Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Northern Wolffish and Spotted Wolffish, and Management Plan for Atlantic Wolffish in Canada [Final]


3. Permitted Activities

Subsection 83(4) of SARA allows for certain activities to be exempt from the general prohibitions of SARA, provided the activities are permitted in recovery strategies, action plans or management plans. In order for this section to be applicable, individuals must be authorized under an Act of Parliament, such as the Fisheries Act, to carry out such activities. Section 83(4) can be used as an exemption to allow activities, which have been determined to not jeopardize the survival or recovery of the species.

A Zonal Advisory Process (ZAP) held in St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador in May 2004 provided an opportunity to review scientific advice regarding the determination of allowable harm for both wolffish species that are currently listed as threatened, A. denticulatus and A. minor. Participants of the review included individuals from government, industry and other non-governmental organizations. The advice resulting from this meeting was summarized in an Allowable Harm Assessment report (DFO 2004b).

The Allowable Harm Assessment concluded that recent (2000-2002) levels of mortality do not impair the ability of the species to recover. However, all efforts should be taken to enhance the survival in the fisheries, primarily through mandatory release of wolffish in a manner that will increase the chance of survival. This document adopts that conclusion and, in accordance with subsection 83(4) of SARA, permits fishers authorized under the Fisheries Act who are engaged in commercial or recreational fishing or in a First Nation’s food, social and ceremonial (FSC) fishery for groundfish, shellfish and pelagic species (including emerging fisheries) that may incidentally kill, harm, harass, capture or take A. denticulatus or A. minor to carry out these activities under the following conditions:

  • Every person on board the fishing vessel who incidentally catches northern A. denticulatus or A. minor while conducting fishing activities must return them to the place from which they were taken, and where they are alive, in a manner that causes them the least harm;
  • Fishers are required to collect and subsequently report information to DFO for each fishing trip where A. denticulatus or A. minoris is caught, utilizing the standard logbook/logsheet protocol specified for the target species, vessel class or licence in question.

In accordance with subsection 83(4) of SARA, this document also permits scientific research activities that are authorized under the Fisheries (General) Regulations, SOR/93-53, that are conducted by Fisheries and Oceans Canada scientists for the purpose of monitoring and sampling various aquatic species, including wolffish. Scientific research was identified in the Allowable Harm Assessment as having negligible impacts of the ability of both A. denticulatus and A. minor to survive and recover (DFO 2004b).

In assessing allowable harm, the longer the timeframe being examined, the more uncertainty there is in projecting impacts of exploitation on the survival or recovery of a population. Given this uncertainty, the Allowable Harm Assessment for A. denticulatus and A. minor will be re-evaluated prior to 2010, incorporating any relevant new data. The Allowable Harm Assessment may be re-evaluated earlier if there is a significant increase in fishing pressure. Current monitoring of incidental capture through both logbook data and at-sea observers will continue and will be used to assess the effectiveness of those conservation measures outlined above.

While A. lupus has been listed in SARA Schedule 1 as a species of special concern (i.e. SARA prohibitions do not apply), it is recommended that live release protocols and reporting, as outline above for A. denticulatus or A. minor, also apply to this species. However, the implementation of this recommendation is at the discretion of the DFO regions, and should be approached as a voluntary measure to be used in cooperation with other Fisheries Act requirements.

4. Potential Impacts of ohe Recovery Strategy on Other Species/Ecological Processes

This Recovery Strategy and Management Plan recognizes the importance of the entire marine ecosystem. Multi-species approaches to conservation are known to be difficult due to the diverse interactions between species and their habitats that occur within a marine ecosystem. Recovery activities such as increased habitat protection and/or conservation and implementing mitigative measures to reduce human induced impacts may also benefit other species that co-occur with wolffish in eastern Canadian waters. The extent of such benefits is not yet completely understood. Collection of data to evaluate and model ecosystem interactions may help to address this unknown. In addition, stakeholder awareness and understanding of marine biodiversity and threatened species would be heightened through stated protection and/or conservation efforts for the wolffish.

