Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Salish Sucker (Catostomus sp.) in Canada (proposed)

1. Background


1.1 Species information

The status report and assessment summary for Salish Sucker is available from the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) Secretariat.

Common name: Salish Sucker

Scientific name: Catostomus sp.

Assessment Summary: November 2002

COSEWIC Status: Endangered, April 1987 and May 2000

Species at Risk Act (SARA) Status: Endangered, June 2005

Reason for Designation: This species has a restricted range in Canada, and is in significant decline due to habitat loss and degradation.

Range in Canada: British Columbia

Status History: Designated Endangered in April 1996. Status re-examined and confirmed in May 2000. Last assessment based on an existing status report

1.2 Species description

The Salish Sucker (Catostomus sp.) is closely related to the Longnose sucker (C. catostomus), a widespread species in North America. The two taxa diverged when a population became geographically isolated in the Chehalis River valley (present-day Washington State) sometime during the Pleistocene glaciations (McPhail 1987). The Salish Sucker is considered an evolutionarily significant unit (McPhail & Taylor 1999) and can be considered a “species in the making” (McPhail 1987), although its precise taxonomic status is currently being investigated.

The Salish Sucker is dark-green, mottled with black dorsally, dirty-white ventrally and develops a broad red lateral stripe during the spawning season. This stripe is especially vivid in males. Scales are fine, the snout is short and blunt, and the small mouth is located on the lower surface of the head (McPhail & Carveth 1994). Few males exceed 200 mm (fork length) and they can reach sexual maturity at less than 100 mm; females seldom exceed 250 mm (Pearson & Healey 2003).

1.3 Populations and distribution

Populations of Salish Suckers have been documented in 11 British Columbia watersheds, all in the Fraser Valley. At least four others occur in northwestern Washington State (Figure 1). The population in Little Campbell River, BC is believed to have been extirpated, although there is an unconfirmed report of Salish Suckers in a pond within the floodplain of the Little Campbell (Pearson pers. comm. 2011). Current information suggests that approximately 25% of the global range and 70% of all populations are in Canada (Figure 1). The species has been in decline since at least the 1960s (McPhail 1987), and probably for much longer (Pearson 2004a).


Figure 1. Distribution of the Salish Sucker

Maps showing the distribution of Salish Sucker in Canada (see long description below).

In Canada (left panel), the Salish Sucker has been observed in eleven watersheds: (1) Little Campbell River, (2) Salmon River, (3) Bertrand Creek, (4) Pepin Brook, (5) Fishtrap Creek, (6) Salwein Creek/Hopedale Slough, (7) Chilliwack Delta (Atchelitz/Chilliwack/ Semmihault Creeks), (8) Elk Creek/Hope Slough, (9) Mountain Slough, (10) Agassiz Slough, (11) Miami Creek. Globally, it is also found in four other watersheds in northwestern Washington (right panel).

Description of Figure 1

Figure 1 is a map showing the distribution of Salish Sucker in Canada. The map depicts the Fraser Valley and Lower Mainland area of British Columbia, stretching from Vancouver on the west side of the map to Harrison Lake in the northeast corner of the map to the United States border along the southern border of the map. The following watersheds where Salish Sucker have been observed are identified on the map: Salmon River, Bertrand Creek, Pepin Brook, Fishtrap Creek, (Salwein Creek/Hopedale Slough, Chilliwack Delta (Atchelitz/Chilliwack/ Semmihault Creeks), Elk Creek/Hope Slough, Mountain Slough, Agassiz Slough, and Miami Creek. The Little Campbell River watershed is depicted as a watershed where the Salish Sucker is believed to be extirpated. A second map shows the global distribution of Salish Sucker in southwestern British Columbia and western Washington State. In addition to the watersheds listed above, four watersheds in Washington State where Salish Sucker is known are identified (adapted from Pearson 2004a and McPhail 1997).


In the current landscape, there are virtually no aquatic connections between adjacent populations. Exceptions include a small headwater pond that feeds both Mountain Slough and Miami Creek and an occasional high water connection between Bertrand Creek and the Salmon River via a headwater wetland (Pearson pers. comm. 2010). The only other route between watersheds is via the mainstem Fraser River or Nooksack River, although no Salish Suckers have ever been reported from either and captures in larger sloughs are extremely rare (Pearson pers. comm. 2010). Prior to the drainage of Sumas Lake (1920s) and the construction of the dyke system following the 1948 flood, permanent and high water connections among populations would have been more common. This raises the possibility that the populations were historically linked in a meta-population structure.

