Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Redside Dace in Canada

Biology

Aspects of the biology of redside dace have been studied throughout much of its range (Kentucky, Michigan, New York, Ontario, Pennsylvania), but there have been few comprehensive studies. There are still several aspects of its life history that are not well understood.


Life Cycle and Reproduction

The redside dace is relatively short-lived, reaching a maximum age of 4 years (Koster 1939, Schwartz and Norvell 1958). The oldest reported Ontario specimens were 3 year olds (McKee and Parker 1982). Schwartz and Norvell (1958) captured a very low ratio of males to females (1:3.5) in Pennsylvania. The highest number of males (15-50%) occurred in March-June, after which they virtually disappeared. Most were 1-2 year olds. Of 227 individuals there were 118 Age I, 72 Age II, 31 Age III and 6 Age IV.

Redside dace grow quickly and achieve about 50% of their total growth during their first year (McKee and Parker 1982). Growth of fish from pooled Ontario streams analyzed by Parker and McKee (1982) was comparable to growth in populations studied from New York, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin (Koster 1939; Schwartz and Norvell 1958; Becker 1983). Females grow faster, and reach a larger size than males (Koster 1939; McKee and Parker 1982). In a pooled sample of redside dace from Ontario, all 1 year old fish were immature, while most 2 year olds and all 3 year olds were mature (McKee and Parker 1982). Koster (1939) found that redside dace in a New York stream mature at age 2 and that fish apparently spawned every year after reaching maturity. Given that most fish mature at age 2 and live until age 4, generation time is estimated at 3 years.

Redside dace spawn in late May in New York when water temperatures reach 18 °C (Koster 1939). Parker and McKee (1982) captured redside dace in prespawning condition in early May in the East Humber River, Ontario, at water temperatures of 16-19 °C and suggested that spawning times and temperatures in Ontario are likely similar to those observed in New York. The authors have observed redside dace spawning activity in a western Lake Ontario tributary (Fourteen Mile Creek) from 10-29 May at temperatures ranging from 16-18.3 °C.

Eggs are normally laid in riffles in the gravel nests of other minnows (Cyprinidae). Koster (1939) described spawning by redside dace in the nests of creek chub (Semotilus atromaculatus) and common shiners (Luxilus cornutus) in New York. Redside dace spawning activity has also been observed in Ontario streams while these two common species were still active on the nest. Observations indicated that spawning in Fourteen Mile Creek usually occurred at the bottom end of pools, or in the upper part of riffles, where the current was 5-30 cm/sec (E. Holm, unpublished data). Johnston and Page (1992) also included minnows of the genus Nocomis as nest associates. Although the range of redside dace overlaps with two Ontario species in this genus (hornyhead chub [Nocomis biguttatus] and river chub [Nocomis micropogon]), redside dace spawning activity has not been observed in Nocomis nests in Ontario. By spawning in the nests of larger minnow species, which are better at excavating nests, the eggs of the redside dace presumably have a greater chance of survival because they receive better aeration and increased protection from predation (Johnston and Page 1992). Although the practice can result in the frequent production of hybrids (Koster 1939), hybridization does not appear to be a serious problem (Becker 1983). Most nest associates are capable of spawning independently (Johnston, pers. comm. 2001), but this has not been observed in redside dace. Although creek chub and common shiners are ubiquitous in southern Ontario streams, they initiate spawning at slightly cooler temperatures (12-17 °C) than the preferred spawning temperature for redside dace (18 °C) (Becker 1983), although redside dace spawning activity has been observed as low as 16 °C. The temperature differential and the shorter spawning period of redside dace may limit opportunities for communal nesting in some years.

Koster (1939) described the spawning behaviour observed in a New York stream in great detail and most of his observations are consistent with observations from Ontario streams (E. Holm, unpublished data). During the spawning period, males leave their resident pools, and travel short distances to spawning sites, especially in the middle of the day. Prior to spawning, males defend small territories (a few centimetres in each direction) immediately behind creek chub (or common shiner) nests. When ready to spawn, redside dace congregate in dense schools behind the nest. Females then individually move forward into the nest and are followed by groups of up to 4-6 males and spawning takes place. Eggs are broadcast and fertilized in the depression of the nest. Each individual spawns several times with a number of partners. The fecundity of redside dace reported in the literature ranges from 409-1971 eggs/female (Koster 1939; Becker 1983; McKee and Parker 1982). Eggs are non-adhesive and measure 1.2-2.4 mm in diameter (Koster 1939). Koster (1939) found that males remained in spawning condition for a period of 17 days in a New York stream.

