Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Multi-Species at Risk in Maritime Meadows associated with Garry Oak Ecosystems in Canada (Proposed)


Species Descriptions

1.16 Prairie lupine Lupinus lepidus var. lepidus

Assessment Summary – May 2000

Common name: prairie lupine

Scientific name: Lupinus lepidus var. lepidus

Status: Endangered Reason for designation: Endangered due to small distribution and declining populations. May be extirpated.

Occurrence: British Columbia

Status history: Designated Endangered in April 1996. Status re-examined and confirmed Endangered in May 2000. May 2000 assessment based on new quantitative criteria applied to existing 1996 status report.

1.16.1 The species

The current taxonomy of prairie lupineis complicated and is not universally accepted. Refer to Douglas and Ryan (1996b) for a description of classification and nomenclature.

Lupinus lepidus var. lepidus is a tufted, perennial herb that grows 20-45 cm tall. Most of the silky leaves grow at the base of the plant with a few alternate leaves along the stem. The leaves are palmately compound, with 5-9 leaflets. The flower is a terminal raceme of pea-like flowers, each 10-13 mm long, ranging in colour from blue, white or purple. The hairy seedpods are 1-3 cm long and contain 2-4 seeds. Distinguishing features include the densely hairy stems and leaves and the woody stem-base (Douglas et al. 1999a; Ryan and Douglas 1996).

1.16.2 Distribution

Ryan and Douglas (1996b)consider the range ofprairie lupine to extend from British Columbia south to Washington and Oregon. The distribution in the United States is difficult to determine because of taxonomic confusion and because it is not tracked as a rare species (SNR) in Washington and Oregon. The species is ranked S1 in Alaska but the identification of the specimen has been questioned (Ryan and Douglas 1996b). The species is relatively common in southern Puget Sound prairies (Thurston and Pierce Counties). Although the prairies themselves are highly fragmented and threatened, within the prairies, prairie lupine is common and is a characteristic species of the Roemer's fescue/white-topped aster (Festuca idahoensis var. roemerii/Sericocarpus rigidus) plant association (Chappell pers. comm. 2004).

In Canada, two prairie lupine populations have recently (BC CDC 2005) been re-confirmed on southeast Vancouver Island at Mt. Braden and Mt. MacDonald. The historical extent of occurrence is difficult to determine because of limited records (BC Conservation Data Centre 2004).

Figure 7. Global and Canadian distribution of prairie lupine
(Global distribution on left; Canadian on right with open triangles showing extirpated populations, grey triangles showing unverified populations and solid triangles showing location of recently extant population)
Figure 7. Global and Canadian distribution of prairie lupine (Global distribution on left; Canadian on right with open triangles showing extirpated populations, grey triangles showing unverified populations and solid triangles showing location of recently extant population)

1.16.3 Population and distribution trend

The COSEWIC status report describes 7 extirpated or sites having poor location information. There is no indication of the past total number of plants in Canada.

Since the status report was written, two populations have been confirmed at Mount Braden (1996) in the Sooke Hills Wilderness Area and at Mount Wells Regional Park (2001) (Table 15). No plants were found in subsequent years at the Mount Braden population (Roemer pers. comm. 2004), until July 0f 2005 when 2 plants were seen. At Mount Wells, 7 plants were first observed in 2001 after a burn (BC Conservation Data Centre 2004). In 2003, the site was heavily vegetated with hairy manzanita [Arctostaphylos columbiana]and the alien Scotch broom [Cytisus scoparius]and only 2 plants (one of which flowered with 2 seeds in the seedpod) were found (Maslovat pers. obs. 2003). The plants were not found in 2004, although seed probably still exists in the seedbbank (Roemer pers. comm. 2004). In addition, in July of 2005, 113 plants were found on Mt. MacDonald where the plants had not been seen since 1913 (BC CDC database).

