Skip booklet index and go to page content

Scientific Review for the Identification of Critical Habitat for Woodland Caribou (Rangifer tarandus caribou), Boreal Population, in Canada

RESULTS

5.1 Proposed Critical Habitat Identi.cation for Local Populations of Boreal Caribou in Canada

The result of the application of the Decision Tree is described in Table 6. Based on this science review, proposed Critical Habitat designations are described for each local population as the Current Range, Current Range and Improved Conditions, or Current Range and Consider Resilience, based on the integrated probability assignment (Section 2.6.5) and application of decision rules (Section 2.6.6). The notes column provides explanations and considerations for each local population. These notes could be augmented by additional information available from jurisdictions. Limited, local population information was available at the time of this assessment, and for consistency, the results presented include only that information available across all populations, and considered in the present evaluation. A general description of the components of Critical Habitat to be considered within local population ranges is found in the Habitat Narrative (Appendix 6.3) and is referenced in Table 6 by ecozones and ecoregions relevant to each local population.


Application of the Critical Habitat Identi.cation Framework to each local population or unit of analysis was based on the most current available information provided by jurisdictions for: delineation of local populations or units of analysis (where these have been de. ned); trend data; and population size data. Disturbance data was derived using a nationally consistent method as part of the science review. The science review did not include an assessment of data quality for data provided by jurisdictions, although Appendix 6.9 provides an indication of the level of con.dence as provided by jurisdictions. National, standardized criteria and methods for boreal caribou population assessments do not exist and have been recommended as an activity in the Schedule of Studies (Section 4.4, Table 7) to improve comparability in reporting.

1

2

1

2

3

4

4

5

6

6

7

8

8

9

1

Table 6: Proposed Critical Habitat Identi. cation, by local population or unit of analysis, for boreal caribou within their current distribution inCanada.

To support Results interpretation, Figure 9 illustrates the integrated probability assignments to each local population, and the assessment of the most plausible outcome relative to the likelihood that the current range is self-sustaining. It is important to note that the integrated probability assignment should not be interpreted as an absolute probability of persistence, due both to variation in the generation of probabilities for each criterion, and the method by which the criteria were integrated. However, it is a weight of evidence measure relative to the question of whether a given range (the spatial delineation of a local population or unit of analysis) is likely to support a self-sustaining population as a function of the current range and population conditions. Further, it is not an indication of whether a population is recoverable or not; rather, it is an expression of the degree of habitat recovery or management intervention necessary to restore the population's ability to be self-sustaining (e.g., to persist without the need for ongoing management intervention; Section 2.2.4).

The resultant proposed Critical Habitat Identifi cation for the 57 recognized local populations or units of analysis considered in the decision analysis was:

■ Current Range for 25 local populations or units of analysis;
■ Current Range and Improved Conditions for 21 local populations or units of analysis;
■ Current Range and Consider Resilience for 11 local populations or units of analysis.

 

Figure 9: Probability that current range will support a self-sustaining population of boreal caribou, based on integrated probability assignments that considered population trend and size, and level of disturbance associated with anthropogenic activities and .re (see Section 2.6.5). This Figure is not an illustration of whether a population is recoverable or not, rather, it is an indication of the degree of habitat change necessary to enable a population to be self-sustaining (e.g. to persist without the need for ongoing management intervention).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Examen scientifique aux fins de la désignation de l’habitat essentiel de la population boréale du caribou des bois (Rangifer tarandus caribou) au Canada

RÉSULTATS

5.1 Désignation proposée pour l'habitat essentiel des populations locales du caribou boréal au Canada

Le résultat de l'application de l'Arbre de décision est décrit au tableau 6. Selon cet examen scienti.que, les désignations proposées pour l'habitat essentiel sont décrites pour chaque population locale par « Aire de répartition actuelle », « Aire de répartition actuelle et amélioration des conditions » ou « Aire de répartition actuelle et résilience potentielle », selon la probabilité intégrée attribuée (section 2.6.5) et l'application des règles de décision (section 2.6.6). La colonne des remarques fournit des explications et des considérations pour chaque population locale. Ces notes pourraient être complétées par les renseignements supplémentaires disponibles auprès des compétences. Au moment de cette évaluation, des renseignements limités étaient disponibles relativement à la population locale et, aux . ns de cohérence, les résultats présentés dans la présente évaluation comprenaient uniquement les renseignements disponibles pour toutes les populations. Une description générale des composantes de l'habitat essentiel à étudier au sein des aires de répartition de populations locales se trouve dans la Description de l'habitat (annexe 6.3) et est référencée dans le tableau 6 par écozones et écorégions pertinentes à chaque population locale.


L'application du Cadre de désignation de l'habitat essentiel de chaque population locale ou unité d'analyse se fondait sur les renseignements les plus récents disponibles fournis par les compétences aux .ns de délimitation des populations locales ou unités d'analyse (lorsqu'elles ont été dé.nies) ainsi que sur les données sur la tendance et la taille de la population. Les données sur la perturbation ont été élaborées à l'aide d'une méthode uniforme à l'échelle nationale dans le cadre de l'examen scienti.que. L'examen scienti.que ne comprenait pas d'évaluation de la qualité des données pour les données fournies par les compétences, bien que l'annexe 6.9 fournisse une indication du niveau de con.ance fourni par les compétences. Il n'existe pas de critères et de méthodes nationales normalisées pour les évaluations de populations du caribou boréal et ils ont fait l'objet d'une recommandation dans le Calendrier d'études (section 4.4, tableau 7), sous forme d'activités visant à améliorer la comparabilité relative à la production de rapports.

1

1

2

2

3

4

6

4

6

7
6

8

9

10

11

12

13

16

16

18

Pour aider à l'interprétation des résultats, la fi gure 9 illustre la probabilité intégrée attribuée à chaque population locale ainsi que l'évaluation du résultat le plus plausible en ce qui concerne la probabilité que l'aire de répartition actuelle soit autosuffi de signaler que la probabilité intégrée attribuée ne doit pas être interprétée comme une probabilité de persistance absolue, en raison de la variation de la génération des probabilités pour chaque critère et de la méthode selon laquelle les critères ont été intégrés. Toutefois, il s'agit d'une mesure qui permet de déduire si une aire de répartition donnée (la délimitation spatiale d'une population locale ou d'une unité d'analyse) est susceptible de soutenir une population autosuffi sante en tant que fonction des conditions de l'aire de répartition actuelle et de la population. Par ailleurs, elle n'indique pas si une population peut être rétablie ou non, mais elle exprime plutôt le degré de rétablissement de l'habitat ou d'intervention de gestion nécessaire pour restaurer la capacité de la population à être autosuffi sante (c.-à-d. persister sans nécessiter d'intervention de gestion continue, section 2.2.4).


Voici la désignation qui a donc été proposée pour l'habitat essentiel des 57 populations locales ou unités d'analyse reconnues et prises en compte dans l'analyse des décisions :


■ Aire de répartition actuelle pour 25 populations locales ou unités d'analyse;
■ Aire de répartition actuelle et amélioration des conditions pour 21 populations locales ou
unités d'analyse;
■ Aire de répartition actuelle et résilience potentielle pour 11 populations locales ou unités
d'analyse.

Figure 9 : Probabilité que l’aire de répartition actuelle soutienne une population autosuffi sante du caribou boréal, selon l’attribution de la probabilité