Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Multi-Species at Risk in Maritime Meadows associated with Garry Oak Ecosystems in Canada (Proposed)


Species Descriptions

1.10 Island marble euchloe ausonides insulanus

Common Name: island marble

Scientific Name: Euchloe ausonides insulanus Guppy & Shepard

Status: Extirpated

Reason for designation: This butterfly was formerly found on two islands off the west coast, but has not been seen in Canada since 1908. It is presumed to have been extirpated by 1910.

Canadian Occurrence: British Columbia

Status history: Extirpated by 1910. Designated Extirpated in April 1999. Status confirmed in May 2000. Last assessment based on an existing status report.

1.10.1 The species

Euchloe ausonides subspecies insulanus is a well-delineated taxon as described in the COSEWIC Status report (Shepard 2000b). The species was recognized as a separate subspecies as described in Guppy and Shepard (2001).

The island marble is a white and greyish black butterfly with a marbled texture to the underside of the hindwings and black markings at the tips of the forewings. The veins on the hindwings are emphasized as yellowish lines, giving the species a marbled appearance. The sexes are similar but the females have darker yellowish marbling on the hindwings, and a yellow ground colour, compared to the white of the males. The body is covered with whitish-yellow hairs giving it a fuzzy appearance.

Figure 1. Approximate global and Canadian distribution of island marble
(Extant populations shown as stars, extirpated populations as triangles)
Figure 1. Approximate global and Canadian distribution of island marble (Extant populations shown as stars, extirpated populations as triangles)

1.10.2 Distribution

The subspecies Euchloe ausonides insulanus is isolated from the rest of the species' range. The species as a whole is found from Alaska south to California and Colorado and east to Ontario and Minnesota.

The current global range of the subspecies, insulanus consists of one known population in Washington State (S1), identified in 1998 at San Juan Island Historical Park, American Camp, San Juan Island, Washington (Figure 1) (J. Fleckenstein per. comm. 2002). Other than this single population, the subspecies insulanus has not been documented in the United States. The subspecies has been extirpated from British Columbia (Hinchliff 1994, 1996; Layberry et al. 1998).

1.10.3 Population and distribution trend

The island marble is known from 14 historical records in Canada suggesting the existence of five naturally fragmented populations distributed among the Greater Victoria area (Langford, Beacon Hill Park and James Bay), and Nanaimo (Wellington) on Vancouver Island and Gabriola Island (Figure 1). The earliest record, from the 1860s, was a specimen labeled simply 'Vancouver;' this was most likely a reference to Vancouver Island. The species is presumed extirpated by about 1910, with the last record in Canada being in 1908 on Gabriola Island. Recent survey efforts have not located any new populations of this species in Canada.

Extirpation of the island marble in Garry oak ecosystems in Canada occurred prior to substantial habitat loss of these ecosystems. It is suspected that grazing by sheep and/or cattle prior to, or during World War I eliminated the larval foodplant (suspected to be hairy rockcress [Arabis hirsuta]) and acted as the primary cause leading to extirpation of this species from British Columbia (Shepard 2000b). The overall reasons for extirpation are unknown.

There is no published estimate of global abundance for the population on San Juan Island. At least 20 individuals were observed in 2002, (Fleckenstein pers.comm. 2002; Miskelly pers. comm.2004), and at least 100 in 2003 (Pyle pers. comm.2003), but no population estimate was completed. There is no indication of the former total number of individuals in Canada.

1.10.4 Biotic and abiotic features of habitat

Since the island marble has not been recorded in Canada since 1908, habitat requirements are based on information from the San Juan Island population in the United States and current descriptions of sites with historic records.

The San Juan Island population lives in a large (> 100 ha) open area that contains three distinct habitats: mesic, disturbed grassland; sand dunes; and shorelines. The area primarily faces west and is devoid of large trees. The areas used by the butterflies are not steep: slopes range from flat to up to 50% (Miskelly pers. obs. 2004). Introduced mustards (Brassicaceae) are patchy but abundant in the grassland and sand dunes, while native foodplants are abundant along the shorelines. Native and introduced weedy mustards (Brassicaceae) usually reach their highest densities in moderately disturbed areas. The mustard plants in the grasslands grow in areas disturbed by burrowing mammals (Fleckenstein pers. comm. 2002; Miskelly pers. comm. 2004; Pyle pers. comm. 2003). There are no similar habitats of this scale in Canada.

