Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Rocky mountain ridged mussel Gonidea angulata in Canada

Species Information

Name and classification

Species NameGonidea angulata (Lea, 1839) according to Clarke (1981): 1838 according to Taylor (1981) and Turgeon et al. (1998).
KingdomAnimalia
Phylum Mollusca
ClassBivalvia
OrderUnionoida
Family Unionidae (Pearly Mussels) (higher classification from Turgeon et al., 1998)
Subfamily Ambleminae according to Clarke (1981): Gonideinae according to Heard and Gluckert (1971) and Davis et al. (1978): tribe Gonideini according to Davis and Fuller (1981). Lydeard et al. (1996) consider the genus Gonidea as not closely related to any other North American forms. See discussion of ancestry and relationships below.
Genus Gonidea
Species  angulata
Common Names
COSEWIC name: Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussel
Other:
  • Western Ridged Mussel
  • Western Ridgemussel
  • Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussel
  • American Fisheries Society common name: western ridged mussel (Turgeon et al., 1998).
Synonyms
  • Anodon feminalis Gould,1850;
  • Anodonta randalli Trask, 1855;
  • Anodon biangulata Sowerby, 1869;
  • Anodonta angulata var. subangulata Hemphill, 1891;
  • Gonidea angulata var. haroldiana Dall, 1908 (Taylor, 1977).

Invalid usages include:

  • Margarita (Anodonta) angulata Lea, 1838; Anodonta feminalis Gould, 1852;
  • Margaron (Anodonta) angulata Lea, 1870;
  • Anodonta biangulata Clessin, 1876 (Henderson, 1929).
Type Locality:Taylor (1981) indicates that “Lewis’s River”, now interpreted as the Snake River, Idaho (with no specific locality), as the type locality for Gonidea angulata
Museum Collections
Collections of G. angulata exist in the following museums:
 
  • Canadian Museum of Nature, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
  • Royal British Columbia Museum, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
  • Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago, Illinois USA
  • CaliforniaAcademy of Sciences, San Francisco, California USA
  • National Museum of Natural History, Washington, USA
  • ColoradoUniversity Museum, Boulder, Colorado, USA
  • Universityof Michigan Museum of Zoology, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
  • Academyof Natural Sciences of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
  • OhioState Museum of Zoology, Ohio State University, Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
  • Museumof Comparative Zoology, Harvard University Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
  • AmericanMuseum of Natural History, New York, New York, USA

Several smaller institutions have been reviewed for lots of this species by Frest (1985-1997).

Museums that contain Canadian records include:

 
  • Canadian Museum of Nature, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
  • Royal British Columbia Museum, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
  • Universityof Michigan Museum of Zoology, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

 

Classification

The taxonomy and relationships of this form are somewhat problematic at present, despite considerable study. Many authors, including Ortmann (1910, 1916), have regarded Gonidea as exceptionally distinctive, belonging to its own subfamily or family, ranked closest to the Amblemidae or Ambleminae among North American Unionoida (e.g., Heard and Gluckert 1971; Davis et al. 1978; Davis and Fuller 1981). Some authors, such as Heard (1974) and Taylor (1985, 1988), stress that it has possible Asian affinities. The first, rather preliminary, rRNA study of unionoideans placed Gonidea close to Ambleminae (Rosenberg et al., 1994). The more complete study by Lydeard et al. (1996) concluded that Gonidea is not closely related to any other North American Unionacea. Nagel et al. (1998) suggest relationship of the problematic European form Potamida littoralis to the Gonideini, based primarily on anatomical features. Unless Taylor (1988) is correct about the Korean unionid of Yoo and Habe (1962), there is only one extant taxon (without subspecies) and four fossil taxa (Watters, 2001). The most recent study, by Graf (2002), confirms the placement of Gonidea in the Ambleminae and recognizes that subfamily as endemic to North America.

 

Description 

Gonidea angulata is a large freshwater mussel that exhibits features typical of its subfamily Ambleminae (Elliptioninae). The subfamily Ambleminae is characterized by heavy hinge teeth; however, G. angulata has a moderately heavy hinge but rather indistinct hinge teeth. The Ableminae is also characterized by all four demibranchs being marsupial, by hookless glochidia, and by a short breeding season (tachytictic).

