Skip booklet index and go to page content

Species at Risk Act Annual Report for 2013

5 Recovery Planning for Listed Species

5.1 Legislative Requirements

A wide range of measures are required for the recovery of species at risk. Under SARA, the competent ministers must prepare recovery strategies and action plans for species listed as extirpated, endangered or threatened and management plans for those listed as special concern. Recovery strategies identify threats to the species and its habitat, identify critical habitat to the extent possible, and set population and distribution objectives for the species. Action plans outline the actions to be taken to meet the objectives in the recovery strategy. Management plans include measures for species listed as special concern.

Table 6 shows the required timelines for developing recovery strategies and management plans. The timelines for developing action plans are set within the recovery strategies. Posting of SARA recovery documents is the responsibility of the federal competent minister for the species; however, they must be developed, to the extent possible, in cooperation and consultation with all relevant jurisdictions and directly affected parties.

Table 6: Timeline for developing recovery documents (in years)

Note: Table 6 has been split into two separate components: Recovery strategy and Management plan

Recovery strategy
Species listing dateStatus:
Endangered
Status:
Threatened or extirpated
June 5, 2003
3
4
New listings after June 5, 2003
1
2
Reassessed Schedule 2 or 3 listings,
after June 5, 2003
3
4

 

Management plan
Species listing dateStatus:
Special concern
June 5, 2003
5
New listings after June 5, 2003
3
Reassessed Schedule 2 or 3 listings,
after June 5, 2003
5

Proposed recovery strategies, action plans and management plans are posted on the Species at Risk Public Registry for a 60-day public comment period. The competent ministers consider comments and make changes where appropriate. The final recovery strategy or action plan, as applicable, is to be published in the public registry within 30 days after the expiry of the public comment period. Five years after a recovery strategy, action plan or management plan comes into effect, the competent minister must report on progress made toward the stated objectives.

Top of Page

5.2 Recovery Planning Activities in 2013

5.2.1 Recovery Strategies

A recovery strategy is a planning document that identifies what needs to be done to reverse the decline of a threatened or endangered species. It sets population and distribution objectives that will assist the recovery and survival of species, and identifies the threats to the species and its habitat and the main activities to address these threats. A single recovery strategy may address multiple species at risk. Environment Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, and the Parks Canada Agency use a multispecies/ecosystem-based approach for the recovery of species at risk where appropriate.

In 2013, the competent departments continued to work on recovery strategies at various stages of development. Environment Canada posted proposed or final recovery documents for 40 species in 2013, and a large number of recovery documents have been drafted and are expected to be posted in the near future. In 2013, Fisheries and Oceans Canada posted proposed recovery strategies for 9 aquatic species and final recovery strategies for 3 aquatic species. Parks Canada completed and posted 11 recovery strategies in 2013. New recovery strategies that were posted on the Species at Risk Public Registry are listed in Table 7. Revised recovery strategies were also published on the Registry for Greater Sage-Grouse (Environment Canada) and Carmine Shiner, Round Hickorynut and Kidneyshell (Fisheries and Oceans Canada).

Table 7: Number of new recovery strategies posted in 2013, and the listed species at risk covered by them, by competent department

Note: Table 7 has been split in two sections: Proposed recovery strategies and Final recovery strategies.

Proposed recovery strategies
Competent departmentNo.Species covered
Environment Canada12
  • American Badger jacksoni subspecies
  • Cobblestone Tiger Beetle
  • Dwarf Woolly-heads (Southern Mountain population)
  • Eastern Flowering Dogwood
  • False Hop Sedge
  • Fowler’s Toad
  • Gold-edged Gem
  • Ivory Gull
  • Lemmon’s Holly Fern
  • Short-rayed Alkali Aster
  • Slender Collomia
  • Stoloniferous Pussytoes
  • Western Spiderwort
  • Williamson’s Sapsucker

Total of 14 species covered

Fisheries and Oceans Canada6
  • Channel Darter
  • Eastern Sand Darter (Quebec population)
  • Humpback Whale (North Pacific population)
  • Spring Cisco
  • Westslope Cutthroat Trout (Alberta population)
  • White Sturgeon (Kootenay River population)
  • White Sturgeon (Nechako River population)
  • White Sturgeon (Upper Columbia River population)
  • White Sturgeon (Upper Fraser River population)

Total of 9 species covered

Parks Canada Agency6
  • California Buttercup
  • Gray’s Desert-parsley
  • Macoun’s Meadowfoam
  • Massasauga
  • Northern Saw-whet Owl brooksi subspecies
  • Oregon Lupine

 

