Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussel (Gonidea Angulata)

Distribution

 

Global range

The range of G. angulata is described as “Southern British Columbia to southern California, eastward to southern Idaho and northern Nevada” (Taylor 1981). Burch (1975) described the range as central California, north to British Columbia and east to Nevada and Idaho. Currently, G. angulata is known from portions of western North America only, mostly south of the Wisconsinan glacial margin. West of the Cascades, G. angulata is seemingly absent from the Olympic Mountains, Washington and points north, but occurs sporadically in the Willapa Hills (southwest Washington) and northwest Oregon, and occurs more continuously from southwest Oregon south to southern California. East of the Cascades, G. angulata occurs in the interior of Washington and Oregon, in southern Idaho and in northern Nevada.

Taylor (1981) described its distribution in California as “formerly throughout most of the State, in the following drainages: Lower Klamath, upper Klamath River and Lost River; Pit River; Central Valley; north coast streams (lower Eel River and lower Russian River); Clear Lake (including Blue Lakes); Pajaro-Salinas system (Pajaro River only); Los Angeles Basin (Ballona Creek and Santa Ana River). Probably extinct in most of the Central Valley and southern California.” This suggests both a somewhat patchy original distribution and a considerable recent reduction in historic range.

Henderson (1929, 1934, 1936 a,b) provides information on some interesting sites, including claims for distribution in Utah and Montana. One of the authors (TJF) was unable to confirm Utah and Montana sites from museum records. Chamberlin and Jones (1929) do not list this taxon from Utah.

 

Canadian range

Gonidea angulata has been found in the Columbia River system in southern British Columbia (Okanagan and possibly the Kootenay) (Clarke 1981) and is known in Canada only from the main, valley-bottom water bodies from Penticton south to the border and the only recent museum records (1991) are from the following areas:

Okanagan River at Okanagan Falls,

Vaseux Lake,

Skaha Lake,

and Osoyoos Lake.

Given the current distribution of G. angulata in the Columbia River and associated tributaries in northeastern Washington, it is probable that G. angulata is present in some equivalent portions of southern British Columbia (i.e., in areas not currently documented as occupied or known breeding areas).


Figure 3.  Historical range of G. angulata in British Columbiaand the Pacific Northwestern United States.

Figure 3.  Historical range of G. angulata in British Columbiaand the Pacific Northwestern United States.


Figure 4.  The distribution of Gonidea angulata in British Columbia. Black dots represent the approximate location of known sites (from museum records and/or recent collections). Named tributaries of the Okanagan River represent the potential range for this species.

Figure 4.  The distribution of Gonidea angulata in British Columbia. Black dots represent the approximate location of known sites (from museum records and/or recent collections). Named tributaries of the Okanagan River represent the potential range for this species.

Table 1 identifies some recent records of G. angulata in B.C. (from Taylor (1993) and from museum records). However, addition of new sites would not likely increase the extent of occurrence (209 km2) significantly. The actual area of occupancy is estimated at 31.5 km2, but is much less than 100 km2.

Table 1.  Records of G. angulata from the Canadian Museum of Nature and Royal British Columbia Museum.
Catalogue No.*
Collector
Collection
Date
Location and
Site Description
No.of Specimens
CMNML 093118G.E. WinklerMarch 1906Okanagan River where it leaves Okanagan Lake2+
CMNML 009683R.J. Drake20 August 1960Okanagan Falls-
CMNML 016017R.J. Drake19 August 1960Okanagan Falls1
 D. W. Taylor12 June 1963Okanagan River, Okanagan Falls Park, 
CMNML 067553A.H. Clarke, B.T. Kidd06 August 1972Vaseux Lake 13.6 km N of Oliver at public beach4
CMNML 086690T. Tuominen, S. Yee10 April 1982Oliver, B.C.. Okanagan R. Half way between Oliver and Osoyoos Lake entrance1
CMNML 086692T. Tuominen, S. Yee28 April 1982Osoyoos Lake. Okanagan R. ± 1.5 km upstream (N) from entrance Osoyoos Lake1
CMNML 086693T. Tuominen, S. Yee4 April 1983Osoyoos Lake. Okanagan R. ± 1.5 km upstream (N) from entrance Osoyoos Lake3
RBCMD. W. Taylor16 August 1990Osoyoos Lake, N. side of Haynes Point Provincial Park,2
RBCMD.W. Taylor09 August 1991Skaha Lake, Penticton. 1.12 km south of intersection of Brantford avenue and Lakeside Road.2

*Canadian Museum of Nature records only

To determine if G. angulata persists within its historical (and only known) range in British Columbia, several organizations were contacted to discuss whether or not individuals in the area had seen this species. In particular, the Osoyoos Lake Water Quality Society was contacted and the potential presence of this mussel was discussed. Subsequently, all members of the Osoyoos Lake Water Quality Society were alerted to the potential presence of G. angulata, and as a society initiated informal searches for this species (i.e., individuals or small groups would include visual searches for shells or live mussels as part of their activities during walks). Searches were conducted along the Okanagan River and its tributaries, and around the shores of Osoyoos Lake. As of 2 August 2002, 1 specimen has been positively identified as G. angulata and this specimen consists of half of a shell (Figure 5). The specimen was collected from Park Rill Creek within the town limits of Oliver, B.C.. Unsubstantiated information suggests that there are live specimens within Park Rill creek and other nearby tributaries of the Okanagan River near the area where the shell was collected (L. Dallas, pers. comm). To determine if the named tributaries in Figure 4 represent suitable habitat or house extant populations of G. angulata, extensive surveys and research to determine population sizes in each watershed would be required.

