iBoF index populations, exceed COSEWIC’s decline criteria forEndangered status.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le saumon atlantique (populations de l’intérieur de la baie de Fundy) au Canada

Taille et tendances des populations

 

Activités de recherche et qualité des données

Le MPO et en particulier le groupe de travail sur l’IBF de l’Institut océanographique de Bedford ont dépensé beaucoup d’énergie à mesurer la taille et les tendances des populations. En plus d’analyser les données sur les prises commerciales de saumons atlantiques de l’IBF pendant plus de 1 siècle, on a rassemblé des données détaillées sur le nombre d’adultes et de juvéniles dans les 2 rivières témoins de l’IBF, soit la Big Salmon (Gibson et al., 2003c) et la Stewiacke (Gibson et Amiro, 2003). On a récemment réalisé des enquêtes sur la densité des juvéniles dans 43 rivières de l’IBF (Gibsonet al., 2003a; idem, 2004) afin d’évaluer l’état des populations en comparant les résultats à un « indice normal d’abondance » de 2,4 œufs/m2(MPO, 2003).

Données sur la pêche commerciale

Les données sur les débarquements commerciaux fournissent l’indicateur temporel le plus étendu des tendances des populations, mais elles contiennent de nombreuses incertitudes : effort de pêche inconnu ou non publié, identification erronée de l’origine et aléas des événements humains tels que les guerres. Dunfield (1985, 1986) en fournit néanmoins un résumé exhaustif qui corrige les inexactitudes apparentes; ces données ont été fournies par des communications personnelles et apparaissent dans Amiro (2003).

Rivières Big Salmon et Stewiacke

Pour les deux rivières, on a utilisé des modèles du maximum de vraisemblance afin d’intégrer des données provenant de sources multiples : données sur l’effort de pêche commerciale et de pêche récréative, comptage des poissons aux passes et aux barrages, observations à partir du rivage et comptage en plongée, comptage des nids de fraye, pêche électrique et expériences de marquage-recapture. Même si ces données possèdent un certain niveau d’incomplétude et d’incertitude, des analyses bayesiennes avancées permettent d’obtenir des évaluations heuristiques, avec intervalles de confiance, de l’abondance et des tendances.

Recensements des juvéniles

Des recensements intensifs par pêche électrique de 117 sites de 36 rivières de l’IBF en 2000 et de 246 sites de 43 rivières en 2002 permettent d’évaluer la diminution des populations dans l’ensemble de l’IBF. Un effort total d’environ 244 000 secondes de choc sur 215 000 m2de l’habitat a permis de capturer 2 513 saumons atlantiques (Gibson et al., 2003a). Les alevins étaient absents de 30 rivières, et les tacons, de 22. En 2003, on a effectué un recensement plus limité de 16 rivières et obtenu des résultats semblables (5 des 16 rivières sans tacons et 9 sans tacons d’âge 0) (Gibson et al., 2004). Si de tels recensements ont des limites quand les poissons se font rares (limites des méthodes de marquage-recapture et des méthodes par passages successifs), leurs limites ont été en grande partie corrigées à l’aide de techniques statistiques, comme les méthodes bayesiennes, afin d’obtenir des densités de probabilité pour la capturabilité (Gibson et al., 2003).

 

Abondance actuelle

Pêches

Les pêches commerciale et récréative sont interdites et ne peuvent donc fournir de données sur l’abondance actuelle.

Rivière Big Salmon

Gibson et al. (2003c) estiment le maximum de vraisemblance pour 2002 à 55 adultes anadromes, avec un intervalle bayesien de confiance (IBC) à 80 p. 100 de 18 à 133. Hutchings (2003) propose un rapport entre taille effective des populations (Ne) et taille des échantillons de 0,21 à 0,64. On peut donc estimer approximativement qu’en 2002 la valeur de Ne, pour les adultes anadromes de la Big Salmon, se situait entre 12 et 35 (de 3,8 à 85,2 pour tout l’IBC à 80 p. 100).

Rivière Stewiacke

Gibson et Amiro (2003) estiment le maximum de vraisemblance pour 2001 à 2 adultes anadromes, avec un IBC à 80 p. 100 de 2 à 4.