Final recovery strategies
Competent departmentNo.Species covered
Environment Canada12
  • American Badger jacksoni subspecies
  • American Marten (Newfoundland population)
  • Cobblestone Tiger Beetle
  • Dwarf Woolly-heads (Southern Mountain population)
  • Flooded Jellyskin
  • Heart-leavened Plantain
  • Horned Grebe (Magdalen Islands population)
  • Lemmon's Holly Fern
  • Pink Milkwort
  • Short-rayed Alkali Aster
  • Slender Collomia
  • Southern Maidenhair Fern
  • Stoloniferous Pussytoes
  • Western Spiderwort

Total of 14 species covered

Fisheries and Oceans Canada3
  • Channel Darter
  • Humpback Whale (North Pacific population)
  • Pugnose Shiner
Parks Canada Agency11
  • Brook Spike-primrose
  • California Buttercup
  • Coast Microseris
  • Dense Spike-primrose
  • Foothill Sedge
  • Fragrant Popcornflower
  • Lindley’s False Silverpuffs
  • Macoun’s Meadowfoam
  • Muhlenberg’s Centaury
  • Oregon Lupine
  • White Meconella

5.2.2 Identification of Critical Habitat

SARA defines “critical habitat” as the habitat that is necessary for the survival or recovery of a listed wildlife species and that is identified as the species’ critical habitat in the recovery strategy or in an action plan for the species. Competent ministers must identify critical habitat to the extent possible, based on the best available information, in recovery strategies and action plans.

In 2013, Environment Canada identified critical habitat for 14 species in final recovery documents during the 2012 calendar year. Critical habitat was also identified for an additional 6 species in proposed documents that were posted on the Species at Risk Public Registry.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada posted final recovery strategies with critical habitat identified for six aquatic species: Pugnose Shiner, Humpback Whale (North Pacific population), Channel Darter, Round Hickorynut, Kidneyshell and Carmine Shiner, which had its critical habitat identified in a revised recovery strategy. An additional seven aquatic species had their critical habitat identified in proposed recovery strategies posted on the registry.

The Parks Canada Agency identified critical habitat for all 11 species for which final recovery strategies were posted in 2013. The Agency also identified critical habitat for three species in proposed recovery strategies posted on the Species at Risk Public Registry: Massasauga, Gray’s Desert Parsley and Northern Saw-whet Owl.

5.2.3 Action Plans

An action plan identifies the conservation measures required to meet the population and distribution objectives outlined in the recovery strategy. An action plan may also identify critical habitat or complete the identification of critical habitat if it is not fully identified in the recovery strategy. An action plan also includes information on measures proposed to protect that critical habitat, methods proposed to monitor the recovery of the species, and an evaluation of the socio-economic costs of the action plan and benefits to be derived from its implementation.

In 2013, Environment Canada posted a final action plan for one species (Piping Plover circumcinctus subspecies in Ontario) on the Species at Risk Public Registry.

In 2013, Parks Canada completed detailed guidance for action planning and, when possible, will favour a site-based, multispecies approach for action plans that will prioritize conservation actions for the suite of species at risk found in Parks Canada heritage places. In 2013, Parks Canada completed drafts for two site-based action plans and continued the development of 12 multispecies action plans.

5.2.4 Management Plans

Species of special concern are those that may become threatened or endangered because of a combination of biological characteristics and identified threats. SARA requires management plans for species of special concern. A management plan differs from a recovery strategy and an action plan in that it identifies conservation measures needed to prevent a species of special concern from becoming threatened or endangered. Where appropriate, these management plans will be prepared for multiple species on an ecosystem or landscape level.

The management plans that were posted on the Species at Risk Public Registry in 2013 are listed in Table 8.

Table 8: Number of management plans posted in 2013, and the listed species at risk covered by them, by competent department

Note: Table 8 has been split into two parts: Proposed management plans and Final management plans.

Proposed management plans
Competent departmentNo.Species covered
Environment Canada5
  • Athabasca Thrift
  • Beach Pinweed
  • Climbing Prairie Rose
  • Felt-leaf Willow
  • Five-lined Skink (Great Lakes/St. Lawrence population)
  • Floccose Tansy
  • Large-headed Woolly Yarrow
  • Mackenzie Hairgrass
  • Sand-dune Short-capsuled Willow
  • Spring Salamander
  • Turnor’s Willow