Table 15. Population information for prairie lupine in Canada
PopulationLand TenureData from Status ReportSubsequent Data
DateObserver# PlantsDateObserver# Plants
Langford PlainsUnknown1908MacounExtirpatedNo further information
Mount MacDonaldCapital Regional District (CRD) Park Reserve, Sooke Hills Wilderness Area1915NewcombeUnknown
Observatory HillNational Research Council Herzberg Institute of Astrophysics1960HardyUnknown2003FairbarnsLikely Extirpated
Koksilah River ValleyUnknown1973BrayshawUnknownNo further information
Cattle PointMunicipality of Oak Bay (designated as an urban park)1991BrayshawUnknownMay have been based on misidentification (Fairbarns and Penny 2003)
Beacon HillMunicipality of Victoria (designated as an urban park)1993RyanExtirpatedNo further information
Somenos LakeUnknown151994DouglasExtirpated
Mount BradenCRD Park Reserve, Sooke Hills Wilderness AreaPopulation unknown when status report written1996Roemer4
19990
20052
Mount WellsCRD Park Reserve, Sooke Hills Wilderness AreaPopulation unknown when status report written2001Roemer7
2003Maslovat2 (one flwr)
2004RoemerSeedbank?
Mt. MacDonaldCRD Park Reserve, Sooke Hills Wilderness AreaPopulation last seen in 19132005Roemer113

15 Responsible jurisdiction is either the BC Ministry of Transportation or the Esquimalt & Northern Railroad since the site lies between the Trans Canada Highway and the rail line.

1.16.4 Biotic and abiotic features of habitat

Prairie lupine has been documented from few sites in Canada, so precise habitat descriptions are difficult to determine (Ryan and Douglas 1996b). It tends to occur on very dry, exposed sites with well-drained, nutrient poor, rocky or gravelly soils (Ryan and Douglas 1996b). Prairie lupine populations occurred on level to sloping (20%) ground with elevations ranging from 30-360 metres. At Mount Wells (2001), it was observed in a recent burn area, in flat shallow (< 30 cm) soil. One former site was regularly mowed and another was in a disturbed area between the highway and a railroad (BC Conservation Data Centre 2004).

At Mount Wells, prairie lupine was found in association with resprouting hairy manzanita (Arctostaphylos columbiana), seedlings of red-flowering currant (Ribes sanguineum), gummy gooseberry (Ribes lobbii), oceanspray (Holodiscus discolor), annual grasses and weeds. At Mount Braden, it was observed in patchy Roemer's fescue (Festuca idahoensis ssp. roemeri), Rhacomitrium canescens and lichens. At Somenos, it was found with Rhacomitrium canescens and large-leaved lupine (Lupinus polyphyllus) with the alien Scotch broom (Cytisus scoparius) on the edges of the population (BC Conservation Data Centre 2004).

In Washington, it appears to prefer water stressed sites that have low soil moisture in the summer (Ewing pers. comm. 2004).

1.16.5 Annual cycle

Prairie lupine is a perennial plant that appears to be short-lived. There is no published information about the phenology or demography of this species. Prairie lupine appears to have a long life in the seedbank (Douglas pers. comm. 2004).

1.16.6 Biologically limiting factors

Without periodic soil disturbance or fires, prairie lupine plants appear to decline over time (Ryan and Douglas 1996b). Adult plants may be dying either due to a lack of vigour in adult plants or due to competition (Ryan and Douglas 1996b).

Other Lupinus species are affected by seed predation (Grosboll pers. comm. 2004) and herbivory (Fagan and Bishop 2000; Fagan et al. 2001) but the effect on prairie lupine is not known. During planting trials in Seattle, Washington, prairie lupine seedlings decreased in size with the addition of mulch and fertilizer and were decimated by an unknown disease (Ewing 2002; Ewing pers. comm. 2004).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement multi-espèces visant les espèces en péril des prés maritimes associés aux chênaies de Garry au Canada (Proposé)


Information sur les espèces

1.16 Lupin élégant (Lupinus lepidus var. lepidus)

Nom commun : Lupin élégant

Nom scientifique : Lupinus lepidus var. lepidus

Statut : Espèce en voie de disparition

Dernier examen ou dernière modification : Mai 2000 (aucune modification)

Justification de la désignation : En voie de dispraition en raison d'une petite aire de répartition et de populations en déclin. Peut être disparu du Canada.

Présence au Canada : Colombie-Britannique

Historique du statut : Espèce désignée « en voie de disparition » en avril 1996. Réexamen et confirmation du statut en mai 2000. Dernière évaluation fondée sur un rapport de situation existant.

1.16.1 L'espèce

La taxinomie actuelle du lupin élégant est complexe et ne fait pas l'unanimité. Douglas et Ryan (1996b) donnent une description de la classification et de la nomenclature.

Le Lupinus lepidus var. lepidus est une herbacée vivace formant une touffe de 20 à 45 cm de hauteur. Les feuilles, soyeuses, sont surtout basiliaires, la tige portant quelques feuilles alternes. Les feuilles sont palmées, à 5 à 9 folioles. Les fleurs, bleues, blanches ou violettes, sont semblables à celles du pois et réunies en grappes terminales. Elles mesurent 10 à 13 mm de longueur. Les gousses sont pubescentes, mesurent 1 à 3 cm de longueur et contiennent 2 à 4 graines. Les caractères distinctifs incluent les tiges et feuilles densément pubescentes et la base de la tige ligneuse (Douglas et al., 1999a; Ryan et Douglas, 1996).