1.4 Description of the species' needs

1.4.1 Biological needs, ecological role, and limiting factors

Salish Suckers are well-equipped to inhabit headwater streams, where habitat conditions may vary widely on daily, seasonal, and longer time scales. They tolerate higher temperatures and lower dissolved oxygen levels than most other native fish that occur in this region of British Columbia. The major natural limiting factor for populations is the availability of high quality habitat. Salish Suckers have life history characteristics that promote rapid population growth, given adequate habitat. Compared to Longnose sucker, the Salish Sucker is small, short-lived, and early-maturing. Most spawn for the first time in their second year, and they rarely live beyond 5 years (McPhail 1987). Salish Suckers begin spawning in April, but the period is protracted (6 to 8 weeks, Pearson 2004a), relative to the Longnose sucker (2 to 3 weeks, Barton 1980; Schlosser 1990; Scott & Crossman 1973), a trait that increases fecundity in species otherwise limited by small female body size (Blueweiss et al. 1978; Burt et al. 1988). Spawning occurs between early April and mid July (McPhail 1987; Pearson & Healey 2003) and egg incubation is likely complete by mid-August.


1.4.2 Habitat needs

Physical habitat

Adults are most abundant in marshes and American beaver (Castor canadensis) ponds with mud or silt substrates. The proportion of channel deeper than 70 cm is the strongest predictor of adult presence in a reach. Occupied reaches also have significantly less riffle and more in-stream vegetation than reaches in which Salish Suckers are absent. Although fewer data exist for young-of-the-year, they appear to be associated with shallow pool and glide habitats containing abundant vegetation (Pearson 2004a). Spawning typically occurs in gravel riffles (McPhail 1987), but groundwater upwellings are likely used in systems lacking riffle habitats (Pearson unpublished data). Most individuals appear to have small home ranges (mean of 170 m of channel) although some individuals are known to venture thousands of metres during the spawning period (Pearson & Healey 2003).

Water quality

Water must have oxygen, pH, temperature, and toxin levels that are not harmful to the species. Salish Suckers appear well-adapted to low oxygen environments and have been captured in areas with concentrations below 2 mg/L (Pearson unpublished data). Sublethal effects (e.g., reduced growth and fecundity) likely occur at these concentrations. Based on observation and experience, an appropriate target for dissolved oxygen in Salish Sucker habitat is ≥ 4 mg/L. This is lower than the federal water quality guideline for aquatic life (5 mg/L, CCREM 1987), but these are intended to protect species like salmonids, which are very intolerant of hypoxia. Thermal tolerances of the Salish Sucker are unknown, but activity is minimal at temperatures below 6°C (Pearson & Healey 2003) and apparently healthy fish have been caught in temperatures of up to 23°C (Pearson unpublished data). The sensitivity of Salish Suckers to toxic contamination is unknown. Salish Suckers are generally absent from reaches where the landscape within a 200 m radius of the channel is more than 50% urban by area (Pearson 2004a). These reaches invariably receive urban stormwater containing contaminated sediments from road runoff (Hall et al. 1991). As bottom-dwelling fish, Salish Suckers in these habitats are likely to be chronically exposed to toxins in sediments.

Spatial distribution and temporal stability of habitats

Distribution of the Salish Sucker is clumped, with a few sites harbouring most individuals (Pearson 2004a). These ‘hotspots’ likely result from rare convergences of optimal levels in a few key environmental variables (Brown et al. 1995). For Salish Suckers these variables likely include extensive areas of deep water (100s of metres of channel) close to spawning riffles and shallow nursery habitat, adequate water quality, and low predation pressure (Pearson 2004a). Most individuals appear to confine their movements to a single reach but some individuals travel more widely (Pearson & Healey 2003). Clumped distribution and bimodal movement patterns suggest that metapopulation and/or source-sink population dynamics characterize the species. If so, factors affecting migration between sub-populations (the proximity of ‘hotspots’ to one another and the occurrence of movement barriers between them) are likely important to long-term population viability. Natural disturbance and succession may produce a pattern in which the location of hotspots moves throughout the landscape over time, but are occasionally eliminated by catastrophic events (Ives & Klopper 1997). Such catastrophic declines at the reach scale have been documented for the Salish Sucker (Pearson 2004a), but the effect on extinction risk for Salish Sucker populations is unknown.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du meunier de Salish (Catostomus sp.) au Canada (proposition)

1. Renseignements de base


1.1 Renseignements sur l'espèce

Le rapport de situation ainsi que le résumé de l'évaluation concernant le meunier de Salish peuvent être obtenus auprès du secrétariat du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC).