Recensements des juvéniles

Les données des recensements des juvéniles sont des densités dans des zones choisies et ne sont pas extrapolées à l’ensemble de l’habitat. Elles ne fournissent donc pas de renseignements sur l’abondance

Le groupe de travail sur l’IBF pense qu’il y avait, en 2003, moins de 100 saumons sauvages reproducteurs dans l’ensemble des rivières et que leur nombre se situait plus probablement entre 50 et 75 et que ce nombre ne pouvait dépasser 200 (le 18 mai 2004, J. Gibson et P. Amiro, comm. pers.). Bien qu’on puisse ajouter quelques tacons mâles reproducteurs, les calculs actuels ne tiennent pas compte de ces tacons.

 

Fluctuations et tendances

Pêche commerciale 

La figure 9 donne les prises annuelles de saumons de l’IBF, en kilogrammes, de 1875 à 1984. Bien qu’ils soient très variables, les débarquements les plus importants ont eu lieu entre 1875 et 1924. Ils ont ensuite diminué de 1925 à 1973, et ils étaient les moins élevés de 1974 à 1984 (après quoi l’interdiction de la pêche est entrée en vigueur). On observe donc une tendance générale à la diminution. En posant l’hypothèse d’un poids moyen de 3,1 kg par poisson, Amiro (2003) calcule, pour les 109 ans de la pêche commerciale, une prise annuelle moyenne de 4 032 saumons.

Figure 9. Prises commerciales de saumons atlantiques (kg) dans des districts de pêche de l’IBF (comtés d’Albert et de Westmorland, au Nouveau-Brunswick) pendant la période de 1875 à 1984.

Figure 9. Prises commerciales de saumons atlantiques (kg) dans des districts de pêche de l’IBF (comtés d’Albert et de Westmorland, au Nouveau-Brunswick) pendant la période de 1875 à 1984. Tiré de R.W. Dunfield (comm. pers. à P. Amiro, MPO, Institut océanographique de Bedford).

 

Rivière Big Salmon

La figure 10a donne le nombre d’adultes anadromes qui sont retournés frayer de 1964 à 2002. C’est en 1966 que s’est effectué le retour le plus important, avec 5 043 saumons (IBC à 80 p. 100 = de 3 996 à 6 686), ce qui contraste fortement avec les 55 saumons (de 18 à 133) estimés pour 2002. La tendance générale est très négative. Le tableau 2 donne le taux de diminution sur 11 ans (soit 3 générations si l’on calcule 3,7 ans par génération) et sur des périodes de 5, 10, 20 et 30 ans. La probabilité d’une diminution de plus de 94,1 p. 100 sur 11 ans et de plus de 96,7 p. 100 sur 30 ans est de 90 p. 100. Pour les 5 dernières années seulement, le taux de déclin dépasse 76 p. 100. 

 

Tableau 2. Estimation des taux de diminution des populations de saumons atlantiques dans les 2 rivières témoins de l’IBF. Les taux de diminution minimaux (confiance à 90 %) ont été mesurés sur 11 ans (3 générations) et sur des périodes de 5, 10, 20 et 30 ans. L’estimation sur 3 générations (en italiques) fait la moyenne de l’abondance pour une génération de 4 ans (3,7 arrondi) et les autres estimations utilisent une moyenne mobile sur 5 ans. Les estimations pour la rivière Big Salmon sont calculées à partir de Gibson et al. (2003c) et sont basées sur le modèle privilégié (modèle 4). Les estimations pour la rivière Stewiacke sont fournies ou calculées par Gibson et Amiro (2003).
RivièrePériode
(années)
Moyenne
mobile
(années)
DébutFinTaux de diminution
minimal
(confiance à 90 %)
      
Big Salmon1141988-19911999-200294,1 %
 551992-19961997-200176,0 %
 1051987-19911997-200194,7 %
 2051977-19811997-200196,0 %
 3051967-19711997-200196,7 %
      
Stewiacke1141987-19901998-200199,0 %
 551992-19961997-200192,4 %
 1051987-19911997-200198,8 %
 2051977-19811997-200199,0 %
 3051967-19711997-200199,6 %

 

 

 Figure 10. Estimation du retour des adultes dans deux rivières témoins de l’IBF (échelle logarithmique).