5. Actions Completed or Underway

A Multi-Stakeholder Recovery Team has been formed and the following initiatives have been initiated or have been completed:

  • Prepare a Wolffish Recovery Strategy and Management Plan - This document;
  • Update current knowledge - Summarized in this document;
  • Define goals, objectives, strategies and actions for the wolffish recovery process - This document;
  • A wolffish release program as a condition of license to examine the survival of released fish - Instituted in eastern Canada in 2003-2004 and is complete for certain fisheries;
  • Commence a program of research on population structure, life history, habitat association and population status that will provide the information required to and facilitate effective recovery work - Instituted in 2002. Research is under way to examine population structure, life history, food and feeding and habitat associations;
  • Increase understanding of the Allowable Harm Permitting process – An Allowable Harm Assessment has been undertaken and information has been provided to license holders for fisheries where wolffish may be taken as bycatch;
  • Commence an education and communication program and promote stewardship geared mainly toward resource users but also the public in general - Education programs on species at risk issues in general and wolffish specifically have taken the form of meetings with fishers and information materials have been disseminated widely.

Intra-Departmental Collaboration has been promoted through:

  • Cooperation between various Atlantic Canadian Regional DFO jurisdictions in terms of recovery and regulatory initiatives;
  • Sharing data between Atlantic Canadian Regional DFO jurisdictions; and
  • Preparation of preliminary economic profiling by regional DFO Policy and Economic Branches.

Federal, Provincial, and Aboriginal Collaboration has been promoted through:

  • Continuing consultation and cooperative exchange with other federal departments (i.e. Environment Canada, Parks Canada);
  • Continuing consultation and cooperative exchange with provincial representatives in NL Region; and
  • Presentation of the strategy to Nunavut Wildlife Management Board and continuing dialogue with Aboriginal groups.

Industry and public involvement has been promoted through:

  • Cooperative research initiatives;
  • Education and communication with stakeholders: and
  • Stewardship initiatives.

The above description of recovery related activities already under way, as promoted in draft versions of this document indicates that the Team and a host of other participants have already made significant progress in terms of recovery efforts. Progress is particularly reflected in the institution of an Atlantic release program and in research, education and stewardship initiatives presently being undertaken. Activities are elaborated in the following sections.

5.1 Recovery Strategy A - Conduct Research

Research under way includes:

  • Population analyses to determine changes in historic distribution and abundance;
  • Analysis of fishing impact;
  • Definition of habitat associations and critical habitat (wolffish utilization of various habitat features including, temperature preferences, bottom type, depth etc.;
  • Identification of gaps in current knowledge;
  • Wolffish samples collected for the following analyses;
  • Weights and numbers caught;
  • Lengths by sex;
  • Genetic, morphometric and meristic analyses to determine stock structure
  • Otoliths for aging;
  • Trends in abundance, distribution, stock (subpopulation) structure and life history; and
  • Commercial catch (observer) data to estimate fishing mortality by species, sex, size, and age to permit the estimation of the impact of fisheries bycatch on the populations.

5.2 Recovery Strategy B - Habitat Conservation and Protection

Habitat required for the recovery and survival of the threatened wolffish species are being investigated by the Recovery Team (refer to Kulka et al. 2004).

5.3 Recovery Strategy C - Mitigate Human Activities

The Recovery Team recommended the quick release of all wolffish, alive wherever possible, caught incidentally by harvesters. Although A. denticulatus and A. minor have been declared threatened species by COSEWIC, these fish were still caught incidentally in many fisheries. Federal policy previously specified that they must be brought into port where fish processors either process them or discard them. In November 2002, the Recovery Team recommended that wolffish no longer be brought into port but rather be released in a manner that maximizes chance of survival.

Wolffish have been described as a “hardy species” that tend to be lively even after capture and have a good chance of survival if released quickly. Therefore, as of 2003-2004, Allowable Harm Permits have been issued to allow harvesters the incidental capture of wolffish. Permit requirements specify that harvesters estimate the weight of their wolffish catch by species and release them quickly and safely at the capture site. Further, research has been completed to examine survival of released species.

In 2004, DFO undertook an Allowable Harm Assessment for wolffish. In summary, the conclusions from that process are as follows:

“Given that mortality due to fishing is considered the dominant source of human induced mortality for northern and spotted wolffish and that the populations of both species have been steady or increasing prior to any prohibitions, it appears that the recent (2000-2002) level of mortality does not impair the ability of the species to recover. However, all efforts should be taken to enhance survival in the fisheries, primarily through mandatory release of wolffish in a manner that will increase the chance of survival. This can only be accomplished through education and permit conditions requiring the release of wolffish in a manner that will enhance their survival. As well, any gear modifications that lead to a reduction in the bycatch of wolffish (for example the Nordmore grate employed in shrimp fishery) should be employed wherever possible. Should there be a large increase in the size of any fisheries that take significant amounts of wolffish, other options may have to be considered. Finally, it is critical that the populations and sources of harm be monitored to ensure that recovery continues to take place”.

