Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Northern Riffleshell, Snuffbox, Round Pigtoe, Mudpuppy Mussel and Rayed Bean in Canada (Final)


3. Species Information – Round Pigtoe


Common Name: Round Pigtoe

Scientific Name: Pleurobema sintoxia

COSEWIC Status: Endangered

COSEWIC Reason for designation: The Round Pigtoe is limited to three watersheds and Lake St. Clair in southern Ontario and is considered to be lost from 65% of its historical Ontario range. There are continuous declines in habitat because of urban, industrial and agricultural development. There is an irreversible impact from zebra mussels in Lake St. Clair and possibly impoundments in the Sydenham River.

Occurrence: Ontario

COSEWIC Status history: designated endangered in 2004

The Round Pigtoe is a medium to large-sized freshwater mussel with a highly variable morphology depending on the habitat. In rivers, this mussel has a compressed, solid and somewhat rectangular shell, with a compressed beak that is slightly elevated and projects forward only slightly beyond the hinge line. The Great Lakes form has a smaller and more inflated shell, with a full beak that is elevated and projects forward, well beyond the hinge line (COSEWIC 2004). The anterior end is rounded and the posterior end is square and truncated. The posterior ridge is rounded, ending in a blunt point. The shell in juveniles is dull tan with distinct green rays that fade as the shell becomes larger. Adults have deep mahogany coloured shells with dark banding and may grow up to 13 cm. The surface is rough with concentric growth rests. There are two pseudocardinal teeth in the left valve that are stout, rectangular, and serrated. There is one pseudocardinal tooth in the right valve which is low and roughened. There are two lateral teeth in the left valve and one in the right that are straight, moderately high, and finely serrated.

Figure 7. The Round Pigtoe (Pleurobema sintoxia). Photo courtesy J.L. Metcalfe-Smith, Environment Canada
Figure 7. The Round Pigtoe (Pleurobema sintoxia). Photo courtesy J.L. Metcalfe-Smith, Environment Canada

It can be found in a wide range of habitats from small to large rivers and large lakes in sand, gravel, boulder and mud substrates. Historically, this species was known from throughout the Mississippi and Ohio drainages including Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia, and Wisconsin. In Canada, the Round Pigtoe was found in the western basin of Lake Erie, Lake St. Clair and the Detroit, Grand, Niagara, Sydenham and Thames rivers.

The Round Pigtoe is broadly distributed but uncommon and rarely, if ever, abundant (COSEWIC 2004). In the United States, current and historic ranges of the Round Pigtoe are similar although large river populations have mostly disappeared from the upper Midwest. Many populations still exist in the Mississippi and Ohio drainages. It is ranked as common (G4) in North America although it is listed as endangered in Iowa and Pennsylvania, threatened in Minnesota, special concern in Michigan and Wisconsin, and a species of special interest in Ohio. It is not currently listed under the U.S. Endangered Species Act.

In Ontario, the Round Pigtoe is assumed to be eradicated from the offshore waters of lakes Erie and St. Clair, and the Detroit and Niagara rivers. It has not been seen in the western basin of Lake Erie since the early 1950s, nor in the offshores of Lake St. Clair (outside the delta area) since 1990 (COSEWIC 2004). Small pockets of isolated populations may still be found in some nearshore areas although, to date, none have been found. A 2001 survey of the Niagara River found no live native mussel species. The Grand and Thames rivers have small, possibly relict, populations of the Round Pigtoe. The Sydenham River still has reproducing populations in several different localities in the east and north branches.

Distribution

Global Range

In the United States, the Round Pigtoe occurs in Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

Canadian Range

The populations of Round Pigtoe that are still reproducing are found in the St. Clair delta and the Sydenham River. Remnant populations still exist in the nearshores of Lake Erie and Lake St. Clair and the Grand and Thames rivers.

Percent of Global Range in Canada

Less than 5% of the species' global distribution is currently found in Canada.

Distribution Trend

In the United States, the present range of the Round Pigtoe is similar to its historical range, although most large river populations have disappeared in the upper Midwest. Populations in tributaries of the Mississippi and Ohio rivers still survive. In Canada, it was known from the western basin of Lake Erie and the offshores of Lake St. Clair but these populations have been lost. The remaining population in Lake St. Clair is located entirely within the Walpole Island First Nation. The Round Pigtoe was widespread in the upper and lower Thames River, but is now restricted to a very small (possibly relict) population in the upper reaches of the Middle and South Thames rivers. In the Grand River the Round Pigtoe historically occurred in the lower reaches of the river, downstream of Brantford although shells have occasionally been found higher in the watershed (Metcalfe-Smith et al. 2000).

