Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Species at Risk Act- Legal Listing Consultation Workbook, American Eel

Information on the species

Information on the species

American eel

 Species biology and distribution

The American eel (Anguilla rostrata) is the only member of the genus Anguilla found in North America.   Anguilla eels are termed “freshwater eels” although part of their life cycle occurs in the sea and some individuals complete the life cycle in salt water.   Juvenile and adult American eels are long, snakelike fish with small, deeply-embedded scales.  The species has historically been common or abundant throughout its range.

The American eel is widely distributed in fresh waters, estuaries and coastal marine waters of the western north Atlantic from Venezuela in the south to Greenland and Iceland in the north.  Adults are found in oceanic waters of the Sargasso Sea where spawning occurs, and larvae are distributed in the western Atlantic Ocean as they move toward coastal and estuarine waters.   In Canada the historic range includes all accessible freshwater, estuarine and coastal areas connected to the Atlantic Ocean, as far north as the mid-Labrador coast and as far inland as Niagara Falls in the Great Lakes.  Continental shelf areas are also used by juvenile eels arriving from the oceanic spawning grounds and by adult silver eels returning to the spawning grounds. 

All spawning adults of the species spawn together in the Sargasso Sea.   Larvae (called “leptocephali” because of their leaf-like shape) drift and move to freshwater areas, and individuals undergo a series of changes in shape and ecological requirements through the life cycle.  Life stages in coastal and freshwater areas are: glass eels (small, snakelike, transparent), elvers (small, snakelike, pigmented), yellow eels (larger, yellowish to brown, juveniles – the principal growth phase) and silver eels (mature adults migrating from coastal and freshwater areas to the spawning area in the open sea).

Maximum length of American eel observed in Canada is around 1 m, while maximum age observed is around 23 years.   Sexual differentiation is considered complete at 270 mm total length.  Mean observed age at the spawning migration is 19.3 yrs with a range of 12-23 years.   Length at the spawning migration varies geographically, with individuals from the St. Lawrence River being larger at migration (840-1000 mm) than those from the Gulf of St. Lawrence and Atlantic regions (650-700 mm).    Growth is faster in saltwater habitat than in freshwater, and in freshwater habitats is faster in rivers than in lakes. 

Females are more abundant than males in most areas in Canada.  Male silver eels are more common in areas south of the St. Lawrence River and Gulf and along the Atlantic coast of the USA but almost all individuals in Lake Ontario and the upper St. Lawrence are females.    Individuals from the St. Lawrence/Great Lakes system may provide a high proportion of total reproductive potential for the species.

American eel is considered a single species without distinct sub-populations throughout its range -- that is, all individuals and sub-groups in the population are genetically the same.   This is in contrast to many marine fish species which have well-defined populations which are genetically different from each other.   

Status (COSEWIC)

Special concern

 

Last examination by COSEWIC

April 2006

COSEWIC Reason for designation

Indicators of the status of the total Canadian component of this species are not available.  Indices of abundance in the Upper St. Lawrence River and Lake Ontario have declined by approximately 99% since the 1970s.  The only other data series of comparable length (no long-term indices are available for Scotia/Fundy, Newfoundland, and Labrador) are from the lower St. Lawrence River and Gulf of St. Lawrence, where four out of five time series declined.  Because the eel is panmictic, i.e. all spawners form a single breeding unit, recruitment of eels to Canadian waters would be affected by the status of the species in the United States as well as in Canada.  Prior to these declines, eels reared in Canada comprised a substantial portion of the breeding population of the species.  The collapse of the Lake Ontario-Upper St. Lawrence component may have signficantly affected total reproductive output, but time series of elver abundance, although relatively short, do not show evidence of an ongoing decline.   Recent data suggest that declines may have ceased in some areas; however, numbers in Lake Ontario and the Upper St. Lawrence remain drastically lower than former levels, and the positive trends in some indicators for the Gulf of st. Lawrence are too short to provide strong evidence that this component is increasing.  Possible causes of the observed decline, including habitat alteration, dams, fishery harvest, oscillations in ocean conditions, acid rain, and contaminants, may continue to impede recovery.

