Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Redside Dace in Canada

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Redside Dace
Clinostomus Elongatus

Species Information

The redside dace is a colourful minnow that reaches a maximum length of 12 cm. In the spring it develops a bright red stripe along the front half of the body and a brilliant yellow stripe above. It is distinguished from other Canadian cyprinids by its very large mouth, protruding lower jaw, and large pectoral fins on the male. It is one of two species in the genus Clinostomus which is currently believed to be most closely related to Richardsonius, a genus of western dace.

 

Distribution

The redside dace has a discontinuous distribution ranging from southeastern Minnesota in the west; north to the Lake Superior drainage in upper Michigan, and the north end of Lake Huron in Ontario; east to New York in the Susquehanna drainage; and south to West Virginia and Kentucky.

In Canada, it is found only in Ontario in tributaries of western Lake Ontario from Oshawa to Hamilton, in tributaries of the Holland River (Lake Simcoe drainage), in a tributary of the Grand River (Lake Erie drainage), and three tributaries of Lake Huron.

Historically in Ontario, the species was found in small (< 10 m wide), isolated tributaries of 24 watersheds. It was most likely extirpated from seven of these tributaries between 1940 and 1980. Although one population (Humber River) appears to have undergone a range expansion between 1950 and 1980, most of the remaining populations have been restricted to, or become fragmented into, small isolated sections of an earlier, wider distribution in most watersheds. There is recent (2000-2004) sampling evidence that two populations (West Don and Morrison Creek) are close to extirpation, or have been extirpated.

 

Habitat

The redside dace is found in pools and slow-flowing sections of relatively small, clear headwater streams with both pool and riffle habitats and a moderate to high gradient. These streams typically flow through meadows, pasture or shrub overstory, and have abundant overhanging riparian vegetation. Redside dace occupy pool habitats and spawn in riffles or the slow-flowing water at the bottom end of pools. Populations have been lost from several streams that have had major habitat changes associated with intensive urban development and the construction of reservoirs. Approximately one-half of the extant sites are in or near areas expected to be developed over the next 16 years. The beds of the streams inhabited by redside dace are either privately owned or, if navigable, are generally owned by the Crown. The majority of adjacent lands are privately owned, but those in urban subdivisions are usually returned to public ownership.

 

Biology

The redside dace is relatively short-lived, reaching a maximum age of 4 years, with most fish maturing at age 2. Redside dace spawn in gravel riffles in May when water temperatures reach 16-18 °C. The non-adhesive eggs are normally laid in the gravel nests of co-occurring minnow species such as creek chub (Semotilus atromaculatus) and common shiner (Luxilus cornutus) while these species are still on the nest. The fecundity of redside dace ranges from 409-1971 eggs/female. The redside dace is a surface feeder and often leaps several centimetres out of the water to capture aerial insects. It feeds primarily on terrestrial insects, especially adult flies (Diptera). No long distance movements have been reported for redside dace populations. In Ontario, the redside dace usually co-occurs with tolerant, common coolwater fishes such as creek chub, common shiner and blacknose dace (Rhinichthys atratulus species complex). It occasionally co-occurs with various trout species that may compete with, and prey upon, redside dace.

 

Population Sizes and Trends

Absolute population sizes have not been estimated. Analysis of data on sampling at historical sites of occurrence indicates that redside dace have declined in most of the river systems in Canada with few exceptions. Large declines have occurred in 8 watersheds that were thought to have healthy or stable populations when the status was reviewed in 1985. This conclusion was based on the presence of healthy populations in the 1970s and 1980s. Redside dace populations are strongest in tributaries of the Humber River, the Rouge River and Sixteen Mile Creek. Search efforts have failed to find them, and they are likely extirpated, from the following streams: Pringle Creek, parts of Duffins Creek (main stem, Urfe Creek and Reesor Creek), Highland Creek, the lower Rouge River, middle sections of the Don River, German Mills Creek, Mimico Creek, Etobicoke Creek, a creek in Clarkson, and Mountsberg Creek, a tributary of Bronte Creek. Surveys also suggest declines in Lynde Creek, parts of the upper Rouge River, tributaries of the Credit River (Silver Creek and its tributaries, Huttonville Creek and Fletcher’s Creek), Fourteen Mile Creek, the upper parts of all three branches of Sixteen Mile Creek, Spencer Creek, the Holland River tributaries Kettleby Creek and Sharon Creek, the Grand River tributary Irvine Creek, the Saugeen River and its tributary Meux Creek. The West Don and Morrison Creek populations are likely close to extirpation. There is no possibility of rescue from populations in the U.S.