The Round Pigtoe is well distributed, although not common, throughout the Sydenham River.

Figure 8. Global distribution of the Round Pigtoe.
Figure 8. Global distribution of the Round Pigtoe.

 

Figure 9. Distribution of the Round Pigtoe in Canada.
Figure 9. Distribution of the Round Pigtoe in Canada.

Population Abundance

Global Range

In the United States, many populations of Round Pigtoe have declined and there is no evidence of recent recruitment in some areas (COSEWIC 2004).

Canadian Range

The Round Pigtoe has not been seen in the western basin of Lake Erie since 1951-52, nor in the offshores of Lake St. Clair since 1990 (COSEWIC 2004). However, surveys in 2002 reported 42 Round Pigtoes from three nearshore sites off Squirrel Island in the St. Clair delta. Ninety-two other nearshore sites surveyed had no evidence of live specimens. Results from recent surveys of the Niagara River and Detroit River indicate that the Round Pigtoe is extirpated from these rivers. In the Grand River, low numbers of live specimens, and a lack of small specimens, indicates that reproduction rates are likely declining. The Thames River population is restricted to a very small area in the upper reaches of the Middle and South Thames rivers between Thamesford and London. The Round Pigtoe has always been rare in the Sydenham River. Forty five specimens were observed at seven different sites on the East Sydenham River between Rokeby and Dawn Mills and one site in the north branch (COSEWIC 2004).

Percent of Global Abundance in Canada

Less than 5% of the species’ global abundance is currently found in Canada.

Population Trend

The current Canadian distribution of the Round Pigtoe is restricted to the St. Clair delta and three southwestern Ontario rivers. The St. Clair delta has been identified as a possible refuge for unionids from impacts of the zebra mussel (Zanatta et al. 2002). Surveys in 2002 reported the Round Pigtoe from three sites in the St Clair River delta, however, repeated sampling of the same sites in 2003 reported declines in all three sites. In the Grand River, low numbers of live specimens, and a lack of small specimens, indicates that reproduction rates are likely declining. The Thames River has a relict population (large individuals, no signs of reproduction) in the upper reaches of the Middle Thames as well as a population between Thamesford and its confluence with the South Thames. In the East Sydenham River the Round Pigtoe was observed at seven different sites and another site in the north branch. The size of the specimens sampled indicates recruitment is occurring. The population in the Sydenham River is considered to be the healthiest in Ontario.

Biological Limiting Factors

Reproductive Attributes

The reproductive biology of the Round Pigtoe follows the general reproductive biology of most mussels. During spawning, male mussels release sperm into the water and females living downstream filter it out of the water with their gills. Female mussels brood their young from the egg to the larval stage in specialized regions of their gills known as marsupia. Immature juveniles, known as glochidia, develop in the gill marsupia and are released by the female into the water column to undergo a period of parasitism on a suitable host fish species. Further development to the juvenile stage can not continue without a period of encystment on the host.

The glochidia are subovate and without hooks, measuring 150 µm in both height and width (Clarke 1981). The lack of hooks indicates they are gill parasites.

Known host fishes for the Round Pigtoe include the bluegill (Lepomis macrochirus), spotfin shiner (Cyprinella spiloptera), bluntnose minnow (Pimephales notatus), northern redbelly dace (Phoxinus eos) and the southern redbelly dace (Phoxinus erythrogaster) (Hove 1995). In Ontario, all of these species, except the southern redbelly dace, occur commonly with the Round Pigtoe and are assumed to serve as glochidial hosts although no potential hosts have yet been tested as gravid females have not been located.

