Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Harlequin Duck (Histrionicus histrionicus)

MANAGEMENT ACTIONS

In an effort to meet the objectives of the management plan, four key ‘issues and actions’ will be addressed.  These actions encompass the strategies required to properly protect, maintain and improve the eastern North American Harlequin Duck population and its habitat. 

The primary issues to be addressed in this plan will include the development of a comprehensive threat assessment for the Harlequin Duck within eastern North America, and the establishment of an acceptable Harlequin Duck monitoring program for wintering, moulting, and breeding locations to adequately evaluate overall population parameters.  See Sections 6 and 7 for further implementation information.

Management priorities for the Harlequin Duck population of Atlantic Canada and Québec have been assigned to four key categories as follows:

1.     Population Management

2.     Habitat Management and Threats

3.     Research

4.     Socio-politics and Communication

5.1  Population Management

5.1.1 Issue explanation and description

Understanding the population dynamics of the eastern Harlequin Duck is important to properly managing the species.  A demographic model is a common management tool for the decision making process regarding species at risk (Beissinger and Westphal 1998).  An assessment of the data quality is required before embarking on this process.  Gaps in knowledge can be identified during this assessment process.

Population numbers in eastern North America are probably still low relative to historic levels (Palmer 1949, Goudie 1989, Montevecchi et al. 1995).  Monitoring projects for the eastern North American wintering population have proved successful for assessing this population, however other areas of the range have little or no monitoring effort.  As a result the status of the population outside of what we observe during winter in eastern North America is not well known.  Confounding this issue is the relative inaccessibility of the more northern population and the Greenland wintering population.  Appropriate and statistically valid monitoring programs must be established for known breeding, moulting, and wintering locations.  Monitoring is ongoing at some moulting locations and periodically at breeding sites.  Winter monitoring for the eastern North American population is the most consistent, with four locations being monitored annually in February/March by comparable methods and observers.  This methodology needs to be revisited to ensure statistical validity.  Overall, a consistent and acceptable survey methodology should be developed to address this need based on the appropriation of resources as well as program priorities of jurisdictions with management accountability. 

While much effort has gone into surveying Harlequin Ducks over the last 15 years, there is still potential breeding habitat that has not been surveyed for the presence of Harlequin Ducks. 

The identification of “management units” is an important component of effective conservation programs (Moritz 1994).  In this case, a management unit can be defined as a group of individuals of a species that demonstrate a level of reproductive isolation from other conspecifics.  Only through a more comprehensive assessment of our Harlequin Duck population through monitoring and research will we be in a position to effectively and accurately delineate management units. 

5.1.2 Actions

1.   Using current estimates of productivity and survivorship from the eastern North American population, develop a dynamic population model to assess current population trends and the acceptable population level for long term viability.

2.   Continue monitoring the eastern North American wintering population at important locations across their range.  

3.   Statistically assess the monitoring program as it stands to determine the need for a more comprehensive monitoring program.

4.   Implement a survey program for previously unsurveyed areas that have the potential to be breeding grounds for Harlequin Ducks, and may be impacted by development and human disturbance. 

5.   Develop consistent protocols for surveying and monitoring the population across all jurisdictions, as well as how this information is presented to the public and the scientific community.

6.   Work toward a monitoring strategy with the Greenland Government for southwest Greenland that may offer more definitive insight into population size and trend in that area.

7.   Limit hunting to the extent possible. 

8.   Promote and facilitate the exchange and publication of Harlequin Duck information from countries of the Northwest Atlantic that may assist with the management of the species.

9.   Delineate “management units”.

10.Maintain databases.

5.2   Habitat Protection 

5.2.1 Issue explanation and description

As has already been discussed at length, Harlequin Ducks are widely distributed across the landscape, and are exposed to a variety of threats throughout their range.  As a result, a key recommendation of this plan will be the development of a comprehensive threat assessment to properly quantify the impacts of the possible threats.