Threats

Fisheries

Eel fisheries have existed in areas throughout the range in Canada, including Ontario (Lake Ontario and upper St. Lawrence River), Québec (Lac Saint-François, Lac Saint-Pierre and upper St. Lawrence estuary), the Gulf of St. Lawrence, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland.    All fisheries have been for yellow and silver eels with the exception of fisheries for elvers which began on an experimental basis in the early 1990’s in Nova Scotia and Newfoundland, and are currently only active in Nova Scotia.  Total harvests ranged between 500 and 1200 t/yr between 1961 and 2003; harvests declined from around 1100 t/yr in the late 1980’s to around 500 t/yr in 2003.   Unreported catches are not thought to be significant.   Fishing mortality estimates are relatively high in the few localities where these have been made but there are extensive areas in which no fisheries occur and total fishing mortality on eels in Canada is poorly known.

Dams

Presence of dams creates two potential impacts on eel populations: restriction of access to upstream habitat, and mortality in turbines during downstream passage.   Although some estimates of mortality and losses due to dams exist for specific localities, there are no overall estimates of losses of spawners due to dams.  For example, in the St. Lawrence River watershed over 8,000 dams restrict access to more than 12,000 km2 of freshwater habitat for eels, and dams could be reducing escapement of large female spawners by more than 800,000 in three tributaries alone.   Downstream passage mortality of migrating silver eels is a function of eel size (larger individuals are killed more often than smaller eels), dam size (generally a higher fraction of eels is killed in smaller dams), turbine spacing, turbine type and operating conditions.    Eels migrating downstream from Lake Ontario and the upper St. Lawrence are estimated to suffer at least 40% mortality due to passage through two power dams (Moses-Saunders and Beauharnois).  

Entrainment

Although little studied to date, entrainment (“capture” of eels when water is taken in for industrial or other purposes) in municipal water intakes, industrial water intakes, and thermal generating stations is a potentially significant source of eel mortality.

Chemical pollution

Eels accumulate chemical contaminants, since they are relatively long-lived, bottom-living, and are high in fat content (which favours accumulation of  chemicals which are soluble in fats, such as PCBs, pesticides, dioxins and furans).   This chemical build-up can result in lesions, affect egg, embryo and larval development and impede swimming ability.  While contaminant levels have been reduced in many areas of eel habitat, it is the accumulation of these contaminants that could have a negative effect on the American eel’s capacity for survival throughout its range.

Many rivers in the southern uplands area of Nova Scotia (southern and southeastern parts of the province) are affected by acid precipitation, and acidic conditions in these rivers may limit survivorship of American eels.  Agricultural runoff has increased substantially in recent years with the increase of intensive agriculture (especially maize) in eastern Canada, and this may affect eels.

Introduced parasite

The swim bladder parasite Anguillicola crassus was first discovered in North America in South Carolina in 1995 and has subsequently been found in eels in the Chesapeake Bay, the Hudson River, Massachusetts and Maine.  The parasite has not been found in Canada to date but its arrival may be imminent.  Heavy infections can lead to swim bladder shrinkage or collapse, skin ulcers, reduced appetite and reduced swimming performance.   

Protection measures

In 2004 the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans announced a goal of reducing eel mortality by 50% within 2 years and called on stakeholders and jurisdictions to take the necessary measures to reach this goal.  A Canadian Eel Working Group has been formed to bring together federal and provincial agencies responsible for eel conservation and management, and this group is currently leading development of a Management Plan for American eel in Canada addressing all threats to the species.

In 2005 representatives from government agencies and hydroelectric industries from Canadian and US jurisdictions in the Lake Ontario/upper St. Lawrence area developed a “Decision Analysis” aimed at identifying the key threats to American eel from dams in this area, and the best short-term and long-term measures to address these threats.  Short-term measures included stocking to maintain depleted populations, reducing fishing mortality, research into means of reducing downstream passage mortality, and basic research to improve population information.  Long-term measures included trapping eels upstream of dams and transporting them downstream, and research into effective dam bypass mechanisms.   