Clarke (1981) provides the following description for G. angulata: “Shell up to 125 mm long, 65 mm high, 40 mm wide, and with shell wall up to about 5 mm thick at mid-anterior; variable in form but typically rather thin, trapezoidal in shape, with posterior margin obliquely flattened and relatively broad, and with a sharp and prominent posterior ridge running from the umbo to the angular basal posterior margin of each valve (Figure 1). Shell with obscure radial sculpturing on the posterior slope and readily apparent growth rests. Periostracum yellowish brown to blackish brown, without rays, smooth on the disc, and roughened on the posterior slope. Nacre centrally white or salmon, but pale blue posteriorly and near the margin. Beak sculpture composed of about 8 rather coarse, concentric ridges that are straight in the centre and curved at both ends. Hinge teeth irregular and poorly developed; pseudocardinal teeth compressed, low, laterally expanded, 1 in the right valve and none or 1 in the left; lateral teeth absent.”

Frest and Johannes (in press) add: “See Burch (1973, 1975) for best short description and illustration (1973, figure 11). This taxon is very distinctive. Gonideaangulata has a moderately heavy hinge but rather indistinct hinge teeth; has a sharp posterior ridge; the posterior length exceeds the anterior, but the shell is not winged; shell periostracum generally greenish, sometimes lightly rayed with yellow; shell generally thin; nacre coppery blue-white; length 7-more than 9 cm.” ( Figure 2).

Figure 1.  Image of Gonidea angulata showing the angular ridge typical of this species.

Figure 1.  Image of Gonidea angulata showing the angular ridge typical of this species.

 

Figure 2.  Drawing of Gonidea angulata (from Burch 1975).

Figure 2.  Drawing of Gonidea angulata (from Burch 1975).

For another illustration, see McMahon and Bogan (2001, fig. 28U).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Gonidée des Rocheuses (Gonidea Angulata)

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Nom de l’espèce :Gonidea angulata (Lea, 1839) d’après Clarke (1981); 1838, selon Taylor (1981) et Turgeon et al. (1998).
Règne :Animal
Embranchement : Mollusques
Classe :   Bivalves
Ordre :Unionoïdés
Famille : Unionidés (mulettes perlières) (classification pour les rangs taxinomiques supérieurs jusqu’à la famille tirée de Turgeon et al., 1998)
Sous‑famille :Ambléminés d’après Clarke (1981); Gonidéinés selon Heard et Gluckert (1971) et Davis et al. (1978); tribu des Gonideini selon Davis et Fuller (1981). Selon Lydeard et al. (1996), le genre Gonidea comme n’est étroitement apparenté à aucune autre forme présente en Amérique du Nord. Voir ci‑dessous l’analyse sur les ancêtres et les liens de parenté de l’espèce.
Genre : Gonidea
Espèce :  angulata
Nom commun utilisé par le COSEPAC : gonidée des Rocheuses
Noms anglais :  
  • Western Ridged Mussel
  • Western Ridgemussel
  • Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussel
Nom commun utilisé par l’American
Fisheries Society :western ridged mussel (Turgeon et al., 1998).
Synonymes : 
  • Anodon feminalis Gould,1850;
  • Anodonta randalli Trask, 1855;
  • Anodon biangulata Sowerby, 1869;
  • Anodonta angulata var. subangulata Hemphill, 1891;
  • Gonidea angulata var. haroldiana Dall, 1908 (Taylor, 1977).
  • Les noms suivants ne sont pas valides :
  • Margarita (Anodonta) angulata Lea, 1838; Anodonta feminalis Gould, 1852;
  • Margaron (Anodonta) angulata Lea, 1870;
  •  Anodonta biangulata Clessin, 1876 (Henderson, 1929).
Localité type :Taylor (1981) indique la rivière Lewis, qu’on croit aujourd’hui être en fait la rivière Snake, en Idaho (sans indication précise de la localité), comme étant la localité type pour le Gonidea angulata.
Collections de musées :Les musées ci‑dessous possèdent des collections de G. angulata.
 
  • Musée canadien de la nature, Ottawa (Ontario) Canada
  • Royal British Columbia Museum, Victoria (Colombie‑Britannique) Canada
  • FieldMuseum of Natural History, Chicago, Illinois, É.‑U.
  • CaliforniaAcademy of Sciences, San Francisco, Californie, É.‑U.
  • National Museum of Natural History, Washington, É.‑U.
  • ColoradoUniversity Museum, Boulder, Colorado, É.‑U.
  • University of Michigan Museum of Zoology, Ann Arbor, Michigan, É.‑U.
  • Academyof Natural Sciences of Philadelphia, Philadelphie, Pennsylvanie, É.‑U.
  • OhioState Museum of Zoology, Ohio State University, Cincinnati, Ohio, É.‑U.
  • Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University Cambridge, Massachusetts, É.‑U.
  • AmericanMuseum of Natural History, New York, New York, É.‑U.

Frest a demandé à plusieurs établissements plus modestes s’ils conservaient des spécimens de cette espèce (de 1985 à 1997).

