Skip booklet index and go to page content

Species at Risk Act – Annual Report for 2014

5 Recovery Planning for Listed Species

5.1 Legislative Requirements

Under SARA, the competent ministers must prepare recovery strategies and action plans for species listed as extirpated, endangered or threatened and management plans for those listed as special concern. Recovery strategies identify threats to the species and its habitat, identify critical habitat to the extent possible, and set population and distribution objectives for the species. Action plans outline the actions to be taken to meet the objectives in the recovery strategy. Management plans include measures for species listed as special concern, but do not identify critical habitat.

Table 6 shows the required timelines for developing recovery strategies and management plans. The timelines for developing action plans are set within the recovery strategies. Posting of SARA recovery documents is the responsibility of the federal competent minister for the species; however, they must be developed, to the extent possible, in cooperation and consultation with all relevant jurisdictions and directly affected parties.

Table 6: Timeline for developing recovery documents (in years)

Note: Table 6 has been split into two separate components: Recovery strategy and Management plan

Recovery strategy
Species listing dateStatus: EndangeredStatus: Threatened or Extirpated
June 5, 2003
3
4
New listings after June 5, 2003
1
2
Reassessed Schedule 2 or 3 listings, after June 5, 2003
3
4

 

Management plan
Species listing dateStatus: Special Concern
June 5, 2003
5
New listings after June 5, 2003
3
Reassessed Schedule 2 or 3 listings, after June 5, 2003
5

Proposed recovery strategies, action plans and management plans are posted on the Species at Risk Public Registry for a 60-day public comment period. The competent ministers consider comments and make changes where appropriate. The final recovery strategy or action plan, as applicable, is to be published in the public registry within 30 days after the expiry of the public comment period. Five years after a recovery strategy, action plan or management plan comes into effect, the competent minister must report on progress made toward the stated objectives.

5.2 Recovery Planning Activities in 2014

As of April 2014, proposed recovery strategies or management plans for 189 species under the responsibility of Environment Canada had not yet been posted. On December 17, 2014, an additional 3 species were added to Schedule 1.

In 2014, Environment Canada published a plan to publish proposed recovery strategies and management plans for these 192 species over three years in a prioritized manner based on consideration of immediate threats and population declines as well as program priorities and information availability. The posting plan and progress in publishing proposed recovery strategies and management plans to date are available on the Species at Risk Public Registry.

5.2.1 Recovery Strategies

In 2014, Environment Canada posted proposed recovery strategies for 25 species and final recovery strategies for 18 species. Fisheries and Oceans Canada posted final recovery strategies for 7 aquatic species. Parks Canada completed and posted final recovery strategies for 3 species. New recovery strategies that were posted on the Species at Risk Public Registry are listed in Table 7. Fisheries and Oceans Canada also published a revised recovery strategy on the registry for North Atlantic Right Whale.

Table 7: Species for which recovery strategies were posted in 2014 by competent department
Competent departmentProposed recovery strategies:
Species
Final recovery strategies:
Species
Environment CanadaBehr's (Columbia) Hairstreak
Colicroot
Dense Blazing Star
Five-lined Skink, Carolinian population
Golden-winged Warbler
Greater Short-horned Lizard
Half-moon Hairstreak
Kentucky Coffee-tree
Loggerhead Shrike Prairie excubitorides ssp.
Marbled Murrelet
Oregon Forestsnail
Oregon Spotted Frog
Pacific Water Shrew
Porsild's Bryum
Sage Thrasher
Scarlet Ammannia
Small White Lady’s Slipper
Smooth Goosefoot
Toothcup
Vesper Sparrow affinis ssp.
Vole Ears Lichen
Western Chorus Frog, Great Lakes/St. Lawrence population
Wolverine, E. population
Woodland Caribou, Southern Mountain population
Yellow-breasted Chat auricollis ssp., Southern Mountain population
Allegheny Mountain Dusky Salamander, Great Lakes/St. Lawrence population
Bluehearts
Dense Blazing Star
Eastern Flowering Dogwood
False Hop Sedge
Gold-edged Gem
Greater Sage-Grouse urophasianus ssp.
Ivory Gull
Kentucky Coffee-tree
Least Bittern
Marbled Murrelet
Pacific Water Shrew
Sage Thrasher
Small White Lady’s Slipper
Vole Ears Lichen
White-headed Woodpecker
Williamson's Sapsucker
Woodland Caribou, Southern Mountain population
Fisheries and Oceans Canada Eastern Sand Darter, Quebec population
Spring Cisco
Westslope Cutthroat Trout, Alberta population
White Sturgeon, Kootenay River population
White Sturgeon, Nechako River population
White Sturgeon, Upper Columbia River population
White Sturgeon, Upper Fraser River population
Parks Canada AgencySlender PopcornflowerGray’s Desert-parsley
Northern Saw-whet Owl brooksi ssp.
Slender Popcornflower

 

Case Study: Garry Oak Ecosystems

British Columbia’s west coast records the highest annual rainfalls in all of Canada. In contrast to the surrounding rainforests, a land of savannah and prairie lies in the rain shadow of the nearby mountains of Washington State’s Olympic range, along the east coast of Vancouver Island between Victoria and Campbell River.

