Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Northern Riffleshell, Snuffbox, Round Pigtoe, Mudpuppy Mussel and Rayed Bean in Canada (Final)


Appendix 1 – Record of Cooperation and Consultation

Fisheries and Oceans Canada has attempted to engage all potentially affected aboriginal communities in Southern Ontario during the development of the proposed recovery strategy for these five mussel species. Information packages were sent to the Chief and Council of the Chippewas of Kettle and Stoney Point, Aamjiwnaang First Nation, Caldwell First Nation, Delaware Nation Council (Moravian of the Thames First Nation), Chippewas of the Thames, Oneida Nation of the Thames, Munsee-Delaware First Nation, Mississaugas of New Credit First Nation, Six Nations of the Grand, Walpole Island First Nation and the Southern First Nations Secretariat. Information packages were also sent to Metis Nation of Ontario (MNO) Captains of the Hunt for Region 7, 8, and 9 and the MNO senior policy advisor. Members of these communities may have traveled or harvested fish or freshwater mussels from the waters of the Ausable, Sydenham River, Thames River, Grand River, Lake St. Clair or Lake Erie where these mussel species were historically found. Follow-up telephone calls were made to each community office to ensure that packages were received and to ask if they would like to schedule a meeting to learn more about species at risk in general and proposed recovery strategies.

Meetings were held with Oneida Nation of the Thames Councillor for environmental issues, Chief and council of Kettle and Stoney Point First Nation, the environment committee from Aamjiwnaang First Nation, Wapole Island First Nation – Heritage Centre Staff, and a Council meeting of the Metis of Nation of Ontario. No comments have been received.

In addition to the above activities, DFO had established an ongoing dialogue with the policy advisor to the Southern First Nations Secretariat and had engaged the London Chiefs Council (an association of the 8 area First Nation governments in Southwestern Ontario) on several occasions. Meetings were held with the director of the Walpole Island Natural Heritage Centre and the Fish and Game Enforcement Officer from Walpole Island First Nation. Walpole Island First Nation has been represented in the membership of the Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team since the formation of the recovery team in 2003. DFO also discussed SARA issues with a representative of the Six Nations of the Grand who works for the Six Nations EcoCentre and who also represents First Nation interests on the Grand River Fishes at Risk Management Plan, the Thames River Fish Management Plan and the St. Clair River Management Strategy.

The Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team had representatives from all of the Conservation Authorities responsible for managing the rivers where these mussels are presently or were historically found. In addition to this, DFO had prepared a list of non-governmental organizations, federal agencies and municipalities which may be impacted by the proposed recovery strategy. Information packages were prepared to inform these groups that the proposed recovery strategy had been drafted, and inviting each group to comment on the strategy. As well an announcement was prepared and placed in newspapers with circulation in the area where these mussels are found to inform landowners and the general public about the strategy and to request their comments. These packages were sent and the announcements published at the time the proposed recovery strategy was posted on the SARA registry. Comments were received from the Mcllwraith Field Naturalists of London Ontario, Canadian Wildlife Service-Ontario, Parks Canada, Public Utilities Commission for the Municipality of Chatham-Kent and the Town of Lakeshore.

The province of Ontario was represented on the Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team by the Ministry of Natural Resources (OMNR) and has actively participated in the development of this proposed recovery strategy. A letter was sent to OMNR to request further Provincial comment on the proposed recovery strategy when it was posted on the SARA Registry. Comments were received from OMNR.

The National Water Research Institute of Environment Canada had been actively engaged in the development of this recovery strategy providing two members to the Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team.

The Recovery Team contacted representatives from Resource Management agencies at the state and federal levels in the USA where these mussels occur. This mussel is only found in Canada and the United States of America. Information packages were sent to each U.S. agency when the strategy was posted on the Sara Registry. No comments were received.

Page 19

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la dysnomie ventrue jaune, l'épioblasme tricorne, le pleurobème écarlate, la mulette du Necturus et la villeuse haricot au Canada (version finale)


