Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Dense-flowered Lupine in Canada

Population Sizes and Trends

Search Effort

Search effort for this species included assembling locations for this species from herbaria (Royal British Columbia Museum, University of British Columbia and the University of Washington) and from the BC Conservation Data Centre and laying out transects between known sites. Prior to refining habitat requirements and a species search image, the surveying extended well beyond the known locations. Searching was initially conducted in the late summer and the distinctive foliage of Lupinus densiflorus made searching relatively easy. Additional searches were conducted in the fall and spring once it was determined that this species was a winter annual. The large, distinctive cotyledons of this species enhanced these searches and fall die-back of other competing species made searching easier. Summer search effort and measurement for the primary report writer was 16 hours and winter search effort was an additional 4 hours.

Although there is a high confidence that the primary report writers accurately delineated the current populations, there is little confidence in the numbers of individuals. Fine-scale studies of demographic patterns over a three-year period indicate that populations may fluctuate even more than has been documented in this report, although they still tend to be less than one order of magnitude (Fairbarns in prep.].


Abundance

The current areal extent of Lupinus densiflorus in Canada is 2 km2 and the populations occur over 0.12 ha within that area. One of four known populations has been extirpated. Past observations of the other populations have included estimates of abundance but these appear to be too unreliable to use as a basis for tracking trends (see Fluctuations andtrends section below). The populations, however, do experience sizeable fluctuations. Estimates from 2000 and 2001 suggest a total of between 1800 and 2100 individuals among the three main populations (Table 1).

 

Table 1: Lupinus densiflorus Population Survey Data for 2000 & 2001
PopulationLast ObservationPopulation Extent (summary of colonies or sub-populations)Number of Individuals
1Ford and Fairbarns, 200120 x 10 m21045
2Ford and Fairbarns, 200120 x 12 m2227
3Penny, Fairbarns and Ford, 200020 x 40 m2600 - 800
4Ford, 20010 m20


Fluctuations and Trends

Lupinus densiflorus has not been sampled regularly or consistently over the three extant populations,which hampers any attempts at relaying accurate trend data. However, for annual species, trend data on numbers of individuals is of limited value as it is difficult to assess the seed bank constituents and also to standardize for variability in growing conditions year-to-year. Currently, the BC Conservation Data Centre has the following records,which are rough periodic counts of all or portions of the three extant populations:

 

Table 2: Lupinus densiflorus Population Trend Data
PopulationObserver & dateComment on ExtentNumber of Individuals
1M. Fairbarns, 2002Entire population200-300
2J. Macoun, 1887Extent of population sampled unknown87
2J. Penny, 1999Portion of population60-70
3A. Ceska, 1993Portion of population200
3M. Fairbarns, 2002Entire population800


Rescue Effect

The United States populations of Lupinus densiflorus in Washington and California were not assessed for their health and viability. Inquiries to NatureServe Heritage program staff and web sites indicated that this species was not tracked. As mentioned in the previous section on name and classification, there is some question about the taxonomy of the southern and northern populations of Lupinus densiflorus, so it is likely that the Washington populations would provide the only viable seed source for species replacement in the present habitats of the Canadian populations. Having said that, the likelihood of natural transfer of seeds between BC and Washington State populations is very low due to the large expanse of hostile marine environments between the Victoria area of Vancouver Island, BC,and San Juan Island, Washington.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le lupin densiflore au Canada

Taille et tendances des populations

Activités de recherche

Avant de rechercher le Lupinus densiflorus sur le terrain, nous avons compilé les mentions existant dans les herbiers (Royal British Columbia Museum, University of British Columbia et University of Washington) ainsi que dans la base de données du Conservation Data Centre de la Colombie-Britannique. Nous avons également établi des transects entre les sites connus. Avant de cibler avec précision certains besoins en matière d’habitat et d’utiliser une image précise de l’espèce pour la rechercher, nous avons effectué des relevés sur un territoire débordant largement des sites connus. Nous avons entrepris cette recherche à la fin de l’été, et le feuillage distinctif du L. densiflorus nous a sensiblement facilité la tâche. Nous avons poursuivi la recherche durant l’automne et le printemps, après avoir établi que l’espèce est une annuelle d’hiver. Les gros cotylédons caractéristiques de l’espèce et le flétrissement des espèces concurrentes, en automne, nous ont également aidés à repérer les individus. Le principal rédacteur du présent rapport a ainsi consacré aux activités de recherche et de mesure 16 heures durant l’été et 4 heures durant l’hiver.

