Skip booklet index and go to page content

Species at Risk Act – Annual Report for 2014

1 Introduction

1.1 The Purpose of the Annual Report

This report summarizes activities carried out in 2014 related to the Species at Risk Act (SARA). The report fulfills the Minister of the Environment’s obligation, under section 126 of the Act, to prepare an annual report on the administration of SARA for each calendar year. The Act requires that the report include a summary of:

  1. the assessments of the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada and the Minister’s response to each of them;
  2. the preparation and implementation of recovery strategies, action plans and management plans;
  3. all agreements made under sections 10 to 13;
  4. all agreements entered into and permits issued under section 73, and all agreements and permits amended under section 75 or exempted under section 76;
  5. enforcement and compliance actions taken, including the response to any requests for investigation;
  6. regulations and emergency orders made under SARA; and
  7. any other matters that the Minister considers relevant.

This introductory section provides background information on SARA and outlines the responsibilities of the federal departments and agencies under the Act. Subsequent sections describe the following activities under SARA:

  • Section 2: Assessment of species at risk
  • Section 3: Listing of species at risk
  • Section 4: Protection of individuals and residences of listed species
  • Section 5: Recovery planning for listed species
  • Section 6: Recovery implementation
  • Section 7: Enforcement
  • Section 8: Monitoring
  • Section 9: Consultation and governance

1.2 Background on SARA

SARA is an important tool for conserving and protecting Canada’s biological diversity and helps Canada meet its international commitments under the Convention on Biological Diversity. It also supports the federal commitments under the 1996 Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk to prevent species in Canada from becoming extinct as a consequence of human activity. The purposes of the Act are to prevent wildlife species from being extirpated or becoming extinct, to provide for the recovery of wildlife species that are extirpated, endangered or threatened as a result of human activity, and to manage species of special concern to prevent them from becoming endangered or threatened.

The Act establishes a process for conducting scientific assessments of the status of individual wildlife species and a mechanism for listing extirpated, endangered, threatened and special-concern species. SARA also includes provisions for the protection, recovery and management of listed wildlife species, and their critical habitats Footnote 1 and residences.Footnote 2

The responsibility for conservation of species at risk is shared by all jurisdictions in Canada. The Act recognizes this joint responsibility and that all Canadians have a role to play in the protection of wildlife.

1.3 Responsible Authorities for Implementation of SARA

The Parks Canada Agency, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, and Environment Canada are the three government organizations, commonly referred to as the “competent” departments that share responsibility for the implementation of SARA. The ministers responsible for these organizations are known as the “competent” ministers under SARA. The Minister of the Environment is the minister responsible for both Environment Canada and the Parks Canada Agency. Ministerial responsibilities are as follows:

  • The Minister responsible for Parks Canada Agency is responsible for individuals of species found in or on federal lands and waters that the Agency administers.
  • The Minister of Fisheries and Oceans is responsible for aquatic species at risk other than individuals under the responsibility of the Parks Canada Agency.
  • The Minister of the Environment is responsible for all other species at risk.

The Minister of the Environment is the minister responsible for the overall administration of SARA, except insofar as the Act gives responsibility to another minister (i.e., the other competent minister). The Minister of the Environment is required to consult with the other competent ministers as necessary on matters related to SARA administration.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Under SARA, “critical habitat” is defined as the habitat that is necessary for the survival or recovery of a listed wildlife species and that is identified as the species’ critical habitat in the recovery strategy or in an action plan for the species (see section 5.2).

