Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Redside Dace in Canada

Update
COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Redside dace
Clinostomus elongatus
in Canada
2007

Species Information

Name and Classification

Class:
Actinopterygii
Order:
Cypriniformes
Family:
Cyprinidae (carp and minnow family)
Scientific name:
Clinostomus elongatus (Kirtland, 1841)
English Common name:
redside dace
French Common name:
méné long


The genus Clinostomus is endemic to North America and consists of two described species (Nelson et al. 2004). A systematic study of the redside dace has not been completed and no subspecies have been described (Gilbert 1980). The other species in the genus, the rosyside dace, Clinostomus funduloides, consists of three described subspecies one of which may be close to species status (Gilbert and Lee 1980).

Coburn and Cavender (1992) include Clinostomus in the shiner group with such genera as Notropis, Luxilus, Pimephales, Opsopoeodus and Cyprinella. Clinostomus has specialized rows of comb-like scales on the breast of spawning males, a characteristic also found in genera such as Phoxinus, Couesius, Margariscus and Richardsonius (Cavender and Coburn 1992). Coburn and Cavender (1992) hypothesize that Clinostomus is the sister group to Richardsonius (e.g., redside shiner, Richardsonius balteatus) and these two are sister groups to the remaining members of the shiner group.


Morphological Description

The redside dace (Fig. 1) is one of Canada's most brightly coloured minnows and reaches a maximum total length of 12 cm. It has a large mouth (the jaw extends to below the pupil of the eye), with a protruding lower jaw. It has relatively small scales (59-75 lateral scales). The adult has a wide, red, mid-lateral stripe that extends from the head to below the dorsal fin. Above the red stripe, there is a bright yellow stripe that extends from the head to near the tail fin. Colours intensify during spring and fade during late summer and fall, at which time there may be a purplish sheen on the sides. Males are more brightly coloured and have larger pectoral fins than females. Prior to spawning, the male develops small tubercles that are particularly prominent on top of the head and pectoral fins (Schwarz and Novell 1958, Scott and Crossman 1973, Page and Burr 1991).


Figure 1: Redside Dace from East Humber River

Figure 1: Redside dace from East Humber River.

Photo by E. Holm, ROM.

The redside dace can be distinguished from other Canadian cyprinids by its very large mouth, protruding lower jaw, and large pectoral fins on the male. Other cyprinids that have red sides such as the northern redbelly dace (Phoxinus eos), the finescale dace (P. neogaeus), the blacknose dace (Rhinichthys atratulus species complex), and the pearl dace (Margariscus margarita) develop a red stripe that extends farther back (to the tail vs. to below the dorsal fin). The large mouth and protruding lower jaw is evident on juvenile redside dace. Very small juveniles (ca. 20-25 mm) may also be distinguished from co-occurring shiners by having 5 (vs. 4) teeth in the throat (Fish 1932).


Genetic Description

No genetic study of redside dace has been published, although allozyme and mitochondrial DNA analyses of several populations in Canada and the United States are underway (Wilson pers. comm. 2005). Preliminary findings based on allozyme electrophoresis have shown that populations in Ontario, Ohio and New York share a common postglacial ancestry from a presumably Mississippian refugium during the late Pleistocene. Populations in Ontario are genetically divergent from each other despite their geographic proximity, suggesting that these populations have been reciprocally isolated from each other since soon after their founding. Levels of genetic diversity in the sampled populations were higher than comparison populations in Ohio, indicating that inbreeding within the sampled populations is not an immediate concern. The high within-population diversity combined with the disappearance of previously known populations, however, may indicate that rates of population decline are occurring more rapidly than can be detected with genetic markers (Wilson pers. comm. 2005). These are preliminary findings based on comparisons between only a few populations, and we lack knowledge of the level of differences between all Ontario populations. Therefore, it is premature to treat populations as separate/genetically distinct units.


Designatable Units

All Canadian populations are found within the Great Lakes-Western St. Lawrence Freshwater Ecological Area (COSEWIC 2003). There are no known distinctions between the populations within this area that warrant consideration of designatable units below the species level.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le méné long au Canada – Mise à jour

Mise à jour
Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
mémé long
Clinostomus elongatus
au Canada
2007

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Classe :
Actinoptérygiens
Ordre :
Cypriniformes
Famille :
Cyprinidés (famille des carpes et des ménés)
Nom scientifique :
Clinostomus elongatus (Kirtland, 1841)
Nom commun français :
méné long
Nom commun anglais :
redside dace


Le genre Clinostomus, endémique à l’Amérique du Nord, est formé de 2 espèces décrites (Nelson et al., 2004). Aucune étude systématique du méné long n’a été réalisée, et aucune sous-espèce n’est décrite (Gilbert, 1980). L’autre espèce du genre, le Clinostomus funduloides, est composé de trois sous-espèces décrites, dont l’une a une situation qui se rapproche de celle du méné long (Gilbert et Lee, 1980).