Nom commun : Meunier de Salish

Nom scientifique : Catostomus sp.

Résumé de l'évaluation : Novembre 2002

Désignation par le COSEPAC : En voie de disparition, avril 1987 et mai 2000

Désignation en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) : En voie de disparition, juin 2005

Justification de la désignation : Le meunier de Salish a une aire de répartition canadienne très limitée dans laquelle les populations sont en très fort déclin en raison de la perte et de la détérioration de l'habitat.

Répartition au Canada : Colombie-Britannique

Historique du statut : Espèce désignée « en voie de disparition » en avril 1996. Réexamen et confirmation du statut en mai 2000. La dernière évaluation est fondée sur un rapport de situation publié.

1.2 Description de l'espèce

Le meunier de Salish (Catostomus sp.) est un proche parent du meunier rouge (C. catostomus), une espèce répandue en Amérique du Nord. Les deux taxons se sont différenciés lorsqu'une population est devenue isolée sur le plan géographique dans la vallée de la rivière Chehalis (dans l'État de Washington) durant la glaciation du Pléistocène (McPhail, 1987). Le meunier de Salish est considéré comme une unité évolutionnaire significative (McPhail et Taylor, 1999) et peut être considéré comme une espèce en devenir (McPhail, 1987), même si son statut taxonomique précis fait présentement l'objet d'études.

Le meunier de Salish est vert foncé avec des taches noires sur le dos et un ventre de couleur blanc écru; une large bande latérale rouge apparaît pendant la saison de frai. Cette bande est particulièrement vive chez les mâles. Ses écailles sont fines, son nez est court et arrondi, et sa petite bouche est située sur la partie inférieure de sa tête (McPhail et Carveth, 1994). Rares sont les mâles qui dépassent 200 mm de longueur à la fourche. Les mâles peuvent atteindre la maturité sexuelle lorsqu'ils mesurent moins de 100 mm. Les femelles dépassent rarement 250 mm de longueur (Pearson et Healey, 2003).

1.3 Populations et répartition

On a documenté la présence de populations de meuniers de Salish dans onze bassins hydrographiques de la Colombie-Britannique, tous situés dans la vallée du Fraser. Au moins quatre autres populations vivent dans le nord-ouest de l'État de Washington (figure 1). On croit que la population de la rivière Little Campbell, en C.-B., est disparue, bien qu'il y ait un signalement non confirmé de la présence de meuniers de Salish dans un étang situé dans la plaine d'inondation de la rivière Little Campbell (Pearson, comm. pers., 2011). Les données actuelles semblent indiquer qu'environ 25 % de l'aire de répartition mondiale et 70 % de l'ensemble des populations se trouvent au Canada (figure 1). L'espèce est en déclin au Canada depuis au moins les années 1960 (McPhail, 1987) et probablement depuis plus longtemps (Pearson, 2004a).


Figure 1. Répartition du meunier de Salish

Cartes montrant la répartition du meunier de Salish (voir description longue ci-dessous).

Au Canada (graphique de gauche), le meunier de Salish a été observé dans onze bassins hydrographiques : 1) rivière Little Campbell; 2) rivière Salmon; 3) ruisseau Bertrand; 4) ruisseau Pepin; 5) ruisseau Fishtrap; 6) ruisseau Salwein/marais Hopedale; 7) delta de la Chilliwack (ruisseaux Atchelitz/Chilliwack/Semmihault); 8) ruisseau Elk/marais Hope; 9) marais Mountain; 10) marais Agassiz; 11) ruisseau Miami. À l'échelle mondiale, il est également présent dans quatre autres bassins hydrographiques situés dans le nord-ouest de l'État de Washington (graphique de droite).