The extant population on San Juan Island, Washington, oviposits on the introduced European weeds field mustard (Brassica campestris) and tumble mustard(Sisymbria altissimum), and the native tall pepper-grass (Lepidium virginicum), family Brassicaceae (Fleckenstein pers. comm. 2002; Miskelly pers. comm. 2004; Pyle pers. comm. 2003). This is consistent with documented use of weedy introduced Brassicaceae by larvae of other subspecies of Euchloe ausonides (Opler 1975). Field mustard grows in more mesic habitat than native rockcress (Arabis) species, and is therefore less susceptible to early dessication.

In Canada, it is likely that the island marble was associated with open grassland successional stages of Garry oak and associated ecosystems. Larval foodplants in British Columbia were likely rockcress (Arabis spp.), perhaps A. hirsuta (Shepard 2000a; 2000b), as well as tall pepper-grass (Lepidium virginicum). Rockcress (Arabis spp.) is the major foodplant for subspecies mayi in the southern interior of BC. However there is no historical record of the larval foodplants or the habitats used.

1.10.5 Spatial requirements

The amount of habitat needed to sustain a viable population is unknown. It is likely that a moderately large habitat patch or close proximity to other patches is required for long term survival. A patch of 50 to 100 hectares of high quality habitat may be required, based on an estimate of a 100 ha area inhabited by the extant population on San Juan Island although further research is required to determine minimum habitat sizes. There are very few habitat patches of this size that remain in British Columbia.

1.10.6 Annual cycle

Eggs hatch from late May to late June and larvae feed until pupation, which occurs between late-June and late-July.

High mortality results if the larval food plants desiccate prior to pupation. The amount of spring and early summer rain affects the date of food plant senescence, and hence larval success in reaching pupation.

1.10.7 Ecological niche

There has been no research on the ecological role of this butterfly. The adults may be minor pollinators of flowers. The larvae are minor herbivores of Brassicaceae family and feed on flowers and fruits. Adults, larvae and pupae may serve as prey for insectivorous birds, small mammals, and predatory insects (Family Braconidae). Eggs, larvae and pupae are likely to also function as hosts for insect parasitoids (van Nouhys and Hanski, 2004).

1.10.8 Biologically limiting factors

There is minimal knowledge of the biologically limiting factors for the island marble.

Flight and dispersal capabilities have not been studied. Observations on the behaviour of subspecies mayi, suggest that individual adults may move significant distances during their lifespan. In California, near the ocean, adults of E. ausonides have been documented moving up to one kilometre (Scott 1975a; 1975b).

The larvae of island marbles are actively feeding during late May and June, the later part of the period in which Btk is scheduled for application in the historic range of the species in British Columbia (Nealis pers. comm. 2003).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement multi-espèces visant les espèces en péril des prés maritimes associés aux chênaies de Garry au Canada (Proposé)


Information sur les espèces

1.10 Marbré insulaire (Euchloe ausonides insulanus)

Nom commun : Marbré insulaire

Nom scientifique : Euchloe ausonides

Statut : Espèce disparue du pays

Dernier examen ou dernière modification : Mai 2000 (aucune modification)

Justification de la désignation : Ce papillon se trouvait auparavant sur deux îles au large de la côte Ouest, mais il a disparu des deux sites en 1910 en raison de la perte de la plante-hôte de ses larves. Il n'a pas été observé au Canada depuis lors.

Présence au Canada : Colombie-Britannique

Historique du statut : Espèce disparue du Canada avant 1910. Espèce désignée « disparue du pays » en avril 1999. Réexamen et confirmation du statut en mai 2000. Dernière évaluation fondée sur un rapport de situation existant.

1.10.1 L'espèce

L'Euchloe ausonides ssp. insulanus est un taxon bien défini selon la description fournie dans le rapport de situation du COSEPAC (Shepard, 2000b). L'espèce a été reconnue comme une sous-espèce distincte, selon la description fournie par Guppy et Shepard (2001).

Le marbré insulaire est un papillon diurne blanc et noir grisâtre. Le dessous des ailes postérieures est marbré, tandis que le sommet des ailes antérieures porte des marques noires. Les nervures des ailes postérieures sont surlignées de jaune, ce qui confère à l'espèce son aspect marbré. Les sexes sont semblables, mais chez la femelle, les marbrures de l'aile postérieure sont d'un jaune plus foncé et la couleur principale des ailes est jaune, alors qu'elle est blanche chez le mâle. Le corps est recouvert d'une pubescence jaune blanchâtre qui lui confère un aspect pelucheux.

