Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Redside Dace in Canada

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

The redside dace is found in pools and slow-flowing sections of relatively small headwater streams with both pool and riffle habitats and a moderate to high gradient (McKee and Parker 1982, Meade et al. 1986, Goforth 2000, Andersen 2002, Daniels pers. comm. 2005). Substrate varies from silt to boulders, but they are often associated with gravel (McKee and Parker 1982; Becker 1983; Holm and Crossman 1986, Daniels, pers. comm. 2005). Overhanging riparian vegetation in the form of grasses and shrubs as well as undercut banks and instream cover (boulders, large woody debris) are important components of redside dace habitat. Redside dace are typically found in stream segments that flow through open meadows, pasture or shrub overstory as opposed to closed canopy forest in Ontario (Andersen 2002, Parish 2004) and Wisconsin (Becker 1983). In Kentucky, redside dace are found in forested watersheds with canopy over the stream (Meade et al. 1986).

Redside dace typically occur in streams that are clear, and water clarity is often mentioned as being important to redside dace habitat (McKee and Parker 1982; Meade et al. 1986; Daniels and Wisniewski 1994; Goforth 2000). However, redside dace have been captured in Ontario in streams with moderate turbidity (Holm and Crossman 1986), and Coon (1993) suggested that redside dace may have a broader range of tolerances to temperature, turbidity and depth in areas where they are common. The redside dace is a visual feeder which probably explains its preference for clear water habitats (Daniels and Wisniewski 1994). Studies on the effect of turbidity on other fishes have shown that turbidity reduces foraging effectiveness in some species. For example, turbid water decreased growth in brook trout (Salvelinus fontinalis) because they became more active switching from drift feeding to active searching (Sweka and Hartman 2001). The volume and diversity of stomach contents in brown trout decreased progressively with increasing turbidity (Stuart-Smith et al. 2004). Bonner and Wild (2002) found that prey consumption by the Arkansas River shiner (Notropis girardi), the emerald shiner (N. atherinoides), red shiner (Cyprinella lutrensis), and sand shiner (N. stramineus) was reduced by elevated turbidity. Other species appear to be unaffected. Prey consumption by the peppered chub (Macrhybopsis teranema) and flathead chub (Platygobio gracilis) was unaffected by elevated turbidity (Bonner and Wild 2002).

Redside dace are considered to be a coolwater species (Coker et al. 2001). Becker (1983) stated that redside dace avoid warm water as well as very cold water. In Ontario, most streams where redside dace have been collected had summer temperatures less than 20 °C, although some streams were as warm as 23 °C (McKee and Parker 1982). In New York, redside dace have been collected at summer stream temperatures ranging from 13-30 °C, although most (80%) of the collections were at temperatures between 14 and 25 °C (Coon 1993). Coon (1993) suggested that the optimal summer temperature for redside dace was close to 20 °C.

Redside dace are normally found in smaller streams ranging from 1-10 m (mean= 5) in width (McKee and Parker 1982; Becker 1983), In New York, stream widths averaged 5-10 m (Daniels pers. comm. 2005). Occasional individuals have been captured in the larger main stems of Ontario rivers. It is not clear whether these individuals represent established populations, or strays from smaller tributary streams. With the exception of spawning time, redside dace reside in the deeper, slow-moving pool sections of streams. Reported stream depths for redside dace captures throughout their range vary from 0.1 – 2.0 m (McKee and Parker 1982; Becker 1983; Coon 1993, Daniels pers. comm. 2005). Coon (1993) suggested that suitable habitat for redside dace was provided by pools ranging from 11-100 cm in depth. Parish (2004) found that redside dace preferred streams with small width to depth ratios. Novinger and Coon (2000) observed that redside dace displayed a consistent preference for mid-water positions in the deepest part of pools. In New York, stream discharges at sites of redside dace capture ranged from 0.01-1.6 m3/s, with most (80%) collections occurring at discharges between 0.01 and 0.43 m3/s (Coon 1993). 

Redside dace spawn in shallow gravel riffles, usually as a nest associate of other cyprinid species (Koster 1939; Page and Johnston 1992; E. Holm, unpublished data). Parish (2004) found that Ontario streams with redside dace populations tended to have riffles with larger particle sizes than streams without redside dace, even though eggs are laid on gravel substrates.

