Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussel (Gonidea Angulata)

Biology

General

Compared with some other North American freshwater mussels, relatively little is known about the biology of this taxon. This may be in part due to its rather isolated taxonomic position. Taylor (1988), for example, thought it a likely relative of the Korean genus described in Yoo and Habe (1962). Rosenberg et al. (1994) and Lydeard et al. (1996) have also emphasized its unique taxonomic position in North America. The species has not been artificially cultivated in the laboratory or raised for more than a short period of its life span.

 

Life cycle and reproduction

Freshwater mussels have a complex life cycle, which includes a short parasitic stage attached to a fish host. The life of a freshwater mussel can be partitioned into five distinct stages:

a larva (called glochidium) developing in the gill of a female mussel,

a short planktonic glochidial stage expelled from the female mussel,

a brief (2-3 weeks) to long (2-4 months) parasitic (commensalistic) glochidium attached to the gills or fins of a living host fish,

a free-living benthic juvenile, and

the benthic adult mussel.

Generally, reproduction occurs when the male releases sperm into the water column, which is siphoned into the female to fertilize the eggs (Figure 6). Reproduction may be triggered by increasing water temperatures and day length. Development and retention of larvae (0.1 – 0.4 mm in size) within the female may last from 1 to 4 months (i.e. tachytictic females) to 6-10 months (i.e. bradytictic females).

Figure 6.  Generalized life cycle of a freshwater mussel. Numbers refer to the five life stages listed above.

 

Figure 6.  Generalized life cycle of a freshwater mussel. Numbers refer to the five life stages listed above.

Timing for reproduction, gravidity, egg and sperm release, and larval development are not specifically known for G. angulata. Collections have been made of gravid individuals in April through July but not in August through October, implying a tachytictic habit. Glochidial morphology of this species is unknown. Fertilization in G. angulata has not been described; however, it is likely that fertilization of the eggs is internal, as described above, as female unionids receive sperm during the process of filter feeding, at which time glochidia that are being brooded in the marsupial compartment of the gills are fertilized. It is unlikely that female G. angulata eject their larva in bound mucilaginous tubes called conglutinates. If fertilization is external, crude counts suggest that gravid females may release in excess of 10,000 eggs (compared to most unionids which produce hundreds of thousands to millions of glochidia) into the water column. There is no evidence of self-fertilization in this taxon, as judged from the literature and specimens examined by one of the authors (TJF).

Glochidia are typically released from the female in spring and early summer (April to July). The larvae drift passively with the plankton until they contact a suitable host teleost. Timing is critical for these larvae, as they cannot survive for long outside the female or without a host fish. Some mussels may depend on only a single fish species as a host, whereas others can parasitize many different fish species. The attachment of glochidia usually does not cause problems for the host fish (Cunjak and McGladdery 1991). If glochidia find a host fish, they attach to the gills or fins and remain attached for one to six weeks (or more or less) while transforming into a juvenile mussel. As juveniles, they drop off the fish and begin a free-living benthic life.

Likely, gonadal development takes place from the late winter to late spring, with egg and sperm release in the early summer to early fall. Only a few mature, gravid specimens have been noted. These tended to be large forms perhaps 10 or more years old. It is likely that reproduction is annual for mature individuals, so that under ideal circumstances the species is a yearly iteroparous breeder. It is probable that this species is tachytictic; the subfamily Ableminae is characterized as having a short breeding season. Other life cycle patterns are also possible, though less likely (see Dillon 2000). Strong seasonality in most of the streams in which this taxon occurs makes it unlikely that reproduction occurs in more than one period per year. Hence, the species appears to be univoltine and iteroparous. See Bauer and Wächtler (2001), McMahon and Bogan (2001) and Dillon (2000) for information on reproductive strategies in this group.

 

Survival

Glochidial survival in freshwater mussels is typically low, ranging between 10 and 18,000 individuals per billion glochidia that survive to the 1-2 year stage in the few taxa for which estimates have been made (Jansen et al., 2001). Adults of this species seem to be comparatively short-lived, perhaps 20-30 years from growth ring counts, versus the 120 years or more for the sympatric Margaritifera falcata.

