Skip booklet index and go to page content

Species at Risk Act Annual Report for 2013

4 Protection of Individuals and Residences of Listed Species

4.1 Legislative Background

The protection that comes into effect following the addition of a species to Schedule 1 of SARA depends on the type of species (e.g., migratory bird, aquatic species), its listed status (endangered, threatened, special concern) and its location.

Sections 32 and 33 of SARA make it an offence to:

  • kill, harm, harass, capture or take an individual of a species that is listed as extirpated, endangered or threatened;
  • possess, collect, buy, sell or trade an individual of a species that is listed as extirpated, endangered or threatened, or any of its parts or derivatives; or
  • damage or destroy the residence of one or more individuals of a species that is listed as endangered or threatened, or of a species listed as extirpated if a recovery strategy has recommended its reintroduction into the wild in Canada.

These prohibitions apply immediately upon listing to:

  • all listed aquatic species,
  • all migratory birds protected under the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994 wherever they are found in Canada, and
  • all other extirpated, endangered or threatened species on federal lands or on lands in a territory under the authority of the Minister of the Environment or the Parks Canada Agency.

Provinces and territories have the primary responsibility to protect other listed species on provincial, territorial and private land. If the Minister of the Environment is of the opinion that the provincial or territorial legislation does not effectively protect the individuals of a species or their residences, the Minister is required, after consultation with the appropriate provincial or territorial minister or the applicable wildlife management board, to recommend to the Governor in Council that an order be made to apply the prohibitions in sections 32 and 33 of SARA.

The Act also contains requirements about the protection of critical habitat for species at risk once it has been identified. Section 6.1 of this report addresses the protection of critical habitat.

Top of Page

4.2 Emergency Protection Orders

Under section 80 of SARA, the Governor in Council may, on the recommendation of the competent minister, make an emergency order to provide for the protection of a listed wildlife species. The competent minister must make the recommendation to the Governor in Council if the competent minister is of the opinion that the species faces imminent threats to its survival or recovery.

In November 2013, the Governor in Council issued the first emergency order under section 80 of SARA to protect the Greater Sage-Grouse, an endangered bird that depends on the unique prairie ecosystem of southeastern Alberta and southwestern Saskatchewan. The order comes into force on February 18, 2014. In 2012, it was estimated that there were between 93 and 138 adult birds in Canada.

Greater Sage-Grouse, Photo: © Gordon Court
Greater Sage-Grouse
Photo: © Gordon Court

The Emergency Order addresses imminent threats to the survival and recovery of the Sage-Grouse by protecting important habitat for this species on certain provincial and federal Crown lands in Alberta and Saskatchewan. The Order also restricts activities on these lands that impact Sage-Grouse populations. The Order does not apply on private lands nor does it limit grazing on federal or provincial Crown lands. The Order, along with important voluntary stewardship measures, is anticipated to help stabilize the Sage-Grouse population and begin its recovery.

Top of Page

4.3 Permits

Sections 73 to 78 of SARA address agreements, permits, licences, orders and other instruments that authorize activities that otherwise would be offences under the Act.

If all reasonable alternatives have been considered, all feasible measures have been taken to minimize the impact of the activity, and the survival or recovery of the species is not jeopardized, the competent minister may enter into an agreement or issue a permit under section 73 of SARA for the following activities:

  • scientific research related to conserving a listed species, conducted by qualified persons;
  • activities that benefit a listed species or enhance its chances of survival in the wild; or
  • activities that incidentally affect a listed species.

In 2012, the Jobs, Growth and Long-term Prosperity Act amended SARA to provide the authority for regulations respecting time limits for issuing permits under section 73 of SARA, or for refusing to do so, and to specify the circumstances under which those limits may not apply. As a result, on July 3, 2013, the Permits Authorizing an Activity Affecting Listed Wildlife Species Regulations were published in the Canada Gazette, Part II. These Regulations outline the information required to be submitted when applying for a permit, impose a 90-day time limit on the government for issuing or refusing to issue permits, and outline the circumstances under which the time limit will be paused or does not apply, such as where an applicant does not submit all necessary information, where additional consultations are required (e.g., with Aboriginal people) or where the activity described in the permit application is modified before the permit is issued or refused.

Environment Canada, the Parks Canada Agency, and Fisheries and Oceans Canada issued a total of 144 SARA permits in 2013 for purposes of research, conservation and monitoring of listed species.

In 2013, Fisheries and Oceans Canada issued 80 SARA permits. Of these, 57 permits covering at least 34 listed species were issued to academic and government researchers as well as Fisheries and Oceans Canada scientists, for conservation research affecting species at risk, including inventory, population monitoring, habitat use and restoration, and conservation genetics. Twenty-five permits were for activities that may incidentally affect a listed species but where peer-reviewed assessments determined that the level of harm from these activities would not jeopardize the survival or recovery of the listed species.