There is no direct parental care of eggs, but indirect protection may be afforded by the nest and the presence of the male nest associate. The guarding male keeps the nest free of silt and deters egg predators. Koster (1939) found that male creek chub displayed tolerance to redside dace that had moved into their nest to spawn. Development of eggs and the larval stages of redside dace have not been described. Fish (1932) described a small (23 mm) juvenile, which can be distinguished from Notropis and Luxilus in having 5 (vs. 4) pharyngeal teeth.


Feeding/Nutrition

The redside dace is primarily a surface feeder (Schwartz and Norvell 1958). The large upturned mouth of the redside dace makes it ideally adapted to capturing prey from below. Redside dace often leap several centimetres out of the water to capture aerial insects (Koster 1939; Schwartz and Norvell 1958; Daniels and Wisniewski 1994). This type of feeding behaviour relies on vision and would obviously be facilitated in habitats with clear water. The mid-water position maintained by redside dace also helps to facilitate surface feeding.

The redside dace feeds primarily on terrestrial insects, especially adult flies (Diptera) (Schwartz and Norvell 1958; McKee and Parker 1982; Daniels and Wisniewski 1994). Schwartz and Norvell (1958) found that terrestrial insects made up 77% of the diet by volume in a Pennsylvania stream from March to October. Parker and McKee (1982) found that adult flies made up 85% of the food volume consumed by redside dace from Ontario streams in August and September. Adult flies also comprised 85% of the food consumed between April and November in two New York streams (Daniels and Wisniewski 1994). Dance flies (Empididae) of the genus Hilara were the most important prey. Dance flies were not found in drift samples suggesting that redside dace were importing terrestrial energy produced in riparian vegetation into the stream (Daniels and Wisniewski 1994). Although redside dace do consume benthic insects and other invertebrate prey, these organisms are of minor importance in the diet and are more commonly eaten when winged forms are absent (Schwartz and Norvell 1958; McKee and Parker 1982; Daniels and Wisniewski 1994). Terrestrial insects are important to all age classes, although the size of food items consumed increases with age (Schwartz and Norvell 1958).

Predation on redside dace has not been reported in the literature although it undoubtedly occurs. McKee and Parker (1982) identified several piscivorous fishes that were captured infrequently at or near redside dace capture sites – brook trout, rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss), black crappie (Pomoxis nigromaculatus) and rock bass (Ambloplites rupestris). Piscivorous birds and mammals may also prey upon redside dace. Novinger and Coon (2000) suggest that the close association with cover (overhanging vegetation) and selection for deep water may guard redside dace against aerial attacks.


Physiology

Only one study has examined the physiological tolerances of redside dace. Novinger and Coon (2000) examined the critical thermal maxima and metabolic rates at various acclimation temperatures. The critical thermal maximum for redside dace from New York acclimated at 20 °C was 32.6 °C. This value is slightly higher than some common minnow species that overlap in range with redside dace, but the data may not be strictly comparable due to differences in determining the end points when estimating critical thermal maxima (Novinger and Coon 2000). Predicted final preferred and optimum temperatures for growth were 24.5 and 24.7 °C, respectively. Tolerance to low oxygen levels have not been examined in the laboratory, but McKee and Parker (1982) reported capturing redside dace from Ontario streams in August and September at dissolved oxygen levels between 4-11.5 mg/L. Dissolved oxygen levels were usually greater than 7 mg/L.


Dispersal/Migration

No long distance movements have been reported for redside dace populations. Koster (1939) only noted local movements between adjacent pools and riffles at spawning time in a New York stream. McKee and Parker (1982) noted that pools inhabited in the summer in the East Humber River, Ontario were unoccupied in the spring, suggesting the fish had congregated in spawning areas.