 

Physiology

Relatively little specific information is available for this taxon. Gonidea angulata seems to be one of a group of taxa perhaps less tolerant of siltation, nutrient enhancement, substrate shift, and of low flow régimes than are many eastern North American taxa. The taxon appears to be somewhat stenothermal, favouring cold-water oligotrophic habitats, and was so classed by Frest (1999) and Frest and Johannes (2001). However, it has shown some tolerance of increasing nutrient loads in the middle Snake River and elsewhere. In the Okanogan and Snake Rivers, it has survived decimation of native salmonid populations, which has been implicated in reducing the populations of the conspecific Margaritiopsis falcata. Dense populations, on the other hand, have been observed only in relatively pristine to moderately degraded streams.

Feeding may be limited under temperature extremes, during periods of relatively high sediment influx, or to avoid pollution or other habitat condition surges. The taxon commonly occurs with other cold-water stenothermal or stenotopic molluscs, such as Margaritifera falcata; Anodonta californiensis; Juga spp.; Fisherola or Lanx spp. and Fluminicola spp. All these taxa are regarded as sensitive molluscs by Frest and Johannes (1995b).

Vannote and Minshall (1982) reported that G. angulata was well adapted to aggrading rivers due to its well-formed distal inhalant and exhalant siphons and to its ability to bury most, if not all, of its shell in sediments without affecting feeding. Furthermore, G. angulata has a strongly angular, wedge-shaped shell, and the foot is commonly positioned at a right angle to the shell ridge providing for a very strong anchor.

 

Movements/dispersal

Unionaceans are dispersed primarily during the glochidial stage, first by currents and then by fish; hence, distribution and ecology are limited by current and fish host(s). Thus, all available habitat need not be occupied, and range may vary in size, depending upon the number and distribution potential of the fish host(s). The larval glochidia of G. angulata will disperse via fish movements (both upstream and downstream). Due in part to its relatively wide historical range, it is presumed that the host fish were (are) represented by more than one species and perhaps more than one family.

After leaving the fish host, the transformed glochidia, now called juveniles, typically drop to the substrate. The substrate on which they land and the water column in which the substrate occurs must be suitable for survival (i.e., low turbidity, suitable substrate for embedding, and the presence of other habitat attributes required for survival).

Repeat visits to some U.S. Okanogan sites seem to indicate little or no seasonal or life stage movement of post-glochidial forms within this taxon, even in a relatively shallow stream. Adult specimens in the Little Granite Reservoir showed little sign of movement even as the reservoir was dewatered, effectively dying in place. As with many large freshwater mussels, juveniles and young specimens seem more active than individuals older than 5 years, which appear to be effectively sessile unless disturbed. Displaced individuals have been observed to reorient and rebury themselves. The taxon does not appear to migrate seasonally or during the breeding season, either in river, lakes or streams though definitive data are lacking. It appears unable to readily colonize new habitats, such as borrow pits, highway lakes, or dredged river sections, unlike the regionally more common Anodonta oregonensis.

Densities of adult G. angulata may vary considerably depending on the suitability and availability of habitat. For example, as much as 10 m or more distance separates individual G. angulata (1/25 m2) in the Lower Granite Reservoir, Washington, and densities of approximately 16/m2 were observed in 1988 and 1991 in the Okanogan River, Washington (T.J. Frest, unpublished data). In the Salmon River Canyon, Idaho densities of G. angulata ranged from 5.5 – 183/ m2 depending on the composition of the substrate (Vannote and Minshall 1982). The density of G. angulata is surely correlated to the distribution and availability of suitable habitat and it is presumed that densities of mussels will be lower in areas with poorer quality habitat than in areas with better quality habitat.

 

Nutrition and interspecific interactions

Gonidea angulata is an obligate filter feeder, as are most unionids. Most unionaceans filter organic debris from the water column; some may directly absorb certain nutrients, especially in the younger stages. As a result of their feeding technique, the volume of water filtered by an adult G. angulata is significant, which leaves them especially vulnerable to dissolved pollutants, some of which are involuntarily sequestered. For details on unionid feeding, see McMahon and Bogan (2001) and Dillon (2000).