Les données recueillies par les principaux rédacteurs permettent de délimiter les populations actuelles de manière très fiable, mais on ne peut pas en dire autant sur le nombre d’individus. Des études démographiques réalisées sur trois ans à une échelle détaillée semblent indiquer que les populations subissent des fluctuations bien plus importantes que celles qui ont été exposées dans le présent rapport, même si elles demeurent généralement inférieures à un ordre de grandeur (Fairbarns, en préparation).


Abondance

La zone d’occurrence actuelle du Lupinus densiflorus au Canada est de 2 km2, et les populations occupent 0,12 ha à l’intérieur de cette zone. Une des quatre populations connues a disparu. Dans le cas des autres populations, les observations antérieures comprenaient des estimations d’abondance, mais ces données semblent trop peu fiables pour permettre de dégager des tendances (voir la section « Fluctuations et tendances » ci-dessous). On peut toutefois constater que ces populations connaissent des fluctuations assez importantes. Les estimations de 2000 et 2001 indiquent un effectif total de 1 800 à 2 100 individus pour l’ensemble des trois principales populations (tableau 1).


Fluctuations et tendances

Comme les trois populations canadiennes actuelles de Lupinus densiflorus n’ont pas été échantillonnées de façon régulière ou systématique, il est impossible de dégager des tendances précises. Par ailleurs, dans le cas des plantes annuelles en général, les tendances observées quant au nombre des individus n’ont qu’une valeur limitée, étant donné la difficulté d’évaluer la partie des populations constituée par le réservoir de graines du sol et de normaliser l’effectif en fonction des conditions de croissance variant d’une année à l’autre. À l’heure actuelle, on ne dispose que des données provenant d’un dénombrement approximatif périodique de la totalité ou d’une partie de chacune des trois populations. Ces données, déposées au Conservation Data Centre de la Colombie-Britannique, sont présentées dans le tableau ci-dessous.

 

Tableau 1 : Données sur le dénombrement des populations de Lupinus densiflorus en 2000 et 2001
PopulationDernière observationSuperficie occupée par la population (ensemble des colonies ou sous-populations)Nombre d’individus
1Ford et Fairbarns, 200120 m x 10 m1045
2Ford et Fairbarns, 200120 m x 12 m227
3Penny, Fairbarns et Ford, 200020 m x 40 m600 - 800
4Ford, 20010 m20

 

Tableau 2 : Données sur les tendances démographiques du Lupinus densiflorus
PopulationObservateur et dateProportion examinéeNombre d’individus
1M. Fairbarns, 2002Toute la population200-300
2J. Macoun, 1887Proportion inconnue87
2J. Penny, 1999Partie de la population60-70
3A. Ceska, 1993Partie de la population200
3M. Fairbarns, 2002Toute la population800


Immigration de source externe

La santé et la viabilité des populations de Lupinus densiflorus de l’État de Washington et de Californie n’ont pas été évaluées. Les renseignements que nous avons obtenus du personnel du programme NatureServe Heritage et dans le site web de ce programme semblent indiquer que l’espèce n’est pas surveillée dans ces États. Comme il a été mentionné dans la section « Nom et classification », la taxinomie des populations du sud et du nord soulève des interrogations; il est donc possible que les populations de l’État de Washington constituent la seule source étrangère de graines viables pour le rétablissement de l’espèce dans les milieux actuellement occupés par les populations canadiennes. Cela dit, le transfert naturel de graines de l’État de Washington à la Colombie-Britannique est très improbable, étant donné la vaste étendue de milieux marins hostiles qui sépare Victoria, dans l’île de Vancouver, de l’île San Juan, dans l’État de Washington.