In eastern North America there are presently several protected areas utilized by Harlequin Ducks for breeding, wintering, moulting and staging sites: 

Newfoundland

  • Gros Morne National Park of Canada: breeding, moulting and staging site
  • Cape St. Mary’s Ecological Reserve: wintering and a few moulting individuals in addition to small numbers of non-breeders that maintain a year-round residency

Labrador

  • Gannet IslandsEcological Reserve: moult site
  • TorngatMountainsNational Park Reserve of Canada: breeding, staging and possibly moulting site

Québec

  • ForillonNational Park of Canada: moult site
  • Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve of Canada: staging site
  • Parc national de l’île-Bonaventure-et-du-Rocher-Percé: moult site
  • Parc national de la Gaspésie: potential breeding site

Nova Scotia

  • Eastern IslandsManagement Area (EIMA): wintering site
  • Port Hebert Migratory Bird Sanctuary: wintering site
  • KejimkujikNational Park Seaside Adjunct: wintering site
  • Port Joli Migratory Bird Sanctuary: wintering site

Maine, USA

  • Acadia National Park[1]: wintering site

Rhode Island, USA

  • Sachuest Point National Wildlife Refuge1: wintering site

5.2.2 Actions

1.     Refine a habitat protection strategy for important breeding, moulting, staging, and wintering Harlequin Duck locations.

2.     In accordance with the Federal Species at Risk Act, determine where Harlequin Ducks breed, moult and winter on federal property. 

3.     Establish communication with forestry companies to develop and adopt forestry management strategies intended to minimize impacts on Harlequin Ducks.

4.     Foster relationships with hydroelectric companies in areas of the Harlequin Duck breeding range to ensure proper management and mitigation of both large and small scale hydro development impacts on Harlequin Ducks.

5.     Develop a proactive relationship with the aquaculture industry.  Information sharing as to where potential aquaculture sites may be established. 

6.     Continue to work in a preventative capacity to reduce chronic oil pollution off the coast of eastern North America.

7.     Monitor and mitigate use of pesticides to control Diptera populations due to increasing threats from West Nile Disease in watersheds known to host breeding and/or staging Harlequin Ducks.

8.     Train Environmental Assessment officers and biologists in the various federal government departments, as well as in other jurisdictions, organizations, and industry that may be involved with environmental assessment.

5.3  Research

5.3.1 Issue explanation and description

Demographic parameters required for accurate population projection models and survival have yet to be determined.  Analysis is ongoing that will allow for more accurate demographic information in the future.  There are also questions with regard to genetic relationships among Greenland and eastern North America, which speak to population structure and management units.  Additionally, habitat data both in regard to preferred parameters and available baseline habitat information is limited or not available.

5.3.2 Actions

1.     Complete the ongoing genetic studies to determine individual and population level affiliations within the Northwest Atlantic.

2.     Complete analysis of mark – recapture studies that will add to demographic knowledge of this species in eastern North America. 

3.     Determine if present known habitat is sufficient to maintain a viable and sustainable Harlequin Duck population in eastern North America.

4.     Determine the possible long-term consequences of human encroachment on breeding, moulting and wintering habitat in eastern North America.

5.     Conduct a comprehensive threat assessment that would allow for greater insight into the possible threats to the species and to the species’ habitat at multiple geographic scales.  

6.     Complete impact assessment studies of ecotourism, aquaculture, forestry practices, hydroelectric development, chronic and catastrophic oiling, near shore commercial fishing, and the impacts of low-level flying military aircraft.

5.4  Socio-politics and Communications

5.4.1 Issue explanation and description

In many areas of the Harlequin Duck range in eastern North America there are long standing traditions of seaduck hunting.  Despite a complete hunting ban on Harlequin Ducks in the Atlantic Flyway since 1990, the Harlequin Duck is often mistaken for other species of seaduck at various times of the year, and is hunted accidentally.  Current Canadian Wildlife Service policy provides for complete prohibition of hunting of Harlequin Ducks; a policy that has received wide support from native and non-native organizations.  Complete protection of the Harlequin Duck will be important for their conservation.

Management scenarios for the species may be viewed locally in terms of the possible economic gain for the community.  It is important that management strategies recognize the need for potential economic opportunities within these communities and work, to the extent possible, toward helping achieve them without jeopardizing the continued survival of the species.

Despite its listing on the Species at Risk Act legal list, the Harlequin Duck is not widely known.  Communication and education materials available on the Harlequin Duck are limited.  Improved and targeted communications with hunters, communities, aboriginal groups, industry, enforcement agencies, conservation groups etc. is vital for ensuring protection for the species.

5.4.2 Actions

  1. Development of educational materials.
  2. Promote Habitat Stewardship Programs and other stewardship initiatives for the Harlequin Duck.
  3. Assemble information packages on the Harlequin Duck for distribution to all pertinent law enforcement agencies in eastern North America.
  4. Conduct public information sessions in areas of known concentrations of Harlequin Ducks.
  5. Promote the established codes of practice and standards with Environmental Assessment officers. 
  6. Enforce regulations and promote education in local areas to reduce the level of accidental/illegal hunt of the species.