 

Behaviour/adaptability

No information is available.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Gonidée des Rocheuses (Gonidea Angulata)

Biologie

Généralités

Comparativement à certaines autres moules d’eau douce d’Amérique du Nord, la biologie de ce taxon est relativement peu connue. Cette situation est peut‑être attribuable en partie à sa position taxinomique plutôt isolée. Par exemple, Taylor (1988) pense que la gonidée des Rocheuses est probablement un organisme apparenté à un genre observé en Corée et décrit dans Yoo et Habe (1962). Rosenberg et al. (1994) et Lydeard et al. (1996) soulignent également la position taxinomique unique de cette espèce en Amérique du Nord. L’espèce n’a été élevée ou cultivée artificiellement en laboratoire que pendant une brève période de son cycle biologique.

Cycle biologique et reproduction

Le cycle biologique des moules d’eau douce est complexe et comprend un court stade parasite sur un poisson hôte. Ce cycle peut être divisé en cinq stades distincts :

  1. une larve (appelée glochidie) se développant dans les branchies d’une moule femelle;
  2. un court stade planctonique, à l’état de glochidie, après l’expulsion par la moule femelle;
  3. un stade bref (de 2 à 3 semaines) ou long (de 2 à 4 mois) à l’état de glochidie parasite (commensale) fixée sur les branchies ou les nageoires d’un poisson hôte;
  4. un stade juvénile benthique libre;
  5. la moule adulte benthique.

En général, la reproduction a lieu quand le mâle libère son sperme dans la colonne d’eau, lequel est aspiré par le siphon inhalant de la femelle pour féconder les œufs (Figure 6). La reproduction peut être déclenchée par une hausse de la température de l’eau et l’allongement du jour. Le développement et la rétention des larves (de 0,1 à 0,4 mm de grandeur) dans la femelle peut durer de 1 à 4 mois (cas des femelles à période de gravidité courte [tachytictic species] ou de 6 à 10 mois (cas des femelles à période de gravidité longue [bradytictic species]).

Figure 6.  Cycle biologique général d’une moule d’eau douce. Les chiffres renvoient aux cinq stades énumérés ci‑dessus.

Figure 6.  Cycle biologique général d’une moule d’eau douce. Les chiffres renvoient aux cinq stades énumérés ci‑dessus.

Les caractéristiques temporelles de la reproduction, de la gravidité, de la libération des œufs et du sperme et du développement des larves chez le G. angulata ne sont pas bien connues. On a récolté des individus gravides d’avril à juillet, mais pas d’août à octobre, ce qui semble indiquer que la période de gravidité est courte (tachytictic species). La morphologie des glochidies de cette espèce est inconnue. Le processus de fécondation chez le G. angulata n’est pas décrit; cependant, il est probable que la fécondation des œufs soit interne, les Unionidés femelles recevant le sperme dans le processus d’alimentation par filtration; il y a alors fécondation, puis les glochidies sont couvées dans le marsupium des branchies. Il est peu probable que la femelle du G. angulata éjecte ses larves en masses tubulaires mucilagineuses liées appelées conglutinats. Si la fécondation est externe, des décomptes bruts donnent à penser que les femelles gravides peuvent libérer plus de 10 000 œufs dans la colonne d’eau (alors que la plupart des Unionidés produisent des centaines de milliers à des millions de glochidies). Il ne semble pas y avoir autofécondation chez ce taxon, si l’on en juge d’après la documentation et les spécimens étudiés par T.J. Frest.

En général, les glochidies sont libérées par la femelle au printemps et au début de l’été (avril à juillet). Les larves dérivent passivement avec le plancton jusqu’à ce qu’elles entrent en contact avec un hôte téléostéen approprié. Le moment de la libération est crucial pour ces larves, car elle ne peuvent pas survivre longtemps à l’extérieur de la femelle ou sans poisson hôte. Certaines moules dépendent d’une seule espèce de poisson hôte, tandis que d’autres peuvent parasiter de nombreuses espèces différentes. La fixation des glochidies ne cause habituellement aucun problème au poisson hôte (Cunjak et McGladdery, 1991). Si les glochidies trouvent un poisson hôte, elles se fixent à ses branchies ou à ses nageoires et y demeurent de une à six semaines (plus ou moins) pendant lesquelles elles se transforment en moules juvéniles. Parvenues au stade juvénile, elles tombent du poisson et commencent leur vie benthique libre.

