Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Northern Riffleshell, Snuffbox, Round Pigtoe, Mudpuppy Mussel and Rayed Bean in Canada (Final)


4. Species Information - Mudpuppy Mussel


Common Name1: Mudpuppy Mussel

Scientific Name: Simpsonaias ambigua

COSEWIC Status: Endangered

COSEWIC Reason for designation: The Mudpuppy Mussel has suffered declines in their range and the population is extremely fragmented. In Canada, there are only three extant sites remaining, all of which are in the Sydenham River. The Mudpuppy Mussel is host specific, using only the mudpuppy (Necturus maculosus) as host. Any threats to the mudpuppy are also threats to mussels.

Occurrence: Ontario

COSEWIC Status history: designated endangered in 2001

1 This species is also known as the Salamander Mussel.

The Mudpuppy Mussel is a small freshwater mussel that is distinguished from other mussels by its elongate elliptical shell shape, incomplete hinge teeth, double-looped beak sculpture, and rayless, brown periostracum. The shell is thin, fragile, and compressed in males to slightly inflated posteriorly in females. It is much thicker anteriorly than posteriorly. The anterior and posterior ends are rounded; the dorsal and ventral margins are nearly straight and parallel. The posterior ridge is rounded. The beaks are located approximately one-quarter of the distance from anterior to posterior, and are slightly elevated above the hinge line and somewhat compressed. Beak sculpture consists of four to five double-looped ridges. The periostracum (shell surface) is smooth, yellowish tan to dark brown in colour, and rayless. Pseudocardinal teeth are very small, low, and rounded - one in each valve. Lateral teeth are absent (Watson et al.2001b).

Figure 10. The Mudpuppy Mussel, Simpsonaias ambigua. Photo Credit: D. Zanatta, University of Toronto
Figure 10. The Mudpuppy Mussel, Simpsonaias ambigua. Photo Credit: D. Zanatta, University of Toronto.

Historically, the Mudpuppy Mussel was known from Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Ontario (TNC 2000a). It was found in the Lake St. Clair, Lake Huron, and Lake Erie drainages as well as the Ohio, Cumberland, and upper Mississippi river systems (Clarke 1985). In Ontario, only three historical records exist for this species, two from the Sydenham River in the 1960s and one from the Detroit River in 1934.

In the United States, the Mudpuppy Mussel is now thought to be extant in only 32 of the 80 rivers and streams for which historical records are available. It is believed to be extirpated from Iowa, New York and Tennessee. The Nature Conservancy has assignedthis species a global rank of G3 (rare and uncommon globally), and an SRANK of S1 in six states and S2 in four others (TNC 2000a). The species is listed as endangered in Illinois, Michigan, and Tennessee; threatened in Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin; and of Special Concern in Indiana.

In Ontario, the Mudpuppy Mussel had been ranked SH (historical; no occurrences verified in the past 20 years) until the late 1990s by the Ontario Natural Heritage Information Centre. Intensive surveys conducted on tributaries to Lake Erie, Lake St. Clair and lower Lake Huron in 1997-1999 (Metcalfe-Smith et al. 1998, 1999) produced a total of 90 specimens from 8 different sites on the Sydenham River, one site in the St. Clair delta, and one site on the Thames River. The largest remaining population of the Mudpuppy Mussel in Ontario is restricted to the middle reach of the East Sydenham River. Three live specimens were found in the St. Clair delta in 1999 although no additional specimens have been found from this area recently. A single fresh valve was reported from the Thames River in 1998. Further surveys in this watershed have produced no signs of living or dead animals in the Thames River. Based on these findings, the Mudpuppy Mussel was downlisted from SH to S1 in Ontario.

The Mudpuppy Mussel occurs in the most heavily populated and intensively farmed region of Canada, notably southwestern Ontario. Agricultural, urban, and industrial impacts have likely resulted in a loss of habitat forthis species in the Sydenham and Thames rivers. Urban impacts on the East Sydenham River are less than in other southwestern Ontario rivers, and water quality may have improved in recent years due to an improvement in sewage treatment. Agricultural activities have increased, however, and run-off of silt and agricultural chemicals may continue to limit the distribution of the Mudpuppy Mussel in this system (Dextrase et al. 2003).