Refer to DFO (2004) and Kulka (2004) and Kulka and Simpson (2004) for further details.

Survival of released fish is being evaluated. Publication of the results of a Habitat Stewardship Program (HSP) funded study examining survival of released wolffish is under way. As well preliminary observations suggest that fish released in an appropriate manner (placed back in the water quickly and with minimal handling, gills undisturbed) appear to have a high chance of survival. Programs educating fishers in best practices for release are under way.

5.4 Recovery Strategy D - Promote Knowledge and Stakeholder Participation in the Recovery of Wolffish Populations and Habitat Conservation and Protection

Wolffish identification cards (laminated), information sheets and posters have been widely distributed to stakeholders including fishers and fish processing plant workers. Videos are played at stakeholder meetings dealing with wolffish release and other species at risk issues.

The various forms of information have been disseminated at general meetings held by various resource user groups and by DFO. Knowledge and stewardship have also been the focus of several HSP initiatives. Direct interaction with stakeholders is a cornerstone of these initiatives. Harvesters are encouraged to get involved with the recovery of wolffish including the employment of best practices for release of wolffish and adherence to the requirement to record incidental catches.

5.5 Recovery Strategy E - Monitoring Human Activities and Wolffish Species

As part of a larger research initiative to estimate the effect of fishing activity on wolffish populations, observer coverage has been enhanced for fisheries where the majority of incidental catch of wolffish species has been identified, such as the Greenland halibut directed fisheries. Observer education and training has been undertaken to improve species identification and to provide for more detailed information collection and to pass this information on to harvesters. These data will be used to estimate removals by species which is the basis for estimating mortality related to fishing. A requirement for recording wolffish by species in log books has been instituted. Voluntary collection of wolffish landing data (by species for weight and size) at fish processing plants was instituted.

6. Evaluation of Recovery Initiative

Evaluation of recovery criteria will most likely be based on the results of demographic analyses as outlined in this document. Demographic data on reproduction, age, growth and mortality will be based on best available scientific knowledge to estimate the level of increase or decrease in the wolffish population when compared to their status as designated by COSEWIC in 2001. Such data provide a means of documenting the recovery or lack thereof, for the wolffish population in eastern Canadian waters, thereby determining the efficacy of the recovery efforts.

Throughout implementation of the Recovery Strategy and Management Plan, the following questions can be utilized to evaluate progress on meeting the stated recovery goal and objectives and adjust performance measures as appropriate:

  • Have estimates of biomass and Recovery Reference Points been researched?
  • Have the distribution and population size increased? If so, have Recovery Reference Points been reached or exceeded?
  • Have historic and present threats to wolffish populations and their habitat been fully identified, defined and mitigated?
  • Have the recommended fishery management strategies been implemented? Are they effective in reducing mortality?
  • Has habitat (i.e. critical habitat) necessary for the survival and recovery of the species been defined and accounted for in any recovery initiatives or management strategies?
  • Are stakeholders involved in the recovery activities? Are the stewardship and education initiatives achieving the desired results?

7. Statement of When Action Plan Will be Completed

An Action Plan has been drafted and will be finalized within two years of posting the final Recovery Strategy and Management Plan. A single, multi-species Action Plan for wolffish species is recommended to be consistent with this document.

The Action Plan will provide specific details for recovery implementation including measures to monitor and implement recovery, address threats, and achieve recovery objectives and specify when these measures are to take place. The Action Plan also includes an identification of critical habitat, to the extent possible, and examples of activities that are likely to result in its destruction.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du loup à tête large et du loup tacheté et plan de gestion du loup atlantique au Canada [finale] 2008


3. Activités autorisées

Le paragraphe 83(4) de la LEP prévoit certaines exemptions aux interdictions générales imposées par la LEP pour les activités autorisées dans le cadre d’un programme de rétablissement, d’un plan d’action ou d’un plan de gestion. Pour que ce paragraphe soit applicable, les personnes doivent être autorisées à exercer ces activités sous le régime d’une loi fédérale, comme la Loi sur les pêches. Les exemptions du paragraphe 83(4) peuvent autoriser des activités dont on a déterminé qu’elles ne mettraient pas en péril la survie ou le rétablissement de l’espèce.