Selon toute apparence, le développement des gonades s’effectue de la fin de l’hiver à la fin du printemps, les œufs et le sperme étant libérés du début de l’été au début de l’automne. Seuls quelques individus matures gravides ont été observés. Ceux‑ci étaient en général de gros individus peut‑être âgés de 10 ans ou plus. Il est probable que les individus matures se reproduisent chaque année, de sorte que dans des circonstances idéales, cette espèce est un organisme itéropare se reproduisant chaque année. La période de gravidité de l’espèce est probablement courte (tachytictic species), ce qui est une caractéristique de la sous‑famille des Ambléminés. Il est possible que le cycle biologique soit différent, mais c’est peu probable (voir Dillon, 2000). Compte tenu de la forte saisonnalité observée dans la plupart des cours d’eau qui abritent ce taxon, il est peu probable qu’il y ait plus d’une période de reproduction par année. Ainsi, l’espèce serait univoltine et itéropare. Voir Bauer et Wächtler (2001), McMahon et Bogan (2001) ainsi que Dillon (2000) pour plus d’information sur les stratégies de reproduction de ce groupe.

Survie

En général, le taux de survie des glochidies chez les moules d’eau douce est faible, soit de 10 à 18 000 individus par milliards de glochidies survivant jusqu’à l’âge de un à deux ans dans les quelques taxons pour lesquels des estimations ont été faites (Jansen et al., 2001). La durée de vie des adultes de cette espèce semble courte, peut‑être de 20 à 30 ans d’après le décompte des bourrelets de croissance, comparativement aux 120 ans ou plus observés chez l’espèce sympatrique Margaritifera falcata.


Physiologie

Il existe relativement peu d’information sur la physiologie de ce taxon. Le Gonidea angulata semble faire partie d’un groupe de taxons qui tolèrent peut‑être moins bien l’envasement, l’enrichissement en éléments nutritifs, les variations du substrat et les régimes de basses eaux que bien d’autres taxons de l’est de l’Amérique du Nord. Ce taxon semble être quelque peu sténotherme et préfère les eaux froides oligotrophes; Frest (1999) ainsi que Frest et Johannes (2001) lui ont attribué ces caractéristiques. Cependant, il a montré une certaine tolérance à l’augmentation de la charge en éléments nutritifs dans le cours moyen de la rivière Snake et ailleurs. Dans les rivières Okanogan et Snake, il a survécu à l’effondrement des populations indigènes de Salmonidés, qui a joué un rôle dans la réduction des populations de l’espèce sympatrique Margaritifera falcata. Cependant, on n’a observé des populations denses que dans des cours d’eau relativement intacts à modérément dégradés.

Cette espèce peut limiter son activité alimentaire quand les températures sont extrêmes, pendant les périodes d’apport de sédiments relativement élevé, ou pour se protéger contre la pollution ou d’autres conditions extrêmes de l’habitat. Ce taxon se trouve communément en compagnie d’autres mollusques d’eau froide sténothermes ou sténotopiques : Margaritifera falcata, Anodonta californiensis, Juga spp., FisherolaLanx spp., Fluminicola spp. et autres. Tous ces taxons sont considérés comme des mollusques sensibles par Frest et Johannes (1995b).

Vannote et Minshall (1982) ont signalé que le G. angulata est bien adapté aux rivières alluvionnantes à cause de ses siphons inhalant et exhalant distaux bien développés et de sa capacité d’enfouir en grande partie, sinon entièrement, sa coquille dans les sédiments sans entraver son alimentation. De plus, le G. angulata possède une coquille cunéiforme fortement angulaire et son pied, communément placé à angle droit par rapport à la crête de la coquille, lui assure un ancrage très solide.