[1] No associated marine component to this protected area.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

l’Arlequin plongeur (Histrionicus histrionicus)

MESURES DE GESTION

Afin d’atteindre les buts et les objectifs exposés ci-dessus, le plan de gestion présente quatre grands enjeux assortis d’une série de mesures. Ces mesures intègrent les stratégies requises pour protéger, maintenir et améliorer la population de l’Arlequin plongeur de l’est de l’Amérique du Nord ainsi que son habitat.

Les principaux enjeux abordés par le présent plan incluent une évaluation approfondie des menaces qui pèsent sur l’espèce dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord et la mise en place d’un programme acceptable de suivi de l’Arlequin plongeur dans ses aires d’hivernage, de mue et de nidification, de sorte qu’on puisse évaluer adéquatement les paramètres démographiques de l’ensemble de la population. Se reporter aux sections 6 et 7 pour de plus amples renseignements sur la mise en œuvre de ces mesures.

Les priorités de gestion pour la population d’Arlequins plongeurs du Canada atlantique et du Québec se classent dans les quatre grandes catégories suivantes :

1.     Gestion de la population

2.     Gestion de l’habitat et menaces

3.     Recherche

4.     Considérations sociopolitiques et communications

5.1 Gestion de la population

5.1.1 Explication de l’enjeu et description

Pour être en mesure de bien gérer la population d’Arlequins plongeurs, il importe d’en comprendre la dynamique. Un modèle démographique est un outil de gestion auquel on a souvent recours pour faciliter la prise de décisions à l’égard des espèces en péril (Beissinger et Westphal, 1998). Toutefois, il importe d’évaluer d’abord la qualité des données qui en constitueront le fondement. Cette évaluation peut également permettre de cerner les lacunes à combler dans les connaissances sur l’espèce.

La population de l’est de l’Amérique du Nord est probablement encore en deçà de ses niveaux historiques (Palmer, 1949; Goudie, 1989; Montevecchi et al., 1995). Grâce aux projets de suivi effectués dans les aires d’hivernage, les chercheurs ont pu évaluer la population hivernante de l’est de l’Amérique du Nord. Toutefois, il ne se fait à peu près aucun suivi dans les autres secteurs de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce. Par conséquent, il est impossible de se prononcer sur la situation de l’espèce à l’extérieur des aires d’hivernage situées dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord. À cette lacune s’ajoute la difficulté d’accès à la population qui nidifie dans le nord et à celle qui hiverne au Groenland. Dans les emplacements de nidification, de mue et d’hivernage connus, il faut mettre en place des programmes de suivi adéquats et valides sur le plan statistique. Certains emplacements de mue font l’objet d’un suivi continu, tandis que les sites de nidification sont soumis à un suivi périodique. Les activités de suivi de la population effectuées durant l’hiver sont les plus soutenues; les colonies rassemblées dans quatre emplacements font en effet l’objet d’un suivi annuel effectué, en février et mars, par des observateurs d’égale compétence et selon des méthodes uniformes. Il faut revoir cette façon de procéder pour s’assurer de sa validité sur le plan statistique. Il est important d’adopter une méthodologie de recensement valable et uniforme, qui tienne compte des priorités et des ressources des organismes responsables de la gestion de l’espèce.

En dépit des efforts déployés depuis 15 ans pour recenser la population d’Arlequins plongeurs, il subsiste des habitats de reproduction potentiels qui n’ont été l’objet d’aucun relevé pour détecter la présence de l’Arlequin plongeur.

La délimitation d’« unités de gestion » constitue une étape importante de tout programme de conservation (Moritz, 1994). Dans ce contexte, une « unité de gestion » s’entend d’un groupe d’individus de la même espèce, plus ou moins isolés de leurs congénères et se reproduisant essentiellement entre eux. Pour être en mesure de délimiter des unités de gestion efficacement et avec précision, il faut d’abord mener une évaluation complète de la population à l’aide de programmes de recherche et de suivi.

4.1.2 Mesures

1.     À partir des estimations actuelles de la productivité et de la survie de la population de l’est de l’Amérique du Nord, mettre au point un modèle démographique dynamique destiné à évaluer les tendances actuelles de la population et l’effectif minimum nécessaire pour assurer sa viabilité à long terme.

2.   Continuer d’effectuer le suivi de la population hivernant dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord, dans les emplacements importants de toute l’aire de répartition.