Distribution

Global Range

The Mudpuppy Mussel currently occurs in Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Ontario.

Canadian Range

There are only three historical records for the Mudpuppy Mussel in Canada, two from the Sydenham River in the mid 1960s and one from the Detroit River in 1934. The Mudpuppy Mussel currently occurs only in the East Sydenham River in Ontario, although a single fresh valve was found on the Thames River in the city of London in 1998. It has been suggested that the Mudpuppy Mussel is at the northern most limit of its range in the Great Lakes region and may be naturally rare here.

Percent of Global Range in Canada

Less than 5% of the species' global distribution is currently found in Canada.

Distribution Trend

The Mudpuppy Mussel is no longer found in 60% of formerly occupied rivers and streams in the United States and is extirpated from Iowa, New York, Tennessee, and Michigan. In Canada, it was historically known from the Detroit and Sydenham rivers, but recent surveys in both rivers show that it now occurs only in the Sydenham River. Live animals were collected from eight different sites within a 50-km reach of the East Sydenham River in 1997-1999. The broad range of sizes of live specimens and fresh shells indicated that there is ongoing recruitment.

Population Abundance

Global Range

In the United States, extant populations are known from 11 states and its range appears to be declining in most jurisdictions. The Mudpuppy Mussel is thought to be present in only 32 of the 80 rivers and streams for which historical records are available.

Canadian Range

Intensive surveys conducted at 66 sites on tributaries to Lake Erie, Lake St. Clair and lower Lake Huron in 1997-1998 (Metcalfe-Smith et al. 1998, 1999), and additional collections at some of these sites in 1998 and 1999, yielded a total of 90 specimens from 8 different sites on the Sydenham River and one site on the Thames River.

Percent of Global Abundance in Canada

Less than 5% of the species' global distribution is currently found in Canada. Population abundance estimates are not available.

Population Trend

The Mudpuppy Mussel is no longer found in 60% of formerly occupied rivers and streams in the United States and is extirpated from Iowa, New York, Tennessee, and Michigan. In Canada, it was historically known from the Detroit and Sydenham rivers, but recent surveys in both rivers show that it now occurs only in the Sydenham River. Live animals were collected from eight different sites within a 50-km reach of the East Sydenham River in 1997-1999. The broad range of sizes of live specimens and fresh shells indicated that there is ongoing recruitment.

Figure 11. Global distribution of the Mudpuppy Mussel.
Figure 11. Global distribution of the Mudpuppy Mussel.

 

Figure 12. Distribution of the Mudpuppy Mussel in Canada.
Figure 12. Distribution of the Mudpuppy Mussel in Canada.

Biological Limiting Factors

Reproductive Attributes

Although the reproductive biology of the Mudpuppy Mussel follows the general reproductive biology of most mussels, this species is unique in the fact that it is the only species to use a host other than a fish. During spawning, male mussels release sperm into the water column and females filter it out of the water with their gills. Fertilization is then able to occur in specialized regions of the gills known as marsupia and are released by the female into the water column to undergo a period of parasitism on a suitable host species. Further development to the juvenile stage can not continue without a period of encystment on the host. The glochidia of the Mudpuppy Mussel have hooks that likely ensure a firm attachment to the external gills of their host. After they have attached to a host, the glochidia become completely encysted within 36 hours. Once encystment on a suitable host occurs, it may take from 6 days to over 6 months to complete the transformation from glochidium to juvenile mussel (Kat 1984). During this period, the glochidium is parasitic. Once metamorphosis is complete, the juvenile mussel ruptures the cyst by extending its foot (Lefevre and Curtis 1910). The mudpuppy, Necturus maculosus, is the only known host for the Mudpuppy Mussel. The mudpuppy is broadly distributed in lakes and rivers throughout Quebec, Ontario and Manitoba. The mudpuppy inhabits areas with flat rocks, submerged logs, wooden slabs and other debris. The habitat requirements of the mudpuppy host correspond with the habitat characteristics typically assigned to the Mudpuppy Mussel.

