Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussel (Gonidea Angulata)

Habitat

Habitat requirements

Gonidea angulata lives in freshwater habitats (lakes, streams, creeks, rivers) and in a variety of substrates ranging from gravel to firm mud. Presence of at least some fine material (e.g. sand, silt or clay) seems to be required, although very young specimens were noted in 1991 from coarse plant detritus at the mouth of the Okanagan River (= Okanogan in the U.S.). Sites preferred by this amniphilic (“stream/river loving”) species generally have constant flow, rather shallow water (typically < 3 m in depth), and well-oxygenated substrate, especially when occurring in finer substrates. Most known sites seem to lack macrophyte beds, although nearby stones may have a dense periphyton community. Mussels are typically found partly buried in finer substrates, often to at least half their length, and with the posterior end directed upstream. In coarser substrates, such as some Okanogan sites, mussels may be almost completely buried, with only the posterior end protruding slightly from the substrate. Generally, specimens of all non-larval age classes are found together in the same habitat. However, in exceptional cases, as near the mouth of the Okanogan River, only juveniles are found. In this area, larger mussels are likely to suffocate, so the dominance of juveniles at a particular site should be regarded as quite atypical. In many sites where G. angulata was recently collected (Table 2), only large adults were found.

In Vaseux Lake near Oliver, British Columbia, large specimens occur in muddy sand at a depth of 0.6 – 0.9 m along the shoreward edge of Potamogeton (pond weed beds). Elsewhere, G. angulata has been collected in streams ranging in size from large creeks (e.g., Toppenish Creek, a tributary of the Yakima River, Washington) to large rivers (e.g., lower Columbia River, Washington / Oregon). Most specimens collected have occurred at depths ranging from 0.2 – 3 m; but some specimens have been dredged alive from the Little Granite Reservoir (Washington) from depths of approximately 10 m and from the lower Columbia River (Oregon / Washington), from depths of approximately 20 m. This species is occasionally found in impoundments in which there is some continual flow. For example, G. angulata occurs in some river-lake systems such as Osoyoos Lake British Columbia (Taylor 1993) and the Little Granite Reservoir and lower Snake River, Washington (Frest and Johannes, 1992; this population is now believed extinct). Populations occurring in these systems appear to be sparse, consisting only of widely scattered adults, and rarely show well-rounded demographics. The species seems to avoid nutrient-rich waters, although some populations in the middle Snake River, Idaho, have been able to withstand considerable nutrient enhancement locally. However, some streams in the historic range may have originally lacked this taxon. Current distribution in southwest Washington and northwest Oregon is very sporadic despite persistence of seemingly good habitat. Regionally, the species appears to be quite uncommon, even if locally abundant.

Gonidea angulata prefers areas with stable habitat conditions and appears to avoid areas with shifting substrates, periodic dewatering or extreme water level fluctuations, or with seasonal hypoxia or anoxia. At some sites, turbidity changes markedly over a normal water year, but the species seems to be absent from streams with continuously turbid water, such as glacial melt water streams (e.g., the White Salmon River, Washington; the Hood River, Oregon) while being present in nearby streams that are only seasonally turbid, such as the Deschutes and John Day rivers of Oregon (Frest and Johannes, 1992).

In British Columbia, the Okanagan River has been significantly modified from a meandering river to a canal-like waterway with in-river flood control devices. These modifications have greatly reduced salmonid runs in the river and have altered bottom sediments. These in-river modifications have likely altered suitable G. angulata habitat and the greatly reduced salmonid (suspected hosts) runs may have interfered with glochidial dispersal. Given the reduced salmonid population in the Okanagan River and the instream barriers that exist, it is likely that upstream dispersal is severely hampered or impossible while downstream dispersal likely occurs as a result of the movement of fish downstream. In the U.S. and Canada, the Okanagan River is dammed creating a physical barrier to fish passage and effectively reducing upstream dispersal from U.S. to Canadian populations through glochidial movement via a fish host.

 

Trends

In British Columbia it is thought that G. angulata is restricted to very specific habitats in the southern Okanagan south of Penticton; however, wide-ranging searches for this species have not been conducted. Due to the limited amount of information available on its actual distribution and occurrence it is not possible to comment directly on the population status of this species; however, due to threats to its habitat, there is reason to suspect that G. angulata is habitat limited and declining. For example, G. angulata has a requirement for cold clear, oligotrophic waters (G. Mackie, pers. comm.) and only approximately 10‑20% of southern B.C. has lakes and/or streams that fit these requirements (M. Gaboury, pers. comm.).  As such, it is unlikely that that this species can/will increase its current range due to the limited availability of suitable habitat.