3.   Analyser la validité sur le plan statistique du programme de suivi en place afin de déterminer le besoin d’un programme de suivi plus détaillé.

4.   Instaurer un programme de relevés dans les secteurs non encore explorés représentant des lieux potentiellement propices à la reproduction et qui sont susceptibles d’être touchés par l’aménagement ou d’autres perturbations d’origine humaine.

5.   Élaborer des protocoles uniformes de recensement et de suivi de la population appliqués par toutes les compétences ainsi que les modalités de diffusion de l’information au public et à la communauté scientifique.

6.   Élaborer une stratégie de suivi, en collaboration avec le gouvernement du Groenland pour le sud-ouest du Groenland, dans le but d’obtenir une estimation plus précise de l’effectif et des tendances démographiques de la population de cette région

7.   Limiter la chasse à l’Arlequin plongeur autant que possible.

8.   Promouvoir et faciliter la diffusion et l’échange d’information sur l’Arlequin plongeur entre les pays de l’Atlantique Nord‑Ouest susceptibles de participer à la gestion de l’espèce.

9.    Délimiter des « unités de gestion ».

10. Tenir des bases de données.

4.2 Protection de l’habitat

4.2.1 Explication de l’enjeu et description

Comme il a déjà été mentionné, l’Arlequin plongeur est largement répandu dans le paysage, et il est exposé à diverses menaces dans toute son aire de répartition. C’est pourquoi il est recommandé dans le présent plan de gestion de réaliser une étude exhaustive des menaces dans le but de quantifier convenablement les impacts des menaces potentielles.

Dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord, il existe actuellement plusieurs territoires protégés utilisés par l’Arlequin plongeur comme sites de reproduction, d’hivernage, de mue et de rassemblement :

Terre-Neuve

  • Parc national du Canada Gros‑Morne : site de reproduction, de mue et de rassemblement.
  • Réserve écologique du cap St. Mary’s : hivernage et quelques individus en mue en plus d’un petit nombre d’individus non reproducteurs qui constituent des résidents permanents.

Labrador

  • Réserve écologique des îles Gannet : site de mue
  • Réserve de parc national du Canada des Monts-Torngat : site de reproduction, de rassemblement et possiblement de mue

Québec

  • Parc national du Canada Forillon : site de mue
  • Réserve de parc national du Canada de l’Archipel-de-Mingan : site de rassemblement
  • Parc national de l’île-Bonaventure-et-du-Rocher-Percé : site de mue
  • Parc national de la Gaspésie : site de reproduction potentiel

Nouvelle-Écosse

  • Zone de gestion des îles Eastern(Eastern Islands Management Area [EIMA]) : site d’hivernage
  • Refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs de Port Hebert : site d’hivernage
  • Parc national Kejimkujik (Kejimkujik National Park Seaside Adjunct) : site d’hivernage
  • Refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs de Port Joli: site d’hivernage

Maine, États-Unis

  • Acadia National Park[1]: site d’hivernage

Rhode Island, États-Unis

  • Sachuest Point National Wildlife Refuge1 : site d’hivernage

4.2.2 Mesures

1.     Élaborer une stratégie de protection de l’habitat pour les principaux emplacements de reproduction, de mue, de rassemblement et d’hivernage de l’Arlequin plongeur.

2.     Conformément à la Loi sur les espèces en péril du gouvernement fédéral, délimiter le territoire domanial utilisé pour la reproduction, la mue ou l’hivernage.

3.     Amorcer le dialogue avec les sociétés forestières afin qu’elles adoptent des stratégies de gestion forestières destinées à réduire au minimum les incidences de leurs activités sur l’Arlequin plongeur.

4.     Entretenir des relations fructueuses avec les sociétés hydroélectriques qui ont des installations dans des secteurs qui font partie de l’aire de reproduction de l’Arlequin plongeur, afin d’assurer la gestion et l’atténuation des impacts des projets hydroélectriques de faible comme de grande envergure sur l’Arlequin plongeur.

5.     Nouer des relations proactives avec l’industrie de l’aquaculture. Échanger de l’information pertinente quant à l’emplacement possible des futurs sites aquacoles.

6.     Continuer de travailler de façon préventive à réduire la pollution chronique par des hydrocarbures au large de la côte est de l’Amérique du Nord.

7.     Effectuer le suivi des pesticides utilisés pour lutter contre les populations de Diptera face à la menace croissante du virus du Nil occidental dans les bassins hydrographiques qu’on sait utilisés par l’Arlequin plongeur pour la reproduction et/ou le rassemblement et tenter d’en atténuer les effets.

