Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Species at Risk Act- Legal Listing Consultation Workbook, American Eel

Introductory Information

Addition of Species to the Species at Risk Act

The Species at Risk Act

Introductory Information

The Species at Risk Act (SARA) is part of the Government of Canada’s commitment to protect its wild species. The list of species currently protected under SARA is found in Schedule 1 of the Act and is referred to as “the SARA list”.

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) is responsible for evaluating what species are in danger or “at risk” of disappearing in Canada. They review and assess new species every year and advise the government on which species they feel are at some level of risk.

The Minister of Environment (who is responsible for administering the Act) considers the list of species put forward by COSEWIC and recommends which of these should be added to the SARA list. Once added to the list, SARA gives the government very specific directions on how to protect the species and promote its recovery.  However, the Minister will not decide which species to recommend without consulting the public and stakeholders. This workbook is part of that consultation.

Who is COSEWIC?

COSEWIC is an independent group of scientists from various communities including universities, government and Aboriginal groups.

Requests for new species to be evaluated by COSEWIC can be made by anyone.   When a request is made, COSEWIC requires that a Status Report be prepared that combines all the relevant scientific, community and Aboriginal traditional knowledge on that species. The Status Report must be reviewed and approved by a subcommittee of species experts before COSEWIC can use it to assess whether the species is at risk.

How “at risk” is this Species?

COSEWIC has several categories to assign a level of risk to a species:

  • “Extinct”, meaning the species no longer exists
  • “Extirpated”, meaning that the species is no longer found in the wild in Canada but still exists in other parts of the world
  • “Endangered”, meaning that the species is facing imminent extirpation or extinction
  • “Threatened”, meaning that the species is likely to become endangered if nothing is done to reverse the factors leading to its extirpation or extinction
  • “Special Concern”, a species that may become threatened or endangered due to a combination of biological characteristics and identified threats.

American eel, the subject of this workbook, has been assessed by COSEWIC as “Special Concern”.

How are New Species Added to the SARA list?

Every year, COSEWIC evaluates new species that may be at risk. Once evaluated, and assigned a category, these species are then eligible for addition to the SARA list. COSEWIC provides its assessments to the Minister of Environment who must respond within 90 days indicating a time frame for action by the government. The Minister also presents the COSEWIC assessments to the Governor in Council (GIC) and must report back to the GIC within 9 months with a recommendation on whether or not to add these new species to the SARA list.

Of these new species, the aquatic ones (those found in water) are the responsibility of the Department of Fisheries and Oceans while terrestrial species (those found on land) and birds are the responsibility of Environment Canada. Responsibility for species (both terrestrial and aquatic) that occur in national parks and other lands administered by the Parks Canada Agency is shared between the Parks Canada Agency and either Environment Canada or the Department of Fisheries and Oceans.

The government’s commitment to conserving Canadian species includes public awareness and participation. Therefore, within the coming months, the Department of Fisheries and Oceans will be consulting the public on the American eel to help them develop a recommendation to the Minister of Environment and the GIC.

What does Consultation Mean?

The recommendation to the GIC must be one of the following:

  1. that the COSEWIC assessment be accepted and the species be added to the SARA list;
  2. that the species not be added to the SARA list; or
  3. that the species be referred back to COSEWIC for further information or consideration.

When COSEWIC assesses a species, it is based on the scientific data at hand. But when the Government of Canada considers this same species for addition to the SARA list, it regards the public’s input to be an important part of their recommendation to the GIC.  Details of consultations being carried out on both terrestrial and aquatic species can be found on a website called the SARA Public Registry which has been set up to contain all SARA related information. You can access this site at: www.sararegistry.gc.ca

This workbook is part of the Department of Fisheries and Oceans commitment to consult with the public on aquatic species being considered for addition to the SARA list. It provides the public with an opportunity to comment and express their views about how this addition might affect their lives and in particular, the costs and benefits to them of adding a particular species to the SARA list versus not adding it.

The results of these public consultations will be carefully considered and documented as part of the Government’s regulatory process leading to the final recommendation to the GIC.