Within its historic range, G. angulata is presently scattered in distribution and must be presumed to be declining. In the middle Snake River, Idaho, finds of dead shells greatly outnumber living individuals and sizable stretches of the river now lack living specimens. Furthermore, some waterways from which living specimens have been reported (e.g., the Yakima and Wenatchee Rivers, Washington) also now lack living specimens (T.J. Frest, pers. obs.).  Some rivers within the range of G. angulata may lack historical records due either to absence of early collections or lack of the species during historical collections, so that modern absence may not reflect change from historical status (e.g., Sanpoil River, Washington). Frest (pers. obs.) has noted, in the Okanogan River in Washington and elsewhere, many populations in which recent recruitment seems not to have occurred, suggesting degradation from former status. Frest and Johannes (2001) termed it “locally common but decreasing” and suggested careful monitoring of extant populations for eventual protection in the state of Idaho.

 

Protection/ownership

Land ownership in the vicinity of known G. angulata sites in southern British Columbia varies from private to provincial, with the most recently encountered site on Park Rill Creek occurring on public property; however, only a dead specimen was found. In the U.S., areas occupied by G. angulata are on public land administered by the federal government (U.S. Department of the Interior, Bureau of Land Management or U.S. Department of Agriculture Forest Service).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la gonidée des Rocheuses (Gonidea angulata) au Canada

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

Le Gonidea angulata vit dans des habitats d’eau douce (lacs et cours d’eau de tailles diverses) sur divers substrats allant du gravier à la vase ferme. Il semble qu’il doit absolument y avoir au moins une petite quantité de matériaux fins (p. ex. sable, limon ou argile), bien que des spécimens très jeunes aient été observés en 1991 dans des débris végétaux grossiers à l’embouchure de la rivière Okanagan (appelée Okanogan aux États‑Unis). Cette espèce préfère les sites fluviaux où le débit est constant, l’eau plutôt peu profonde (en général < 3 m) et le substrat bien oxygéné, en particulier lorsqu’il s’agit de substrat fin. Dans la plupart des localités connues, il ne semble pas y avoir de lits de macrophytes, mais les pierres avoisinantes peuvent être couvertes d’une dense communauté de périphyton. En général, les mulettes sont partiellement enfouies dans le substrat fin, souvent jusqu’à au moins la moitié de leur longueur, la partie postérieure orientée vers l’amont. Dans les substrats plus grossiers, par exemple à certains sites de l’Okanogan, les mulettes peuvent être presque entièrement enfouies, seule leur extrémité postérieure dépassant légèrement au‑dessus du substrat. En général, un même habitat peut abriter des individus non larvaires de tous âges. Cependant, dans certains cas exceptionnels, par exemple à proximité de l’embouchure de la rivière Okanogan, on ne trouve que des juvéniles; à cet endroit, il est probable que les grosses moules suffoquent. La prédominance des juvéniles à un endroit donné devrait être considérée comme atypique. Par ailleurs, à bien des endroits où le G. angulata a été récolté récemment (Tableau 2), on n’a trouvé que de gros adultes.

Dans le lac Vaseux près d’Oliver (Colombie‑Britannique), on trouve de gros individus dans le sable vaseux à une profondeur de 0,6 à 0,9 m le long de lits de Potamogeton (potamots), du côté du rivage. Ailleurs, le G. angulata a été récolté dans des cours d’eau allant de gros ruisseaux (p. ex. le ruisseau Toppenish, tributaire de la rivière Yakima, dans l’État de Washington) à de grandes rivières et même dans le cours inférieur du fleuve Columbia (Washington/Oregon). La plupart des spécimens récoltés se trouvaient à une profondeur de 0,2 à 3 m, mais un certain nombre de spécimens vivants ont été dragués dans le réservoir Little Granite (Washington) à une profondeur d’environ 10 m et dans le cours inférieur du fleuve Columbia (Oregon/Washington), à une profondeur d’environ 20 m. Cette espèce occupe parfois des bassins dans lesquels il y a un écoulement continu. Par exemple, le G. angulata est présent dans certains systèmes fluvio‑lacustres comme le lac Osoyoos (Colombie‑Britannique) (Taylor 1993), le réservoir Little Granite et le cours inférieur de la rivière Snake (Washington) (Frest et Johannes, 1992; on pense que cette population est maintenant éteinte). Les populations qu’abritent ces systèmes semblent dispersées, ne comprenant que quelques adultes largement dispersés, et les paramètres démographiques y sont rarement bien équilibrés. Cette espèce semble éviter les eaux riches en éléments nutritifs, bien que certaines populations du cours moyen de la rivière Snake (Idaho) ont résisté à un enrichissement considérable en éléments nutritifs à l’échelle locale. Cependant, certains cours d’eau de l’aire de répartition historique n’abritaient peut‑être pas l’espèce à l’origine. La répartition actuelle dans le sud‑ouest du Washington et le nord‑ouest de l’Oregon est très sporadique malgré la persistance d’habitats qui semblent propices. À l’échelle régionale, l’espèce semble assez peu commune, même si elle peut être abondante à certains endroits.