Annexe 1 – Collaboration et consultation

Pêches et Océans Canada a tout mis en œuvre pour faire participer toutes les communautés autochtones du sud de l'Ontario potentiellement concernées à l'élaboration du programme de rétablissement proposé pour ces cinq espèces de moules. On a envoyé cette trousse au chef et au conseil de Chippewa de Kettle et de Stoney Point, à la Première nation Aamjiwnaang, à la Première nation Caldwell, au Delaware Nation Council (Première nation Moravian de la Thames), à la Première nation Chippewas de la rivière Thames, à la Nation Oneida de la rivière Thames, à la Première nation Munsee-Delaware, à la Première nation Mississaugas de New Credit, au six nations de la rivière Grand, à la Première nation de Walpole Island et au Southern First Nations Secretariat. Des trousses d'information ont également été envoyées aux Captains of the Hunt de la Metis Nation of Ontario (MNO) pour les régions 7, 8 et 9 ainsi qu'au conseiller principal des politiques de la MNO. Les membres de ces communautés pourraient avoir déplacé ou pêché des poissons ou des moules d'eau douce dans les eaux des rivières Ausable, Sydenham, Thames, Grand ainsi que dans le lac Sainte-Claire ou le lac Érié, endroits que ces espèces de moules ont déjà habité. On a ensuite assuré un suivi par téléphone auprès de chaque bureau communautaire pour confirmer que les trousses avaient bel et bien été reçues et pour demander si la communauté voulait assister à une réunion au sujet du programme de rétablissement proposé.

On a tenu des réunions avec le conseiller de la Nation Oneida de la rivière Thames au sujet des questions environnementales ainsi qu'avec le chef et le conseil de la Première nation de Kettle et de Stoney Point, le comité sur l'environnement de la Première nation Aamjiwnaang, le personnel de la Première nation de Walpole Island/du Heritage Centre et le conseil de la Metis Nation of Ontario. Jusqu'ici, on n'a reçu aucun commentaire de leur part.

En plus des activités mentionnées ci-devant, le MPO a toujours gardé le contact avec le conseiller des politiques du Southern First Nations Secretariat et a discuté à maintes reprises avec le conseil des chefs de London (une association des gouvernements de 8 Premières nations au sud-ouest de l'Ontario). On a tenu des réunions avec le directeur du Walpole Island Heritage Centre et l'agent de l'autorité de la pêche et de la chasse de la Première nation de Walpole Island. La Première nation de Walpole Island est représentée au sein de l'Équipe de rétablissement depuis sa formation en 2003. Le MPO a également discuté des enjeux de la LEP avec un représentant des six nations de la rivière Grand qui travaille pour le Six nations EcoCentre et qui défend également les intérêts des Premières nations pour ce qui est du plan de gestion des poissons en péril de la rivière Grand, du plan de gestion des poissons de la rivière Thames et de la stratégie de gestion de la rivière Sainte-Claire.

L'Équipe de rétablissement compte des représentants provenant de tous les offices de protection de la nature responsables de la gestion des cours d'eau actuellement ou antérieurement habités par ces moules. En outre, le MPO a établi une liste d'organismes non gouvernementaux, d'organismes fédéraux et de municipalités qui peuvent être touchés par le programme de rétablissement proposé. On a élaboré des trousses d'information pour aviser les groupes que le programme est sur le point d'être approuvé et qu'on les invite à formuler des commentaires sur celui-ci. De plus, on a publié une annonce dans les journaux publiés dans la zone fréquentée par ces moules pour informer les propriétaires fonciers et le grand public du programme et pour solliciter leurs commentaires à son égard. L'envoi de ces trousses et la publication des annonces a eu lieu lorsque le programme de rétablissement proposé a été publié dans le registre public de la LEP. On a reçu des commentaires de Mcllwraith Field Naturalists de London en Ontario, du Service canadien de la faune – Ontario, de Parcs Canada, de la Public Utilities Commission for the Municipality of Chatham-Kent et de la Ville de Lakeshore.

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario, qui a été représenté par le ministère des Ressources naturelles (MRN) dans l'équipe de rétablissement, a activement participé à l'élaboration du présent programme. On a envoyé une lettre pour solliciter davantage de commentaires de la part du gouvernement provincial au sujet du programme de rétablissement proposéau moment de la publication du programme dans le registre public de la LEP. Le MRN a présenté des commentaires.

L'Institut national de recherche sur les eaux d'Environnement Canada a également participé activement à l'élaboration du présent programme. Deux personnes de l'Institut sont membres de l'Équipe de rétablissement des moules d'eau douce de l'Ontario.

L'Équipe de rétablissement a communiqué avec des représentants américains des organismes de gestion des ressources fédéraux et des organismes des États où l'on trouve ces moules. Ces moules ne sont présentes qu'au Canada et qu'aux États-Unis. Des trousses d'information ont été envoyées à chaque organisme américain lorsque le programme a été publié dans le registre public de la LEP. Aucun commentaire n'a été reçu.