1.10.2 Répartition

L'Euchloe ausonides insulanus est isolé des autres sous-espèces. Considérée dans son ensemble, l'espèce se rencontre de l'Alaska à la Californie et au Colorado et, vers l'est, jusqu'en Ontario et au Minnesota.

À l'échelle mondiale, la sous-espèce insulanus est actuellement représentée par une seule population dans l'État de Washington (S1). Cette population a été découverte en 1998 dans le parc historique San Juan (American Camp), dans l'île San Juan (figure 1) (J. Fleckenstein, comm. pers., 2002). Cette sous-espèce n'a été observée nulle part ailleurs aux États-Unis et est disparue de la Colombie-Britannique (Hinchliff 1994, 1996; Layberry et al., 1998).

Figure 1. Répartition mondiale et canadienne approximative de l'Euchloe ausonides insulanus.
(La population existante est désignée par une étoile, et les populations disparues, par un triangle.)
Figure 1. Répartition mondiale et canadienne approximative de l'Euchloe ausonides insulanus.(La population existante est désignée par une étoile, et les populations disparues, par un triangle.)

1.10.3 Tendances des populations et de la répartition

Le marbré insulaire compte 14 mentions historiques pour le Canada. Selon ces mentions, cinq populations naturellement fragmentées auraient existé dans la région du Grand Victoria (Langford, parc Beacon Hill et baie James) et à Nanaimo (Wellington), dans l'île de Vancouver, et dans l'île Gabriola (figure 1). La mention la plus ancienne, qui date de 1860, se rattache à un spécimen dont l'étiquette indique simplement « Vancouver »; cette mention désigne fort probablement l'île de Vancouver. L'espèce aurait disparu du Canada autour de 1910, car la dernière mention de sa présence au pays, à l'île Gabriola, remonte à 1908. Les relevés récents n'ont révélé la présence d'aucune nouvelle population au Canada.

Au Canada, la disparition du marbré insulaire des écosystèmes du chêne de Garry est antérieure à la perte d'une portion importante des habitats de ces écosystèmes. On pense que le broutement par les moutons ou le bétail avant ou durant la Première Guerre mondiale aurait causé l'élimination de la plante hôte (présumément l'arabette hirsute [Arabis hirsuta]) et aurait ainsi constitué le principal facteur à l'origine de la disparition du marbré insulaire en Colombie-Britannique (Shepard, 2000b). Toutefois, l'ensemble des facteurs à l'origine de cette disparition demeurent inconnus.

Il n'existe aucune estimation publiée de l'abondance de la seule population connue au monde, établie dans l'île San Juan. Au moins 20 individus ont été observés en 2002 (Fleckenstein, comm. pers., 2002; Miskelly, comm. pers., 2004), et au moins 100 en 2003 (Pyle, comm. pers., 2003), mais la taille de cette population n'a jamais été estimée. On ignore également quelle était la taille de la population totale au Canada.

1.10.4 Caractéristiques biotiques et abiotiques de l'habitat

Comme le marbré insulaire n'a pas été observé au Canada depuis 1908, notre connaissance de ses besoins en matière d'habitat est fondée sur les caractéristiques de l'habitat privilégié par la population de l'île San Juan, aux États-Unis, et sur des descriptions récentes des milieux qu'il a déjà occupés.

La population de l'île San Juan occupe un vaste (> 100 ha) territoire dégagé englobant trois habitats distincts, soit une prairie mésique perturbée, des dunes et une zone littorale. Cette aire est principalement orientée à l'ouest et ne compte aucun arbre de grande taille. Les secteurs occupés par le marbré insulaire ne sont pas escarpés, les pentes allant de nulle à 50 % (Miskelly, obs. pers., 2004). Les crucifères (Brassicacées) introduites forment des colonies éparses mais sont abondantes dans la prairie et les dunes, tandis que les plantes hôtes indigènes sont abondantes le long du littoral. Les espèces envahissantes de crucifères, qu'elles soient indigènes ou introduites, atteignent généralement leur densité maximale dans des milieux modérément perturbés. Les espèces des prairies se rencontrent dans les secteurs perturbés par les mammifères fouisseurs (Fleckenstein, comm. pers., 2002; Miskelly, comm. pers., 2004; Pyle, comm. pers., 2003). Il n'existe aucun autre habitat similaire de cette échelle au Canada.