 

Figure 10. Estimation du retour des adultes dans deux rivières témoins de l’IBF (échelle logarithmique). Les lignes continues indiquent les retours estimés; les lignes pointillées indiquent les limites de 10 p. 100 et de 90 p. 100 qui définissent l’intervalle bayesien de confiance (IBC) à 80 p. 100. (a) Retours estimés dans la rivière Big Salmon, de 1964 à 2002; tiré de Gibson et al. (2003c). (b)  Retours estimé dans la rivièreStewiacke, de 1965 à 2001; modifié à partir de Gibson et Amiro (2003) afin de combiner les saumons de petite et grande tailles. Estimation des retours d’adultes (échelle logarithmique).


Rivière Stewiacke

La figure 10b donne le nombre d’adultes anadromes qui sont retournés frayer de 1965 à 2001. C’est en 1967 que s’est effectué le retour le plus important, avec 6 693 saumons (IBC à 80 p. 100 = de 4 698 à 10 998), ce qui contraste fortement avec les 2 saumons (de 2 à 4) estimés pour 2001. La tendance générale est donc très négative. Le tableau 2 résume les taux de diminution. La probabilité d’une diminution de plus de 99 p. 100 sur 11 ans (3 générations) et de plus de 99,6 p. 100 sur 30 ans est de 90 p. 100. Pour les 5 dernières années seulement, le taux de diminution dépasse 92,4 p. 100.

Recensements des juvéniles

Les recensements des juvéniles effectués en 2002 dans 43 rivières de l’IBF démontrent que l’effondrement des populations de saumons de l’IBF ne se limite pas aux rivières Big Salmon et Stewiacke (figure 11). De ces rivières, 9 sont ensemencées par la banque de gènes vivants. Dans les 34 autres, qui dépendent de la production naturelle sauvage, seules 4 (3,4 p. 100) abritaient des alevins, ce qui indique une reproduction très faible ou nulle en 2001, et seules 12 (35,3 p. 100) abritaient des tacons. Les densités moyennes en alevins et en tacons dans les rivières du Nouveau-Brunswick étaient inférieures à 5,2 et 3,8 par 100 m2, alors que les densités nécessaires à la conservation sont de 29 alevins et de 38 tacons par 100 m2. Il n’y avait donc que 18 p. 100 des alevins et 10 p. 100 des tacons nécessaires à la conservation. Les alevins étaient totalement absents des rivières de la Nouvelle-Écosse, et la densité en tacons était inférieure à 7,1 par 100 m2, soit 19 p. 100 du nombre nécessaire à la conservation. Un plus petit recensement réalisé en 2003 n’a relevé que 3 tacons d’âge 0 dans 10 rivières non ensemencées par la banque de gènes vivants. Tous ont été observés dans la rivière Point Wolfe, ce qui indique que très peu de saumons ont frayé dans ces rivières en 2002 (Gibsonet al., 2004).

Figure 11. Densité des saumons atlantiques juvéniles (alevins et tacons) dans 41 rivières de l’IBF, calculée lors d’un recensement par pêche électrique dans 233 sites effectué en 2002.

Figure 11. Densité des saumons atlantiques juvéniles (alevins et tacons) dans 41 rivières de l’IBF, calculée lors d’un recensement par pêche électrique dans 233 sites effectué en 2002. Les points indiquent les densités médianes. Les boîtes indiquent l’écart interquartile. Les crochets indiquent les densités minimales et maximales. Les rivières ayant profité de la banque de gènes vivants (BGV) (gris pâle) sont celles dans lesquelles on a relâché des saumons atlantiques juvéniles depuis 1996. N est le nombre de sites recensés par pêche électrique dans chaque rivière. Les lignes pointillées indiquent séparément les densités nécessaires à la conservation (MPO) pour les alevins (29/100 m2) ou les tacons (38/100 m2), et ce, même si le graphique combine ces 2 stades. Ces points de référence peuvent donc seulement indiquer qu’une rivière n’atteint pas ces densités nécessaires à la conservation (c’est‑à‑dire que la somme des densités d’alevins et de tacons est inférieure aux 2 seuils). Les seuils de conservation sont basés sur les « normes d’Elson » élaborées par le MPO pour l’évaluation de l’état des stocks. Tiré de Gibson et al., (2003a) (seuils de conservation ajoutés).