8.     Former les agents et les biologistes des différents ministères fédéraux, des autres compétences, des organisations ou des différents secteurs industriels qui seront appelés à participer à des évaluations environnementales.

4.3 Recherche

4.3.1 Explication de l’enjeu et description

Les paramètres démographiques de la population nécessaires à l’élaboration de modèles fiables de projection démographique et de prévision de survie n’ont pas encore été déterminés. Une fois que l’analyse sera terminée, il sera possible de générer de l’information démographique plus précise. Il reste également à élucider les liens génétiques existant entre la population du Groenland et celle de l’est de l’Amérique du Nord; cette information permettra de mieux comprendre la structure des populations et de délimiter des unités de gestion. De plus, les données sur l’habitat sont limitées ou non disponibles tant en ce qui a trait aux renseignements généraux sur l’habitat qu’aux paramètres qui déterminent son utilisation.

4.3.2 Mesures

1.     Terminer les études génétiques en cours afin de déterminer les liens qui existent entre individus et entre populations dans l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest.

2.     Terminer l’analyse des données tirées des études de marquage-recapture qui ajouteront des renseignements aux connaissances sur la démographie de cette espèce dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord.

3.     Déterminer si l’habitat connu de l’Arlequin plongeur dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord est suffisamment vaste pour soutenir une population viable et durable.

4.     Déterminer les incidences à long terme possibles de l’empiétement de la population humaine sur l’habitat de reproduction, de mue et d’hivernage de l’Arlequin plongeur dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord.

5.     Mener une évaluation approfondie des menaces qui pèsent sur l’Arlequin plongeur et sur son habitat et ce, à différentes échelles géographiques.

6.     Évaluer l’impact sur l’Arlequin plongeur de l’écotourisme, de l’aquaculture, des pratiques forestières, des projets hydroélectriques, de la pollution chronique par des hydrocarbures et par les déversements accidentels, de la pêche côtière commerciale et des aéronefs militaires volant à basse altitude.

4.4 Considérations sociopolitiques et communications

4.4.1 Explication de l’enjeu et description

La chasse aux canards marins se pratique depuis longtemps dans de nombreux secteurs de l’aire de répartition de la population de l’Arlequin plongeur de l’est de l’Amérique du Nord. Bien qu’il soit strictement interdit depuis 1990 de chasser l’espèce dans la voie migratoire de l’Atlantique, l’Arlequin plongeur est souvent confondu avec d’autres espèces de canards marins à différentes époques de l’année et abattu de façon non intentionnelle. La politique actuelle du Service canadien de la faune, qui interdit toute chasse à l’Arlequin plongeur, reçoit l’appui massif des groupes autochtones et non autochtones. La conservation de l’Arlequin plongeur passe par la protection absolue de l’espèce.

Les scénarios de gestion de l’Arlequin plongeur peuvent être regardés par les collectivités locales sous l’angle des retombées économiques qu’ils pourraient générer. Il est important que les stratégies de gestion tiennent compte du besoin de développement économique de ces collectivités et tentent d’aider à y répondre, dans la mesure du possible, sans compromettre la survie à long terme de l’espèce.

Bien qu’il figure sur la liste officielle de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, l’Arlequin plongeur est peu connu. Il existe très peu de matériel d’information et d’éducation consacré à l’espèce. Pour assurer la protection de l’espèce, il est impératif d’élaborer des moyens de communications améliorés et ciblés à l’intention des chasseurs, des collectivités, des groupes autochtones, de l’industrie, des organismes chargés de faire respecter la réglementation, des groupes de conservation, etc.

4.4.2   Mesures

1.     Produire du matériel éducatif.

2.     Promouvoir les programmes d’intendance de l’habitat et les autres activités d’intendance de l’Arlequin plongeur.

3.     Préparer des trousses d’information sur l’Arlequin plongeur pour diffusion auprès de tous les organismes responsables de l’application de la loi de l’est de l’Amérique du Nord.

4.     Tenir des séances d’information publiques dans les secteurs où il existe des concentrations d’Arlequins plongeurs.

5.     Promouvoir les normes et les codes de pratique établis auprès des agents d’évaluation environnementale.

6.     Faire respecter la réglementation et promouvoir les activités locales d’éducation afin de réduire la chasse illégale et la mortalité accidentelle de l’Arlequin plongeur.



[1] Ce territoire protégé n’inclut aucune composante marine.