With its iconic Camas lilies and Garry Oak trees, this area, which has supported Coast Salish communities for thousands of years, is one of the most diverse terrestrial landscapes in British Columbia.

Increased development has put extreme pressure on this area, and over 120 species in this landscape are at risk, including some species that exist nowhere else in the world. More than 40 of these species are protected under the Species at Risk Act.

In 2003, Parks Canada committed to lead on recovery planning for 42 plants and invertebrates that are part of Garry Oak and associated ecosystems. Parks Canada, in partnership with the Garry Oak Ecosystem Recovery Team, has worked with private landowners, local governments, non-governmental organizations, other federal departments and First Nations throughout the region to successfully publish recovery strategies. The final recovery strategy, for Slender Popcornflower, was posted in September 2014 and represents the completion of more than a decade of planning for the recovery of Garry Oak species and the ecosystems they call home. With these recovery strategies as their guide, Canadians now have a framework to preserve these ecosystems for future generations.

Garry Oak ecosystem
Garry Oak ecosystem
Photo: © Parks Canada

5.2.2 Identification of Critical Habitat

SARA defines “critical habitat” as the habitat that is necessary for the survival or recovery of a listed wildlife species and that is identified as the species’ critical habitat in the recovery strategy or in an action plan for the species. Competent ministers must identify critical habitat to the extent possible, based on the best available information, in recovery strategies and action plans.

In 2014, Environment Canada published final recovery strategies in which critical habitat was identified for 16 species, and proposed recovery strategies in which critical habitat was identified for 24 species.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada identified critical habitat in final recovery strategies for seven aquatic species: Eastern Sand Darter (Quebec populations), Spring Cisco, Westslope Cutthroat Trout (Alberta population), White Sturgeon (Nechako River population), White Sturgeon (Upper Columbia River population), White Sturgeon (Upper Fraser River population) and White Sturgeon (Kootenay River population).

The Parks Canada Agency identified critical habitat for all three species for which it published final recovery strategies in 2014 (Northern Saw-whet Owl brooksi subspecies, Slender Popcornflower and Gray’s Desert Parsley). The Agency also identified critical habitat for the Greater Sage-Grouse urophasianus subspecies in an amended recovery strategy.

5.2.3 Action Plans

An action plan identifies the conservation measures required to meet the population and distribution objectives outlined in the recovery strategy. An action plan must also to the extent possible identify critical habitat or complete the identification of critical habitat if it is not fully identified in the recovery strategy. An action plan also includes information on measures proposed to protect that critical habitat, methods proposed to monitor the recovery of the species, and an evaluation of the socio-economic costs of the action plan and benefits to be derived from its implementation.

In 2014, Environment Canada posted final action plans for two species (Victorin’s Gentian in Canada and False Hop Sedge in Quebec).

In 2014, Parks Canada continued its site-based, multispecies approach for action plans that will prioritize conservation actions for the suite of species at risk found in Parks Canada heritage places. At the end of 2014, multispecies action plans covering 14 heritage places were in development.

5.2.4 Management Plans

Species of special concern are those that may become threatened or endangered because of a combination of biological characteristics and identified threats. SARA requires competent ministers to prepare management plans for species of special concern. A management plan differs from a recovery strategy and an action plan in that it identifies conservation measures needed to prevent a species of special concern from becoming threatened or endangered but does not identify critical habitat. Where appropriate, these management plans may be prepared for multiple species on an ecosystem or landscape level.

In 2014, Environment Canada posted proposed management plans for 14 species and final management plans for 4 species. Fisheries and Oceans Canada posted a proposed management plan for 1 species and final management plans for 2 species. Parks Canada posted a final management plan for 1 species. The species for which management plans were posted in 2014 are listed in Table 8.