Figure 12.Comparaison des densités de saumons atlantiques et d’autres espèces dans les rivières visées ou non par le programme de banque de gènes vivants.

Figure 12.      Comparaison des densités de saumons atlantiques et d’autres espèces dans les rivières visées ou non par le programme de banque de gènes vivants. On donne le nombre moyen de poissons capturés au premier passage dans le cadre de la pêche électrique réalisée en 2002 dans 172 sites des rivières de l’IBF. Les rivières visées parla BGVsont celles dans lesquelles on a relâché des saumons atlantiques juvéniles depuis 1996. Les sites sans espèces ne faisant pas partie des salmonidés ne sont pas inclus. Tiré de Gibsonet al.(2003a).

En se fondant sur les données relatives à la pêche récréative, Amiro (2003) estime que les populations de l’IBF ont pu atteindre un maximum de 46 614 adultes (voir aussi National Recovery Team, 2002; MPO, 2003). Il estime qu’il y avait moins de 500 saumons en 1998 et moins de 250 saumons en 1999. Il y avait probablement moins de 100 adultes en 2003. Étant donné le taux actuel de déclin et l’estimation de 100 adultes pour la dernière année pour laquelle nous possédons des données sur la fraye, même les évaluations du risque les plus conservatrices laissent entrevoir une disparition de l’espèce sauvage à très court terme. Par exemple, si l’on suppose que l’IBF a une population reproductrice unique de 100 individus et que cette population diminue d’au moins 90 p. 100 (le taux de la rivière la plus saine est de 94,1 p. 100 pour 3 générations), il restera moins de 2 individus dans 15 ans.

Différentes études évaluent le seuil de quasi-disparition du saumon à environ 100 femelles (N = 200) (Myerset al., 1995; Botsford et Brittnacher, 1996; voir aussi McElhanyet al., 2000). Au-dessous de ce nombre, le risque de disparition totale du saumon par stochasticité démographique, endogamie et autres problèmes liés aux petites populations est extrêmement élevé.

 

Effet d’une immigration de source externe

Comme il s’agit d’une UD unique, il n’y a pas de possibilité d’immigration de source externe puisque les régions limitrophes contiennent des saumons atlantiques génétiquement différents. Même si les populations de saumons voisines étaient suffisamment adaptées pour se reproduire et donner naissance à une progéniture vivante dans l’IBF, il reste que les populations des 3 régions limitrophes – soit l’EBF, la côte néo-écossaise et le Maine – sont extrêmement diminuées (MPO, 2003; National Research Council, 2004). En 2001, le National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) américain a classé un segment de population distinct (DPS) du Maine parmi les espèces en péril(endangered) aux termes de l’Endangered Species Act. L’espèce demeure soutenue dans le cadre d’un programme de banque de gènes vivants, mais elle a peu de chance de se rétablir dans un avenir prévisible (National Research Council, 2004). De même, étant donné leurs tendances démographiques, les populations de l’EBF et de la côte néo-écossaise répondent probablement aux critères du COSEPAC pour les espèces en voie de disparition. Par exemple, une analyse préliminaire des taux de diminution des 2 meilleures populations témoins, celles des rivières Saint‑Jean (EBF) et LaHave (côte néo‑écossaise), donne des taux de déclin sur 3 générations (11 ans, de 1993 à 2003) de 88,5 p. 100 et 73,0 p. 100 respectivement (données de R. Jones, MPO; calculs effectués par P. Amiro, MPO; le 20 mai 2004). Ces taux, bien que moins élevés que ceux des populations témoins de l’IBF, dépassent les critères du COSEPAC pour les espèces en voie de disparition.