1.16.2 Populations et répartition

Selon Ryan et Douglas (1996b), l'aire de répartition du lupin élégant s'étend de la Colombie-Britannique jusqu'en Oregon, en passant par l'État de Washington. La répartition de l'espèce aux États-Unis est difficile à déterminer en raison de la confusion qui règne autour de sa taxinomie et du fait qu'elle n'est pas considérée comme une espèce rare dans l'État de Washington et en Oregon (cote SNR). On lui a attribué la cote S1 en Alaska, mais l'identification du spécimen concerné a été remise en question (Ryan et Douglas, 1996b). Le lupin élégant est relativement commun dans les prairies de la portion sud de Puget Sound (comtés de Thurston et de Pierce). Bien que ces prairies soient très fragmentées et menacées, le lupin élégant y est commun et est une espèce caractéristique de l'association végétale fétuque de Roemer/aster rigide (Festuca idahoensis var. roemerii/Sericocarpus rigidus) (Chappell, comm. pers., 2004).

Au Canada, l'existence de deux populations de lupin élégant a récemment (BC Conservation Data Centre, 2005) été reconfirmée dans le sud-est de l'île de Vancouver, aux monts Braden et MacDonald. La zone d'occurrence historique du lupin élégant est difficile à déterminer à cause du faible nombre de mentions (BC Conservation Data Centre, 2004).

Figure 7. Répartition mondiale et canadienne du Lupinus lepidus var. lepidus.
(La répartition mondiale est illustrée à gauche, et la répartition canadienne, à droite. Pour le Canada, les populations disparues sont désignées par un triangle ouvert, les populations dont la situation n'a pas été vérifiée, par un triangle gris, et les populations existantes encore tout récemment, par un triangle plein.)
Figure 7. Répartition mondiale et canadienne du Lupinus lepidus var. lepidus.(La répartition mondiale est illustrée à gauche, et la répartition canadienne, à droite. Pour le Canada, les populations disparues sont désignées par un triangle ouvert, les populations dont la situation n'a pas été vérifiée, par un triangle gris, et les populations existantes encore tout récemment, par un triangle plein.)

1.16.3 Tendances des populations et de la répartition

Le rapport de situation du COSEPAC décrit sept populations disparues ou stations pour lesquelles les indications géographiques sont imprécises. On ignore la taille de la population totale historique au Canada.

Depuis la rédaction du rapport de situation, la présence de deux populations a été confirmée, l'une au mont Braden (1996), dans l' aire de nature sauvage des Sooke Hills, et l'autre au parc régional du mont Wells (2001) (tableau 15). Aucun individu n'a été trouvé au cours des années subséquentes au mont Braden (Roemer, comm. pers., 2004), mais en juillet 2005, 2 individus y ont été observés. Au mont Wells, 7 individus ont été découverts en 2001 après un incendie (BC Conservation Data Centre, 2004). En 2003, la station était envahie par des populations denses de busserole du Columbia [Arctostaphylos columbiana] et de genêt à balais [Cytisus scoparius], espèce exotique, et seulement 2 individus (dont un qui avait fleuri et portait 2 graines dans une gousse) ont été trouvés (Maslovat, obs. pers., 2003). Aucun individu n'a été trouvé en 2004, mais les graines étaient probablement encore présentes dans le réservoir de semences (Roemer, comm. pers., 2004). Enfin, en juillet 2005, 113 individus ont été trouvés au mont MacDonald; c'était la première fois que la présence de l'espèce y était observée depuis 1913 (base de données du Centre de données sur la conservation de la Colombie-Britannique).