Stocking of young American eels into areas in the Great Lakes/St. Lawrence watershed began in 2001 and intensified in 2005 and 2006, with young eels (elvers) from Atlantic Canada stocked into the Richelieu River and Lake Ontario.   Funding for stocking has been provided by power generation companies.    All commercial fisheries for American eel were closed in Ontario in 2004, and Ontario recreational fisheries were closed in 2005.  Fishery removals have been reduced in Québec, and also in Atlantic Canada through shorter seasons and increased minimum sizes.  Negotiations with power companies in Ontario and Québec are under way to finalize an overall plan to address dam-related mortalities.  One option under such an agreement would be further reductions in Québec fishery removals over the next 5 years through a combination of licence buyback and releasing live harvested eels downstream from the fishery.  Research on population dynamics, trap and transport methods, and monitoring continues. 

Potential impacts on stakeholders

Listing of American eel as Special Concern would not bring automatic prohibitions on killing or harming the species, so there would be no automatic impacts on stakeholder activities if the species were listed.  

Management measures needed to reduce eel mortality, halt the decline in abundance and promote recovery of the species have been outlined in a draft Management Plan for American eel.   The Management Plan, to be in compliance with SARA requirements, will be finalized in spring 2007.    The Management Plan outlines a series of long-term and short-term objectives, and management actions associated with each of these.   The objectives identified in the Management Plan are as follows:

Long-term management goal

Rebuild overall abundance of American eel in Canada to its level in the mid-1980’s, as measured by the key available abundance indices, in particular

·           Ensure presence of American eel in all areas throughout its historic distribution

·           Sustainable fisheries for elvers and large eels are producing economic benefits for fishermen in all areas where fisheries were historically present

Short-term management goal

Reduce eel mortality from all sources by 50% relative to the 1997-2002 average

 

Specific objectives and actions 

1.  Develop a detailed implementation plan, based on Identifying priority actions, for reducing eel mortality from all sources by 50%

2.  Achieve a net gain in abundance and escapement by ensuring access to and passage from quality habitats:

·           ensure no net loss of habitat from new facilities

·           ensure a net gain in habitat through modifications to existing facilities; specifically, provide upstream and downstream passage to an additional 10% of lost eel habitat in each jurisdiction every 5 years 

·           continue action to reduce contaminant and pollution impacts

3.  Ensure that mortality due to fisheries is consistent with the overall goal of reducing mortality from all sources by 50%

4. Develop a decision support tool for identifying and prioritizing actions to improve habitat for eels

5. Maintain and, where required, develop fishery-independent abundance indices.

6.  Ensure presence of eels in areas where abundance has collapsed by stocking young eels

7.  Develop a binational management plan

8.  Explore setting up a binational Commission for eel conservation and management

 Consistent with the objectives in the draft Management Plan, potential new measures to reduce eel mortality could include further requirements for dam operations, construction of eel ladders on dams to allow upstream passage, further reductions in chemical discharges, further reductions in fishery catches, or offsetting measures such as stocking.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Loi sur les espèces en péril- Cahier de consultation sur l’inscription à la liste officielle, Anguille d’Amérique

Renseignement sur l'espèce

Renseignements sur l'espèce

L'anguille d'Amérique

 Biologie et répartition de l'espèce

L'anguille d'Amérique (Anguilla rostrata) est le seul membre du genre Anguilla qu'on retrouve en Amérique du Nord. Les anguilles appartenant à ce genre sont appelées « anguilles d'eau douce » bien que leur cycle biologique se déroule en partie en mer et que certaines anguilles le terminent en eau salée. L'anguille d'Amérique juvénile et adulte est un long poisson qui ressemble à un serpent, avec de petites écailles profondément encastrées. Historiquement, l'espèce était répandue ou abondante dans toute son aire de répartition.