There is no information available regarding winter habitat use, although presumably they overwinter in deep pool areas with little current. There is no information available regarding the habitat of redside dace larvae. Habitat use by juveniles has not been specifically studied, although juveniles are often collected in Ontario from the same pools as adult fish.


Habitat Trends

Loss of suitable habitat (or habitat modification) is likely the major factor contributing to redside dace declines in Ontario. Populations have been lost from several streams that have had major habitat changes associated with intensive urban development and the construction of reservoirs. Population declines associated with habitat loss have probably occurred in about one-half of Ontario’s redside dace streams, and only a few are considered to be relatively undisturbed. The species is now restricted to the relatively undisturbed headwaters of many streams where it was once widespread (McKee and Parker 1982).

As urbanization has proceeded over the last 50 years in the Greater Toronto Area, most redside dace populations have disappeared from developed areas or populations have become increasingly restricted to headwater areas (Fig. 5). Approximately one-half of the redside dace sites that have been shown to be extant over the last 15 years are within, or immediately adjacent to, areas that are scheduled to be developed over the next 16 years. The nature of stream habitat changes associated with urbanization is summarized below under Limiting Factors.


Figure 5: Distribution of Redside Dace (Clinostomus elongatus) in the Greater Toronto Area Over Time

Figure 5: Distribution of redside dace (Clinostomus elongatus) in the Greater Toronto Area over time.

Closed circles represent sites where redside dace were captured; open circles represent sites of former redside dace occurrence where sampling occurred, but no redside dace were captured; grey shading represents extent of urban area.

A draft recovery strategy has been prepared for redside dace in Ontario that is attempting to protect and restore redside dace habitats (Redside Dace Recovery Strategy 2005).


Habitat Protection/Ownership

The habitat of the redside dace receives general protection under the habitat provisions of the federal Fisheries Act. Adjacent lands receive policy level protection through the fish habitat and species at risk provisions of the Provincial Policy Statement (PPS) under the provincial Planning Act. The PPS prohibits development or site alteration on adjacent lands (within 30 m of fish habitat) unless it can be shown through an Environmental Impact Study that the fish habitat in question will not be negatively impacted. Development and site alteration is not permitted in the significant habitat of Ontario Threatened and Endangered species. Recent amendments to the Planning Act now require municipal planning decisions to be consistent with the PPS. The provincial Lakes and Rivers Improvement Act may also indirectly protect redside dace habitat when applications for the construction or maintenance of dams and dredging activities are reviewed. Alteration in or near floodplain, wetland, and/or watercourses is regulated by Conservation Authorities through the Development, Interference with Wetlands and Alterations to Shorelines and Watercourses Regulation.Aspects of the provincial Nutrient Management Act, Environmental Protection Act, Water Resources Act, Source Water Protection Act may also provide indirect protection for the habitat of redside dace.

The beds of the streams inhabited by redside dace are either privately owned or, if navigable, are generally owned by the Crown. The majority of adjacent land is privately owned and in agricultural production or in urbanizing landscapes. Lands immediately adjacent to streams in urban subdivisions are usually returned to public ownership.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le méné long au Canada – Mise à jour

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

Les ménés longs vivent dans des fosses et des tronçons à faible courant de petits cours d’amont à eau claire, modérément à fortement inclinés et présentant à la fois des radiers et des mouilles (McKee et Parker, 1982; Meade et al., 1986; Goforth, 2000; Andersen, 2002; Daniels, comm. pers., 2005). Le substrat varie de limoneux à rocheux, mais est surtout graveleux (McKee et Parker, 1982; Becker, 1983; Holm et Crossman, 1986; Daniels, comm. pers., 2005). L’habitat des ménés longs est caractérisé par une végétation riveraine abondante et surplombante composée d’herbes et d’arbustes, des berges sapées et une couverture en rivière (roches, gros débris ligneux). En Ontario (Andersen, 2002; Parish, 2004) et au Wisconsin (Becker, 1983), les ménés longs fréquentent généralement les tronçons fluviaux qui s’écoulent dans des prés dégagés, des prairies ou des forêts dominées par des arbustes (plutôt que des forêts à couvert fermé). Au Kentucky, on les trouve dans des bassins versants boisés au couvert surplombant les cours d’eau (Meade et al., 1986).