Déplacements et dispersion

Les Unionacés se dispersent surtout au stade larvaire (glochidie), d’abord sous l’action des courants puis grâce au poisson hôte; par conséquent, leur répartition et leur écologie sont limitées par les courants et les poissons hôtes. Ainsi, tout l’habitat disponible n’est pas nécessairement occupé, et la taille de l’aire de répartition peut varier en fonction du nombre de poissons hôtes et de leur potentiel de répartition. Les glochidies du G. angulata se dispersent grâce au déplacement des poissons (vers l’amont et vers l’aval). En partie à cause de son aire de répartition historique relativement grande, on suppose qu’il pourrait y avoir eu ou qu’il y a encore plus d’une espèce, et peut‑être même plus d’une famille, de poissons hôtes.

Lorsqu’elle quitte le poisson hôte, la glochidie transformée, alors devenue une moule juvénile, tombe en général sur le substrat. Le substrat sur lequel elle atterrit ainsi que la colonne d’eau qui abrite ce substrat doivent être propices à la survie de la glochidie (c.‑à‑d. faible turbidité, substrat permettant l’enfouissement et présence des autres caractéristiques de l’habitat nécessaires à la survie).

Des visites répétées à certains sites de l’Okanogan aux États-Unis semblent indiquer que chez la gonidée des Rocheuses, les formes postérieures à la glochidie se déplacent peu, sinon pas du tout, en fonction des saisons ou du cycle biologique, même dans un cours d’eau relativement peu profond. Dans le réservoir Little Granite, des individus adultes ont montré peu de signe de déplacement, même lorsque le réservoir a été asséché, et sont morts sur place. Comme chez bien des grandes moules d’eau douce, les juvéniles et les jeunes adultes semblent plus actifs que les individus âgés de plus de 5 ans, qui semblent être vraiment sessiles, s’ils ne sont pas dérangés. On a observé des individus déplacés qui se réorientaient et s’enfouissaient de nouveau. Il ne semble pas que cette mulette effectue des migrations de façon saisonnière ou pendant la période de reproduction, que ce soit dans les lacs ou les cours d’eau, bien que l’on ne possède pas de données suffisantes pour le confirmer. L’espèce semble incapable de coloniser rapidement des habitats nouvellement créés, comme des emprunts inondés, des lacs issus de travaux routiers, ou des tronçons de rivière dragués, contrairement à une espèce plus commune dans la région, l’Anodonta oregonensis.

La densité des G. angulata adultes peut varier considérablement selon la qualité et la disponibilité de l’habitat. Par exemple, une distance de 10 m ou plus sépare chaque G. angulata (1/25 m2) dans le réservoir Lower Granite (Washington) et l’on a observé une densité approximative de 16/m2 en 1988 et en 1991 dans la rivière Okanogan (Washington) (T.J. Frest, données inédites). Dans le canyon de la rivière Salmon (Idaho), la densité de G. angulata varie entre 5,5/m2 et 183/m2 selon la composition du substrat (Vannote et Minshall, 1982). La densité de G. angulata est sûrement corrélée avec la répartition et la disponibilité de l’habitat propice et l’on suppose que la densité des moules sera plus faible dans les régions où les habitats sont de piètre qualité que dans celles où la qualité des habitats est meilleure.

Nutrition et interactions interspécifiques

Le Gonidea angulata est un filtreur obligatoire, à l’instar de la plupart des Unionidés. La majorité des Unionacés filtrent les débris organiques de la colonne d’eau; certains peuvent absorber directement certains éléments nutritifs, surtout en bas âge. Compte tenu de ce mode d’alimentation, le volume d’eau filtré par un G. angulata adulte est important, ce qui rend l’espèce particulièrement vulnérable aux polluants dissous, dont certains sont involontairement séquestrés. Pour plus de détails sur l’alimentation des Unionidés, voir McMahon et Bogan (2001) ainsi que Dillon (2000).

Comportement et adaptabilité

Il n’y a pas d’information disponible sur ces sujets.