Coburn et Cavender (1992) classe le genre Clinostomus dans le groupe des ménés avec les genres Notropis, Luxilus, Pimephales, Opsopoeodus et Cyprinella. La poitrine des mâles reproducteurs du genre Clinostomus présente des rangées spécialisées d’écailles pectinées, caractéristique également observée chez les genres Phoxinus, Couesius, Margariscus et Richardsonius (Cavender et Coburn, 1992). Coburn et Cavender (1992) ont émis l’hypothèse voulant que le genre Clinostomus soit le groupe sœur du genre Richardsonius (p. ex. méné rose [Richardsonius balteatus]) et que ces 2 derniers groupes soient apparentés aux autres membres du groupe des ménés.


Description morphologique

Le méné long (figure 1) est l’un des ménés aux couleurs les plus vives du Canada. Il atteint une longueur maximale de 12 cm. La bouche est grande (la mâchoire s’étend jusque sous la pupille de l’œil), et la mâchoire inférieure est protubérante. Les écailles sont relativement petites (de 59 à 75 écailles à la ligne latérale). Les adultes arborent une large bande mi-latérale rouge, qui s’étend depuis la tête jusqu’à sous la nageoire dorsale. Au-dessus de cette bande se trouve une ligne jaune brillante, qui part de la tête et se rend près de la nageoire caudale. La coloration s’intensifie au printemps et pâlit à la fin de l’été et à l’automne, période où les flancs peuvent présenter une teinte violacée. Les mâles sont de coloration plus vive que les femelles, et leurs nageoires pectorales sont plus grandes. Avant la fraye, les mâles développent de petits tubercules particulièrement proéminents sur la tête et les nageoires pectorales (Schwartz et Norvell, 1958; Scott et Crossman, 1973; Page et Burr, 1991).


Figure 1 : Méné long de la rivière Humber Est

Figure 1 : Méné long de la rivière Humber Est.

Photo prise par E. Holm, du Musée royal de l’Ontario.

Le méné long se distingue des autres Cyprinidés du Canada par une très grande bouche, une mâchoire inférieure protubérante et, chez les mâles, de grandes nageoires pectorales. D’autres Cyprinidés aux flancs rouges, par exemple le ventre rouge du nord (Phoxinus eos), le ventre citron (P. neogaeus), le naseux noir (complexe spécifique Rhinichthys atratulus) et le mulet perlé (Margariscus margarita), développent une bande rouge qui s’étend plus loin vers l’arrière (jusqu’à la queue comparativement à juste dessous la nageoire dorsale). La grande bouche et la mâchoire inférieure protubérante sont évidentes chez les jeunes ménés longs. Il est possible de distinguer les jeunes très petits (d’environ 20 à 25 mm) des autres ménés sympatriques par la présence, sur les premiers, de cinq dents pharyngiennes (au lieu de quatre) (Fish, 1932).


Description génétique

Aucune étude sur la génétique du méné long n’a été publiée, mais des analyses des alloenzymes et de l’ADN mitochondrial de plusieurs populations canadiennes et américaines sont en cours (Wilson, comm. pers., 2005). Des résultats préliminaires fondés sur l’électrophorèse des alloenzymes révèlent que des populations de l’Ontario, de l’Ohio et de l’État de New York partagent la même origine postglaciaire : elles proviendraient probablement d’un refuge glaciaire mississippien datant de la fin du Pléistocène. Les populations de l’Ontario divergent génétiquement les unes des autres, et ce, en dépit de leur proximité géographique. Elles auraient donc été réciproquement isolées les unes des autres juste après leur formation. La consanguinité au sein des populations échantillonnées ne constitue pas une préoccupation immédiate puisque ces dernières présentaient une diversité génétique plus élevée que des populations témoins de l’Ohio. Toutefois, la grande diversité au sein d’une même population, combinée à la disparition de populations autrefois connues, peut révéler un déclin plus rapide que ce que laissent croire les marqueurs génétiques (Wilson, comm. pers., 2005). Ces résultats préliminaires sont fondés sur des comparaisons entre seulement quelques populations. De plus, nous ne connaissons pas bien l’ampleur des différences entre toutes les populations ontariennes. Par conséquent, il est prématuré de traiter les populations comme des unités séparées ou génétiquement distinctes.


Unités désignables

Toutes les populations canadiennes se trouvent dans l’aire écologique des Grands Lacs – Ouest du Saint-Laurent (COSEPAC, 2003). Aucune distinction entre les populations de cette aire justifie de traiter les unités désignables à un niveau inférieur à l’espèce.