Dispersal

Like most freshwater mussels, the Mudpuppy Mussel has very limited dispersal abilities. The Mudpuppy Mussel adults are essentially sessile with movement limited to only a few meters on the river/lake bottom. Although adult movement can be directed upstream or downstream, studies have found a net downstream movement through time (Balfour and Smock 1995; Villella et al. 2004). The primary means for large scale dispersal, upstream movement, and the invasion of new habitat or evasion of deteriorating habitat, is limited to the encysted glochidial stage on the host species.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la dysnomie ventrue jaune, l'épioblasme tricorne, le pleurobème écarlate, la mulette du Necturus et la villeuse haricot au Canada (version finale)


4. Information sur l'espèce – Mulette du Necturus


Nom commun – mulette du Necturus1
Nom scientifique Simpsonaias ambigua
Statut du COSEPAC – en voie de disparition
Justification de la désignation du COSEPAC – Les mulettes du Necturus ont subi des déclins dans leur aire de répartition et leur population est extrêmement fragmentée. Au Canada, on ne les observe plus qu'à trois sites, lesquels sont tous situés dans la rivière Sydenham. La mulette du Necturus n'a qu'une seule espèce hôte, le necture tacheté (Necturus maculosis). Toute menace affectant le necture tacheté constitue aussi une menace pour les mulettes.
Répartition – Ontario
Historique du statut – Espèce désignée en voie de disparition en 2001

1 Cette espèce est également connue sous le nom de moule salamandre.

La mulette du Necturus est une petite moule d'eau douce qui se distingue des autres moules par sa coquille de forme elliptique allongée, ses dents cardinales incomplètes, son bec en forme de boucle double et son periostracum (surface de la coquille) brun et exempt de rayures. Sa coquille est mince et fragile; chez le mâle, elle est comprimée alors que chez la femelle, sa face postérieure est légèrement gonflée. La face antérieure est beaucoup plus épaisse que la face postérieure. Les extrémités antérieures et postérieures sont arrondies; les marges dorsales et ventrales sont presque droites et parallèles. L'arête postérieure est arrondie. Les becs sont situés environ au quart de la distance séparant la face antérieure de la face postérieure, et ils s'élèvent légèrement au-dessus de la ligne d'articulation et sont quelque peu ramassés. La structure du bec se compose de quatre à cinq arêtes en forme de boucle double. Le periostracum est lisse, d'un brun jaunâtre à un brun foncé, et il est dépourvu de rayures. Les dents pseudocardinales sont très petites, basses et arrondies – chaque valve en compte une. Elle ne présente pas de dents latérales (Watson et al., 2001b).

Figure 10. Mulette du Necturus, Simpsonaias ambigua Photo : gracieuseté de D. Zanatta, Université de Toronto
Figure 10. Mulette du Necturus, Simpsonaias ambigua Photo : gracieuseté de D. Zanatta, Université de Toronto

La mulette du Necturus était autrefois présente en Arkansas, en Illinois, en Indiana, en Iowa, au Kentucky, au Michigan, au Minnesota, au Missouri, dans l'État de New York, en Ohio, en Pennsylvanie, au Tennessee, en Virginie occidentale, au Wisconsin de même qu'en Ontario (TNC, 2000a). On la trouvait dans les bassins hydrographiques des lacs Sainte-Claire, Huron et Érié ainsi que dans les réseaux des rivières Ohio et Cumberland et celui du nord du fleuve Mississippi (Clarke, 1985). En Ontario, il existe seulement trois relevés antérieurs concernant cette espèce, deux menés dans la rivière Sydenham dans les années 1960 et un dans la rivière Détroit en 1934.

Aux États-Unis, on pense que la mulette du Necturus n'est seulement présente maintenant que dans 32 des 80 rivières et cours d'eau pour lesquels on dispose de relevés antérieurs. On croit qu'elle est disparue de l'Iowa, de l'État de New York et du Tennessee. L'organisme The Nature Conservancy a attribué à l'espèce la cote de G3 (rare et peu commune à l'échelle mondiale), et une cote SRANK (provincial) de S1 dans six États et de S2 dans quatre autres États (TNC, 2000a). L'espèce est désignée comme espèce en voie de disparition en Illinois, au Michigan de même qu'au Tennessee; comme espèce menacée au Minnesota, en Ohio et au Wisconsin; et comme espèce préoccupante en Indiana.