Le Gonidea angulata préfère les secteurs où les conditions sont stables et semble éviter les endroits où le substrat varie et qui sont périodiquement asséchés ou sujets à des fluctuations extrêmes du niveau d’eau, ou à des épisodes saisonniers d’hypoxie ou d’anoxie. Dans certaines localités de l’espèce, la turbidité varie de façon marquée au cours d’une année normale, mais l’espèce semble absente dans les cours d’eau où l’eau est constamment trouble, comme les cours d’eau alimentés par des eaux de fonte glaciaire (p. ex. la rivière White Salmon, dans l’État de Washington, et la rivière Hood, en Oregon), alors qu’elle occupe certains cours d’eau avoisinants où les eaux ne sont troubles que de façon saisonnière, comme les rivières Deschutes et John Day, en Oregon (Frest et Johannes, 1992).

En Colombie‑Britannique, la rivière Okanagan a subi des modifications importantes, passant d’une rivière sinueuse à une sorte de canal pourvu d’installations de régulation des eaux. Ces modifications ont grandement réduit les remontes de Salmonidés dans la rivière et ont altéré les sédiments benthiques. En outre, les changements effectués dans la rivière ont probablement altéré l’habitat favorable au G. angulata et la nette réduction des remontes de Salmonidés (hôtes présumés) peut avoir nui à la dispersion des glochidies. Compte tenu de la population réduite de Salmonidés dans la rivière Okanagan et des obstacles qui l’entravent, il est probable que la dispersion du G. angulata vers l’amont est gravement compromise ou impossible, sa dispersion vers l’aval demeurant probable grâce au déplacement des poissons dans cette direction. Aux États-Unis et au Canada, les barrages construits sur la rivière Okanagan créent des obstacles physiques qui empêchent le passage du poisson et réduisent fortement la dispersion du G. angulata vers l’amont depuis les États-Unis jusque dans le Canada par l’intermédiaire du transport de glochidies sur des poissons hôtes.

Tendances

En Colombie‑Britannique, on pense que le G. angulata est limité à des habitats très particuliers dans le sud de l’Okanagan, au sud de Penticton; cependant, on n’a pas effectué de relevés à grande échelle visant cette espèce. À cause des données disponibles restreintes sur la répartition et l’abondance réelles de l’espèce, il est impossible d’évaluer directement sa situation; cependant, à cause des menaces qui pèsent sur son habitat, il y a lieu de soupçonner qu’elle est limitée par l’habitat et en déclin. Par exemple, le G. angulata a besoin d’eaux claires oligotrophes (G. Mackie, comm. pers.) et, dans le sud de la Colombie‑Britannique, seule une proportion approximative de 10 p. 100 à 20 p. 100 de la superficie abrite des lacs ou des cours d’eau de ce type (M. Gaboury, comm. pers.). Il est donc peu probable que cette espèce puisse étendre son aire de répartition actuelle à cause de la disponibilité restreinte d’habitat favorable.

Dans son aire de répartition historique, le G. angulata est actuellement dispersé et l’on doit supposer que l’espèce est en déclin. Dans le cours moyen de la rivière Snake (Idaho), on a trouvé beaucoup plus de coquillages morts que d’individus vivants, et des tronçons appréciables de la rivière ne renferment plus d’individus vivants. De plus, l’espèce est maintenant éteinte dans certaines voies navigables où l’on a déjà observé des spécimens vivants (p. ex. les rivières Yakima et Wenatchee, dans l’État de Washington) (T. J. Frest, obs. pers.). Pour certaines rivières de l’aire de répartition du G. angulata, il est possible que l’on ne possède pas de mentions historiques soit à cause de l’absence de récoltes, soit parce que l’espèce n’était pas présente au moment des récoltes, de sorte que le fait que l’espèce y soit actuellement absente ne reflète peut‑être pas un changement (p. ex. rivière Sanpoil, dans l’État de Washington). Frest (obs. pers.) a observé dans la rivière Okanogan (Washington) et ailleurs de nombreuses populations dans lesquelles il ne semble pas y avoir eu de recrutement récemment, ce qui donne à penser que la situation s’est dégradée. Pour l’Idaho, Frest et Johannes (2001) ont qualifié l’espèce de « commune localement mais en déclin » et ont suggéré que soit exercée une surveillance étroite des populations existantes en vue d’une protection éventuelle.

Protection et propriété des terrains

Les terres voisines des sites abritant le G. angulata dans le sud de la Colombie‑Britannique sont des propriétés de divers types, qui vont de propriétés privées à des propriétés provinciales, le dernier site découvert dans le ruisseau Park Rill se trouvant dans une terre publique; cependant, on n’y a découvert qu’un spécimen mort. Aux États-Unis, les secteurs occupés par le G. angulata se trouvent dans des terres publiques administrées par le gouvernement fédéral (Bureau of Land Management du US Department of the Interior ou US Department of Agriculture Forest Service).