Description pour la figure 1

La figure 1 est une carte présentant la répartition du meunier de Salish au Canada, La carte dépeint la vallée du Fraser et la zone des basses terres continentales de la Colombie-Britannique, qui s’étend de Vancouver sur le côté ouest de la carte jusqu’au lac Harrison au nord-est de la carte et jusqu’à la frontière américaine le long de la frontière sud de la carte. Les bassins hydrographiques suivants où l’on a pu observer le meunier de Salish ont été indiqués sur la carte : rivière Salmon, ruisseaux Bertrand, Pepin et Fishtrap (ruisseau Salwein/marais Hopedale), delta de la Chilliwack (ruisseaux Atchelitz/Chilliwack/Semmihault), ruisseau Elk/marais Hope, marais Mountain, marais Agassiz et ruisseau Miami. Le bassin hydrographique de la rivière Little Campbell est représenté comme un bassin hydrographique d’où l’on estime que le meunier de Salish a disparu. Une deuxième carte présente la répartition globale du meunier de Salish dans le sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique et dans l’ouest de l’État de Washington. Outre les bassins hydrographiques susmentionnés, quatre bassins hydrographiques dans l’État de Washington, où l’on peut observer le meunier de Salish, sont indiqués (adapté d’après Pearson, 2004a et McPhail, 1997).


Dans le paysage actuel, il n'existe pratiquement aucun lien aquatique entre les populations adjacentes. On note cependant des exceptions, à savoir un petit étang d'amont qui alimente le marais Mountain et le ruisseau Miami ainsi qu'un lien occasionnel de hautes eaux entre le ruisseau Bertrand et la rivière Salmon, par l'intermédiaire d'un marais d'amont (Pearson, comm. pers., 2010). La seule autre route entre les bassins hydrographiques est le cours principal du Fraser ou la rivière Nooksack, même si aucun meunier de Salish n'a été signalé dans l'un ou l'autre de ces cours d'eau et si les captures dans les marais plus grands sont extrêmement rares (Pearson, comm. pers., 2010). Avant l'assèchement du lac Sumas (années 1920) et l'aménagement de digues à la suite de l'inondation de 1948, les liens présents en permanence et en période de hautes eaux entre les populations étaient probablement plus courants. Cela soulève la possibilité de l'existence d'un lien antérieur entre les populations (dynamique de métapopulation).

1.4 Description des besoins de l'espèce

1.4.1 Besoins biologiques, rôles écologiques et facteurs limitatifs

Les meuniers de Salish sont bien adaptés aux conditions régnant dans les cours d'eau d'amont, dont l'habitat peut varier fortement sur une base quotidienne, saisonnière ou encore sur une plus longue période. Ils tolèrent des températures plus élevées et de moins fortes concentrations d'oxygène dissous que la plupart des autres poissons indigènes présents dans cette région de la Colombie-Britannique. Le principal facteur limitatif naturel pour les populations est la disponibilité d'un habitat de qualité élevée. Le cycle biologique des meuniers de Salish présente des caractéristiques qui favorisent la croissance rapide des populations dans un habitat adéquat. Comparativement au meunier rouge, le meunier de Salish est un petit poisson peu longévif qui arrive rapidement à maturité. La plupart des individus fraient pour la première fois à l'âge de 2 ans et ils vivent rarement au-delà de 5 ans (McPhail, 1987). Les meuniers de Salish commencent à frayer en avril; leur période de frai est plus prolongée (de six à huit semaines; Pearson, 2004a) que celle du meunier rouge (de deux à trois semaines; Barton, 1980; Schlosser, 1990; Scott et Crossman, 1973), une caractéristique qui augmente la fécondité autrement limitée par la faible taille des femelles chez certaines espèces (Blueweiss et al., 1978; Burt et al., 1988). Le frai a lieu entre le début d'avril et la mi-juillet (McPhail, 1987; Pearson et Healey, 2003), et l'incubation des œufs est vraisemblablement terminée à la mi-août.