Figure 5.  Scanned images of the G. angulata shell collected from Park Rill Creek, British Columbia, 23 April 2002. Photo V.C. Hawkes, collector: L. Dallas.

Figure 5.  Scanned images of the G. angulata shell collected from Park Rill Creek, British Columbia, 23 April 2002. Photo V.C. Hawkes, collector: L. Dallas.

Total documented Canadian locations are 8 with only 1 of these confirmed as extant (Park Rill Creek). It is not known if this species has disappeared from historical sites.

For other recent records of G. angulata from the western United States, see Taylor (1981), Neitzel and Frest (1993); Frest and Johannes (1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995a, 1998, 2000).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Gonidée des Rocheuses (Gonidea Angulata)

Répartition

 

Répartition mondiale

L’aire de répartition du G. angulata est décrite comme allant du sud de la Colombie‑Britannique jusque dans le sud de la Californie, et vers l’est jusque dans le sud de l’Idaho et le nord du Nevada (Taylor, 1981). Selon Burch (1975), l’aire de répartition s’étend du centre de la Californie vers le nord jusqu’à la Colombie-Britannique et vers l’est jusqu’au Nevada et à l’Idaho. Actuellement, le G. angulata n’est signalé que dans certaines parties de l’ouest de l’Amérique du Nord, principalement au sud de la marge glaciaire du Wisconsinien. À l’ouest des Cascades, le G. angulata semble absent dans les monts Olympic (Washington) et au nord de ceux‑ci, mais on le trouve à certains endroits dans les monts Willapa (sud‑ouest de l’État de Washington) et dans le nord‑ouest de l’Oregon; sa répartition est plus continue depuis le sud‑ouest de l’Oregon jusque dans le sud de la Californie. À l’est des Cascades, le G. angulata occupe l’intérieur de l’État de Washington et de l’Oregon, le sud de l’Idaho et le nord du Nevada (figure 3).

Selon Taylor (1981), en Californie, cette espèce était autrefois répartie dans la majeure partie de l’État, dans les bassins hydrographiques suivants : cours inférieur et supérieur de la rivière Klamath et rivière Lost; rivière Pit; vallée Central; cours d’eau de la côte nord (cours inférieur des rivières Eel et Russian); lac Clear (y compris les lacs Blue); réseau Pajaro-Salinas (rivière Pajaro seulement); bassin de Los Angeles (ruisseau Ballona et rivière Santa Ana); elle est probablement disparue de la majeure partie de la vallée Central et du sud de la Californie. D’après ces données, il semble que la répartition originale était quelque peu sporadique et qu’il y a eu récemment une réduction considérable de l’ancienne aire de répartition.

Henderson (1929, 1934, 1936 a,b) fournit de l’information sur certaines localités intéressantes, y compris des allégations concernant la présence de l’espèce au Utah et au Montana. Terrence J. Frest a été incapable de confirmer la présence de l’espèce au Utah et au Montana à partir des spécimens de musées. Chamberlin et Jones (1929) ne placent pas ce taxon sur la liste des espèces du Utah.

Répartition canadienne

Le Gonidea angulata a été découvert dans le réseau du fleuve Columbia dans le sud de la Colombie‑Britannique (l’Okanagan et peut‑être la Kootenay) (Clarke, 1981) et, au Canada, sa présence n’est attestée que dans les principaux plans d’eau du fond des vallées depuis Penticton jusqu’à la frontière américaine. Il y a peu de recherches visant à répertorier cette espèce (de 1906 à 1991) et les seuls spécimens récents dans les musées (1991) proviennent des régions suivantes :

rivière Okanagan à Okanagan Falls,

lac Vaseux,

lac Skaha,

lac Osoyoos.

Compte tenu de la répartition actuelle du G. angulata dans le fleuve Columbia et ses tributaires dans le nord‑est de l’État de Washington, il est probable que cette espèce soit présente dans certaines parties équivalentes du sud de la Colombie-Britannique (c.‑à‑d. dans des régions dans lesquelles la présence ou la reproduction de cette espèce n’est pas documentée).

Figure 3.  Aire de répartition historique du G. angulata en Colombie‑Britannique et dans le nord‑ouest pacifique des États-Unis.

Figure 3.  Aire de répartition historique du G. angulata en Colombie‑Britannique et dans le nord‑ouest pacifique des États-Unis.