 

Limiting Factors and Threats

The major threats to redside dace in Ontario are habitat alteration and degradation, resulting in changes in water quality and quantity and riparian vegetation, associated with urban development and agricultural activities and the introduction of non-indigenous species.

 

Special Significance of the Species

Redside dace feed primarily on terrestrial insects thereby importing terrestrial energy into stream ecosystems. Redside dace may be useful as an indicator of ecosystem health as they are more sensitive to environmental disturbance than most fish species in the Ontario streams where they occur.

 

Existing Protection

The habitat of the redside dace receives general protection under the habitat provisions of the federal Fisheries Act. The harvest of redside dace is prohibited in Ontario as it is a specially protected fish under the Ontario Fisheries Regulations. The species is listed as Threatened in Ontario and as Endangered in Michigan and Indiana.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le méné long au Canada – Mise à jour

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Méné long
Clinostomus elongatus

Information sur l’espèce

Le méné long est un poisson coloré d’une longueur maximale de 12 cm. Au printemps, une bande rouge vif longe la moitié avant du corps. Au-dessus de cette bande se trouve une ligne jaune brillant. Le méné long se distingue des autres Cyprinidés du Canada par une bouche très grande, une mâchoire inférieure protubérante et, chez les mâles, de grandes nageoires pectorales. Le méné long est l’une des deux espèces du genre Clinostomus, lequel on considère actuellement comme étant le plus étroitement apparenté au genre Richardsonius.

 

Répartition

L’aire de répartition du méné long est discontinue : sud-est du Minnesota; nord du bassin versant du lac Supérieur, dans le nord du Michigan, et extrémité nord du lac Huron, en Ontario; est de l’État de New York, dans le bassin de la Susquehanna; sud de la Virginie-Occidentale et Kentucky.

Au Canada, on trouve l’espèce seulement en Ontario, dans des affluents de la portion ouest du lac Ontario, depuis Oshawa à Hamilton, dans des affluents de la rivière Holland (bassin du lac Simcoe), dans un affluent de la rivière Grand (bassin du lac Érié) et dans trois affluents du lac Huron.

En Ontario, l’espèce se rencontrait autrefois dans de petits affluents isolés (< 10 m de largeur) de 24 bassins versants. Elle a probablement disparu de 7 de ces affluents entre 1940 et 1980. Une population (rivière Humber) semble avoir étendu son aire de répartition de 1950 à 1980, mais la plupart des populations des autres bassins versants sont devenues fragmentées ou confinées à de petites sections isolées d’une aire de répartition passée plus vaste. Des échantillons récents (de 2000 à 2004) révèlent clairement que 2 populations (rivière West Don et ruisseau Morrison) sont disparues ou sur le point de disparaître.

 

Habitat

Les ménés longs vivent dans des fosses et des tronçons à faible courant de petits cours d’eau d’amont à eau claire, modérément à fortement inclinés et présentant à la fois des radiers et des mouilles. Ces cours d’eau, surplombés par une végétation riveraine abondante, coulent généralement à travers des prés, des prairies ou des forêts dominées par des arbustes. Les ménés longs vivent dans des mouilles et frayent dans des radiers ou dans des sections à faible courant se trouvant dans la partie aval des mouilles. Des populations ont disparu de plusieurs cours d’eau où l’habitat a subi des changements majeurs associés au développement urbain intensif et à l’aménagement de réservoirs. Environ la moitié des sites existants se trouvent dans des zones qui seront probablement développées au cours des 16 prochaines années, ou à proximité. Le lit des cours d’eau abritant des ménés longs est de propriété privée ou, dans le cas des cours d’eau navigables, appartient à la Couronne. La majorité des terres adjacentes sont privées, mais celles dans les lotissements urbains sont généralement retournées à la Couronne.