1.4.2 Besoins en matière d'habitat

Habitat physique

L'abondance des adultes est la plus élevée dans les marais et dans les étangs de castors (Castor canadensis) où se trouvent des substrats de boue ou de limon. La proportion des chenaux d'une profondeur supérieure à 70 cm constitue l'indice le plus solide de la présence d'adultes dans un tronçon. Les tronçons occupés par des individus de l'espèce présentent également beaucoup moins de zones de rapides et davantage de végétaux aquatiques que les tronçons non occupés par eux. Même si l'on dispose de moins de données concernant les jeunes de l'année, ceux-ci semblent privilégier les fosses peu profondes et les plats où la végétation est abondante (Pearson 2004a). D'ordinaire, le frai a lieu dans des zones de rapides présentant des substrats de gravier (McPhail, 1987), mais les zones de remontée d'eaux souterraines sont vraisemblablement utilisées dans les réseaux hydrographiques ne présentant pas de zones de rapides (Pearson, données non publiées). La plupart des individus semblent avoir des domaines vitaux peu étendus (en moyenne 170 m de chenal), même si l'on sait que certains individus parcourent des milliers de mètres pendant la période de frai (Pearson et Healey, 2003).

Qualité de l'eau

L'eau doit présenter des concentrations d'oxygène, un pH, une température et des concentrations de toxines qui ne sont pas dommageables pour les individus de l'espèce. Le meunier de Salish, qui semble bien adapté aux environnements à faibles teneurs en oxygène, a été capturé dans des secteurs où celles-ci étaient inférieures à 2 mg/L (Pearson, données non publiées). Il semble que des effets sublétaux (p. ex. croissance et fécondité réduites) surviennent à de telles concentrations. D'après les observations et l'expérience acquise, la cible appropriée en matière d'oxygène dissous pour l'habitat du meunier de Salish est ≥ 4 mg/L. Cette concentration est inférieure aux lignes directrices fédérales sur la qualité de l'eau pour la vie aquatique (5 mg/L; CCREM, 1987), mais celles-ci visent à protéger des espèces comme les salmonidés qui sont très intolérants aux conditions d'hypoxie. On ignore quelles sont les tolérances thermiques des meuniers de Salish, mais ils affichent une activité minimale à des températures inférieures à 6 oC (Pearson et Healey, 2003) et des individus apparemment en santé ont été capturés à des températures allant jusqu'à 23 oC (Pearson, données non publiées). La sensibilité du meunier de Salish à la contamination par des substances toxiques demeure inconnue. Les meuniers de Salish sont en général absents des tronçons où le paysage, dans un rayon de 200 m du chenal, est urbanisé à plus de 50 % (Pearson, 2004a). Ces tronçons reçoivent invariablement des eaux de pluie urbaines qui contiennent des sédiments contaminés provenant du ruissellement routier (Hall et al., 1991). En tant que poisson vivant au fond de l'eau, il est fort probable que les meuniers de Salish vivant dans ces habitats soient exposés de façon chronique aux toxines présentes dans les sédiments.

Répartition spatiale et stabilité temporelle des habitats

La répartition du meunier de Salish est agrégative, la plupart des individus étant regroupés dans quelques sites seulement (Pearson, 2004a). Ces zones de regroupement découlent vraisemblablement de la rare convergence de niveaux optimaux d'un nombre limité de variables environnementales clés (Brown et al., 1995). Pour le meunier de Salish, ces variables comprennent, semble-t-il, des zones étendues d'eaux profondes (centaines de mètres carrés de chenal) situées à proximité de zones de rapides propices au frai et d'habitats d'alevinage peu profonds, une qualité de l'eau adéquate et une faible prédation (Pearson, 2004a). La plupart des individus semblent limiter leurs mouvements à un seul tronçon, mais certains d'entre eux parcourent de plus grandes distances (Pearson et Healey, 2003). Cette répartition agrégative et ces profils de mouvement bimodaux portent à croire qu'une dynamique de métapopulation ou qu'un système source-puits caractérise l'espèce. Si tel est le cas, les facteurs ayant une incidence sur la migration entre les sous-populations (proximité entre les zones de regroupement et apparition d'obstacles au mouvement entre celles-ci) sont vraisemblablement importants pour la viabilité de la population à long terme. La succession et les perturbations naturelles produisent vraisemblablement une tendance voulant que les zones de regroupement changent d'emplacement dans le paysage au fil du temps et qu'elles soient parfois éliminées par des événements catastrophiques (Ives et Klopper, 1997). De tels déclins catastrophiques à l'échelle des tronçons ont été observés pour le meunier de Salish (Pearson, 2004a), mais leur effet sur le risque de disparition des populations de meuniers de Salish demeure inconnu.