L'anguille d'Amérique est largement répartie dans les eaux douces, les estuaires et les eaux marines côtières de la partie occidentale de l'Atlantique Nord, du Venezuela au sud jusqu’au Groenland et à l'Islande au nord. On trouve des adultes dans les eaux océaniques de la mer des Sargasses, où a lieu le frai, et les larves sont réparties dans l'ouest de l'océan Atlantique à mesure qu'elles se déplacent vers les eaux côtières et estuariennes. Au Canada, l'aire de répartition historique couvre l'ensemble des eaux douces, estuariennes et côtières accessibles qui sont reliées à l'océan Atlantique, jusqu'au milieu de la côte du Labrador au nord et aux chutes Niagara dans les Grands Lacs. Des zones du plateau continental sont aussi utilisées par les anguilles juvéniles qui arrivent des frayères océaniques et par les anguilles argentées adultes qui y retournent.

Tous les adultes géniteurs de l'espèce se regroupent pour frayer dans la mer des Sargasses. Les larves (appelées « leptocéphales » à cause de leur forme rappelant celle d'une feuille) dérivent et migrent vers des zones d'eau douce. Les anguilles subissent une série de transformations sur les plans de la morphologie et des exigences écologiques au cours de leur cycle biologique. Les stades biologiques dans les zones d'eau douce et côtières sont les suivants : larves cristallines (petites, transparentes et de forme reptilienne), civelles (petites, pigmentées et de forme reptilienne), anguilles jaunes (plus grandes, jaunâtres ou brunes, juvéniles – la principale phase de croissance) et anguilles argentées (adultes matures migrant des zones d'eau douce et côtières vers la zone de frai en pleine mer).

La longueur maximale de l'anguille d'Amérique observée au Canada est d'environ 1 m, alors que l'âge maximal est d'environ 23 ans. La différenciation sexuelle est jugée complète lorsque la longueur totale de l'anguille atteint 270 mm. L'âge moyen observé lors de la migration de frai est de 19,3 ans, la plage d'âge étant de 12 à 23 ans. Durant la migration de frai, la longueur varie géographiquement, les anguilles du fleuve Saint-Laurent étant alors plus grandes (de 840 à 1000 mm) que celles du Golfe du Saint-Laurent et des régions atlantiques (de 650 à 700 mm). La croissance est plus rapide dans les habitats marins qu'en eau douce, et plus rapide dans les rivières que dans les lacs.

Les femelles sont plus abondantes que les mâles dans la plupart des régions du Canada. Les anguilles argentées mâles sont plus répandues au sud du Saint‑Laurent et du Golfe du Saint-Laurent et le long du littoral atlantique des É.‑U., alors que les femelles le sont dans le lac Ontario et le haut Saint-Laurent. Des anguilles vivant dans le Saint-Laurent et dans les Grands Lacs fournissent probablement une forte proportion du potentiel reproductif total de l'espèce.

L'anguille d'Amérique est considérée une espèce unique sans sous-populations  distinctes dans l'ensemble de son aire de répartition, ce qui signifie que tous les individus et sous-groupes de la population sont génétiquement identiques, contrairement aux nombreuses espèces de poissons marins dont les populations sont bien définies et génétiquement différentes les unes des autres.

Statut (COSEPAC)