Dispersal

Like most freshwater mussels, the Round Pigtoe has very limited dispersal abilities. The Round Pigtoe adults are essentially sessile with movement limited to only a few meters on the river/lake bottom. Although adult movement can be directed upstream or downstream, studies have found a net downstream movement through time (Balfour and Smock 1995; Villella et al. 2004). The primary means for large scale dispersal, upstream movement, and the invasion of new habitat or evasion of deteriorating habitat, is limited to the encysted glochidial stage on the host fish.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la dysnomie ventrue jaune, l'épioblasme tricorne, le pleurobème écarlate, la mulette du Necturus et la villeuse haricot au Canada (version finale)


3. Information sur l'espèce – Pleurobème écarlate


Nom commun – pleurobème écarlate
Nom scientifique – Pleurobema sintoxia
Statut du COSEPAC –en voie de disparition
Justification de la désignation du COSEPAC –L'espèce occupe seulement une zone dans le lac Sainte-Claire et trois bassins hydrographiques du sud de l'Ontario. On considère qu'elle est disparue de 65 % de son aire de répartition antérieure en Ontario; son habitat subit des déclins continus en raison du développement agricole, industriel et urbain. La présence de la moule zébrée a entraîné des effets irréversibles dans le lac Sainte-Claire et éventuellement dans les bassins de retenue de la rivière Sydenham.
Répartition – Ontario
Historique du statut – Désignée espèce en voie de disparition en 2004

Le pleurobème écarlate est une moule d'eau douce de taille moyenne à grande dont la morphologie varie fortement selon l'habitat. En effet, dans les rivières, la coquille de cette moule est comprimée, solide et quelque peu rectangulaire. Le bec de cette moule, également comprimé, est légèrement élevé et projeté vers l'avant, mais uniquement au delà de la ligne d'articulation. La coquille du pleurobème des Grands Lacs est, quant à elle, plus petite et gonflée, avec un bec plein qui s'élève et se projette vers l'avant, bien au delà de la ligne d'articulation (COSEPAC, 2004). L'extrémité antérieure est arrondie et l'extrémité postérieure possède un angle droit et tronqué. L'arête postérieure est arrondie, se terminant en un point émoussé. Chez les juvéniles, la coquille est de couleur havane et affiche des rayures vertes distinctes qui s'estompent à mesure que la coquille grandit. Chez les adultes, la coquille est d'un roux profond strié de bandes foncées et elle peut faire jusqu'à 13 cm. La surface est rugueuse et présente des bourrelets de croissance concentriques. Le pleurobème possède deux dents pseudocardinales dans la valve gauche qui sont grosses, rectangulaires et dentelées. Une dent pseudocardinale, située dans la valve droite, est basse et rugueuse. La valve gauche compte deux dents latérales et la valve droite, une seule; ces dents sont droites, modérément hautes et finement dentelées.

Figure 7. Pleurobème écarlate (Pleurobema sintoxia). Photo : gracieuseté de J.L. Metcalfe-Smith, Environnement Canada
Figure 7. Pleurobème écarlate (Pleurobema sintoxia). Photo : gracieuseté de J.L. Metcalfe-Smith, Environnement Canada

Le pleurobème peut vivre dans des habitats très diversifiés allant des petites aux grandes rivières et dans des grands lacs, sur des substrats de sable, de gravier, de roches et de boue. L'espèce occupait autrefois tous les bassins hydrographiques du fleuve Mississippi et de la rivière Ohio, notamment dans les États de l'Alabama, de l'Arkansas, de l'Illinois, de l'Indiana, de l'Iowa, du Kansas, du Kentucky, du Michigan, du Minnesota, du Missouri, du Nebraska, de l'État de New York, de l'Ohio, de l'Oklahoma, de la Pennsylvanie, du Dakota du Sud, du Tennessee, de la Virginie occidentale et du Wisconsin. Au Canada, l'espèce se trouvait dans les rivières Détroit, Grand, Niagara, Thames et Sydenham ainsi que dans le lac Sainte-Claire et dans le bassin ouest du lac Érié. Le pleurobème écarlate est largement répandu, mais il n'est que rarement abondant, voire jamais (COSEPAC, 2004). Aux États-Unis, les aires de répartition actuelles du pleurobème écarlate sont semblables à ce qu'elles étaient autrefois, quoique les grandes populations des rivières soient pour la plupart disparues du nord des États du Midwest. Bon nombre de populations habitent toujours les bassins hydrographiques du fleuve Mississippi et de la rivière Ohio. L'espèce est classée en tant qu'espèce commune (G4) en Amérique du Nord, même si elle a été inscrite sur la liste des espèces en voie de disparition en Iowa et en Pennsylvanie, des espèces menacées au Minnesota, des espèces préoccupantes au Michigan et au Wisconsin et des espèces d'intérêt particulier en Ohio. À l'heure actuelle, le pleurobème n'a pas été inscrit sur la Liste de la U.S. Endangered Species Act.