Interspecific Interactions

The fish communities that are normally associated with redside dace populations in Ontario typically consist of common, tolerant coolwater species such as creek chub, common shiner and blacknose dace. The relationship with creek chub and common shiner as nest associates appears particularly important to redside dace. Redside dace do not regularly co-occur with other species at risk.

Redside dace occasionally co-occur with native brook trout but the two are generally not found together. The influence of introduced rainbow trout and brown trout (Salmo trutta) on redside dace has not been investigated experimentally. In one study in the Susquehanna River in New York, however, redside dace, as well as other minnows, were extirpated after the introduction of 12-inch brown trout in 1998 (Stewart pers. comm. 2006).Their influence on redside dace may be conditional on the presence of other predators in the same habitat. Bryan et al. (2002) found that the joint presence of two introduced predators (virile crayfish (Orconectes virilis) and rainbow trout) negatively affected the Little Colorado spinedace (Lepidomeda vittata), a trout-like minnow. Treatments with only rainbow trout did not result in predation of spinedace, but there was a significant reduction of activity level. Treatments with both crayfish and rainbow trout resulted in a decrease in activity rates and a decrease in rates of movements into and out of refuges. An experimental examination of the interactions between rainbow trout and the closely related rosyside dace suggested that interactions between the two species were minimal (Rincon and Grossman 1998). Some authors have identified the redside dace as a problem in that it competes with trout for food and may limit trout production (Greeley 1938; Becker 1983).

The introduction of predatory northern pike (Esox lucius), basses and sunfishes (Centrarchidae) has coincided with the disappearance of the redside dace in at least two creeks (Spencer and Mountsberg). Habitat change from urbanization and agriculture in these two systems has been minimal.


Adaptability

The redside dace does not appear to be able to adapt to habitat alteration as many populations have been extirpated or have declined in the face of habitat change. Artificial propagation and re-introductions have not been attempted with redside dace to date.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le méné long au Canada – Mise à jour

Biologie

Des aspects biologiques du méné long ont été étudiés dans l’ensemble de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce (Kentucky, Michigan, New York, Ontario, Pennsylvanie), mais peu d’études approfondies ont été réalisées. Plusieurs aspects du cycle vital ne sont toujours pas bien compris.


Cycle vital et reproduction

Le méné long a une durée de vie relativement courte, soit un maximum de 4 ans (Koster, 1939; Schwartz et Norvell, 1958). Les spécimens ontariens les plus vieux rapportés étaient âgés de 3 ans (McKee et Parker, 1982). Les captures de Schwartz et Norvell (1958) représentaient un très faible rapport mâles/femelles (1:3,5) en Pennsylvanie. La proportion la plus élevée de mâles (de 15 à 50 p. 100) a été observée de mars à juin. Après cette période, les mâles ont presque complètement disparu. La plupart des mâles observés avaient 1 ou 2 ans. Des 227 individus, 118 avaient 1 an, 72, 2 ans, 31, 3 ans et 6, 4 ans.

Les ménés longs croissent rapidement et achèvent environ 50 p. 100 de leur croissance totale au cours de leur première année de vie (McKee et Parker, 1982). Parker et McKee (1982) ont analysé la croissance de poissons provenant de cours d’eau ontariens et l’ont jugée comparable à celle de populations étudiées dans l’État de New York, la Pennsylvanie et le Wisconsin (Koster, 1939; Schwartz et Norvell, 1958; Becker, 1983). Les femelles croissent plus vite et sont plus grandes que les mâles (Koster, 1939; McKee et Parker, 1982). Dans un échantillon combiné de ménés longs prélevés en Ontario, tous les poissons de 1 an étaient immatures, alors que la plupart des poissons de 2 ans et la totalité des poissons de 3 ans étaient matures (McKee et Parker, 1982). Koster (1939) a observé que les ménés longs d’un cours d’eau de l’État de New York atteignaient la maturité à l’âge II et qu’ils frayaient apparemment tous les ans. Comme la plupart des poissons atteignent la maturité à l’âge II et vivent jusqu’à l’âge IV, la durée d’une génération est estimée à 3 ans.