What Happens When a Species is Added to the SARA List?

The Act provides protection to all species on the SARA list. But the level of protection depends on the category of risk assigned to it by COSEWIC. In general there are 2 levels of protection: with prohibitions and without prohibitions.

With Prohibitions

For species listed as Extirpated, Endangered or Threatened, the Act contains rules or “prohibitions” which make it unlawful to kill, harm, harass, capture or take any of these individuals. It is also unlawful to buy, sell or trade them or destroy their homes or critical habitats. These prohibitions come into effect as soon as the species is added to the SARA list. In the case of aquatic species, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans may authorize exceptions to these prohibitions as long as the survival or recovery of the species will not be in jeopardy. Permits for these exceptions may only be granted for the following circumstances:

research relating to the conservation of a species

activities that benefit a listed species or enhance its chances of survival

activities that incidentally affect a listed species.

At the same time as prohibitions come into effect, SARA specifies that a recovery strategy and action plan must be prepared. These documents are to provide details on what the Department will do to promote the recovery of the species. SARA provides specific instructions on what the strategy and action plan must include and specifies that these will be prepared in cooperation with aboriginal groups and others directly affected by the recovery strategy.  Opportunity for consultation on these recovery strategies will be provided through the SARA registry where they will be made available within strict timelines.

To summarize, if a species is added to the SARA list as Extirpated, Endangered or Threatened, prohibitions will apply and recovery strategies and action plans will be completed.

Without prohibitions

For species listed as “Special Concern” (as for the American eel, the subject of this workbook), there are no prohibitions under SARA. However, existing protection from other acts and legislation remains in force. A SARA compliant management plan will be prepared detailing conservation measures for the species and its habitat. This management plan will be completed in cooperation with Aboriginal and other groups affected by the listing and will be available to the public for comment on the SARA public registry.  Therefore, for species added to the SARA list as Special Concern, a SARA compliant management plan will be completed but prohibitions will not apply.

What’s this workbook about?

The species being consulted on in this workbook, American eel, has been assessed by COSEWIC as “Special Concern” and is therefore being considered for addition to the SARA list. This means that a SARA compliant management plan will be prepared if American eel is listed. This is an opportunity to express your views and opinions on having American eel added to the SARA list. 

You can complete the questionnaire beginning on page 14 and return it in person, by regular mail, or by email to one of the addresses below. In order to consider your comments, responses are required no later than March 31, 2007.

Any other comments you have on the potential addition of this species to the SARA list can also be mailed or sent by email to any of the addresses below.  Your comments will be reviewed and used to consider whether or not to place this species on the SARA list.

Central and Arctic Region

SARA Coordinator

Freshwater Institute

Fisheries & Oceans Canada

501 University Avenue

Winnipeg , Manitoba

R3T 2N6  

Email: fwisar@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Fax: 204-983-5192

Toll Free - 1-866-538-1609  

QuebecRegion

SARA Coordinator

Fisheries and Oceans Canada

P.O. Box 1000, 850 route de la Mer                   

Mont-Joli, Quebec

G5H 3Z4

Email:especesperilqc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Fax: 418-775-0542

Toll Free – 1-877-775-0848

Gulf Region

SARA Coordinator

Fisheries and Oceans Canada

343 Université Avenue, P.O. Box 5030

Moncton, New Brunswick

E1C 9B6

Email :GLF-SARA-LEP@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Fax : 506-851-2620

Toll Free – 1-877-807-7272

Maritimes Region

SARA Coordinator

Fisheries and Oceans Canada

1 Challenger Drive,P.O. Box 1006

Dartmouth , Nova Scotia

B2Y 4A2

Email: XMARSARA@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Toll Free – 1-866-891-0771

Newfoundlandand Labrador Region

SARA Coordinator

Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Box 5667

St. John'sNewfoundland

A1C 5X1

Email: Osborned@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Fax: 709-772-4583

Headquarters

Max Stanfield

Fisheries and Oceans Canada

200 Kent Street, 13th floor

Ottawa, Ontario

K1A 0E6

email: stanfiem@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Fax: 613-990-9764

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Loi sur les espèces en péril- Cahier de consultation sur l’inscription à la liste officielle, Anguille d’Amérique

Renseignement préliminaires

Inscription d’espèces à la Liste de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

 Renseignements préliminaires

 La Loi sur les espèces en péril

La Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) s’inscrit dans l’engagement du gouvernement du Canada à protéger les espèces sauvages du pays. La liste des espèces actuellement protégées en vertu de la LEP figure à l’Annexe 1 de la Loi. Elle est appelée « liste de la LEP ».