Espèce préoccupante

 Dernier examen par le COSEPAC

Avril 2006

Motif de la désignation par le COSEPAC

On ne dispose pas d'indicateurs de la situation de l'ensemble de la composante canadienne de cette espèce. Les indices de son abondance dans le haut Saint‑Laurent et le lac Ontario ont diminué d'environ 99 % depuis les années 1970. Les seules autres séries de données de longueur comparable (aucun indice à long terme n'étant disponible pour la région Scotia Fundy, Terre-Neuve et le Labrador) se rapportent au bas Saint-Laurent et au Golfe du Saint-Laurent, où quatre sur cinq séries chronologiques ont indiqué un déclin. L'anguille étant panmictique (tous les géniteurs constituent une seule unité reproductrice), le recrutement des anguilles dans les eaux canadiennes serait affecté par la situation globale de l'espèce aux États-Unis et au Canada. Avant ces déclins, les anguilles élevées au Canada constituaient une partie importante de la population reproductrice de l'espèce. Si l'effondrement de la composante du lac Ontario et du haut Saint-Laurent a pu sensiblement affecter l'efficacité totale de la reproduction, les séries chronologiques relatives à l'abondance des civelles, même relativement brèves, n'indiquent pas de déclin en cours. Des données récentes suggèrent que les déclins ont peut-être cessé dans certaines zones. Toutefois, dans le lac Ontario et le haut Saint-Laurent, les chiffres restent considérablement inférieurs aux niveaux antérieurs et les tendances positives, indiquées par certains indicateurs relatifs au Golfe du Saint-Laurent, sont trop brèves pour confirmer une croissance de cette composante. Les causes possibles du déclin observé y compris la perturbation de l'habitat, les barrages, les pêches, les oscillations des conditions océaniques, les pluies acides et les contaminants peuvent continuer à faire obstacle au rétablissement.

Dangers

Pêches

Les pêches d'anguilles existaient dans diverses zones de l'aire de répartition au Canada, notamment en Ontario (lac Ontario et haut Saint-Laurent), au Québec (lac Saint-François, lac Saint-Pierre et estuaire du Saint-Laurent), dans le Golfe du Saint-Laurent, en Nouvelle-Écosse et à Terre-Neuve. Toutes visaient les anguilles jaunes et les anguilles argentées, à l'exception des pêches de civelles qui ont commencé à titre expérimental au début des années 1990 en Nouvelle-Écosse et à Terre-Neuve et qui ne sont actuellement actives qu'en Nouvelle-Écosse. Les récoltes totales variaient de 500 à 1200 tonnes par an de 1961 à 2003. Elles ont décliné en passant d'environ 1100 tonnes par an à la fin des années 1980 à près de 500 tonnes par an en 2003. On estime que les prises non déclarées ne sont pas importantes. Les estimations de la mortalité par la pêche sont relativement élevées dans les rares endroits où elles ont été effectuées, mais de vastes zones ne font pas l'objet de pêches et la mortalité totale par la pêche au Canada est donc mal connue en ce qui concerne l'anguille.

Barrages

La présence de barrages crée deux incidences potentielles sur les populations d'anguilles : la restriction de l'accès à l'habitat en amont et la mortalité dans les turbines durant l'avalaison. Bien qu'on dispose de quelques estimations de la mortalité et des pertes attribuables aux barrages dans certains endroits, il n'existe pas d'estimation globale des pertes de géniteurs attribuables aux barrages. Par exemple, dans le bassin hydrographique du Saint-Laurent, plus de 8 000 barrages restreignent l'accès des anguilles à plus de 12 000 km2 d'habitat d'eau douce, et il est probable que, dans trois affluents seulement, les barrages réduisent de plus de 800 000 l'échappée de grosses femelles génitrices. La mortalité par avalaison des anguilles argentées migrantes est en fonction de la taille des anguilles (les plus grandes étant plus souvent tuées que les petites), de la dimension du barrage (en général, les petits barrages tuent proportionnellement plus d'anguilles) du type, de l'espacement et des conditions de fonctionnement des turbines. On estime que les anguilles qui migrent en aval du lac Ontario et du haut Saint-Laurent subissent une mortalité d'au moins 40 % attribuable au passage dans deux barrages hydroélectriques (Moses-Saunders et Beauharnois).

Entraînement

Bien qu'il ait été peu étudié jusqu'ici, l'entraînement (la « capture » d'anguilles lorsque l'eau est prise à des fins industrielles ou autres) dans les prises d'eau municipales et industrielles et les stations de production thermique est une source potentiellement importante de mortalité pour les anguilles.