Dans l’État de New York, les ménés longs frayent à la fin mai, lorsque la température s’élève à 18 °C (Koster, 1939). Parker et McKee (1982) ont capturé des individus avant les en état pré-fraye au début de mai dans la rivière Humber Est, en Ontario, à des températures de 16 à 19 °C. D’après eux, la période et la température de fraye en Ontario sont probablement semblables à celles observées dans l’État de New York. Ils ont observé des activités de fraye dans un affluent ouest du lac Ontario (ruisseau Fourteen Mile) du 10 au 29 mai, alors que les températures variaient de 16 à 18,3 °C.

Les œufs sont normalement déposés dans des radiers, dans des nids de gravier d’autres espèces de ménés (Cyprinidés). Koster (1939) a vu des ménés longs frayer dans des nids de mulets à cornes (Semotilus atromaculatus) et de ménés à nageoires rouges (Luxilus cornutus) dans l’État de New York. Dans des cours d’eau de l’Ontario, on a observé des ménés longs en train de frayer dans des nids de mulets à cornes et de ménés à nageoires rouges, alors que ces derniers étaient encore actifs. D’après des observations, la fraye dans le ruisseau Fourteen Mile avait normalement lieu dans la partie aval des mouilles ou dans la partie amont des radiers, où le courant était de 5 à 30 cm/s (E. Holm, données inédites). Johnston et Page (1992) ont également mentionné la fraye dans les nids de ménés du genre Nocomis. Bien que l’aire de répartition du méné long chevauche celle de deux espèces ontariennes de ce genre (tête à taches rouges [Nocomis biguttatus] et méné bâton [Nocomis micropogon]), on n’a jamais observé de ménés longs dans les nids de ces espèces en Ontario. En frayant dans les nids d’espèces de ménés plus grandes, qui ont plus de facilité à creuser des nids, les ménés longs s’assurent que leurs œufs reçoivent une meilleure aération et une plus grande protection contre la prédation et, ainsi, une meilleure chance de survie (Johnston et Page, 1992). Cette pratique peut entraîner la naissance fréquente d’hybrides (Koster, 1939), mais l’hybridation ne semble pas être un grave problème (Becker, 1983). La plupart des ménés sont en mesure de frayer sans utiliser les nids d’autres espèces (Johnston, comm. pers., 2001), mais on n’a jamais vu de ménés longs frayer dans leurs propres nids. Bien que les mulets à cornes et les ménés à nageoires rouges soient communs dans les cours d’eau du sud de l’Ontario, ils entament la fraye à des températures légèrement plus basses (de 12 à 17 °C) que les ménés longs (température privilégiée : 18 °C) (Becker, 1983). On a cependant déjà observé des ménés longs frayer à 16 °C. La température privilégiée plus élevée et la période de fraye plus courte des ménés longs peuvent limiter les possibilités de ponte commune certaines années.

Koster (1939) a décrit en détail le comportement de fraye dans un cours d’eau de l’État de New York, et la majorité de ses observations s’appliquent également aux cours d’eau de l’Ontario (E. Holm, données inédites). Pendant la période de fraye, les mâles quittent leurs fosses de résidence et se déplacent sur de courtes distances vers les sites de fraye, surtout à la mi-journée. Avant la fraye, ils défendent de petits territoires (un rayon de quelques centimètres) juste derrière les nids de mulets à cornes (ou de ménés à nageoires rouges). Une fois prêts à frayer, les ménés longs se regroupent en bancs serrés derrière les nids. Chaque femelle se dirige alors vers le nid, suivie d’un groupe de 4 à 6 mâles, puis la fraye commence. Les œufs sont pondus et fécondés dans la dépression formée par le nid. Chaque individu s’accouple plusieurs fois avec plusieurs partenaires. Selon la littérature, la femelle pond de 409 à 1 971 œufs (Koster, 1939; Becker, 1983; McKee et Parker, 1982). Les œufs sont non adhésifs et mesurent de 1,2 à 2,4 mm de diamètre (Koster, 1939). Koster (1939) a noté que les mâles sont restés en état de frayer pendant 17 jours dans un cours d’eau de l’État de New York.