Table 8: Species for which management plans were posted in 2014 by competent department
Competent departmentProposed management plans:
Species
Final management plans:
Species
Environment CanadaEastern Ribbonsnake, Great Lakes population
Houghton's Goldenrod
McCown's Longspur
Milksnake
Monarch
Mountain Beaver
Nuttall's Cottontail nuttallii ssp.
Riddell's Goldenrod
Rusty Blackbird
Sonora Skipper
Spotted Bat
Tuberous Indian-plantain
Western Skink
Western Yellow-bellied Racer
Climbing Prairie Rose
Lewis's Woodpecker
McCown's Longspur
Spring Salamander
Fisheries and Oceans CanadaGreat Lakes KiyiBowhead Whale, Bering–Chukchi–Beaufort population
Sea Otter
Parks Canada Agency Hill’s Pondweed
Table of Contents

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Loi sur les espèces en péril – Rapport annuel de 2014

5 Planification du rétablissement des espèces inscrites

5.1 Exigences législatives

Aux termes de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP), les ministres compétents sont tenus de préparer des programmes de rétablissement et des plans d’action pour les espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées ainsi que des plans de gestion pour les espèces préoccupantes. Les programmes de rétablissement déterminent les menaces qui pèsent sur les espèces et leur habitat, désignent, dans la mesure du possible, l’habitat essentiel, et établissent les objectifs en matière de population et de répartition. Les plans d’action décrivent les mesures qui doivent être prises pour réaliser les objectifs définis dans les programmes de rétablissement. Les plans de gestion, quant à eux, comprennent des mesures à adopter pour les espèces préoccupantes, mais n’indentifie pas l’habitat essentiel.

Le tableau 6 présente les échéanciers prévus pour l’élaboration des programmes de rétablissement et des plans de gestion. Les échéanciers prévus pour l’élaboration des plans d’action sont fixés dans les programmes de rétablissement. La diffusion des documents de rétablissement prescrits par la LEP est la responsabilité du ministre fédéral compétent pour l’espèce concernée; toutefois, les documents doivent être élaborés, dans la mesure du possible, en coopération et en consultation avec toutes les autorités pertinentes et les parties directement touchées.

Tableau 6 : Échéancier d’élaboration des documents de rétablissement (en années)

Note : Le Tableau 6 a été séparé en deux sections : Programme de rétablissement et Plan de gestion

Programme de rétablissement
Date d’inscription des espècesStatut :
En voie de disparition
Statut :
Menacée ou disparue du pays
5 juin 2003
3
4
Nouvelles inscriptions après le 5 juin 2003
1
2
Réévaluation des espèces inscrites aux annexes 2 ou 3, après le 5 juin 2003
3
4

 

Plan de gestion
Date d’inscription des espècesStatut :
Préoccupante
5 juin 2003
5
Nouvelles inscriptions après le 5 juin 2003
3
Réévaluation des espèces inscrites aux annexes 2 ou 3, après le 5 juin 2003
5

Les programmes de rétablissements, les plans d’action et les plans de gestion proposés sont publiés dans le Registre public des espèces en péril pour une période de consultation publique de 60 jours. Les ministres compétents étudient les commentaires formulés et apportent des changements, au besoin. Le programme de rétablissement ou le plan d’action définitif est publié dans le Registre dans les 30 jours suivant l’expiration de la période de consultation publique. Cinq ans après l’entrée en vigueur d’un programme de rétablissement, d’un plan d’action ou d’un plan de gestion, le ministre compétent doit produire un rapport sur les progrès accomplis dans l’atteinte des objectifs fixés.

5.2 Activités de planification du rétablissement en 2014

En avril 2014, les programmes de rétablissement ou les plans de gestion proposés pour 189 espèces sous la responsabilité d’EC n’avaient pas encore été publiés. En date du 17 décembre 2014, trois nouvelles espèces avaient été ajoutées à l’annexe 1. En 2014, EC a fait paraître un plan de publication de programmes de rétablissement et de plans de gestion sur 3 ans pour 192 espèces, classées selon les menaces immédiates et les déclins de la population ainsi que les priorités des programmes et la disponibilité de l’information. Ce plan et ses mises à jour sont disponibles dans le Registre public des espèces en péril).

5.2.1 Programmes de rétablissement

En 2014, EC a publié des programmes de rétablissement proposés pour 25 espèces et des programmes de rétablissement définitifs pour 18 espèces. Le MPO a quant à lui fait paraître des programmes de rétablissement définitifs visant sept espèces aquatiques. L’APC a terminé et publié des programmes de rétablissement définitifs pour trois espèces. Une liste des programmes de rétablissement qui ont été publiés dans le Registre public des espèces en péril est dressée au tableau 7. Le MPO a également publié dans le Registre un programme de rétablissement révisé sur la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord.