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) est chargé de déterminer les espèces qui « risquent » de disparaître au Canada. Chaque année, il étudie et évalue la situation de nouvelles espèces et indique au gouvernement celles qu’il estime exposées à un certain degré de risque.

Le ministre de l’Environnement (qui est chargé d’administrer la LEP) examine la liste des espèces soumises par le COSEPAC et recommande l’inscription de certaines d’entre elles à la liste de la LEP. La LEP donne au gouvernement des instructions très précises sur la manière de protéger les espèces figurant sur la liste et ainsi de contribuer à leur rétablissement. Toutefois, le ministre ne recommande pas d'inscrire une espèce à la liste tant qu'il n'a pas consulté le public et les intervenants concernés. Le présent cahier fait partie de ce processus de consultation.

Qu’est-ce que le COSEPAC?

Le COSEPAC est un groupe indépendant composé de scientifiques de divers milieux, notamment universitaires, gouvernementaux et autochtones.

Toute personne peut demander l’évaluation d’une espèce par le COSEPAC. Sur réception d’une demande, le COSEPAC commande un Rapport de situation regroupant toutes les connaissances scientifiques et communautaires pertinentes ainsi que le savoir traditionnel autochtone sur cette espèce. Ce Rapport de situation doit être revu et approuvé par un sous-comité de spécialistes de cette espèce avant que le COSEPAC ne puisse l’utiliser pour évaluer si celle-ci est en péril.

Quel est le degré de risque encouru par l’espèce?

Le COSEPAC a recours à plusieurs catégories pour désigner le degré de risque auquel une espèce est exposée :

·       « espèce disparue », signifie que l’espèce n’existe plus;

·       « espèce disparue du pays », désigne une espèce qui n’existe plus à l’état sauvage au Canada, mais qui est présente ailleurs;

·       « espèce en voie de disparition », désigne une espèce exposée à une disparition imminente, à l’échelle de la planète ou du pays;

·       « espèce menacée », désigne une espèce susceptible de devenir « en voie de disparition » si les facteurs limitants ne sont pas renversés;

·       « espèce préoccupante », désigne une espèce sauvage qui peut devenir «espèce menacée » ou « en voie de disparition » en raison de l’effet cumulatif de ses caractéristiques biologiques et des menaces reconnues qui pèsent sur elle.  

L'anguille d'Amérique, qui fait l'objet du présent cahier, a été évaluée comme « espèce préoccupante » par le COSEPAC.

Comment de nouvelles espèces sont-elles ajoutées à la liste de la LEP?

Chaque année, le COSEPAC évalue la situation de nouvelles espèces susceptibles d’être en péril. Une fois évaluées et classées dans une catégorie, ces espèces sont admissibles à l’inscription sur la liste de la LEP. Le COSEPAC présente ses évaluations au ministre de l’Environnement, qui doit y donner suite dans un délai de 90 jours en établissant un échéancier d’intervention du gouvernement. Le ministre présente aussi les évaluations du COSEPAC au gouverneur en conseil (GC), auquel il doit recommander, dans les neuf mois suivants, d'inscrire ou non ces nouvelles espèces à la liste de la LEP.

Parmi celles-ci, les espèces aquatiques  relèvent de la responsabilité du ministère des Pêches et des Océans, alors que les espèces terrestres  et les oiseaux relèvent de celle d’Environnement Canada. La responsabilité à l’égard des espèces (aquatiques et terrestres) qui vivent dans les parcs nationaux et les autres terres administrées par l’Agence Parcs Canada est partagée entre celle-ci et Environnement Canada ou Pêches et Océans Canada.