In 2013, Environment Canada issued 41 permits to allow for the monitoring, inventory or management of 54 species, including reptiles, amphibians, birds, vascular plants, arthropods, molluscs, mosses and mammals. Of the 41 permits issued, 19 were for scientific research related to the conservation of a species, 5 were for activities benefiting a species or required to enhance its chance of survival in the wild, 10 were for activities incidentally affecting a species, and 7 were for more than one of these three purposes. Details regarding delivery against service standards are available online.

In 2013, the Parks Canada Agency issued 23 SARA permits. Of these, 19 permits covering at least 15 listed species were issued to academic and government researchers as well as Parks Canada scientists, for conservation research affecting species at risk, including inventory, population monitoring, habitat use and restoration, and conservation genetics. The remaining 4 permits were for activities that may incidentally affect a listed species. The Parks Canada Agency maintains an online research permitting system to enhance services to researchers, and to ensure that the Agency is informed of research being conducted in the protected heritage places network. The system incorporates a mandatory peer-review mechanism that ensures that SARA requirements are considered for every permitted research activity.

The majority of SARA-compliant permits issued by Parks Canada are issued under legislation other than SARA.

Explanations for all permits issued under the Act by Environment Canada, the Parks Canada Agency, and Fisheries and Oceans Canada are posted on the Species at Risk Public Registry.

Top of Page

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Loi sur les espèces en péril - Rapport annuel de 2013

4 Protection des individus et des résidences d'une espèce inscrite

4.1 Contexte juridique

La protection dont bénéficie une espèce à la suite de son ajout à l'annexe 1 de la LEP varie selon le type d'espèce (p. ex. oiseau migrateur, espèce aquatique, etc.), la catégorie de risque dans laquelle elle est inscrite (en voie de disparition, menacée ou préoccupante) et l'endroit où l'espèce se trouve au Canada.

Les actions suivantes constituent des infractions aux termes des articles 32 et 33 de la LEP :

  • tuer un individu d'une espèce sauvage inscrite comme espèce disparue du pays, en voie de disparition, menacée, ou lui nuire, le harceler, le capturer ou le prendre;

  • posséder, collectionner, acheter, vendre ou échanger un individu, ou une partie d'un individu ou un produit qui en provient, d'une espèce sauvage inscrite comme espèce disparue du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacée;

  • endommager ou détruire la résidence d'un ou de plusieurs individus d'une espèce inscrite comme espèce en voie de disparition ou menacée, ou d'une espèce inscrite comme espèce disparue du pays si un programme de rétablissement recommande sa réintroduction à l'état sauvage au Canada.

Ces interdictions s'appliquent dès l'inscription :

  • à toutes les espèces aquatiques inscrites;
  • à tous les oiseaux migrateurs protégés en vertu de la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs, où qu'ils se trouvent au Canada;
  • à toutes les autres espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées sur le territoire domanial ou sur les terres d'un territoire qui relève du ministre de l'Environnement ou de Parcs Canada.

Les provinces et les territoires sont les principaux responsables de la protection des autres espèces inscrites lorsqu'elles sont présentes sur les terres provinciales, territoriales et privées. Si le ministre de l'Environnement considère que les lois de la province ou du territoire ne protègent pas efficacement les individus appartenant à une espèce ou leurs résidences, le ministre doit, après consultation avec le ministre provincial ou territorial, ou, le cas échéant, avec le conseil de gestion des ressources fauniques, faire la recommandation au gouverneur en conseil que soit pris un décret pour que les interdictions en vertu des articles 32 et 33 de la LEP s'appliquent.

La Loi contient également des exigences quant à la protection de l'habitat essentiel des espèces en péril une fois qu'il a été déterminé. La section 6.1 du présent rapport porte sur la protection de l'habitat essentiel.

4.2 Décrets de protection d'urgence

Aux termes de l'article 80 de la LEP, le gouverneur en conseil peut, sur la recommandation du ministre compétent, prendre un décret d'urgence visant à protéger une espèce sauvage inscrite. Le ministre compétent est tenu de formuler des recommandations au gouverneur en conseil s’il estime que l'espèce est exposée à des menaces imminentes pour sa survie ou son rétablissement.

En novembre 2013, le gouverneur en conseil a publié le tout premier décret d'urgence en vertu de l'article 80 de la LEP pour protéger le Tétras des armoises, un oiseau en voie de disparition qui dépend de l'écosystème unique des prairies du sud-est de l'Alberta et du sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan. Le décret entre en vigueur le 18 février 2014. En 2012, on a estimé qu'il existait entre 93 et 138 oiseaux adultes au Canada.

Tétras des armoises, photo : © Gordon Court
Tétras des armoises
Photo : © Gordon Court

Le décret d'urgence vise à répondre aux menaces imminentes qui pèsent sur la survie et le rétablissement du Tétras des armoises en protégeant l'habitat essentiel de cette espèce sur les terres publiques fédérales et provinciales de l'Alberta et de la Saskatchewan. Le décret limite également les activités sur les terres qui ont des répercussions sur les populations de Tétras des armoises. Le décret ne s'applique pas aux terres privées et ne restreint pas le pâturage sur les terres de la Couronne fédérales ou provinciales. Le décret ainsi que d'importantes mesures d'intendance volontaires devraient aider à stabiliser la population du Tétras des armoises et à amorcer son rétablissement.