Total of 11 species covered

Fisheries and Oceans Canada2
  • Bowhead Whale (Bering-Chukchi-Beaufort population)
  • Sea Otter
Final management plans
Competent departmentNo.Species covered
Environment Canada12
  • Athabasca Thrift
  • Barrow’s Goldeneye (Eastern population)
  • Beach Pinweed
  • Felt-leaf Willow
  • Five-lined Skink (Great Lakes/St. Lawrence population)
  • Flammulated Owl
  • Floccose Tansy
  • Great Plains Toad
  • Hart’s-tongue Fern
  • Large-headed Woolly Yarrow
  • Long-billed Curlew
  • Mackenzie Hairgrass
  • Northern Leopard Frog (Western Boreal/Prairie populations)
  • Pygmy Snaketail
  • Sand-dune Short-capsuled Willow
  • Swamp Rose-mallow
  • Turnor’s Willow
  • Yellow Rail

Total of 18 species covered

Fisheries and Oceans Canada0 

Note: The number of management plans completed may be different than the number of species covered. A plan can cover more than one species.

Top of Page

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Loi sur les espèces en péril - Rapport annuel de 2013

5 Planification du rétablissement des espèces inscrites

5.1 Exigences législatives

Une vaste gamme de mesures sont nécessaires pour le rétablissement d'espèces en péril. En vertu de la LEP, les ministres compétents doivent préparer des programmes de rétablissement et des plans d'action pour les espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées, ainsi que des plans de gestion pour les espèces classées comme préoccupantes. Les programmes de rétablissement déterminent les menaces pesant sur l'espèce et son habitat, désignent l'habitat essentiel dans la mesure du possible et fixent des objectifs propres à l'espèce en matière de population et de répartition. Les plans d'action présentent les activités nécessaires à l'atteinte des objectifs définis dans le programme de rétablissement. Les plans de gestion comprennent des mesures pour les espèces inscrites comme préoccupantes.

Le tableau 6 expose l'échéancier prévu pour l'élaboration des programmes de rétablissement et des plans de gestion. L'échéancier prévu pour l'élaboration des plans d'action est établi dans le cadre de ces programmes de rétablissement. L'affichage des documents de rétablissement prescrits par la LEP est la responsabilité du ministre fédéral compétent pour l'espèce concernée. Ces documents doivent toutefois être élaborés, dans la mesure du possible, en coopération et en consultation avec toutes les autorités pertinentes et les parties directement touchées.

Tableau 6 : Échéancier d'élaboration des plans de rétablissement (en années)

Note : Le Tableau 6 a été séparé en deux sections : Programme de rétablissement et Plan de gestion

Programme de rétablissement
Date d'inscription des espècesStatut :
Espèce en voie de disparition
Statut :
Espère menacée ou disparue du pays
5 juin 2003
3
4
Nouvelles inscriptions après le 5 juin 2003
1
2
Réévaluation des inscriptions des annexes 2 et 3
après le 5 juin 2003
3
4

 

Plan de gestion
Date d'inscription des espècesStatut : Espèce préoccupante
5 juin 2003
5
Nouvelles inscriptions après le 5 juin 2003
3
Réévaluation des inscriptions des annexes 2 et 3
après le 5 juin 2003
5

Les programmes de rétablissement, les plans d'action et les plans de gestion proposés sont affichés dans le Registre public des espèces en péril pour une période de consultation publique de 60 jours. Les ministres compétents examinent les observations exprimées et apportent des changements, le cas échéant. La version définitive du programme de rétablissement ou du plan d'action, le cas échéant, doit être publiée dans le registre public dans les 30 jours suivant l'expiration de la période de commentaires du public. Cinq ans après l'entrée en vigueur d'un programme de rétablissement, d'un plan d'action ou d'un plan de gestion, le ministre compétent doit préparer des rapports sur les progrès accomplis dans l'atteinte des objectifs fixés.

5.2 Activités de planification du rétablissement en 2013

5.2.1 Programmes de rétablissement

Un programme de rétablissement est un document de planification qui identifie ce qui doit être réalisé pour inverser le déclin d'une espèce menacée ou en voie de disparition. Il fixe les objectifs en matière de population et de répartition qui contribueront au rétablissement et à la survie de l'espèce et détermine les menaces qui pèsent sur l'espèce et son habitat et les principales mesures à prendre pour contrer ces menaces. Plusieurs espèces en péril peuvent être visées par un même programme de rétablissement. Environnement Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada et Parcs Canada ont recours à une approche écosystémique/plurispécifique pour le rétablissement d'espèces en péril, le cas échéant.