Une réunion sur le Processus d’évaluation zonale (PEZ) qui a été tenue à St. John’s, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, en mai 2004, a permis d’examiner des avis scientifiques concernant la détermination des dommages admissibles pour les deux espèces de loup de mer actuellement désignées comme étant menacées, à savoir A. denticulatus et A. minor. Des personnes représentant le gouvernement, l’industrie et d’autres organisations non gouvernementales ont participé à cette réunion. Les avis exprimés au cours de cette réunion sont résumés dans un rapport d’évaluation des dommages admissibles (MPO, 2004b).

Ce rapport d’évaluation des dommages admissibles conclut que les niveaux récents de mortalité (2000-2002) n’altèrent pas la capacité des espèces à se rétablir. Cependant, aucun effort ne doit être ménagé du côté des pêches pour améliorer la survie, principalement par la remise à l’eau obligatoire du loup de mer d’une manière qui augmentera les chances de survie. Ainsi en vertu du paragraphe 83(4) de la LEP, ce document permet aux pêcheurs qui se livrent à la pêche commerciale, récréative et à la pêche communautaire des Autochtones à des fins sociales, rituelles ou de subsistances conformément à un permis délivré sous le régime de la Loi sur les pêches pour les poissons de fond, les mollusques et crustacés et les espèces pélagiques (incluant les pêches émergentes) de causer la mort d’individus d’A. denticulatus ou d’A. minor, de leur nuire, de les harceler, de les capturer ou de les prendrede façon fortuite, sous réserve que les conditions suivantes soient respectées :

  • toute personne à bord d’un navire de pêche qui capture de façon incidente des spécimens d’A. denticulatus ou d’A. minor pendant qu’il exerce des activités de pêche doit les remettre à l’eau au lieu où ils ont été capturés, s’ils sont en vie, de manière à leur causer le moins de dommages possible;
  • les pêcheurs doivent signaler au MPO toutes les prises d’A. denticulatus ou d’A. minor au moyen du protocole standard (registre des pêches) indiqué pour l’espèce cible, la classe de navire ou le permis applicable.

En vertu du paragraphe 83(4) de la LEP, ce document permet également la tenue d’activités de recherche autorisées sous le régime du Règlement de pêche (dispositions générales), DORS/93-53, menées par des scientifiques de Pêches et Océans Canada dans le but de surveiller et de prélever diverses espèces aquatiques, dont le loup de mer. Il est ressorti de l’évaluation des dommages admissibles que la recherche scientifique a des effets négligeables sur la capacité d’A. denticulatus et d’A. minor à survivre et à se rétablir (MPO, 2004b).

D’après l’évaluation des dommages admissibles, plus la période examinée est longue, plus grande est l’incertitude relative aux projections des conséquences négatives des pêches sur la survie ou le rétablissement d’une population. Étant donné cette incertitude, l’évaluation des dommages admissibles pour A. denticulatus et A. minor sera revue d’ici 2010 et incorporera toute nouvelle donnée pertinente. L’évaluation des dommages admissibles pourra être revue plus tôt en cas d’augmentation importante de la pression de la pêche. La surveillance actuelle des prises accessoires consignées par écrit dans les registres des pêches et rapportées par des observateurs en mer se poursuivra et permettra d’évaluer l’efficacité des mesures de conservation susmentionnées.

Bien qu’A. lupus soit inscrit à l’annexe 1 de la LEP en tant qu’espèce préoccupante (c.-à-d. que les interdictions de pêche imposées par la LEP ne s’appliquent pas), on recommande que les protocoles de remise à l’eau et de signalement des prises vivantes susmentionnés pour A. denticulatus ou A. minor s’appliquent également à cette espèce. Cependant, la mise en œuvre de cette recommandation demeure à la discrétion des régions du MPO et doit être considérée comme une mesure volontaire, à utiliser conjointement avec d’autres dispositions de la Loi sur les pêches.