Tableau 7 : Espèces dont le programme de rétablissement a été publié en 2014, par ministère compétent
Ministère compétentProgrammes de rétablissement proposés : espècesProgrammes de rétablissement définitifs : espèces
Environnement CanadaPorte-queue de Behr
Alétris farineux
Liatris à épi
Scinque pentaligne, population carolinienne
Paruline à ailes dorées
Grand iguane à petites cornes
Porte-queue demi-lune
Chicot févier
Pie-grièche migratrice de la sous-espèce des Prairies (excubitorides)
Guillemot marbré
Escargot-forestier de Townsend
Grenouille maculée de l’Oregon
Musaraigne de Bendire
Bryum de Porsild
Moqueur des armoises
Ammannie robuste
Cypripède blanc
Chénopode glabre
Rotala rameux
Bruant vespéral de la sous-espèce affinis
Érioderme mou
Rainette faux-grillon de l’Ouest, population des Grands Lacs et Saint-Laurent et du Bouclier canadien
Carcajou, population de l’Est
Caribou des bois, population des montagnes du Sud
Paruline polyglotte de la sous-espèce auricollis, population des montagnes du Sud
Salamandre sombre des montagnes, population des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent
Buchnéra d’Amérique
Liatris à épi
Cornouiller fleuri
Carex faux-lupulina
Héliotin d’Aweme
Tétras des armoises de la sous-espèce urophasianus
Mouette blanche
Chicot févier
Petit Blongios
Guillemot marbré
Musaraigne de Bendire
Moqueur des armoises
Cypripède blanc
Érioderme mou
Pic à tête blanche
Pic de Williamson
Caribou des bois, population des montagnes du Sud
Pêches et Océans Canada Dard de sable, populations du Québec
Cisco de printemps
Truite fardée versant de l’ouest, population de l’Alberta
Esturgeon blanc, population de la rivière Kootenay
Esturgeon blanc, population de la rivière Nechako
Esturgeon blanc, population du cours supérieur du fleuve Columbia
Esturgeon blanc, population du cours supérieur du fleuve Fraser
Agence Parcs CanadaPlagiobothryde délicateLomatium de Gray
Petite Nyctale de la sous-espèce brooksi
Plagiobothryde délicate

Étude de cas : Écosystèmes du chêne de Garry

Au Canada, la quantité le plus élevée de pluies annuelles est observée sur la côte ouest de la Colombie-Britannique. Contrairement aux forêts humides environnantes, une zone de savanes et de prairies se situe sous le vent, abritée de la pluie par la chaîne de montagnes Olympic située dans l’État de Washington. Cette zone se trouve le long de la côte est de l’île de Vancouver, entre Victoria et la rivière Campbell.

Avec ses quamassies et ses chênes de Garry emblématiques, cette région, qui a assuré la survie des collectivités salish du littoral pendant des milliers d’années, est l’un des paysages terrestres les plus variés de la Colombie-Britannique.

Le développement accru a exercé une pression extrême sur cette région, où plus de 120 espèces sont en péril, y compris des espèces qui n’existent nulle part ailleurs. Plus de 40 de ces espèces sont protégées en vertu de la LEP.

En 2003, Parcs Canada s’est engagé à s’occuper de la planification du rétablissement de 42 plantes et invertébrés qui font partie des écosystèmes du chêne de Garry et des écosystèmes connexes. L’Agence, en partenariat avec l’Équipe de rétablissement des écosystèmes de Garry, a travaillé avec des propriétaires fonciers, des gouvernements locaux, des organisations non gouvernementales, d’autres ministères fédéraux et les Premières Nations de la région à la publication de programmes de rétablissement. Le dernier programme de rétablissement, qui vise la plagiobothryde délicate et qui a été publié en septembre 2014, conclut plus d’une décennie de planification du rétablissement du chêne de Garry et de ses écosystèmes. Grâce à ces programmes de rétablissement, les Canadiens ont maintenant un cadre de travail sur lequel fonder la préservation de ces écosystèmes pour les générations futures.

Écosystème du chêne de Garry
Écosystème du chêne de Garry
Photo : © Agence Parcs Canada

5.2.2 Désignation de l’habitat essentiel

La LEP définit l’« habitat essentiel » comme l’habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement d’une espèce sauvage inscrite; c’est le terme qu’on emploie dans les programmes de rétablissement et les plans d’action. Les ministres compétents doivent, dans la mesure du possible et selon les meilleures données accessibles, désigner l’habitat essentiel dans les programmes de rétablissement et les plans d’action.