Pollution chimique

Les anguilles accumulent des contaminants chimiques, car elles vivent relativement longtemps, essentiellement au fond de l'eau, et ont une forte teneur lipidique (ce qui favorise l'accumulation de produits chimiques solubles dans les lipides, tels que les BPC, les pesticides, les dioxines et les furanes). Cette accumulation de produits chimiques peut causer des lésions, affecter le développement des œufs, des embryons et des larves et nuire à la capacité natatoire. Bien que les niveaux de contaminants aient diminué dans de nombreuses zones d'habitat de l'anguille, c'est l'accumulation de ces contaminants qui pourrait avoir une incidence négative sur la capacité de survie de l'anguille d'Amérique dans l'ensemble de son aire de répartition.

Plusieurs cours d'eau dans le sud du bas-plateau de la Nouvelle-Écosse (le sud et le sud-est de la province) sont affectés par les pluies acides, ce qui peut y limiter la capacité de survie de l'anguille d'Amérique. Les écoulements agricoles ont sensiblement augmenté durant ces dernières années, à cause de l'expansion des cultures intensives (notamment de celle du maïs) dans l'est du Canada, ce qui pourrait affecter les anguilles.

Pénétration d'un parasite

Le parasite de la vessie natatoire (Anguillicola crassus) a été découvert la première fois en Amérique du Nord en 1995, en Caroline du Sud. On l'a ensuite retrouvé dans des anguilles de la Baie de Chesapeake et de la rivière d'Hudson, ainsi que dans les États du Massachusetts et du Maine. On ne l'a pas encore trouvé au Canada mais son arrivée pourrait être imminente. De graves infections peuvent conduire à un rétrécissement ou à un affaissement de la vessie natatoire, à des ulcères cutanés et à une réduction de l'appétit et de la capacité natatoire.

Mesures de protection

En 2004, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans a annoncé un objectif de réduction de 50 % de la mortalité de l'anguille dans un délai de deux ans et demandé aux intervenants et aux diverses instances de prendre les mesures  nécessaires en vue de la réalisation de cet objectif. On a créé un Groupe canadien de travail sur l’anguille chargé de coordonner le travail des organismes fédéraux et provinciaux responsables de la conservation et de la gestion de l'anguille. Ce groupe dirige actuellement l'élaboration d'un Plan de gestion de l'anguille d'Amérique au Canada, lequel vise à s'attaquer à tous les dangers qui pèsent sur cette espèce.

En 2005, des représentants canadiens et américains d'organismes gouvernementaux et du secteur hydroélectrique concernés par la région du lac Ontario et du haut Saint-Laurent ont élaboré une « analyse de décision » visant à déterminer les principaux dangers que constituent les barrages pour l'anguille d'Amérique, ainsi que les meilleures mesures à prendre à court et à long terme pour s'attaquer à ces dangers. Les mesures à court terme comprennent : l'ensemencement, destiné à préserver les populations en déclin; la réduction de la mortalité par la pêche; la recherche de moyens afin de réduire la mortalité par avalaison; et la recherche fondamentale axée sur l'amélioration des connaissances sur les populations. Les mesures à long terme comprennent le piégeage d'anguilles en amont des barrages et leur transport en aval, ainsi que la recherche de mécanismes efficaces de contournement des barrages.

L'ensemencement de jeunes anguilles d'Amérique dans des zones du bassin hydrographique des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent a commencé en 2001 et s'est intensifié en 2005 et 2006; de jeunes anguilles (civelles) du Canada Atlantique étant stockées dans la rivière Richelieu et le lac Ontario. Le financement de cet ensemencement a été fourni par des sociétés hydroélectriques. En Ontario, toutes les pêches commerciales d'anguilles d'Amérique ont été fermées en 2004, et les pêches récréatives, en 2005. Au Québec et au Canada atlantique, les captures ont été réduites grâce au raccourcissement des saisons de pêche et à l’augmentation de la taille minimale des prises. Des négociations sont en cours avec les sociétés d’hydroélectricité du Québec et de l’Ontario afin de finaliser un plan d’ensemble qui porterait sur les cas de mortalité attribuables à la présence de barrages. Une des options envisagées dans le cadre d’une entente de ce type serait de réduire encore davantage les captures au Québec au cours des 5 prochaines années, grâce à une combinaison de rachats de permis et de remise à l’eau des anguilles capturées en aval des pêcheries. Des recherches se poursuivent sur la dynamique et le suivi des populations, les méthodes de piégeage et de transport.