Les musées possédant des spécimens provenant du Canada comprennent les suivants :

 
  • Musée canadien de la nature, Ottawa (Ontario) Canada
  • Royal British Columbia Museum, Victoria (Colombie‑Britannique) Canada
  • University of Michigan Museum of Zoology, Ann Arbor, Michigan, É.‑U.

 

Classification

La taxinomie et les liens de parenté de cette espèce posent actuellement certains problèmes, malgré de nombreuses études. Bien des auteurs, dont Ortmann (1910, 1916), ont considéré le genre Gonidea comme très particulier, constituant à lui seul une sous‑famille ou une famille, qui s’approcherait le plus des Amblémidés ou des Ambléminés au sein des Unionidés d’Amérique du Nord (p. ex. Heard et Gluckert, 1971; Davis et al., 1978; Davis et Fuller, 1981). Certains auteurs, comme Heard (1974) et Taylor (1985, 1988) soulignent que cette espèce a peut‑être des affinités avec des espèces asiatiques. La première analyse, préliminaire, de l’ARNr des Unionoïdés permet de classer le genre Gonidea près des Ambléminés (Rosenberg et al., 1994). L’analyse plus complète effectuée par Lydeard et al. (1996) a permis de conclure que le genre Gonidea n’est étroitement apparenté à aucun autre Unionacé d’Amérique du Nord. Nagel et al. (1998) pensent qu’il pourrait y avoir parenté entre la forme européenne problématique Potamida littoralis et les Gonideini, en se fondant surtout sur des caractéristiques anatomiques. À moins que Taylor (1988) n’ait raison en ce qui a trait à l’Unionidé de Corée décrit par Yoo et Habe (1962), le genre Gonidea ne compte qu’un seul taxon vivant (sans sous‑espèce) et quatre taxons fossiles (Watters, 2001). L’étude la plus récente, menée par Graf (2002), confirme la classification du genre Gonidea dans les Ambleminés et reconnaît cette sous‑famille comme étant endémique à l’Amérique du Nord.

 

Description

Le Gonidea angulata est une grande moule d’eau douce possédant les caractéristiques typiques de la sous‑famille des Ambléminés (Elliptioninés). La sous‑famille des Ambléminés est caractérisée par des dents de la charnière bien développées; cependant, chez le G. angulata, la charnière, modérément développée, a des dents plutôt indistinctes. Les Ambléminés sont également caractérisées par le fait que leurs quatre branchies sont marsupiales, par l’absence de crochets chez les glochidies et par une courte période de gravidité (tachytictic species).

Clarke (1981) fournit la description suivante du G. angulata :

« Coquille atteignant 125 mm de longueur, 65 mm de hauteur, 40 mm de largeur, à test jusqu’à 5 mm d’épaisseur à la moitié antérieure; d’aspect variable mais typiquement plutôt mince, de forme trapézoïdale, le bord postérieur obliquement aplati et plutôt large, une crête postérieure saillante et accusée depuis le sommet jusqu’à l’angle postéro‑basal du bord de chaque valve (Figure 1). Surface à sculpture radiale obscure sur la pente postérieure et des anneaux de croissance bien accusés. Épiderme brun jaunâtre à brun noirâtre, sans rayons, lisse sur le disque et rugueux sur la pente postérieure. Nacre blanche ou couleur saumon au centre, mais bleu pâle à la partie postérieure et près du bord. Sculpture des sommets composée d’environ 8 bourrelets concentriques assez grossiers, droits au centre, arqués aux deux bouts. Dents de la charnière irrégulières et peu développées; dents pseudo‑cardinales comprimées, basses, renflées sur les côtés, une dans la valve droite et une ou aucune dans la valve gauche; dents latérales absentes. »

Frest et Johannes (sous presse) suggèrent de consulter Burch (1973, 1975), qui fournit les meilleures description bréve et illustration (1973, figure 11). Ils précisent que ce taxon est très particulier : le Gonidea angulata possède une charnière modérément développée, à dents plutôt indistinctes; une crête postérieure accusée est présente; la partie postérieure de la coquille est plus haute que la partie antérieure mais sans aile; le périostracum est généralement verdâtre, parfois légèrement strié de jaune; la coquille, généralement mince, mesure de 7 cm à plus de 9 cm de longueur; la nacre est de teinte blanc‑bleu cuivré (Figure 2).

Figure 1. Illustration du Gonidea angulata montrant la crête angulaire typique de l’espèce.

Figure 1. Illustration du Gonidea angulata montrant la crête angulaire typique de l’espèce.

Figure 2. Dessin d’un Gonidea angulata (tiré de Burch, 1975).

Figure 2. Dessin d’un Gonidea angulata (tiré de Burch, 1975).

 Pour une autre illustration, voir McMahon et Bogan (2001, figure 28U).