Les ménés longs préfèrent les cours d’eau limpides; en effet, la clarté de l’eau est souvent mentionnée comme un facteur important de l’habitat (McKee et Parker, 1982; Meade et al., 1986; Daniels et Wisniewski, 1994; Goforth, 2000). Toutefois, en Ontario, des individus ont été capturés dans des cours d’eau à turbidité modérée (Holm et Crossman, 1986). Selon Coon (1993), l’espèce tolère peut-être de plus grandes gammes de température, de turbidité et de profondeur dans les zones où elle est commune. Le méné long est un prédateur visuel, ce qui explique probablement sa préférence pour les habitats d’eau claire (Daniels et Wisniewski, 1994). Des études sur l’effet de la turbidité sur d’autres poissons ont montré que la turbidité réduit la capacité de se nourrir de certaines espèces. Par exemple, en eau trouble, les ombles de fontaine (Salvelinus fontinalis) croissent moins vite, car elles sont plus actives et, au lieu de se nourrir de la dérive, recherche activement des proies (Sweka et Hartman, 2001). Le volume et la diversité du contenu stomacal chez les ombles de fontaine diminuaient progressivement à mesure que la turbidité augmentait (Stuart-Smith et al., 2004). Bonner et Wild (2002) ont constaté que le Notropis girardi, le méné émeraude (N. atherinoides), le Cyprinella lutrensis et le méné paille (N. stramineus) consommaient moins de proies lorsque la turbidité était élevée. D’autres espèces, par contre, ne semblent pas être affectées par la turbidité. Une turbidité élevée n’a pas influé sur la consommation de proies du Macrhybopsis teranema et du méné à tête plate (Platygobio gracilis) (Bonner et Wild, 2002).

Le méné long est considéré comme une espèce d’eau froide (Coker et al., 2001). Becker (1983) a affirmé que l’espèce évite les eaux chaudes et les eaux très froides. En Ontario, la température de la plupart des cours d’eau où des ménés longs ont été prélevés était de moins de 20 °C l’été; certains cours d’eau affichaient cependant des températures allant jusqu’à 23 °C (McKee et Parker, 1982). Dans l’État de New York, des ménés longs ont été capturés à des températures d’été variant entre 13 et 30 °C, mais la plupart des prises (80 p. 100) ont été réalisées à des températures de 14 à 25 °C (Coon, 1993). Selon Coon (1993), la température estivale optimale des ménés longs est d’environ 20 °C.

Les ménés longs vivent normalement dans de petits cours d’eau de 1 à 10 m (moyenne = 5 m) de largeur (McKee et Parker, 1982; Becker, 1983). Dans l’État de New York, les largeurs variaient en moyenne entre 5 et 10 m (Daniels, comm. pers., 2005). Des individus ont occasionnellement été capturés dans les cours principaux de rivières ontariennes. On ne sait pas très bien s’ils représentent des populations établies ou plutôt des individus errants provenant de plus petits cours d’eau tributaires. Sauf pendant la période de fraye, les ménés longs restent dans les sections profondes à faible courant des cours d’eau. Dans l’ensemble de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce, on a rapporté avoir capturé des individus à des profondeurs variant entre 0,1 et 2,0 m (McKee et Parker, 1982; Becker, 1983; Coon, 1993, Daniels. comm. pers., 2005). Coon (1993) a indiqué que l’habitat propice aux ménés longs était peut-être les mouilles de 11 à 100 cm de profondeur. Parish (2004) a constaté que l’espèce préfère les cours d’eau dont le rapport largeur/profondeur est faible. Novinger et Coon (2000) ont observé que les ménés longs préfèrent se tenir à mi-profondeur dans les parties les plus profondes des fosses. Dans l’État de New York, le débit dans les sites de capture variaient de 0,01 à 1,6 m3/s, et la plupart (80 p. 100) des prises ont été réalisées dans des sites où le débit variait de 0,01 à 0,43 m3/s de débit (Coon, 1993). 

Les ménés longs frayent dans des mouilles de gravier peu profondes. Ils utilisent habituellement des nids associés à d’autres espèces de Cyprinidés (Koster, 1939; Page et Johnston, 1992; E. Holm, données inédites). Parish (2004) a constaté que les cours d’eau ontariens abritant des ménés longs présentaient des mouilles avec des particules plus grosses que les cours d’eau sans ménés longs, et ce, même si les œufs étaient déposés dans des substrats graveleux.