En 2013, les ministères compétents ont continué à travailler sur les programmes de rétablissement à différentes étapes d'élaboration. Environnement Canada a publié des documents relatifs au rétablissement concernant 40 espèces en 2013 et a préparé l'ébauche d'un grand nombre d'autres documents sur le rétablissement qui devraient être publiés dans un avenir proche. En 2013, Pêches et Océans Canada a publié les programmes de rétablissement proposés de neuf espèces aquatiques et les versions définitives des programmes de rétablissement de trois espèces aquatiques. Parcs Canada a terminé et publié onze programmes de rétablissement en 2013. Une liste des nouveaux programmes de rétablissement qui ont été publiés dans le Registre public des espèces en péril est dressée au tableau 7. Les programmes de rétablissement révisés ont également été publiés dans le registre du Tétras des armoises (Environnement Canada) et de la tête carminée, de l'obovarie ronde et du ptychobranche réniforme (Pêches et Océans Canada).

Tableau 7 : Nombre de programmes de rétablissement publiés en 2013 et nombre d'espèces visées, par ministère compétent

Note : Le Tableau 7 a été séparé en deux sections : Programme de rétablissement proposés et Programme de rétablissement définitifs

Programmes de rétablissement proposés
Ministère compétentNombreEspèces visées
Environnement Canada
12
  • Blaireau d'Amérique de la sous-espèce jacksoni
  • Cicindèle des galets
  • Psilocarphe nain (population des montagnes du Sud)
  • Cornouiller fleuri
  • Carex faux-lupulina
  • Crapaud de Fowler
  • Héliotin d'Aweme
  • Mouette blanche
  • Polystic de Lemmon
  • Aster feuillu
  • Collomia délicat
  • Antennaire stolonifère
  • Tradescantie de l'Ouest
  • Pic de Williamson

Total de 14 espèces visées

Pêches et Océans Canada
6
  • Dard gris
  • Dard de sable (population du Québec)
  • Rorqual à bosse (population du Pacifique Nord)
  • Cisco de printemps
  • Truite fardée versant de l'ouest (population de l'Alberta)
  • Esturgeon blanc (population de la rivière Kootenay)
  • Esturgeon blanc (population de la rivière Nechako)
  • Esturgeon blanc (population du cours supérieur du fleuve Columbia)
  • Esturgeon blanc (population de la partie supérieure du fleuve Fraser)

Total de neuf espèces visées

Parcs Canada
6
  • Renoncule de Californie
  • Lomatium de Gray
  • Limnanthe de Macoun
  • Massasauga
  • Petite Nyctale de la sous-espèce brooksi
  • Lupin d'Orégon

 

Programmes de rétablissement définitifs
Ministère compétentNombreEspèces visées
Environnement Canada
12
  • Blaireau d'Amérique de la sous-espèce jacksoni
  • Martre d'Amérique (population de Terre-Neuve)
  • Cicindèle des galets
  • Psilocarphe nain (population des montagnes du Sud)
  • Leptoge des terrains inondés
  • Plantain à feuilles cordées
  • Grèbe esclavon (population des Îles-de-la-Madeleine)
  • Polystic de Lemmon
  • Polygale incarnat
  • Aster feuillu
  • Collomia délicat
  • Adiante cheveux-de-Vénus
  • Antennaire stolonifère
  • Tradescantie de l'Ouest

Total de 14 espèces visées

Pêches et Océans Canada
3
  • Dard gris
  • Rorqual à bosse (population du Pacifique Nord)
  • Méné camus
Parcs Canada
11
  • Épilobe de Torrey
  • Renoncule de Californie
  • Microséris de Bigelow
  • Épilobe densiflore
  • Carex tumulicole
  • Plagiobothryde odorante
  • Uropappe de Lindley
  • Limnanthe de Macoun
  • Petite-centaurée de Muhlenberg
  • Lupin d'Orégon
  • Méconelle d'Orégon

5.2.2 Désignation de l'habitat essentiel

La LEP définit l'« habitat essentiel » comme étant l'habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement d'une espèce sauvage inscrite, qui est désigné comme tel dans un programme de rétablissement ou un plan d'action élaboré à l'égard de l'espèce. Les ministres compétents doivent, dans la mesure du possible, déterminer les habitats essentiels dans leurs programmes de rétablissement et leurs plans d'action en utilisant les meilleurs renseignements disponibles.

En 2013, Environnement Canada a déterminé l'habitat essentiel de 14 espèces dans des documents de rétablissement définitifs au cours de l'année civile 2012. L'habitat essentiel de six autres espèces a aussi été déterminé dans des documents proposés, publiés dans le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Pêches et Océans Canada a publié les versions définitives de programmes de rétablissement désignant un habitat essentiel pour six espèces aquatiques : le méné camus, le rorqual à bosse (population du Pacifique Nord), le fouille-roche gris, l'obovarie ronde, le ptychobranche réniforme et la tête carminée, dont l'habitat essentiel a été déterminé dans un programme de rétablissement révisé. L'habitat essentiel de sept autres espèces aquatiques a été désigné dans les programmes de rétablissement proposés publiés dans le registre.