Les œufs ne reçoivent pas de soins directs des géniteurs, mais le nid et la présence du mâle de l’autre espèce peuvent fournir une protection indirecte. Ce mâle débarrasse le nid du limon et éloigne les prédateurs. Koster (1939) a remarqué que les mulets à cornes mâles tolèrent la présence des ménés longs dans leur nid. Le développement des œufs et les stades larvaires du méné long n’ont pas été décrits. Fish (1932) a décrit un petit méné long juvénile (23 mm), qui peut être différencié des jeunes des genres Notropis et Luxilus par la présence de 5 dents pharyngiennes (au lieu de 4).


Alimentation

Les ménés longs se nourrissent principalement en surface (Schwartz et Norvell, 1958). La grande bouche tournée vers le haut permet de capturer des proies à la surface. Les ménés longs bondissent souvent hors de l’eau, à plusieurs centimètres de la surface, pour capturer des insectes aériens (Koster, 1939; Schwartz et Norvell, 1958; Daniels et Wisniewski, 1994). L’espèce dépend donc de sa vue, et il est évidemment plus facile pour elle de se nourrir dans des eaux limpides. Sa position à mi-profondeur améliore également sa capacité d’alimentation en surface.

Les principales proies des ménés longs sont des insectes terrestres, dont les mouches adultes (Diptères) (Schwartz et Norvell, 1958; McKee et Parker, 1982; Daniels et Wisniewski, 1994). Schwartz et Norvell (1958) ont observé, dans un cours d’eau de Pennsylvanie, que les insectes terrestres formaient jusqu’à 77 p. 100 du volume alimentaire de l’espèce de mars à octobre. Parker et McKee (1982), quant à eux, ont noté que les mouches adultes représentaient jusqu’à 85 p. 100 du volume alimentaire consommé par les ménés longs de cours d’eau ontariens d’août à septembre. Les mouches adultes formaient également 85 p. 100 de la nourriture consommée d’avril à novembre dans deux cours d’eau de l’État de New York (Daniels et Wisniewski, 1994). Les « mouches dansantes » (Empididés) du genre Hilara étaient les proies les plus importantes. Ces mouches n’ont pas été trouvées dans les échantillons d’organismes provenant de la dérive, ce qui donne à penser que les ménés longs importent de l’énergie terrestre produite dans la végétation riveraine dans les cours d’eau (Daniels et Wisniewski, 1994). Les ménés longs se nourrissent d’insectes benthiques et d’autres invertébrés, mais ces derniers, d’importance mineure, ne sont mangés que lorsque les insectes ailés sont absents (Schwartz et Norvell, 1958; McKee et Parker, 1982; Daniels et Wisniewski, 1994). Les insectes terrestres sont importants pour toutes les classes d’âges, mais la taille des proies augmente avec l’âge (Schwartz et Norvell, 1958).

La littérature ne mentionne pas de prédateurs du méné long, mais il est évident qu’ils existent. McKee et Parker (1982) ont identifié plusieurs poissons piscivores qui ont été pêchés dans des sites de capture de ménés longs, ou à proximité. Parmi ces poissons figurent l’omble de fontaine, la truite arc-en-ciel (Oncorhynchus mykiss), la marigane noire (Pomoxis nigromaculatus) et le crapet de roche (Ambloplites rupestris). Des oiseaux et mammifères piscivores peuvent aussi se nourrir de ménés longs. Selon Novinger et Coon (2000), l’étroite association de l’espèce avec la couverture végétale (végétation surplombante) et sa préférence pour des eaux profondes peuvent la protéger contre les attaques aériennes.