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

“Residence” means a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Table of Contents

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Loi sur les espèces en péril – Rapport annuel de 2014

1 Introduction

1.1 Objet du rapport annuel

Le présent rapport résume les activités réalisées en 2014 en lien avec la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Il remplit l’obligation du ministre de l’Environnement, aux termes de l’article 126 de la Loi, d’établir un rapport annuel sur l’administration de la LEP pour chaque année civile. Au titre de la LEP, le rapport doit comprendre un sommaire abordant les sujets suivants :

  1. les évaluations faites par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada et la réponse du ministre à chacune de ses évaluations;
  2. l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre des programmes de rétablissement, des plans d’action et des plans de gestion;
  3. les accords conclus en vertu des articles 10 à 13;
  4. les accords conclus ou renouvelés et les permis délivrés ou renouvelés en vertu de l’article 73; les accords et les permis modifiés en vertu de l’article 75, et les exemptions prévues à l’article 76;
  5. les activités d’application et d’observation de la loi, y compris la suite donnée aux demandes d’enquêtes;
  6. les règlements et décrets d’urgence pris en vertu de la LEP;
  7. tout autre sujet que le ministre juge pertinent.

La présente introduction fournit des renseignements généraux sur la LEP et décrit les responsabilités des ministères et des organismes fédéraux aux termes de la Loi. Les sections suivantes décrivent les activités menées dans le cadre de la LEP, à savoir :

  • Section 2 : Évaluation des espèces en péril
  • Section 3 : Inscription des espèces en péril
  • Section 4 : Protection des individus et de la résidence des espèces inscrites
  • Section 5 : Planification du rétablissement des espèces inscrites
  • Section 6 : Mise en œuvre des mesures de rétablissement
  • Section 7 : Application de la loi
  • Section 8 : Surveillance
  • Section 9 : Consultation et gouvernance

1.2 Renseignements généraux sur la LEP

La LEP est un outil important pour la conservation et la protection de la diversité biologique au Canada, et aide le Canada à respecter ses engagements pris à l’échelle internationale dans le cadre de la Convention sur la diversité biologique. La Loi donne également suite aux engagements pris par le gouvernement fédéral dans le cadre de l’Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril (1996), qui consistent à empêcher que les activités humaines ne causent la disparition d’espèces du Canada. La LEP vise à prévenir la disparition des espèces sauvages, à permettre le rétablissement des espèces qui, en raison d’activités humaines, sont disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées, et à favoriser la gestion des espèces préoccupantes pour éviter qu’elles ne deviennent des espèces en voie de disparition ou menacées.

La LEP prévoit un processus pour l’évaluation scientifique de la situation des espèces sauvages et un mécanisme pour l’inscription des espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition, menacées ou préoccupantes. La Loi comprend également des dispositions relatives à la protection, au rétablissement et à la gestion des espèces inscrites, de leur habitat essentielNote de bas de page 1 et de leur résidenceNote de bas de page 2.

La conservation des espèces en péril est la responsabilité de tous les ordres de gouvernement au pays. La LEP reconnaît que la protection des espèces sauvages est une responsabilité conjointe et que tous les Canadiens ont un rôle à jouer dans la protection de la faune et de la flore.

1.3 Autorités responsables de l’application de la LEP

L’Agence Parcs Canada (APC), Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) et Environnement Canada (EC), couramment appelés « ministères compétents », sont les trois organismes gouvernementaux qui se partagent la responsabilité de l’application de la LEP. Les ministres responsables de ces organismes sont les « ministres compétents » aux termes de la LEP. Le ministre de l’Environnement est responsable à la fois d’EC et de l’APC. Leurs responsabilités sont les suivantes :

  • Le ministre responsable de l’APC est chargé des questions concernant les individus des espèces en péril présents sur le territoire domanial (terres et eaux) qu’elle administre.

  • Le ministre des Pêches et des Océans est responsable des questions touchant les espèces aquatiques en péril autres que les individus de ces espèces qui relèvent de l’APC.

  • Le ministre de l’Environnement est responsable de toutes les autres espèces en péril.

Le ministre de l’Environnement est responsable de l’administration générale de la LEP, sauf dans les cas où la Loi donne cette responsabilité à un autre ministre (c.-à-d. l’autre ministre compétent). Il est tenu de consulter, au besoin, les autres ministres compétents sur les questions liées à l’administration de la LEP.

Table des matières