À l'île San Juan (Washington), les femelles déposent leurs œufs sur trois espèces de crucifères, soit la moutarde des oiseaux (Brassica campestris) et le sisymbre élevé (Sisymbrium altissimum), deux mauvaises herbes d'origine européenne, et la lépidie de Virginie (Lepidium virginicum), espèce indigène (Fleckenstein, comm. pers., 2002; Miskelly, comm. pers., 2004; Pyle, comm. pers., 2003). Les autres sous-espèces de l'Euchloe ausonides se nourrissent également à l'état larvaire de crucifères envahissantes introduites (Opler, 1975). La moutarde des oiseaux pousse dans des milieux plus mésiques que les espèces indigènes d'arabettes (Arabis) et est par conséquent moins vulnérable au dessèchement précoce.

Au Canada, le marbré insulaire était probablement associé aux stades de succession de prairie ouverte des chênaies de Garry et des écosystèmes associés. En Colombie-Britannique, ses plantes hôtes étaient probablement des arabettes (Arabis spp.), peut-être l'A. hirsuta (Shepard, 2000a; 2000b), ainsi que la lépidie de Virginie (Lepidium virginicum). Les arabettes (Arabis spp.) sont les principales plantes hôtes de la sous-espèce mayi dans l'intérieur sud de la Colombie-Britannique. Il n'existe cependant aucune mention historique des plantes hôtes ou des habitats utilisés par le marbré insulaire.

1.10.5 Besoins en matière d'espace

On ignore quelle est la superficie d'habitat minimale pour maintenir une population viable. Vraisemblablement, la survie à long terme de la sous-espèce dépend de la présence d'une parcelle d'habitat relativement grande ou de parcelles d'habitat favorable à proximité. La superficie d'habitat de qualité requise pourrait atteindre 50 à 100 hectares, si l'on se fie à la superficie du territoire occupé actuellement par la population de l'île San Juan, estimée à 100 ha. De plus amples recherches s'imposent pour déterminer la superficie d'habitat minimale dont l'espèce a besoin pour survivre. Très peu de parcelles d'habitat adéquat de cette superficie existent encore en Colombie-Britannique.

1.10.6 Cycle annuel

Les œufs éclosent entre la fin de mai et la fin de juin, et les chenilles se nourrissent jusqu'à la nymphose, qui survient entre la fin de juin et la fin de juillet.

Les taux de mortalité larvaire sont élevés si les plantes hôtes se dessèchent avant que les chenilles aient achevé leur développement. Les quantités de précipitations au printemps et au début de l'été influent sur la date de sénescence des plantes hôtes et, par conséquent, sur le taux de nymphose du marbré insulaire.

1.10.7 Niche écologique

Le rôle écologique de ce papillon n'a fait l'objet d'aucune recherche. Les adultes jouent probablement un rôle mineur à titre d'agents pollinisateurs. Les chenilles infligent des dommages négligeables aux crucifères hôtes et se nourrissent de fleurs et de fruits. Les adultes, les chenilles et les chrysalides sont les proies d'oiseaux insectivores, de petits mammifères et d'insectes prédateurs (famille des Braconidés). Les œufs, les chenilles et les chrysalides sont probablement les hôtes de divers insectes parasitoïdes (van Nouhys et Hanski, 2004).

1.10.8 Facteurs limitatifs sur le plan biologique

On sait très peu de choses sur les facteurs limitatifs sur le plan biologique pour le marbré insulaire.

La capacité de vol et de dispersion du marbré insulaire n'a pas été étudiée. Des observations du comportement de la sous-espèce mayi donnent à croire que les adultes peuvent parcourir de grandes distances durant leur vie. En Californie, dans des régions situées près de l'océan, des déplacements pouvant atteindre un kilomètre ont été observés chez l'E. ausonides (Scott, 1975a; 1975b).

Les chenilles du marbré insulaire se nourrissent activement à la fin de mai et en juin, soit dans la dernière partie de la période durant laquelle les applications de Btk sont effectuées dans l'aire de répartition historique de l'espèce en Colombie-Britannique (Nealis, comm. pers., 2003).