Tableau 15. Stations canadiennes du Lupinus lepidus var. lepidus
PopulationRégime foncierDonnées tirées du rapport de situationDonnées obtenues subséquemment
DateObservateursNombre d'individusDateObservateursNombre d'individus
Plaines de LangfordInconnu1908MacounDisparueAucune donnée obtenue subséquemment
Mont MacDonaldRéserve de parc du district régional de la capitale, aire de nature sauvage des Sooke Hills1915NewcombeInconnuAucune donnée obtenue subséquemment
Observatory HillInstitut Herzberg d'astrophysique du Conseil national de recherches1960HardyInconnu2003FairbarnsProbablement disparue
Vallée de la KoksilahInconnu1973BrayshawInconnuAucune donnée obtenue subséquemment
Pointe CattleMunicipalité d'Oak Bay (lieu désigné parc urbain)1991BrayshawInconnuMention peut-être fondée sur une identification erronée (Fairbarns et Penny, 2003)
Beacon HillVille de Victoria (lieu désigné parc urbain)1993RyanDisparueAucune donnée obtenue subséquemment
Lac SomenosInconnu151994DouglasDisparueAucune donnée obtenue subséquemment
Mont BradenRéserve de parc du district régional de la capitale, aire de nature sauvage des Sooke HillsPopulation inconnue au moment de la rédaction du rapport de situation1996
1999
2005
Roemer4
0
2
Mont WellsRéserve de parc du district régional de la capitale, aire de nature sauvage des Sooke HillsPopulation inconnue au moment de la rédaction du rapport de situation2001
2003
2004
Roemer
Maslovat
Roemer
7
2 (un ayant fleuri)
Réserve de
semences?
Mont MacDonaldRéserve de parc du district régional de la capitale, aire de nature sauvage des Sooke HillsPopulation qui n'avait pas été observée depuis 19132005Roemer113

15 Cette station relève soit du ministère des Transports de la Colombie-Britannique ou de la Esquimalt & Northern Railroad, car elle est située entre l'autoroute Transcanadienne et la voie ferrée.

1.16.4 Caractéristiques biotiques et abiotiques de l'habitat

Comme le lupin élégant compte au Canada seulement quelques stations répertoriées, il est difficile de décrire de façon précise les caractéristiques de son habitat (Ryan et Douglas, 1996b). Il se rencontre généralement dans des milieux xériques exposés à sol rocailleux ou graveleux bien drainé et pauvre en éléments nutritifs (Ryan et Douglas, 1996b). Les populations se rencontrent en terrain plat ou incliné (20 %), à des altitudes variant entre 30 à 360 mètres. Au mont Wells (2001), le lupin élégant a été observé dans un secteur brûlé depuis peu, en terrain plat à sol peu profond (< 30 cm). Une station anciennement occupée était régulièrement fauchée, et une autre se trouvait dans une zone perturbée entre l'autoroute et une voie ferrée (BC Conservation Data Centre, 2004).

Au mont Wells, le lupin élégant a été trouvé en association avec la busserole du Columbia (Arctostaphylos columbiana) (sujets produisant des rejets), le groseillier sanguin (Ribes sanguineum) (semis), le groseillier de Lobb (Ribes lobbii), l'holodisque discolore (Holodiscus discolor) et diverses mauvaises herbes et graminées annuelles. Au mont Braden, il a été observé parmi des colonies éparses de fétuque de Roemer (Festuca idahoensis ssp. roemeri), dela mousse Racomitrium canescens et de lichens. Au lac Somenos, il poussait en compagnie du Racomitrium canescens et du lupin polyphylle (Lupinus polyphyllus), et le genêt à balais (Cytisus scoparius), espèce exotique, était présent en périphérie de la population (BC Conservation Data Centre, 2004).

Dans l'État de Washington, le lupin élégant semble préférer les milieux exposés à un stress hydrique, où le sol est très peu humide en été (Ewing, comm. pers., 2004).

1.16.5 Cycle annuel

Le lupin élégant est une plante vivace qui semble présenter une courte durée de vie. Rien n'a encore été publié sur la phénologie ou la démographie de l'espèce. Les graines semblent demeurer viables pendant de longues périodes dans le réservoir de semences (Douglas, comm. pers., 2004).

1.16.6 Facteurs limitatifs sur le plan biologique

En l'absence de perturbations périodiques du sol ou d'incendies, le lupin élégant semble décliner (Ryan et Douglas, 1996b). La disparition de l'espèce pourrait être due à un manque de vigueur des sujets matures ou à la compétition (Ryan et Douglas, 1996b).

La prédation des graines (Grosboll, comm. pers., 2004) et l'herbivorie (Fagan et Bishop, 2000; Fagan et al., 2001) touchent d'autres Lupinus, mais les effets de ces facteurs chez le lupin élégant sont inconnus. Durant des essais de plantation effectués à Seattle, dans l'État de Washington, l'ajout de paillis et d'engrais a causé une diminution de la taille des semis, et une maladie inconnue a décimé la population (Ewing, 2002; Ewing, comm. pers., 2004).