4. Effets éventuels du programme de rétablissement sur d'autres espèces/processus écologiques

Le présent document reconnaît l’importance de l’écosystème marin dans son entièreté. On sait que les mesures de conservation multi-espèces sont difficiles à mettre en œuvre en raison des diverses interactions qui existent entre les espèces et leurs habitats dans un écosystème marin. Les activités de rétablissement – comme la protection ou la conservation de l’habitat et la mise en œuvre de mesures d’atténuation afin de réduire l’incidence humaine – peuvent également profiter à d’autres espèces qui coexistent avec le loup de mer dans les eaux de l’est du Canada. On ne comprend pas encore complètement l’étendue de ces avantages, mais la collecte de données visant à évaluer et à modéliser les interactions écosystémiques peut aider à combler cette lacune. En outre, des efforts soutenus de protection ou de conservation du loup de mer pourraient sensibiliser les intervenants et aider ces derniers à mieux comprendre la biodiversité marine et les espèces menacées.

5. Mesures complétées ou en cours de mise en œuvre

Une équipe de rétablissement multipartite a été formée et les initiatives suivantes ont été lancées ou complétées :

  • préparer un programme de rétablissement et un plan de gestion pour le loup de mer (le présent document);
  • mettre à jour les connaissances actuelles (récapitulées dans le présent document);
  • définir le but, les objectifs, les stratégies et les mesures pour le rétablissement du loup de mer (le présent document);
  • lancer un programme de remise à l’eau du loup de mer (exigence rattachée à la délivrance des permis) afin qu’on puisse évaluer la survie des poissons retournés à l’eau – initiative en cours dans l’est du Canada en 2003-2004 et complétée pour certaines pêches;
  • lancer un programme de recherche sur la structure de la population, le cycle biologique, les associations du loup de mer à son habitat et la situation de la population, un programme qui fournira l’information nécessaire à un travail de rétablissement efficace – initiative lancée en 2002. Des recherches sont en cours pour examiner la structure de la population, le cycle biologique, le régime alimentaire et les associations du loup de mer à son habitat;
  • mieux comprendre le processus de délivrance des permis de dommages admissibles – une évaluation des dommages admissibles a été entreprise et des informations ont été fournies aux détenteurs de permis de pêches dans lesquelles le loup de mer peut être pris de façon fortuite;
  • lancer un programme de formation et de communication et favoriser l’intendance en ciblant principalement les utilisateurs de la ressource, mais aussi le grand public – des programmes de formation sur les enjeux touchant les espèces en péril en général et le loup de mer en particulier ont pris la forme de réunions avec des pêcheurs, et du matériel d’information a été largement diffusé.

La collaboration intraministérielle a été favorisée par :

  • la collaboration entre diverses entités régionales du MPO dans le Canada atlantique sur le plan des initiatives de rétablissement et de réglementation;
  • le partage de données entre les entités régionales du MPO dans le Canada atlantique;
  • l’élaboration d’un profil économique préliminaire par les directions générales régionales des politiques et des études économiques du MPO.

La collaboration fédérale, provinciale et autochtone a été favorisée par :

  • la consultation continue et la collaboration avec d’autres ministères fédéraux (c.-à-d. Environnement Canada et Parcs Canada);
  • la consultation continue et la collaboration avec des représentants provinciaux de la région de T.-N.L.;
  • la présentation du programme au Conseil de gestion des ressources fauniques du Nunavut et le dialogue continu avec des groupes autochtones.

La participation de l’industrie et du public a été favorisée par :

  • des initiatives de collaboration scientifique;
  • la formation et la communication à l’intention des intervenants;
  • des initiatives en matière d’intendance.

La description ci-devant des activités relatives au rétablissement déjà en cours, dont ont fait la promotion les versions provisoires du présent document, indique que l’équipe et de nombreux autres participants ont déjà accompli des progrès importants dans leurs efforts de rétablissement. Ces progrès sont illustrés, en particulier, par le lancement d’un programme de remise à l’eau dans l’Atlantique et par les initiatives de recherche, de formation et d’intendance en cours de mise en œuvre. Les activités sont décrites en détail dans les sections ci-après.

5.1 Stratégie de rétablissement A – Recherches

Les recherches en cours incluent :

  • des analyses de la population pour relever les changements survenus dans la répartition et l’abondance historiques;
  • l’analyse des conséquences négatives de la pêche;
  • la définition des associations du loup de mer à son habitat et de l’habitat essentiel (utilisation par le loup de mer de diverses caractéristiques de l’habitat, incluant les températures, types de substrat et profondeurs de prédilection, etc.);
  • la détermination des lacunes dans les connaissances actuelles;
  • le prélèvement de spécimens de loup de mer pour les analyses ci-après;
  • des analyses du nombre de prises et de leur poids;
  • des analyses de la taille selon le sexe;
  • des analyses génétiques, morphométriques et méristiques pour déterminer la structure du stock;
  • la lecture d’otolithes pour évaluer la croissance;
  • des analyses des tendances de l’abondance, de la répartition, de la structure du stock (sous-populations) et du cycle biologique;
  • des données sur les prises commerciales (observateurs) afin d’estimer la mortalité due à la pêche selon l’espèce, le sexe, la taille et l’âge et ainsi estimer les conséquences négatives des prises accessoires sur les populations.