Incidences potentielles sur les intervenants

L'inscription de l'anguille d'Amérique comme « espèce préoccupante » n'entraînerait pas automatiquement d'interdictions de tuer ou d'endommager des membres de cette espèce.

Les mesures de gestion nécessaires pour réduire la mortalité de l’espèce, freiner le déclin de son abondance et promouvoir son rétablissement ont été exposées dans une ébauche de plan de gestion pour l’anguille d’Amérique. Le plan de gestion, qui devra être conforme aux exigences de la LEP, sera achevé au printemps 2007. Il comprend une série d’objectifs à court et à long terme, ainsi que des mesures de gestion assorties à chacun de ces objectifs. Les objectifs énoncés dans le plan de gestion sont : 

Objectif de gestion à long terme

Rétablir le niveau d’abondance général de l’anguille d’Amérique au Canada pour qu’il revienne à ses valeurs du milieu des années 80, selon les indices clés d’abondance disponible, soit en particulier :

·       assurer la présence d’anguilles d’Amérique dans tous les secteurs faisant partie de son aire de répartition historique;

·       une pêche durable de civelles et de grandes anguilles procure des retombées économiques aux pêcheurs de tous les secteurs où se pratiquait la pêche traditionnellement.

Objectif de gestion à court terme

Réduire la mortalité de l’anguille attribuable à toutes les sources, dans une proportion de 50 % par rapport à la moyenne de 1997-2002.

Objectifs précis et mesures à prendre

1.     Élaborer un plan de mise en œuvre détaillé, en fonction d’activités prioritaires précises, pour réduire de 50 % la mortalité de l’anguille attribuable à toutes les sources.

2.     Réaliser un gain net d’abondance et d’échappées en assurant l’accès à des habitats de qualité, ainsi que la migration par des habitats de qualité :

·       veiller à empêcher toute perte nette d’habitat en raison de l’aménagement de nouvelles installations;

·       assurer un gain net d’habitat grâce à la modification d’installations existantes; en particulier, assurer, dans chaque juridiction et dans une proportion de 10 % tous les 5 ans, une récupération des habitats perdus pour la migration en amont et en aval;

·       poursuivre les mesures pour réduire les impacts causés par la présence de contaminants et la pollution.

3.     Veiller à ce que la mortalité imputable à la pêche soit conforme à l’objectif global d’une réduction de 50 % de la mortalité attribuable à toutes les sources.

4.     Élaborer un outil d’aide à la décision pour déterminer et prioriser des mesures propres à améliorer l’habitat pour l’anguille.

5.     Tenir et, au besoin, élaborer des indices d’abondance indépendants de la pêche.

6.     Assurer la présence d’anguilles au moyen de l’ensemencement dans des zones où le taux d’abondance s’est effondré.

7.     Élaborer un plan de gestion binational.

8.     Étudier la possibilité de mettre sur pied une commission binationale pour la conservation et la gestion de l’anguille.

Conformément aux objectifs du Plan de gestion provisoire, d'autres mesures possibles axées sur la réduction de la mortalité de l'anguille pourraient comprendre l'imposition de nouvelles exigences relatives au fonctionnement des barrages, la construction d'échelles à anguilles dans les barrages, pour permettre le passage vers l'amont, de nouvelles réductions des effluents toxiques et des captures imputables à la pêche, ou encore des mesures de compensation telles que l'ensemencement.