 

Biologie

Les ménés longs ont une durée de vie relativement courte : ils vivent jusqu’à un maximum de quatre ans, et la plupart des poissons atteignent la maturité à deux ans. Les ménés longs frayent dans des mouilles de gravier en mai, à des températures de 16 à 18 °C. Les œufs non adhésifs sont normalement déposés dans les nids graveleux d’espèces de ménés sympatriques telles que le mulet à cornes (Semotilus atromaculatus) et le méné à nageoires rouges (Luxilus cornutus), et ce, même lorsque des individus de ces espèces se trouvent encore dans les nids. La fécondité des ménés longs varie de 409 à 1 971 œufs par femelle. L’espèce se nourrit en surface; elle bondit souvent à plusieurs centimètres au-dessus de l’eau pour capturer des insectes aériens. Ses principales proies sont des insectes terrestres, dont les mouches adultes (Diptères). Aucun déplacement de populations de ménés longs sur de grandes distances n’a été rapporté. En Ontario, les ménés longs partagent leur territoire avec des poissons d’eau froide communs et tolérants, par exemple le mulet à cornes, le méné à nageoires rouges et le naseux noir (complexe spécifique Rhinichthys atratulus). Il vit occasionnellement avec des espèces de truites avec lesquelles il peut entrer en compétition ou dont il peut se nourrir.

 

Taille et tendances des populations

La taille absolue des populations n’a pas été estimée. Selon une analyse des données tirées d’un échantillonnage dans des sites historiques d’occurrence, le nombre de ménés longs est en déclin dans la plupart des réseaux fluviaux du Canada, sauf à quelques endroits. D’importantes baisses ont été observées dans 8 bassins versants qui, d’après l’examen du statut en 1985, abritaient des populations saines et stables. Cette constatation était fondée sur la présence de populations saines dans les années 1970 et 1980. Les populations de ménés longs sont les plus abondantes dans les affluents de la rivière Humber, de la rivière Rouge et du ruisseau Sixteen Mile. Des activités de recherche n’ont pas permis de détecter la présence de l’espèce dans les cours d’eau suivants : ruisseau Pringle, portions du ruisseau Duffins (cours principal, ruisseaux Urfe et Reesor), ruisseau Highland, cours inférieur de la rivière Rouge, tronçons moyens de la rivière Don, ruisseau German Mills, ruisseau Mimico, ruisseau Etobicoke, un ruisseau de la localité de Clarkson et ruisseau Mountsberg (affluent du ruisseau Bronte). L’espèce a probablement disparu de ces cours d’eau. Des relevés indiquent également des déclins dans le ruisseau Lynde, des portions du cours supérieur de la Rouge, des affluents de la rivière Credit (ruisseau Silver et ses affluents, ruisseaux Huttonville et Fletcher’s), du ruisseau Fourteen Mile, des portions du cours supérieur des trois bras du ruisseau Sixteen Mile, du ruisseau Spencer, des ruisseaux Kettleby et Sharon (affluents de la rivière Holland), du ruisseau Irvine (affluent de la rivière Grand), de la rivière Saugeen et de son affluent (ruisseau Meux). Les populations de la rivière West Don et du ruisseau Morrison sont probablement presque disparues. Il n’y a aucune possibilité d’immigration des populations des États‑Unis.

 

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Les ménés longs de l’Ontario sont principalement menacés par l’altération et la détérioration des habitats, qui modifient la qualité et la quantité de l’eau ainsi que la végétation riveraine, par le développement urbain et les activités agricoles et par l’introduction d’espèces exotiques.

 

Importance de l’espèce

Les ménés longs se nourrissent principalement d’insectes terrestres, ce qui assure l’importation d’énergie terrestre dans les écosystèmes fluviaux. L’espèce peut être un indicateur utile de la santé des écosystèmes puisque, dans les cours d’eau de l’Ontario où elle vit, elle est plus sensible aux perturbations de l’environnement que la plupart des autres espèces de poissons.

 

Protection actuelle

Les habitats des ménés longs font l’objet d’une protection générale aux termes des dispositions sur l’habitat de la Loi sur les pêches du gouvernement fédéral. La pêche au méné long est interdite en Ontario. L’espèce est protégée par le Règlement de pêche de l’Ontario de 1989. L’espèce est désignée menacée en Ontario et en voie de disparition (« Endangered ») au Michigan et en Indiana.