5.2 Stratégie de rétablissement B – Conservation et protection de l’habitat

L’habitat nécessaire au rétablissement et à la survie des espèces menacées de loup de mer est étudié par l’équipe de rétablissement (voir Kulka et al., 2004).

5.3 Stratégie de rétablissement C – Atténuation des activités humaines

L’équipe de rétablissement a recommandé la remise à l’eau rapide de tout loup de mer (vivant autant que possible) capturé de façon fortuite par des exploitants pêcheurs. Bien qu’A. denticulatus et A. minor aient été désignés comme étant des espèces menacées par le COSEPAC, ces poissons sont encore pris de façon fortuite dans de nombreuses pêches. Par le passé, la politique fédérale stipulait que ces prises devaient être transportées au port pour être traitées ou rejetées par les transformateurs de poissons. En novembre 2002, l’équipe de rétablissement a recommandé que le loup de mer ne soit plus transporté au port, mais plutôt remis à l’eau, d’une façon qui optimise ses chances de survie.

On décrit le loup de mer comme une espèce « robuste » qui demeure vif malgré sa capture et qui a une bonne chance de survie s’il est remis à l’eau rapidement. C’est pourquoi, en 2003-2004, des permis de dommages admissibles ont été délivrés pour permettre à des exploitants pêcheurs de prendre des loups de mer de façon fortuite. Selon les conditions rattachées à ce permis, les exploitants pêcheurs doivent estimer le poids et consigner le nom de l’espèce des loups de mer capturés, puis les remettre à l’eau de façon rapide et sûre au site de capture. Des recherches ultérieures ont été menées pour examiner la survie des espèces remises à l’eau.

En 2004, le MPO a entrepris une évaluation des dommages admissibles pour le loup de mer. Voici un bref aperçu des conclusions de ce processus :

« Étant donné que la mortalité due à la pêche est considérée comme la principale cause de mortalité induite par l’homme et que les populations de ces deux espèces se sont maintenues ou ont augmenté avant l’imposition d’interdictions, il est possible de croire que les niveaux récents de mortalité (2000-2002) n’altéreront pas la capacité des espèces à se rétablir. Cependant, aucun effort ne doit être ménagé du côté des pêches pour améliorer les chances de survie de ces espèces; pour ce faire, il sera important d’appliquer des mesures appropriées de remise à l’eau obligatoire des loups de mer. Or, l’atteinte de cet objectif passe par l’éducation et la délivrance de permis exigeant la mise en pratique des bonnes techniques de remise à l’eau. De plus, dans la mesure du possible, il serait pertinent d’apporter les modifications d’engins qui entraînent une réduction des prises accessoires de loup de mer (p. ex. la grille Nordmore utilisée pour la pêche aux crevettes). Par ailleurs, si l’importance des pêches qui prennent des quantités significatives de loups de mer venait à augmenter, d’autres options pourraient devoir être considérées. En conclusion, il faut assurer une surveillance des populations et des causes de dommages si l’on veut que le rétablissement de ces espèces se poursuive. »

Voir MPO (2004) et Kulka (2004) de même que Kulka et Simpson (2004) pour plus de détails.

La survie des poissons remis à l’eau est en cours d’évaluation. Les résultats d’une étude financée par le Programme d’intendance de l’habitat (PIH), qui examine la survie du loup de mer remis à l’eau, sont en cours de publication. De même, les premières observations semblent indiquer que les techniques appropriées de remise à l’eau (dépôt rapide dans l’eau avec le moins de manipulation possible, sans toucher les branchies) semblent offrir des chances élevées de survie. Des programmes de formation destinés aux pêcheurs sur les pratiques exemplaires de remise à l’eau sont en cours d’exécution.