En Ontario, le Centre d'information sur le patrimoine naturel de l'Ontario avait donné la cote SH à la mulette du Necturus (selon des données antérieures; aucune occurrence vérifiée au cours des 20 dernières années) jusque vers la fin des années 1990. Puis, de 1997 à 1999, des relevés intensifs menés sur des tributaires du lac Érié, du lac Sainte-Claire et dans la portion inférieure du lac Huron ont permis de recueillir un total de 90 spécimens provenant de huit sites différents sur la rivière Sydenham, un site dans le delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire et d'un site sur la rivière Thames (Metcalfe-Smith et al., 1998, 1999). La plus importante population restante de mulette du Necturus en Ontario se limite au tronçon intermédiaire de la rivière Sydenham est. Trois spécimens vivants ont été trouvés dans le delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire en 1999, bien qu'aucun autre spécimen n'ait été trouvé dans ce secteur récemment. Une seule mulette vivante a été rapportée dans la rivière Thames en 1998. D'autres relevés effectués dans ce bassin hydrographique n'ont révélé aucun individu vivant ou mort dans la rivière Thames. À partir de ces résultats, la cote de la mulette du Necturus est passée de SH à S1 en Ontario.

La mulette du Necturus habite la région la plus fortement peuplée et intensivement cultivée du Canada, soit le sud-ouest de l'Ontario. Les effets de l'agriculture, de l'urbanisation et de l'industrialisation ont vraisemblablement entraîné une disparition de l'habitat de l'espèce dans les rivières et Thames. Dans la rivière Sydenham est, l'incidence de l'urbanisation est moindre que dans d'autres rivières du sud-ouest de l'Ontario et la qualité de l'eau se serait accrue ces dernières années en raison d'une amélioration du traitement des eaux usées. Cependant, les activités agricoles ont augmenté, et les eaux de ruissellement chargées de limon et de produits chimiques agricoles peuvent continuer à limiter la répartition de la mulette du Necturus dans ce réseau hydrographique (Dextrase et al., 2003).

Répartition

Aire de répartition totale

On trouveactuellement la mulette du Necturus en Arkansas, en Illinois, en Indiana, au Kentucky, au Minnesota, au Missouri, en Ohio, en Pennsylvanie, en Virginie occidentale, au Wisconsin de même qu'en Ontario.

Aire de répartition au Canada

Il n'y a que trois relevés antérieurs de la mulette du Necturus au Canada, deux menés dans la rivière Sydenham au milieu des années 1960 et un dans la rivière Détroit en 1934. Maintenant en Ontario, ce n'est que dans la rivière Sydenham est que l'on trouve la mulette du Necturus même si, en 1998, un spécimen vivant a été observé dans la rivière Thames dans la ville de London. Selon certaines hypothèses, la limite la plus au nord de l'aire de répartition de la mulette du Necturus serait la région des Grands Lacs et, par conséquent, cette dernière serait naturellement rare à cet endroit.

Figure 11. Aire de répartition totale de la mulette du Necturus.
Figure 11. Aire de répartition totale de la mulette du Necturus.

 

Figure 12. Répartition de la mulette du Necturus au Canada.
Figure 12. Répartition de la mulette du Necturus au Canada

 

Pourcentage de l'aire de répartition totale au Canada

LeCanada représente actuellement moins de 5 % de l'aire de répartition totale de l'espèce.

Tendance en matière de répartition

Aux États-Unis, la mulette du Necturus n'est plus présente que 60 % des rivières et des cours d'eau qu'elle occupait autrefois; elle est même disparue de l'Iowa, de l'État de New York, du Tennessee ainsi que du Michigan. Au Canada, on l'observait autrefois dans les rivières Détroit et Sydenham, mais les relevés récemment menés dans les deux rivières prouvent qu'elle ne subsiste que dans la rivière Sydenham. De 1997 à 1999, on a prélevé des individus vivants à huit emplacements différents dans un tronçon de 50 km de la rivière Sydenham est. Les tailles largement variées des spécimens vivants et des coquilles fraîches prélevés indiquaient un recrutement continu.