La sensibilisation et la participation du public font partie de l’engagement du gouvernement à l'égard de la conservation des espèces sauvages du Canada. C’est pourquoi le ministère des Pêches et des Océans tiendra au cours des prochains mois des consultations publiques sur l'anguille d'Amérique qui l’aideront à formuler sa recommandation au ministre de l’Environnement et au GC.

Qu'entend-on par « consultation »? 

La recommandation au GC doit consister en une des propositions suivantes :

a) que l’évaluation du COSEPAC soit acceptée et que l’espèce soit inscrite à la liste de la LEP;

b) que l’espèce ne soit pas inscrite à la liste de la LEP; ou

c) que la question soit renvoyée au COSEPAC pour renseignements supplémentaires ou réexamen.

Quand le COSEPAC évalue une espèce, il se fonde sur les données scientifiques disponibles. Mais quand le gouvernement du Canada examine la situation de cette espèce en vue de son inscription éventuelle à la liste de la LEP, il considère l’opinion du public comme un élément important de sa recommandation au GC. On trouvera des renseignements détaillés sur les consultations portant sur les espèces terrestres et aquatiques sur un site Web appelé Registre public de la LEP qui regroupe toute l’information relative à la LEP et dont l’adresse est la suivante : www.registrelep.gc.ca

Le présent sondage s’inscrit dans l’engagement du ministère des Pêches et des Océans à l'égard de la consultation du public au sujet des espèces aquatiques qu'on envisage inscrire à la liste de la LEP. Il donne aux membres du public l’occasion de formuler des commentaires et d'exprimer leur opinion sur les incidences que l’inscription d’une espèce à la liste de la LEP peut avoir sur leur vie, notamment sur les coûts et avantages qui découleraient de son inscription ou de sa non-inscription.

Les résultats de ces consultations publiques seront soigneusement étudiés et documentés dans le cadre du processus réglementaire gouvernemental menant à la recommandation finale au GC.

Que se passe-t-il quand on inscrit une espèce à la liste de la LEP?

La LEP protège toutes les espèces inscrites sur sa liste, mais le degré de protection qu’elle assure dépend de la catégorie de risque attribuée à chaque espèce par le COSEPAC. En général, il y a deux niveaux de protection : avec ou sans interdictions

Protection avec interdictions

En ce qui concerne les espèces inscrites comme étant disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées, la loi prévoit des dispositions (ou « interdictions ») telles que l’interdiction de tuer les membres de l'une de ces espèces, de leur nuire, de les harceler, de les capturer ou de les prendre. Elle interdit aussi de les acheter, de les vendre, de les échanger ou encore de détruire leur résidence ou leur habitat essentiel. Ces interdictions entrent en vigueur dès que l’espèce est inscrite à la liste de la LEP. En ce qui concerne les espèces aquatiques, des exceptions à ces interdictions peuvent être autorisées par le ministre des Pêches et des Océans, à condition que leur survie ou leur rétablissement ne soit pas compromis. On peut délivrer des permis relatifs à ces exceptions dans les buts suivants seulement :

1) pour la recherche liée à la conservation d'une espèce;    

2) pour des activités qui sont bénéfiques pour une espèce inscrite ou qui en accroissent les chances de survie;

3) pour des activités dont les incidences sur une espèce inscrite sont seulement occasionnelles.

En même temps qu’elle déclenche l’entrée en vigueur d’interdictions, la LEP exige l'élaboration d'un programme de rétablissement et d'un plan d'action. Ces documents doivent fournir des renseignements détaillés sur les mesures que le Ministère entend prendre pour contribuer au rétablissement de l’espèce concernée. Ils doivent indiquer en détail ce que le Ministère va faire pour favoriser ce rétablissement. La LEP contient des instructions précises sur le contenu de la stratégie et du plan d’action et stipule qu'ils doivent être élaborés en collaboration avec les organismes autochtones et les autres intervenants directement concernés par la stratégie de rétablissement.