5.4 Stratégie de rétablissement D – Promotion de la connaissance et de la participation des intervenants au rétablissement des populations de loup de mer et à la conservation et à la protection de son habitat

Des fiches d’identification du loup de mer (laminées), des feuilles d’information et des affiches ont été largement distribuées aux intervenants, y compris aux pêcheurs et aux travailleurs d’usines de transformation du poisson. On a projeté des courts métrages, à des réunions d’intervenants, traitant de la remise à l’eau du loup de mer et d’autres enjeux relatifs aux espèces en péril.

Ces diverses formes d’information ont été diffusées aux assemblées générales tenues par divers groupes d’utilisateurs de la ressource et par le MPO. La connaissance et l’intendance ont également été la cible de plusieurs initiatives du PIH. L’interaction directe avec des intervenants est la pierre angulaire de ces initiatives. On incite les exploitants pêcheurs à participer au rétablissement du loup de mer et, entre autres, à utiliser les pratiques exemplaires de remise à l’eau du loup de mer et à consigner par écrit les prises fortuites.

5.5 Stratégie de rétablissement E – Surveillance des activités humaines et des espèces de loup de mer

Dans le cadre d’une initiative scientifique plus vaste visant à estimer l’effet des activités de pêche sur les populations de loup de mer, le travail des observateurs a été étendu aux pêches qui prennent la majorité des loups de mer, comme la pêche dirigée au flétan du Groenland. On a entrepris l’éducation et la formation des observateurs pour leur permettre de mieux identifier les espèces, de recueillir une information plus détaillée et de transmettre cette information aux exploitants pêcheurs. Ces données serviront à estimer les prélèvements selon l’espèce, à partir desquels on estimera la mortalité due à la pêche. On exige maintenant que le nom de l’espèce soit consigné par écrit. On a également mis en œuvre une collecte volontaire de données sur les débarquements de loup de mer (poids et taille selon l’espèce) aux usines de transformation du poisson.

6. Évaluation de l'initiative de rétablissement

L’évaluation des critères de rétablissement reposera très probablement sur les résultats des analyses démographiques résumées dans le présent document. Les données démographiques concernant la reproduction, l’âge, la croissance et la mortalité reposeront sur les meilleures connaissances scientifiques disponibles et permettront d’estimer l’ampleur de l’augmentation ou de la diminution de la population des espèces de loups de mer comparativement à leur situation lorsqu’elles ont été désignées comme étant « menacées » par le COSEPAC en 2001. Ces données permettent de documenter le rétablissement ou l’absence de rétablissement pour la population de loup de mer dans les eaux de l’est du Canada et ainsi d’établir l’efficacité des efforts de rétablissement.

Durant toute la mise en œuvre des présents programme de rétablissement et plan de gestion, on peut évaluer, en répondant aux questions ci-après, le progrès vers l’atteinte du but et des objectifs de rétablissement déclarés et adapter les mesures du rendement au besoin.

  • Les estimations de la biomasse et les points de référence du rétablissement ont-ils étudiés?
  • L’aire de répartition et la taille de la population ont-elles augmenté? Si tel est le cas, les points de référence du rétablissement ont-ils été atteints ou dépassés?
  • Toutes les menaces historiques et actuelles qui pèsent sur les populations de loup de mer et leur habitat ont-elles été relevées, définies et atténuées?
  • Les stratégies recommandées pour la gestion des pêches ont-elles été mises en œuvre? Permettent-elles de réduire efficacement la mortalité?
  • L’habitat (c.-à-d. l’habitat essentiel) nécessaire à la survie et au rétablissement des espèces a-t-il été défini et intégré dans les initiatives de rétablissement ou les stratégies de gestion?
  • Les intervenants prennent-ils part aux activités de rétablissement? Les initiatives d’intendance et de formation donnent-elles les résultats escomptés?

7. Achèvement du plan d'action

Un plan d’action a été rédigé et sera finalisé dans les deux ans suivant l’inclusion finale des présents programme de rétablissement et plan de gestion. Conformément au présent document, on recommande la mise en œuvre d’un plan d’action unique « multi-espèces ».

Le plan d’action fournira des détails précis en vue de la mise en œuvre du rétablissement, y compris des mesures pour la surveillance et la mise en œuvre du rétablissement, l’étude des menaces et l’atteinte des objectifs de rétablissement et précisera le moment où ces mesures devront être effectives. Le plan d’action désignera également l’habitat essentiel, dans la mesure du possible, et inclura des exemples d’activités susceptibles d’entraîner sa destruction.