Il n’existe aucune donnée sur l’utilisation de l’habitat en hiver, mais l’on présume que les ménés longs hivernent dans des fosses profondes à faible courant. On ne sait rien non plus sur l’habitat des larves de ménés longs. Enfin, on n’a pas réalisé d’étude sur l’utilisation de l’habitat par les jeunes en particulier, mais de jeunes ménés longs ont souvent été capturés en Ontario dans des fosses fréquentées également par des adultes.


Tendances en matière d’habitat

La perte des habitats propices (ou la modification des habitats) est probablement le principal responsable du déclin des populations de ménés longs en Ontario. Des populations ont disparu de plusieurs cours d’eau qui ont subi d’importants changements d’habitat associés au développement urbain intensif et à l’aménagement de réservoirs. Des déclins de populations de ménés longs dus à la perte d’habitats se sont probablement produits dans environ la moitié des cours d’eau de l’Ontario, et seuls quelques cours d’eau sont considérés comme relativement non perturbés. Dans de nombreux cours d’eau où l’espèce était autrefois répandue, cette dernière est maintenant confinée à des eaux d’amont relativement peu perturbées (McKee et Parker, 1982).

Avec l’urbanisation de la région métropolitaine de Toronto ces 50 dernières années, la plupart des populations de ménés longs ont disparu des zones développées. Certaines populations sont de plus en plus limitées aux eaux d’amont (figure 5). Environ la moitié des sites où l’on a observé des ménés longs ces 15 dernières années se trouvent dans des zones ou à proximité de zones que l’on prévoit urbaniser au cours des 16 prochaines années. La nature des changements d’habitat des cours d’eau associés à l’urbanisation est résumée ci-dessous, dans la section Facteurs limitatifs et menaces.


Figure 5 : Répartition du méné long (Clinostomus elongatus) dans la région métropolitaine de Toronto au fil des ans

Figure 5 : Répartition du méné long (Clinostomus elongatus) dans la région métropolitaine de Toronto au fil des ans.

Les cercles pleins représentent les localités où des spécimens ont été capturés, et les cercles vides, celles où l’espèce était présente autrefois, mais où les travaux d’échantillonnage n’ont produit aucun résultat. Les zones ombragées illustrent l’étendue des zones urbaines.

L’ébauche du programme de rétablissement visant le méné long en Ontario vise à protéger et à remettre en état les habitats de l’espèce (programme de rétablissement du méné long, 2005).


Protection et propriété

L’habitat du méné long fait l’objet d’une protection générale aux termes des dispositions sur l’habitat de la Loi sur les pêches du gouvernement fédéral. Les terres adjacentes reçoivent une protection politique par l’intermédiaire des dispositions sur l’habitat du poisson et les espèces en péril de la Déclaration de principes provinciale (DPP) formulée aux termes de la Loi sur l’aménagement du territoire du gouvernement ontarien. La DPP interdit l’aménagement ou l’altération de sites se trouvant sur des terres adjacentes à un habitat des poissons (dans un rayon de 30 m), à moins qu’une étude d’impact environnemental ne montre que l’habitat en question ne sera pas affecté. L’aménagement et l’altération de sites ne sont pas permis dans les habitats importants des espèces menacées ou en voie de disparition de l’Ontario. De récentes modifications à la Loi sur l’aménagement du territoire exigent maintenant que les décisions de planification municipale soient conformes à la DPP. Dans le processus d’examen de demandes d’aménagement ou d’entretien de barrages et de demandes d’activités de dragage, on peut recourir à la Loi sur l’aménagement des lacs et des rivières du gouvernement ontarien pour protéger indirectement l’habitat du méné long. L’altération de la plaine inondable, de milieux humides et/ou de cours d’eau, ou l’altération de zones proches de ces derniers, est réglementée par les offices de protection de la nature aux termes du Règlement de l’Ontario 97/04 : développement, interférence avec les terres humides et altérations des berges et des cours d’eau. Des aspects de la Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs, de la Loi sur la protection de l’environnement, de la Loi sur les ressources en eau de l’Ontario et de la nouvelle loi sur la protection des sources d’eau potable en Ontario peuvent aussi protéger indirectement l’habitat du méné long.

Le lit des cours d’eau abritant des ménés longs sont de propriété privée ou, dans le cas des cours d’eau navigables, appartient à la Couronne. La majorité des terres adjacentes sont privées et se trouvent dans des zones urbanisées ou des zones de production agricole. Les terres immédiatement adjacentes à des cours d’eau dans des lotissements urbains sont généralement retournées à la Couronne.