Physiologie

Une seule étude sur les tolérances physiologiques du méné long a été réalisée. Novinger et Coon (2000) ont examiné la température maximale critique et le taux métabolique à diverses températures d’acclimatation. Dans l’État de New York, des ménés longs acclimatés à une température de 20 °C toléraient une température maximale critique de 32,6 °C. Cette valeur est légèrement supérieure à celle tolérée par certaines espèces de ménés courantes retrouvées dans l’aire de répartition du méné long. Toutefois, il n’est peut-être pas possible de comparer les données de manière stricte à cause des différences dans la détermination des paramètres terminaux lors de l’estimation de la température maximale critique (Novinger et Coon, 2000). La température de croissance privilégiée et la température de croissance optimale prédites étaient respectivement de 24,5 et 24,7 °C. La tolérance à des teneurs faibles en oxygène n’a pas été examinée en laboratoire, mais McKee et Parker (1982) ont capturé en août et septembre des ménés longs dans des cours d’eau ontariens dont les concentrations d’oxygène dissous variaient entre 4 et 11,5 mg/L. Les teneurs en oxygène dissous étaient habituellement au-dessus de 7 mg/L.


Déplacements et dispersion

Aucun déplacement de populations de ménés longs sur de longues distances n’a été rapporté. Koster (1939) a seulement observé des déplacements entre des mouilles et des radiers adjacents pendant la période de fraye dans un cours d’eau de l’État de New York. McKee et Parker (1982) ont noté que des mouilles de la rivière Humber Est, en Ontario, fréquentées à l’été, étaient inhabitées au printemps, sans doute parce que les poissons s’étaient réunis dans les frayères.


Relations interspécifiques

Les communautés de poissons normalement associées aux populations de ménés longs en Ontario sont généralement formées d’espèces d’eaux froides communes et tolérantes, par exemple le mulet à cornes, le méné à nageoires rouges et le naseux noir. La relation avec les mulets à cornes et les ménés à nageoires rouges en tant qu’« associés de nid » semble particulièrement importante pour les ménés longs. Les ménés longs ne fréquentent pas régulièrement d’autres espèces en péril.

L’espèce est occasionnellement en sympatrie avec l’omble de fontaine, qui est indigène, mais on trouve rarement ces deux poissons ensemble. L’influence sur le méné long de la truite arc-en-ciel et de la truite brune (Salmo trutta), 2 espèces introduites, n’a pas été étudiée de manière expérimentale. Cependant, dans une étude menée dans la rivière Susquehannah (New York), les ménés longs, de même que d’autres espèces de ménés, ont disparu après l’introduction de truites brunes de 30,5 cm (12 po) en 1998 (Stewart, comm. pers., 2006). L’influence des truites brunes sur les ménés longs peut être conditionnelle à la présence d’autres prédateurs dans le même habitat. Bryan et al. (2002) ont constaté que la présence de 2 prédateurs introduits (écrevisse à pinces bleues [Orconectes virilis] et truite arc-en-ciel) ont nuit au Lepidomeda vittata, espèce de méné ressemblant à une truite. Des expériences avec seulement la truite arc-en-ciel n’ont pas entraîné la prédation du Lepidomeda vittata, mais ses activités étaient considérablement réduites. Des expériences avec à la fois l’écrevisse à pinces bleues et la truite arc-en-ciel ont montré une baisse des activités et des déplacements des Lepidomeda vittata en provenance et en direction des refuges. Une étude expérimentale des interactions entre la truite arc-en-ciel et le Clinostomus funduloides, espèce apparentée, donne à penser que les interactions entre les deux espèces étaient minimes (Rincon et Grossman, 1998). Certains auteurs ont considéré la présence de ménés longs comme un problème dans les cas où ils entrent en compétition avec les truites pour se nourrir et limitent ainsi la production de ces dernières (Greeley, 1938; Becker, 1983).

L’introduction du grand brochet (Esox lucius), d’achigans et de crapets-soleils (Centrarchidés) a coïncidé avec la disparition des ménés longs dans au moins 2 ruisseaux (Spencer et Mountsberg). Les changements d’habitat dus à l’urbanisation et à l’agriculture dans ces 2 ruisseaux sont faibles.


Adaptabilité

Les ménés longs ne semblent pas en mesure de s’adapter à l’altération des habitats puisque de nombreuses populations ont disparu ou décliné après des changements d’habitat. La propagation artificielle et la réintroduction de ménés longs n’ont pas encore été tentées.