En 2014, EC a désigné l’habitat de 16 espèces dans des programmes de rétablissement définitifs et de 24 espèces dans des programmes de rétablissements proposés, lesquels ont été versés.

Le MPO a désigné l’habitat essentiel de sept espèces aquatiques dans des programmes de rétablissement définitifs : dard de sable (populations du Québec), cisco de printemps, truite fardée versant de l’ouest (population de l’Alberta), esturgeon blanc (population de la rivière Nechako), esturgeon blanc (population du cours supérieur du fleuve Columbia), esturgeon blanc (population du cours supérieur du fleuve Fraser) et esturgeon blanc (population de la rivière Kootenay).

L’APC a quant à elle désigné l’habitat essentiel de trois espèces pour lesquels ont été publiés des programmes de rétablissement définitifs en 2014 (Petite Nyctale de la sous-espèce brooksi, plagiobothryde, lomatium de Gray). L’Agence a également désigné l’habitat essentiel du Tétras des armoises de la sous-espèce urophasianus dans un programme de rétablissement modifié.

5.2.3 Plans d’action

Un plan d’action présente les mesures de conservation qu’il faut mener pour atteindre les objectifs en matière de population et de répartition définis dans le programme de rétablissement. Un plan d’action doit également, dans la mesure du possible, désigner l’habitat essentiel ou achever la désignation de l’habitat essentiel si cette dernière n’était pas complète dans le programme de rétablissement. Un plan d’action comprend aussi de l’information sur les mesures proposées pour protéger l’habitat essentiel et sur les méthodes proposées pour surveiller le rétablissement de l’espèce ainsi qu’une évaluation des coûts socioéconomiques du plan d’action et des avantages qui découleront de sa mise en œuvre.

En 2014, EC a publié les plans d’action définitifs de deux espèces (gentiane de Victorin, au Canada, et carex faux lupulina, au Québec).

La même année, l’APC a continué l’élaboration de son approche plurispécifique axée sur le site pour les plans d’action destinés à prioriser les mesures de conservation visant les espèces en péril présentes dans les lieux patrimoniaux gérés par l’Agence. À la fin de 2014, des plans d’action plurispécifiques ciblant 14 lieux patrimoniaux étaient à l’étape de l’élaboration.

5.2.4 Plans de gestion

Une espèce préoccupante est une espèce qui pourrait devenir menacée ou en voie de disparition à cause de l’effet cumulatif de ses caractéristiques biologiques et des menaces connues qui pèsent sur elle. En vertu de la LEP, les ministres compétents doivent élaborer des plans de gestion pour les espèces préoccupantes. Un plan de gestion se distingue d’un programme de rétablissement et d’un plan d’action par le fait qu’il fixe des mesures de conservation visant à empêcher qu’une espèce préoccupante ne devienne menacée ou en voie de disparition, et ne désigne pas d’habitat essentiel. Dans la mesure du possible, des plans de gestion peuvent être plurispécifiques à l’échelle d’un écosystème ou d’un paysage.

En 2014, EC a fait paraître des plans de gestions proposés pour 14 espèces et des plans de gestion définitifs pour 4 espèces. Dans le cas du MPO, on a publié un plan de gestion proposé pour une espèce et des plans de gestion définitifs pour deux espèces. L’APC a publié un plan définitif pour une espèce. Les espèces faisant l’objet d’un plan de gestion publié en 2014 sont énumérées au tableau 8.

Tableau 8 : Espèces dont le plan de gestion a été publié en 2014, par ministère compétent
Ministère compétentPlan de gestion proposés : espècesPlan de gestion définitifs : espèces
Environnement CanadaCouleuvre mince, population des Grands Lacs
Verge d’or de Houghton
Plectrophane de McCown
Couleuvre tachetée
Monarque
Castor de montagne
Lapin de Nuttall de la sous-espèce nuttallii
Verge d’or de Riddell
Quiscale rouilleux
Hespérie du Sonora
Oreillard maculé
Arnoglosse plantain
Scinque de l’Ouest
Couleuvre agile à ventre jaune de l’Ouest
Rosier sétigère
Pic de Lewis
Plectrophane de McCown
Salamandre pourpre
Pêches et Océans CanadaKiyi du secteur supérieur des Grands LacsBaleine boréale, population des mers de Béring, des Tchouktches et de Beaufort
Loutre de mer
Agence Parcs Canada Potamot de Hill
Table des matières