4.3 Permis

Les articles 73 à 78 de la LEP portent sur les accords, la délivrance de permis et de licences, les décrets et les autres instruments permettant d'exercer des activités qui, autrement, constitueraient une infraction à la Loi.

Si toutes les solutions de rechange raisonnables ont été envisagées, si toutes les mesures possibles ont été prises pour minimiser les conséquences négatives de l'activité sur l'espèce et si l'activité ne met pas en péril la survie ou le rétablissement de l'espèce, le ministre compétent peut conclure un accord ou délivrer un permis en vertu de l'article 73 de la LEP pour la pratique des activités suivantes :

  • recherche scientifique sur la conservation d'une espèce inscrite menée par des personnes compétentes;
  • activités qui profitent à une espèce inscrite ou qui augmentent ses chances de survie à l'état sauvage;
  • activités qui ne touchent l'espèce que de façon incidente.

En 2012, la Loi sur l'emploi, la croissance et la prospérité durable a modifié la LEP pour accorder le pouvoir d'élaborer des règlements par rapport aux délais d'émission de permis en vertu de l'article 73 de cette Loi ou au refus d’en émettre, et pour préciser les circonstances dans lesquelles ces délais peuvent ne pas s'appliquer. En conséquence, le 3 juillet 2013, le Règlement sur les permis autorisant une activité touchant une espèce sauvage inscrite a été publié dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada. Ce règlement contient un aperçu des renseignements à soumettre dans la demande d'un permis. Il impose un délai de 90 jours au gouvernement pour délivrer ou refuser de délivrer des permis et il décrit les circonstances dans lesquelles le délai sera suspendu ou ne s'applique pas, par exemple, lorsqu'un candidat ne soumet pas tous les renseignements nécessaires, lorsque des consultations supplémentaires sont nécessaires (p. ex. avec les peuples autochtones) ou lorsque l'activité décrite dans la demande de permis est modifiée avant la delivrance ou le refus du permis.

En 2013, Environnement Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada et Parcs Canada ont délivré un total de 144 permis aux termes de la LEP aux fins de recherche, de conservation ou de surveillance d'espèces inscrites.

En 2013, Pêches et Océans Canada a délivré 80 permis en vertu de la LEP. Cinquante-sept de ces permis, concernant au moins 34 espèces inscrites, ont été délivrés à des chercheurs universitaires et gouvernementaux ainsi qu'à des scientifiques de Pêches et Océans Canada pour des activités de recherche sur la conservation d'espèces en péril, notamment le dénombrement, la surveillance des populations, l'utilisation et la restauration de l'habitat ainsi que la génétique de la conservation. Vingt-cinq permis portaient sur des activités susceptibles de toucher accidentellement une espèce inscrite, mais où les évaluations examinées par les pairs déterminaient que le degré de dommage de ces activités ne mettrait pas en péril la survie ou le rétablissement de ces espèces.

En 2013, Environnement Canada a délivré 41 permis autorisant la surveillance, le dénombrement ou la gestion de 54 espèces de reptiles, d'amphibiens, d'oiseaux, de plantes vasculaires, d'arthropodes, de mollusques, de mousses et de mammifères. Des 41 permis délivrés, 19 étaient destinés à la recherche scientifique sur la conservation d'une espèce; cinq concernaient des activités qui profitent à une espèce ou augmentent ses chances de survie à l'état sauvage; dix permis portaient sur des activités touchant une espèce incidemment et sept permis concernaient plus d'une de ces activités. Les détails concernant les prestations par rapport aux normes de service sont disponibles en ligne à l'adresse.

En 2013, Parcs Canada a délivré 23 permis conformes à la LEP. Dix-neuf de ces permis, concernant au moins 15 espèces inscrites, ont été délivrés à des chercheurs universitaires et gouvernementaux ainsi qu'à des scientifiques de Parcs Canada pour des activités de recherche sur la conservation d'espèces en péril, notamment le dénombrement, la surveillance des populations, l'utilisation et la restauration de l'habitat ainsi que la génétique de la conservation. Les quatre autres permis portaient sur des activités susceptibles de toucher de façon incidente une espèce inscrite. Parcs Canada gère un système électronique de délivrance de permis destinés à la recherche. Ce système améliore les services offerts aux chercheurs et permet à Parcs Canada d'être informé des activités de recherche qui sont menées dans le réseau des lieux patrimoniaux protégés. Le système comporte un mécanisme obligatoire d'évaluation par les pairs qui garantit que chaque activité de recherche visée par le permis est conforme à la LEP.

La majorité des permis conformes à la LEP et délivrés par Parcs Canada sont publiés en vertu de lois autres que la LEP.

Les justifications de tous les permis délivrés par Environnement Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada et Parcs Canada en vertu de la LEP sont publiées dans le Registre public des espèces en péril.