Parcs Canada a désigné l'habitat essentiel des onze espèces pour lesquelles les versions définitives des programmes de rétablissement ont été publiées en 2013. Parcs Canada a aussi localisé l'habitat essentiel de trois espèces dans les programmes de rétablissement proposés et publiés dans le Registre public des espèces en péril : le massasauga, le lomatium de Gray et la petite nyctale.

5.2.3 Plans d'action

Un plan d'action énonce les mesures de conservation exigées pour atteindre les objectifs en matière de population et de répartition décrits dans le programme de rétablissement. Il peut aussi désigner l'habitat essentiel ou achever ce dernier s'il n'est pas entièrement désigné dans le programme de rétablissement. Un plan d'action peut également comprendre des renseignements sur les mesures proposées pour protéger cet habitat essentiel, des méthodes suggérées pour effectuer le suivi du rétablissement de l'espèce ainsi qu'une évaluation du coût socioéconomique du plan d'action et les bénéfices à tirer de son application.

En 2013, Environnement Canada a publié un plan d'action définitif concernant une espèce (le pluvier siffleur de la sous-espèce circumcinctus en Ontario) dans le Registre public des espèces en péril.

En 2013, Parcs Canada a achevé l'élaboration de directives détaillées concernant l'établissement d'un plan d'action. Dans la mesure du possible, il privilégiera une approche plurispécifique adaptée à chaque site pour les plans d'action qui accorderont la priorité aux mesures de conservation à prendre pour la liste d'espèces en péril présentes dans les aires patrimoniales protégées de Parcs Canada. En 2013, Parcs Canada a terminé les ébauches de deux plans d'action adaptés à chaque site et a continué l'élaboration de 12 plans d'action plurispécifiques.

5.2.4 Plans de gestion

Une espèce préoccupante est une espèce pouvant devenir menacée ou en voie de disparition en raison de nombreuses caractéristiques biologiques et des menaces qui pèsent sur elle. La LEP exige les plans de gestion des espèces préoccupantes. Un plan de gestion diffère d'un programme de rétablissement et d'un plan d'action dans la mesure où il définit les mesures de conservation nécessaires pour empêcher qu'une espèce préoccupante devienne menacée ou en voie de disparition. Au besoin, ces plans de gestion seront élaborés pour de multiples espèces d'un écosystème ou au niveau du paysage.

Le tableau 8 indique le nombre de plans de gestion qui ont été publiés dans le Registre public des espèces en péril en 2013.

Tableau 8 : Nombre de plans de gestion publiés en 2013 et espèces visées, par ministère compétent

Note : Le Tableau 8 a été séparé en deux sections : Plans de gestion proposés et Plans de gestion définitifs

Plans de gestion proposés
Ministère compétentNombreEspèces visées
Environnement Canada 
5
  • Arméria de l'Athabasca
  • Léchéa maritime
  • Rosier sétigère
  • Saule silicicole
  • Scinque pentaligne (population des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent)
  • Tanaisie floconneuse
  • Achillée à gros capitules
  • Deschampsie du bassin du Mackenzie
  • Saule psammophile
  • Salamandre pourpre
  • Saule de Turnor

Total de onze espèces visées

Pêches et Océans Canada
2
  • Baleine boréale (des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort)
  • Loutre de mer

Remarque : Le nombre de plans de gestion achevés peut être différent du nombre d'espèces visées. Un seul plan peut concerner plus d'une espèce.

Plans de gestion définitifs
Ministère compétentNombreEspèces visées
Environnement Canada 
12
  • Arméria de l'Athabasca
  • Garrot d'Islande (population de l'Est)
  • Léchéa maritime
  • Saule silicicole
  • Scinque pentaligne (population des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent)
  • Petit-duc nain
  • Tanaisie floconneuse
  • Crapaud des steppes
  • Scolopendre d'Amérique
  • Achillée à gros capitules
  • Courlis à long bec
  • Deschampsie du bassin du Mackenzie
  • Grenouille léopard (population dans la forêt boréale de l'Ouest et des Prairies)
  • Ophiogomphe de Howe
  • Saule psammophile
  • Ketmie des maries
  • Saule de Turnor
Pêches et Océans Canada
0
 

Remarque : Le nombre de plans de gestion achevés peut être différent du nombre d'espèces visées. Un seul plan peut concerner plus d'une espèce.