En Ontario, on croit que le pleurobème écarlate est disparu des eaux extralittorales des lacs Érié et Sainte-Claire ainsi que des rivières Detroit et Niagara. L'espèce n'a pas été observée dans le bassin ouest du lac Érié depuis le début des années 1950, ni dans les eaux extralittorales du lac Sainte-Claire (à l'extérieur du delta) depuis 1990 (COSEPAC, 2004). Il se pourrait que l'on découvre de petites populations isolées dans quelques secteurs littoraux même si, jusqu'ici, on n'en a trouvé aucune. Un relevé réalisé en 2001 dans la rivière Niagara n'a révélé la présence d'aucune espèce de moules indigènes vivantes. De petites populations de pleurobèmes écarlates, probablement des populations reliques, occupent les rivières Grand et Thames. À plusieurs sites différents des bras est et nord de la rivière Sydenham, des populations se reproduisent encore.

Répartition

Aire de répartition totale

Aux États-Unis, le pleurobème écarlate est présent en Alabama, en Arkansas, en Illinois, en Indiana, en Iowa, au Kansas, au Kentucky, au Michigan, au Minnesota, au Missouri, au Nebraska, dans l'État de New York, en Ohio, en Oklahoma, en Pennsylvanie, au Dakota du Sud, au Tennessee, en Virginie occidentale et au Wisconsin.

Aire de répartition au Canada

L'espèce se reproduit encore dans la rivière Sydenham et dans le delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire. Des populations résiduelles occupent toujours les eaux riveraines des lacs Érié et Sainte-Claire ainsi que les rivières Grand et Thames.

Pourcentage de l'aire de répartition au Canada

Le Canada représente actuellement moins de 5 % de l'aire de répartition totale de l'espèce.

Tendance en matière de répartition

Aux États-Unis, l'aire de répartition actuelle du pleurobème écarlate est semblable à ce qu'elle était autrefois, bien que la plupart des grandes populations des rivières soient disparues du nord du Midwest. Des populations survivent toujours dans les tributaires du fleuve Mississippi et de la rivière Ohio. Au Canada, des populations habitaient le bassin ouest du lac Érié et les eaux extralittorales du lac Sainte-Claire, mais elles ont disparu. Dans le lac Sainte-Claire, la population résiduelle se trouve entièrement sur le territoire de la Première nation de l'île Walpole. Le pleurobème était répandu en aval et en amont de la rivière Thames, mais il est maintenant limité à une très petite population (probablement relique) dans les tronçons supérieurs des rivières Middle et South Thames. Par le passé, on l'observait dans les tronçons inférieurs de la rivière Grand, en aval de Brantford, bien que des coquilles aient été trouvées à l'occasion plus loin dans le bassin hydrographique (Metcalfe-Smith et al., 2000).

Même si le pleurobème écarlate est bien répandu dans l'ensemble de la rivière Sydenham, il reste néanmoins une espèce peu commune.

Figure 8. Aire de répartition totale du pleurobème écarlate.
Figure 8. Aire de répartition totale du pleurobème écarlate.

 

Figure 9. Répartition du pleurobème écarlate au Canada.
Figure 9. Répartition du pleurobème écarlate au Canada.

 

Abondance de la population

Aire de répartition totale

Aux États-Unis, de nombreuses populations de pleurobèmes écarlates ont connu des déclins et, dans certains secteurs, elles ne montrent aucun signe de recrutement récent (COSEPAC, 2004).

Aire de répartition au Canada

Le pleurobème écarlate n'a pas été observé dans le bassin ouest du lac Érié depuis 1951-1952, ni dans les eaux extralittorales du lac Sainte-Claire depuis 1990 (COSEPAC, 2004). Cependant, selon des relevés effectués en 2002, on a signalé la présence 42 pleurobèmes écarlates provenant de trois emplacements situés près du rivage au large de l'île Squirrel dans le delta Sainte-Claire. On n'a relevé aucun spécimen vivant dans les 92 autres emplacements riverains recensés. Les résultats de relevés récents menés dans les rivières Detroit et Niagara indiquent que le pleurobème écarlate est disparu de ces rivières. Dans la rivière Grand, le faible nombre de spécimens vivants et un manque de petits spécimens reflètent vraisemblablement une diminution du taux de reproduction. La population de la rivière East Thames limitée à un très petit secteur dans les tronçons supérieurs des rivières Middle et South Thames, entre Thamesford et London. Le pleurobème écarlate a toujours été rare dans la rivière Sydenham. On a observé 45 spécimens à 7 emplacements différents dans la rivière Sydenham est entre Rokeby et Dawn Mills ainsi qu'à un emplacement dans le bras nord de la rivière (COSEPAC, 2004).