Les programmes de rétablissement seront publiés dans le registre de la LEP et pourront faire l'objet de consultations par l’intermédiaire du registre, selon des échéanciers strictement établis.

Pour résumer, si une espèce est inscrite à la liste de la LEP à titre d'espèce disparue du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacée, des interdictions s’appliqueront et des stratégies de rétablissement ainsi que des plans d’actions seront établis.

La protection sans interdictions

En ce qui concerne les espèces désignées comme « préoccupantes » (ce qui est le cas pour l'anguille d'Amérique qui fait l'objet du présent cahier), la LEP ne prévoit pas d’interdictions. Toutefois, la protection existante en vertu d’autres lois et règlements reste en vigueur. On élaborera un plan de gestion conforme à la LEP, exposant en détail les mesures de conservation de l’espèce et de son habitat. Ce plan sera élaboré en collaboration avec les organismes autochtones et autres groupes ou individus concernés par l’inscription de l’espèce, et le public pourra formuler des commentaires à son sujet dans le Registre public de la LEP.

Ainsi, lorsqu'une espèce est inscrite à la liste de la LEP à titre d’espèce préoccupante, on établira un plan de gestion conforme à la LEP mais aucune interdiction ne s’appliquera.

Quelle est la fonction du présent cahier?

L’espèce décrite dans le présent cahier de consultation, l'anguille d'Amérique, a été désignée par le COSEPAC comme espèce préoccupante et on envisage donc de l’inscrire à la liste de la LEP. Cela signifie qu'on établira un plan de gestion conforme à la LEP si cette espèce est inscrite. Ceci est une occasion d’exprimer vos points de vue et opinions au sujet de l’inscription de l'anguille d'Amérique à la liste de la LEP.

Veuillez répondre au questionnaire qui commence à la page 14 et le remettre en personne, par la poste ou par courriel, à l’une des adresses ci-dessous. Pour qu’on puisse tenir compte de vos réponses et commentaires, ils doivent nous parvenir au plus tard le 31 mars 2007.

Vous pouvez aussi envoyer à l’une des adresses ci‑dessous, par la poste ou par courriel, tout autre commentaire au sujet de l’inscription éventuelle de cette espèce à la liste de la LEP.

Vos commentaires seront examinés et pris en considération lorsqu'on décidera d’inscrire ou non cette espèce à la liste de la LEP.

Région du Centre et de l'Arctique
Coordonnateur de la LEP

Institut des eaux douces

Pêches etOcéans Canada

501 University Crescent
Winnipeg (Manitoba)

R3T 2N6
Courriel : fwisar@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Téléc. : (204) 983-5192
Numéro sans frais : 1-866-538-1609  

Région du Québec

Coordonnateur de la LEP

Pêches etOcéans Canada

C. P. 1000, 850 route de la Mer                   

Mont-Joli (Québec)

G5H 3Z4

Courriel:especesperilqc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Téléc. : 418-775-0542

Numéro sans frais : 1-877-775-0848

Région du Golfe

Coordonnateur de la LEP

Pêches et Océans Canada

343, avenue de l'Université, C.P. 5030

Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick)

E1C 9B6

Courriel : GLF-SARA-LEP@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Téléc. : 506-851-2620

Numéro sans frais : 1-877-807-7272

Région des Maritimes

Coordonnateur de la LEP

Pêches et Océans Canada

1, chemin Challenger

C.P. 1006

Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse)

B2Y 4A2

Courriel : XMARSARA@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Numéro sans frais : 1-866-891-0771

Région de Terre-Neuve et Labrador

Coordonnateur de la LEP

Pêches et Océans Canada

C.P. 5667

St. John's (Terre-Neuve)

A1C 5X1

Courriel : Osborned@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Téléc. : 709-772-4583

Administration centrale

Max Stanfield

Pêches et Océans Canada

200, rue Kent, 13e étage

Ottawa (Ontario)

K1A 0E6

Courriel : stanfiem@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Téléc. : 613-954-1407