Figure 4. Répartition du Gonidea angulata en Colombie‑Britannique. Les points noirs indiquent l’emplacement approximatif des localités connues de l’espèce (d’après les dossiers des musées et les récoltes récentes). Les tributaires de la rivière Okanagan qui sont nommés correspondent à l’aire de répartition possible de l’espèce.

Figure 4. Répartition du Gonidea angulata en Colombie‑Britannique. Les points noirs indiquent l’emplacement approximatif des localités connues de l’espèce (d’après les dossiers des musées et les récoltes récentes). Les tributaires de la rivière Okanagan qui sont nommés correspondent à l’aire de répartition possible de l’espèce.

Le tableau 1 présente certaines mentions récentes du G. angulata en Colombie-Britannique (tirées de Taylor [1993] et des dossiers de certains musées). L’ajout de nouveaux sites n’augmenterait probablement pas de façon importante l’étendue de la zone d’occurrence (209 km2). La zone d’occupation estimée à 31,5 km2 est, quoi qu’il en soit, bien inférieure à 100 km2.

 

Tableau 1. Mentions de G. angulata provenant du Musée canadien de la nature et du Royal British Columbia Museum.
No de catalogue*Récolté parDate de récolteEmplacement et description du siteNombre de spécimens
CMNML 093118G.E. WinklerMars 1906Rivière Okanagan, à la sortie du lac Okanagan2+
CMNML 009683R.J. Drake20 août 1960Okanagan Falls-
CMNML 016017R.J. Drake19 août 1960Okanagan Falls1
 D. W. Taylor12 juin 1963Rivière Okanagan, parc Okanagan Falls. 
CMNML 067553A.H. Clarke, B.T. Kidd6 août 1972Lac Vaseux, 13,6 km au N d’Oliver, à la plage publique4
CMNML 086690T. Tuominen, S. Yee10 avril 1982Oliver (C.‑B.) - rivière Okanagan, à mi‑chemin entre Oliver et l’entrée du lac Osoyoos1
CMNML 086692T. Tuominen, S. Yee28 avril 1982Lac Osoyoos - rivière Okanagan, à ± 1,5 km en amont (N) de l’entrée du lac Osoyoos1
CMNML 086693T. Tuominen, S. Yee4 avril 1983Lac Osoyoos - rivière Okanagan, à ± 1,5 km en amont (N) de l’entrée du lac Osoyoos3
RBCMD. W. Taylor16 août 1990Lac Osoyoos - côté nord du parc provincial Haynes Point2
RBCMD. W. Taylor9 août 1991Lac Skaha, Penticton - 1,12 km au sud de l’intersection de l’avenue Brantford et du chemin Lakeside2

*Dossiers du Musée canadien de la nature seulement.

Pour déterminer si le G. angulata occupe encore son aire de répartition historique (la seule connue) en Colombie‑Britannique, on a communiqué avec plusieurs organismes afin de vérifier si des personnes de la région avaient observé l’espèce. On a contacté en particulier l’Osoyoos Lake Water Quality Society. Tous les membres de cet organisme ont été avisés de la présence possible du G. angulata, et l’organisme a entrepris des recherches informelles (des personnes ou des petits groupes ont intégré la recherche visuelle de coquilles ou de moules vivantes aux activités effectuées pendant leurs marches). Les recherches se sont déroulées le long de la rivière Okanagan et de ses tributaires et sur le bord du lac Osoyoos. En date du 2 août 2002, un spécimen a été positivement identifié comme étant un G. angulata et ce spécimen consistait en une demi‑coquille (Figure 5) récoltée dans le ruisseau Park Rill, dans les limites de la municipalité d’Oliver (C.‑ B.). D’après des informations non corroborées, il y aurait des spécimens vivants dans le ruisseau Park Rill et d’autres tributaires voisins de la rivière Okanagan, près de la région où la coquille a été récoltée (L. Dallas, comm. pers.). Pour déterminer si les tributaires nommés dans la figure 4 offrent un habitat approprié ou abritent des populations vivantes de G. angulata, il faudrait mener des relevés et des recherches intensives dans chaque bassin hydrographique.

Figure 5.  Images numérisées de la coquille de G. angulata récoltée dans le ruisseau Park Rill (Colombie‑Britannique), le 23 avril 2002. Photo de V.C. Hawkes; spécimen récolté par L. Dallas.

Figure 5.  Images numérisées de la coquille de G. angulata récoltée dans le ruisseau Park Rill (Colombie‑Britannique), le 23 avril 2002. Photo de V.C. Hawkes; spécimen récolté par L. Dallas.

Au total, il y a 8 localités documentées au Canada, dont une seule où il est confirmé que l’espèce est présente aujourd’hui (ruisseau Park Rill). On ne sait pas si cette espèce est disparue de ses localités historiques.

Pour d’autres mentions récentes du G. angulata dans l’ouest des États‑Unis, voir Taylor (1981), Neitzel et Frest (1993); Frest et Johannes (1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995a, 1998, 2000).