Pourcentage de l'abondance totale au Canada

Le Canada compte actuellement au moins de 5 % du nombre total d'individus de cette espèce.

Tendance démographique

Au Canada, la répartition actuelle du pleurobème écarlate se limite au delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire ainsi qu'à trois rivières du sud-ouest de l'Ontario. On a identifié le delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire comme refuge potentiel pour les unionidés afin de les protéger des effets causés par la moule zébrée (Zanatta et al., 2002). Des relevés effectués en 2002 ont révélé la présence du pleurobème écarlate à trois emplacements dans le delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire; toutefois, un échantillonnage répété effectué en 2003 à ces mêmes emplacements a montré des déclins dans chacun des trois emplacements. Dans la rivière Grand, le faible nombre d'individus vivants et un manque de petits spécimens reflètent vraisemblablement une diminution du taux de reproduction. Pour ce qui est de la rivière Thames, une population relique (individus de grande taille, aucun signe de reproduction) vit dans les tronçons supérieurs de la rivière Middle Thames, et une population occupe la rivière entre Thamesford et le confluent avec la rivière South Thames. Dans la rivière Sydenham est, on a observé le pleurobème écarlate à sept emplacements différents ainsi qu'à un autre site dans le bras nord de la rivière. La taille des spécimens prélevés indique un recrutement. On considère que la population de la rivière Sydenham est celle qui est le plus en santé en Ontario.

Facteurs limitatifs biologiques

Caractéristiques de la reproduction

La biologie reproductive du pleurobème écarlate ressemble à celle de la plupart des moules. Ainsi, pendant le frai, les mâles libèrent leur sperme dans la colonne d'eau et les femelles, qui se trouvent en aval, le filtrent grâce à leurs branchies. Les femelles portent leurs jeunes du stade de l'œuf au stade larvaire dans une région particulière de leurs branchies appelées marsupia. Les juvéniles immatures, appelés glochidies, se développent dans les marsupia des branchies et sont libérés par la femelle dans la colonne d'eau et vivent une période de parasitisme sur des espèces appropriées de poissons hôtes. Le développement du pleurobème jusqu'au stade juvénile ne peut pas se poursuivre sans une période d'enkystement sur l'hôte.

Les glochidies sont de forme presque ovale, ne portent pas de crochets et mesurent 150 µm tant en hauteur qu'en largeur (Clarke, 1981). L'absence de crochets indique que ce sont des parasites qui se logent dans les branchies.

Parmi les poissons hôtes connus du pleurobème écarlate, mentionnons le crapet arlequin (Lepomis macrochirus), le méné bleu (Cyprinella spiloptera), le ventre-pourri (Pimephales notatus), le ventre rouge du Nord (Phoxinus eos) et le ventre rouge du Sud (Phoxinus erythrogaster) (Hove, 1995). En Ontario, toutes ces espèces, à l'exception du ventre rouge du Sud, se trouvent en général avec le pleurobème écarlate. On pense qu'elles servent d'hôtes pour les glochidies, même si aucun essai n'a été mené à ce sujet du fait que l'on n'a pas encore localisé de femelles gravides.

Dispersion

À l'instar de la plupart des moules d'eau douce, le pleurobème écarlate dispose de capacités de dispersion très limitées. Les adultes sont essentiellement sessiles, leurs déplacements se limitant à quelques mètres sur le fond de la rivière ou du lac. Même si le déplacement des adultes peut être dirigé en amont ou en aval, les études ont montré dans le temps un déplacement net descendant (Balfour et Smock, 1995; Villella et al., 2004). La dispersion à grande échelle, les déplacements vers l'amont et l'invasion d'un nouvel habitat ou l'abandon d'un habitat en détérioration se limitent au stade glochidial d'enkystement sur le poisson hôte.