Abondance de la population

Aire de répartition totale

Aux États-Unis, on sait que des populations habitent 11 États et que leur aire de répartition semble diminuer dans la plupart d'entre eux. On croit que la mulette du Necturus est présente dans seulement 32 des 80 rivières et cours d'eau dans lesquels on a déjà mené des relevés.

Aire de répartition au Canada

Au cours des relevés intensifs menés en 1997-1998 à 66 emplacements sur des tributaires du lac Érié, du lac Sainte-Claire et dans la portion inférieure du lac Huron (Metcalfe-Smith et al., 1998, 1999) et des prélèvements supplémentaires effectués à certains de ces emplacements en 1998 et en 1999, on a observé un total de 90 spécimens provenant de huit emplacements différents sur la rivière Sydenham et d'un emplacement sur la rivière Thames.

Pourcentage de l'abondance totale au Canada

Le Canada représente actuellement moins de 5 % de l'aire de répartition totale de l'espèce. On ne dispose pas d'estimations relatives à l'abondance de la population.

Tendance démographique

Aux États-Unis, la mulette du Necturus ne se trouve plus dans 60 % des rivières et des cours d'eau qu'elle occupait autrefois; elle est disparue de l'Iowa, de l'État de New York, du Tennessee, et du Michigan. Au Canada, on sait qu'elle occupait autrefois les rivières Détroit et Sydenham, mais des relevés récents effectués dans les deux rivières prouvent qu'elle ne subsiste que dans la rivière Sydenham. De 1997 à 1999, on a prélevé des individus vivants à huit emplacements différents sur un tronçon de 50 km de la rivière Sydenham est. Les tailles largement variées des spécimens vivants et des coquilles fraîches prélevés indiquaient un recrutement continu.

Facteurs biologiques limitatifs

Caractéristiques de la reproduction

Même si la biologie reproductive de la mulette du Necturus ressemble à celle de la plupart des moules, cette espèce est unique du fait qu'elle est la seule à utiliser un hôte autre qu'un poisson. Ainsi, pendant le frai, les mâles libèrent leur sperme dans la colonne d'eau et les femelles, qui se trouvent en aval, filtrent ce sperme grâce à leurs branchies. La fertilisation peut ainsi se produire dans une région particulière des branchies appelées marsupia, et les glochidies sont libérés par la femelle dans la colonne d'eau pour entreprendre une période de parasitisme sur des espèces appropriées de poissons hôtes. Le développement de la mulette du Necturus ne peut pas se poursuivre jusqu'au stade juvénile sans une période d'enkystement sur l'hôte. Les glochidies de la mulette du Necturus sont pourvues de crochets qui lui permettent vraisemblablement de bien se fixer aux branchies externes de leur hôte. Une fois fixées sur un hôte, les glochidies deviennent complètement enkystées au bout de 36 heures. Une fois l'enkystement réussi, il peut s'écouler de 6 jours à plus de 6 mois avant que la transformation du stade de glochidium au stade de juvénile ne soit terminée (Kat, 1984). Pendant cette période, le glochidium vit en parasite. Une fois la métamorphose terminée, le juvénile rompt le kyste en déployant son pied (Lefevre et Curtis, 1910). Le necture tacheté, Necturus maculosus, est le seul hôte connu de la mulette du Necturus. Ce poisson est largement répandu dans les lacs et les rivières de tout le Québec, de l'Ontario et du Manitoba. Il occupe des régions où l'on trouve des roches plates, des billes submergées, des morceaux de bois et d'autres débris. Les conditions de l'habitat du necture tacheté correspondent aux caractéristiques de l'habitat que l'on associe habituellement à la mulette du Necturus.

Dispersion

À l'instar de la plupart des moules d'eau douce, la mulette du Necturus dispose de capacités de dispersion très limitées. Les adultes sont essentiellement sessiles, leurs déplacements se limitant à quelques mètres sur le fond de la rivière ou du lac. Même si le déplacement des adultes peut être dirigé en amont ou en aval, les études ont montré dans le temps un déplacement net descendant (Balfour et Smock, 1995; Villella et al., 2004). La dispersion à grande échelle, les déplacements vers l'amont et l'invasion d'un nouvel habitat ou l'abandon d'un habitat en détérioration se limitent au stade glochidial d'enkystement sur le poisson hôte.